Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO TS-2RZH48T12D 48TB TeraStation 7120r Enterprise-Class NAS & iSCSI Storage

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Only for small IT environments
Pros: Easy to use web management interface
Easy to setup for small IT environments with no subnets
Good warranty program
Good health monitoring features
Cons: The Active Directory integration requires the Buffalo to be in the same subnet as the domain controllers in order to work properly. We have 10,000+ users in our environment and adding user permissions was painfully slow. You cannot assign share permissions for computer accounts, event if they are part of a group, so if you have any services running under the Network Service account, you cannot give them access and the services must be reconfigured.

The firmware update tool in the web interface checks for updates on a server in Japan that does not contain the most current software updates. Always go to the website and download the latest update and then apply it through the web interface. ALWAYS update the firmware to the current version before you start setting up this product because support always recommends wiping the configuration back to factory default after a firmware update to avoid problems and it will be the first troubleshooting step that they ask you to do. So if you spent a lot of time on your configuration, all that work will be lost after the upgrade.

The iSCSI support has some limitations as well. The Buffalo has four gigabit ethernet ports but don't expect to be able to connect a server to each with each on their own subnet and have it work reliably. If you are connecting multiple servers, be prepared to buy a triple speed switch and to place all the servers on the same subnet. If you setup each interface on its own subnet, the IPs of all active interfaces will be pushed out to all the iSCSI clients and each client will try to connect one at a time to each IP until it hits the correct subnet. This means that one server will connect right away while the other three servers will go through one to three three minute TCP timeouts until they are able to connect. If you plan on having the storage available for use on startup by a system service, this will create a serious problem as the storage won't be available for three to nine minutes after the service fails to start. So you will need to manually start the services making use of the storage after a reboot.

If you are using iSCSI and set a management IP on a separate management network, then the iSCSI clients will also try to connect via the management IP. If you configure the management IP to not respond to iSCSI, then you end up with the three to nine minute TCP timeout issue mentioned above.

The lack of an isolated management IP and other design choices in both the Active Directory integration and the iSCSI demonstrate to me that while the product has some Enterprise-level hardware characteristics, the software is similar to their consumer line of the products. This is definitely a product for small, simple IT environments. The product has no knowledge of subnets or isolated management interfaces.

For the price, a Dell server with Windows Storage Server might be a better choice.
Other Thoughts: For the price, a Dell server with Windows Storage Server might be a better choice.
Reviewed By:StorageAdmin2600,7/30/2014 8:04:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology RackStation RS3614xs+ Diskless System Network Storage

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Synology RackStation 3614
Pros: Synology makes great NAS products. This one is no exception. Fast throughput and friendly software.
Cons: none so far
Reviewed By:N/A,7/29/2014 1:35:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Qnap > QNAP RAIL-C01 Rail Kit for 1U Rackmount Models

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Works Well
Pros: Fairly robust rails for a good price.
Cons: Directions are sub-par, and the rails aren't marked well for orientation. These rails don't mate well with the tabs so the unit sits out about a half inch (it doesn't slide back flush). Sound picky? well it's annoying and I'm in the business of picky.
Reviewed By:Jnarowe,6/29/2014 9:37:05 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology RS2414RP+ Diskless System RackStation Network Storage

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Unacceptable "support"
Pros: Quiet, supports 4TB drives.
Cons: One LED on one backplane was defective. Minor nuisance, but status LED's are essential in any production environment. Synology would not ship out a replacement backplane. They require the entire unit be boxed up and shipped back. Apparently, they don't understand that NAS hardware in a production environment typically cannot simply be returned on a whim because of something as minor as a defective backplane LED.
Their response;
"We do not have any just back plane parts to send you and we do not support users opening up their machines to replace parts other than very simple pieces such as fans/memory/replaceable power supplies. While I do not doubt your capability to replace the parts, as a company it is also not something we support. We are of course still happy to replace your unit. "
They also never answered my RAID rebuild performance questions. Several tweaks that should have been standard in their firmware were never implemented, resulting in 4 DAY rebuild times. Even with 4TB drives in a RAID 6 + 1 hot spare, I was able to get it down to about 32 hours. It would have been nice if they would have replied to my questions, instead of the boilerplate "return the unit" responses, such as "Since the parity check is a high IO intensive process then performing other operations during this time can cause the rebuilding process to take longer than normal". You don't say! Besides, I guess they never looked at the I/O, themselves, as the load was not high by any stretch of the imagination.
Other Thoughts: I'm very thankful I had the opportunity to test this device in a non-production environment before deploying.
I would NOT recommend this product for a production environment. Certainly not in a remotely managed site or for hosted services.
Reviewed By:Very disappointed,6/23/2014 8:17:39 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO TeraStation III 4-Bay 8 TB (4 X 2 TB) RAID 1U Rack Mountable Network Attached Storage (NAS) - TS-RX8.0TL/R5

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Worth what I paid
Pros: 8tb of storage
Very reasonable price
Quick setup
- Only took 10 minutes to install on the rack
- I've read a lot of reviews here and elsewhere saying that it was very difficult to interface with active directory. This is not true. I was able to interface immediately. And I do not consider myself an advanced-level sysadmin.
Cons: I haven't noticed anything yet. Setting up directories and permissions based on Active Directory has been a breeze.
Other Thoughts: The ease of setup, the price, and the 8tb of storage make this a no-brainer.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/10/2014 12:14:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Qnap > QNAP TS-870U-RP-US Rackmount Network Storage

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good NAS
Pros: Cost effective NAS, iSCSI, IP-SAN storage solution
Scale up Storage Over 400TB Raw Capacities
High performance, secure, reliable, and simple
VMware Ready, Citrix Ready and Hyper-V compliant
10 GbE ready reaching over 1,000 MB/s and 100,000 IOPS
SSD cache acceleration
Multi-core processor, DDR3, SATA 6Gb/s, and USB 3.0

QNAP still provides tech support help even after the expired warranty date.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: This is a fantasy NAS! Able to perform multiple task with high performance! with the usb 3.0 back, the speed is amazingly fast!
Reviewed By:John C,2/21/2014 1:38:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR ReadyNAS 2120 RN21242D-100NAS 8TB (4 x 2TB) Network Storage

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DO NOT BUY
Pros: At this point none
Cons: 1st unit was about 4 hours short of being DOA. (HDD failure). Called Netgear and their response was ship the entire unit back. Newegg was gracious enough to do this and not charge us any shipping. The replacement unit has been running for about 1 week now and a hard drive has failed in this unit. Netgear will say they don't make the hard drives which they don't, but the web interface is saying the bad drive has a temperature of -1 while the other 3 drives are 35-36 degrees. I'm fairly positive old man winter isn't blowing and arctic front on the 3rd drive only.

At this point I am going to send this unit back and try to find a different manufacture replacement. 1 drive going bad annoying but it happens. Having to send the whole unit back is really annoying. Having a second drive fail (2 out of 8 drives) fail within 7 days of operation is unacceptable. Not sure if the first unit had Toshiba drives in it but this unit does.
Other Thoughts: I purchased this NAS reluctantly because we already own 4 Readynas 2100s. They have not been error free, but I was hoping most quarks were resolved with this newer unit. Interface looks better but functionality takes a step back over the previous firmware and AD integration was more troublesome. I purchased this unit because overall Netgear readynas units had some and decent reviews. Most other NAS devices in the price range I was looking at did not have any reviews or had poor reviews. At this point I will not purchase any further ReadyNAS products and will think long and hard before purchasing any Netgear products moving forward.
Reviewed By:javan,2/5/2014 1:04:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO TeraStation 5400 4-Bay 16 TB (4 x 4 TB) RAID 1U Rack Mountable NAS & iSCSI Unified Storage - TS5400R1604

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Buffalo Terastation 5400r
Pros: Easy setup, the settings using the NAS Navigator2 are easy to navigate, great customer support, and I love the double NIC configuration.
Cons: Cost is a bit high, but it is worth it for the peace of mind.
Reviewed By:Mike,2/2/2014 4:26:37 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO TeraStation III 4-Bay 4 TB (4 X 1 TB) RAID 1U Rack Mountable Network Attached Storage (NAS) - TS-RX4.0TL/R5

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Horrible support
Pros: Please.
Cons: Good grief their support is the worst I've ever experienced. The only response you get is the automated ones.
Other Thoughts: Going to try Synology next time. May not be better, but can't be worse. If they aren't better, I'm just going to build it myself. What a pain.
Reviewed By:whatnot,1/24/2014 1:48:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO TeraStation III 4-Bay 4 TB (4 X 1 TB) RAID 1U Rack Mountable Network Attached Storage (NAS) - TS-RX4.0TL/R5

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Failed after 38 days
Pros: None
Cons: One of the disks failed after 30 some odd days.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/10/2014 1:17:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau