Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Syba > SYBA SY-ADA40050 Mini-SATA to 2.5" SATA Adapter

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Never Recieved
Pros: none - dont have the item
Cons: Don't have it. Been waiting over 3 weeks for delivery and making the SSD I bought useless.
Other Thoughts: Never received so can't provide actual review.
Reviewed By:N/A,10/18/2014 8:43:17 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > STARTECH > StarTech SAT32MSATPEX SATA to mSATA SSD Adapter w/ Full and Low Profile Brackets - SATA to Mini SATA Converter Card

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works pretty descent!
Pros: Boots my Windows 8.1pro PC fairly quick and no issues loading programs. I'm pretty satisfied with it but... (look @ cons)
Cons: Runs decently hot with my BP4 mSATA 240GB SSD which is rated for 560MB/s Read and 470MB/s Write and only get roughly 337MB's Read and 331MB/s Write using this adapter. Hmm...so I'll take of a star from it for this reason. Wish Description had a few more details...
Other Thoughts: I use the Startech 12" Model SATA22PEXT Cable to use this adapter because standard Sata Cables both power and data do not seem to fit properly on this adapter too well but this cable works great. I also improvised and rigged a fan to cool my msata ssd down to prevent it from overheating.
Reviewed By:gonzalant,10/18/2014 5:05:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > STARTECH > StarTech IDE2SAT IDE to SATA Drive Mounted Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Saved me money...
Pros: I have an old external hard drive that I want to keep using, because it has some special features (it connects with FireWire, serves as a USB hub, and fits precisely below my Mac mini). Its 3.5-inch IDE hard drive failed. Replacing the whole external drive with the newer SATA-based version would be costly. Replacing an IDE hard drive is also not cost-effecting these days. This affordable product is the solution.

I used a spare 2.5-inch (laptop-sized) SATA hard drive connected to this adapter. I also had a metal adapter bracket that came with an SSD, which secured the 2.5-inch drive plus adapter in the space used by a 3.5-inch drive, with room to spare.

Although not shown in the online product image, it comes with a power cable (already attached to adapter) that plugs into the common 4-pin "Molex" power connector used by 3.5-inch IDE drives. It is "pass-through," allowing another power connection, if needed.

The external drive sees it as an IDE hard drive. It's seamless. Because I used a 2.5-inch drive, it now runs much cooler (the whiny fan does not come on), with less noise from the hard drive.
Cons: None.
Reviewed By:ken1w,10/13/2014 3:16:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > STARTECH > StarTech IDE2CF IDE to Compact Flash SSD Adapter

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: Has jumpers for Master / Slave.
Has jumper for 5V / 3.3V card support.
Has connectors for both desktop and notebook computers, not sure how you would use the notebook commuter cable though unless you were to use the 5V on the notebook connector with yet another adapter.
Cons: The width of the mounting screws are a not quite wide enough to mount into a "plastic" 2.5" to 3.5" drive holder. I ended up only using one screw but that is enough.
Having the 4 pin power connector coming out the side was another mounting issue. Had to cut part of the "plastic" drive holder to run the cable out. I also had to bend the connector up.
Had to use a plastic holder because the electronics and jumpers run out to the edge of the board and I was afraid of shorting with the board.
Other Thoughts: Works well and did have any issues I couldn't work around. Just wish it would mount in a 2.5" to 3.5" holder better.
Reviewed By:N/A,10/12/2014 6:25:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > STARTECH > StarTech 25SAT35HDD 2.5" to 3.5" SATA Aluminum Hard Drive Adapter Enclosure with SSD / HDD Height up to 12.5mm

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 easy
Pros: easy to use, and it fit's just right in the hard drive place.
Cons: none
Reviewed By:wdtoolman,10/12/2014 5:57:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Rosewill > Rosewill RC-204 IDE to SATA Mini Vertical Bridge (for IDE device)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Nice when it works, but that's not always
Pros: With devices it "likes" it works fine. It's liked a variety of PATA optical drives and, up until yesterday, a couple of PATA HDs I'd had occasiona to use it with.
Cons: IME it either likes a PATA HD or else it "hangs". Symptoms I saw included long delays in the BIOS up to inability to load the boot loader or OS image. If the OS loaded, the drive might or might not be visible; if visible, it was inaccesible. And yeah, I know all about needing to strap the drive to be the IDE master; they were.

tl;dr: the adapter can fail for no visible reason.
Other Thoughts: Yesterday I began to understand the poor reviews it sometimes gets. I was wiping some drives, a mixed lot, and the machine I had handy had only SATA 6Gb ports. The adapter worked with a 40G Seagate and the 120G WD drives, while failing with the 120G Seagate and an old 3G WD. Didn't torture myself with the others, swapped machines for one with real PATA at that point.

I'd give it zero stars if i could - an adapter that works when it "feels like it" isn't worth buying.
Reviewed By:curmudgeonly guy,10/11/2014 3:12:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Syba > SYBA SD-CF-IDE-DI IDE to Compact Flash Adapter ( Direct Insertion Mode )

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 junk
Pros: none
Cons: no proper DMA support. slow as molasses. won't even work with some open source operating systems. would return it but not worth the hassle.
Reviewed By:nighthawk,10/11/2014 1:54:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Apricorn > APRICORN VEL-SOLO-X1 Performance SSD Upgrade Kit for Desktop PCs and MacPro

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome piece of hardware!
Pros: Firstly, this isn't just for SSDs. I mounted a standard 2.5" HDD on this and it works flawlessly on the first try. Also, big plus for including all the screws too. No extra power is needed for the board mounted HDD since it pulls right from the PCIe slot.
Cons: Expensive.
Other Thoughts: This is a great piece of hardware to add another hard drive to your system if you've got no place to put it. The drive mounts right on the PCIe board AND you get an additional SATA port as well. Compatible with both SSDs and conventional HDDs. Speed is great. Installed quickly. Was detected by Windows on first boot and didn't have to do anything but format the drive.
Reviewed By:Hexadecimal,10/11/2014 12:14:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Syba > SYBA SD-ADA40077 mSATA SSD to 2.5-inch SATA Adapter

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Nice Idea, Poor execution
Pros: Looks good and sturdy. Fairly easy to put together
Cons: USB didn't work out of the box; Drive detection is intermittent; will not stay connected.
Other Thoughts: I decided to use this device with my Crucial mSATA 256 SSD drive in my Home Server since the 64GB SSD I was originally going to use was too small. Started the installation of WHS2011 to the drive and it started the unattended install. It never finished, the drive disappeared from the system never to be seen again.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Customer,

We are more than happy to provide all of our customers with a prompt exchange whenever a

product becomes defective.

SYBA offers an online RMA form, the user can easily fill out the form and submit it for a

quick RMA return and exchange. It is SYBA's policy to answer all customer inquiries within

24 hours (M-F)

Thank you for purchasing one of our products, and for leaving us your valuable feedback.

-Regards SYBA CST 10102014

Reviewed By:Progodelic,10/8/2014 3:44:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Kingwin Inc. > KINGWIN ADP-06 SATA to IDE Bridge Board

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Stuttering performance on BLU-RAY DVD
Pros: Fits physically well. That's it.
Cons: Absolutely bad performance. It does work in a sense that BLU-RAY DVD drive responds, reads and writes. But the performance is bad... Somehow data gets through a bottleneck in the transfer and it appears the bottleneck works alternatively sending <-> receiving data. Result appears as jerk movement and sound on screen...
Reviewed By:N/A,10/4/2014 1:54:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau