Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR EX2700 N300 WiFi Range Extender Essentials Edition

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Not bad, could be better
Pros: First off let me get my normal disclaimer out of the way
***RANGE EXTENDERS SHOULD BE LAST RESORT***

The unit is small, attractive, and fits into most environments. The only design flaw I can find is that it is very wide taking up two sockets on my wall mounted surge suppressor. I am using the Ethernet port on the device so I did NOT want to have it unprotected.

Netgear even provides 90 days of FREE tech support to get things up and running for those who do not know what they are doing. A nice touch that I would like to see from other vendors.

Setup was really simple using the Ethernet jack. Plugged in the cable, opened the web browser, went through the wizard, and Bob's your uncle everything is running. Very simple and easy.

It took a little bit of work but I was able to log back into the configuration page which showed me connection speeds. It fluctuates between 144Mbps-300Mbps. Most of the time it is less than 200Mbps. Still the connection is consistent and performs better than the dying USB wifi adapter it replaced.

I was able to use the configuration page to disable the wireless radio, essentially turning it into a bridged client adapter.
Cons: It only uses fast Ethernet (100Mbps) for wired connections. This is a pet peeve of mine.

There is a physical on\off button. Wish they would have given you a scheduler in the configuration page instead.

When I disabled the wireless radio, turning the device into a client bridge, the web gui reported that the radio was still on with the previous settings. However a wireless scan showed no signal being produced. There is a different page indicating the radio is turned off, but this would confuse someone who is not familiar with the technology.

The unit modifies all client MAC addresses including wired ones, so if you filter MAC addresses keep this in mind.

The last issue is an odd one. After the initial configuration of the unit, for some reason my browser opened up Bing.com. I REALLY don't like Bing so it was odd to have Chrome load it out of the blue. But there have been no issues since.
Other Thoughts: I have never had much luck with extenders, creates more problems than they solve. Better to add another AP but I understand its not always an option.

If you can get this on sale it is well worth the money if used as a client bridge. (ie for your Xbox\PS4 or TV). It has been connected to my main PC and I am fairly happy with it.
Reviewed By:TurboAAA,9/30/2014 7:56:55 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > Linksys > Linksys WUMC710 Wi-Fi Wireless AC1300 5GHz Universal Media Connector Bridge Adapter 802.11ac with 4-Port Switch

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Limping along...
Pros: Manages to do what I need it to do most of the time.
Cons: A couple months into owning this thing it randomly stopped connecting. It could see the network but would not connect at all. I only managed to get it to connect again by making my 5GHz network broadcast wireless a only.... so much for speed.... It also needs routine resets (maybe a couple times per week). Definitely no good for anywhere you want reliable infrastructure.
Other Thoughts: I guess since it does work most of the time and does accomplish precisely what I bought it for (even if it needs manual resets), I can't give this thing less than 3 stars.

Other users have mentioned that this unit gets hot and that is definitely true for me as well.

Oddly enough, Windows Media Center is far more reliable and responsive through this with wireless a than it ever was with wireless n even though it goes a fraction of the speed... Thanks Linksys helping me stumble upon this nugget with your defective product I guess...
Reviewed By:N/A,9/30/2014 5:35:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-WA854RE 300Mbps Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender, Repeater, Wall Plug design, One-button Setup, Smart Signal Indicator

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Genuine disappointment
Pros: Attractive design; inexpensive; WPS setup with host router; straightforward browser configuration
Cons: Utterly unreliable; drops/reconnects with devices constantly; requires routine reset either by cycling the unit, or reestablishing WPS with host router.
Other Thoughts: The reviews for this device are 50/50 at newegg and elsewhere, including commercial review sites. I decided to take a chance.

This device is a snap to setup using WPS, after which configuration is completed via its web interface. After updating the firmware I tweaked it for my network. It improved the range of my wireless network noticeably.

However, within the first hour of use hosts served by this device would routinely loose, then regain, wireless network access, resulting in much frustration. This seemed to be an inherent characteristic of the device, and no amount of tweaking remedied the problem. The anemic TP-Link support forum is no resource for help, and I don't bother with vendor support.

I returned this device for a refund. I do not recommend it as a viable wireless network range extender product. Bottom line: this device sucks.
Reviewed By:lothian,9/28/2014 11:30:19 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > EnGenius Technologies > EnGenius Xtra Long-range ERB300H 4-Port Wireless-N Media Bridge and Range Extender

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 I seem to have a defective unit
Pros: + Inexpensive
+ Supports easy antenna upgrades
+ Performs well when it works
+ Supports WPA2 with AES encryption -- the best available home wireless security.
Cons: - WPS (Wifi Protected Setup) does not work!
- Doesn't encrypt/hash passwords internally. This only matters if someone logs into the admin interface where they can read easily your password.
- Manual setup is awkward and clunky.
Other Thoughts: This review is a re-post because my previous one seemed to go missing, but it's a good thing since I have had more time to test the unit.

- My unit loses its connection more than once a week, which leads me to suspect that my unit is defective. That's understandable -- every product has a certain defect percentage. I have to manually re-configure the network (with the same details it already has stored) to reconnect. The unit reports no problems when it loses connection -- devices simply cannot talk to it until reset. Power cycling does not help.

- The manual highly recommends using WPS, which allows setup with just 2 button presses, but as other reviewers noted it doesn't _fully_ work. WPS _DID_ get my unit on the network and got it an IP address, but I had to manually configure the network name, security key, and other details. This is annoying, but you only do it once unless you got a bad unit like
Reviewed By:CharlesBurns,9/28/2014 2:38:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TEW-640MB N300 Wireless 4-Port Media Bridge

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Newegg rocks... picture shows power supply
Pros: So, I misplaced the power cable to this after moving two times. I had 3 different power supply cables that all fit; the specs say 12V 0.5 or 1 amp. Newegg was the only store to show a picture of all the parts, including a clear shot of the power supply. I was able to identify the correct power supply, which was 1amp.

This is great for connecting equipment without running wires, at a high speed. Once it's set up, you don't have to worry about it again. I think I might have had to reset it once in a year.
Cons: The MAC address seen by the router is the same for all the devices connected through it. Very small disadvantage, though, and maybe there is a workaround?
You get a little bit of latency with wireless, not much though.
Other Thoughts: I dug this out of storage after moving. Working great!
Reviewed By:axus,9/26/2014 8:27:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-WA850RE 300Mbps Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender. Wi-Fi Booster

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Product
Pros: Well packaged. Shipped with cable and instructions.
Small and convenient to use.
Very flexible, can connect with Ethernet or Wireless.
120v Duplex plug built in - all self contained.
Plug it in, turn it on, it went out and found my network.
Access it in a browser, choose network, provide network password, enter choice of device names, network names, admin name and password, and any other specific choices.

Went out to my system that previously couldn't find my wireless network (among all the neighbors it could find), - there it was, logged on and started using the system.
Throughput and response measures the same as when attached in the house with wireless.

Best purchase I have made in a long time, price was good.
Cons: I should have done this a long time ago.
Reviewed By:Legendsk,9/26/2014 11:16:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR EX2700 N300 WiFi Range Extender Essentials Edition

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Not impressed
Pros: Convenient little all-in-one package
extremely easy set up
extra LAN port for receiver connection
Cons: Will not stay connected for extended periods
Constantly having to reset
poor area coverage
non-removable antennas
no way to boost signal further ie: increase transmit signal.
Other Thoughts: I'm not one that likes constantly playing with my equipment once it is set up. I get enough of that at work. This seems like it would definitely be made more so for the average end user and I could not advise them to buy this.
Manufacturer Response:Hi jiggle-o,

The disconnects that you're seeing definitely aren't normal for this extender, and suggests that there may be a problem with the hardware or firmware. We'd like to investigate this directly. Please email us at newegg@netgear.com and we'll be happy to work with you directly!

It will be helpful for us to know the type of encryption you are using as well as the make/model of your main router.

We look forward to helping out!

Regards,

NETGEAR Team

Reviewed By:jiggle-o,9/26/2014 7:21:21 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR EX2700 N300 WiFi Range Extender Essentials Edition

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Worth your consideration...
Pros: Setup was easy using the WPS method
Good range
Stable signal
Fast wireless speeds
Small size (in my opinion)
Includes an Ethernet port
N300 speeds
Cons: Nothing serious, just some minor things I noticed:
- Single band
- Wireless N (having an AC router, of course I want a match)
- 10/100 Ethernet port
Other Thoughts: I rarely use the WPS configuration options, but it was so quick and easy in this case I’ll start using them more in the future. Old habit has me configuring everything via the tool or web interface, I’ll be happy to break myself of that.

I installed this at my father-in-laws house in his basement. His house is anti-cellphone and anti-WiFi for the most part. So installing this in the basement covers some problem areas where I always lost signal entirely. This was a nice solution to that problem, it is a small device that can be tucked away in an outlet. I installed this in an outlet that was out of the way for him, which means this will last longer than expected.

This device worked right out of the box for me, no issues or challenges. The N300 2.4GHz speeds were stable and the signal was reliable in an area where that wasn’t true before. This thing isn’t a brick, it is lightweight plastic. Which means it probably won’t hold up all too well in a high traffic area where it could be bumped on a regular basis, so place it in a spot that meets your needs and that keeps it out of the way.

This is a handy little device; the price may be a tad high, setup is a breeze and the performance is stable and reliable. If you are in need of something like this, definitely add this to your compare list.
Reviewed By:Zeke,9/26/2014 5:33:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TEW-737HRE N300 High Power Easy-N-Range Extender

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Best Wi-Fi Booster
Pros: We have installed over 25 of these and they work extremely well. Reliability is excellent and power level is sufficient to penetrate multiple walls. Most extenders change the SSID but this keeps the same name to avoid confusion. Setup is very easy as device finds your wireless network and you simply add password. You may use it as a wireless bridge to convert a wireless signal to Ethernet. Packaging is small and attractive w/o protruding antennas. When red light changes to solid green it is fully connected. It is easy to move device to different outlets for best performance. Remember, all extenders must receive a good signal to deliver a good signal, so best location typically is half way between wifi source and most distant computer.
Cons: Our greatest difficulty has been reading the log-in password for configuration. It is printed in a very small font on the device and usually requires a magnifying glass. If the manual was written better, fewer users would have problems. Bridge mode is not described clearly. Boot-up time is long, about one minute for a solid green light, but this only occurs during install.
Other Thoughts: It is important to understand that all Wi-Fi boosters/extenders reduce speed by 50% because there is only one radio. It either transmits or receives, not both simultaneously. However, a very weak wifi signal reduces speed worse so you are better off with a booster.
Reviewed By:JPoldo,9/26/2014 5:13:53 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > Hawking Technology > HAWKING HWABN25 Hi-Gain Wireless-300N Multi-Function Extender Pro - White

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Two Dead
Pros: Works great (when it works) and really strong signal
Cons: 1st one lasted 5 minutes, 2nd one less than one day.
Other Thoughts: I don't know what the problem is but I had one die after 5 minutes and the replacement didn't last a day before it did the exact same thing. I can afford return shipping every other day when it dies. I guess I will look for another brand. Too bad because this worked really well for the few hours it worked.
Reviewed By:Donzella,9/25/2014 10:17:19 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau