Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Back2School
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > External SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 250GB USB 3.0 Portable SSD T1

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Why the 3" cable?
Pros: Great performer--fastest I've experienced from an external device.
Cons: It's highly out character for me to deduct an egg for something that is not part of the device but this is a such a major blunder on Samsung's part that I must
The case I'm using now has SSD ports facing up so I can rest it on top and plug it in, but even then the cable is so short that the drive won't lie completely flat.
Also, the drive does get a bit warm when transferring files which is why I like to sit my external devices on top of one of the top-mounted fans. It makes a real difference. However, this cable won't allow me to place it anywhere near the fan.
To continue on with this rant...what if my USB ports were on the front? Would I just let the drive dangle there by the cable? What were you thinking, Samsung??
Other Thoughts: I bought this from a local retailer due to promo code but have bought several SSD's from NewEgg along with many other components. However, I just felt compelled to sound about this. Rest assured I won't be the last one who mentions this. Samsung ought to send a longer cable free of charge to all those who ask.

Rant finished. The good has far outweighed the bad in my experience with Samsung.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/17/2015 5:00:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > External SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 500GB USB 3.0 Portable SSD T1

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent Investment
Pros: Fast, Light, Simple. Easily bypassable and non-nagging encryption feature. Great it you want to use it. Great if you don't. I've tried it with and without included encryption and noticed no loss in performance when encrypted. When bypassing (disabled) encryption it functions like any normal USB 3.0 external hard drive, giving me full access to the contents simply by plugging it in.
Cons: None. Some say the short cable is a con, but that makes no sense to me. Why would one want a feather-light business-card sized storage drive to have an incredibly long cable that would weigh and take up far more space than the drive itself? This drive is best lf attached and out of the way. The short cable further enhances its feather-light portability.
Other Thoughts: I bought this to use as an external self-contained XAMPP server and it fits the bill perfectly! I've not benchmarked it but I've also not felt the need to. It works (as expected) much faster than an external platter-based hard drive and there is simply no comparison between this and a flash-based thumb drive. I use this drive to maintain my "source" WordPress site and blog, my Tiny Tiny RSS (TT-RSS) newsreader (with over 250 rss feeds), and my OpenSim 3D virtual world server running 64 individual regions that comprise a large virtual island that would be more than a mile across in real life. With all that information constantly accessing the XAMPP MySQL database on this external unit, it never suffers even the slightest latency or glitch. I doubt I could possibly be any happier. I initially shuddered at the price, but now that I've used it 24/7 for nearly a month I have zero regrets. In fact, I wish I'd bought one of these a long time ago.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/17/2015 7:35:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External SSDs > Transcend > Transcend ESD400 512GB USB 3.0 MLC Portable Solid State Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Compact, light weight, easy to setup.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,8/3/2015 2:28:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 1TB USB 3.0 Portable SSD T1

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Amazing external drive
Pros: very Small for portable drive
very fast for a portable drive
very easy to set up
strong AES-256 encryption
Cons: Comes with short cable
pretty pricey but you always pay for speed
Other Thoughts: This is basically an 850 Evo msata in an external enclosure. So what you actually get is internal sata speeds with an external drive. Speeds are very comparable to most high end internal ssds. USB 3.0 being the limiting factor of course. This drives actually gets pretty decent speeds hooked up to USB 2.0 ports but if you do not have USB 3.0 on your computer then I would not recommend this purchase because it would be bottle necked with the slow 2.0 interface.
I benched this using ATTO but I wont bore you with my scores since everyone else are posting similar results but I will say that it is fast!
The setup is very easy and since I don't use encryption it's basically just plug and play.
This is a very sleek looking drive and is small enough to carry in your pocket.
I love Samsung products and their SSDs are no exception. They make all their own parts and are some of the most dependable SSDs out their.
I would have preferred a longer cable but I made due.
Bottom line is if you have USB 3.0 and want the fastest portable drive out there then this is what your looking for... just get ready to dig a little deep in the pocket :-)
Reviewed By:N/A,7/21/2015 10:50:30 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 500GB USB 3.0 Portable SSD T1

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Great at first, now useless
Pros: Looks and feels great, worked great for about 3 months.
Cons: Suddenly "write-protected" - tried cleaning that through registry and command, nothing works. Can no longer write to / delete from disk. Will have to download everything and then try to re-format the disk. 250 dollars down the drain.
Manufacturer Response:Sebastian B:

Thank you for purchasing the Samsung T1 Portable SSD.

I am sorry to hear that you are having issues with the SSD suddenly becoming write-protected.

It sounds like you may have already tried the DISKPART command in order to clear the write protection. To better understand and assist in your situation, please let me know the following:

1) When performing the DISKPART command to clear the read only, did you perform it on both the volume and the disk?
2) When performing the DISKPART command, was it on the first small 134mb partition? Or on the bigger partition? Was the drive connected and then the DISKPART command performed? Or did you get pass the password portion and then attempt to perform DISKPART?
3) Does DISKPART provide an error message after attempting to perform?

4 ) If you attempted DISKPART on the smaller partition or upon first connecting the drive, then please pass the security portion of the drive first and then attempt DISKPART on both the volume and the disk. Select the disk first, and then enter the following commands:
a) attributes disk clear readonly
b) attributes volume clear readonly


For further assistance, please contact Samsung Customer Support toll-free at 1-800-SAMSUNG and a representative will gladly walk you through this process. Support hours are from 9AM to 9PM EST, Monday through Friday.

You can also email Samsung Customer Support at: samsungmemorysupport@sea.samsung.com

Reviewed By:N/A,6/25/2015 12:03:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > External SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 1TB USB 3.0 Portable SSD T1

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works Great as bootable Mac backup
Pros: Size and Speed
Cons: Takes a bit of technical knowledge to use as a bootable Mac backup device
Other Thoughts: Despite dozens of purchases from Newegg over many years time, this is my first review.

The record needs to be set straight regarding some very negative reviews stating that the T1 won't work as a bootable Mac backup device using programs such as Super Duper and Carbon Copy (or even Time Machine).

1. Run the setup app that comes with the T1.

2. Open Disk Utility and reformat the drive Mac OS Extended (Journaled), also click Options...and select GUI.

Samsung certainly didn't help themselves with their cookie cutter responses to the negative reviewers, possible another free T1 is in order for me...:)
Reviewed By:N/A,6/19/2015 7:36:29 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 250GB USB 3.0 Portable SSD T1

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Exceeded my expectations
Pros: Bought this to pair with my A m a z o n fire tv. Fast! Able to dl my shows from KODI just fine. Couldn't be happier. I was a little worried the fire tv wouldn't power this SSD but no problems. I've been using this drive every day for the past 2 months. Solid Samsung drive, would buy again.
Cons: Not a fault of the SSD but FAT32 for fire tv bites. I personally would like a longer cable, really not that big of a deal though.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/18/2015 2:48:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 250GB USB 3.0 Portable SSD T1

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 This thing is fast
Pros: This thing is fast. Really fast. It is about 15 times faster than a portable hard drive I own.
Cons: none that I can see
Other Thoughts: It can sustain 200 MS/s. Yes, about 10 seconds for a 2 gigabyte file. The hardware connection uses something I never heard of until now, UAS – USB attached SCSI. Apparently this is faster than the standalone USB drive specification. Windows 8.1 had no problem recognizing this drive.
Comparison hardware:
Surface Pro 2 - 8 GB memory + 256 GB SSD
WD 500 GB My Passport (about 2 years old) USB 3.0 Part WDBACY5000ABL-01 sustains about 15 MB/s during file transfer.
Capacity:
- 250,047,234,048 bytes
- 232 gigabytes according to companies that make software
o (1024 bytes = 1 kilobytes, 1024*1024 bytes = 1 megabytes, 1024*1024*1024 bytes = 1 gigabytes)
- 250 gigabytes according to companies that make hardware
o (1000 bytes = 1 kilobytes, 1,000,000 bytes = 1 megabytes, 1,000,000,000,000 bytes = 1 gigabytes)
Reviewed By:N/A,6/1/2015 1:13:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > External SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 1TB USB 3.0 Portable SSD T1

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent Drive
Pros: This drive is incredibly fast. I ran Blackmagic disk benchmark utility on it and got around 361.7 MB/s write and about 361.2 MB/s read. This was with encryption turned off. I got about 1 MB/s slower result with encryption enabled. It's very light and has a nice form factor. The small size and rounded edges make putting and removing it into/from your pocket pretty easy.
Cons: Price is pretty high, but it IS an actual hard drive and not just a flash drive.
Other Thoughts: The encryption software that come with it is handy, but some of the features don't work on OS X Yosemite, like being able to turn encryption on and off. The utility just completely disappears as soon as you input the password and it mounts the main drive, and there's no way to get back to it once it does so. Also, you cannot use the drive as an OS installer drive if encryption is on, since there's no way to enter a password if you're booting an installer from it. This applies to ANY OS installer you wish to put on this drive.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/19/2015 1:38:27 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 1TB USB 3.0 Portable SSD T1

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Perfect SSD
Pros: The pros are a lot. It's fast, small and compact. The amount of space is awesome..
Cons: The only con is the price.
Other Thoughts: I use it to run my iMac. I use it as the main boot drive. Gives a lot of new life to my iMac. I use the internal 1TB hard drive for OneDrive. I the price is high but well worth.
Reviewed By:Jackamus,5/17/2015 9:53:36 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.