Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > STARTECH > StarTech IDE2SAT2 IDE 40-Pin to SATA Adapter with Hard Disk Drive/SSD/Odd Support

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Drive is not bootable with this adapter.
Pros: Works great if you use it for a secondary drive or have a secondary IDE drive with a Windows installation installed.
Cons: Drive is not bootable with this adapter unless a secondary IDE drive with a Windows installation is also installed. I wasted a bunch of time on troubleshooting, thinking there was something wrong with my Windows installation when in fact this adapter was at fault.
Other Thoughts: Startech "escalated my case", which involved their R&D team trying to boot with this adapter and failing as well. To their credit, they did admit this. But should this testing not have been done before releasing the product and wasting the customer's time and money?

Using PATA2SATA3 together with SATAPOWADAP solved the problem (Startech could not say for sure whether it would or wouldn't. I had to buy the products and try them in order to find out).
Reviewed By:Derek C.,5/26/2016 8:23:25 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Syba > SYBA SI-ADA40066 50mm (1.8") mSATA SSD to 2.5" SATA Converter Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Bought it to test a Msata drive
Pros: I needed to test a Msata drive to make sure it still worked and hopefully copy data off of it if it was in good condition. This adapter worked flawlessly in my use.
Cons: Not sure if I would feel comfortable using this long term because of the mount points, but wasn't a concern for what I needed it for.
Other Thoughts: My Thinkpad T420 died due to a foam cup that leaked on my desk overnight and slowly fried its motherboard. While I was waiting for a "for parts" Thinkpad to arrive I needed to make sure the boot drive had survived. Thanks to this adapter I was able to see my Samsung 840 Evo was fully functioning and undamaged. While I cant say that I have any further use for this adapter, in a time of need this adapter gave me the assurance that my drive was good to go and just dropped it into the replacement Thinkpad, booted it up as if nothing had happened.
Reviewed By:Damian F.,5/26/2016 3:39:14 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > STARTECH > StarTech IDE2CF IDE to Compact Flash SSD Adapter

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Poor Quality Control
Pros: - Good feature set for this type of device
Cons: - Poor quality control
Other Thoughts: Pros: I initially selected this model for it's added status LEDs, full size jumpers and choice of IDE connections. I haven't had problems with StarTech products until now.

Cons: The previous two reviewers didn't have any issues so this must be a more recent manufacturing issue. I received two of these devices and both had sloppy soldering on the 44-pin IDE connection which shorted pins 41 and 42. This caused the device to release it's magic smoke when external power was connected. If purchasing one of these Inspect the back of the board thoroughly before plugging it in.

YMMV
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/23/2016 2:00:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > STARTECH > StarTech ESATAPLT2LPM 2-Port Low Profile SATA to eSATA Plate Adapter - F/M

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Fits and functions as described in my Prodesk 600 G1 SFF
Pros: Not much to say...works as advertised. Low Profile plate fit perfectly in the Prodesk and the internal
SATA cables I routed to the adapter plugged and functioned without a hitch. Both eSATA ports are connected to separate DAS's using port multiplier.....and yes....locking eSATA cables...;-)
Cons: None.
Reviewed By:Jonathan L.,5/23/2016 2:50:36 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > STARTECH > StarTech IDE2SAT2 IDE 40-Pin to SATA Adapter with Hard Disk Drive/SSD/Odd Support

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 worked when other adapters did not
Pros: Enabled an SSD to be plugged in to the secondary IDE slot on a 2006 Mac Pro, when other adapters did not.
Cons: none
Reviewed By:Alan B.,5/17/2016 7:33:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Syba > SYBA SD-ADA50016 SATA to IDE (IDE to SATA) Bi-Directional Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Breathes new life into parts
Pros: This simply works and works well - and I do mean well. The speed you get from your old hard drive may surprise you. It certainly surprised me. It's fairly easy to install. All (or at least the vast majority of) the USB transfer products on the market that use IDE are USB 2.0 so transfer speeds on larger files is painfully slow. This changes all of that. This restores the full speed capacity of these old drives.
Cons: None thus far
Other Thoughts: I don't consider these cons, but there are some things to consider when buying one of these.

1) Make sure your case is roomy enough to have about 2 ½ inches sticking out the back of the hard drive/optical drive. If you don't have at *least* that much room this will not fit.
2) You will need to know how to set the jumpers on your drive. Most drives have it written on them, some don't. You may be able to find a guide for your drive online if you look, but make sure you know *before* you buy this.
3) If your case only has SATA power connectors you'll need to buy a cable to convert one of those to molex so you have something to plug into.

If you do these things and follow the instructions provided in the manual this little gem will work wonders.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/12/2016 7:26:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Syba > SYBA SD-ADA50016 SATA to IDE (IDE to SATA) Bi-Directional Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 IDE TO SATA
Pros: Hooked up easily once I changed a couple wires
Cons: Instructions not exactly accurate for IDE to SATA
Other Thoughts: I do recommend
Reviewed By:Darrin P.,5/7/2016 12:26:18 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > STARTECH > StarTech IDE2SAT2 IDE 40-Pin to SATA Adapter with Hard Disk Drive/SSD/Odd Support

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works well on Xubuntu 14.04
Pros: Fits behind SATA HD ok - same width and height, just a little deeper.
No problems running under Xubuntu 14.04 as master boot device,
or under Clonezilla or Gparted.
Cons: None, yet.
Other Thoughts: Used to adapt a new 500G SATA drive to an old X86 IDE/ATA system, to replace old, failing IDE drive. This adapter + SATA drive ran fine as Secondary during HD clone and partition management, then booted fine as master drive. Adds life to older IDE/ATA systems!
Reviewed By:Robert S.,5/6/2016 2:13:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Coboc > Coboc SATA-AD-LP4 erial ATA/SATA 15 pin Male to Molex LP4 4 pin female Power Adatper for Hard Drive,M/F

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 My pc case came with external hard drive port but to power it was an ata plug
Pros: Plug it in and the drive powered up and it works great.
Cons: It does stick out and you need to make sure your power cable is not pulling down on the drives power port. On my power cable I use the middle connector and hooked the first connector on the empty drive above it to keep it strait.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/1/2016 6:05:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Syba > SYBA SD-ADA50016 SATA to IDE (IDE to SATA) Bi-Directional Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Old IDE HDD access is easy with this.
Pros: -Works
-Easy to install
-Comes with almost everything you'd need to get those old IDE HDD running on your new motherboard. Power and SATA cable
It's as fast as your HDD most likely due to it using SATA to connect to the Motherboard. Current IDE to USB products I saw would be slow in comparison to this. I didn't see an IDE to USB 3.0 but no matter IDE to SATA is faster anyway.
Cons: Didn't come with a jumper. Not a BIG deal, but without one you're most likely out of luck getting this thing recognized. Your old HDD should have one on it already but mine didn't (rigged it) and since its needed why not throw it in the package they cost nothing.
Other Thoughts: Regarding the jumper, most the problems I see people having with this product is forgetting to use the jumper on the HDD. So, install the jumper (usually on the first two left-most pins as you look at the HDD from behind. Here's a lousy diagram ( [:] : : : ), the two closest to where this device would be installed not next to the power input. Also, regarding the wire it comes with to power the device, you probably only need one power input even thought it has two, I imagine they did this for those rare devices (thoughtful) that require more juice but one should be fine for most users.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/29/2016 5:15:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.