Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Headsets & Accessories > Plantronics > Plantronics GameCom 780 Corded Headset Dual Earpiece 86051-01

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Great headphones if you have a smaller head
Pros: + Good sound
+ Good microphone
+ Durable
+ Strong cord

I purchased my GameCom 780's in late 2012 after going through 6 cheaper headsets in 6 months.

I chose the 780 because of its padded cups and thick USB cord (most of the cheap headsets I went through frayed their thin 3.5mm cords). After a year and a half of getting dropped and abused they still work perfectly and have no notable wear.

The sound is good for both music and games; high quality and more than enough for most games, but don't expect studio-quality sound if you do any recording or production. The virtual 7.1 is a fun novelty for games that support 7.1 surround, but it doesn't hold a candle to real 7.1.
Cons: - Painfully uncomfortable if you have a large head
- Highly reliant on special software

I cannot use this headset for more than 45 minutes at a time. My right ear feels pinched within 5 minutes, and I have a headache after an hour. My smaller friends find this headset very comfortable, but as a tall guy who destroys ballcaps this headset just doesn't cut it for me. I actually bring a cheap alternative headset with me to LAN parties because otherwise I'm on the couch taking aspirin after a bit.

Do not bother purchasing this headset unless you have an OS that supports the software and plan to use it. Sound quality without the "GameCom 780/788 7.1 Surround Sound" software is very low, and the volume is extremely loud even when turned down as low as possible. You will regret your purchase if you intend to use this headset with OSX or Linux.
Other Thoughts: If you're using Windows 7 or Windows 8, have a smaller head, and are looking for a durable headset with good sound, the GameCom 780 might be exactly what you're looking for.

If you have a larger head or use a different OS, I'd advise looking for something else.
Reviewed By:sheffy,8/29/2014 1:42:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Headsets & Accessories > Plantronics > Plantronics - GameCom 780 Over-the-Ear Headset + ORCS Must Die 2 Download

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great
Pros: - Very comfortable around your ears
- Powerful and very clear sound
- Very well made; Your ears can actually breathe!
- Long cable
- Comes with controls built in(Some require the software to work properly)
Cons: - Requires Windows only software to take advantage of the headset; Which the software included on CD has compatibility problems with Windows 8, and at the time even the Windows 8 version on their website seems to have some problems as well. It seems to me as the developers are rather careless.
Other Thoughts: You can use a 3rd party equalizer on Linux or Mac such as the one built into VLC or another to help improve the audio quality. But it won't be 7.1!
Reviewed By:Mike,8/29/2014 8:41:14 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Headsets & Accessories > BitFenix Co. Ltd. > BitFenix Flo 3.5mm Connector Circumaural Headset - Fire Red

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good Headphones.
Pros: I have had these headphones for over a week now and I really enjoy them. I have hearing loss in both of my ears and I can still hear everything clealy while wearing them. They are a good alternative to other headphones that work just the same but cost 3 times as much.
Cons: I'm not sure if I have a broken pair headphones or it is just poor design, but the volume control is really small and I have to use my fingernail to turn it up and down. Not really a huge deal but its something to mention.
Reviewed By:Lola,8/29/2014 6:03:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Headsets & Accessories > Rosewill > Rosewill RH-001 2 x 3.5mm Connector Circumaural Multimedia Stereo Headset

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good set
Pros: Listening to music they grab every little thing, movie they get you into it, gainf you can hear footsteps and know where they're coming from, good for team speak and skype. I love playing company of heroes/red orchesta because when bombs go off. Just wow!
Cons: I have no cons.
Reviewed By:Marcus,8/29/2014 5:44:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Headsets & Accessories > Plantronics > PLANTRONICS RIG 3.5mm Connector Circumaural Stereo Headset + Mixer (Black)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Plantronics RIG Real World...
Pros: 1. Very comfortable to wear for long periods.
2. Great sound quality, although not as good as some others.
3. Love the volume controls. Easy to use as well.
4. Good microphone. Not the best but sound quality is good.
5. Dual inputs are great. Being able to play or work on the computer and not miss a call is a big plus.
Cons: 1. Seems more intended for console gamers rather than PC gamers.
2. Microphone design would be nice if it could swing out of the way when not needed.
3. Depending on phone, sound is a bit low through the headsets compared to PC output.
Other Thoughts: Over all a good headset for either PC or Console gamers. Would be good if they could put some thought into sound levels. Phones tend to be more quiet than PC output, so either you need to do some volume tweaking or maybe a small amp on the phone input side would be a good addition. If these were wireless, That would be a big plus in my book.
Reviewed By:GrumpyOldAdmin,8/28/2014 8:44:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Headsets & Accessories > HyperX > HyperX Cloud Pro Gaming headset #1 Gaming Comfort for PC

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Good Headphones, Bad headset
Pros: The actual headphones themselves are fine. The seem to just be re-branded Takstar Pro80, which is a ok thing. They sound nice.
Cons: The mic is abysmal. The amount of static the mic has might be a form of torture. I have tried both onboard audio and a Soundblaster Z soundcard, I cant seem to make the noise go away.
Other Thoughts: I don't know what the price of Takstar Pro80 retail was but it must have cost a lot for the microphone to be this terrible. You buy this for it to be a good headset, what you get is a pair of good headphones and a piece of garbage that plugs into it.
Manufacturer Response:Hello, I'm Jewel with Kingston Technical Support. We apologize for the issue experienced with the HyperX Cloud Headset. We are here to help and can troubleshoot with you to determine what may be causing the issue. If needed we can replace the headset under it's 2 year warranty. A couple things to try is to make sure the mic is facing the correct direction and adjust the mic boost. You can make sure the mic is facing you by removing the foam piece and making sure the side with holes is facing you. Ideal placement is about one inch from the mouth. We recommend the mic boost to be 0-10dB but try different settings and see what works best for your environment. For any further assistance, please call us at 1-800-435-0640 (USA and Canada only) M - F 6am - 6pm PT and I or another available Technician will assist you.

Thank you for selecting Kingston as your upgrade partner.

Reviewed By:Atlor,8/28/2014 8:23:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Headsets & Accessories > Turtle Beach/Voyetra > Turtle Beach TBS-2145-01 3.5mm Connector Circumaural Ear Force Z11 Wired PC and Mobile Gaming Headset

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Great for a bit
Pros: Great fit, and its sound is top notch
Cons: Terrible mic quality and contstruction. I have ordered two, the first one came in terrible packaging but worked like a charm until it snapped while sitting on my head. The next one i had had a messed up cord that would create popping if managable and until recently didn't cause a problem until it stopped working. I will probably never buy from this company again. One time is fine but twice...nope
Other Thoughts: Could be a little more breatable but is comfy and a good decent pair for the price...if it doesnt fall apart.
Reviewed By:Nick,8/28/2014 6:24:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Headsets & Accessories > RAZER > Razer Kraken 7.1 Surround Sound USB Over Ear Gaming Headset

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great headphones!
Pros: Great bass (after enhancing with Razer Synapse software)
USB interface creates less echo when video conferencing (vs analog interface)
LED lit logos on each side with led lit ring around mic
Comfy and greatly reduce surrounding noise
Surround sound works really well.
Cons: NO INLINE VOLUME CONTROL -- This would be incredibly handy and many current headsets have this capacity. Razer has failed to acknowledge the need for this. I think this would be very nice to be able to quickly mute or adjust volume mid game in case someone needs to mention something to me, I don't have to take 5 seconds to hit the function key. May seem silly to some, but I would find it very useful.

Also, inability to change colors. I have the Naga Epic and Black Widow combination as well and I like how I can change the colors of the Naga Epic. I would like it if I could change the color scheme of all three peripherals at any given time and have consistency with the colors. I would be very interested in changing the color scheme from time to time to match other Razer peripherals. Not a big issue, but something I think Razer should take note of.
Other Thoughts: The headset is fantastic. I have no regrets after purchasing. I would definitely recommend to friends, however there are just those few adjustments that would make this perfect.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/28/2014 6:23:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Headsets & Accessories > Creative Labs > Creative Fatal1ty Gaming Headset

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 works great
Pros: Great sound, comfortable to wear, mic is decent. removable mic if i need a pair of headsets.
they last forever. long cord.
Cons: none.
Other Thoughts: this is my third pair, and i still love them. last two were destroyed by my Girlfriend by vacuuming over the cords and ripping the wires up. other then that they last forever!
Reviewed By:N/A,8/28/2014 4:24:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Headsets & Accessories > Corsair > Corsair Raptor HS30 Dual 3.5mm Connector Circumaural Gaming Headset

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 bad from the start
Pros: fit and comfort
Cons: tons of static from mic when speaking (i was forced to put on my old headset so i can actually have a conversation without some complaining about the noise coming from the mic), sound is extremely hollow and unimpressive, also have a problem with it switch sound from stereo to one ear piece.
Other Thoughts: I installed these in my pc with a creative sound blaster x-fi extreme gamer sound card and all was ok except for the mic static, which is exceptionally loud with mic boost on(which u need on with this headset since no one can hear you without it). i paid 27 bucks for a cheap Log***ch headset which out does these a 1000 times over.
Reviewed By:Darksky,8/28/2014 1:32:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau