Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > External SSDs > Silicon Power > Silicon Power 240GB Thunderbolt T11 Portable External SSD Solid State Drive with Cable Blue

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 fast speed, nice housing fit for my mac
Pros: my mac's perfect match, fast, reliable and perfect style for Apple product.
Cons: none
Reviewed By:zoe,1/22/2015 12:14:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 500GB USB 3.0 External Solid State Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 SSD External
Pros: It is Samsung edge technology
Fast!
For sure reliable
Cons: Expensive! One must pay the new technology.
Other Thoughts: And yes, you can find a substitute of this novelty SSD by half of price, however you can't criticize this innovative Samsung SSD.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/7/2015 11:00:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
0 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > External SSDs > Silicon Power > Silicon Power 120GB Thunderbolt T11 Portable External SSD Solid State Drive with Cable Silver

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fast shipping!
Pros: Very quick shipping, and works very fast.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Justin,12/29/2014 11:09:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > External SSDs > Silicon Power > Silicon Power 120GB Thunderbolt T11 Portable External SSD Solid State Drive with Cable Silver

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 I make a right choice
Pros: I just got my computer built up with my one last struggle piece-the SSD drive. cause i want every part of my computer can run and work harmoniously. I was struggling on brand and capacity of SSD. this one is actually at a great price. since I have spent out of my budget, I decide to give it a try, and this work amazingly well with my desktop. probably will get a bigger capacity when it is on sale again.
Cons: after i ordered this i cant wait to get it asap to get my desktop finished, but I waited about a week and a half to receive this product. Probably at holiday season. carrier delivered after the estimate delivery time.
Other Thoughts: great price if compare to other competitor. I did the math, unit price is the lowest at the market. worth a try.
Reviewed By:Jiawen,12/29/2014 9:50:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External SSDs > Silicon Power > Silicon Power 120GB Thunderbolt T11 Portable External SSD Solid State Drive with Cable Silver

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Super fast, super portable, user friendly
Pros: Fast
Very small and portable
Nice build quality
User friendly
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: I have a Macbook Pro and needed something to transfer my data faster for my personal and work use. I do a lot of photo editing and needed to transfer files from my Macbook to the desktop computer quickly. I've heard great reviews on it so I decided to give it a try myself. I was amazed how quickly I was able to transfer my data on the drive, and how incredibly small and lightweight it was (it could easily fit in my pocket)! I'm very satisfied and would recommend anyone who needs a fast and portable SSD for their MacBook or Mac computer!
Reviewed By:Satisfied buyer,12/27/2014 11:25:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > External SSDs > Team Group > Team Group PD200 128GB 1.8" USB 3.0 Portable Solid State Drive

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Failed drive
Pros: When it worked it was nice and fast. Very tiny and worth the $70 I purchases it for.
Cons: Drive failed after a few weeks. I was using it on my Wii U, so I assumed that it wasn't getting enough power. I bought a handful of different cables before realizing it was the ssd that was actually busted. It kept saying "read mode only" in Windows, but if I tried work arounds to disable read only mode it wouldn't work. Currently in the process of getting a replacement. Hopefully the next one works.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/26/2014 9:12:24 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External SSDs > LaCie > LaCie Rugged Thunderbolt 250GB Thunderbolt & USB 3.0 Solid State Disk - External

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Thunderbolt does not work
Pros: looks good
Cons: pretty disappointed with this drive as Thunderbolt connection does not work on my Lenovo W540. they should clearly say the Thunderbolt doe snot work on Windows.
Reviewed By:John,12/20/2014 3:38:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External SSDs > Toshiba > Toshiba Canvio AeroMobile 128GB USB 3.0 / WIFI Wireless Solid State Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Useful Gadget
Pros: Between the wireless features and the USB cable, this can be connected to practically any modern computing device. Wireless usage has an impressively long battery life. It's also surprisingly light and mobile, especially without the cables.
Cons: This isn't the easiest product to use out of the gate. I would recommend downloading the user guide from Toshiba's website first thing. I would've preferred that it was included on the drive itself, along with the warranty info.

The product itself is solid, despite having a fairly small drive. Still the price is a little high. Unless you're in a scenario where this is highly valuable, I'd wait until this is on sale to purchase.
Other Thoughts: Make sure you download the right app for this product! There's a Wireless HDD app and a Wireless SSD app. You want the SSD version.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/20/2014 7:15:26 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External SSDs > Toshiba > Toshiba Canvio AeroMobile 128GB USB 3.0 / WIFI Wireless Solid State Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Toshiba Wireless SSD
Pros: +
Portable NAS / Media server
Easy to set up and access.
USB 3.0
Solid State Drive storage.
Good battery life.
Pocket sized.
Runs cool, only lightly warm in one coin sized area
Great for media: both iOS and Android app have a built in media player, and media management.
SDHC card slot for easy expansion and backup of SDHC.
Black Velvet carrying pouch.
Supports DLNA devices.
Supports multiple connections streaming different files simultaneously.
Allows for wireless access to the drive and a bridged connection through the drive to the internet.
Cons: -
Wi-Fi range is short but it is a trade off for power consumption.
Included USB 3.0 cable is very short, about 15 inches in length.
Black Velvet carrying pouch loves to pick up lint in my pockets.
Lacking in-depth instructions.
Although you can manage files on the drive and SD card, you are not able to upload from a PC by network connection, only by attaching the USB cable.
OSX requires a 3rd party driver to use as an external USB drive with a Mac.
Other Thoughts: ~
File management in the Wireless SSD App needs some attention, the media transfer management is fantastic, but lacks convenience with regular file transfer control. While the drive works flawlessly with media files where you can select any picture, video or music file and press the upload button to transfer, any other files such as .PDF or binary require an extra lap of hoops to jump through in order to transfer:
-->In order to transfer non-media files from your device or from your SDHC card, click Local (or SD card respectively), browse for the files through the File/Folder link. Then check mark the files you want to transfer, click on the wrench at the top of the screen, select copy. Push the SSD tab at the bottom of the screen, choose your destination folder (like default user/documents) then click the wrench again and select paste. The transfer will now begin.
I transferred a 480MB .PDF from my Android tablet, which took roughly 2 minutes to complete.

There are a few oddities with the drive:
The unit will not charge by USB when functioning as an external USB Drive, however; it will charge the drive by USB while in Wi-Fi mode.
There are NO in-depth instructions included with the drive, on the drive. or available online.
You get a quick start guide and you're sent on your way.

Decent transfer speeds when acting as an external USB drive.
AS SSD Benchmark reported:
Sequential: 151.24 MB/s Read, and 140.28 MB/s write
4k: 11.33 MB/s Read, and 31.69 write
4k-64Thrd: 14.26 MB/s Read, and 41.12 MB/s write
Access time: 0.183 ms Read, and 0.088 write.
(keep in mind that the drive was connected by USB 3.0 and the drive is battery powered when functioning as an External USB drive)

Wi-Fi has a short range of around 15 feet with no obstructions, a trade off for longer battery run time.
I clocked this drive at 13 hours battery run time with light usage, which was a few hours longer than I expected.
Overall this Wireless SSD thrives as a Media Server and Media file storage manager.
Pairing with iOS is where I believe this drive shines the most, and is an excellent way to listen to your music library without being trapped inside of iTunes. Being able to save your photos to an accessible drive from your iPhone, is far more convenient than emailing or uploading to a third party storage site. All of my files that I upload from my iPhone are right there on the drive and accessible by my PC, laptop and Android tablet.

Aside from the current minor inconvenient hoops one must jump through to transfer non-media files,
this is a fantastic drive.
I would recommend this drive for a mobile media server, storage needs, and device backup.
Reviewed By:Matt,12/15/2014 8:29:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External SSDs > Toshiba > Toshiba Canvio AeroMobile 128GB USB 3.0 / WIFI Wireless Solid State Drive

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Pocket Sized Media Server
Pros: Portability. The internal battery, SSD, small size all make it easy to carry around and great as a portable device.

I was also able to stream HD Movie files from the Wireless SSD successfully. Of course it’s WiFi 802.11N, so speeds are dependent on distance and interference, but I had good connections in all but the farthest corners of my apartment.

Can act as a bridge and maintain internet connection while accessing the SSD through WiFi.
Cons: Software can be a bit clunky. And individual user accounts could use separate log in/passwords.

120GB can be too small, depending on type of media you intend to load it with.

Would have been better if it were 802.11AC.

Can’t connect USB and have WiFi active at the same time.
Other Thoughts: The Toshiba Canvio AeroMobile is a great device for sharing files and media and can also be used to stream media over WiFi. It is small and light weight so it packs away easily and the internal battery greatly adds to its portability.

When accessing it wirelessly, it acts as its own WiFi Access Point. Just scan for available WiFi networks with your preferred device and connect to the SSID the same way you would any WiFi network.

I tested multiple devices’ ability to connect to the Wireless SSD through WiFi: A tablet running Android 4.0, an iPhone 5s running iOS 8, and a Windows PC running Windows 7. All devices were able to connect to the Wireless SSD using the Web Browser interface with ease. There is also an App available for Android and iOS; the App has the same appearance and functionality as the Web Browser interface. Either way works well for all devices I tested.

Since you can only connect to one WiFi Access Point at a time, you need to disconnect from your Internet WiFi to connect to the Wireless SSD’s WiFi. It would have been annoying to always lose your internet connection while accessing/transferring files. Luckily Toshiba was smart to allow the device to act as a bridge for internet access so you can connect to it, and it can connect to any WiFi Access Point. So it is possible to maintain an internet connection while accessing the Wireless SSD. And testing this connection speed, I was able to stream Netflix on two devices at the same time successfully.

When connected through the micro USB 3.0, my Windows 7 PC and Android 4.0 Tablet were both able to recognize and access it as an external hard drive automatically without issue.
Reviewed By:Andy,12/12/2014 11:55:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.