Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > TP-LINK > TP-LINK RE200 AC750 Universal Wireless Dual Band Range Extender (Wall Plug)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Almost Perfect
Pros: - Wireless AC (gen 1) capable
- Simultaneous dual band
- Ability to receive on one band (2.4 ghz for example) and broadcast on another (5 ghz for example)
- Dedicated LAN port (only 10/100 though).
- Excellent packaging
- Very elegant design
- Does not get overly hot when in use
- Easy to setup and configure
- Fast speeds
Cons: - I wish this was also capable of being JUST a wireless bridge. As of right now 2/26/15, the firmware is not setup to do this. I know that this isn't the main purpose of a device like this, however there would be many use cases in which I could see you not wanting the repeater option. Minor annoyance.
- After each major change in the firmware settings you have to reboot to apply the settings. Again not the end of the world since most should just set it and forget it, but can get annoying when trying to test features.
- Ethernet port is only 10/100. Not the end of the world, but with AC I can normally get to over 100 megabit so that does limit you.
Other Thoughts: This is almost a perfect product. The last TP-Link product I looked at was well packaged, but the device looked clunky, and just cheap. This is far from it. It feels great, was packaged really well, and performs admirably.

I tested both the 5 GHZ and 2 GHZ with my laptop that is running a Core i7, 16 gigs of RAM, and a Samsung 840 Pro SSD to limit all other factors. The wireless card is an Intel 7260 ABGNAC. Using this in conjunction with the 5 GHz band at AC, I was able to achieve what I would consider wired speeds. Speeds were consistent and stable. The file transfers were done utilizing files both large and small in separate and simultaneous testing. It is also important to note that I am using an ASUS RT-AC66R as my main access point for this test.

On the 2.4 GHz, speeds were what I would consider normal. Nothing flashy but not bad at all.

Speeds on the ethernet port were very similar to the speeds I saw using my wireless card in the laptop. Most file transfers topped out at 10-11 megabytes a second probably due to the 10/100 limitations of the ethernet port.

For the price, performance, and for the ease of use I highly recommend this product. Aside from the minor annoyances I experienced, you can't be the price for what you get.
Reviewed By:N/A,2/26/2015 5:17:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > EDIMAX > EDIMAX EW-7438RPn Mini N300 Mini Wi-Fi Extender/Access Point/Wi-Fi Bridge

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great extxender
Pros: They work well. Tech support was excellent. They helped me get one of my extenders up and running. Once I had been walked through the process the other was a breeze.
Cons: I was challenged setting these up, and ended up calling tech support. WPS did not work for me, and I needed to uplug my wired connection.
Other Thoughts: I am about to buy another for work - great product...
Reviewed By:Thomas H.,2/26/2015 1:30:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > TP-LINK > TP-LINK RE200 AC750 Universal Wireless Dual Band Range Extender (Wall Plug)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent Value
Pros: The range and performance of this range extender is pretty Impressive. Especially in comparison to other range extenders in its price range. You'd be lucky to get a 300 Mb dual band extender for the same price, but with this one you get dual band at AC750 speed and it has an Ethernet out which I find very appealing and useful. I've been experimenting with power line networking lately. I've become somewhat irritated at the unreliability of one of my wireless adapters. But I've found it difficult to find outlets I'm not using in range of my hardware, as sharing an outlet can interfere with the power line signals integrity. However, this device bypasses that little problem and In the process extends my wireless range on both the 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz bands. I've actually been thinking about buying several of these, so I can improve my range even further while supplying the reliability and speed of Ethernet to devices that require it. Mainly for my gaming consoles and PCs.
At first glance this device is pretty sharp. It's a very visually appealing design. It has status lights to indicate all the various functions, they're not too bright, but bright enough to indicate its status at a glance. There's also a WPS button. Something that I've found is becoming necessary for any kind of high end networking device.
Setup of this range extender couldn't be easier. Just plug it in somewhere near your wireless router, connect to it with your computer or wireless device. Open up your web browser and it will automatically begin the setup process. Which was easy and straight forward. The only info I required was my routers passwords for both the 2.4 and 5 GHz bands. The entire process took less than 60 seconds and it was fully configured and ready to be placed wherever I needed it. There's also a setup process which uses the WPS button, but I always prefer to configure settings manually. Which wasn't really required here. There aren't any special settings or configurations for this range extender. It's just a set it and forget type of situation.
I was surprised at the overall range of this range extender. I've used several different range extenders, but this is the first one I've been able to get a signal all the way to the bottom of my driveway with. Which is why I wanted one to begin with. I live in a building with aluminum siding, so it blocks wi-fi signals pretty well. Getting a strong signal more than about 15 feet outside of my house presents a bit of a challenge. But with this extender plugged in on the far side of my house I was able to extend my wireless network another 100 feet. With the 750 Mb bandwidth, this extender provides enough speed for any device I might use within it's range. I haven't had any trouble with bandwidth, connectivity or range with this extender on the wireless or Ethernet connections. It's a definitely a quality product.
Cons: Surprisingly, I don't have anything bad to say about this range extender. I usually scrutinize my review items pretty thoroughly, but I can't find any problems with this range extender.
Other Thoughts: This range extender provides excellent performance for what it costs. In fact, TP Link products all seem to be very reasonably priced for the level of performance you receive. I've seen many of the brands considered to be high end products for networking cost double what TP Link products cost with no more bang for your buck. I've actually come to prefer TP Link gear over that of any other brand mainly for that reason. I own several TP Link products, they are all of the highest quality.
The TP Link AC750 range extender comes particularly well packaged. The design of the packaging is clearly designed with security and ease of access in mind. There's nothing I hate more than those pressed plastic containers you have to cut in half just to open them. Half the time you risk damage to your device while attempting to open it. Fortunately, TP Link didn't use one of those here. The instructions were clear and easy to follow. It also came with a disk, which I didn't even bother to look at.
With this extender you also get a nice two year warranty and 24 hour tech support.
I'm using this extender combined with a TP Link AC1750 router. They are a very effective combination. I have superb speed, reliability and range with these two devices networked together. I'm planning to use my other TP Link extender I replaced with this one for the other side of my house, so I can get a stronger signal for when I mow the grass. The great thing about these range extenders is, I can plug them in wherever I want and whenever I want. For example, I plan to use my other extender in my shed. Where I wouldn't leave it on a permanent basis as I have no need for it out there except on occasion.
I mainly needed a range extender so I could get a strong enough signal to stream Netflix and other streaming services while in my driveway. I spend a lot of time working on and cleaning my car out there and I enjoy streaming videos while I work to keep my entertained. This extender fulfills that role efficiently.
I gave the TP Link RE200 AC750 five Eggs. I would have given it a lower score if anything had come up at all, but nothing did. So I can't justify giving it a less than perfect score.
Reviewed By:cerealkeller,2/25/2015 10:29:12 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-WA854RE 300Mbps Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender, Repeater, Wall Plug design, One-button Setup, Smart Signal Indicator

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Does the job!
Pros: Sleek-looking. Blue LEDs are far nicer than the previous model's green. Bright enough to be a nightlight in an upstairs hallway. Easy to set up. I used both the WPS button setup (worked with a Netgear router) and also accessing the device webpage interface. It definitely strengthens the signal. I set this up in my smaller home and then took it over to my mother's house (my brother and sister live there with her along with my sister's husband and kids) so it is a really big house with a lot of people using the internet. My brother was always getting kicked off of online games when we played together and I thought I would use him as a guinea pig to see how well his signal to his PS4 was improved. He now drops off a lot less and voice chat with him is not as garbled.
Cons: The LEDs are very bright. This can be both a pro and a con I suppose. At my mom's house in the upstairs hallway it replaced the nightlight perfectly. It blinks...but it isn't a main source of light so that isn't a problem at all.
Other Thoughts: This device was packaged very well. It is a very bright, clean, crisp white color. Functional AND aesthetically pleasing!
Reviewed By:Logan,2/25/2015 12:23:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR EX2700 N300 WiFi Range Extender Essentials Edition

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 works great, no issues
Pros: cheap, small and works well.
Cons: none yet and i've had it for 6 months
Reviewed By:N/A,2/24/2015 6:41:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > Linksys > Linksys RE2000 N600 Dual Band Wireless Range Extender

