Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Headsets & Accessories > HyperX > HyperX Cloud II Gaming Headset with 7.1 Virtual Surround Sound for PC/PS4/Mac/Mobile - Pink

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 You get what you pay for...
Pros: - Comfort
- Affordable
- Easy plug and use
- Stylish
Cons: - Microphone stopped and is useless (owned for 2 months!)
Other Thoughts: Would I buy this again? Maybe not considering I can't use my microphone anymore.
Reviewed By:L G.,7/26/2016 4:45:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Headsets & Accessories > HyperX > HyperX Cloud II Gaming Headset with 7.1 Virtual Surround Sound for PC/PS4/Mac/Mobile - Red

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Need to know information!
Pros: Nice quality sound for a casual gamer (music sounds great to me)
Detachable mic
Decent mic quality
Long cords
Comfortable
Spare set of ear cups
Quality travel bag
If there was no issue with the control box I would rate this headset 4/5 stars
Cons: Here is the kicker and be aware when purchasing! They decided to put a "sound card" in the USB control box which seems like I great idea but the problem comes after repeatedly removing and putting on the headset the control box bumps into my desk and case. I've had the headset for 4 months and the headset just decided to stop working. I isolated the problem to the control box and discovered many people are experiencing this same issue. Speaking to my local parts tech they said they get these headsets coming back a lot and It is always the control box. If windows suddenly fails to recognize your headset "device descriptor failed error" don't waste your time looking for a fix. There is none! You need to replace the USB control box. One shop was selling a new USB box for 70 bucks! Which I laughed at because It's clearly a design flaw on kingstons part and for such a huge design flaw they don't deserve any extra money. Don't pay anything for a new one! I took the headset to my local dealer and they gave me a brand new one for free so make sure you do aswell.
Other Thoughts: I like the headset, It does everything I want it to for a decent price. Mainly I just find it really comfortable. I'm no audiophile so I don't care about having the greatest sound quality but this headset isn't a slouch. The bass is loud and I haven't heard it crack or pop under high volumes either. Just be aware that there is a 80% chance that these will fail and I'm pretty certain that the USB box is the weak point. On the brightside the USB box has a clip that I have now decided to clip onto my mouse pad to avoid it being moved about too much.
Reviewed By:Graham P.,7/26/2016 11:09:34 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Headsets & Accessories > Logitech > Logitech G930 USB Connector Circumaural Wireless Gaming Headset

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 bought refurbished, poor quality
Pros: wireless
Cons: mini-usb to headset is the flaw of this headset. The refurbished i bought were probably broken by someone who forget they were charging and stand up. Newegg didnt properly tested their refurbished product and i ended up with a pair of headset not charging while in use (the first day i got them)
Other Thoughts: Item is not recharging while in use.
Connection from mini-usb to headphone seems to not be stable and randomly stop charging

I would consider buy a new pair instead of refurbished one but honestly, you sold me a defect product so am not sure that i want to do business with newegg again.
Reviewed By:Patrick L.,7/26/2016 10:32:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Headsets & Accessories > Corsair > Corsair Gaming VOID Wireless RGB Gaming Headset - Carbon

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Mixed thoughts
Pros: Very comfortable headset. Major upgrade from the H2100.
Longer battery life than the H2100. The H2100 usually gave me 4-5 hours on a single charge whereas the VOID gives 8+. (honestly I haven't tested max time on it because when I take the headset off for the night I plug it in. But I have gotten a full 8 hours a couple of times.)
Pretty lights that are customizable. In other words...Shiny!
Great sound quality. Another improvement over the H2100. I can tell with more clarity the exact direction sound is coming from whereas with the H2100 it wasn't as crisp.
If you have another Corsair product using Corsair's CUE (Corsair Utility Engine) then the headset is plug and play as in no downloading drivers etc. (CUE take a bit of getting used to though)
Mic quality is great. I switched headsets without telling others and no one could tell. Usually there's a lot of tweaking needing to be done so others can hear you better...no tweaking was necessary for me.
Muting the mic is now with a button which insures you do in fact have the mic muted. With the H2100's you flip the mic up and it doesn't always trigger that you want the mic muted. Awkward moments insue when you have to pee with the H2100 headset on and the mic is not actually muted.
Cons: Range is slightly less than the H2100 headsets.
When the headset gets disconnected (usually due to range/weak signal as in get up and walk into the kitchen to get a drink...but sometimes it disconnects for no apparent reason) the headset won't reconnect like the H2100 would. I can't simply 'turn it off and on again' I have to disconnect the dongle, wait 10 seconds, reconnect the dongle THEN 'turn it off and on again' to get it to reconnect. My guess is that eventually a firmware update will fix this issue.
I don't like the volume control knob as much as the H2100's scroll wheel. I know this is a preference and others may love the knob more.
The LED's on the front of the mic are worthless as in you can't see them because they are on the opposite side of the mic from your face. They're great to tell someone looking at you that you've muted the mic, but worthless in telling YOU that you've muted the mic.
Can't mute the mic by flipping it up. Having both button AND flip-up mute would have been nice.
There is no cable/base for the dongle. Other wireless headsets (Corsair or other) have a base so you can put the dongle up high for better range. This dongle plugs straight into a USB port which might explain the weaker range.
Other Thoughts: For the $100 I wish I would have gone another route. Corsair focused a LOT on the headset being comfortable. They should have tested their products front lighting better. In their video they touted how great those lights are in giving the user cue's about what's going on with the headset. The problem is that it's physically not possible to see those lights when wearing the headset. The mic plastic has too much memory so you can't twist the mic at all to be able to see the lights. When you twist it the mic twists back to the original position.
The sound quality and level of comfort are both home-runs! The mic worked just fine with no noticeable difference from previous products other than I didn't have to tweak any software (which is convenient). Other than that the headset was meh at best.
Reviewed By:R R.,7/26/2016 8:10:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Headsets & Accessories > Corsair > Corsair Gaming VOID Surround Hybrid Stereo Gaming Headset with Dolby 7.1 USB Adapter - Red

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 A Nice Sounding Set of Surround Sound Gaming Headphones
Pros: I tested the Corsair Void Surround Hybrid Stereo Gaming Headset with the included Dolby 7.1 USB Sound adapter. These headphones are also available in a version without the Dolby 7.1 surround adapter and a battery powered wireless Bluetooth version. The headphones include a flip down microphone for communicating with a gaming partner. The red universal headset I received had a single 3.5mm stereo pin plug with one tip connector and three ring connections. These consist of: left and right stereo channels, a microphone output ring contact and a grounding ring contact.

So being an electronic tech I’m looking at this pin plug and wondering how the heck do they get 7.1 surround sound with only two audio connections. So I did some research on the Internet. Turtle Beach a longtime PC sound card manufacturer had a nice video on YouTube that made it all clear with animations and audio demos. Do yourself a favor and do a search on YouTube for “Turtle Beach Surround Sound Demo”.

The keyword regarding the Dolby surround system used with these headphones is the word “hybrid.” In all truthfulness there is only a single 50mm neodymium driver in each headphone cup, that’s it. Yes these are just plain old stereo headphones and nothing else special except for the added microphone. The secret to the surround effect is in the shape of the human earlobes. By emphasizing sounds in front of you and attenuating sounds from behind the head, your ear lobes allow you to localize where a sound originated from. Hybrid surround sound uses science to electronically process the audio signal output by your game or other stereo source to fool your brain into thinking these headphones are 7.1 surround capable when they really aren’t.

The included Dolby USB Surround adapter is the secret sauce that makes all of this science actually work. Dolby Labs by carefully tweaking delay and reflection timing (echo effects), does a pretty convincing job of fooling your brain into thinking sounds are originating from behind and to the sides of your head. In fact you can plug any stereo headphone set into the included Dolby 7.1 Surround audio adapter and achieve pretty much the same surround effects. The effect is called ambiance. The best recordings result from using a dummy head with plastic earlobes and microphones mounted where the ear canals would normally be. These binaural recordings contain the added ambiance signals that the Dolby surround processor can use to decode and to recreate the original audio environment.

I compared the sound of the Void headphones to another pair of Panasonic Technics RP-DH1200 DJ headphones that I own. The Voids had a muddier bass and less sparkle in the upper treble range by comparison. Audiophiles would say the Voids were more polite sounding than the DJ headphones and they are. The Voids were also more comfortable to wear for extended listening sessions. The Voids seem to be optimized more to the human voice range, which makes perfect sense considering their intended purpose. In listening tests my wife preferred the Voids to the Technics. The Voids were smoother sounding and less sensitive than the Technics headphones.

Corsair should consider selling the Dolby Surround adapter as a separate stand-alone item. Just the cure for older laptops and desktop users who would like an inexpensive way to upgrade their PC sound systems.
Cons: Overall I liked the Void headphones. However there were a few weak areas. The microphone did a poor job of picking up my voice. I had to bend it inward so the tip was pointing at my mouth in order for it to pickup my voice properly. The mike boom is made out of a rather springy plastic material and the microphone kept unbending, back outward away from my mouth, requiring frequent readjustments. On the good side it stayed-up when not in use. It can also be switched-off when not needed.

The Corsair Utility Engine was a rather clunky piece of software. I should not have to go to three different places to control one set of headphones. Having to hunt down the sound icon in the control panel to choose the default audio device was a waste of time. This should have all been controllable from the Corsair Utility. The other audio features should have likewise been better integrated into the Corsair Utility. Many of the features lacked logic on their placements in the Corsair Utility. The menu system was kind of a mishmash affair. The Corsair Utility should have been more easily accessible from the notification bar.
Other Thoughts: When I first connected the Dolby Audio adapter I could not get any sound out of it. With Windows 7 you have to dedicate a default audio adapter. Sorry, but MS will not allow you to run two adapters at the same time. Maybe this has been fixed in Windows 10, unfortunately my Win10 system is at the manufacturer being repaired, so I can’t test this theory at the moment. (The audio jack popped off the motherboard). Since my Asus Xonar was my default audio adapter I had to go into the Sound icon in the Win7 Control Panel and designate the new Corsair Dolby Surround adapter as the new default audio device. After that and locating the partially hidden volume control under the left headphone cup; suddenly everything started to work properly.

The Dolby audio driver allows you to control the amount of sidetone volume that is reproduced by the headphones. Sidetone has been around since the early days of telephony and the invention of the hybrid coil. When you speak into a land line telephone mouthpiece, a small amount of your voice is instantly fed back to the handset earphone, so you can hear yourself speaking. This feedback tells you the phone is working correctly and prevents people from speaking too loudly into the receiver and hurting the person’s ears on the other end of the line. It’s a simple form of feedback. The amount used on land-line phones is only about 8%. I found a setting of about 50% worked good with the Void microphone/headset.

The microphone has its low-end frequency response limited to 100 Hz. This is probably done to prevent puffing and wind noises caused by your breathing from disrupting the vocal audio quality. That is a good design compromise based on its intended function. This headset should be very useful for VoIP and for use with Skype.

Since I am not a big gamer I listened to various audio sources to get an idea of how the Voids performed. There are some nice test videos on YouTube that will sweep just about any audio frequency range you could ask for. There are bass tests that start at 10 Hz and sweep up to 100 Hz. Other videos covered the mid-range and treble ranges. I also listened to MP4 video and MP3 audio files.

I listened to a video on YouTube from an album called “Gift Wrapped” 20 Songs That Keep On Giving by Regina Spektor. The particular test track I listened to is called “My Dear Acquaintance [A Happy New year].” Yes its holiday music. But the recording quality is amazing on this track. On a high-end audio system the sound staging makes it sound like Regina is in the same room singing to you.

The track starts out with the sounds of a helicopter flying over an urban war zone and then her piano is brought in. My subwoofer loves the deep bass of the helicopter blades swooshing overhead. The helicopter then fades away and you hear Regina singing her lyrics while playing the piano. There are sounds of mayhem in the background, including distant explosions, gunfire, Etc. (Not unlike gaming, eh). The sound staging on this minimally miked recording is outstanding. So it makes an excellent audio test for both headphones and speakers. On the Voids the initial helicopter sounded somewhat muted. On the Technics it’s a little better, but the deep bass output by my den subwoofer put both headsets to shame. Headphones obviously have their limitations.

Another track I listened to was Vangelis Titans (ArtoriusMix) from the motion picture Alexander. This is an extremely dynamic movie sound track. The horns sounded strained and started to breakup on the Void (at high volumes - not recommended), yet sounded pretty natural on the Technics. The Technics seemed to have more dynamic range than the Voids. This track can also be found on YouTube.

Overall I liked the Corsair Void Surround Hybrid Stereo Gaming Headset. The USB 7.1 Dolby Surround adapter was an amazing little piece of micro electronics. I have used other similar USB sound systems in the past, but this one blows those away. The headphones were comfortable to wear for extended periods, and while they are not audiophile quality, they provided fully adequate sound quality for their intended gaming purpose. Given their price point I would highly recommend them.
Reviewed By:William W.,7/25/2016 8:47:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Headsets & Accessories > HyperX > HyperX Cloud II Gaming Headset with 7.1 Virtual Surround Sound for PC/PS4/Mac/Mobile - Red

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Incredible audio // Terrible Mic standard with all Cloud II
Pros: The audio is clean. I would especially recommend it directly plugged in without the USB.
Cons: DO NOT BUY IF YOU WILL USE FOR GAMING OR ANY OTHER VOICE PROGRAMS.

The microphone plugs into the headset which runs down an extremely short 3 ft cord. There is then an option to use the USB adapter to extend it that has its own interface to change to the fake "7.1" surround sound and volume up, etc... All 7.1 on headsets sound terrible, that's not why it's 2 eggs. The USB hook up locks mic settings, so your microphone cannot be adjusted for your friends to hear you. I did a ton of research and basically it locks your mic sensitivity, so if any one wants to hear you, THEY have to turn you up some how. You don't have much control over that. This makes it EXTREMELY difficult for voice activated applications, such as mumble or ventrilo, because the sensitivity only goes up to 1 (0 would be not talking; most voice quality headsets range from 30 - 100 sensitivity when talking). After some research, people were able to fix this issue by plugging the headset directly into the audio port. Unfortunately, this requires an adapter for a 3.5 mm to a mic and audio 2.5 mm, and that is not included in the package. After many weeks of struggling to make this the perfect headset, I got the adapter, and the mic portion refuses to work. At this point I'm fed up with this bargain microphone. I have no options for a microphone with decent quality. I'm stuck with this.
Manufacturer Response:Hi there - We're sorry to hear about your headset experience. It sounds like there might be a misunderstanding. You are not able to control the mic volume from the PC, but you are able to do so from the USB Dongle controller. If that is not working for you, it's possible you have something conflicting or even a defective part. I would encourage you to contact us for some troubleshooting and see how we can help you.

Feel free to reach out to our Support Team for any other questions at: http://geni.us/HyperXSupport.

Case number: SR391273

Thank you for choosing HyperX,
Christian V. @ Kingston Technology

Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/25/2016 8:35:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Headsets & Accessories > Logitech > Logitech G930 USB Connector Circumaural Wireless Gaming Headset

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 total lemon, don't do it
Pros: When it works, the sound is great, and the profiles can be nice if you use multiple programs frequently
Cons: Wireless signal is garbage. Since I bought them over a year ago the signal will drop at random, the mic will spontaneously mute half the time the signal returns, and the signal distance is laughable (10 to 12 yards maximum, less if there are walls in the way). I've tried all manner of things to fix the signal dropping, and short of buying a new one and hoping its not a lemon, nothing has worked.
Other Thoughts: I would not recommend these headphones, and will not purchase them again.
Reviewed By:Jessica H.,7/25/2016 7:39:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Headsets & Accessories > Creative Labs > Creative Fatal1ty Gaming Headset

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Lasts a while
Pros: •Uses legacy jacks; one more USB slot
•Velvet ear cushioning
•Cheap(er) compared to other headsets
•Lasts (sorta, see cons)
Cons: •Isn't the best of quality; if you pick it up and shake it a bit it will make clacking sounds
•Mic jack didn't last. However, it rant the reason I bought it and could've been from a number of reasons, like my pets gnawing on it or something. This still isn't acceptable, so I knocked off one egg for that.
Other Thoughts: Don't let other people saying that it doesn't last deter you. Although you might have to handle it more carefully than a more expensive heavy-duty headset, it isn't like it's extremely fragile, either. I bought this at least two years ago and it is still in an amazing condition.
Reviewed By:Logan S.,7/25/2016 6:18:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Headsets & Accessories > Logitech > Logitech G930 USB Connector Circumaural Wireless Gaming Headset

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3
Pros: Great quality in sound and mic
Lasted for over a year for me
Cons: The input for the charger warps the charger you are using to a point where it will not into the headset perfectly and will stay attached to the headset but not charge. The only way I could charge it was keeping in a certain position on my table and I wasn't able to use it in that time period. The right ear cup popped out.
Other Thoughts: The charging problem isn't that simple as you think it's hard to explain but it made me very angry over the half of a year that it was a problem.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/25/2016 5:02:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Headsets & Accessories > HyperX > HyperX Cloud Stereo Gaming Headset for PC/PS4/Mac/Mobile - Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: everything
Cons: won't cook for me
Reviewed By:guy c.,7/25/2016 9:58:54 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.