Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > External SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 500GB USB 3.0 Portable SSD T1

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Samsung SSD t1
Pros: External drives have never been so portable.
This drive combines a 500gb MSATA drive to a usb 3.0 port to make an external drive that is small, and incredibly fast.

Based on Samsung 850 evo, the t1 uses 32-layer TLC V-NAND and uses a full fledged MEX/MGX SSD controller in a very small form factor device

Because it uses a controller you would find on an SSD, the performance you can squeeze out of usb 3.0 is astonishing.

The claim for 450gb read and writes is almost spot on. Crystaldiskmark rates sequential read/writes at just above 400mb/s however, real world data transfers maxed out at around 350mb/s read and 220 writes

transfering all my games/pictures/movies on and off this drive was a breeze.
Cons: No trim support
included cable is very small so for people who have desktop pc's without a space to set the drive on when using is kind of a hassle(although the drive is LIGHT and it's weight can easily be held up by the usb connector)
Other Thoughts: Coming from a mechanical storage external, this drive has made my life easy. It will easily fit most if not all of my games i could want it to on the drive and i can transfer them extraordinarily fast compared to a 7200rpm drive connected via esata making reformatting finally a breeze.

Because this product is a samsung product, samsung makes all components used in the ssd. Their known for reliable and fast drives which i reccomend 10 out of 10 times to my friends when purchasing anything ssd related.

The housing has a nice finish and it's quiet and did i mention small.

SSD prices are continuing to fall and soon drives like these will make the most sense to hold your important data with it's AES encryption and speeds so fast you spend less time waiting and more time doing.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/26/2015 12:56:00 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 500GB USB 3.0 Portable SSD T1

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 SAMSUNG 500GB USB 3.0 Portable SSD T1
Pros: Very small and easy to carry anywhere! USB 3.0, so yeah pretty darn fast. It's black! thanks Samsung you get it. No external power cord needed. Great item. amazing how far storage tech has come in such a short time!
Cons: cord is a little stiff, and could use a longer cord!
Other Thoughts: if you are not plugging this into a usb 3.0 port you will not get the fastest speeds offered by this device!
Reviewed By:f3bandit,3/25/2015 6:42:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 250GB USB 3.0 Portable SSD T1

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Small, fast portable storage!
Pros: - Small compared to traditional portable hard drives (platter based)

- Very fast compared to traditional platter based hard drives

- Solid state memory is "rugged" and won't die if it's dropped while data is being accessed

- Comes with a partition on the drive that has software built in for encrypting the drive

- Encrypting the drive didn't hurt performance

- The pre-loaded software works in both Windows and MacOS

- Bus powered (just a single cable needed for power and data)
Cons: There aren't many cons to this device. The cons I can list are:
- more expensive compared to platter based drives of the same capacities (but that's true of any solid state drive vs. equivalent platter based drives)

- It's not water proof

- It's fast, but performance didn't quite match what Samsung advertises.
Other Thoughts: This external / portable drive is great. It's small, light, and very fast (just not as fast as listed on Newegg or Samsung's site). Yes it does say "Up to", but when I ran CrystalDisMark,

I never got higher than 431MB/s read and 409MB/s Write. It's listed here at 450MB/s on both read and write. It's not enough of a difference to notice in real world use, but it would have been nice if the actual performance more closely matched what's on paper.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/23/2015 11:17:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 250GB USB 3.0 Portable SSD T1

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 TINY!!!!!
Pros: Cutest little drive I ever layed my eyes on (and I'm a guy).

Very fast, Puts all my flash drives to shame, even on USB 2.0 It hits and holds 34MB/s when my fastest flash drive does 28MB/s.

On USB 3.0 it's a true champion, hitting even its rated speed a few times.

Case seems flexible enough to avoid breakage, yet Rigid enough to protect it's internals from a pretty descent impact.

Cable supplied is tiny, but so is the drive, who wants a 4 foot cable for a 2 1/4" by 1 1/2" by 3/16" drive????
Cons: Drivers supplied right on the drive, but it must be formatted before using correctly on windoze, so save the files on your PC and copy them back. THESE FILES ARE NOT CURRENTLY FROM SAMSUNG. So if you want the software on other PC's you'd be out of luck if you don't.

It's so small I feel like I might loose it out of my pocket when I sit down, not really a con, but still.

