Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • | Wish List
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Industrial / Embedded SSD > Kingston Technology Corp. > Kingston SSDNow S100 16GB 2.5" SATA II Industrial Solid State Disk SS100S2/16G

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Failed just past warranty
Pros: It is an SSD
Cons: Failed for good just outside of warranty... started failing by being invisible to the system sometimes after about a year.
Other Thoughts: Eh it should have lasted longer, SMART had no beef with it.

Stopped showing up in the in the system, then was invisible in BIOS. Power cycle would fix it, but not this time.. luckily I ordered a replacement the last time it went invisible.
Manufacturer Response:Hello, I'm Jewel with Kingston Technical Support. We apologize for the issue that occurred with the SS100S2 SSD. We are here to help and should you have any further issue with our products please contact us directly. If you have any other SS100S2 drives, please be advised there is a recommended FW update that may have alleviated the issue you experienced. It can be found here: http://www.kingston.com/us/support/technical/downloads?product=SS100S2&filename=SS100S2_16G_120229 . For any further assistance, please call us at 1-800-435-0640 (USA and Canada only) M - F 6am - 6pm PT and I or another available Technician will assist you. Please be sure to have the part in question on hand when you call.

Thank you for selecting Kingston as your upgrade partner.

Reviewed By:N/A,1/28/2014 12:31:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Industrial / Embedded SSD > Kingston Technology Corp. > Kingston SSDNow S100 16GB 2.5" SATA II Industrial Solid State Disk SS100S2/16G

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Nice for its time and still running...
Pros: Not sure how I missed reviewing this product, but better late than never. For its time it was a good SSD drive. Albeit perhaps slow on transfer speeds compared to today's drives - it has proved quite reliable over the years and has yet to fail me. I mostly use it for speedboosting Windows now.
Cons: Small, but everything when I bought it was. It has yet to fail me - like other modern day SSDs has...
Reviewed By:FURION,3/8/2013 8:41:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Industrial / Embedded SSD > Kingston Technology Corp. > Kingston SSDNow S100 16GB 2.5" SATA II Industrial Solid State Disk SS100S2/16G

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 I recant my previous opinion of Kingston
Pros: This drive has no pros - I went through two that did not work. *HOWEVER* Kingston did finally come through in the end and gave me a much better replacement drive.
Cons: The initial 2 drives of this model did not work.
Reviewed By:jaysonrowe,11/5/2012 6:21:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Industrial / Embedded SSD > Kingston Technology Corp. > Kingston SSDNow S100 16GB 2.5" SATA II Industrial Solid State Disk SS100S2/16G

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 More RMA troubles
Pros: I'm trying to find one. Initial RMA process was bad, then was good, now it's really really bad...
Cons: So, after posting my first review here, I got a quick response from Kingston - I shipped my drive in, and they sent one back next day - awesome! What was really bad is the replacement was bad - like, they didn't even test the replacement they sent me, apparently. They did apologize and offered to upgrade to a 32GB drive, and provided me a next day label to send that bad drive back. Now, it's been 2 weeks since sending the broken drive back, and I just got a report that they are backordered and it'll be another week before my NEW replacement is shipped. My machine hasn't worked for over a month, and now I have to hope that when I *do* finally get a replacement drive that it will actually work. I'm confident unless something radical happens to sway my opinion, this will be, for sure the last Kingston product I ever purchase.
Reviewed By:jaysonrowe,10/29/2012 12:57:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Industrial / Embedded SSD > Kingston Technology Corp. > Kingston SSDNow S100 16GB 2.5" SATA II Industrial Solid State Disk SS100S2/16G

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Too small
Pros: It's a great drive. Installation was super easy.
Works fine.
Cons: Too small for most games nowadays.
Not suitable for operating system.
Reviewed By:Harpoon Larry,10/18/2012 8:31:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Industrial / Embedded SSD > Wintec Industries > Wintec 4GB mSATA Solid State Disk 33100003

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Cheap boot device
Pros: It cheap, it's tiny, it low power, it requires no cables, and you can boot from it. It's very easy to screw down to the motherboard, and it's plenty large enough to install any Linux distro and shows up as an ordinary SATA hard drive so there are no BIOS or OS tricks to install or boot.
Cons: None. You would wish for more space or even cheap, but that will come with time.
Other Thoughts: I installed it in a DN2800MT. Motherboards with mSATA support are still hard to find, but I hope that changes in the next year because the mSATA form factor is ideal for embedded storage devices.
Reviewed By:N/A,10/12/2012 6:50:22 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Industrial / Embedded SSD > Kingston Technology Corp. > Kingston SSDNow S100 16GB 2.5" SATA II Industrial Solid State Disk SS100S2/16G

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Worked great, then just died.
Pros: none. even the warranty process sucks.
Cons: I bought this to boot Ubuntu in a little Atom PC I have. Worked great for about a year, and then one day it just doesn't show up. I hit up Kingston's website today to do the RMA process, and come to find out since this is a Discontinued item they have to 'repair' it and won't replace it. How exactly do you repair an SSD? Anyway - I still haven't gotten even a confirmation e-mail from the RMA department, so hopefully I will, and I will actually get this drive 'repaired'.
Manufacturer Response:We apologize for the issue you are having. The online form defaults to a repair for any discontinued product, however, most, if not all, flash parts do not go under the repair process. For faster warranty service, please call our Support Staff at 1-800-435-0640 (USA and Canada only) M - F 6am - 6pm PT and one of our Technical Support Representatives will assist you. Please be sure to have the part on hand if you call in.

Thank you for selecting Kingston as your upgrade partner.

Reviewed By:jaysonrowe,10/8/2012 5:16:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Industrial / Embedded SSD > Western Digital > Western Digital SiliconDrive A100 8GB CFast SATA II SLC Industrial Solid State Drive SSD-C0008SC-7100

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Perfect as a ZFS zil log device
Pros: * SLC NAND - perfect for zil usage
* Form Factor - same as a CF Card, can be mounted several ways.
* Fast - SLC excels at speed
Cons: * minus one egg because of Newegg's less than clear description. They have the interface listed on the card as SATA. Though 'technically' correct, CFast cards are based on the Serial ATA bus, the interface on the card is not a standard SATA interface!! You will need a CFast adapter in order to connect them to your standard motherboard SATA ports because the power connector on CFast cards is a 17-pin connector vs. the 15 pin connector on a standard SATA hard drive. Also, the connector on the CFast cards is female, unlike SATA hard drives that feature male connectors. I cound't find any CFAST adapters on Newegg, but Addonics has a few to choose from. I settled on part #ADSACFAST-N
Reviewed By:N/A,9/12/2012 4:19:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Industrial / Embedded SSD > Kingston Technology Corp. > Kingston SSDNow S100 16GB 2.5" SATA II Industrial Solid State Disk SS100S2/16G

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Good, but not reliable
Pros: Simple, fast... while it lasted
Cons: Dying and nearly dead. Have to replace this drive since it is consistently giving errors in the Linux network gateway machine where I have it installed. I have a 2nd one too that I am worried will fail as well.
Manufacturer Response:We apologize for the issue you are having. Please call our Support Staff at 1-800-435-0640 (USA and Canada only) M - F 6am - 6pm PT and one of our Technical Support Representatives will assist you. Please be sure to have the part on hand if you call in.

Thank you for selecting Kingston as your upgrade partner.

Reviewed By:N/A,8/16/2012 8:00:16 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Industrial / Embedded SSD > Kingston Technology Corp. > Kingston SSDNow S100 8GB 2.5" SATA II Industrial Solid State Disk SS100S2/8G

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 This drive sucks - stay away
Pros: It doesn't hurt too badly compared to a 3.5" disk if you drop it on your foot.
Cons: Both of these drives have had severe filesystem corruption on them. They came with an older firmware, then had problems. Ran their "fix it" cd to upgrade the drive, and put them back in some low power units I have in the field to provide services; drives failed after 120 days of uptime. The funny thing is the units they were in seldom wrote to the drive. I can only imagine how much faster these things would fail if used in a client machine.
Other Thoughts: Knock on wood, the 16GB drives of this same type have not failed yet. Fortunately we only purchased two of these dogs for use in a pilot program. Obviously, we won't be using kingston SSDs for the product.... Caveat emptor.
Manufacturer Response:We apologize for the issue you experienced. If you have not yet done so, please call our Support Staff at 1-800-435-0640 (USA and Canada only) M - F 6am - 6pm PT and one of our Technical Support Representatives will assist you. Please be sure to have the part on hand if you call in.

Thank you for selecting Kingston as your upgrade partner.

Reviewed By:N/A,7/24/2012 12:42:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau