Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > External SSDs > Toshiba > Toshiba Canvio AeroMobile 128GB USB 3.0 / WIFI Wireless Solid State Drive HDTQ112XCWF1

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Toshiba Wireless SSD
Pros: +
Portable NAS / Media server
Easy to set up and access.
USB 3.0
Solid State Drive storage.
Good battery life.
Pocket sized.
Runs cool, only lightly warm in one coin sized area
Great for media: both iOS and Android app have a built in media player, and media management.
SDHC card slot for easy expansion and backup of SDHC.
Black Velvet carrying pouch.
Supports DLNA devices.
Supports multiple connections streaming different files simultaneously.
Allows for wireless access to the drive and a bridged connection through the drive to the internet.
Cons: -
Wi-Fi range is short but it is a trade off for power consumption.
Included USB 3.0 cable is very short, about 15 inches in length.
Black Velvet carrying pouch loves to pick up lint in my pockets.
Lacking in-depth instructions.
Although you can manage files on the drive and SD card, you are not able to upload from a PC by network connection, only by attaching the USB cable.
OSX requires a 3rd party driver to use as an external USB drive with a Mac.
Other Thoughts: ~
File management in the Wireless SSD App needs some attention, the media transfer management is fantastic, but lacks convenience with regular file transfer control. While the drive works flawlessly with media files where you can select any picture, video or music file and press the upload button to transfer, any other files such as .PDF or binary require an extra lap of hoops to jump through in order to transfer:
-->In order to transfer non-media files from your device or from your SDHC card, click Local (or SD card respectively), browse for the files through the File/Folder link. Then check mark the files you want to transfer, click on the wrench at the top of the screen, select copy. Push the SSD tab at the bottom of the screen, choose your destination folder (like default user/documents) then click the wrench again and select paste. The transfer will now begin.
I transferred a 480MB .PDF from my Android tablet, which took roughly 2 minutes to complete.

There are a few oddities with the drive:
The unit will not charge by USB when functioning as an external USB Drive, however; it will charge the drive by USB while in Wi-Fi mode.
There are NO in-depth instructions included with the drive, on the drive. or available online.
You get a quick start guide and you're sent on your way.

Decent transfer speeds when acting as an external USB drive.
AS SSD Benchmark reported:
Sequential: 151.24 MB/s Read, and 140.28 MB/s write
4k: 11.33 MB/s Read, and 31.69 write
4k-64Thrd: 14.26 MB/s Read, and 41.12 MB/s write
Access time: 0.183 ms Read, and 0.088 write.
(keep in mind that the drive was connected by USB 3.0 and the drive is battery powered when functioning as an External USB drive)

Wi-Fi has a short range of around 15 feet with no obstructions, a trade off for longer battery run time.
I clocked this drive at 13 hours battery run time with light usage, which was a few hours longer than I expected.
Overall this Wireless SSD thrives as a Media Server and Media file storage manager.
Pairing with iOS is where I believe this drive shines the most, and is an excellent way to listen to your music library without being trapped inside of iTunes. Being able to save your photos to an accessible drive from your iPhone, is far more convenient than emailing or uploading to a third party storage site. All of my files that I upload from my iPhone are right there on the drive and accessible by my PC, laptop and Android tablet.

Aside from the current minor inconvenient hoops one must jump through to transfer non-media files,
this is a fantastic drive.
I would recommend this drive for a mobile media server, storage needs, and device backup.
Reviewed By:Matt,12/15/2014 8:29:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External SSDs > Toshiba > Toshiba Canvio AeroMobile 128GB USB 3.0 / WIFI Wireless Solid State Drive HDTQ112XCWF1

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Pocket Sized Media Server
Pros: Portability. The internal battery, SSD, small size all make it easy to carry around and great as a portable device.

I was also able to stream HD Movie files from the Wireless SSD successfully. Of course it’s WiFi 802.11N, so speeds are dependent on distance and interference, but I had good connections in all but the farthest corners of my apartment.

Can act as a bridge and maintain internet connection while accessing the SSD through WiFi.
Cons: Software can be a bit clunky. And individual user accounts could use separate log in/passwords.

120GB can be too small, depending on type of media you intend to load it with.

Would have been better if it were 802.11AC.

Can’t connect USB and have WiFi active at the same time.
Other Thoughts: The Toshiba Canvio AeroMobile is a great device for sharing files and media and can also be used to stream media over WiFi. It is small and light weight so it packs away easily and the internal battery greatly adds to its portability.

When accessing it wirelessly, it acts as its own WiFi Access Point. Just scan for available WiFi networks with your preferred device and connect to the SSID the same way you would any WiFi network.

I tested multiple devices’ ability to connect to the Wireless SSD through WiFi: A tablet running Android 4.0, an iPhone 5s running iOS 8, and a Windows PC running Windows 7. All devices were able to connect to the Wireless SSD using the Web Browser interface with ease. There is also an App available for Android and iOS; the App has the same appearance and functionality as the Web Browser interface. Either way works well for all devices I tested.

Since you can only connect to one WiFi Access Point at a time, you need to disconnect from your Internet WiFi to connect to the Wireless SSD’s WiFi. It would have been annoying to always lose your internet connection while accessing/transferring files. Luckily Toshiba was smart to allow the device to act as a bridge for internet access so you can connect to it, and it can connect to any WiFi Access Point. So it is possible to maintain an internet connection while accessing the Wireless SSD. And testing this connection speed, I was able to stream Netflix on two devices at the same time successfully.

When connected through the micro USB 3.0, my Windows 7 PC and Android 4.0 Tablet were both able to recognize and access it as an external hard drive automatically without issue.
Reviewed By:Andy,12/12/2014 11:55:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External SSDs > Toshiba > Toshiba Canvio AeroMobile 128GB USB 3.0 / WIFI Wireless Solid State Drive HDTQ112XCWF1

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Lightweight and Speedy
Pros: Portable SSD drive is pretty fast.

Built-in Wi-fi has range up to about 80 feet away.

Rechargeable battery lasts almost 8 hours.

Several users can connect at the same time.

Has an SD card slot lets you can offload stuff from your phone or camera to the drive, thus freeing up space on those devices.

Has no moving parts so you can move it around even when it's in use.

3 little LED lights inform you when Wi-Fi is on, when an SD card is connected and when the battery is running low.
Cons: SD card would not latch into slot on side. Had to hold it in place by hand.This was a disappointment.

The features of built-in Wi-fi, battery, card slot, etc. make this one of the most expensive 128GB SSDs you can buy.

For some reason the app has Default User, Owner 1, Owner 2 , Owner 3, etc. but no privacy protection that i can see. There's no option to set a password. If you need to privacy for your data it may be wise to encrypt files or folders before uploading them onto this drive.
Other Thoughts: USER MANUAL is available from Toshiba's website. Look at bottom right corner of the Quickstart sheet of paper that comes in the box to see exact address for downloading the full user guide.

The Canvio AeroMobile drive is packaged with a velveteen drawstring carrying bag, an 18-inch USB 3.0 cord and a little USB wall charging plug.

The drive itself is housed in a solid but lightweight case that fits easily in your pocket.

After downloading and installing the free "Toshiba Wireless SSD" app from Google Play store a message appeared on my phone's screen saying the app is updating and please wait 5 minutes. Hmm, seems like a long time for an app update - oh, well. A similar app is available from the Apple store, also free.

5 minutes later i had to log on to my phone again; then tapped on the Tosh wiress app icon and it took me to the phone's list of available wi-fi. Strange, since i was already connected to the wireless SSD ! Anyway, i tapped the Back button on the phone and the wireless SSD app was there waiting.

The main screen of the app is neatly organised into squares for Pictures, Videos, Music and Documents. Also, there are a couple of small buttons for File/Folder and Backup. The backup button lets you backup an SD card or Local Data (stuff on your phone/tablet/etc.).

Once a bunch of videos and was transferred onto the drive we were able to view/share videos and music wirelessly on a Galaxy phone, iPhone 4S, an early iPad mini and a Lenovo laptop all at the same time. Pretty impressive!

Took the old Android phone about 50 feet across the cul-de-sac where we live and streaming still worked. With the iPad mini we were able to go about 75 feet away. No walls, of course, but still rather good distance.

The wireless SSD also held its own when we connected to it from a total of 5 devices all at once. One device was a PC using the browser app and the rest were all mobile devices. There was no problem streaming a 1080p HD video.

This is a niche product for those needing certain features and who are willing to pay for them. Other than devices like my old Galaxy S phone with only 4GB of storage i'm guessing most people don't need this lightweight pocket-size SSD. But, if you're a business traveler or going on vacation, then 119GB (after formatting) of extra data storage might just save your bacon!

Someday, all mobile devices will have tons of storage space by default. Until then, you can ramp up your on-the-go data with a Toshiba wi-fi SSD.

Transfer speeds over USB 3.0:

Sequential Read = 190MB/sec. Write = 172MB/sec.
4K Random Read = 5.8MB/sec. Write = 9.4MB/sec.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/12/2014 12:09:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External SSDs > Toshiba > Toshiba Canvio AeroMobile 128GB USB 3.0 / WIFI Wireless Solid State Drive HDTQ112XCWF1

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Toshiba Canvio AeroMobile 128GB USB 3.0
Pros: Great for extra storage and the option to connect remotely via several different device types. Small, very light weight, shock resistent. Dropping it will not hurt it.
Wireless extender capability - "Internet Pass through mode"
The SSD allows for connection of up to 8 devices
The battery life is excellent, wall charger and a nice case included.
Cons: Too much trial and error to get all the functions working.
Lesson 1 (not found in instructions): To turn it on (or off), the power button must be held down for at least 3 seconds. The instructions sheet was not helpful at all, very vague with little information. I had to use Google to get connected to the device and WiFi through the device. A fairly tech saavy user is needed to setup and operate.

Once connected to the device's browser user interface, functionality feels very limited.
You can't be connected to two networks when trying to use the SSD via web Interface. For example: if connected to both Ethernet and the SSD's WiFi, the SSD's UI will not open.
Before the firmware updates I was not able to stay connected WiFi and use the web interface at the same time. After connecting to a WiFi Access Point, I had to log out of the Web Interface (UI) in order for the Internet to be available. But I think the firmware update fixed this.
Other Thoughts: The best way to use the wireless SSD is to connect with USB 3, upload any content you may want to access on any device and then from those devices, access the content. Note that after installing the mobile app, a firmware upgrade will automatically be applied (without warning). To me this is scary considering if the device is turned off during the upgrade, it could forever be ruined. A message will just suddenly appear when the app is opened on the mobile device. I highly recommend Connecting to the wireless SSD with a laptop first, perform all the firmware updates before doing anything else. I consider myself fairly tech saavy but it literally took me 2 hours to get everything figured out and connected. Part of the problem may have been the need for the firmware upgrades. The device software was buggy, at first. In my opinion practical use is slim. Most likely it will be good for trips so users can access uploaded movies.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/11/2014 9:05:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External SSDs > Team Group > Team Group PD200 128GB 1.8" USB 3.0 Portable Solid State Drive T8F2D2128GMC102

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 DRIVE FAILED!
Pros: Worked fine, was fast and completed what I needed it for.
Cons: Recently I started losing connection and not getting my PC or any laptops to read the device. Thinking it was the wire, I replaced it with 2 different Micro USB 3.0 and finally released it was the SSD itself that no longer worked.
Other Thoughts: overall I was happy with this purchase but no I am having a hard time trying to find a repair request although the device says it has a 3 year warranty.
Reviewed By:PEANUT,12/4/2014 1:48:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External SSDs > Toshiba > Toshiba Canvio AeroMobile 128GB USB 3.0 / WIFI Wireless Solid State Drive HDTQ112XCWF1

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 New Eggspert review of the Toshiba Canvio Aero Mobile.
Pros: Pros;
+Wicked idea!
+Battery powered Wlan extender!
+Battery last a good amount of time.
+USB 3.0 enables fast transfers when connected via cable.
+It made it through an airport x ray.

First off Toshiba, this was a great idea but it drastically needs improved if it is going to sell. It is only mediocre at accomplishing all of its tasks. It has many shortcomings because it was engineered around battery life.

This unit is excellent for portable devices, such as phones and tablets, but that is about it. It is great at streaming music.

I really loved the fact that this unit can be used as a wireless extender, it makes it pretty useful to boost you range if you want to surf on your portable device. Could be handy when on the road working from a hotel room.

When plugged into a computer directly, it is pleasantly fast with its file transfers.

The software is easy to navigate, and that's it.
Cons: Cons:
-No separated password protected log-ins for users
-The backup Software
-Slow wireless, bottlenecks the SSD and performance.
-Small SSD for media use
-software needs refinement and better functionality.

The wireless should be much faster than it is, even if it has to be plugged in to achieve the faster speeds. The best speed I could achieve were 65 and 72 Mbps with my tablet and phone. Not nearly enough for video not really acceptable for wireless transfers or backups either, especially with an SSD.

What is the purpose of having “user accounts” on the device if I can't hide my stuff? Each user should have a login and password. With a protected directory.

This device also does not allow for storage for more than ONE wireless connection!! You have to re-enter passwords and access the device every time you relocate it.

The wireless, is not good on this unit, it frequently locks up..I may have a defective unit, but I think it is cheap parts.

I could not get file to transfer to the device unless using the Android AP or being directly connected. Drag and drops from the computer did not work at all.

It is poor at streaming HQ videos and HD Pictures
Other Thoughts: Overall this unit is behind the times buy about 2 years and even though it was a grand idea at one time, it's poor implementation left me feeling frustrated.

Toshiba, here is my recommendation to you, go back to the drawing board. Start with and higher quality mobile wireless chip that is at least 2 - 4x faster. Then add in a 3 port USB 3.0 hub with a wired Ethernet connection, increase the size of the drive to at least 256GB, and fix the buggy software. Then you will have a product worth of the average tech consumer of 2015.
Reviewed By:Xeryx,12/1/2014 9:15:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > External SSDs > LaCie > LaCie Rugged Thunderbolt 500GB Thunderbolt & USB 3.0 Solid State Disk - External 9000491

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fast and reliable
Pros: As the name implies "rugged" and with no moving parts. Extremely fast, portable, and reliable. I have used both connections but I mostly connect it via Thunderbolt to a Mac Pro and MacBook Pro.
Cons: Just the price.
Reviewed By:vectorsandpixels,12/1/2014 12:29:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External SSDs > Toshiba > Toshiba Canvio AeroMobile 128GB USB 3.0 / WIFI Wireless Solid State Drive HDTQ112XCWF1

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent Backup Device
Pros: Small, compact and sturdy. Not very lightweight but that is due to the built in battery in the device. The build quality is very good and does not feel like it would break easily. Indicator lights are easily noticeable during both dark and daytime. Takes standard SD cards and they fit well with no major protrusion on the side.

Included carrying back is nice add on. Most drives do not come with some kind of case and you usually have to go out and buy one. Comes with a Micro USB 3.0 cable and is backwards compatible with Micro USB 2.0 cables as well. USB cable fits with power adapter and charges the internal battery within a moderate amount of time that is expected of an external battery pack. The drive was able to be charged via USB 2.0 and through a pc or laptop without a problem. I tried to find out the mAh of the internal battery on the manufacturer website but to no avail. Instructions are clear and typical and setup was seamless.

128 GB seems to be the sweet spot for SSD storage these days and is just enough for this device. Wireless bands were not explicitly stated but the device specs did mention 150 Mbps so I figured and confirmed that it was Wireless 802.11 N compatible upon testing and is backwards compatible with legacy Wireless 802.11 a/b/g. The SD card slot is a nice addition to the device and is definitely convenient. I took several snaps with my phone and using a micro sd to SD adapter, was able to transfer all my photos and videos to the drive easily.

Upon setting up the wi-fi network several of my devices were able to pick it up easily. The only device that had an issue connnecting was my Note 4 but my PCs and laptops were able to recognize the drive. Streaming and photo viewing was seamless and transfer rates via Wireless N were enough to stream to every device in my house regardless of location. I spent a good 11 hours trying out the device and battery life was close to what was advertised. Got exactly 7 hours and 43 minutes before it shut down and needed to be recharged.
Cons: Would have been nice if they included the mAh capacity of the device.

No dual band support.

No 802.11 AC
Other Thoughts: A very handy device to keep around in the house and to take with you. The fact that no cords are required for this device to be accessed makes it a huge selling point. Typical storage devices are accessed either while connected to a PC or while connected to a router via USB. A cable is required for constant power and for data but with the AeroMobile, you have even greater flexibility with wi-fi built in. The added SD card slot is a nice touch as well and increases the utility of the drive. I would like to see different versions of the drive in the future either with larger capacity SSDs or internal batteries. It is definitely a great device to purchase if you need constant access to files, photos and videos.
Reviewed By:Dragonkal8000,11/30/2014 11:05:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External SSDs > Toshiba > Toshiba Canvio AeroMobile 128GB USB 3.0 / WIFI Wireless Solid State Drive HDTQ112XCWF1

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 It has a use
Pros: The Canvio AeroMobile is good for backing up your phone or tablet to offload pictures and movies to free up space.

Although the case is plastic, it is hard and it seems like it would protect the drive well enough for occasional accidents. The LEDs are clear and different colors, so you don’t have to look at the symbols to determine which light is for what.

It has a built-in wireless router allowing you to connect to it when there isn’t a wireless network available.

The battery charge lasted a lot longer than I expected.

The manual states that if you connect your Mac using the USB then the NTFS driver needs to be installed. I must have already had it installed for another purpose (perhaps Windows 7 on a Boot Camp partition) because I was able to view the contents without installing the provided driver.
Cons: Its a great a idea, but I don’t feel like its finished yet. It was difficult to set up due to its unintuitive user interface. Some of the configuration changes didn’t seem to stick at first. Maybe I was being impatient, but there wasn’t an indication that it was working.

This may be obvious to some, but its worth noting here since I believe the description of how it works isn’t very clear. A natural side-effect of connecting to the drive directly as a WiFi hotspot is that you’ll lose connectivity to whatever you’re currently connected to. This would include your cellular data connection on your phone. This isn’t an issue if you can configure the drive to connect to an available wifi hotspot. I was able to connect the drive to my home wireless network and either use the drive as a pass-thru to the Internet or see the drive when connected directly to my home network. In other words, when I was a passenger in a car and I connected my phone directly to the drive’s wireless router, I no longer had access to the Internet. The phone was expecting all data traffic to come from the connected wireless network and not from the cellular service. As far as road trips go, this would be better for a device that would not otherwise have a data connection.

I think the configuration options are too limited. Although you’re able to change the wireless SSID so you can locate your drive as a WiFi hotspot, you’re not able to change the devices network name from “wirelessssd”. The problem there is that having two devices with the same name on the network will conflict. You can find the IP address by connecting to the drive’s wireless router directly, look in the configuration settings, and then reconnect to the main wireless network to find it again, but that is clearly too much of a hassle.

I had a hard time finding the iOS app for it. After some searching in the app store, I found Toshiba Wireless SDD by maowen lui. Who is maowen lui and why should I trust this person? I decide to live on the edge and try the app. It works with the drive in the same way as the web interface. I was able to backup all of the pictures and videos on my phone onto the drive.

I believe they should spend a lot more time on the user interface (both web and app) and the user administration. It’s not intuitive and not much to look at.
Other Thoughts: I think the drive is good for temporary uses like backing up your phone or SD flash card and good for streaming a movie to your tablet on a road trip, but its too cumbersome to use more frequently than that.

I gave the Toshiba Canvio AeroMobile 3 eggs for the hardware alone. Its probably more like 2.5 eggs since the software can make all the difference in the world. If I step back and consider it just as a means for backing up or streaming to a tablet, then I’m less frustrated. There is still hope for this product though. If they rewrite the software to something far more usable, then I’d probably have more use for it.
Reviewed By:Brian D,11/30/2014 6:39:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External SSDs > Transcend > Transcend ESD400 256GB USB 3.0 MLC Portable Solid State DriveTS256GESD400K

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice SSD
Pros: Got drive for multi-day event running a virtual machine for demos. Drive performed well. No issues with USB cable (stayed connected just fine). Drive is physically small and thin. Would put some Velcro on laptop lid and drive if I were using it a lot to ensure cable stayed connected and drive not accidentally moved.
Cons: Only con was drive arrived in FAT format. Had to reformat it NTFS to copy large virtual machine drive files (e.g. 12 GB). Reformatted NTFS and it worked fine. More of a temporary inconvenience than a real con.
Reviewed By:N/A,11/23/2014 2:34:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.