Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > External SSDs > Team Group > Team Group PD200 256GB 1.8" USB 3.0 Portable Solid State Drive T8F2D2256GMC102

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Do Not Buy This SDD
Pros: Worked like a normal plug in when it was running.
Cons: It died after about 4 or 5 weeks, like the other reviewer. It shows up but allows no access to it at all, and I have tried to access it via cmd prompts, linux, and recovery software and nothing can access it. Not worth the risk. Now time to see how well they accept returns at Team Group.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/19/2014 3:38:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External SSDs > Team Group > Team Group PD200 128GB 1.8" USB 3.0 Portable Solid State Drive T8F2D2128GMC102

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fast and small!
Pros: 1. Size: This drive is tiny, 1.8" makes it ultra portable, I use it with my Microsoft Surface Pro.

2. Speed: This drive is fast! Granted there were other faster options but for the price per GB this was the best buy. With HDD tests, I reached 298mb/s sequential read and 190mb/s sequential write speeds on my Microsoft Surface Pro. It transfers Blu-ray movies in seconds.

3. Reliability: Well it is a SSD but I haven't owned it for long enough to really say how reliable it is.
Cons: None, this drive is exactly what I needed and for the price there is no better choice. Well the only con I could think of was not purchasing the 256GB version.
Other Thoughts: I purchased a Microsoft Surface Pro, 4GB DDR3 ram, Core i5-470u processor, and 64GB SSD and I needed extra storage. It has a microSD card slot for extra storage but realistically it's an expensive storage solution with a fraction of the speed. 128GB costs more than an external SSD HDD and doesn't come close to the transfer speeds. I needed something small and portable with a decent amount of storage. Team's 128GB drive was perfect. Eith USB 3.0, I reached 298mb/s read times and transferred a 2.2GB file in a matter of seconds. I use it for all my storage needs and I run various applications from it. My Surface Pro only has 64GB storage, less than 30GB free with the factory software installed. I purchased this drive for $69.99 and for price per GB this is the best buy of the century. The drive is faster than the advertised specs, extremely portable and it even comes with a small case. The cable is short, 3-4 inches and works perfect for my ultrabook. It is currently out of stock but when it is available again you shouldn't think twice about purchasing this. There are other options for external SSD drives with higher advertised speeds but if you plan to use it like I do, mainly for my tablet/ultrabook I use for college and for watching movies while flying to and from places, it is your best option. If I had the money I would have purchased 2 or 3 of these.
Reviewed By:Miksa,8/8/2014 4:36:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > External SSDs > LaCie > LaCie 256GB Thunderbolt & USB 3.0 Rugged External Solid State Drive 9000352

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works good
Pros: - Nice rubberized casing (although not sure why it is needed on a solid state drive)
- Fast when used in USB 3.0 mode. Haven't tried TB.
- No power adapters
- SSD! No noise, no moving parts, really nice for an external drive.
Cons: - Cables provided are short
- LED indicators are on the back, not the front of the drive.
Other Thoughts: We are using four of these as a replacement for tape for our offsite backups. I used bitlocker encryption on all of them and have been using them in a rotating backup scheme for a month now, seems to be working well.
Reviewed By:Michael G.,7/31/2014 8:03:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External SSDs > Team Group > Team Group PD200 128GB 1.8" USB 3.0 Portable Solid State Drive T8F2D2128GMC102

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 GREAT PRODUCT AND FANTASTIC PRICE
Pros: Very easy set-up
Great Product
Fantastic price
Cons: Nothing
Other Thoughts: I purchased one of these on 6/1/2014 and it was so easy to use and extremely fast. I have several internal and even brand name external mechanical drives "crash" on me. Switching to an SSD is the best alternative, even though I have CARBONITE back up , this gives me instant access for folders I want to save and take with me when I travel.
Reviewed By:Leonard M. - Texas,6/17/2014 12:52:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > External SSDs > Toshiba > Toshiba Canvio AeroMobile 128GB USB 3.0 / WIFI Wireless Solid State Drive HDTQ112XCWF1

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good~~~~
Pros: Very handy, light & good shape...
price is very chip. ^^
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,6/15/2014 3:55:25 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External SSDs > Team Group > Team Group PD200 256GB 1.8" USB 3.0 Portable Solid State Drive T8F2D2256GMC102

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Lost Data after a Month
Pros: SLIM
Cons: Latency
Data Loss
Other Thoughts: I'm always weary of purchasing an item from a company that does not have support in the US, and which is made in China. But for the price and because it's SSD, I gave it a shot.

Wish I didn't, using USB2.0 I had experienced more latency than a standard flash drive when accessing data The transfer rate was great with large files, but hesitation just when access the device was horrible.

Then after about 3 weeks my laptop could no longer recognize the drive, I've tried about 10 other desktops and laptops with FAT and NTFS file systems with no luck.
Reviewed By:Joel,5/20/2014 10:53:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > External SSDs > Team Group > Team Group PD200 128GB 1.8" USB 3.0 Portable Solid State Drive T8F2D2128GMC102

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Small and fast
Pros: Small and fast. I get great transfer speeds over USB 3.0 and have seen it go above advertised speeds.
Cons: None that I can think of.
Other Thoughts: I picked this up on sale for about $90. Got it for a project that didn't quite work out. Used it at work a few times to do some Clonezilla images and it performed noticeably faster than the mechanical USB 3.0 drive I had. It would make a great Linux Live boot disk for systems that can boot from USB 3.0.
Reviewed By:TadMSTR,5/12/2014 7:36:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > External SSDs > Silicon Power > Silicon Power 120GB Thunderbolt T11 Portable External SSD Solid State Drive with Cable Silver

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent Product
Pros: I’m a fan of all products and accessories related to Mac, particularly to those ones that can aid me to get the best of my loved Mac. Officially I got introduced to this product by a Japanese friend who described it to me as a faster and more portable Thunderbolt SSD, I couldn't avoid the temptation to check the Thunderbolt out so I got one. Guys I can tell you the size and the performance is just perfect. Its usage is so friendly with iOS, literally plug and use, its size is so small and comfortable that you won’t feel you’re carrying it and its fast performance is pretty quick that you won’t need to find other things to do for the transferring data time.
In a few words I’ll describe the thunderbolt as a “Pokemon” portable and easy to take everywhere and practical and diverse when you use it. (With special strengths on speed and portability)
Cons: none
Reviewed By:Ivan K.,5/8/2014 8:25:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > External SSDs > Team Group > Team Group PD200 128GB 1.8" USB 3.0 Portable Solid State Drive T8F2D2128GMC102

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Performs as advertised. My testing showed 256mbs reads and 160mbs writes (60mbps faster than advertised). It isn't the fastest thing out there, but for $70, it makes transferring entire bluray seasons of shows onto my media laptop very quick and easy. It seems to write faster when connected to Windows than Mac, even though my Windows PC was reading from a 7200RPM drive while the Mac was an mSATA SSD.

Attractive enclosure.

Quality cable.

Performs better than advertised and a convenient tool if you dont have a proper NAS or network setup.
Cons: None so far, but who knows how warranty will be with Team. I will post back of the drive fails.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/7/2014 5:05:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > External SSDs > Team Group > Team Group PD200 64GB 1.8" USB 3.0 Portable Solid State Drive T8F2D2064GMC102

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 anemic compared to other options
Pros: Decent transfer speeds for USB bus, but nothing spectacular.
Cons: Transfer rates are pretty mediocre when compared to performance USB 3 flash drives available for 25% less.

About 4x the size of a USB 3 flash drive.

Awkward, very short cord to connect.
Other Thoughts: Got one from another source for $40 delivered. Thought the form factor would include performance chipset and storage chips that would compete or beat flash drives of this capacity. It's awkwardly sized and shaped, especially w/ the short cable. I have several Mushkin Ventura Plus flash drives, any four of which take up less space than this without considering the connection cable ... and, all four combined are minimum 256 GB of storage. Each of those flash drives outperforms this item by at least 20%, if not closer to 30%, and each of those 64 GB flash drives cost $32 delivered from newegg.

Three eggs because it is reasonably fast, for an unreasonably oversized flash drive. Possibly it will have a better life expectancy, but mostly because it's portability is inconvenient and thus makes it less likely to be used.

Can't even decouple it (easily or safely) from the USB connector and use it as an internal device somewhere. Disappointing experience, will not buy into this form factor again at any capacity, especially at this anemic transfer rate.
Reviewed By:nearPhilly,5/1/2014 11:17:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau