Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO TS-2RZH24T12D 24TB TeraStation 7120r Enterprise-Class NAS & iSCSI Storage

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Good Product ... BUT
Pros: Easy to setup, straight forward, good tools (SW)
Cons: Have had the units for three weeks and two drives have presented issues where we have had to remove and insert the drive and the process of "Array Rebuiding" takes place. This process is lengthy although it does not affect the operation of the unit. Also only have close to 18TB on a 24TB NAS.
Manufacturer Response:Thanks for your feedback. The TS7000 comes fully populated with highly reliable NAS-grade HDDs. The situation you described sounds like the HD may have come loose in shipping. It is always a good idea to check all the HD are seated correctly on initial use or after any rough treatment. This may be why you needed to reinsert the drives, which would automatically trigger an array rebuild.

The TeraStation 7000 comes default in RAID 6, which means that 2 of the drives are used for redundancy. This will decrease the total useable storage space on your 24TB unit to 18TB as you have seen.

You can change the RAID setting to another mode (ex. RAID 0, 5) which can increase your useable space, but we strongly advise you keep the unit in RAID in order to protect your data.

Reviewed By:Douglas M.,5/22/2016 8:49:26 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Drobo > Drobo B810n Network Attached Storage 8 bay array with optional SSD acceleration - Gigabit Ethernet x 2 ports (DR-B810N-5A21)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good once you have it setup
Pros: Seems to worked as advertised. Bought it act as a media server with Plex and for Time Machine backups. Plex seems to stream well to my TV. Hot swapping seems to work well also. Haven't seen many posted write speeds... get between 30/60 MB/s without the Hot Cache drive.
Cons: Took multiple non-prompted manual reboots for it to start formatting the drives.
No documentation on what the flashing lights mean outside of the standard cases. (there's one that indicates updating but isn't documented)
Takes forever for it to connect to the dashboard even with my firewall off. Why can't they use a webbase interface like everyone else?
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/12/2016 4:36:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO TS1400R1204 TeraStation 1400R Rackmount 4-Bay 12TB (4 x 3TB) RAID Network Attached Storage

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Not Shipped
Pros: None
Cons: No response from CS
Other Thoughts: I ordered a NAS from them on the 30th and here it is the 13th got shipping confirmation on the same day as order but no tracking information. All I get is label created.
Reviewed By:Earl W.,4/13/2016 7:21:41 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Qnap > QNAP TS-853U-US Diskless System Powerful, reliable and scalable NAS for SMBs

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent product. I'm really happy with the way it turned out.
Pros: - It's pretty fast (Between 30MBps and 70MBps file transfer with 8x4TB Western Digital Red drives in RAID 6).
- Has a whole bunch of features... Hosts multimedia and Plex, holds my Sonos library, you can set up backups, personal cloud, sync your documents and records similar to dropbox, and way more that I haven't even bothered exploring yet.
- Compatible with iOS, Windows and Android. I don't have a Mac to test with.
- All the excitement and flexibility of the cloud without all the snooping.
Cons: - A little pricey for the average consumer.
- This product did not come with mounting rails needed to attach it to a 19" server rack. I had to buy them seperately [Qnap Rackmount Rail Kit (RAIL-B01) if you're wondering.]
- It's a little noisy when it first starts up (5 - 15 mins) but then gets pretty quiet. I have it in a closet so it doesn't bug me.
Other Thoughts: I used to be one of those people who bought hard drive after hard drive and built my own computer and made sure it had 8 or so SATA ports because my hard drives needed to fit. With the NAS, I can move everything over to it and build much cheaper, smaller and less power-hungry workstations.

Everything bad that I can think of about it is just nit picking. The thing rocks and other than my networking equipment, this has become the central hub for all the technology in my home.
Reviewed By:William B.,1/22/2016 1:18:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology RS815 Diskless System RackStation 4-Bay (Diskless) Network Attached Storage (NAS)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great little NAS for home/lab use
Pros: + Rackmountable
+ Lots of features
+ Easy Setup

The physical setup was simple. I mounted the unit with the included ears. Installing the HDDs in their bays was easy and I was happy to see Synology included extra screws. After carving up the disks (and selecting the additional parity check), I let it churn over night. The extra parity check took about 3 days (with moderate use), but this doesn't stop you from using the volume.

I installed this with 4 WD Red 3TB drives (WD30EFRX) and carved them all up as one RAID 5 (3+1) volume. From this volume I am able to serve out several shares with different settings. I have a CIFS share to use as a mapped drive, an NFS share to use as a VMware datastore, and another NFS share to store large ISOs. All of them were fairly easy to setup and the documentation is pretty decent.

Since a majority of my files were stored on a different CIFS share, I was able to copy the files by mounting the CIFS share in Synology's OS. Copying the files in this way ensured all of the files attributes were copied as well, plus the performance was pretty decent considering my destination CIFS share was encrypted.

I am using this as my primary VMware datastore which runs about 7 VMs 24/7 without issue. I am simultaneously able to watch 1080p video on a wired media station without stressing the CPU.

On the software side, DiskStation Manager (DSM) is the OS on this unit. During the setup, the latest version was installed without issue. I was able to bond the Ethernet interfaces together easily (via 802.3ad with an MTU of 9000). I am really enjoying QuickConnect, which allows me to connect and manage the NAS from outside of my network without special firewall rules (there is a white paper out there on how it works for the security-conscious folks). There are a lot of options available from the extra packages as well, which adds a lot of value to the appliance.
Cons: - HDD bays require screws
- RAID is done via mdadm under the covers
- No AES-NI instruction set on CPU
- No high availability

The cons I have listed are minor, and definitely not deal breakers. The included brackets can handle 3.2" and 2.5" HDDs, which probably necessitates the use of screws.

The RAID is accomplished by mdadm (software RAID), so any reads/writes will greatly impact the CPU vs having a hardware RAID controller. Additionally, there is no AES-NI instruction set on the CPU, so encryption operations are not handled as efficiently. In my testing, when writing to an encrypted CIFS share, I was pushing about 25 MB/s and the CPU was running at ~85%. Compared to writing to an unencrypted NFS share where I was pushing 80MB/s on average with ~85%.

Since this is not the RS815+, this unit is not a highly available system. An outage to the system is required each time you upgrade DiskStation Manager (DSM).
Other Thoughts: None of the cons I mentioned are deal breakers for me, especially since the RS815+ (which addresses several of the cons) is a significant increase in cost. I am really happy with this unit and hope it lasts for many years with regular updates from Synology.

Some reviews of the RS815+ state that the included ears are not supported for rack mounting the unit. The documentation for this unit lists the included ears as "Rack mount kit" so these are what I used to rack mount the unit. It sits just above another server in my rack, so it wouldn't fall if the ears broke. However, it seemed rather stable with just the ears, even after the HDDs were added.
Reviewed By:Jon S.,1/19/2016 1:11:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology RS3614xs Diskless System Network Storage

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Avoid Synology products. Data loss when running backup and horrible customer support.
Pros: - It worked for about three months without issue.
- The OS feels modern and smooth. Until you get a bit deeper into its features.
Cons: - I lost a lot of data when running their built-in backup solution to a second Synology of the same model.
- Customer support is horrendous. They ignored my ticket after telling me that it wasn't their fault and they couldn't do anything, when all I wanted to know (after accepting my data was lost) is if their backup software was safe to run.
- Almost all logging is disabled by default. This means that, in my case, my data is lost for good with no way to track where it went.
- Phone support doesn't exist. They'll tell you to submit a ticket online.
- Online support is the worst I've ever had.
- Packages are very sparse. This doesn't have a C compiler. There is a package for GCC 4.2 which is over 8 years old at this point and doesn't cut it for what you'll probably want a C compiler for. In my case, I was attempting to set up a DAM and needed to compile some packages to get it working.
Other Thoughts: I'm the head of IT at my company and regret pointing them in this direction. We purchased three of these (1 main, 1 onsite backup, 1 offsite backup) and I am now in constant fear of data loss. It worked well for about three months when it suddenly crashed during an update. After this crash, all symlinks/mounts we had set up were gone, all settings were wiped (including backup settings). After getting everything set up again and running a backup, we lost all empty folders (may not seem like a big deal, but we have a lot of template type folders that hold structures we copy/paste and reuse daily) as well as a few files. They tried to claim that a user must have deleted all the folders and files, which I know didn't happen. All folders containing removed folders/files had a last modified date and time of exactly when we ran the backup. They existed before it was run and didn't after. They, however, refused to acknowledge this or escalate my case. I then said I would bite the bullet and call the data lost, however I would like to know if I can safely run another backup using backup and replication (their built-in solution) to which they ignored in their response then began ignoring all my replies.

- I would not recommend this product to anyone.
- Given the chance, I would not buy again.
- If I could change something about this, I would change the customer support and built-in backup software. If I could change something about our setup, I would swap out all three Synology boxes with a different company's.
Reviewed By:Matthew S.,1/7/2016 6:46:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Thecus > Thecus N8900 Diskless System Enterprise - Rackmount

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Great performing product. Horrible, non-existent, support
Pros: High Performance / HA configuration capability that works / High Capacity / Very Versatile
Cons: Support is non-existent in USA.
Other Thoughts: High capacity and high performance NAS. It's performance is superior to high end Netgear ReadyNAS 32xx & 42xx NAS's we have in use. We particularly liked the ability to configure 2 units in HA configuration, with live fail-over. We performed a power cut fail-over test, and in approximately 30 seconds, all 30 of our NFS attached hosts have successfully failed over.

Unfortunately, Thecus N8900 enterprise grade performance is not matched by enterprise grade support. The support is non-existent. I had tried calling the US support number and no-one answers, I had opened a ticket on Thecus support website 1.5 months ago, and it's still unassigned. While my question was configuration related, and I had figured out an answer on my own, it is still unacceptable to have no support available for a product that costs thousands of dollars. If I continue to use Thecus as a brand I have to be prepared to have live spares units, and be ready to wait months for warranty repairs. A company can't hope to gain any traction in Medium or Enterprise Business market with no support.
Reviewed By:MICHAEL P.,12/27/2015 12:30:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology RS814+ Diskless System Network Storage

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent product.
Pros: Great for expanding storage. Currently utilizing it to record security cameras at a business to this unit with four, two Terabyte Western Digital Red Drives. So far have not had any issues. Synology software is excellent. Very simple to use and understand.
Cons: none
Reviewed By:N/A,11/4/2015 5:49:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology RS815+ RackStation 4-Bay (Diskless) Network Attached Storage (NAS)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 More need for mounting...
Pros: I have only had this unit for a couple of days.
Other than I found it easy to set up and it appears to provide access to NAS space on two Western Digital Red hard drives to Windows clients, I don't have much to say about it's function.
Cons: This note is more along the line of education about how Synology views their rack mounted units.

Buyer-beware: If you purchase just the unit, you have NO way to mount it in a 19" rack. There is NO mounting hardware included in the box. Although it comes with rack mount ears, they are only there to stop the unit from sliding out of the rack once mounted. The only Synology approved means of mounting their rack mount units in a rack is with their RKS1314 Sliding Rail Kit; a not cheap solution.
Now you might ask why the only approved means of mounting the unit is on sliding rails, since there is nothing accessible on the top of the unit; but you would have to ask Synology since I don't have a single idea. The only clue, if you can call it that, to the requirement for RKS1314 is that it is listed as an accessory! Synology thinks that means you will know that there is no mounting hardware included; I think an assumptive stretch. Warning: the unit is too deep and heavy to be mounted solely with the included rack mount ears.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/25/2015 2:33:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR RN4220S-100NES Diskless System ReadyNAS 4220 SFP+ (12-Bay)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Simple and fast
Pros: - Clean management
- Familiar interface if you've previously had any ReadyNAS
- Fast
Cons: - Terminology is slightly different from Windows servers
- Fine grained sharing control takes some effort.
Other Thoughts: Dead simple and fast NAS. Very quality internal layout, easy to service. Bays easily handle several drive types. Working brilliantly for our backup system.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/28/2015 12:59:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.