Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology RS814 Diskless System 4-bay Rackmount NAS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good Set and Forget NAS
Pros: Set and forget. Has LDAP and Domain handling. E-mails you and beeps if there are problems. Quietest thing in the rack. Compatible with Time Machine. Synology Hybrid RAID supports dissimilar drive sizes while maintaining redundancy.
Cons: Haven't had any yet
Other Thoughts: This is our only file server in an office of about 15 workstations, 20 virtual servers and 6 physical servers. I'm not sure what this is meant to support but it doesn't break a sweat for us.
Reviewed By:N/A,2/19/2015 12:47:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Qnap > QNAP TS-421U Diskless System Rackmount Network Storage

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 QNAP TS-421U
Pros: Easy to setup and works as advertised. Plenty of apps available and the support clients, including mobile is excellent. The core NAS itself is solid with all standard RAID options and then some. Used compatible drives and the setup took minutes. All for an extremely competitive price.
Cons: The only complaint I have to date is that the device only came with two dogears for the rackmount. when it really needs 4. The instructions and help on some features could be a little more detailed, but overall everything you need is there and it seems like the the missing pieces are new features.
Other Thoughts: I'm extremely happy with the product so far. It's great for a SOHO NAS.Couldn't be more pleased.
Reviewed By:STH,2/15/2015 1:33:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology RackStation RS3614xs+ Diskless System Network Storage

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Great software but hardware can fail and support lacks..
Pros: Tons of drive space, especially with expansion units. The DSM UI is the best on the market (I've also used QNAP). Works well with other Synology products such as Diskstation, which we have plenty of around the office.
Cons: The hardware can fail occasionally, as it did in our case. Support is there, but if you have a serious problem they will pass it on to 'higher levels' who in our case determine it is the cables (provided by Synology) for connecting expansion units that causes file system errors and volumes to crash. Happened twice in a month.
Other Thoughts: We have lots of Synology products. They are great for Diskstations but so far I'm learning the Rackstation products are not up to snuff and the support becomes inattentive and robotic trying to solve a very difficult problem. In the past they've been great.
Reviewed By:JESSE C.,2/10/2015 3:04:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology RS814 Diskless System 4-bay Rackmount NAS

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 unstable
Pros: lots of features
Cons: Unstable. Unit crashes regularly and is under warranty. Support gives you the runaround for months and won't return calls.

Definitely not an the level of product they claim.
Reviewed By:notAfan,1/6/2015 8:27:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology RKS1314 Rail Kit

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Flimsy piece of junk, easily bends.
Pros: Snaps into the racks ok with a single screw to hold it which is nice.
Cons: This is the cheapest and most flimsy rackmount kit ever. We bent one side of it trying to put it in, and I've done hundreds of these and never had that happen.
Other Thoughts: Since really there isn't another choice since it's designed for the Synology, I wouldn't recommend it if there was an alternative.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/6/2015 9:34:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology RS814 Diskless System 4-bay Rackmount NAS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Synology
Pros: 1U, quiet, RAID 5, many capabilities, 2 LAN ports, and flexible. Not much more that you can ask of a NAS. One of my personal pros is it uses an ARM processor. Setup was easy. There seem to be regular OS updates, which are painless to apply. Adding more capabilities is also painless, assuming you know what you are doing. Works nicely.
What I REALLY like is that I know what drives are going to it, AND I get to choose. WD Red Pro 2 TB in my case.
Cons: The mounting "ears" can only be attached to one spot. When using a two rail only rack, as I am. It would be nice if the mounting ears could be placed so the attachment point aligns with the center of the HDDs. I was able to "reverse" them so part of the HDDs stick out the front. This is NOT a deal breaker, for me. Your mileage may vary.
Also I could only use two (2) screws instead of four (4) to attach the HDDs into the sleds/carriers. It still works, but I would like to be able to use four. Again NOT a deal breaker.
Other Thoughts: Like anything that is new to you, it will take some time and work to know how to use it.
Would I buy another one? Yes, I would, or a different model.
Would I recommend it to a friend? In general, yes, but we all know those friends that just can't handle anything, so no to them.
I would like to see one that is made for 2.5" drives, especially SSDs. it could be totally silent.
Reviewed By:Oeno-Master,11/30/2014 9:18:23 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology RS2414RP+ Diskless System RackStation Network Storage

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good for General Stuff
Pros: Its good for file servers and other general type of servers like DC, DHCP, DNS .
Has great UI and its really easy to install.
Performance is great.
Great for Price
Cons: Does not have 10gb support.
Needs SSD cache drives to run something more powerful like heavly loaded SQL server etc.
Reviewed By:ZivaTiva,11/15/2014 9:36:21 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology RS2414+ Diskless System RackStation Network Storage

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Dissapointment
Pros: Low Initial cost
Cons: Unreliable hardware and POOR Warranty Service. This unit is only 5 months old and I've spent most of today trying to get a warranty unit shipped that they agreed to replace yesterday. They just told me it wouldn't ship until tomorrow and that it would be 5 business days before it arrives. I have never been treated so badly on a warranty in my over 20 years in the IT field.
Other Thoughts: Look elsewhere for reliability and TCO.
Reviewed By:Charliefred,10/30/2014 2:01:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology RKS1314 Rail Kit

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: They work, are sturdy, and they are quick rails. Most models are toolless, and they include the screws for those that aren't.
Cons: The clips are a bit fiddly, and the slides feel a bit cheap. They don't slide quite as smooth as they ought to, and they don't have clips to retain the unit in the rack, unlike most OEM server rails. Not terrible, but for the price I expect better.
Other Thoughts: Overpriced! Oh well, if you need them, you need them. Still, there's no reason that Synology shouldn't include these - it stands to reason that if you have a rackmount NAS, you're going to be needing the rails.
Reviewed By:N/A,10/28/2014 10:31:24 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO TeraStation III 4-Bay 4 TB (4 X 1 TB) RAID 1U Rack Mountable Network Attached Storage (NAS) - TS-RX4.0TL/R5

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Colossal pain
Pros: Lots of space for storage
Cons: Does not play nice with Active Directory
Other Thoughts: I have spent a lot of time fighting with this thing. For the price I would have been ahead in time and money had I purchased a new server and configured it. Connecting to Active Directory should not require jumping through this many hoops.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/15/2014 12:54:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.