Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > BYTECC INC > BYTECC SATA Adapter SATA to IDE Converter For Drive

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Might as well order the photo
Pros: Thing was DOA.Checked the voltages and this thing was dead on arrival. Got the same functionality as you would a sheet of paper. Yes, that is the Pro.....
Cons: Cons? I wasted a minute writing a review for garbage.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/24/2014 4:14:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Kingwin Inc. > KINGWIN ADP-06 SATA to IDE Bridge Board

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Disappointed
Pros: Low cost. It did work on a test computer at work. I could "see" my new SATA SSD on the IDE connector, partition it, format it, read/write, etc.
Cons: It won't work with anything else on the IDE cable, it has to be "alone". It also won't work in the machine I had planned to use it with. The BIOS doesn't even "see" a HD there. It was also difficult to get reliable results on my main PC at home. At one point, there was an error on the drive that caused XP to completely lock-up any time I tried to access it. (CTRL-ALT-DEL was ignored, only hard reset would get the machine running.)

When I put the SSD onto a USB/SATA adapter I have, I was able to reformat and repartition it. No problems, no lockups, perfect read/write, so the SATA drive is fine. The problem is with this adapter.
Other Thoughts: I'm glad it was only $10. Probably not even worth returning. Maybe it will work on some other machine, or with a different SATA drive. I'll hang onto it, at least.
Reviewed By:Willie...,12/23/2014 5:20:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Atech Flash Technology > AFT U3-20A USB 3.0 to 20-Pin Adapter for Motherboard

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: Had this hooked up to my mobo for 2+ years, no problems at all
Inexpensive
Cons: Bulky, especially with my case header's cables hooked up to it. I had to shave off the corners of the connectors to fit it in between all my hookups.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/20/2014 2:09:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Apricorn > APRICORN VEL-SOLO-X1 Performance SSD Upgrade Kit for Desktop PCs and MacPro

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Sweet!!!!
Pros: Well made, simple instructions, drivers and utilities were no hassle to download and install. It is SO nice to have a product work as advertised right out of the box. I will be buying at least two more.
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: Easy way to spruce up an older system.
Reviewed By:DIY-Guy,12/19/2014 6:59:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Syba > SYBA SY-MRA55005 Multipurpose 5.25" Bay Adapter for Slim Optical Drive and 2.5" SATA I / II / III

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Power adapter
Pros: 2 USB3 ports and optical dirve and sata drive bay in 5.25 bay.
Cons: No power adapter for slim optical drive. No adapter built in to connect slim drive to back-plane on back of drive cage
Other Thoughts: You have to buy separate power adapter for optical drive. Using this for a itx low power build.
Reviewed By:Anon,12/19/2014 4:25:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Syba > SYBA SY-MRA55005 Multipurpose 5.25" Bay Adapter for Slim Optical Drive and 2.5" SATA I / II / III

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 annoyed
Pros: The unit seems solidly built, was easy to install, and gives more flexability to cases that have limited 5.25in bays.
Reasonably priced. Newegg experience always excellent, very fast delivery.
Cons: The first time I attempted to eject the ssd drive from the unit, it seems to be stuck. One reason I purchased this adapter was the hot swap accessibility. I intended to be able to interchange drives easily. Big disappointment when discovering drive is stuck and will not eject.
Other Thoughts: I normally would not write a review unless I really had a great experience with a product or a very poor experience, clearly I have the latter w/this product. Upon installation everything went very smoothly, nothing to indicate a problem. Very bad feeling discovering that I had wasted time and money on a product. Caveat emptor, "let the buyer beware".
Manufacturer Response:Dear Customer,

We apologize for your dissatisfaction with the quality of this HUB.

Certain cimilar hubs will come equipped with a lever which will help eject the device.

Our tech support team is more than happy to provide any information you may need when

determining the compatibility and specification of a device.

Thank you for purchasing one of our products, and for leaving us your valuable feedback.

-Regards SYBA CST 12262014

Reviewed By:N/A,12/14/2014 7:22:23 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Koutech > Koutech IO-ASA100 SATA to IDE Device Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good Product.
Pros: Cheap easy solution to upgrade older computers.
Cons: none
Reviewed By:N/A,12/8/2014 4:10:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Syba > SYBA SD-ADA50016 SATA to IDE (IDE to SATA) Bi-Directional Adapter

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Almost Perfect
Pros: Solves a simple problem simply - old IDE device (hard drive, optical drive) installed in a modern, SATA-0nly system. Worked flawlessly on an old hard drive but only partially on an HP 1040 DVD writer with LightScribe - I could read and write media but LightScribe did not work.
Cons: Assumes that the host computer will have MOLEX 4-pin power connectors and thus comes with a male MOLEX cable. Newer computers will have no MOLEX connectors at all, only SATA power connectors. After I realized this, I had to purchase a somewhat rare male SATA to female MOLEX connector, which Newegg did have.

I also thought the provided MOLEX cable could have been better designed, with shorter wire. If one uses the SATA to MOLEX adapter cable with the provided cable, the total cable run is 16" (400mm) and that is a lot of excess.
Other Thoughts: The device adds 1.6" (40mm) of depth to the attached device. Make sure that the host PC has enough room for that extra depth in its drive bays. Also make sure that the cables do not unduly stress the device or the leverage could dislodge the device from the attached IDE drive.
Reviewed By:Will F.,12/7/2014 6:38:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Syba > SYBA SD-ADA40077 mSATA SSD to 2.5-inch SATA Adapter

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Huh?
Pros: Works
Cons: Sketchy performance? Without the adapter I get much faster boot times 100% of the time, though it only boots fast sometimes with it while other times it hangs at the windows logo for up to a few minutes.
Manufacturer Response:We apologize for your dissatisfaction with the quality of this adapter.

We are more than happy to provide all of our customers with a prompt exchange whenever a

product becomes defective.

SYBA offers an online RMA form, the user can easily fill out the form and submit it for a

quick RMA return and exchange. It is SYBA's policy to answer all customer inquiries within

24 hours (M-F)

Thank you for purchasing one of our products, and for leaving us your valuable feedback.

-Regards SYBA CST 12262014

Reviewed By:Dizzle,12/6/2014 8:32:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Adapters > Apricorn > APRICORN VEL-DUO Velocity Duo x2 - Dual SSD RAID Upgrade Kit for Desktop PCs and MacPro

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works Great!
Pros: Works fine in my Mac Pro 2010 with no issues. I have 2 Crucial 500Gb SSD's in a hardware RAID 0 array. Blackmagic disk speed test returns about 650MB/s read or write. Not as fast as claimed but still speedier than a single SSD on a built in SATA-2 port.
Cons: Not as fast as claimed but still speedier than a single SSD attached to a native SATA-2 port. To set up hardware RAID you must first install the card in a real PC and enter the card's BIOS at boot time, set up your array and save your config. Then install the card in your Mac Pro. Could use a Mac utility to make this easier.
Other Thoughts: Time will tell how durable this setup is but it seems ok after 3 months.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/2/2014 5:35:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.