Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Limited Time Only! Newegg Premier is now only $29.99/year. Sign up now.
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > IDE Cables > STARTECH > StarTech Model FDROUND 18" Single Drive Round Floppy Cable

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 StarTech floppy cable
Pros: Works just fine as it should.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: I upgraded an older PC to Windows 7 from XP but the old motherboard did not have any Win 7 compatible drivers on their website. I replaced the motherboard (and RAM and CPU) and decided to keep the floppy drive. I needed a longer floppy cable because the new location of the new mobo floppy connector.
Reviewed By:mailpup,7/6/2014 7:27:09 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > IDE Cables > Weksi > SATA to IDE Adapter IDE SATA to IDE Converter New Ide To Serial Ata Sata For 3.5 Hdd Pc Adapter Converter US

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Didn't Work
Pros: Fast Delivery.
Cons: Wanted it to make my old optical drive work with SATA connections, it did not do this. It was possibly dead on arrival, I say this because the two I ordered were packaged in a small bubble wrap envelope along with the wires, which had been torn and re-wrapped with packing tape.
Reviewed By:Kotig,6/30/2014 7:41:07 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > IDE Cables > Tonstep > New 4-Pin IDE to 15 Pin SATA HDD Power Adapter Cable

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: None
Cons: At almost $300 this item might be overpriced.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/8/2014 5:33:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > IDE Cables > STARTECH > StarTech Model IDE100RND24 24" Round ATA 100/133 IDE Cable

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Continues to be a life-saver
Pros: My older review is the one signed Richard E to the top right. I just used up my last one of these, and I will be soon buying another just as a spare. As I learn more about disk drives, and testing software, like spinrite, and hdsentinel, i am also learning more about SMART values. You can get SMART info from speedfan, in hex, or from HDTune in decimal - which I prefer. I noticed a C7 value, CRC errors, which I read about in wikipedia in the SMART article - and those are cable errors. I just did a bunch of spinrite testing, and my CRC values were increasing on my test computer secondary ide channel - and I thought it was a good 80 pin flat cable. I put on my last round cable - the one I am reviewing - and the problems disappeared.
Cons: Yes, the collars can be somewhat heavy, and you might want to cut them off. Lately I am not doing that, and they seem fine. One drive that kept disconnecting - I would boot up and it wasn't there - and I had blamed it on the heavy collar- that seemed to be a problem with that particular disk - the problem continued even with a change back to the flat ribbon, and finally I put a different disk in its place and no more disconnecting.
Other Thoughts: I only just recently learned about C7 CRC errors. You won't even see this in the HDTune health tab, unless you have one of the older WD ide drives - I own 15 ide 3.5" drives among various older towers, and a bunch of sata drives on two newer gaming towers. I have started doing spinrite testing on all my drives - I decided it's a once-a-year thing, to keep the drives refreshed. I also bought wd sentinel, and in discussion with the author, I am impressed by his approach, but I haven't evaluated it well enough. I do know, that you can't leave drives sitting on a shelf for years, and expect them to function - run them at least once a year, if not twice - a good run of several hours. Spinrite seems great for that.
Reviewed By:Richard E.,4/26/2014 8:33:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > IDE Cables > Cables To Go > C2G Model 17705 5.9 " Laptop to IDE Hard Drive Adapter Cable M-F

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works fine
Pros: Standard 40-pin IDE to mini-IDE connector. Works exactly like it says. I used this to plug an old laptop hard drive into my desktop PC.
Cons: None so far.
Other Thoughts: Be sure to not reverse the cable. Pin 1 goes to the stripe on the IDE cable. Pin "R" connects to the red power lead, and pin "B" connects to the black power lead.
Reviewed By:N/A,2/15/2014 1:31:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > IDE Cables > Link Depot Corp. > Link Depot 18" Floppy UV Cable Model UV-FLP18-GN

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Better than nothing
Pros: Braided
Green
Looks nice (the reason all people choose a FDC cable)
Cons: Flimsy. Flexes easily...the connectors are delicate. If they spent as much effort making this durable as green and braided, it would be more useful.
Other Thoughts: If you have one, use one of those Taiwanese/Foxconn ribbons, they will outlast us all. This thing is a real...forced purchase.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/5/2013 7:19:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > IDE Cables > Thermaltake > Thermaltake UV Yellow Rould 24" IDE(ATA66/100/133) Cable Model A2078

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Weird. Awful.
Pros: When rubbery/vinyl/whatever cable sleeving was in style, yellow was just what I needed in a case I painted Suburu style for a customer.
Cons: They just failed at everything. I love ya Thermaltake but honestly, after just a little bit of handling to clean up cables in the cases they were installed in, the rubber stuff would get severely dislocated from the cables and if there was any pressure between the header and the socket, individual wires would pop out and render them useless.
Other Thoughts: These were cheap, and very poorly made. 5 eggs because Thermaltake has done some great things for my builds over the years and I would hate to bring them down with a bad review. So, these things here get 1 egg by my standards, but I am applying 5 eggs because it has been years since I bought em. Lots has changed since!
Reviewed By:camux,11/8/2013 8:52:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > IDE Cables > STARTECH > StarTech Model IDE100RND24 24" Round ATA 100/133 IDE Cable

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 It works.
Pros: Well, it works.
Cons: I needed a longer slave connector and by the part number thought this was long enough. Not. Had to shift my drives around and this cable being stiffer made it a struggle.
Other Thoughts: The collars are useless and make it look half-arsed. Well, that's why we have spare parts. Where else can you have this much fun for 8 bucks.
Reviewed By:skoville,6/1/2013 3:44:05 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > IDE Cables > Link Depot Corp. > Link Depot Model ELATA-18-BLUE-3 18" 3 Connector IDE Cable (Blue)

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 LED doesn't last
Pros: Still works 4 years later
Cons: Light gradually gets dimmer as time goes on and has been completely out for a few years. Got it so it would show up in my case so gotta take eggs away. Would like to give it 3.5 but will round down to 3.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/8/2013 6:49:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > IDE Cables > AMC (Arrow Micro Corp) > AMC Model CATA100-363 36" IDE Cable

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 It's long and it works
Pros: *It's long
*It works
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Just buy it.

You'll know you need it if you're looking at the product details.

You actually NEED this cable if you want to use IDE/PATA drives with a new system that has no IDE header and you're installing an IDE interface card.

It's longer than the IDE cables we're all used to in systems from the old DOS/Windows 95 days, and we need such a cable if we're wanting to use old IDE drives in just about any current system.

Regular rubbing alcohol will clean off any gummy old-rubber-band residue from your cable, if it arrives like mine did. Just grab a paper towel and a bottle of Isopropyl from the drugstore, and clean it up easily.
Reviewed By:SkedAddled,1/17/2013 4:27:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau