Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > Zmodo > Zmodo ZP-KE1H04-S 4CH NVR + 4 HD 720P Day/Night Outdoor sPoE IP Camera Smartphone Scan QR Code Quick Remote Access

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 great customer care
Pros: Had a small problem with one camera not having the ir coming on at night. Wrote the company an email and included my invoice from newegg in the note. And within a week I had a new camera at my door. That is amazing customer service. The apps for my android and laptops were easy to setup. A great system to start with.
Cons: none so far
Reviewed By:N/A,2/25/2015 3:46:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > Zmodo > Zmodo ZP-KE1H04-S 4CH NVR + 4 HD 720P Day/Night Outdoor sPoE IP Camera Smartphone Scan QR Code Quick Remote Access

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Cheap, Short Lived.
Pros: N/A
Cons: Zmodo wants all origin boxes, paperwork, software and cables in order to RMA. I just need the DVR replaced, I don't have original boxes and paperwork, nor do I want to pull all the cable I already installed throughout my walls. So I guess that's a big (offensive language) off. Don't buy Zmodo.
I will just be out the money and buy a different brand DVR to replace this one. Thanks a lot newegg and Zmodo. Not the best investment for 2 Months of use.
Other Thoughts: Have been doing business with NEWEGG for over 12 years. Normally everything is fine and customer service is great on their end. Its just the junk they sale sometimes does not meet quality standards.
Manufacturer Response:William G.

Thank you for your review for Zmodo products, for RMA to replace the defective DVR we only need the DVR back, we do not need the cables, boxing or paperwork. Using the RMA you have already created with us you may return just the DVR for replacement. If you have any further questions or concerns please feel free to contact us directly, at 217-903-5037 or by email newegg-support@zmodo.com.

Best Regards,
Zmodo Sales and Support

Reviewed By:N/A,2/25/2015 1:04:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > LaView USA > LaView LV-KD5188D-T1 Cube Series 8 CH Security DVR Cloud System w/ 1TB HDD Easy DIY Eight 600TVL Infrared Surveillance Cameras

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Bad Choice
Pros: Good price for features. See below for Cons . . .
Cons: I bought this on black Friday weekend and got it for a very good price. It arrived a few days later (good job Newegg) and started installing it. I had an older Q-See 4 camera system. So, I connected the new DVR to the existing cameras just to make sure it worked (and it did). So, I started replacing cameras. Got 6 of them replaced before I realized that the night vision was not working on any of the new cameras. I contacted LaView and got very good technical support (thank you Luis!). They replaced all of the cameras (I had to take them all down and send them back for evaluation before they would replace them). The replacement cameras all worked fine in night vision mode. So, I installed them. So far, so good.

Then, I started having trouble with the DVR. The web interface was flakey and remote access was not working right. Finally, after the DVR crashed on me (think of it as a total computer crash – non-responsive), I returned the DVR for replacement. The replacement arrived and worked for about a week and then it started having problems (again, with the web interface crashing). The local mouse did not respond, there was no command menu on the local monitor and the DVR did not appear on the network. I know what I’m doing with my network. I’ve had Web servers, FTP servers and NAP computers successfully running on it without any problems. These issues are totally related to the DVR.

So, I’m sitting here with a security system I can’t trust to stay working if I’m away from home for more than a week and thinking I’ve had it with LaView’s products. Technical support has been excellent, but if the system won’t stay functional for more than a week, it’s pretty useless to me. Because the cameras and cables are so difficult to uninstall and replace, I’ll probably keep them. But, the DVR is a disaster. I don’t think I want to try a third one. So, I’ll buy someone else’s DVR and keep the cameras and cables.

I would NOT recommend this system.
Reviewed By:Gordo,2/24/2015 4:40:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > LaView USA > LaView LV-KDV2804W1 8 Channel H.264 Level 960H 8CH HD Security DVR System w/ Easy DIY 4 x 1000TVL Infrared Surveillance Cameras (No HDD)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Not Recommended
Pros: Excellent interface. Easy Setup. Great Physical Design. Lightweight. Email triggers work great. The video quality is pretty good.
Cons: Technical support is bad. Keep getting "No Record File" error. Have to restart it to find out it hadn't been recording for a full day which defeats the purpose of having it. I keep getting HD Errors which could also be the 3TB WD Purple hard drive having problems too that I bought with this product. Bad service just ruins a product and it's name to me so I couldn't suggest LaView. :(
Other Thoughts: I wish I hadn't bought this as my Christmas present. lol. I mean. Until contacting tech support with the first problem I have after 2 months of owning it and being told to ship it at my expense with no suggestive troubleshooting really is a turn off. I do technical support daily at my job and going into IT for school so I know my stuff. I haven't done all of the troubleshooting I can do because it's time consuming but I would never tell a customer to just send in their equipment without first exhausting all troubleshooting options I should have done. And will do soon.
Reviewed By:Shawn,2/24/2015 1:04:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > LaView USA > LaView LV-KD514FD7S 4 Channel H.264 Level CUBE Plus Advanced Face Detection 4 Channel DVR + 4 x 700TVL Cameras (No HDD Included)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 pretty amazed
Pros: Very nice quality, very easy to set up. I installed a 1TB HD I had, and it works very well. the Night Vision is VERY impressive. I Live in the upper mid-west so I was a little scared to put one of the cameras out side, and to my shock the thing works and looks just as good with temps at -20 Deg F as the ones in my heated home.
Cons: The mobile app, for live viewing is buggy, I did get it to work after some time, but I can only view one feed at a time. If I go to switch views, it will not play and I have to close the app out and restart it. On the Apple app, I was not able to get it going at all, may need to play with it more.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I am very happy, and very pleased, the Face Detection works very well, the interface is easy to navigate, the complete install was very easy.
Reviewed By:N/A,2/23/2015 5:54:30 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > Zmodo > Zmodo KDA4-NARQZ4ZN-5G 4Ch DVR with 500GB HDD & 4 Sony CCD Cam Kit

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DOA!
Pros: Great price, straight forward install. It came with a hard drive.
Cons: DEAD ON ARRIVAL! The warranty said that I would be responsible for all repair costs if I opened or altered anything with the system. It seems that the hard drive is dead because I am not getting a hard drive light. -not happy- I am going to try to contact the service department on Monday and will update this review after.
Other Thoughts: I would avoid purchasing this system and would advise to purchase one locally so you do not have warranty issues and have to wait.
Manufacturer Response:Julio J.

I’m sorry to hear that the product wasn't working properly for you when you received it. If you haven’t already, please contact us directly with your newegg invoice number so that we may issue an RMA for the unit. We can be reached at 217-903-5037 or by email at newegg-support@zmodo.com. We look forward to making Zmodo products and service the right choice for you.

Best Regards,
Zmodo Sales and Support

Reviewed By:OG,2/20/2015 7:57:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > Zmodo > Zmodo ZM-SS718 8 CH NVR + 8 HD 720P Day/Night Outdoor sPoE IP Camera Smartphone Scan QR Code Quick Remote Access

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 720p spoe systems
Pros: real nice picture compared to non HD systems like 700tvl cameras , worth the money
Cons: some may find it difficult to setup
Other Thoughts: sPoe systems are the latest security camera technology that's way some people may get confused.
Reviewed By:N/A,2/20/2015 12:53:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > LaView USA > LaView LV-KD3488D-T1 Complete 8 CH HDMI Security DVR System w/ 1TB HDD Easy DIY Eight 600TVL Infrared Surveillance Cameras

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Not bad, not great either.
Pros: Very complete system. Includes 8 cables. You can have two hard drives, I think the video says up to two 3TB drives. Motion sensors work like a charm. Has HDMI out. It supports (but does not include) H.264 pan/tilt cameras.
Cons: The IR is weaker than advertised and range therefore limited. it says up to 35 feet in the docs, but 20 feet is more like it with the included cameras. The connection from the Internet difficult to configure. LaView telephone tech support is friendly, but limited. QuickTime interface is very slow is it connects at all. Connectivity across the LAN is good, but from the web it sucks. Android app never seems to connect, but I have not tried IOS devices.
Other Thoughts: If you don't need to view from the Web this is a great system.
Reviewed By:SysAdmin3,2/18/2015 3:24:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > LaView USA > LaView LV-KD3488D-T1 Complete 8 CH HDMI Security DVR System w/ 1TB HDD Easy DIY Eight 600TVL Infrared Surveillance Cameras

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 You get what you pay for.
Pros: Great Day-time resolution for the price, includes 8 cameras and cables.

If you don't need Internet connectivity it's great!
Cons: Lousy night-time resolution or low IR output. The interface is not intuitive. Android applet does not connect to system. Cannot view video from Internet, but can connect to the DVR. It just has blank screens. Perhaps this is a Java issue, but I also downloaded and installed the Android app and it acts like it connects but cycles between "connecting" and "server Unavailable". I'm a 25 year Systems Administrator, so I got game.

The web page tech support request has been submitted.
Reviewed By:Hughdman,2/18/2015 2:16:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > Zmodo > Zmodo KHI8-YARUZ4ZN 8 Channel H.264, 960H DVR Security System with 4 x 700TVL Night Vision w/IR Cut Outdoor Cameras (No HDD)

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 NICE BUT NOT HDMI
Pros: Nice HD cameras
Easy to setup
Free app for your mobile device
Cons: NO HDMI
Does not allow to pick for how long to keep your recording (30, 60 or 90 days)
Other Thoughts: I bought this unit to be connected to a large big screen TV as well as small PC monitor.The HDMI output doesn't work. I call Zmodo and they said they are aware of the problem and they are working for a solution that was two month ago. I should it returned when I could.....now it is too late.
Reviewed By:ExpressJoel,2/16/2015 9:14:37 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.