Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > External SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 250GB Portable USB 3.0 Portable SSD T1

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Very good speed!
Pros: Portable :)
Very fast
Cons: I couldn't get more than 300MB/s, mostly around 100-200MB/s while transfer files. 300MB/s at max.
A little pricey
Other Thoughts: Recommend if you need to transfer a lot of data with extreme speed , otherwise just get a fast portable HDD with more capacity
Reviewed By:Huang Z.,1/7/2016 7:59:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > External SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 500GB Portable USB 3.0 Portable SSD T1

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works with Wii-U (with a separate cable)
Pros: Pros
Cons: Cons
Other Thoughts: I was able to get this working as a Wii-U external storage device. However, the built-in USB cable did not work. I needed a separate USB Y cable (something like http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16812705029) for the drive to receive enough power from the Wii-U to work properly. With a Y cable, it is working and allows me to download larger games to the Wii-U.
Reviewed By:Mark G.,1/5/2016 9:45:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > External SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 250GB Portable USB 3.0 Portable SSD T1

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 The smallest ssd in the world.
Pros: The smallest ssd in the world.
Cons: Cable is a little short.
Other Thoughts: Would I buy another? YES.
Reviewed By:George R.,12/28/2015 7:08:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > External SSDs > Team Group > Team Group PD200 128GB 1.8" USB 3.0 Portable Solid State Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Nice design.
Cons: No comments
Reviewed By:Justo V.,12/23/2015 6:47:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > External SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 250GB Portable USB 3.0 Portable SSD T1

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Freaking Awesome
Pros: Really fast. Faster than pretty much any USB thumb drive. I've benchmarked it around 420MB/s. It's also much smaller than I thought. It's about the size of a business card. It's nowhere near as large as a 2.5" SSD. It's also really light weight. I put it in my pocket and forget it's there (but never washed it on accident!).
Cons: None that I can think of. I guess it's always nice if it's cheaper.
Other Thoughts: I use this nearly every day to take a bunch of video projects and other files to and from work. This way I can work on these on my 6700k desktop at home, my MacBook Pro on the go, or my 4790K desktop at work. I just plug it in and it instantly shows up as a local hard drive. I'm probably going to get my work to buy me the 500GB version so that I'm not using my personal property for so much work purposes.
Reviewed By:Jerod S.,12/21/2015 7:33:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > External SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 1TB USB 3.0 Portable SSD T1

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Mac Addendum
Pros: See immediately preceding review.
Cons: See immediately preceding review
Other Thoughts: One thing that was left out of the Mac instructions in the immediately preceding review is that the SSD needs to be connected directly to your computer (without any hub or intervening device) to be recognized as a boot drive. Even though you have set your computer to recognize the drive as the boot in the system preferences, it will not do so if you are not properly connected.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/16/2015 10:39:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > External SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 1TB USB 3.0 Portable SSD T1

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 So big to be so small
Pros: Small physical size.
1 TB drive.
Relatively easy set up on Mac.
Power from the USB port
USB 3 and fast.
Cons: Really short cable.
Other Thoughts: When I opened the box for this drive, I was astounded at its small size: 2-3/4 inches by 2 inches by 3/8 inch.

I was also astounded at how short the cable is (less than 6 inches is ideal for some applications, and would be lousy for others). Thank goodness it's a standard USB 3 cable, so if you have another one sitting around you can use it.

That said, some of the comments regarding Mac setup need to be consolidated. This works fine for Mac, but you will be frustrated if you don't follow these instructions if you want to use this as a boot drive:

1) Be sure to run the application on the drive that installs the driver software for this drive.
2) Then, start it again with that software. You will rename the drive and decide whether you want to encrypt the drive for security purposes.
3) Using the Disk Utility Program (on your Mac, probably in Applications>Utilities), erase the drive. Make sure you have set GUI if you want to use this as a boot drive.
4) After erasing the drive, run First Aid (another part of the Disk Utility Program).
5) I used Carbon Copy Cloner to clone my original startup disk to my new 1 TB disk.
6) I then went to System Preferences>Startup to select the new 1TB drive as my startup. If your 1 TB drive does not appear there, you probably have not set the GUI as the file system.

This is a very fast, VERY small drive, with a 3 year guarantee. In the open, it runs very cool, and I have been impressed by it thusfar.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/14/2015 2:34:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > External SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 500GB Portable USB 3.0 Portable SSD T1

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DOA
Pros: Small. Looks good.
Cons: DOA
Other Thoughts: DOA
Reviewed By:N/A,12/11/2015 2:56:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > External SSDs > Team Group > Team Group PD200 256GB 1.8" USB 3.0 Portable Solid State Drive

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 EDIT: high performance external storage
Pros: The write speed was in fact 145MB/s (138MiB/s), please ignore the incorrect measurement of 600MB/s in the other review. The other value was for a different product.
Cons: n/a
Reviewed By:N/A,12/5/2015 10:40:12 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > External SSDs > Team Group > Team Group PD200 256GB 1.8" USB 3.0 Portable Solid State Drive

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 high performance external storage
Pros: During burn-in, I was able to achieve an astonishing 600MB/s write speed. A faint burning plastic odor could be smelled towards the end of the write. Subsequent writes did not produce this odor. I never got around to testing the read speeds, but they were comparable. I had this drive for over a month and read/wrote the entire device at least 5 times, it was a great product.
Cons: Cheap packaging - the circuitboard is housed in thin plastic which was easily destroyed by my dog. Don't perform heavy I/O with the device in its carrying pouch, this may cause overheating!!!
Other Thoughts: For some reason, this form factor is appealing to my dog. I will be purchasing a metal-housed storage product to replace this one.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/4/2015 10:08:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.