Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-WA750RE 150Mbps Universal WiFi Range Extender

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Died just over 1 year
Pros: works fine after proper setup
Cons: died after 1 year of use
Reviewed By:N/A,8/31/2015 2:52:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > Linksys > Linksys RE2000 N600 Dual Band Wireless Range Extender

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Linksys N600 RE2000
Pros: Cheap price ay $19.99.
Cons: It took too much time to set up. After setup, it worked for less than 10 minutes and need another set up. I gave it a try but regret .
Other Thoughts: I bought TP-LINK. Easy to set up and very stable.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/31/2015 12:57:05 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > Linksys > Linksys RE4100W-4A Wireless N600 Pro Wi-Fi Dual Band Range Extender with Built-In Audio Speaker

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Setup was a pain, but it works fine.
Pros: - Dual band is always a perk, if a buyer is willing to pay for it. (This isn’t 802.11ac but it still detected my 5GHz and 2.4GHz bands. 2.4Ghz connected easy, no issues. 5Ghz, however, did not connect until I enabled WPS. I disabled WPS again and it remained connected.)

- Very interactive helpful hints. When the connection dropped during setup (switched to main network signal) a popup with detailed instructions instructed some pointers for Windows XP, 7, and 8. Documentation for this is scarce, but it is not really needed. When there are issues, the GUI is very helpful.

- DLNA/uPNP media streaming was an obscure perk although not a novelty. It is very simple to use and can be beneficial for a lightweight audio broadcast across an area. Also, I have some high impedance headphones the device had no problems driving.
For audio playback howto, see: http://www.linksys.com/us/support-article?articleNum=143720

- I could not get actual transfer speeds since I could not reach other devices in my subnet. :^[
(In theory, behind the 10/100 Ethernet you’ll max out at 12.5 megabytes per second (MB/s). It would be marginally higher for 300Mbps with a halved throughput.)

- Standard configuration options: QoS, site survey, WPS, Diagnostics (ping), logging, Client list, usage/packet statistics, etc.

- Can disable the Ethernet port lights in the settings, for those who don’t like light pollution in devices.
Cons: There was not any single solid con with this device; however, there were a few smaller annoyances.

- What is this required ToS/EULA? The agreement strictly prohibits reverse engineering the firmware. This is weird considering Linksys was the birthplace of DD-WRT...That is against the philosophy of a commercial off-the-shelf/personal electronic device, IMO. (So, naturally, I extracted the the firmware’s binary using binwalk and analyzed the strings. I couldn’t get a full directory to mount, unfortunately, but it isn’t encrypted. It appears to use a basic u-Boot setup with a 2.6 linux kernel.)

- A bottleneck for this theoretical 300Mbps dual band, the capitalized ‘F’ and ‘P’ in “Fast Ethernet Port” means 10/100 ethernet. I know gigabit on these small devices is a lot to ask, but this price point competing with 4-port router-bride devices demands a bit more. Again, this isn’t an outright con.

- The connection issues I had during setup were really finicky and took some troubleshooting to get working. I’m writing it off to be an issue with the 802.11ac tech. This isn’t really a con and more of an annoyance because everything worked in the end. I’m guessing it is just detecting both bands but isn’t able to use them since it isn’t AC.

- I could not reach my NAS or host router (192.168.0.x) from this device. I changed it to static IP and lost my connection, having to factory reset to start over. By that point I had lost my patience. Because of this I could not get actual file transfer speeds to post here, since I could not reach my other LAN devices...

- 30 day return/refund policy is rather limited compared to the norm with these devices.
Other Thoughts: In testing this, I mainly connected it and plugged the Ethernet into my Xbox360 to see how it would perform. There weren’t any lag issues and download speeds were quick. Browsing using my laptop was also adequate. I streamed audio from WMP in Windows 10 and it was seamless. (I actually enjoyed this feature more than I thought I would.) Since I couldn’t reach other devices on my subnet, I mainly used this as an internet device and nothing more.

Setup IP is 192.168.1.1 (or head to http://extender.linksys.com in a browser). For login info, the default admin/admin credentials worked. Once set up, the connection is transparent unless the user specifies a static IP, which would put it behind a NAT (In theory..mine gave me issues). However, the configuration can still be accessed by the extender.linksys.com URL even though there is no gateway configuration IP for the device itself.

A curious side note is this is a Linksys system but Belkin branding is all over the place. Initially, 5GHz connected okay while the 2.4GHz would fail afterward. After repeated “The extender is having trouble connecting to your wireless network,” errors I enabled WPS and it all connected okay.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/30/2015 6:08:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-WA854RE V1.2 300Mbps Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender, Repeater, Wall Plug design, One-button Setup, Smart Signal Indicator

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Not too great for my use.
Pros: I really can't say a whole lot of nice things about this thing since I really didn't have a lot of luck using it. I guess I could say it's small and works great for a night light with the bright blue LED. Beyond that, I can't really think of a whole lot that I liked about it.
Cons: Setup was a nightmare for me. I don't use the WPS button and have that feature disabled on my router due to security issues. I went through the Web Browser setup and everything went great. I logged into the router TP-Link_Entender_XXX, picked my router's Wi-Fi's network, set the password and preferences, signal was strong and everything was going great, then the browser says it's saving the info and rebooting. Next thing I get is an error with no options or explanations. I reset to factory defaults and try again and again. I ended up turning on WPS on the router to get connected and set up. Pain in the rear. Now that I'm finally set up I can't move the thing more than 15 to 20 feet before it does nothing to extend the distance. Everything worked better with it unplugged and in the box than plugged in and set up. Just seemed like a waste of time.
Other Thoughts: Maybe this is really meant to be used by someone who has a cheap g/n router with bad antennas. I didn't see any signal change at all in my case. Overall I think it does something and may help in some cases but in mine, it was worthless.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/30/2015 5:12:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-WA850RE 300Mbps Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender. Wi-Fi Booster

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Worked immediately,
Pros: Worked instantly when I entered my network password
Cons: none yet
Other Thoughts: Tried and returned a Linksys and a friend spent hours with a Netgear range extender. This one worked as expected: connected Ethernet cable, typed ADMIN twice, and my network PW. Moved it to the basement where I now have 5 bars instead of 1.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/30/2015 3:40:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR EX2700 N300 WiFi Range Extender Essentials Edition

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 connects but nothing else
Pros: Easy to set up
Cons: I've had the extender less than 24 hours and I have had to contact support twice because the extender is connecting but wont do anything. Every time I have to call customer service I'm on hold for at least 30 minutes and all they've recommended is resetting my router and the extender and then a factory reset.
Other Thoughts: going to try ONE MORE TIME. I'm going to do a factory reset and then try using the manual setup.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/28/2015 12:45:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > Netgear Inc. > Netgear EX6200 AC1200 High Power 700mW Dual Band Wi-Fi Range Extender – Desktop with 5 Ports

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 have to take back my comments!
Pros: This review is from: Netgear EX6200 AC1200 High Power 700mW Dual Band Wi-Fi Range Extender – Desktop with 5 Ports

Pros: dual band quality, does what it says

Cons: no cons as far as I can see

Other Thoughts: have owned this unit for 3 months and here's the situation. my roommate has 5 acres and has a house with a trailer on the land. all cable, internet, and etc, is located in the house. I live in the trailer which has nothing.

in comes the ex6200. the trailer is 161ft away from the house, with trees and power line in between. couldn't connect with cable modem from Comcast, so we bought the netgear c3700 cable modem to replace it. once the c700 modem was in place, it was on like neckbone!

the modem does 2.4ghz at the house and 5ghz to the trailer and the extender has no problem with it. we have two laptops, and two smartphones hooked wirelessly to the extender. the house has the same.

download speed is 25mbps and upload is 6mbps. with that we can surf the internet, watch netfix and youtube, and download huge files (I've downloaded 5gig file and the like).

I can watch tv via the internet from the cable that's paid at the house. so we decided not to get cable for the trailer and saved big time by not having to add another internet connection to the trailer.

like I said worked for us. would recommend.
Cons: now, after a year of ownership, I have to say that we are all but dead in the water! all of a sudden we have the hardest time getting on the internet. I think it's more of the modems fault, the c3700.

with speeds of only .034 mbs download and .02 mbs upload. and the crazy thing is nothing has changed in our setup!

go figure!
Other Thoughts: will never buy an all-in-one modem/router again. hope this helps someone before they find out the hard way like I did!
Manufacturer Response:Hello linzal,

Please email us at netgearteam@netgear.com with a copy and paste of your review and the serial numbers of your C3700 and EX6200. Our experts want to investigate and see if they can help you under the hardware warranty.

Regards,

NETGEAR Team

Reviewed By:N/A,8/27/2015 8:56:17 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > Linksys > Linksys RE4100W-4A Wireless N600 Pro Wi-Fi Dual Band Range Extender with Built-In Audio Speaker

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fast and Easy Setup
Pros: Just Plug in and connect and click connect and your done, Solid Connection, Fast Connection, Using to Extend a 802.11N Network and this Works GREAT!!
Cons: No Built In speaker but a built in Headphone Jack!!
Other Thoughts: I would definitely Recommend for a novice user since this is so easy to setup!!
Reviewed By:N/A,8/26/2015 5:10:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > Linksys > LINKSYS RE1000-NP Wireless-N Range Extender

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Beware re-broadcasts SSID
Pros: Once I got the extender working it has worked reliably with only one or two resets needed over about 6 weeks I've had it.
Cons: I had quite a lot of trouble getting it set-up, perhaps because of the two SSIDs I use at my house, but most importantly I wanted this to extend my hidden SSID, and upon re-broadcast this SSID is now UN-hidden by the Linksys.
Other Thoughts: I like the color and form-factor (plugs into the wall) for my application, but would buy a different extender next time in order to keep my SSID private and not broadcast.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/26/2015 5:42:54 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > Amped Wireless > Amped Wireless SR300 High Power Wireless-N Smart Repeater and Range Extender

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 locked up in let than a year
Pros: Small form factor
Cons: worked right at first, after less than one year it stopped working. I couldn't reset it.
Other Thoughts: currently trying to submit a RMA request. I will repost after I find out if they will allow me to return it.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/25/2015 8:29:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.