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 it works and easy to manuall setup
Pros: So plug in connect via wireless give new password , set up for using existing wireless sid, set ip address in base router if you wish and done. No need for the crapware install on CD. Seems ok gives me my intended speed two other half of house that the base wireless router didn't cover full strength. This isn't HIGH END just home use I think but work just great for allowing streaming of movies to other side of house.
Cons: could be better
Reviewed By:ming,2/24/2015 12:47:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > TP-LINK > TP-LINK RE200 AC750 Universal Wireless Dual Band Range Extender (Wall Plug)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works fantastic
Pros: Can use as a speed up or an extender,fair price, works with all my equipment, has signal meter allowing you to find best spot
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: I have set this up on 2 different routers one being a $280.00 one and one 65.00 one, the reason I did this is to show benefits on both sides.
I also set both up using Internet explorer and wps setting and they both went smoothly and fast on both a Netgear and a Linksys
1st one the high power router that allows me to stream full bars on the 2.4 GHz for 100 feet and although I could use it to extend the signal it only worked well for another 20 feet due to where it preferred to be set up for power and have reasonably fast speed for streaming and such yet using it as a speed boost it was amazing at how fast it sped up my data feed.distance and flow on 5ghz. To make a note here to go past usable was passing a lot of interference areas
.
My next test was on the weaker of the 2 and surprisingly it almost doubled my truly usable operating range ( about 30 feet for streaming) to 55 feet and although I could use it to speed up also I find and most will find it better used as an extender in this case on the weaker systems as using this I could actually stream Netflix in the back bedroom and that is what this is all about on this one.

On each system as expected the RE-200 chose a different sweet spot for plug in based on each routers strong areas and where my plugs are located.

The surprising thing here is how you can use this item in two totally different ways and was equally happy either way.
Reviewed By:Dean,2/24/2015 8:29:18 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-WA854RE 300Mbps Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender, Repeater, Wall Plug design, One-button Setup, Smart Signal Indicator

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 wireless extender
Pros: 1) small in size, can hide behind a desk.
2) adds to your Wifi Foot print ( works on covering conference rooms)
3) easy to setup
4) performance was as expected
Cons: 1) had to power off device after connected, didnt reboot on its own.
Other Thoughts: over all this device was used 3 different area, was able to keep my signal in areas that before hand would drop, or have slow access to internet.
Reviewed By:dave303,2/23/2015 6:46:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > Amped Wireless > Amped Wireless TAP-EX High Power Touch Screen Wi-Fi Range Extender

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 This Wireless Range Extender Is Great
Pros: I use this extender with an Arris tg862g wireless gateway. Not only has it covered the area i need but it also it gives me the mobility around my whole house. I have more than 7 devices that work seamlessly no matter where i go.
Cons: I havent found any cons yet but as an RST for an ISP im looking =).
Reviewed By:Steve,2/23/2015 3:36:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > TP-LINK > TP-LINK RE200 AC750 Universal Wireless Dual Band Range Extender (Wall Plug)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Much needed Signal Booster
Pros: Its like filling your home up to the brim with internet connectivity. seriously Plug n Play here folks. Plug in to the outlet, press the only button in the device and then click the WPS on your router. Done. The tplinkextender.net page is also very easy to navigate. The advanced settings let you manage 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz Wifi sources from your router and choose which ones to extend, name network connections and choose channels. Everything you could want for the standard home of office user. The ethernet connector is more valuable than you might think (explained in Other thoughts).
Cons: I unfortunately could not use this extender with my existing Dlink Wifi N extender. It was one or the other, no mater what I tried. I just could not get them both online at the same time. It was which ever was plugged in first.
Other Thoughts: Having a TP-LINK Archer C7 AC1750 WiFi router in the back bedroom (of course not centralized at all) causes a problem at the front of the condo and garage areas. Having the ability to get full bars our in the street in front of my place is excellent. The setup was simple. The connectivity for my wifi devices as they merge back n forth between the router and TPLink extender was seemless. As a gamer I had been having trouble with internet connectivity while gaming over my D link Wifi extender. I narrowed it down to poor windows handling of the USB wifi adaptors. The connection would hang and freeze sporadically sending my online character off cliffs or what not. Plugging in to the TP link wifi extender eliminates this problem entirely. This confirms that the wifi was not the problem it was the USB handling.

Overall this is a great product that serves to provide really good wifi coverage in your home or office at a decent price that is dead easy to set up and get running.
Reviewed By:N/A,2/23/2015 3:24:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.