Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Notebook Barebone Systems > MSI > MSI 937-175724-001 17.3" Notebook

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 BAREBONES- BUYER BEWARE: not a ready item.
Pros: Don't really know, as i was not prepared by the poorly written specs. So it isn't running yet. It would be a good price for a working item, but seems expensive for something that yet requires processor, hard drive, memory, wireless card. I guess the pro is you can put what you want in there.
Cons: Bought this after reading one of the answered questions that said it came with a 2.5 GHz I5. THERE IS NO PROCESSOR. THERE IS NO HD, NO RAM, NO NUTHIN.
Other Thoughts: To me it's marginally dishonest for this not to be clearly labeled as follows: BAREBONES SYSTEM. PARTS AND INSTALLATION REQUIRED!
Reviewed By:techbuilt,2/20/2014 1:53:10 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Notebook Barebone Systems > MSI > Notebook Barebone

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 So very misleading
Pros: All the false information on this listing was provided by the manufacturer and not by Newegg- New egg is awesome- and are resolving my problem without penalty or restocking fee. Please do not blame Newegg for this disaster and waste of money.
Cons: Listed as barebones but then gives detailed specs of 1.5 TB Hard size, 16 GB of RAM, Windows 8 Operating system, i5 processor, DVD Supermulti. It is just a barebones system - chassis, mobo, graphics card- that is all. It would cost another $1000 to get the gear advertised and install it. Incredibly disappointed. There are many other gaming machines with great graphics cards, huge memory and all the necessary software for one or two hundred dollars more.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Valued Customer,

Newegg has been informed of their mistake when they created this product listing.
It is a barebone product therefore Newegg lists all supported items on the product page, below is our official page for your review.
http://www.msiwhitebook.com/product_spec.asp?model=MS-1763

If you have any questions, please kindly get in touch with our tech support team directly at 626.271.1004 for assistance during regular business hours from M to F, 6am to 6pm Pacific Time, or you can email us at usreview@msi.com.
When contacting us, please kindly include your product info, thank you.

Best Regards,
MSI Review Team | usreview@msi.com

Reviewed By:JRich,1/6/2014 2:44:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Notebook Barebone Systems > MSI > Notebook Barebone

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 barebone??
Pros: i use some msi products and been happy with them
Cons: how is this barebone??
Other Thoughts: i thought that when i looked at a barebone unit it was set up to where i got to pick what parts went in it ?? like a choise of cpu choise memory, harddrive. ect.... this ''barebone'' unit dont seem to let me chose anything so how is it differant than a off the rack ready to go as is unit??
Manufacturer Response:Dear Valued Customer,

We apologize for the issues that you are having with this product.

For QVP, please visit the link below.
http://www.msiwhitebook.com/product_spec.asp?model=MS-1763

For driver downloads, please visit the link below.
http://www.msi.com/product/nb/GT70-2OD.html#download

If you have any questions, please kindly get in touch with our tech support team directly at 626.271.1004 for assistance during regular business hours from M to F, 6am to 6pm Pacific Time, or you can email us at usreview@msi.com.
When contacting us, please kindly include your product info, thank you.

Best Regards,
MSI Review Team | usreview@msi.com

Reviewed By:lowtec,12/28/2013 7:37:30 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product less than 1 day.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Notebook Barebone Systems > MSI > Notebook Barebone

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 NO CPU, RAM, HDD, OS
Pros: The item is an MSI Whitebook MS-1763 with 780M GTX as indicated by the part number, 937-176322-001.

Was still a good deal for just an MS-1763 w/ 780M
Nice looking (all black, not the "90's laptop gray" shown in pics)
Lightweight (due to thin plastics)
Decent keyboard layout (although backlight is not great)
Controls for keyboard backlight, fan booster and "Airplane mode"
Cons: -No CPU (despite listing i5)
-No RAM (despite listing 16GB)
-No HDD (despite listing 1.5TB)
-No OS (despite listing Win8)
-Very difficult to assemble
-Sub-standard cooling design (single fan, aluminum heatsinks instead of copper, thermal pads instead of grease)
-HDD Bays do not provide good support
-Thin plastic
Other Thoughts: I had believed I was ready to build my own laptop, having performed numerous upgrades and repairs on two different Gateway laptops and a Lenovo. My experiences getting this running changed my mind.
- It is easy to tear foam vibration insulators attached to the heatsink. Mine came pre-torn by whomever tested it. Shock absorbing putty sticks poorly to heatsinks and falls off easily.
- CPU installation requires a 6-point star-bit screwdriver rather than the traditional flathead.
- While DDR slots 0 and 2 are easy to find, I have not yet been able to locate 1 and 3. They may require removal of the motherboard and/or keyboard.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Valued Customer,

We apologize for the issues that you are having with this product.

This product is advertised as barebone product which means it does not include any components.
If you have any issues with Newegg listing then please deal with Newegg directly since it's not MSI's fault because of typographical errors caused by the vendor.

If you have any questions, please kindly get in touch with our tech support team directly at 626.271.1004 for assistance during regular business hours from M to F, 6am to 6pm Pacific Time, or you can email us at usreview@msi.com.
When contacting us, please kindly include your product info, thank you.

Best Regards,
MSI Review Team | usreview@msi.com

Reviewed By:S.R.G.,11/6/2013 7:22:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Notebook Barebone Systems > ZOTAC > Zotac SAM102 Intel 945GSE 10" Netbook Barebone

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DO NOT BUY
Pros: At first it was nice
Cons: Then the keyboard quit working in certain sections. It didn't even last 5 months. When you try to buy parts for it you can't find them anywhere. When you talk to them directly if you can't find your receipt they won't even sell you parts. DO NOT BUY ANY ZOTAC product! Its Junk. Customer service is horrible. I have a 200$ paper weight now.
Other Thoughts: This product along with the newer version is poorly put together. Don't waste your money
Reviewed By:Lenny,1/26/2013 3:09:35 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Notebook Barebone Systems > Foxconn > Foxconn SZ-901 Intel 945GSE 10.1" Netbook Barebone

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great netbook
Pros: Speedy little netbook. I have 3 operating systems installed on it including win7 32bit and runs all of them great with speedy boot times. the 1 gig of ram doesn't seem to hinder it at all, with several open programs.
Cons: the fan is annoying, but tolerable.
Other Thoughts: An ssd would be ideal, the hd that comes with it can be heard when the heads come to a rest.
Reviewed By:chemfoot,5/15/2011 5:28:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Notebook Barebone Systems > Foxconn > Foxconn SZ-901 Intel 945GSE 10.1" Netbook Barebone

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 awesome
Pros: Runs Linux -it's a major reason I bought it, since I refuse to add to M$ coffers. It's nice and small. FoxOS is based on fedora. Works out of the box. Power on and go. Has Firefox, Openoffice, pidgin, video and music player installed.
Cons: runs X as root. Settings does not have tooltips, so you have to guess what is what. Shift key has some getting used to.
Other Thoughts: It's a sweet box. Can't beat it. I changed RAM to 2G (PNY PC2-6400, DDR2). I planned on changing to Debian or K/X/U/E/buntu. Thanks, NewEgg for having at least one machine that you don't have to pay extra for the OS!
Reviewed By:rickyrockrat,4/29/2011 3:55:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Notebook Barebone Systems > Foxconn > Foxconn SZ-901 Intel 945GSE 10.1" Netbook Barebone

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Satisfied User
Pros: I've got this as a disposable travel laptop, big enough hdd to transfer images from my camera, external DVD writer to store them permanently, and it's a full blown laptop as well, overall cost was less than a photo transfer system. it has the pass-thru USB power system, even when powered off, if it's plugged into the wall, the USB ports have power for recharging other devices.
Cons: all the same as others have reported, nothing new here.
Other Thoughts: Bought the extended warranty from NewEgg just to make sure I had no issues - then upon arrival I found that replacing the HDD with a SSD required me to break the "void if removed" seal, so that money was wasted, Set up the SSD with Win7 Ultimate 32, and 2GB ram, got the same performance as others have noted, about 2 to 3 hrs on battery, fan runs nearly continuously, Impossible to find a battery for it, replacement, upgrade or otherwise. Now I'm looking for info on the internal 3G modem, as it's got the ability to take a cell SIM card, but can find no info on it - and it doesn't show up in device manager, open to suggestions here. would like it to have internal bluetooth as well as wifi and 3G - hate to use up a USP port just for the bluetooth dongle, may crack it open and swap cards for an all in one.
Reviewed By:SSDSam,4/27/2011 10:55:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Notebook Barebone Systems > Foxconn > Foxconn SZ-901 Intel 945GSE 10.1" Netbook Barebone

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Finally got one that works...I hope
Pros: When I got one that works, It does the job.I immidately upped the ram to 2 gigs. dumped the FOXOS for Win7 enterprise and got a external DVD burner. Added office 2010 pro. It runs great and jumps online in less than 30 sec. after booting. It really is a nice netbook when it works.
Cons: First one died after recharging. Second one was DOA, third one works for now but has had problems. So I spent $30 extra dollars in return shipping. Tried to swap out the HD for SSD. Netbook did not like that a bit, died during reinstall of OS. But the next day it magicly restarted when I put the HD back in.
Other Thoughts: For the money, I guess you get what you pay for. If I knew I was going to return it twice, I would have put the shipping money into an ASUS netbook. Also neweggs 15 day warranty is really not long enough. Should be at least 30 days. My email to them complaining of another bad netbook led them to send me an email claiming it only had a 15 day refund policy. That's not mentioned in their standard return policy.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/2/2011 9:41:24 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Notebook Barebone Systems > Foxconn > Foxconn SZ-901 Intel 945GSE 10.1" Netbook Barebone

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 works with ubuntu gnu/linux
Pros: works perfect ubuntu gnu/linux 10.10. Runs 3d games at low settings like UrT.
Cons: Mumble voip software does not seem to work.
Other Thoughts: Excellent netbook and it comes with free software
Reviewed By:icelogic,3/26/2011 5:17:12 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau