Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • | Wish List
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > LaView USA > LaView LV-KD5184B Cube Series 8 CH Security DVR Cloud System w/ Easy DIY Four 600TVL Infrared Surveillance Cameras (No HDD)

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Right Price.... on sale!
Pros: Picked it up for $99 & a 1TB WD HDD for $50
It's at a friends house... and not mine!
8 channel for expansion
Came with 4 cameras
Cons: App is terrible... (reason for 1 egg deduction)
It's an embedded unit so functional is limited
Painful search... painful.
Huge lack of documentation (reason for 1 egg deduction)
Other Thoughts: It would be nice if I didn't have to spend 20 minutes on Google to figure out what port is used for Control, TCP & UDP Connections... Include this in the box! Print another one of those monstrous banner sized id10t guides LaView!

Very easy to install. I prefer IP PoE Cameras at my house, but a friend wanted a DVR. Sold this to him and said I would get by and help in the next couple of days... got a text that weekend that he had run the cables (included), mounted the cameras and had it pseudo wired up. I spent another hour or two with him optimizing his aim, setting up NAT (which should of only taken 2 minutes) and bumbling through their proprietary app... but hey... it works!
Reviewed By:bottman,7/10/2014 6:28:29 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > KGuard > KGuard CA108-H03-500G 8 Ch DVR + 8 CCD, 420 TVL, Bullet Cameras + 500GB HDD, Surveillance Kit Solution

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Its a bit Quirky, but better than I expected...
Pros: This system provides a better than expected picture during the day and night. Setup was simple and hassle free. I had some wire hangers for communications/coax cables that worked really well for bundling the lines as they came toward the box. While it may not be as pretty as running all the lines through the walls it can be hidden decently well. If anyone is looking for a somewhat cheap system to provide video of their home or even just as a camera to see who is outside the door, I definitely recommend the system, well worth every penny spent.
Cons: The motion detection suite that allows you to only select certain areas of each frame doesn't always follow the logic, but it does a decent job with its sensitivity threshold. I am still not quite sure how to have cameras only record on motion sensing, it looks like the system records until full and then starts recording over the oldest video, and doesn't touch the motion detection stuff.
Other Thoughts: If you want to utilize it through a window to look outside, nighttime will be lacking, while daytime works decently. If you really want to watch the outside of your home, set it up there.
Reviewed By:Rayek,7/7/2014 9:03:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > LaView USA > LaView LV-KD3484B Complete 8 CH HDMI Security DVR System w/ Easy DIY Four 520TVL Infrared Surveillance Cameras (No HDD) - Retail

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: I can't believe how easy it was to hook this system up. It DOES NOT come with a hard drive so i had to install it which was not a problem at all. Once the drive was install i turned the system on and it formated the drive and install the OS. It has 2 hookups for hard drives so i have plenty of room for storage. The recording unit recognized immediately how many cameras were plugged in and defaulted the screen to make sure I could see all the cameras. The user interface is incredibly easy to use and is simple to figure out. Its based on common sense.
Cons: None what so ever!
Reviewed By:N/A,7/7/2014 1:59:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > Zmodo > Zmodo ZP-KC1H04-P 4 Channel 4 IP 720P PoE NVR System (no HDD)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Item INFO
Pros: Great little system with a ton of features.
Small and easily put up out of the way.
Very easy to hook up.
No power wires, just a CAT5 cable.
You can make your own cables to an exact length.
No drilling of large holes for a BNC connector. just a 1/8" hole for the CAT5 cable.
Daytime, and indoor video is great.
Can very easily upgrade one or all of the cameras.
Cons: I'm very disappointed in the night time video. Up close the picture is good, but if you're 15+ feet away then all you can tell is that there's a person but they are not easily recognisable. This system seems to work better with no light at all, as a front porch or yard light can "wash out" the picture.
Other Thoughts: To anyone looking at this system, no it does not include a hard drive (HDD) as stated in the title. It does however use a 3.5" SATA desktop hard drive (HDD) and I believe it can take advantage of the speed of an SATA III hard drive (HDD). Please don't say you're a hight level "TECH GUY" if you don't know how to even install a hard drive.

Great little system that's very easy to setup and get going. Inside and up close night picture is very good but if you want to be able to distinguish between a cat and a dog at night at the end of the driveway, you might want to look at a different system or at upgrading one or two the included cameras.

*To clarify, I own the Zmodo ZP-KE1H04-S-1TB 4 Channel that included a hard drive.
Reviewed By:Scooter,7/6/2014 8:33:05 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > LaView USA > LaView LV-KDV0404B5B Complete 4 Channel Security DVR System Easy DIY Four 520TVL Infrared Surveillance Cameras (No HDD)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Work Great
Pros: Easy setup. I like that you can go to Laview Website and see videos for total setup. I also like that I can see live video and playback Recorded Videos from the system on my I-phone from about anyware.
Cons: You have to get a hard drive to record. Newegg needs to have a link to available hard drives that you can use on this system. I had to go to the LaView Website to see compatible hard drives so I can order it from Newegg.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/5/2014 11:29:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > Zmodo > Zmodo KDC8-YARUZ8ZN 8 Channel H.264 Level 960H DVR Security System with 8 x 700TVL Night Vision w/IR Cut Outdoor Cameras (No HDD)

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Addendum to above
Pros: Same as above
Cons: Same as above.
Per Zmodo tech support I was informed that unreliable HDMI output is a known issue especially with output to TV's. Computer monitors are much more forgiving. This does not mean that it will not work with your TV via HDMI but that there is a reasonable chance of failure.
Other Thoughts: VGA output seems fine to TV with a VGA port.
Reviewed By:Quick,7/4/2014 6:29:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > Zmodo > Zmodo ZP-KE1H04-S-1TB 4 Channel H.264 Level 4 Channel All-in-One sPoE NVR Kit w/ 1TB HDD

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Outstanding
Pros: Outstanding value and shipping time was fantasticly fast, nice job Newegg.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,7/2/2014 9:26:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > Rosewill > Rosewill RSVA-12001 8 channel + 4 x 1/4" CMOS, 21 IR LED, IR Cut filter Bullet Cameras, H.264 High performance DVR, Remote Monitoring/Real time record DVR Kit (HD Sold Separately)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great for the price
Pros: Great value for the money. Comes with everything you need to get going. Easy to set up. Reasonable quality. Easy to set up & connect cameras and record.
Cons: Networking instructions are a bit vague if not non-existent. If you have good networking knowledge it's not bad. To view over the internet or on your phone takes some trial and error. The cameras with this bundle aren't as good as other economy cameras that I've used but they are ok.
Other Thoughts: I have 3 of these. You can't beat it for the money involved. I did have one show up DOA but Newegg exchanged no problem. I took away an egg on my rating because of the vague instructions and cheaper cameras. Other than that, buy with confidence.
Reviewed By:DIY,7/2/2014 11:09:45 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > Zmodo > Zmodo KDC8-YARUZ8ZN 8 Channel H.264 Level 960H DVR Security System with 8 x 700TVL Night Vision w/IR Cut Outdoor Cameras (No HDD)

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Good/Easy but video glitch
Pros: Very easy setup. Good image quality from cameras. Interface is pretty intuitive. HDD (which you buy separately) is easy to install. Overall a very nice setup and a great buy.
Cons: 1) HDMI output glitch. It has an HDMI output which works on 1/4 TV's. The one TV where you can see an image comes with a purple hue that cannot be corrected though the device or the TV. VGA output works fine, not HDMI. Yes, I did try different types of HDMI cables. Consider this if your monitor/TV does not have VGA input. Not sure this is a real ding as I am aware that at times parts don't work. But see #4 below.
2) User Manual is poorly written. I completely understand that the manual appears to be originally Chinese then translated into English. A task I would not put on my worst enemy. Nevertheless, the author would fail a Technical Writing course. Don't need the manual as setup is easy and the QuickSetup guide is good. But if you want to learn a few more deeper items, the User Manual may be tough for some to read. Do NOT read if you are an English teacher.
3) Camera mount is limited. Not a ding, just something to note. The mounts that come with the CMOS cameras screw into the camera's bottom, not the camera's back end. So you cannot mount this on a soffit above and have the camera hang (otherwise the camera and the shade hood will be upside down). You will need a vertical surface (wall) or a horizontal surface to sit on. If there is another way, it blew right by me and I will stand corrected.
4) Return Option!! Be wary of this. Test all ouputs and cameras FIRST before you mount anything. It was AFTER I mounted the cameras, did the wire runs in a sweaty attic with a functioning VGA output that I then found the HDMI output did not work (my preferred method, it is 2014!). I called Zmodo and was told "time to RMA". They wer nice, legit. I spoke to NewEgg and was told that to RMA I have to send the ENTIRE order back, not just the malfunctioning box with the HDMI, but the cameras and wires too!! So I would have to undo all my sweaty labor which took a while. NE is very polite and promptly sent me an RMA but I will just suck it up and use VGA only :-(
Other Thoughts: I like this unit and the cameras overall and recommend it provided you are aware of the above. PLEASE do a full assembly and demo including all cameras and all outputs and recording functions (if you install a HDD) on your kitchen table before you install anything. If you find something wrong after install...don't say I didn't warn you!
Reviewed By:Quick,7/1/2014 12:03:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > Defender > DEFENDER PRO CONNECTED 21181 8CH H.264 1 TB Smart Security DVR with 8 Ultra Hi-res Outdoor Surveillance Cameras, Smart Phone Compatibility and 19” LED Monitor

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 GReat Product
Pros: works very good, clear pictures easy to u.
Cons: none know
Reviewed By:Jamie,7/1/2014 5:40:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau