Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • | Wish List
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Enterprise SSDs > Kingston Technology Corp. > Kingston SSDNow KC300 60GB 2.5" SATA III Enterprise Solid State Drive with Adapter SKC300S37A/60G

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Do Not use in servers
Pros: It worked well for about 3 months in a RAID 1 (mirrored) Intel Matrix/Rapid Storage environment.
Cons: Newegg please remove the "Enterprise" terminology on the KC series of drives, as the KC series drives are NOT enterprise grade. They are desktop/notebook SSD's with DuraWrite and Enterprise SMART technology but that is all.

Used the KC300/60G just for the Server OS, no data storage purposes, to ensure quick startup time of the server.
So no databases, no file serving, etc. Minimal writes/reads to the SSD as the separate SAN server handles the heavy workloads.

The drive failed after 3 months causing the RAID 1 array to crash and become unrecoverable.

Despite the product listing being described as "Enterprise grade" on newegg, it is in fine print at the bottom of their SSD webpages. "This SSD is designed for use in desktop and notebook computer workloads and is not intended for Server environments."
They also advertise their Enterprise grade SSD's as DuraWrite and Enterprise SMART technology, being used in datacenter servers on all of the SSD pages. Which the KC series of drives offer and both utilize MLC NAND Flash.
"The E and KC Series of SSDs enable IT managers to monitor an expanded list of Enterprise-grade SMART attributes. When using third-party disk utility software, they can access these attributes in order to attain enhanced insight into the health and status of their drives."
Other Thoughts: I would have speced out the E50 or E100 series drives had it been apparent these were not truly enterprise grade.
Be warned when specing the E series of SSDs, they must be run in a RAID environment or you will need to change your system's settings to accommodate it.
Manufacturer Response:Hello Will,
I'm Jewel with Kingston Technical Support. We apologize for issue experienced with the KC300 drive. We stand by all our products and can replace it under it's three year warranty. As you mentioned, the KC300 does include enterprise-grade SMART attributes. This allows for easy drive monitoring in an enterprise environment which makes the KC300 best suited in a client workstation (laptop or desktop). Here you can find more information about Enterprise versus Client SSDs: http://www.kingston.com/us/ssd/enterprise/best_practices/enterprise_versus_client_ssd
For any further assistance, please call us at 1-800-435-0640 (USA and Canada only) M - F 6am - 6pm PT and I or another available Technician will assist you. Please be sure to have the part in question on hand when you call.

Thank you for selecting Kingston as your upgrade partner.

Reviewed By:Will B,3/24/2014 11:19:18 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Enterprise SSDs > PNY Technologies, Inc. > PNY Prevail 120GB 2.5" SATA III Solid State Disk SSD9SC120GEDE-PB

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Love 'em
Pros: They're SSDs.
Fast . Easy to install . Long life !
PNY backs this series for 5 years to consumers with registration . Assembled in USA .
Very solid , all metal housing.
Cons: Just like all others , only 111.xx G available space.
Other Thoughts: I have 4 of these in a RAID5 boot array (Adaptec RAID card) that have been running non-stop for 3 months now. No crashes , no loss of data , no nothing . Just fast SSDs working as intended .
I did not change bios , try to over-provision , run a boatload of tests , or anything else . I put them into a backplane cage , installed and hooked em to the RAID card , and started using them . I have them in a HTPC I rip my movies with (tons of temp files !!) so the 10k cycle was of importance to me . Glad I didn't pay particular attention to the other reviews here . These things have very high end flash memory (enterprise) and solid , proven controllers . Just go to tweaktown.com and search the review there . Highly recomended ssd !!
Reviewed By:N/A,3/6/2014 10:57:05 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Enterprise SSDs > OCZ Technology > OCZ Z-Drive R4 CM88 1.6TB PCI-E PCI-Express 2.0 x8 MLC Enterprise Solid State Disk ZD4CM88-FH-1.6T

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Price Typo??
Pros: I had to write a review. I saw the unit on a side bar and the price caught my eye. I thought this has to be a type. Somebody put the decimal place in the wrong spot. I am looking forward to somebody buying one, maybe Bill Gates, and writing a review.
Cons: Unbelieveable price tag.
Reviewed By:macaroo,1/31/2014 10:23:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Enterprise SSDs > OCZ Technology > OCZ Z-Drive R4 CM88 1.6TB PCI-E PCI-Express 2.0 x8 MLC Enterprise Solid State Disk ZD4CM88-FH-1.6T

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Can you beat this?
Pros: The IOPS on this thing is nuts. I'm a VMware admin, and boy would I love to toy with this thing and VMs. The bandwidth also is nuts. Just wow!! I'd LOVE to test this product on VMs... would LOVE to, but I don't think our blades would support this.
Cons: Can't really say that the price is a con when it's one-of-a-kind.
Other Thoughts: Why did I submit a 5-star review?
1. I like OCZ, and it's sad the company is falling apart financially, but since they've treated me so well over the years, they deserve it.
2. To offset the other members who decided to submit a review without owning the product. Why do you guys do this? Don't submit a review on something you don't own. That's completely unfair to the product and to the folks who are counting on reviews as a determining factor. This is the first time I'm doing this myself, but it's only to offset the unfairness you members are portraying here. Stop it!

REVIEWS SHOULD BE RESERVED FOR THOSE WHO HAVE USED THE PRODUCT.
Reviewed By:g0dM@n,1/29/2014 5:56:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Enterprise SSDs > OCZ Technology > OCZ Z-Drive R4 CM84 1.2TB PCI-E PCI-Express 2.0 x8 MLC Enterprise Solid State Disk ZD4CM84-HH-1.2T

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Decent drive
Pros: Decent amount of space, doesn't take up too much room. I was able to grab one on sale and figured might as well since Battlefield 4 just came out.
Cons: Pricey, not as fast as my SCSI HDD, lags when running heavy programs like solitaire. It loads into Windows way too fast. Not the same one I saw on Star Trek.
Other Thoughts: OCZ support is usually great but they were really stumped with my issues loading PC intensive programs like solitaire and calculator.
Reviewed By:Leroy,12/22/2013 11:33:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Enterprise SSDs > OCZ Technology > OCZ Z-Drive R4 CM88 1.6TB PCI-E PCI-Express 2.0 x8 MLC Enterprise Solid State Disk ZD4CM88-FH-1.6T

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 These are Business Grade SSD's
Pros: Sound like a great SSD for a Business that can afford spending 11,000.00
Cons: My cons are baste on price. there are other Enterprise SSD's that are at the same or better Quality for a much better price!!!
Other Thoughts: I have not tested this product. I thought I would give some helpful info to the best of my knowledge.
Reviewed By:Zelts,12/22/2013 8:46:08 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product less than 1 day.
0 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Enterprise SSDs > Kingston Technology Corp. > Kingston SSDNow KC300 240GB 2.5" SATA III Enterprise Solid State Drive with Adapter SKC300S37A/240G

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 KC v. ES Models
Pros: Supports RAID - which I do not recommend trying with regular SATA SSDs. Quick responses from tech support.
Cons: I contacted Kingston support before install to make sure RAID was supported. Response: "The drives will work in a RAID configuration but we advise you not to use these drives in an enterprise environment. RAID 0 or 1 would be OK. But if you plan to use SSDs in a server in a RAID 5 or 10 configuration, we suggest you use our enterprise level SSDs. The biggest differences are the E100 and E50 have much higher endurance and also include power failure support."
Other Thoughts: I'm just running a home lab server off the 3 drive RAID 5. I don't imagine power loss to be a major problem as I'm only running about 30 VMs. I had previously used a group of standard Seagate SATA SSDs and the RAID keeps dropping. I figured that with SSDs being non spinning, error-recover required for RAID striping would be part of any drive's firmware, but it's not. Manufacturer's still produce two separate firmware sets so they can charge $60 more per drive for the enterprise class that comes with the firmware. There used to be a Western Digital tool to load the TLER firmware, but that disappeared when they went to color coding.
Reviewed By:zehnmonkey,12/13/2013 7:10:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Enterprise SSDs > OCZ Technology > OCZ Z-Drive R4 CM88 1.6TB PCI-E PCI-Express 2.0 x8 MLC Enterprise Solid State Disk ZD4CM88-FH-1.6T

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 i really like it
Pros: very fast, silent, hold all my games and things
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: i wish i could have gotten it cheaper but thats the price for performance
Reviewed By:N/A,12/9/2013 11:57:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
1 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Enterprise SSDs > PNY Technologies, Inc. > PNY Prevail 120GB 2.5" SATA III Solid State Disk SSD9SC120GEDE-PB

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 For the love of everything that is good, stear clear of these drives.
Pros: They make nice drink coasters when they die.
Cons: Bought two of these drives. Both failed within 6 months. RMAed to PNY and was sent two identical drives. Both of the replacements have failed in a matter of months. All being used in light office work desktops. I'll never purchase another PNY product.
Other Thoughts: I wish I could quantify the amount of time and effort these worthless drives have cost me.
Reviewed By:NAC,11/25/2013 3:22:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Enterprise SSDs > Kingston Technology Corp. > Kingston SSDNow KC300 480GB 2.5" SATA III Enterprise Solid State Drive with Adapter SKC300S37A/480G

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 not a server drive
Pros: Looks like a fine desktop ssd.
Cons: I did not order this, as it is miscategorized. This drive is for use when you want detailed smart monitoring. It is not an enterprise class server drive, and probably not mlc, which is generally what people mean when they say "enterprise ssd". I could be wrong though as the documentation seems purposely vague. See datasheet at http://www.kingston.com/us/ssd/vplus#skc300s3
Other Thoughts: Feel free to remove this review when you re-categorize this as a desktop ssd.
Reviewed By:abluewanderer,11/22/2013 11:18:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
1 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau