Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Limited Time Only! Newegg Premier is now only $29.99/year. Sign up now.
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > USB Converters > Vantec > VANTEC CB-SATAU3-6 NexStar SATA 6Gbps to USB 3.0 Adapter - 2.5"/3.5"/5.25"/SSDs

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 HD Killer
Pros: Quick Transfer Rates
Cons: Has killed 2 hard drives on me now. Both new out of the box. Thought the first one was bad luck. Worked for about an hour. Unplugged when I was done with it, plugged it back in when I needed it... click of death. 2 weeks later, another hard drive, unplugged it for 30 seconds to reroute the wire, plugged back in, hard drive is completely dead.
Other Thoughts: Aside from having good throughput on the usb 3.0 bus, this thing is garbage. Kills hard drives, and the connector is a bit on the loose side.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/23/2014 9:53:34 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > USB Converters > BYTECC INC > BYTECC BT-350 Super Speed USB 3.0 to SATA/IDE Adaptor w/ OTB(One Touch Backup)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Completely Worthless
Pros: None.
Cons: Tried to get this working with 3 different drives on two different computers, one Windows 7 and one Windows 8.1. Each detected a USB device being connected, but never recognized the drive. Not even BIOS/UEFI saw it as a USB device.
Other Thoughts: Caused device manager to continually refresh the device tree, which leads me to believe there is a problem with the USB implementation on this device.
Reviewed By:jmwpc,7/22/2014 6:08:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > USB Converters > Vantec > Vantec 2.5"/3.5"/5.25" SATA/IDE to USB 2.0 Adapter - Model CB-ISATAU2

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice thing to have around
Pros: After I bought a cheap one of these hard-drive-to-USB adapter cables, and it burned up a drive, I purchased THIS one. It works very well, especially for such a small investment. The power source is logical and it has an on-off switch so that you can change drives, even IDEs, without turning the computer off. Works for laptop drives, too.
Cons: While it isn't entirely clear which end of the IDE connector should go on the 1 pin, it's pretty easy to draw a conclusion, and nothing bad happens if you put it on backwards.
Reviewed By:Skwertball,7/22/2014 12:20:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > USB Converters > APEVIA CORP. > Apevia CVTUSB32 USB 3.0 to USB 2.0 Converter Cable

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 USB 3 to USB 2 converter
Pros: Exact fit and easy to install.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Converter was an excellent remedy for an older mother board without USB 3 IO.
Reviewed By:Althor,7/22/2014 10:02:14 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > USB Converters > Apricorn > APRICORN ADW-USB-KIT IDE/PATA/SATA to USB HDD Adapter

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Purchased 6/13/12
Pros: This is my third review of this item since I bought it a little over two years ago. At first, I gave it a glowing review. It worked like a charm, as advertised. After about a year, probably a dozen drives duplicated later, I posted back about the 4 pin molex power connector being finicky, just took some placement in the right spot, once connected and recognized by USB on PC, all was dandy. Moving along...
Cons: This 4 pin molex connector, by the time I'd duplicated maybe 2 dozen drive tops, was nearly impossible to make connection. This morning, While trying to clone another drive, everything attached, nothing was happening, then suddenly, the ding d(o)ng from Windows, USB adapters installed... Awesome, I'm in business again. Launched the software and start the drive clone. Didn't touch a thing. It starts out with about 32 minutes remaining, then suddenly jumps to 7 minutes remaining and I'm getting write errors. Uh oh, USB connection is lost. Let's try this again. OUCH!, that SSD drive is freaking HOT!!! so is the Apricorn adapter!
Other Thoughts: Well, after two year, this unit is in the trash. I can't really complain after two years. When it worked, it was a real time saver not having to reinstall windows and download ALL those updates again. Every time the software said it was a successful clone, I'd simply swap the drives, fire up the computer, one restart for new SSD driver and I was in business.

I don't mind so much when an electronic unit fails after a couple of years (yes, it's sad that in this day and age, that's what people come to expect out of electronics anymore...), but what sorta kinda bums me out is that the OCX drive that was connected to it is totally dead, this drive is less than a year old, had very little use and had already been used twice with this Apricorn adapter for having a OS cloned on to it with perfect success. Fortunately, it was one of my cheap drives, one I never really cared for. So I decided to pitch this Apricorn adapter before I get tempted to hook one of my beloved Samsung SSD drives to it, if it were to fry one of those, I'd be a little more miffed.

This was a great piece of hardware, but extremely cheaply built. You;ll see my last review of this product isn't that far down, and the one right above mine mentioned frying a drive. I can confirm that it indeed can fry a drive, so buyer beware.

Guess I'll give the USB 3.0 cable a try next, it's a shame, I liked this one because of its flexibility for use with several types of IDE/SATA drives.

If they were to actually make this thing a lot more robust, I wouldn't hesitate to repurchase, even at USB 2 speed, it's that convenient, but now the risk has exceeded the reward.
Reviewed By:Rod,7/21/2014 12:41:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > USB Converters > OKGEAR > OKGEAR OK4250 2.5" SATA HDD to USB 3.0 Adapter w/ Cable & Silicon Protection Case

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 confusing
Pros: does what it's intended to... sort of. See other thoughts.
Cons: unclear instructions
Other Thoughts: I was hoping for this to be a simple plug-and-play for cloning a hard drive. However, I learned the hard way that USB 3.0 has a higher voltage output than USB 2.0. Therefore, it was impossible to clone a hard drive from a laptop that didn't have USB 3.0. Fortunately, i was able to get the drive copied by plugging it into my desktop, and cloning to the new drive over a USB 3.0 port that it (the desktop pc) had.
Reviewed By:Blakbox21,7/20/2014 7:15:09 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > USB Converters > Vantec > Vantec 2.5"/3.5"/5.25" SATA/IDE to USB 2.0 Adapter - Model CB-ISATAU2

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works Great
Pros: Small, Easy, quick. Lets me use extra salvaged Hard Drives as external backup.
Cons: Didn't seem to be working first time I used it. No idea why...
Reviewed By:Ted The Fiddler,7/17/2014 1:18:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > USB Converters > Vantec > Vantec 2.5"/3.5"/5.25" SATA/IDE to USB 2.0 Adapter - Model CB-ISATAU2

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice tool to save data
Pros: USB 2 means I can use in on almost any system. No enclosure means I don't even have to remove the drive from the system to use it. Very easy to use.
Cons: While a USB 3 device would be faster I knew this when buying it. Power brick is a little large.
Other Thoughts: Have used to get files from HD's when system died, and to recover files from a formatted HD. Solid choice for a basic tool.
Reviewed By:RudeDogDan,7/16/2014 4:11:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > USB Converters > Vantec > Vantec NexStar 2.5"/3.5" SATA to SuperSpeed USB 3.0 Storage Adapter - Model CB-SATAU3

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice Product For The Money
Pros: I have purchased several powered SATA to USB 3.0 transfer cables in the past year and have not had good luck with any of them. One operated fine with a 2.5" drive, but the power supply didn't have enough "juice" to power up a 3.5" drive.

This Vantec NexStar appears to be an exception. I have had it about a month now and have used it a number of times with both 2.5" and 3.5" drives and SSDs and have experienced no issues whatsoever.

I first used it to create a system image (74.4GB) of a Samsung Pro 256GB SSD on a 1TB Seagate Barracuda 7200 RPM SATA 6GB drive, and it made the image in 7 minutes and 31 seconds. As a test, I connected the same Seagate drive directly to a SATA 6GB connector on my computer and it made the same system image in 7 minutes an 2 seconds.
Cons: Fairly minor.

The power switch is located almost directly in the center of the power cable which I find a bit odd (why not locate it closer to the SATA connector?) but it's not enough of an issue to dock it an egg (if you need the power switch closer to you, simply plug the wall wart into an extension cord).
Other Thoughts: The (wall wart) power supply cable is 62" long and the USB cable (attached to the SATA adapter) is 48" long. It's a heavy duty cable, but it is long enough so as not to be inflexible (it's 0.19" -- or 4.5mm thick -- or about 2/3 the thickness of most modern SSDs).

There is a red LED that lights up when you turn power on. The SATA connector "case" is about 2/3 the size of a deck of cards and about 80 percent as thick.

It's a fairly simply unit but the construction appears to be sturdy and it has worked fine so far. If you are looking for a powered SATA to USB 3.0 transfer cable, this one is decent for the money.

I would recommend it to friends.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/14/2014 11:18:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > USB Converters > SIIG, Inc > SIIG IC-710112-S1 7.1 Channels USB Digital External Surround Sound Device - Retail

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Win 8.1 Instant Install
Pros: Easy Install, Great Sound Quality
Cons: It takes up a tiny bit of desk space. Not a problem for me.
Other Thoughts: Plug-n-Play worked perfectly. New wireless card messed with motherboard sound drivers, for $40 it made more sense to try a different route to get sound working again. Almost glad the drivers had conflict, because it led me to this device. The sound quality is amazing. No problems so far and very pleased with the ease of use, construction, quality and superb sound.
Reviewed By:MikeReedKS,7/14/2014 12:54:45 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau