Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Limited Time Only! Newegg Premier is now only $29.99/year. Sign up now.
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Media Center Barebone Systems > JETWAY > JetWay MINIQ 765TWIN AMD Socket A(462) NVIDIA nForce2 IGP 2 x 184Pin GeForce 4 MX GFX Aluminum Media Center

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 The Land of Nightmares
Pros: There are no pros, only thoughts that make one contemplate what lies beyond the surface of otherwise normal human rage.
Cons: Without going into extreme detail, this little puppy here was so poorly made that one of the standoffs for the included (puke brown colored) motherboard made some sort of short between something or other. I never looked. It was built for a customer, powered on to install windows XP, and delivered.

I was called the next day and the customer informed me that she touched the PC to open the DVD drive and it gave her an electric shock and then ceased to function.

It didn't take me long to troubleshoot. It did cost me another power supply though. That little short on the motherboard gave me quite a electric shock and also fried every single thing inside it. When i was handling it in a ESD controlled environment it never happened. When she had one hand on the top of the case and another discharging the connection between the case and her finger, POP! Very expensive replacement, as I did not have insurance.

Jetway is my #1 enemy. Their support was so terrible that I actually wrote a paper about it in college. The emails were so cryptic it was funny how hard they tried to dumb me down until I gave up trying to vindicate myself for losing $1000 of my own out of pocket cash. I shake my fist at the heavens; Never again! Do you hear me Jetway?
Other Thoughts: I wonder how many people Jetway have put in the hospital.
Reviewed By:camux,11/8/2013 10:30:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Media Center Barebone Systems > AOpen > AOpen EPC945-m8 (Silver) Intel Socket T(LGA775) Intel 945G 4 x 240Pin Intel GMA 950 Silver Media Center

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 AOpen EPC945-m8
Pros: Neat looking; fits perfectly on stereo rack with other equipment; decent remote control function; space for two hard drives. Great for cable tv recording, netflix viewing, home videos and photos.
Cons: Tends to run hot without some modification - had to add small chassis extractor fans
Other Thoughts: I have two of these media centers, bought as barebones; setup with Pentium D 3G processors, 2G DDR2 Memory, 1 500G hybrid (boot) drive and 1 TB for storage. Loaded on Windows XP Media Center and later upgraded to Win 7 with dual boot. Both programs work flawlessly. Sorry that they discontinued this product. Would love to have it return with motherboard for i7 processor.
Reviewed By:Sullytech,4/3/2012 5:27:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Media Center Barebone Systems > Shuttle Computer > Shuttle D10 Intel Socket T(LGA775) Intel G31 2 x 240Pin Intel GMA 3100 Black Media Center Barebone System

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: I can see many issues for some uses, limited space for cards, but ITS A MINI SHUTTLE, you cant expect to fit a gamer setup in this thing. I use it for a network media/storage server, and I love it. I have 2TB of drive space full of movies, pics, and music for the media side of things, and a backup of apps and games for the other. Networked with a PS3, and other PC's you can have any media on demand anywhere. Since it dosent need a monitor or keyboard, I threw it in a closet and you would never know it was there.

Also its small enough to just pick up and take somewhere, and all you need is a power cord.

Dual monitor setup was a snap, very cool feature.
Cons: Can't do everything, having a small screen, but that is expected, you can add a second monitor. Had to dl a PS3 media server app to share, but I guess that would be a sony issue.
Other Thoughts: Well designed case. The CPU has a great heatsink design. For easier use i have add a laptop keyboard/mouse combo.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/15/2010 8:25:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Media Center Barebone Systems > Shuttle Computer > Shuttle D10 Intel Socket T(LGA775) Intel G31 2 x 240Pin Intel GMA 3100 Black Media Center Barebone System

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Shuttle's Big "Ooops!"
Pros: It has a touch-screen on it--fancy!!
Cons: Shuttle messed up designing this quite a few ways. Biggest to me is the single PCI-E x1 slot combined with the lack of native digital output. Put lightly, this barebone is 150% useless as a media center. Stuck with VGA, no authenticated (ie: BluRay) media is played at native resolution. There are very few PCI-x1-slot graphics cards and fewer with appropriate HDCP outputs. In addition to that, there's no digital audio output. If you want 5.1/7.1 audio and HD video, you have to use an HDMI v1.3 adapter, cable, and HDMI v1.3-compatible receiver, lest you lose one of these two important aspects of a HTPC. And you STILL can't watch TV or record it and replay later.

Remember that outputs on a PC are NOT line-level. They're unsuitable to run to a real amplifier because of their decreased dynamic range.
Other Thoughts: Shuttle did great with the front half of this barebone, but lousy with the rear half.
Reviewed By:Bob,12/23/2009 10:13:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
9 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Media Center Barebone Systems > Shuttle Computer > Shuttle D10 Intel Socket T(LGA775) Intel G31 2 x 240Pin Intel GMA 3100 Black Media Center Barebone System

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Cool Media Center PC
Pros: This unit was not for me actually it was for my customer who wanted an extreme media center without the big bulk next to his TV. At heart I am a gamer so Size doesnt matter to much but this project required some performance and style and this hit the spot...... In fact my customer ordered 3 more from me and since newegg has them at a better price than where I got the last one then I will end up getting it here.
Cons: Had to look for a PCI-X1 TV Tuner.
Other Thoughts: Could use a bundled MCE Remote
Reviewed By:JulieXB,8/19/2009 9:52:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
10 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Media Center Barebone Systems > Shuttle Computer > Shuttle D10 Intel Socket T(LGA775) Intel G31 2 x 240Pin Intel GMA 3100 Black Media Center Barebone System

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Just Say No
Pros: TouchScreen
Cons: TouchScreen worse than Remote which bough seperately
Other Thoughts: My 1st GenXbox does a much better job
Reviewed By:ShuttlePooper,5/12/2009 7:37:23 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
3 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Media Center Barebone Systems > Shuttle Computer > Shuttle D10 Intel Socket T(LGA775) Intel G31 2 x 240Pin Intel GMA 3100 Black Media Center Barebone System

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Way too underpowered for media center
Pros: I haven't bought this but I researched it extensively when I saw the open box special. The only positive, really, is the touchscreen.
Cons: PCI Express x1 slot plus GMA 3100 means way too underpowered for HD video. There are a few x1 cards out there that would enhance its video capabilities, but why spend $100+ more to make up for its shortcomings, since you are paying for on board video? Also, no apparent digital audio output.
Other Thoughts: Shuttle really messed up with this one. Why put a sweet touch screen in a machine that is obviously crippled from a media perspective? Why no better expansion slots? Why no digital audio? Why no AMD version?

Also, Shuttle's documentation of what is available for the touchscreen is very limited.

This could have been the sweetest media barebones ever. Instead it's just, well, sad.
Reviewed By:Showarmaboy,4/28/2009 6:43:45 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
22 out of 52 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Media Center Barebone Systems > Shuttle Computer > Shuttle D10 Intel Socket T(LGA775) Intel G31 2 x 240Pin Intel GMA 3100 Black Media Center Barebone System

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Not exactly a media center
Pros: Small size, heatsink included, can take a SATA or PATA optical drive, works with most modern intel CPUs.
Cons: Shuttle advertises this as a media center PC on their website, claiming that it has special touchscreen media center software that allows you to navigate on the touchscreen and display content on an external screen. The unit does not come with such software, nor is it available for download from the Shuttle website.
Other Thoughts: Would not have bought this if I couldn't use it as a touch-screen media center. Windows Media Center does not work well with a touchscreen as the interface was not designed that way. Not sure if the Shuttle media center software that they mention on their website actually exists.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/9/2009 10:38:58 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
6 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Media Center Barebone Systems > Shuttle Computer > Shuttle D10 Intel Socket T(LGA775) Intel G31 2 x 240Pin Intel GMA 3100 Black Media Center Barebone System

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not media center capable
Pros: LCD touchscreen, relatively cheap
Cons: G31 graphics not capable of playing bluray. Barely can keep up with DVD playback.

No HDMI output (not much a point since G31 cannot drive 1080p anyways)

No PCIe x16 to overcome limitation of G31 graphics.
Other Thoughts: One could argue that this barebone is meant as "media center" for music, since video output for HDTV is poor, but in this segment there are many competitors and cheaper ones.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/5/2009 11:30:16 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Media Center Barebone Systems > Shuttle Computer > Shuttle D10 Intel Socket T(LGA775) Intel G31 2 x 240Pin Intel GMA 3100 Black Media Center Barebone System

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great measurement station
Pros: This is a great case for building a fully self-contained instrumentation station, such as a digital scope, motion controller, etc. The touchscreen can replace the keyboard and mouse, and the PCI-e slot can accommodate an I/O card. Plus, it has an RS-232 port, which is needed for a lot of legacy hardware, such as XYZ robotic stages etc.
Cons: Doesn't have a regular PCI slot, just PCI-Express.
Other Thoughts: I hope they keep the product line and RS-232 port for a while.
Reviewed By:N/A,2/1/2009 12:22:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
7 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau