Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > USB Converters > Vantec > Vantec 2.5"/3.5"/5.25" SATA/IDE to USB 2.0 Adapter - Model CB-ISATAU2

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works great
Pros: Worked great on an old hard drive from the early 2000's and a hard drive out of an old Mac book G4. Extremely easy to use and glad I bought it.
Cons: None.
Reviewed By:N/A,2/25/2015 10:59:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > USB Converters > Apricorn > APRICORN ASW-USB3-25 USB3.0 to SATA Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 superb product
Pros: I used the 2.0 kit and after, the 3.0 kit since about 5 years. With my old x200 I booted first with the 2.0 with cd. Since my 8470P, I use the 3.0, booting with a sd card. I backup every 2 weeks and I never had any problems, even from a bigger to a smaller drive if the data in the source drive is smaller than the data in the destination drive.
Cons: none. A superb product at a superb price
Other Thoughts: Buy it!
Reviewed By:Frenchi,2/25/2015 2:48:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > USB Converters > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TU2-ET100 USB to 10/100Mbps Adapter

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Worked until it didnt
Pros: Worked just fine on my Surface 3.
Cons: Stopped working after a 1ft fall.
Reviewed By:N/A,2/25/2015 11:33:17 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > USB Converters > INSTEN > Insten 1068225 1X Micro USB OTG to USB 2.0 Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: How handy. It does what it's supposed to. Works on my Dell Venue 8 Pro tablet running full version Windows 8.1
Tested it with a USB mouse.
Cons: None so far
Other Thoughts: Cool beans
Reviewed By:sweepy,2/25/2015 8:25:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > USB Converters > Tek Republic > Tek Republic TUN-310 USB 3.0 3 Port Hub with Gigabit Ethernet Wired Network Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 ultrabook necessity
Pros: purchased both a powered hub Vantec UGT-MH-330GNA and a Tekrepublic TUN-310
The Vantec is of course is better with plenty of power for peripheral devices. Both hubs do not need a driver for USB operation, but use the same AX88179a driver for the LAN port function. Both function a near gigabit speed and USB 3.0 use is faultless.

The Tekrepublic adapter is lighter and more convenient but gets very warm when imaging a drive, which you probably would not be doing while traveling.
These both work well on my new Lenovo Yogi 2 .

Note: Instructions for installation for Vantec were completely wrong and setup failed. Go to directory UGT-MH-330GNA\Windows\Win(your version)\program files\ASIX Electronics Corporation\ AX88179_AX88178A Windows 8 Drivers\ 32bit or 64bit. In the final directory are only 5 files use Dpinst.exe wait about 30 seconds use devcon.exe.

For the tekrepublic you have to download the correct setup as a zip archive. Downloaded archive and looked inside same driver is listed. Not sure which is most current so using driver installed from Vantec.
Cons: instruction lacking
Reviewed By:oldgeek,2/24/2015 3:27:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > USB Converters > Vantec > VANTEC CB-ISA200-U3 IDE/SATAIII to USB 3.0 Adapter

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 bad power suppy switch
Pros: Works when connected off a 4pin power header inside the case. Was able to transfer old files and backup on new drive.
Cons: The supplied power supply is junk, The on/off flip switch is intermittent. Often times drive won't spin up or while in use the power will cut off, flick the switch housing with your finger and power will come back to drive. Need to reengineer the switch and this product would get 4/5 stars.
Other Thoughts: Handy device if you're using a laptop or moving it around from PC to PC. Really need to fix the power switch design. I will switch over to a PCI-e card with a legacy IDE connection.
Reviewed By:pchrosto,2/22/2015 8:24:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > USB Converters > STARTECH > StarTech USB3S2SAT3CB USB 3.0 to 2.5” SATA III Hard Drive Adapter Cable w/ UASP

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Sophisticated huh...
Pros: Makes sure she smokes and wears high heels next time. Thus you should get your sophisticated looks.
Cons: need to follow directions and stop peaking up her dress.
Reviewed By:Scott,2/21/2015 5:34:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
0 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > USB Converters > Vantec > Vantec 2.5"/3.5"/5.25" SATA/IDE to USB 2.0 Adapter - Model CB-ISATAU2

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Seems like a good product
Pros: I bought this to get a bunch of stuff off of an old IDE drive from my last build that was laying around. The setup is straight forward and simple enough; if you're familiar with drives than you'll understand the plug, if not than you probably shouldn't be using this anyway. Check your jumper.
Cons: I had to copy about 200GB of data. It was going smoothly until it hit 20% when I heard the drive die. I don't know how to type the sound, but you'll know it if you hear it. I could also start to smell it - it obviously locked up. I don't want to blame to adapter, maybe the power supply though. But even that is speculation as my drive was pretty old and the things just die sometimes.

My point is this - don't copy large amounts all at once. Copy in small batches. The drive may have just been working too hard, so I should have have copied some, let it cool down, and copied some more.

Good luck!
Reviewed By:Pete,2/21/2015 1:38:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > USB Converters > Vantec > Vantec NexStar 2.5"/3.5" SATA to SuperSpeed USB 3.0 Storage Adapter - Model CB-SATAU3

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 USB 3.0 to SATA III success
Pros: USB 3.0, SATA III, LED on SATA connector shows power and data, long cable, on/off cable switch, Windows 8 didn't need drivers.

I have purchased several powered SATA to USB cables and cases before which have had various issues, but this has been great by allowing direct connections to USB ports. Can get power directly from USB 3.0 port.

I have only had it about a month and have not tried it with any of my SSD drives or SED drives to know whether the electronics will interfere with SED (Self Encrypting Drive) technology which I would like to use with it.

I have tried it with a 3.5" Seagate Barracuda 4GB drive and a 2.5" Western Digital 120GB drive and both function fast and flawlessly when connected to different machines.

I have not run any speed tests but I'm going by previous experiences with reads and writes to external drives.
Cons: Haven't found any big enough to mention so far.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this to friends.
Reviewed By:Neo,2/19/2015 9:07:00 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > USB Converters > INSTEN > Insten 359811 1 x USB Type A to RJ45 Ethernet Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 This will not allow you to set up a NAS
Pros: You CAN use this to charge devices via an Ethernet port. Cool if you have extra Ethernet ports and lack of USB ports around.
Cons: You CANNOT turn a regular hard-drive into a NAS unless you have a supporting router/ firmware that will recognize anything other than a computer. Normal hard-drives will not be recognized even as network storage without a processor.
Other Thoughts: I have not tested connecting a real NAS Hard-drive to a compatible/ Non compatible router so I do not know if it will appear over the network that way. If you're router supports external storage it's a couple dollar investment so might be worth the time.

Thought I'd create a quick NAS solution from an old hard-drive but thought wrong :(
Reviewed By:Tyler,2/18/2015 11:29:41 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.