Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Processors - Servers > Intel > Intel Xeon E3-1275 v5 SkyLake 3.6 GHz 4 x 256KB L2 Cache 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1151 80W BX80662E31275V5 Server Processor

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great WS processor
Pros: Fast, supports ECC, it's a Xeon, does have onboard graphics P530
Cons: They keep sending the heatsink with chewing gum instead of a tube of compound.
Other Thoughts: The heatsink that came with this processor is a lot smaller than I expected. I'm not worried about it, just find it interesting. I am using the integrated P530 graphics while I wait on Pascal to be released. Then this WS will be ready.
Reviewed By:Chip G.,4/27/2016 8:31:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Processors - Servers > Intel > Intel Xeon E3-1240 v5 SkyLake 3.5 GHz 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1151 80W BX80662E31240V5 Server Processor

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 What I expected....and more!
Pros: The performance of the Intel Core i7-6700K 8M Skylake but far less expensive. I built this PC for work AND gaming, so because I do a lot in VMware, the Xeon was a better choice for me than the I7-6700K. This processor has instruction sets on it that the I7 doesn't have, so again the reason I chose this chip over the I7. If you buy this processor, make sure your motherboard supports the Intel C232 chipset.
Cons: The only con that I can think of so far (which I knew going in) is that you cannot overclock this chip. For my use, that is no big deal.
Other Thoughts: Great processor, have it installed on the new Asus E3 Pro Gaming V5 motherboard. Would recommend to anyone that wants essentially the same performance of the I7 Skylake at a cheaper price point but more importantly for those of you that do a lot with virtualization.
Reviewed By:SHAWN W.,4/23/2016 7:40:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Processors - Servers > Intel > Intel Xeon E3-1230 v5 SkyLake 3.4 GHz 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1151 80W BX80662E31230V5 Server Processor

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 No Surprises Here
Pros: -Intel Performance
-Intel reliability
-Intel quality
Cons: - None
Other Thoughts: There are no surprises here. Intel delivers another solid CPU. This processor supports my storage server; FreeNas running Owncloud and Plex in separate jails. Hasn't broken a sweat.
Reviewed By:Ronald S.,4/20/2016 10:28:34 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Processors - Servers > Intel > Intel Xeon E3-1241 v3 Haswell 3.5 GHz 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1150 80W Server Processor BX80646E31241V3

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Has been handling my gaming for 17 months now
Pros: -Fast
-Has not overheated yet, and it gets up to 110° F at my house in the summer.
-Fan on heat sink is quiet
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: -If you don't plan on using on board graphics (who does if your buying a Xeon), then this is a cheaper and better alternative to its i7 counterpart.

-Pay close attention to the directions for installing the heat sink onto the processor. If you do it right, it takes 30 seconds. If you're like me and don't read directions it'll take 30 frustrating minutes.
Reviewed By:Gary G.,4/19/2016 6:06:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Processors - Servers > AMD > AMD Opteron 6344 Abu Dhabi 2.6 GHz 6 x 2MB L2 Cache 2 x 8MB L3 Cache Socket G34 115W OS6344WKTCGHKWOF Server Processor

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works great!
Pros: I installed 2 of them in parallel on a super micro motherboard and they work fabulous. Doing CFD work they often run flat out at hundred percent for hours on end without a problem
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: A lot less money than the Intel alternative
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/11/2016 5:48:05 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Processors - Servers > Intel > Intel Xeon E3-1230 v5 SkyLake 3.4 GHz 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1151 80W BX80662E31230V5 Server Processor

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 skylake without the integrated graphics. cheaper than the i7 counterpart. cant beat it!
Pros: skylake without the integrated graphics. cheaper than the i7 counterpart. cant beat it!
Cons: none
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/9/2016 3:24:25 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Processors - Servers > Intel > Intel Xeon E3-1230 v5 SkyLake 3.4 GHz 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1151 80W BX80662E31230V5 Server Processor

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fantastic processor for various applications
Pros: Latest and greatest Skylake architecture
Hyper-threading support
64 GB Memory peak (better than 32 GB peak in Haswell for virtualization)
Performance profile for associated power consumption
Includes heatsink and fan for standard desktop-style (or super low cost server) applications.
Cons: Lack of competition for Intel enables price gouging to get to the first hyperthreading-capable model.
Other Thoughts: This processor is a beast for light-to-medium loaded hosts and for multi-function storage solutions. Equal thread handling to legacy quad-core, non-hyperthreaded processors with signficantly reduced power consumption. If your processing needs are a bit less demanding and/or you can do without HT, save some coin and grab the E3 1220 v5 in lieu of this. Very happy with this purchase independent of price.
Reviewed By:James R.,4/9/2016 11:42:39 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Processors - Servers > Intel > Intel Xeon E3-1231V3 Haswell 3.4 GHz 4 x 256KB L2 Cache 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1150 80W BX80646E31231V3 Server Processor

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Workhorse!
Pros: Low heat, low wattage, very stable, games run beautifully with it.
Cons: nope
Other Thoughts: I would call this CPU a jack of all trades and master of nothing. I bought this for gaming and a little bit of editing(possibly). I have an i7 4790 and this CPU benchmarks right below it. It is essentially a i7 4770. If Vulcan or dx 12 take advantage of multi core processors then the logical 8 cores should work great. I am happy with this purchase as opposed to an i5 4690. This processor is a hell of gaming processor, wish more people would try it.
Reviewed By:Lane G.,4/5/2016 2:03:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Processors - Servers > Intel > Intel Xeon E3-1231V3 Haswell 3.4 GHz 4 x 256KB L2 Cache 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1150 80W BX80646E31231V3 Server Processor

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Haswell
Pros: Fast, and stable. Running in a server with ECC memory that serves up Plex, a VM running PIAF and a Windows guest for Plex Channels. I have also ran a few other VMs as well. Thing never breaks a sweat, load rarely goes over 1 for a logical 8 core processor.
Cons: First one had a damaged fan. Newegg replaced it.
Reviewed By:Brett P.,4/4/2016 2:45:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Processors - Servers > Intel > Intel Xeon E3-1230 v5 SkyLake 3.4 GHz 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1151 80W BX80662E31230V5 Server Processor

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Went with a Xeon gaming rig.
Pros: -Cost. I bought this processor for around $269. It was well worth the money. It performs in the same area as an i7-4790k.
-I went from an aging AMD FX-8320. Same amount of threads, less cores here. Went from a TDP of 125w down to 80w.
-DDR4 support. Lets face it, times are changing it's time to move to the new ram guys.
-14nm lithography is a godsend. They aren't going to get over the hurdles for the next gen for a while. So this will do for now.
-Built for a gaming pc, went full micro-ATX. Temps have not gotten over 50C with a Hyper 212 Evo cooler.
-Just sucks that this processor isn't supported on the Z170 chipset.
-Plays all of my games super smooth, coupled with a 290x.
Cons: -The heatsink it comes with is pretty comical. (not so good.)
-Apart from that, nothing to speak of in all honesty.
Other Thoughts: Benchmarks can be found here

http://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/916633
Reviewed By:Kyle H.,3/24/2016 2:05:25 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.