Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-WA850RE 300Mbps Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender. Wi-Fi Booster

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Just settle for router upgrade
Pros: Sleak design, easy WPS setup, LED signal strength gauge, plug and re-plug anywhere without losing router credentials
Cons: After setting up via WPS, signal would constantly fluctuate between high and low between the mobile device and this extender even though they were next to each other. There were not visible improvements in signal for a variety of desktop and mobile devices. I was unable to update firmware which is a suppose to improve performance because the link provided says that domain may be for sale...emailed support about this and have not received a response.
Other Thoughts: 802.11n 2.4ghz would most likely suffice in many household needs to increase Wi-Fi signal.
Reviewed By:MJ,7/11/2014 4:43:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-WA854RE 300Mbps Universal Wi-Fi Range Extender, Repeater, Wall Plug design, One-button Setup, Smart Signal Indicator

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent Extender
Pros: Price
Ease of setup
Indicators
Cons: May block outlet if not in top one
LEDs are bright
Other Thoughts: What you want in an extender is a seamless, reliable connection. The TP-Link does that. I would recommend you not worry about manual setup; just push WPS button on router and then the front button on the TP-Link. In two minutes you'll probably have a stronger signal than your original router produces. There will be 2 SSIDs with the same name. Very stable signal and reconnects easily if you reboot router.
Reviewed By:SciTeach,7/11/2014 8:00:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > EnGenius Technologies > EnGenius Xtra Long-range ERB300H 4-Port Wireless-N Media Bridge and Range Extender

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 ok extender, marketing kills it
Pros: Ease of use - The extender/repeater was very easy to setup (as long as you have an available lan port on a PC and/or a router that supports WPS). Total time to setup took about 2 minutes tops to be extending/repeating my wireless signal.

Nice design on the packaging (if you care about such things), really was reminiscent of TP-Link packaging to be honest, surprisingly nice packaging design.

Nice small form-factor hardware. Nice design and smaller than typical form-factor (mostly because of the bezel on the edges).

Decent price w/ discounts.
Cons: Here is where I begin to take issues. The device is marketed as an HD Media Bridge & Range Extender. In my opinion this is really not capable of being called a bridge due to the 10/100 lan ports (meaning anything wired to this device is limited to at most 100 MB per second). This severely limits the ability of any wired devices that are connected to this 'bridge'. 90% of my HD rips are over 100mb/s. Using this to stream any MKV files resulted in stuttering, which is atypical from my media server. I can stream to my wired devices and wireless devices w/out issue, however, with this 'bridge' I am unable to do so enjoyably.

As such, if you're attempting to use this completely as a wireless extender/repeater you are going to be better off (as long as your wireless network is limited to 300mb/s speeds) with this device -- to an extent.

With wireless extension, I am hard pressed to see a need for this device. I was able to increase connection speeds to the device, however, the device's connection to my network was sporadic at best. I could not get a consistent connection to my network from 40 linear feet and one floor down. See my usage in other thoughts.

The cat5 cable included has to be 9 inches long tops. This is pretty typical issue many people report w/ networking gear. However, i've learned to accept this. However, this cable is so short it is virtually incapable of usage. I had to move the device to the rear of my PC in order for it to reach the lan port! I couldn't reach the lan port from the front of the PC. I would have preferred they not even include a cable than to include such a tiny piece of 'cable'.

Setup, while easy, did require either a Router w/ WPS or else a computer w/ a lan port. I would assume most people have one or the other, however, I would also assume that they would accommodate those that do not.

I do not use WPS for a few reasons, security, laziness, and stubbornness. So I refused to use it in this case, which relegated me to pulling my lan connection to setup this device which was mildly frustrating.

Wireless connectivity was less than average for this device to pick up your existing wireless coverage. I typically get a 300mbps connection with a nano sized usb networking adapter. This connection ranged from a green connection to a red connection, which I would assume means i'm not getting a full 300mbps connection to my router. I could not validate the connection speed in which it connected to my router, but the device always showed my devices were connected to it at 300mbps, which could not have been true.
Other Thoughts: I attempted to utilize this device to replicate my current Home Theater networking hub. My Home Theater is 40 linear feet and one floor below my main router. I currently run a cat6 line to a GS108 switch. The switch powers my AV gear (HTPC, PS3, 360, BD Player, Roku, Google TV, and an NTV550).

Connecting to my server to stream HD media content was not useable via the wired connection. Via the wireless connection I was able to stream, but it seemed like anytime any other wireless activity happened my connection to the network dropped from green to red, thus rendering the connection to my server as unreliable and not useable.

Surfing the internet on my connected devices worked fine, however this isn't what the device is marketed as...which is where my biggest complaint comes from...don't market the product like a high end bridge when it lacks the chops to deliver a high end bridge.

Can it stream HD? Sure, if it was sitting next to my router and connected to a wireless device, but i'd just use my router in that case.

Does it have the self-proclaimed 'fast ethernet'? Sure, if you are comparing it to an ethernet connected device from 1998 when it was 10mbps rather than 100mbps.

Does it deliver a self-proclaimed 'x-tra range' coverage? Sure, if you are comparing it to a wireless B spec router from 10 or 15 years ago or maybe an internal 1db boost antenna. The dual 2db boost antenna are not really atypical anymore, it's quite standard, or even sub-standard these days. Not to mention when a nano-sized usb adapter smaller than a penny can obtain a better signal than these two 'x-tra range' antenna, it has to be quite obvious, that you should not be marketing the device as 'x-tra range' anymore.
Reviewed By:str8moben,7/10/2014 9:01:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > EnGenius Technologies > EnGenius Xtra Long-range ERB300H 4-Port Wireless-N Media Bridge and Range Extender

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Worked quite well, annoying setup
Pros: - Filled a gap in my wifi coverage perfectly
- Works well once setup
- Dual directional antenna
- Small form factor
- Wall mountable
Cons: - Setup is stupidly annoying
- WPS didn't function for me
- Not dual band
Other Thoughts: For the money I kind of figured this would at least be dual band. Either way, it works quite well. It came with all the accessories necessary to get it running, and the directions were accurate.

I wish this could be setup by just plugging it into the network, but rather you have to directly connect a computer to get into it and configure it. WPS would have alleviated this issue, but it didn't work with my router. The UI was clunky and slow, but once I got it setup I haven't had to worry about it yet, so I don't think docking an egg is necessary.

Performance wise it worked fairly well, even with two devices on board (I was using it as a repeater/extender). I ran a few speed tests and got up to around 30MB/s.

I did a quick test as a bridge and it worked pretty well, as well as any USB adapter I tried in my system. Again, it has to be configured first, so if you are using this for a game console you can't just plug it right in and expect it to work.

There's really not much else to add. It works, it's annoying to setup, but so far it seems to fill its role and do its job. What else can you ask for?
Reviewed By:BSprite,7/10/2014 7:23:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TEW-737HRE N300 High Power Easy-N-Range Extender

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Waste of money
Pros: None
Cons: I tried different things over 90 days. I use a Macbook Pro. Disc for installation is not Mac compatible. Web site was useless. Email support just gave static IP address but did not indicate how to make it compatible with wireless Uverse or Wireless Apple Time Capsule. Wasted almost $40 of my money.
Other Thoughts: My fault for not returning it in 30 days, Newegg offer of $10 tells me they sell products even after people complain or those high ratings are made up. Only buy a product you know and know how to use and has good tech support that understands English
Reviewed By:westwheels,7/10/2014 2:35:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TEW-737HRE N300 High Power Easy-N-Range Extender

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 TRENDnet TEW-737HRE N300 High Power Easy-N-Range Extender
Pros: I trusted the TRENDnet brand and had good experiences with their networked cameras and switches in the past.
I didn't pay full price, it was on sale but that is where the Pros stop.
Cons: Not a good experience with this extender, it does improve the signal in areas further away from my router but it doesn't maintain the connection.
It goes on and on in a continuous loop of connecting and disconnecting.
Other Thoughts: If this typical of the quality of the TRENDnet extenders find a better brand, or at least avoid this model.
Reviewed By:Larry T.,7/10/2014 2:26:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > Linksys > Linksys WUMC710 Wi-Fi Wireless AC1300 5GHz Universal Media Connector Bridge Adapter 802.11ac with 4-Port Switch

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Piece of junk
Pros: Have used similar units before. Great functionality.
Cons: The wireless on my unit did not work at all. Would not pickup any wireless networks, even when sitting right next to one of the access points.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/9/2014 12:03:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > Netgear Inc. > Netgear PR2000-100NAS Trek N300 Travel Router, Range Extender, Ethernet Bridge, Access Point 4 IN 1

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not Recommended
Pros: Small?
Cons: Unreliable
Other Thoughts: I purchased two of the Netgear Trek N300 Travel routers to be used as wireless bridges. One of them stopped working after two days. It will not power on via AC power, but can be powered via USB. AC to DC power supply must have failed. The other one often drops the network connection. The unit is only 35 feet from my Wireless Access Point. The N300 shows a full 5-bar signal when I check the signal strength, so why does it keep dropping the connection?
Manufacturer Response:Hello Chucky,

We are sorry that the PR2000 has been unreliable this far and want to help you get it fixed. When you get some free time please contact our support team at support.netgear.com. They will me more than happy to help solve the connection problem you are having.

Regards,

NETGEAR Team

Reviewed By:Chucky0505,7/8/2014 4:54:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > Netgear Inc. > Netgear EX6200 AC1200 High Power 700Mw Dual Band Wi-Fi Range Extender – Desktop with 5 Ports

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Love me some Netgear!
Pros: Looks cool. Says, “Dual band WiFi up to 1200Mbps”…
Cons: To begin with, I should mention that I was hoping to find a single device to solve all issues at once. Perhaps such a beast doth not exist…

…Unfortunately, I’m getting a slower connection with the extender. I’ll explain my setup:

I live in a largish, single story L-shaped ranch-style house. I have a Netgear R7000 connected to a Motorola 6141 cable modem located on the innermost center of one of the wings. Close to the outermost corner where the two wings diverge, is my media room. Owing to the shallow pitch of the roof, running cable through the attic is next to impossible. So, then, wireless becomes a reasonable alternative.

Prior to installing the Netgear EX6200, my media devices were connected to my network via a Cisco/Linksys WUMC710. The WUMC710, which appeared to be the best AC1200 wireless bridge at the time of purchase, gave me a connection of 877Mbps to my components; however, since it does not also function as a wireless extender/repeater I thought I’d give the EX6200 a shot.

With the EX6200, the best I get to my wired devices is 300Mbps, and this is with “FastLane” enabled. Furthermore, with this setup, the wireless connection to my laptop is also limited to 300Mbps, and connection speed to the R7000, independantly, is also diminished.
Other Thoughts: I own multiple Netgear products and am please with the quality, reliability, and service Netgear provides. I, however, am disapointed with this offering. I think that they fell into the same trap I did in trying to solve too many problems with one device.
Manufacturer Response:Hello Busy_dad,

We are very sorry for your frustrations and want to work with you to get you happy. Please get in contact with our support team at support.netgear.com.

If for some reason the support team is unable to assist you then please email us directly. You can reach us at newegg@netgear.com with a copy and paste of your review and any case numbers that you received from support.

Regards,

NETGEAR Team

Reviewed By:busy_dad,7/8/2014 9:20:08 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Range Extender/Media Bridge > Linksys > Linksys WUMC710 Wi-Fi Wireless AC1300 5GHz Universal Media Connector Bridge Adapter 802.11ac with 4-Port Switch

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works with VMware ESXi host 5.1, but needs active cooling
Pros: This device is special because the built-in switch makes it compatible with many solution where most WiFi bridge dongles would not work. I am able to run a VMware ESXi 5.1 host over WiFi with this, whereas most other WiFi bridge dongles would not work.
Cons: The other reviews are correct - this device runs very hot. I highly recommend getting an active cooling solution. I started to have connection drops after a day or two. I eventually thought of using a laptop cooler pad to force air up through the bottom of the unit. That works like a champ, keeping the unit cool, and connectivity has been completely solid, ever since. Note that the device only supports the 5GHz band; there is no 2GHz connectivity, at all.
Other Thoughts: I host an ESXi v5.1 server and a FreeNAS 9.1 server wirelessly behind mine, and I get very good throughput over the 5GHz connection after adding an active cooling solution.
Reviewed By:Tom,7/7/2014 10:28:19 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau