Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Serial Cables > Cables To Go > C2G 02882 11in DB9 Male Serial RS232 Add-A-Port Adapter Cable

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not wired correctly. Failure to function
Pros: None
Cons: Was not wired correctly. Failed to work because of that.
Other Thoughts: Careful on buying these. Check that they are wired correctly before usage.
Reviewed By:Scott F.,8/22/2016 10:25:37 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Serial Cables > STARTECH > StarTech Model PLATE9M2P16 16" 2 Port DB9 Serial Port Bracket to 10 Pin Header

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: works as expected
Cons: none
Reviewed By:Frank D.,8/20/2016 7:20:46 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Serial Cables > STARTECH > StarTech.com 1 Port 16in DB9 Serial Port Bracket to 10 Pin Header - Low Profile

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easy DB9 serial connector for your 10 pin serial header
Pros: It works, if you have a 10 pin serial header on your motherboard this is what you need to provide access for a DB9 serial cable at the rear of you computer case.
Well made, I did not see any difference in materials and construction of this and the cables and connectors that are typical of the mother boards and cases that I have.
Cons: none for my application
Other Thoughts: These are not cons but characteristics the user should understand:

Requires a slot opening at the rear of the computer case. This should not be a problem. In recent years my computer cases come with 6 to 8 slot openings while the mother boards have (typically) 3 or 4 expansion slots.

Order carefully if you have a full size case. The one I bought came with a short bracket rather than a full size bracket. This is not a serious problem. This is not a structural item - very little strain relief is required. I found that I could securely screw the bracket to the case at the top, then carefully connect the DB9 cable. Once attached there is no problem related to stability or security of connection despite the fact that the short bracket provides no support at the bottom. If you frequently move your pc you might want to order the part number with the full size bracket.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,8/14/2016 5:22:58 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Serial Cables > STARTECH > StarTech Model ICUSB232FTN 1 Port USB to Null Modem RS232 DB9 Serial DCE Adapter Cable with FTDI M-F

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 I bought the adapter to connect a Ham radio to a laptop with no serial port.
Pros: nothing so far
Cons: Unfortunately the drivers for the cable don't load onto my Windows 10 machine. So the cable is useless to me.
Reviewed By:Paul K.,7/3/2016 4:27:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Serial Cables > STARTECH > StarTech.com 1m Black DB9 RS232 Serial Null Modem Cable F/F

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 It works
Pros: This really is a 1 meter long F/F null modem cable; it appears to be well-made.
I used a continuity tester on it and found that all nine pins are cross-connected appropriately.
Cons: Newegg requires me to type something in this box.
Reviewed By:Ben T.,7/2/2016 10:29:08 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Serial Cables > TRENDnet > TRENDnet Model TU-S9 26" USB to Serial Converter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 does what it is supposed to fo
Pros: Plug & Play with Win 7 Pro x64
Cons: Wish the cable was a little longer.
Other Thoughts: I had one from E&*@ which must have been one of the notorious China knockoffs and Windows wouldn't recognize it. This one worked perfectly.
Reviewed By:david t.,6/10/2016 12:16:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Serial Cables > Cables To Go > C2G Model 25216 3 ft DB9 F/F Cable F-F

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 It's a cable
Pros: Good quality, large thumb screws. Straight through cable of all 9 pins for DTE to DCE connection.
Cons: It's not wireless? Kidding.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/8/2016 2:14:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Serial Cables > Tripp Lite > Tripp Lite Model USA-19HS 16.40 ft. USB High Speed Serial Adapter M-M

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Nice!
Pros: Great price.
Good value.
Cons: Good for general use, but if you need industrial, maybe spend more.
Reviewed By:James K.,2/20/2016 8:08:12 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Serial Cables > Sabrent > Sabrent USB 2.0 to Serial (9-Pin) DB-9 RS-232 Adapter Cable 6ft Cable with Hexnut connectors (SBT-FTDI)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works With Windows 10 64bit !!
Pros: I needed a serial port to operate an older PlusDeck 2c cassette to mp3 recorder/player and my newer motherboard does not have a serial port connection. I took a chance and ordered this cable to covert the serial port on the PlusDeck 2c to usb 2.0. This cable works perfect and I can now save all my old cassettes to mp3. No driver install cd was needed. Windows 10 64bit installed it almost immediately.
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: Would recommend this cable to anyone needing to add a serial port connection. Excellent price & quality!
Reviewed By:Donnie H.,2/2/2016 9:05:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Serial Cables > Tripp Lite > Tripp Lite Model U209-000-R 5 ft. USB to Serial Adapter (USB-A Male to DB9M) M-M

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Full Win 10x64 Compatibility
Pros: Supplied driver disk has the correct latest driver on it.
Plugged it in, installed the driver from the disk and it works, works right and continues to do so.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: I have tried several other com adapters with Win 10 and they were finicky at best or just didn't work. This one works.
Reviewed By:John Z.,1/30/2016 1:33:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.