Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Processors - Servers > Intel > Intel Xeon E3-1231V3 Haswell 3.4GHz 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1150 80W BX80646E31231V3 Server Processor

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Use for everythin
Pros: I use this cpu with an asrock z87 fatal1ty pro and r9 280. Gaming is sweet, I notice no issues, in photoshop and lightroom this cpu performs exactly as it should. As more multitasking programs take advantage of the cpu it will show later on.
Cons: I dont have any cons about the cpu. Maybe if I could OC it..lol. But really runs strong.
Other Thoughts: In reviews it performs lower than a 4770k. But take into account that this cpu is server and it is designed with certain features that are forced in the cpu.
Reviewed By:Obi,3/25/2015 12:33:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Processors - Servers > AMD > AMD Opteron 6328 Abu Dhabi 3.2GHz 8MB L2 Cache 16MB L3 Cache Socket G34 115W OS6328WKT8GHKWOF Server Processor

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Incredibly fast. Able to eat straight through anything I throw at them without breaking a sweat. Highly recommended for anyone who needs a server cpu with relatively high clock speeds that doesnt sacrifice overall performance.
Cons: Unfortunately I recieved the processor in its bulk packaging (not bought through newegg, it was out of stock here when I needed it.) This means that I didn't get any shiny case badges or bumper stickers.
Other Thoughts: This specific cpu has almost no real competition. The only processor fairly comparable (8 core, 3ghz+ clock) is the xeon e5-2690 but it is about 4 times more expensive so any comparisons of performance scores really arent valid.
Reviewed By:Rein,3/19/2015 8:57:16 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Processors - Servers > Intel > Intel Xeon E3-1231V3 Haswell 3.4GHz 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1150 80W BX80646E31231V3 Server Processor

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Powerful CPU
Pros: Lots of power, still able to air cool
Cons: none
Reviewed By:Jeff,3/15/2015 1:19:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Processors - Servers > Intel > Intel Xeon E3-1226 v3 Haswell 3.3GHz 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1150 84W Server Processor BX80646E31226V3

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent
Pros: Using this chip in my Freenas media server. I haven't seen it bottleneck on transcoding streams yet. And I have certainly tried. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a CPU that can handle may streams at once in Plex. I haven't use it for virtualation yet but I imagine that this thing would handle it without a problem. I am truly happy with this purchase.
Cons: None so far
Reviewed By:N/A,3/14/2015 1:00:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Processors - Servers > Intel > Intel Xeon E3-1231V3 Haswell 3.4GHz 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1150 80W BX80646E31231V3 Server Processor

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent
Pros: If you're building a server or workstation, this chip provides excellent value.

Every currently available CPU feature is included, from AES-NI for hardware crypto to TSX-NI which was broken on older chips. It also comes with the full complement of virtualization features Intel offers.

This chip is no compromise in features or performance.
Cons: Nothing bad to say.
Other Thoughts: Please realize this chip has no onboard graphics. For some server boards that expose only CPU graphics (like the Supermicro X10-SAE), you will need a graphics card to get any screen output.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/13/2015 7:21:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Processors - Servers > Intel > Intel Xeon E3-1230 V2 Ivy Bridge 3.3GHz (3.7GHz Turbo) 4 x 256KB L2 Cache 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1155 69W BX80637E31230V2 Server Processor

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great CPU
Pros: - Price
- Multi-threading performance
- Compatibility
- Power consumption
Cons: - Fully Locked Multiplier
- No iGPU (not really a con)
Other Thoughts: Replaced my 3570k that Ran 4.7Ghz with this Xeon because I needed the Hyper-threading. So far the Xeon outperforms the unlocked i5 in just about everything, with the exception of any software that doesn't take advantage of more than 4 threads, but even then the experience is smoother if multi-tasking lots of programs.

I would highly recommend this CPU for just about any task, as long as it stays significantly cheaper than the i7's.
Reviewed By:B. O'Problum,3/5/2015 4:30:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Processors - Servers > Intel > Intel Xeon E3-1246 v3 Haswell 3.5GHz 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1150 84W Server Processor BX80646E31246V3

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Small Workstation Build
Pros: Works with most 1150 boards with integrated video out.
Relatively low power draw for a high powered CPU.
Uses Intel 4600 graphics engine at 350~1250MHz.
Supports secure instructions for professional use.
Cons: None that I know of other than some heat under full load.
Other Thoughts: I wanted a computer built to workstation specs. I needed a small machine that could not fail, even under full load 24/7/365. Knowing Intel's reputation from experience, and also knowing the robustness of the Xeon CPU, I realized that, since my motherboard, the Gigabyte B85M-D3H rev 1.1 supported the FCLGA1150 Haswell Refresh Xeon, the choice was a no brainer. Alternatives for home users would be the i7 4790S or its big brother the i7 4790K, which are very similar but designed for home use. Down clocking the chip to 3.2GHz to get even 2:1 clocks between the CPU and the 32GB of 1600MHz RAM should yield a very stable system that runs cool and quiet, even under the stress of continuous professional use. It should last for many years.
Reviewed By:Slow Dog,3/4/2015 9:11:58 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Processors - Servers > Intel > Intel Xeon E3-1246 v3 Haswell 3.5GHz 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1150 84W Server Processor BX80646E31246V3

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 4790 - $30 = :D
Pros: - Efficient
- Fast as hell
- LGA 1150 Socket
Cons: -None
Other Thoughts: Was looking to upgrade from my AMD FX 4170 after a good three and a half years of service. Did some researching and came across this chip. It's a i7 4790 for $30 cheaper. I got mine for $279.99 and paired it with a cheap Z97 board, and couldn't be happier!
Reviewed By:Matt O.,2/17/2015 10:33:29 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Processors - Servers > Intel > Intel Xeon E5-1620 v3 Haswell-EP 3.5GHz 4 x 256KB L2 Cache 10MB L3 Cache LGA 2011-3 140W BX80644E51620V3 Server Processor

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Not an Ivy Bridge CPU
Pros: Awesome. Great single-CPU for server, as turbo is only +100MHz. Does great in the production environment.
Cons: Performance is dwarfed next to an i7 5930k. The i7 , however does not utilize ECC.
Other Thoughts: Not an Ivy Bridge CPU. Newegg, Its been 3 weeks. Fix the description.
Reviewed By:Erik Grundstrom,2/12/2015 9:50:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Processors - Servers > Intel > Intel Xeon E3-1226 v3 Haswell 3.3GHz 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1150 84W Server Processor BX80646E31226V3

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent Value
Pros: Cool and quiet operation, excellent performance, price is a fraction of a comparable Core i7, includes built in graphics for motherboards that require it.
Cons: Lower end of the Xeon family, uses more power than the Core i processors, but still significantly less than an AMD chip.
Other Thoughts: I bought this for use in a Hyper-V / NAS box I built for my home lab setup. It's running 4 VM's on the host OS and CPU utilization stays nice and low. This is the first Intel processor I've used in any of my builds, but definitely not the last. The CPU fan is virtually silent and the temps (as reported by HWMonitor) are staying around 27 degrees C, even with all of my VM's running. This makes it ideal for use in a smaller case, and the low power draw means I don't feel wasteful leaving it running 24/7. One thing to note when looking at Xeon processors, the models ending in "5" and "6" (as far as I can tell) are the processors that have a built-in GPU. My mini-ITX board requires the CPU to have integrated graphics in order to use the on-board video ports, and since I'm using this as a server, I wasn't planning on installing a graphics card. If your motherboard does not require a CPU that has built-in graphics support or you are planning on installing a video card, you can probably save yourself some money by going for a Xeon with a model number ending in "0" or "1".
Reviewed By:JCR,2/9/2015 6:07:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.