Device got VERY warm when transferring 220GB of Video files over USB 3.0.
Other Thoughts: With it's flexible but rigid design it seems to be able to stand the test of time.

It's speed is un-equaled by anything I have tested before.
Reviewed By:GmsCool,3/23/2015 7:56:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External SSDs > Silicon Power > Silicon Power 240GB Thunderbolt T11 Portable External SSD Solid State Drive with Cable Blue

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 SP240GB Thunderbolt External SSD
Pros: Small and light
Cons: See "Other thoughts:"
Other Thoughts: Unfortunately, I haven't been able to try this little gem out yet. I have been pretty sick and have just been trying to get better, which is difficult in the NE part of the country with all the snow and bitter cold. I also had to mark 5 eggs because the review wouldn't send without something being marked.

As soon as I'm able to get my new computer system (Apple iMac) up and running, I will write a review on how the SP 240GB Thunderbolt External SSD preforms.
Reviewed By:Jim From NEPA,3/22/2015 10:57:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 250GB USB 3.0 Portable SSD T1

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 First USB3 SSD with good cost/performance from a Tier One
Pros: Truly a new product first presented at CES 2015. It is similar in performance to what you would get if you stuck an 850 EVO into an enclosure -- except that it is much smaller and lighter. This little beauty weighs about an ounce and has the footprint of a business card. This was accomplished by shrinking the internal SSD to a short mSATA form which is made easier by Samsung’s proprietary 3D vertical NAND technology. This technology stacks up to 32 cell layers on top of one another. The resultant package, including the USB-SATA bridge, is less than a cm thick. The T1 product line is available in sizes fro 250 GB up to 1 TB. I have a 250.

It can saturate a USB 3.0 connection.

Works with Mac/Win. Basic setup software is provided on drive. Included 5 inch SuperSpeed USB 3.0 A to USA micro B cable provides power/data and weighs about as much as the drive. There is a subdued blue activity light – solid when connected/flashing with access.

Supports hardware-accelerated AES 256-bit encryption done in a consumer-friendly way as well as a drive password.

Much smaller that a portable HD and, of course, is resistant to shock/G force/altitude. Also, cheaper and less bulky than buying an EVO 850 SATA and sticking it into an enclosure. Costs about $0.57 to $ 0.75 per GB depending on size (bigger is cheaper).

There is no other external USB3 product out there that can compete with this in terms of 450 MB/s speed while being tiny in size.
Cons: Some people will be put off by the “feel”.
When they spend a certain amount of money they expect the product to “feel” heavier and more substantial and equate “light” with “flimsy”. This thing is amazingly light and encased in mostly black plastic. Producing it with a heavy metal enclosure might improve the consumer “feel”. (I like it the way it is now and think it looks really nice.)

Limited a bit by the USB 3.0 interface.
In case you haven’t been keeping up, USB comes in a few flavors that are all supported by this drive: USB2.0, USB3.0, and USB3.0 +UASP. That last UASP mode involves something called “SuperSpeed” or “Usb Attached Scsi Protocol) which has a 5 Gbit/sec data rate translating to a bit over 4 Gbit/sec payload throughput. The thing to know is that you only get native +UASP with USB3.0 ports on a Windows 8 or OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion(2012) or later. If you have a stock Win 7 box with USB 3.0 (majority of machines out there) you will be limited to about 280 MB/sec. USB2.0 gets you about 49/45 MB/sec. USB also tends to prevent you from taking advantage of Samsung’s RAPID caching mode available on their internal drives (though TurboWrite is supported) which makes sequential writes a bit slower than an internal EVO. Ditto for automatic TRIM. SMART may also be limited based on what software you are using.

Easy drive setup requires software installation.
Drive comes with an exFAT initial partition that is used for a Win/Mac compatible set up upon first connection. For instance, on a Mac this installs an additional kernel extension. Some people might not like this, but once the drive has been setup by the user, you do not need proprietary software to access the drive unless you opt to switch on the password protection.

Three year warranty.
For some reason, this T1 drive and the new 850EVO M.2 are listed as three year warranty protection on Newegg while the SATA 850EVO’s have a 5 year warranty. Think this is a bean-counter thing sort of like what happened on the hard drive scene once or twice before. The NAND used in this drive typically far exceeds its rated use.
Other Thoughts: If you are a power user who needs to carry or transfer a lot of data around in a small package and have it move around fast, this is your best option out there. This assumes that you have relatively current hardware (USB3.0 +Superspeed) and software (Win 8 or post 2012 OS X). Video editing, photography, and big chunks of data will fit in the space of a couple of 128GB USB sticks and be a lot faster and more secure to work with.

Without attached power, SSD’s should retain data for at least a year.

Extremely hard use will make these devices warm. This one has internal thermal protection and should throttle down if it heats up too much.

Most uses for external drives involve sequential reads and writes so I tested those first with Crystal getting about 420 MBps read and 380 write for unencrypted. This roughly corresponded to my test copy of about 40 GB of video files. Read average was about 380MBps and Write was about 280MBps. These numbers are about 4-10x what a good thumb drive would be. The Crystal Random read/write speeds kick most thumb drive speeds by about 100x. Windows 7 got me about 60 – 65% of the UASP speeds.
Reviewed By:GregP,3/21/2015 12:14:19 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 500GB USB 3.0 Portable SSD T1

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fast, efficient drive
Pros: Very fast access speed, USB 3.0 interface coupled with mSATA SSD 500GB drive produced by Samsung gives fantastic transfer rates. This is bar none, the fastest external portable drive you can get on the drive, hands down!!
Test real life transfer rate:
Large consecutive media files (over 200MB files, totaling 15GB), sustained transfer rate ~270MB/s
Many many small files (~ 1-2 MB in isde, 34GB), ~ 180MB/s.
Tested using Win 7 Pro.
Sustain read transfer rate over USB 3.0 using synthetic bench mark tool (same as over mSATA ports): sequential read 237 MB/s, sequential write 264MB/s, over 51K random read op/s, and over 36K random write op/s. This is very close to mid range direct SATA connected SSD drives.
SMOKING FAST just about describes it!!
Cons: Not as fast as a full fledged high end SSD drives designed for internal mounting directly off the SATA ports(which on my system approaches ~ 450MB/s read, and 400MB/s write using Samsung SSD's). But, hey I am just nitpicking here. With over 200MB/s transfer rate from this little putty, what else can you ask from an external portable drive less than the size of a credit card?
Also I found out the drive is sensitive to EMI noise, using the included very short USB cable is recommended. I see real life tested sustained transfer rate reducing about 10% using a 6ft USB 3 cable vs. the included short cable. Also using a USB header mounted on the front of my workstation system seems to reduced the sustained peak transfer rate about 5% compared to the ports directly mounted on the back of the case right off the motherboard. With such high transfer rates (~ 3Gbps easily), it is not surprising the quality of the cable and noise sensitivity is seen.
Other Thoughts: This external SSD drive is easily faster than almost any spinner drive on the market today, so you probably won't see full speed of this drive until you are copying files from a very fast SSD internal drive. Any spinner drive would likely be the bottle neck in data transfer with this drive.
Also, I noted the drive is sensitive to any nose on the USB 3 interface, this includes both internal cable routing inside your computer case as well as USB cables used to connect the drive to the USB 3.0 port. Make sure to avoid using really long USB 3.0 cables (always use good quality shielded, impedance matched cables), and avoid using USB headers if you want to maximize the transfer rate.
There's really nothing negative to say about this drive, other than the fact that you will be waiting for your internal hard drive to spit out enough information to feed this external drive when copying files.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/20/2015 7:31:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 250GB USB 3.0 Portable SSD T1

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good SSD, with limitations
Pros: Very small, attractive, well-designed unit. Tiny--smaller than you'd think it would be, about the width of a credit card and about half an inch shorter. Made of a very lightweight plastic.

Large capacity and reasonably fast when connected to a USB 3 port. Does have backwards compatibility with USB 2 but only at USB 2's slower speed.

I tested the unit at 280 MB/s read and 302 MB/s write on USB 3. Using with a USB 2 port, speed is reduced to 35 MB/s read and 33 MB/s write.

Built-in data encryption helps protect your data--important, as this drive is small and would be all to easy to slip into a pocket without anyone noticing.
Cons: There are some "cons" with this unit, though perhaps nothing too serious, depending on your desired use.

The drive includes a small USB 3 cable and has a USB 3 micro-port on the drive itself, which seems potentially fragile to me. I would prefer a built-in USB connector.

Only supports Windows and Mac--Linux not supported at this time.

For fastest possible speeds, requires USB 3 with UASP support and Windows 8+, as Windows 7 doesn't support USB 3 with UASP natively. Note that the unit does work with Windows 7, at slightly reduced speed compared to Windows 8 or higher.

The unit feels quite fragile--I don't suspect it would be likely to survive rough handling.
Other Thoughts: This is a great product for someone that needs a very portable and very fast external drive to use with Windows or Mac systems that support USB 3. If you are needing something you can slip in a pocket, look no further.

Just be careful not to lose the cable or break the connector.
Reviewed By:James P.,3/19/2015 11:40:23 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 500GB USB 3.0 Portable SSD T1

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 It's TIny
Pros: Very small, smaller than credit card length and width and about ¼” thick will fit in the coin/watch pocket of your favorite pair of Levis. This is truly a pocket drive. Easy open packaging; no blister packs to irritate a person. Checked the software on it, changed the name of the drive and did not use password and after that, all of the included software on the drive disappeared and none of the settings were changed. No clue as to what caused this. I used the disk management tools to partition drive to use for multiple Images of windows hard drives and one data partition. No problems partitioning them except for some reason it would not advance the drive letter as I setup a new partition, which I have never had that problem with other drives, but I just manually advanced to the next drive letter and all was happy again.
Cons: Short cable and price factor are the only things I see as a con, but price factor on external SSDs is temporary, remember back to when a 20GB EIDE HDD cost $130 on sale so it is not really a con as the price will continue to drop as they become more and more popular and technology keeps advancing.
Also if you have an old cable from external drive that has been damaged or died then you should be able to use it no problem. Even with that the cable is well made and small enough to carry in your pocket with the drive without any difficulties also the weight factor and the quality of the cable means that it can dangle from your USB port without damage to the cable or port.
Other Thoughts: Transfer speeds on drive USB2 port 11.5GB of 4515 MP3 files took approximately 8 minutes with the supplied 5” cable (tip to tip) then I changed out to a 12” cable to test it with the same folder and same USB2 port got almost exact same amount of time for transfer so transfer speed and reliability do not seem to be a factor in their deciding to supply such a short cable. Next I transferred 10.6GB of 4505 JPEG files to the drive using the longer cable and same port took approximately 7.5 minutes with all files appearing to be intact no loss of data so drive is initially reliable. Then I transferred 2.77GB, 545 document files in 94 folders of various types to the drive, it took approximately 80 seconds. After all the transfers with the drive covered by insulating materials there was just slight heat buildup so heat should not be an issue if you leave the drive out in the open.
Reviewed By:John P,3/19/2015 6:31:05 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 500GB USB 3.0 Portable SSD T1

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Tiny Powerhouse!
Pros: Always moves data as fast as the drive it's coming from / going to. Very small (2 3/4" X 2" X 1/4") and very light. The rounded sides make it feel even smaller. Big enough storage space to do some serious archiving. The built in encryption is easy to set up and should keep most people out of your data.
Cons: USB cable is only about 3" long. Pretty silly, but since the drive only weighs an ounce or two it is supported by the cable and can just hang off the front or back of a PC without issue. It's still a bit pricey but that also is not the biggest con ever because you get what you pay for.
Other Thoughts: I got blazingly fast transfer rates from my OS SSD to this via USB 3.0. Other hard drives and solid state hybrid drives perform predictably and better than just about any external hard drive of any kind I've ever seen. I moved a 3GB video file for these tests and it came across fine each time. (It played normally from this drive.)

1TB WD Slim SSHD - 60 Mb/s
1TB Seagate Momentus SATA III HDD - 100 Mb/s
2TB Seagate SATA III SSHD - 150 Mb/s
240GB Sandisk Extreme II SSD - 350 Mb/s!!!

I don't know where the marketing people get their information on SATA speeds but 350 Mb/s is the absolute fastest I have ever seen data transfer by a large margin! These tests were all done with my front panel USB3 port.
System:
i5 4670K @ 3.4GHz
ASUS Z87 Pro
8GB GSkill 1866 DDR2
Sandisk Extreme II SSD (OS)
Windows 8.1
EVGA 1000P2 PSU
2GB MSI R9270x (irrelevant to this but brag-worthy!)
Corsair C70 Case

I would recommend this little beast to anyone who needs to take large amounts of data with them. It will fit in a jeans pocket and barely be noticed, plus it feels solid although it is very very light. Carrying the cable will be a bigger hassle than the drive! We are entering a new era, methinks... ;)
Reviewed By:JeffroNC,3/18/2015 2:13:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.