Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > ASUS > ASUS RP-AC56 AC1200 Wireless Dual-Band Repeater / Access Point/Media Bridge

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Full Feature Range Extender
Pros: + Extends both 2.4 Ghz and 5 Ghz bands noticeably
+ Works in AP mode/Media bridge mode/Repeater mode (default)
+ Nice solid look
+ Large moveable external MIMO antennae
+ User friendly GUI
Cons: - Setup documentation could be more clear
- Price
- Body takes up one entire 2 plug outlet
Other Thoughts: The RP-AC56 repeater does the job well once it is setup. Using a Wi-Fi analyzer app it seems to provide a signal bump of -10 to -14 db at the perimeter of my router's signal. I was using a Linksys RE4100W which provided a bump up about half of this. It is a smaller unit without the external antennae. Setup while not overly difficult, could be outlined better in the quick start up guide. I do not use the WPS button on my router so I was not prepared for the results. I plugged in the RP-AC56 into an outlet close to my router and proceeded to push the WPS button on my Archer C7 and next the RP-AC56. The repeater soon found my network and appeared to link up. All set! That was easy or so I thought. My son quickly yelled, "Dad I have no internet connection". So off I went trying to figure out where I went wrong. Using my phone I discovered that my original SSID was no longer there? What? A little bit of research and I found out that some routers change the SSID with the push of the WPS button. A quick test revealed that was precisely what happened here. It did not seem to matter that I entered the desired SSID in my router. I reconfigured the router to the original SSID. Then using an Ethernet cable I plugged the RP-AC56 into my laptop and set it up. I found the repeater GUI very nice and easy to use. I changed the user name and pass phrase as suggested. Then I logged out and moved the repeater to an outlet on the edge of my 5 Ghz signal. With the repeater plugged into this outlet the 5G LED is green about 95% of the time. The next thing I did was to try a different outlet a bit farther away. With moving the repeater and plugging it back in, I thought to push the reset button. That was mistake I shouldn't have done. When the repeater came back on, the 2.4Ghz and 5 Ghz LED's would not light. I found out the reset button is not a reboot/power button but truly is a reset button. My initial settings were now gone. There is an external power button that I should have used and not the reset button. Back to plugging the repeater into my laptop and setup once again. Okay so my bad! But if I did it, I would bet someone else will too!
Once the repeater was setup and the best outlet determined, I did some simple testing using my cell phone and a Wi-Fi analyzer app. Using the app I found the repeater is not as transparent as originally thought. The repeater uses your SSID and adds a _RPT to each of the broadcast names. Using the analyzer I found the 5G signal was increased from -10 to -14 db on the second floor and the outer edge of the signal.
The Newegg web site lists a feature called Roaming Assistant for the repeater. With the very brief Setup Guide it is not explained how this works. What it does, once enabled (default setting is disabled) is to kick clients off when the signal falls below a set threshold. Looking through the RP-AC56 GUI I found it under the Wireless tab and the tab Professional. There Roaming Assistant is set to disabled by default. Enabling Roaming Assistant brings up another command line which allows you to set the db at which clients are disconnected. The default setting is to disconnect a device when the signal is below -70 db. In theory this sounds great but I am not sure based on a brief internet search that it works as great as it sounds. I previously had the SSID's and pass phrases set to the same as used by my router.
In conclusion the RP-AC56 does a nice job with providing a better 5G signal throughout my home in repeater mode. It provides an increase in signal over my previous repeater. It has more options to configuring a custom network than my previous repeater. It has a very nice GUI that provides for many options in customizing it to your particular situation/use, I was going to deduct one egg for the difficulty I had setting it up but in fairness some of that was not the fault of the repeater. It would be a plus if it did not take up both plugs on an outlet. If you are in need of repeater, media bridge or an additional AP, then certainly give this a chance. It may cost a bit more than a base model, but it also has additional features not found on many models. I don't believe you will be dissatisfied with this one!
Reviewed By:GREGORY E.,6/24/2016 1:31:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > Linksys > Linksys RE4100W-4A Wireless N600 Pro Wi-Fi Dual Band Range Extender with Built-In Audio Speaker

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easy to Setup and Use!
Pros: Setup is less than 5 minutes
Can use Smart phone to set up
Has large extended range
Boosts both Wi-Fi bands
Cons: Nothing yet
Other Thoughts: Great product and easy to use! I've been skeptical about buying Linksys since Belkin bought the company, but I haven't been let down yet. I only use the extender, not the audio speaker.
Reviewed By:John F.,6/24/2016 12:46:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > TP-LINK > TP-Link RE590T AC1900 Touch Screen Wi-Fi Range Extender

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Extremely easy to set-up, impressive performance, great interface
Pros: The TP-Link RE590T Wi-Fi Range Extender is an extremely easy way to amplify your wireless network throughout the house or even outside. The set-up is extremely simple as you just authenticate to your existing Wi-Fi network with your WPA2 key and the RE590T basically extends and mimics your network acting as a relay, communicating wirelessly with your router, increasing signal strength and rebroadcasting to your wireless devices.

+Extremely easy to set-up as already mentioned. Just follow the quick start guide and you will be up and running in minutes, as the device even auto-populates and copies your existing SSIDs by default.

+Easy to read touch screen display. Great size that doesn't look too gaudy, the resolution is somewhat low and responsiveness isn't as good as a tablet or phone but its still pretty good.

+3 huge antennas for great wireless range. I'm getting AC speeds same as my Fios Quantum Router to all of my AC devices.
Cons: -Not a great design, its a quite large unit and has a weird abstract square pebble design on the face. Leaves a huge footprint on any surface you place it on, but I guess this is necessary with a touchscreen. Maybe vertical stand would have made more sense.

-I did not see any instructions to use this like a hard-wired bridged router. This would be more reliable if you could use a hardwired cat5e or cat6 cable from your router or a switch directly to the RE590T. As it is designed, if you have a weak wireless signal already, you will get slow speeds to your wireless devices as well.

Did not take any eggs off because overall the unit still works very well and I didn't have a chance to research this more because my router went bad and I had to get it replaced.
Other Thoughts: Another great networking device from TP link, this will work great for lower levels and the opposite side of my house!
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/23/2016 9:22:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-WPA4220KIT Advanced 300Mbps Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender, Repeater, AV500 Powerline Edition, Wi-Fi Clone Button, 2 LAN Ports

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great for home networking
Pros: The powerline side data is GREAT. WIFI works fantastic as well
Cons: No complaints
Reviewed By:Amadeojose V.,6/23/2016 12:40:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > Linksys > LINKSYS RE7000 Max-Stream AC1900+ Mu-Mimo W-Fi Range Extender

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great
Pros: Easy to setup
If plugged in the bottom outlet you can still use the top
LED is informative and not to bright.
Does not drop signal on any of my devices
Tested with a large file download, streaming multiple videos to different devices, no issues.
Has 4x4 or quad stream MU-MIMO. Thought this was just some fancy lingo. But my mind is changed since I have been trying to overload this RE7000 and seems I can't.
Gigabit port
Cons: I really don't have any cons. Except maybe do not use the WPS set up for security reasons.
Other Thoughts: I have used several range extenders. Most are as easy to set up as the RE7000. But none performed as well.
Very pleased with the LINKSYS RE7000 Max-Stream AC1900+Mu-Mimo W-Fi Extender.
I highly recommend the RE7000 to anyone looking to extend their wifi range.
Reviewed By:Bradley A.,6/22/2016 5:01:38 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-WA850RE 300Mbps Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender. Wi-Fi Booster

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Quick Setup and good range.
Pros: Very easy setup, I setup this extender in 10 minutes manually, my router does not have a sync switch, setup was very easy.

The extender has a nice white gloss finish.
Cons: Instructions that were included were a bit confusing at first.

LED lights on the extender are VERY bright and I am constantly asked what it is and why it has such bright lights.
Other Thoughts: Overall I would buy this product again, price is exceptional, setup was easy and since setting it up I have had zero issues with signal dropping etc.
Reviewed By:Garrett G.,6/22/2016 4:05:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > Linksys > LINKSYS RE7000 Max-Stream AC1900+ Mu-Mimo W-Fi Range Extender

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great little range extender. Easy setup and works well!
Pros: None thus far.
Cons: Nice and sleek little range extender. It's very easy to configure and plugs right into an outlet. I used the WPS setup button, but you can also configure it manually. It also has an ethernet port to hard-wire devices directly into it. It has both 2.4 and 5GHz channels for your different devices. It automatically wants to match your SSID but with adding _ext onto the end of it. You can configure it with a different password if necessary. I have this about 20 feet from my main router in a hallway. It helps extend signals to the other side of the house. I am impressed with this device.
Other Thoughts: None
Reviewed By:Justin R.,6/22/2016 1:38:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > TP-LINK > TP-LINK RE355 AC1200 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Range Extender

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Middle ground between cheap and awesome extender
Pros: Slick iPhone like packaging.

Large and easy to understand setup instructions make setup a breeze for most, especially with the mobile app. It's fast and simple.

Repeats the same speed as your router. Not all repeaters can claim that.

One button to turn off the blue LEDs make it blend in to most decor.

5GHz is great for repeating off a 2.4GHz router to eliminate congestion on that spectrum. Connect many devices to 5GHz via this repeater and only use 2.4GHz from repeater to router for flawless functionality.

Easily moved from one outlet to another until you find a good spot using the signal strength LED.
Cons: Limited range. 15 feet away around a corner and signal strength varies from low to high intermittently, and for some reason stepping outside across the pool, just 50 feet away thru a pain of large glass and the signal drops to zero.

Will not function as a dedicated access point using the ethernet jack. It has the jack so it seems like a software limitation. Considering the price I expected this in case you wanted to use it as a primary 5GHz AP hardwired to your 2.4GHz-only router.

Using mobile app you will be unable to setup the extender to a hidden SSID network, but you can with web browser. This could be addressed in a future app update.

Web browser setup also has some kinks because gateway IP is mirrored. After initial setup you're only able to configure this range extender with the mobile app. Browser based setup directs you to your router from then on.

Can't change wifi password for extender networks. Can only mirror the router's WiFi password.

Physically, the device nearly covers the bottom plug on standard outlets. Unless it's a lamp sized cord, don't plan on using the outlet below it, but even a lamp cord pushes the device up a bit.
Other Thoughts: Although most of these cons were not found using a much more expensive range extender, it was nonetheless disappointing to experience them.

It's hard to recommend this range extender unless you plan on using the 5GHz ban to eliminate congestion and don't have extreme range issues.

Not having AP capability really bummed me out, but it's not advertised that way so it's a personal gripe.
Reviewed By:Matthew H.,6/22/2016 1:05:19 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > ASUS > ASUS RP-AC56 AC1200 Wireless Dual-Band Repeater / Access Point/Media Bridge

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works Great But Requires Hands-On Setup
Pros: + It works - Once it's set up it seems to do a pretty good job of extending my dual band network. I originally required a range extender because my home is on a 3/4 acre lot and my wireless router signal isn't very reliable out at the edges of the lawn. When I mow the lawn I like to listen to streaming music or podcasts, so a range extender became necessary. Originally I used a Linksys RE4100W which worked fine but only extended wireless N. This ASUS model not only extends AC but provides a stronger 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz signal in general.

+ Attractive/Intuitive web interface - It has one of the better looking and more useful web interfaces that I've seen for a range extender. It has more customizable options than I would have expected.

+Looks nice/Constructed well - Besides being giant, it looks really attractive and feels high quality.
Cons: - Takes up both outlets - I had to attach a power strip to the wall in order to accommodate the bulkiness of this thing. It seems that just some small design changes could have avoided this. The power strip that this would have blocked even has a low profile plug, which almost fits behind the top of this unit (the top half of the extender is recessed away from the wall) - but it doesn't quite fit because this thing greedily takes up the whole space.

- Minimal setup instructions - The accompanied documentation will only walk you through WPS configuration. If you don't have WPS on your router or choose to not use it then you're on your own to try to figure out how to get it working. My router does not feature WPS so I was part of the 'figure it out' group. I've setup a few range extenders before so it wasn't overly difficult - just connect to the WiFi SSID that the device broadcasts by default, navigate to the URL that is mentioned briefly on the instruction leaflet, and supply the interface with the SSID and key for whatever network(s) you would like to extend - but for someone who has never done this it could be a huge pain to figure out.

- Broken "Manual" link - In the network interface there's a "manual" option which, I assume, should open a web version of the manual which might answer some questions about the device. However, clicking the link just brings you to the ASUS support web page...in Mandarin. If you want to learn something about the device beyond the obvious then apparently you'll have to do some digging.

- Creates separate network - When you extend a network using default settings you'll end up with a new SSID which is the name of the SSID that you're extending plus "_RPT" at the end of it. This isn't a very seamless way of network extension. Fortunately you can go into the interface and get rid of the "_RPT" suffix, or just go through the connection wizard which just seems to do it properly automatically. Still, yet another aspect of this extender that is way more hands on than it needs to be.
Other Thoughts: Overall I'm pleased with this device - but setup is way more complicated than it should be, especially for something as simple as a range extender. It's fast, reliable, and looks nice, but be weary if you're not savvy with setting up computer/network components manually.
Reviewed By:Matthew H.,6/22/2016 12:53:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > Linksys > LINKSYS RE7000 Max-Stream AC1900+ Mu-Mimo W-Fi Range Extender

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Extreme extender
Pros: I live in a small house and have a great wireless router so this is something I wanted to try to see how far outside the home it would reach. It did not disappoint.

It was extremely easy to set up and use unlike the last low end extender I reviewed and the reach is amazing. I plugged it in after set up about at the other end of my house from the router and them went outside and walked down the street, I got over 100 ft from the house before I started losing any signal and that was through aluminum siding. I made it to 125 ft before I noticed the video I was playing starting to buffer a bit and further before it stopped.

An added bonus is you don't lose and file transfer speeds like with cheaper extenders as the 1733 Mbps on the AC side is plenty matched with a similar speed router. It won't make your speeds faster but it won't hurt them either.
Cons: The price? I really can't think of any but everyone would always like to bet stuff cheaper.
Other Thoughts: In all reality this is well worth it if your wifi is not making it to the far reaches of your home or office and if you like to sit outside and stream this is the help you need. I recommend it highly.
Reviewed By:Bart H.,6/22/2016 6:58:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.