Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • | Wish List
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO TeraStation III 4-Bay 8 TB (4 X 2 TB) RAID 1U Rack Mountable Network Attached Storage (NAS) - TS-RX8.0TL/R5

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Worth what I paid
Pros: 8tb of storage
Very reasonable price
Quick setup
- Only took 10 minutes to install on the rack
- I've read a lot of reviews here and elsewhere saying that it was very difficult to interface with active directory. This is not true. I was able to interface immediately. And I do not consider myself an advanced-level sysadmin.
Cons: I haven't noticed anything yet. Setting up directories and permissions based on Active Directory has been a breeze.
Other Thoughts: The ease of setup, the price, and the 8tb of storage make this a no-brainer.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/10/2014 12:14:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Qnap > QNAP TS-870U-RP-US Rackmount Network Storage

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good NAS
Pros: Cost effective NAS, iSCSI, IP-SAN storage solution
Scale up Storage Over 400TB Raw Capacities
High performance, secure, reliable, and simple
VMware Ready, Citrix Ready and Hyper-V compliant
10 GbE ready reaching over 1,000 MB/s and 100,000 IOPS
SSD cache acceleration
Multi-core processor, DDR3, SATA 6Gb/s, and USB 3.0

QNAP still provides tech support help even after the expired warranty date.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: This is a fantasy NAS! Able to perform multiple task with high performance! with the usb 3.0 back, the speed is amazingly fast!
Reviewed By:John C,2/21/2014 1:38:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR ReadyNAS 2120 RN21242D-100NAS 8TB (4 x 2TB) Network Storage

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DO NOT BUY
Pros: At this point none
Cons: 1st unit was about 4 hours short of being DOA. (HDD failure). Called Netgear and their response was ship the entire unit back. Newegg was gracious enough to do this and not charge us any shipping. The replacement unit has been running for about 1 week now and a hard drive has failed in this unit. Netgear will say they don't make the hard drives which they don't, but the web interface is saying the bad drive has a temperature of -1 while the other 3 drives are 35-36 degrees. I'm fairly positive old man winter isn't blowing and arctic front on the 3rd drive only.

At this point I am going to send this unit back and try to find a different manufacture replacement. 1 drive going bad annoying but it happens. Having to send the whole unit back is really annoying. Having a second drive fail (2 out of 8 drives) fail within 7 days of operation is unacceptable. Not sure if the first unit had Toshiba drives in it but this unit does.
Other Thoughts: I purchased this NAS reluctantly because we already own 4 Readynas 2100s. They have not been error free, but I was hoping most quarks were resolved with this newer unit. Interface looks better but functionality takes a step back over the previous firmware and AD integration was more troublesome. I purchased this unit because overall Netgear readynas units had some and decent reviews. Most other NAS devices in the price range I was looking at did not have any reviews or had poor reviews. At this point I will not purchase any further ReadyNAS products and will think long and hard before purchasing any Netgear products moving forward.
Reviewed By:javan,2/5/2014 1:04:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO TeraStation 5400 4-Bay 16 TB (4 x 4 TB) RAID 1U Rack Mountable NAS & iSCSI Unified Storage - TS5400R1604

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Buffalo Terastation 5400r
Pros: Easy setup, the settings using the NAS Navigator2 are easy to navigate, great customer support, and I love the double NIC configuration.
Cons: Cost is a bit high, but it is worth it for the peace of mind.
Reviewed By:Mike,2/2/2014 4:26:37 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO TeraStation III 4-Bay 4 TB (4 X 1 TB) RAID 1U Rack Mountable Network Attached Storage (NAS) - TS-RX4.0TL/R5

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Horrible support
Pros: Please.
Cons: Good grief their support is the worst I've ever experienced. The only response you get is the automated ones.
Other Thoughts: Going to try Synology next time. May not be better, but can't be worse. If they aren't better, I'm just going to build it myself. What a pain.
Reviewed By:whatnot,1/24/2014 1:48:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO TeraStation III 4-Bay 4 TB (4 X 1 TB) RAID 1U Rack Mountable Network Attached Storage (NAS) - TS-RX4.0TL/R5

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Failed after 38 days
Pros: None
Cons: One of the disks failed after 30 some odd days.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/10/2014 1:17:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology RS812+ Diskless System High-performance & Scalable 4-bay Rackmounted NAS Server for SMB Users

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Exceeds all expectations
Pros: Great little Linux box. Assisted RAID-10 setup worked flawlessly; stability has been incredible. Mine is running CrashPlan and other Java services, as well as BIND9, HTTPD, and syslogd. Used two 3rd party (G-Skill) RAM modules purchased from Newegg to increase to 4GB.
Cons: No redundant power supply and RP model costs ~$600 more. Web management interface is quick but only moderately intuitive until you get used to it.
Reviewed By:vlaadisch,8/30/2013 11:10:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Qnap > QNAP RAIL-B01 Rail Kit for TS-869U/1269U

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice and fast
Pros: These were easy to drop into my square holed rack. This is a very nice set of rails for the QNAP NAS if you need some.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Mike,8/9/2013 7:24:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology RS812+ Diskless System High-performance & Scalable 4-bay Rackmounted NAS Server for SMB Users

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 customer support is terrible
Pros: It has yet to break and I learned a lot about how to debug their own product
Cons: The tech support is terrible. They do not know the basics of s.m.a.r.t. or iscsi. Both of which I found bugs with in their system. There is no way to send them an email for support so calling is required. The calling hours are small and the overall attitude they give you is awful. You spend more time verifying serial numbers then getting actual help. I deal with vendors all the time and this is the worst product support I have seen in years.

Lord help you if you dont use a hard drive on their preferred list. I bought a hard drive that they said was compatible except it had about 10GB more memory and that was their justification for not viewing the logs or helping.

They point blank on the phone told me that s.m.a.r.t testing wouldnt work because it had 10GB more, and yet I (who doesnt work for them) figured out how to make it work. If any of my staff were even half as rude as they were I would fire them.

They also managed to break mutual CHAP with isci quite nicely.
Other Thoughts: Dont buy it unless you want to spend a lot of time fixing their broken software.

I can put up with a bad product if the support is great and we get it to eventually work, but dealing with their bad attitude was enough to make me say "I will never buy a synology product ever again"
Reviewed By:sad customer,8/9/2013 11:46:03 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
0 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Rackmount NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology RS812RP+ Diskless System High-performance & Scalable 4-bay Rackmounted NAS Server for SMB Users

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome
Pros: iSCSI works great with vSphere 4.1
Easy to use web interface.
Several optional add-on apps for functionality. I like that they're not just all automatically installed like bloatware.
Cons: Installation didn't go so well. I popped in all my 4 TB drives and went through the install. It choked and told me to open up port 23 (telnet) on my router and call support. I didn't like that option, so I google'd it. It turns out, you should do the initial install with one hard drive in the system. Once you go through installation and have it up and running. Add the other drives and build your raid.
Other Thoughts: This box is working great for our needs and I'd highly recommend it to anyone.
Reviewed By:rodneyaz,6/1/2013 11:24:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau