Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • | Wish List
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Kingwin Inc. > KINGWIN ADP-06 SATA to IDE Bridge Board

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 IDE SATA bidirectional adapter
Pros: - Good approach for attaching to a SATA drive (
- Adhesive sponge to retain to the SATA drive
- IDE <-> SATA bi-directional
- Jumper to select IDE->DATA or SATA->IDE operation
Cons: - Does not appear to work with ASUS DVD-Writer drive DRW-24F1ST. I tried two different adapters (1 from newegg, 1 from local shop) and both boards resulted in I/O errors after ~15-30 sec. (DVD drive works fine with normal SATA connection or with a PCI adapter card).

- I/O data errors with Windows XP, no matter which service pack is installed (SP1a/SP2/SP3). This occured with multiplr HDDs and CD/DVD drives.

- No jumper for master/slave selection when attaching to IDE cable. Not a problem if a single drive, could cause problems if multiple drives on a single IDE cable

- Cheaply built

- Arrived broken from Newegg
Other Thoughts: I simply could not get this adapter board to work. I even purchased an adapter from a local shop to make sure, and the results above (the CON's) occurred with both adapters. This adapter simply does not want to keep up with WinXP + ASUS DRW-24F1ST DVD Drive.

I eventually had to use a PCI adapter (Syba SD-VIA-1A2S) to meet my needs.

Finally, I have to knock a egg due to Newegg itself. The original board arrived with bent IDE pins, a crack on the SATA power connecter and it appears that the adhesive had been previously used. It is almost like someone else tried to use this, returned it to Newegg broken and then Newegg simply re-shipped without checking the condition...

I purchased a second board due to this, but both boards exhibits the I/O errors described above. I wish I could recommend the board - it is a clever design - but I cannot.
Reviewed By:Lo Vaquero,4/16/2014 1:27:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Syba > SYBA SD-ADA40077 mSATA SSD to 2.5-inch SATA Adapter

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Partly works, usb dead
Pros: Sata works with the msata drive I have on hand.
Cons: USB is totally non functional on 4 different computers, they dont even see a device.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Customer,

We are sorry to hear about the inconvenience this has caused you.

Have you tested the device using a different USB cable? It's possible the cable may be bad.

We would advise completing our RMA form for a replacement device.
http://www.sybausa.com/formExchange.php?myForm=1

For any other help please contact Syba support.

Thank you for purchasing one of our products, and for leaving us your valuable feedback.

Please feel free to contact us @ sybausa.com if you require further assistance.

-Regards SYBA CST 04182014

Reviewed By:rahlquist,4/16/2014 8:10:05 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Rosewill > Rosewill RCW-616 Laptop 2.5" to Desktop 3.5" IDE Hard Drive Adapter Converter

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: *Inexpensive
*Works as Advertised
*Free Shipping
Cons: The power leads were loose inside the connector and the wires don't seem secure in the connector either. I was still able to connect the opposite power connector from the hard drive to the adapter by pulling the power wires tightly into the bottom of the connector.
Other Thoughts: This product doesn't seem like it is made for use with multiple hard drives. If you are looking to hook it up to a laptop hard drive for the long term or perform a single data recovery operation then this product will do the trick.
Reviewed By:JackD,4/12/2014 11:40:22 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Rosewill > Rosewill RCW-616 Laptop 2.5" to Desktop 3.5" IDE Hard Drive Adapter Converter

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Flimsy but works
Pros: *Inexpensive
*Works as advertised
*Free Shipping
Cons: Power leads are loose inside the connector. The wires don't seem secured properly. Although I was still able to make it work by pulling the power wires tightly as inserted the opposite power connector.
Other Thoughts: Don't expect to be swapping this product with multiple hard drives, but if you are just looking to hook it up to a single hard drive for the long term or perform data recovery once on a lap top hard drive this item will do the job. and for the price it can't be beat.
Reviewed By:JackD,4/12/2014 11:33:16 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Syba > SYBA SD-CF-2IDE-U Dual Ultra IDE to Compact Flash Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Extra SATA3 Ports
Pros: This is my second identical card i've added to my FreeNAS server for additional ports. I can connect 16 SATA3 hard drives now although I only need 12 total. Spread out 2 drives on each of these cards to increase performance.
Cons: Supported in FreeNAS 9.1.1 and above.
Other Thoughts: These cards are small and don't block too much airflow.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/12/2014 9:08:39 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > STARTECH > StarTech ESATAPLATE2 2 Port SATA to eSATA Slot Plate Bracket

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Another good Startech product
Pros: Well designed, fits well and does the job
Cons: None
Reviewed By:5555215,4/11/2014 11:44:08 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Rosewill > Rosewill RC-A-SATA-IDE SATA to IDE Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: works flawless on SATA HDD
Cons: none
Reviewed By:N/A,4/10/2014 5:23:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Rosewill > Rosewill RA-MOLEX-SATA 4 pin female Molex to 15 pin male SATA adapter

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Handy item
Pros: Cheap, seems like decent quality, does what its supposed to do.
Cons: I had to trim the outer plastic (it's soft... pvc I would guess) a bit with a razor blade to get the adapter to seat fully in the Molex power connector for my Silverstone card reader. The connector is a little bit recessed in that device (maybe a mm or two).
Other Thoughts: Allowed me to put the Molex power cord for my modular power supply away, cleaning up the appearance of the case interior a little bit.
Reviewed By:Asc,4/4/2014 2:29:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Vantec > Vantec IDE to SATA Converter - Model CB-IS100

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awsome!
Pros: It works perfectly!
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Saros,4/4/2014 9:59:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Rosewill > Rosewill RC-204 IDE to SATA Mini Vertical Bridge (for IDE device)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 useless as supplied
Pros: Can't use it as-is so I don't know of any pros.
Cons: Does not come with a sata power cable, only the standard atx 4-pin connector. Out of the box you can't do anything with it. You need to find and buy a molex/sata converter cable and make sure you get the male/female ends right. If you're selling an adapter product, you'd think the kit would come complete with everything you need. There are competing products for the same money that come with the right power connectors. Can't use it unless you spend more money and too expensive to return. Frustrating.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Valued Customer,
Thank you very much for purchasing this unit.
We strive to provide the most reliable and highest quality products to our customers.

We are sorry to hear that, please contact our support team to assist you with warranty options.

Phone: 1- 800-575-9885
Email: rma@rosewill.com
Email2: techsupport@rosewill.com

We look forward to hearing from you.

Thanks,
Rosewill Customer Care

Reviewed By:bob12564,3/31/2014 6:25:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau