Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Enterprise SSDs > Intel > Intel DC S3510 2.5" 80GB SATA III MLC Enterprise Solid State Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Enterprise Grade SSD
Pros: - Intel quality/design
- Works well with server-grade OS
- Typical SSD advantages when using as OS drive (booting, etc)
Cons: -None
Other Thoughts: I have become partial to Intel for my OS/boot drives on all of my server-grade builds. One of my previous bare-metal hypervisor builds has been running for 2.5 years, 24/7 with no issues. That performance made Intel an easy choice for my current NAS project.
Reviewed By:Ronald S.,4/20/2016 11:08:45 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Enterprise SSDs > SanDisk > SANDISK SDLKOEDM-200G-5CA1 200GB OPTIMUS ASCEND SSD SAS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice, Enterprise Grade Drive
Pros: Reasonable price, good performance
Cons: doesn't serve me coffee in the morning.
Other Thoughts: Purchased six of these drives to enable Tiered Storage in a Scale Out File Server. Nice performance and are rated at 10DWPD.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/16/2016 9:22:17 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Enterprise SSDs > Black Diamond Memory > Black Diamond Memory Sonic Series BDSSDS1T 2.5" 1TB SATA III TLC Internal Solid State Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 reasonable enterprise quality SSD
Pros: The price was pretty reasonable for an enterprise quality SSD. Seems pretty fast.
Cons: Cons? None that I can think of
Other Thoughts: I put ten of these in a new server, using a clean OS install. Worked like a champ. Would recommend!
Reviewed By:Ruben P.,4/10/2016 6:43:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Enterprise SSDs > Hewlett-Packard > HP ioDrive2 Duo 2.35 TB Plug-in Card Solid State Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Amazing
Pros: Best 30k ive ever spent.
Cons: NONE
Reviewed By:Banana Man,3/28/2016 10:48:23 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Enterprise SSDs > Intel > Intel DC S3510 2.5" 80GB SATA III MLC Enterprise Solid State Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good System Disk
Pros: Inexpensive, solid system disk, pairs well with cheaper, larger magnetic hard disks.
Cons: None given its positioning in the market.
Other Thoughts: George N.'s reviews cover this well, it makes a good system disk, ideally under-provisioned, which I do with disk partitioning. Works flawlessly with Supermicro X9SCM and X9SAE motherboards and Ubuntu 14.04 and FreeBSD 10 respectively. The former has been in service on my main machine for 6 months as I write this micro-review.
Reviewed By:Harold A.,3/27/2016 4:53:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Enterprise SSDs > Intel > Intel DC S3510 2.5" 80GB SATA III MLC Enterprise Solid State Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Solid and reliable SSD
Pros: - Excellent management tools & firmware utility
- Works perfectly with Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7, plug-n-play
- Consistent performance
- Good price for an enterprise grade SSD
Cons: - Uses consumer grade NAND, not the 20 nm chips as used in higher end enterprise SSD's
Other Thoughts: - The S3510 series SSD's are not for write intensive applications, nor are they top-tier performers, but they're a great fit for an OS disk. I'm using a mirrored pair of these as my OS disk under RHEL Workstation 7.
- I've "short-stroked" these using the intel data center utility, resizing them to 40 GB. 40 GB is more than enough for the OS, and on this particular SSD, it results in >50% overprovisioning, so you can repurpose un-needed capacity to achieve better longevity.
Reviewed By:George N.,2/25/2016 2:19:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Enterprise SSDs > Intel > Intel DC S3510 2.5" 80GB SATA III MLC Enterprise Solid State Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Inexpensive, reasonable quality and performance, a great value SSD!
Pros: Pros include 5 year warranty, enterprise firmware, metal casing construction, robust intel SSD "data center tool" software for performing firmware updates, LBA changes, etc. Plug-n-play with a SuperMIcro H8SCM board and Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7.2.
Cons: Cons are that it uses cheesy 16 nm NAND like a consumer grade SSD, and has correspondingly low endurance. It's rated for just 0.3 DWPD, which is about on par with a "pro" level consumer SSD.
Other Thoughts: I'm using two of these in a mirrored pair for my OS disk. Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7.2 Workstation. Straight out of the box, they needed a firmware update. The intel SSD Data Center Tool for Linux reported that a newer version was available, so I went ahead and applied it. Easy, no drama. Also, I'm short-stroking these SSD's, to achieve greater endurance. The intel SSD Data Center Tool allows you to change the LBA, so I shrunk them from 80 GB down to 40 GB (more than enough for just the OS). So now they've got 50% over-provisioning instead of whatever the default is (7% maybe?).
Reviewed By:George N.,2/11/2016 6:51:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Enterprise SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG SM863 MZ-7KM240E 2.5" 240GB SATA III Enterprise Solid State Disk

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 A Samsung 850 Pro with power-fail protection
Pros: The SM863 uses the same MLC 3D V-NAND that the 850 Pro uses. The SM863 adds tantalum capacitors for situations where the power is shut-off unexpectedly and protects both at-rest and in-motion data.

I use this SSD as a system drive in a desktop. It is as fast as an 850 Pro. It would be great as a system drive or a RAID drive. I would buy it again.
Cons: The regular Magician utility cannot be used with this SSD. All but one of the buttons will be grayed-out. The DC Magician utility must be used, with it being CLI-only, no GUI. I read in a review that over-provisioning was set at 7%, but mine was set at 0%. If you have a basic knowledge of CLIs, you will be able to set over-provisioning to 10% (the recommended amount) or another reasonable value. If it is a system drive, it will be drive-0 for DC Magician. The user manual for the CLI is fairly well written. The user manual and DC Magician can be found by searching on "samsung magician" and clicking on the link that reads "Samsung SSD Downloads" at samsungDOTcom. Look for "Samsung Magician Software for Data Center" and choose the proper version, 32-bit or 64-bit.
Other Thoughts: The power usage is similar to the 850 Pro, so I suppose it could be used in a laptop, though Samsung does not market it that way. It might not have the usual laptop sleep states, but that was not a concern of mine.

You will need to manually turn-off Defragmenter if you use it as a system drive.

The warranty is for five years, while the 850 Pro has one for ten years.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/8/2016 7:37:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Enterprise SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 650 Series MZ-650120Z 2.5" 120GB SATA III 3-D Vertical Enterprise Solid State Disk

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Serviceable Inexpensive SSD
Pros: - cheap
- serviceable SSD that does the job with a good warranty
Cons: - read and write speeds are less than expected from competing products
- there is a reason its cheaper - that is because it is somewhat slower
Other Thoughts: This is not an enthusiast grade SSD, but it will still lead to reasonably snappy performance and boot times vastly superior to a Hard Drive or a Hybrid drive. It has the advantage of being quite inexpensive in the current market and has a decent warranty and brand name. Nobody ever got fired for buying a Samsung SSD. Not a system builder's SSD for your new Skylake system, but if you are looking to upgrade a 3-4 yr old PC? This one will do for a budget upgrade.
Reviewed By:Robert T.,1/31/2016 1:39:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Enterprise SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG SM843T Data Center Series MZ7WD480HAGM-00003-12 2.5" 480GB SATA 6.0Gb/s MLC Enterprise Solid State Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Enterprise SSD on a budget
Pros: Installed without issue on an ESXi 5.5 host and moved all VMs off of the 15k spinners. It makes a huge difference to go solid state, especially when running 7 or more VMs off the same drive. I installed this on an R710 Poweredge Dell server with Perc 6/i raid controller with no issues as of yet (not even getting the amber light or non-Dell warning message). This model was originally repackaged by Dell as an SSD for the same server (at many times the current price). Maybe that is how you get zero hour refurbs?

I know the IOPS are a little low for current gen SSDs but if your just going for a decent homelab setup, it will blow the doors off of anything that spins, I assure you. VMs that took 30-45 seconds to start up now are done in under 10 seconds. Content menus on the Plex server are much snappier, even client side.

The drive arrived in a plain envelope and no real packaging per se beyond the antistatic bag. It looked brand new. Mounted perfectly in my acquired drive caddy and was recognized without issue.
Cons: I did have to manually tag it as SSD in ESXi for whatever good that actually does. It was my first venture into SSHing directly into the ESXi shell but it went pretty smooth. There is a pretty straight forward series of commands to enter that is well described in the forums of VMware.
Other Thoughts: Price dropped a couple days after I ordered my first one. People were buying these from semi-shady e-auction(bay) sellers 20 at a time at the price I paid when they showed up at newegg.

I ordered a second one yesterday since I know it works with my second hand server and the price can't be beat on an Enterprise SSD of this size. Perfect cheap candy for my r/homelab :)
Reviewed By:N/A,9/11/2015 9:11:37 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.