Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Syba > SYBA SD-ADA50016 SATA to IDE (IDE to SATA) Bi-Directional Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works like a champ
Pros: Needed a legacy IDE drive to keep old HP Desktop alive after HDD failure. The newer formatted SATA drives wouldn't work, kept getting failed Win Vista install repeatedly.

Searching Google, I learned that there was a changeover in HDD format to deal with larger media files and the PC... that may be causing my problem.

Picked up this device and used an old IDE drive to SATA. Problem solved, PC works fine. --- STILL ALIVE!!!
Cons: none.
Reviewed By:anonymous,3/3/2015 8:22:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Apricorn > APRICORN AMSW-USB3 mSATA Enclosure and Upgrade Kit

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Very useful tool
Pros: -Physically easy to install mSATA drive into the device
-Included software works very well with little effort
-Included software can be downloaded directly from manufacturer's website for systems without an optical drive
Cons: -Once a device is installed, it's mildly difficult to physically remove
-Side buttons for opening the device are not easily managed. It takes a steady hand and forced touch to open.
Other Thoughts: I bought this to upgrade an Ultrabook from 128GB. The only issue I ran into was that when cloning a Windows 8 install there were some boot management problems.

Keep in mind that is due to how Windows 8 is designed and I in no way am holding this against the manufacturer. However it is important to note that I have an above average understanding of hardware and software and it took quite a bit of time to resolve the issue. So if you intend on cloning a Windows 8 install do a bit of research on UEFI bios and boot management.
Reviewed By:DrakeM,3/1/2015 10:27:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Apricorn > APRICORN VEL-SOLO-X2 Extreme Performance SSD Upgrade Kit for Desktop PCs and MacPro

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DOA - Poor support
Pros: Based on the device's specification and what I was after (SATA-3 and JBOD), it should have been slam-dunk wonderful. Alas, it was not to be.
Cons: Product appears to have been DOA. Not "seen" by two different systems, an older Asus P7P55 board and a Lenovo ThinkStation. In fact, it BSOD'd the Asus box. Tech support seemed listless and uninterested. He did say it appeared to be hardware, so either take it back to store or RMA. RMA is done through website, so I filled out the online form and submitted it. No return email from Apricorn. So I returned it and bought a different adapter from a different manufacturer that works properly.
Other Thoughts: The product is well reviewed and probably would have worked well for me. I do understand that DOAs happen. However, the support experience was unacceptable. For this reason, I will avoid Apricorn products in the future.
Reviewed By:Ken,2/28/2015 2:16:19 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Apricorn > APRICORN VEL-SOLO-X1 Performance SSD Upgrade Kit for Desktop PCs and MacPro

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Using with Samsung 850 Evo
Pros: Neat
Extra SATA III
Cons: Slower than SATA II on my Asrock K10N78 motherboard.
I had a problem where window sometimes boot with SATA 1 instead of SATA 2, which slows down progress for all the hard drives.
I use total 6 hard drives, and with onboard sata controller, I got about 283 MB read, 224 write, but with this card, I'm getting about 200 read and 170 write.
Even windows index experience went down to 7.4 from 7.8.

I actually do feel the slower performance with this card..
Maybe it's time to get a new motherboard instead of adding bunch of these little add-on cards.
Other Thoughts: I use samsung magician software to test the read/write, and when it boots on SATA 1, bandwidth goes down half. So one pros is I get constant read/write with this card.
Reviewed By:Guichanism,2/27/2015 3:06:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Silverstone > Silverstone CP06-E4 HDD Accessory

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Fantastic, BUT...
Pros: Very flexible yet sturdy, and the spacing between connectors was perfect for the drives in my case. An absolute must for multi-drive systems considering the length between connectors on most PSUs.
Cons: The orientation of the connectors are geared for a top-mounted PSU, and my case has a bottom-mounted one.
Other Thoughts: If there was a second version of the CP-04E with all the connectors upside down so the main connector to the power supply is at the bottom of a stack of drives, it would be much more useful.
Reviewed By:Grebby,2/24/2015 8:45:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Syba > SYBA SY-MRA55005 Multipurpose 5.25" Bay Adapter for Slim Optical Drive and 2.5" SATA I / II / III HDD, with 2 USB 3.0

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Good while it lasted
Pros: Conveniently places usb 3.0 parts to the front, easy access to HDD drive with hotswap baby.
Cons: failed and no longer getting power to HDD.. tried different HD's.. the PCB that controls the HDD must be bad, tried different cables, different sata ports too... really wish i had another one, but makes me weary to spend 30 bucks just to see it fail again. so... if i get a new one, i do, if not, i'll be more skeptical of syba's parts.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Customer,

We apologize for your dissatisfaction with the quality of this Mobile Rack.

We are more than happy to provide all of our customers with a prompt exchange whenever a product becomes defective.

SYBA offers an online RMA form, the user can easily fill out the form and submit it for a quick RMA return and exchange. It is SYBA's policy to answer all customer inquiries within 24 hours (M-F)

Thank you for purchasing one of our products, and for leaving us your valuable feedback.

-Regards SYBA CST 02272015

Reviewed By:N/A,2/22/2015 9:33:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > WiebeTech > WiebeTech 31250-3209-0000 ULTRADOCK V5 - Easy Access to Bare Sata or IDE / PATA Drives; FW800 / FW400 / eSATA / USB 3.0

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Best Drive Inteeface You Can Buy
Pros: Extremely versatile, works with anything, reliable.
Cons: Not a drop in dock
Other Thoughts: I build and repair every computer I have used personally and at my business (laptops and a rare Mac being the exception) since 1992. I use Linux, Mac (actual and several Hackintoshes), and Windows of every stripe. I find myself constantly accessing drives externally, whether to clone them or transfer data, sometimes terabytes at a time. While I have used drop in external drive cages, and do find them more convenient, they are at times unreliable and lack the overall flexibility of the Ultradock sypystem. I have used the Ultradock v3, v4 now for two years and now the v5. They have never missed a beat, you can always use the fastest interface available on any individual computer, and it is very backwards compatible with older computers. Data transfers are as fast as the port you are plugged into allows. There are many times I would not have been able to transfer data without this device. I highly recommend it.
Reviewed By:John,2/22/2015 6:00:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Vantec > Vantec IDE to SATA Converter - Model CB-IS100

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works great, no hassle.
Pros: Im using this on my 3rd PC and no issues.
Cons: Wish the price would come down, under $10.
Reviewed By:N/A,2/18/2015 8:08:51 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Syba > SYBA SI-ADA40067 70mm (2.5") mSATA SSD to 2.5" SATA Converter Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 does what its supposed to
Pros: works just fine with my Intel 310 series 80 GB ssd.
Cons: i asked it to make me breakfast in the morning and it just ignored me.
Reviewed By:Devo,2/17/2015 11:31:35 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Vantec > Vantec IDE to SATA Converter - Model CB-IS100

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Did not work
Pros: nice looking...
Cons: Doesnt freaken work... iv tried multiple different cables and 2 different devices, both of which worked a week prior on my old motherboard.
Other Thoughts: Really wish there was some sort of help website or whatever for this product, but i couldnt find anything. waist of time and money.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Valued Customer,
We apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused you. We try hard to provide our customer with the best service. If you have questions about our products, please feel free to write to us for assistance at support@vantecusa.com. We will try our best to answer your questions and help you setup the device to work correctly. Thank you for looking into our products. We do value your patronage.
Best Regards, Vantec

Reviewed By:N/A,2/14/2015 2:53:48 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.