Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Video Recorders > Aposonic > Aposonic A-S0401R21 4 x BNC 960H Resolution Full D1 Multi-functional DVR, Mac OSX App fully supported

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 AWFUL Manual
Pros: It works once you find the right software. Ignore the manual and install the CMS software. Once you figure it out, you'll be happy.

Motion sensing switches the monitor to the active camera, VERY useful.
Cons: WOW! the manual is AWFUL. The suggested software does NOT work. The IE plugin won't install unless you adjust your security down.

The documented Android connection will not work, use TapCMS.

All software connections lose connection with the DVR at random times. This is especially true of the Android app, even when connected to the same network.
Other Thoughts: The Newegg description says to use TapCMS for android access, the included manual doesn't.

The included CMS software isn't that intuitive but once figured out it works, mostly.
Reviewed By:daChurchPcGuy,9/16/2014 9:47:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Recorders > Q-See > Q-See QT4532 32 x BNC Supports 8 SATA HDD up to 16 TB 32 Channel H.264 Professional-grade Network DVR with D1 Recording

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1
Pros: The Price and number of cameras/ drives the unit will handle
Cons: Within a month the board for the HDMI cable melted causing smoke to come out of the unit along with a bad smell. Q-See wanted the entire unit sent back instead of sending a part out which was easily replaceable. The unit was installed at a commercial site and the owner consider it to be a mission critical piece of equipment and could not be removed from service so the failed board was removed as the HDMI port was not being used. The unit at about 13 months now has a failed power supply. The customer support is horrible, you stay on hold for long periods of time, I spent 45 minutes on hold September 2014 and the web chat says you are 1 in the que but lets you stay there for about 20 minutes and disconnects you. Going back to Speco for all future DVR installs, the extra cost is worth the money for the quality and support.
Other Thoughts: I have installed, sold, and used various brands of DVR systems but this one is the worst.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/8/2014 4:05:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Recorders > D-Link > D-Link DNR-202L mydlink Camera Video Recorder

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Easy to install, easy to use
Cons: none
Reviewed By:N/A,7/9/2014 12:43:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Recorders > VONNIC > Vonnic DVR-C1104SEFD 4 Channel (Full D-1) H.264 DVR, Real Time Display/ Record, Web/3G/4G Mobile Access (HDD Sold Separately)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great Security DVR for home!
Pros: Full D-1 recording on all 4 channels.
Front facing usb2 connection as well as 2 on the back.
Nice to have so many function buttons on the faceplate not just the remote and mouse.
Good playback and recording options.
Cons: no internal fan is about the worst I can say about it!
Other Thoughts: Simple
easy to install
inexpensive
good capabilities.

Much better than the esec*^# I had before that was connected to an UPS and still failed during a power outage!
Reviewed By:Krystal,6/5/2014 9:38:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Recorders > Night Owl Security Products > Night Owl CS-SUNB-4GB 4GB Micro SD Card (Up to16GB) Covert Video Sunglasses

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 not working video sunglasses
Pros: not recording and not able to see if recording or not .can't see nothing on puter with usb cable error from transfer all the time.
Cons: i spend to much money for a bad product and u wan't replace it ..i buy a lot of item in your store and u tell me u can not replace this item..thx i gonna buy in other store in future if i have no serviced with you about this product.
Other Thoughts: give me good news ..still waiting to replace this bad product.
Reviewed By:Francois Laliberte,5/22/2014 4:59:24 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Recorders > D-Link > D-Link DNR-202L mydlink Camera Video Recorder

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great recorder, excellent support
Pros: Easy to operate once set up, interfaces well with MyDlink cameras. Excellent support from D-Link support staff.
Cons: A little pricey, you may or may not have to change some Java settings to be able to view recordings.
Other Thoughts: I have this recording from two D-Link DCS-932L cameras onto a 320GB WD drive connected via USB. I was having a bit of difficulty with the playback functions, since buttons for playback did not appear to be doing anything/responding on the device's web interface (tried different browsers, PCs, etc, it did not matter). So I contacted D-Link support and spoke with Carlos (AR004279). He was extremely helpful and was able to assist with resolving the issue in a timely manner.

If you are also struggling with not being able to view live feed or recordings, and are comfortable with changing some Java security settings, here are the steps that worked for me (Windows 7):
Go to Start-->All Programs-->Java-->Configure Java-->"Security" Tab, then drop the level from High to Medium. In addition, click on Edit Site List, then add the Camera's local IP address twice, once preceded by http and https, so for ex, you would add: "http://192.168.1.XX and https://192.168.1.XX (assuming they have static ip addresses, if yours are obtaining addresses via DHCP, you may have to change the addresses in this list if/when your Camera's local IP address changes). Also, add "http:mydlink.com" and "https://mydlink.com" on that list as well. FInally, click "Restore Security Prompts", then make sure to apply the settings by clicking "Apply", then click "OK". Now when back in the device interface, make sure to click "Allow" or whatever positive response on any prompts that may appear.
Reviewed By:lime237,5/13/2014 7:37:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Video Recorders > D-Link > D-Link DNR-202L mydlink Camera Video Recorder

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2
Pros: It works... eventually
Cons: I purchased the DNR-202L with a little hesitation based on the reviews given. However, I'm feel like I'm fairly tech savvy, so no big deal. If I couldn't figure it out, I'll just call the helpline and all will be good. So, the DNR-202L arrives in the mail and I follow the directions to install and bingo during step 2 of the installation wizard, it failed. It gave me some sort of message about looking at the MAC address on the device and to select which one I wanted to configure. The only options I had to select were the back button and the refresh button. I tried reinstalling the software, power cycling the divice, my modem and router and computer. Nothing worked. So, I called the helpline and about a minute into the call, the call dropped. So I called back and about three minutes into the call, the call dropped. I called for a third time and immediately asked the guy to take down my name and number and to please call me back if the call dropped. I told this guy the issue I was having and he told me that he wasn't a technician and I would have to pay for a service in order to get assistance from a technician. I didn't understand this as I was only trying to install their device with the buggy software, so I hung up. A couple of days go by and I called in again, explained the situation and the call got dropped. So, I called in for the fifth time (I have five bars on my iPhone 5 in downtown Atlanta, BTW) and gave the guy my name and number, just in case. This call didn't drop and the guy was able to remote into my computer and give me a "free microsoft diagnostic". He looked to see if I had anti-virus software, looked at my PC performance and looked into the errors in my event viewer. My computer has no viruses, runs well and in general there are no issues. I felt like he pointed out things that could be misconstrued as issues though. He told me I couldn't connect my DNR-202L to the network because like a human body, it had bad cholersterol, so I needed to either take it to a place like Best Buy and spend $200+ and leave it for 5 days to have it cleaned. I told him no way and I'd just rather return the device. This is when he offer me to pay them to remote in and clean up my computer... never gave me a price because I told him I wasn't interested. Through the conversation, I asked him several times if I could just mannually connect it to my network and he didn't seem to get what I was asking. With one last ditch effort to get this thing going, I got on here and started reading reviews. I found one that sounded similar and figured out it was my antivirus (Symantec) interupting step 2 in the installation. So, I turned it off and bingo, installed just fine. How come a trained technician that works for a company that has very obvious issues with the installation of this device couldn't suggest this? I have no idea.

Since it's been up over the past two days, it seems to disconnect from the network more frequently than it should and lets out a really
Manufacturer Response:We would like to thank you for your feedback as we really do value and appreciate it very much. Please note that if you click on the Maintenance tab on the top of configuration page and then select System from the left side menu options you will find the option to turn off the Buzzer on the DNR-202L. This information is also listed on page 55 of the User Manual for the DNR-202L. We would also like to inform you that D-Link technical support does not charge a fee for assisting our customers with troubleshooting any of our products and D-Link does not recommend any third party software purchases needed for resolving our customers computer issues. We strongly advise that you check to make sure you are calling D-Link technical support directly at 1-877-453-5465 and not another third party service company that may wrongly be claiming to be associated with D-Link technical support when requesting assistance from D-Link technical support directly. Thank you for being a D-Link customer.

Reviewed By:N/A,4/25/2014 12:10:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Video Recorders > Aposonic > Aposonic A-S1602R25 960H 16 x BNC 1 x 3.5" SATA HDD up to 4TB H.264 Video Compression Multiplex Standalone DVR with HDMI Output, Mac OS X App fully supported

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very pleased.
Pros: Solid and durable DVR system. The chassis' made out of metal instead of cheap plastic. The software is intuitive and easy to work with. The
image looks great on Internet Explorer and firefox/chrome when IE tab is
installed. The HEM app for Mac OSX works flawlessly, and my client loves it. The TapCMS app for mobile phone is extremely easy to work with comparing to other DVR I previously owned. Happy customer overall.
Cons: Without IE tab, the pictures on Chrome and Firefox are fuzzy. But I use their CMS software on Windows, and my client uses Mac with the HEM app.
So no biggie for me.
Other Thoughts: Without IE tab, the pictures on Chrome and Firefox are fuzzy. But I use their CMS software on Windows, and my client uses Mac with the HEM app.
So no biggie for me.
Reviewed By:Traveler,3/28/2014 10:52:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Video Recorders > Aposonic > Aposonic A-S1602R25 960H 16 x BNC 1 x 3.5" SATA HDD up to 4TB H.264 Video Compression Multiplex Standalone DVR with HDMI Output, Mac OS X App fully supported

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Garbage
Pros: Decent for mobile viewing through an Android or iPhone only. Horrible to view with PC or MAC
Cons: On a PC, you can only remote view and playback with internet explorer. It may work a little better if the interface was updated and standalone PC, MAC, and LINUX software was provided. The whole system seems outdated and obsolete. Also, when you setup users and passwords, you can only use numbers as a password. How very secure.
Other Thoughts: I have setup multiple home and small business surveillance systems and have been trying out a number of other DVRs. I would not buy this DVR again.
Reviewed By:SurvTech,3/11/2014 10:25:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Video Recorders > D-Link > D-Link DNR-202L mydlink Camera Video Recorder

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2
Pros: Small
Cons: Not working. I can see the light blinking on the NVR where I plug in USB 3.0 1TB external Hard disk, but cannot see any recording..
Manufacturer Response:We thank you for your feedback as we do appreciate and value it very much. Please note that your DNR-202L comes with a convenient application to assist you in managing your recorded video. If you have the HDD Viewer
installed, you will be able to remove a USB HDD from the DNR-202L and plug it into your computer to review recorded video. In addition from the My Devices page, you can view the online status of each of your NVRs. Your online status will be one of the following:
-A green check mark indicates that your NVR is online and ready to use.
-A yellow exclamation point indicates that your NVR is online, but the NVR
password has changed. You will need to enter your new NVR password to
access your NVR again.
-A red cross indicates that your NVR is offline and currently cannot be
accessed remotely.

Please note that From the My Devices page, you can view the online status of each of your NVR's..

If your NVR is offline, try the following:
•Check to make sure that the Internet connection to your NVR is working properly.
•Try restarting your router.
•Check your NVR’s cable connections and make sure they are secure.
•Check to make sure that the LED on your NVR is lit solid blue

If you still cannot access your NVR, reset your NVR, make sure you have downloaded and installed the latest firmware version available for the DNR-202L and then run the Setup Wizard again from http://www.mydlink.com/support. If you have initiated the above procedure and still show a blinking light and not a solid blue light on the DNR-202L, then please contact D-Link technical support at www.dlink.com/support for further troubleshooting assistance. Thank you for choosing D-Link.

Reviewed By:N/A,2/16/2014 2:31:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau