Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > USB Converters > BYTECC INC > BYTECC BT-300 USB 2.0 to IDE/SATA Adapter

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 i'll tell lyou right now
Pros: once yoiu get an extender cable i'm sure it is ok., but NOT ready to use out of box.

price

nice power supply
Cons: unusable on hp common notebooks

you need to spend extra for something that should have been included.

sloppy research on notebook hd confuguration by this manuf.
Other Thoughts: this makes my second of these devices. the first one is good, no probloem. i will tell you the problme right now with this thing.

forget about plugging it into a hp 8460 hard drive. the mounting screws on the hard drive make this device's interface imcompatbles, because the mounting screws extend one on either side and this device is solid molded, so you need a f/m 7 pin and also a f/m 15 pin sata extender cable for data and power, respectively. Granted, these are only about three bucks a pop calbes, but they SHOULD have been included, especially for the common, corporate, hp laptop. would NOT buy it again.
Reviewed By:grumpy,5/4/2015 7:10:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > USB Converters > Coboc > Coboc AD-U32GIGABIT-BK Black color USB 3.0 to 10/100/1000Mbps Gigabit Ethernet Adapter - USB to RJ45 Network converter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works with Chromebook
Pros: Plug-n-play on Chrome OS.
Able to saturate a 150M/s Internet connection, showed about 25MB/s transfers to and from a local server. Clearly running 1 GB/s.
Cons: None so far.
Other Thoughts: Bigger than the "default" picture makes it look - the cable is 4" long of the 6" overall length, and fairly stiff. Looks big attached to a Toshiba Chromebook2. Check out the additional pics for better representation.

It did not get noticeably warm during my testing, but I didn't use it very much.

Still, pretty small overall. Tossed it right in the travel bag for the Chromebook for use in a pinch when there's no WiFi available.
Reviewed By:Paul,5/4/2015 8:18:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > USB Converters > STARTECH > StarTech USB3S2SAT3CB USB 3.0 to 2.5” SATA III Hard Drive Adapter Cable w/ UASP

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works Flawlessly
Pros: Works as advertised.
No Issues for OSX
No Issues for Windows 7 and 8.1
USB 3.0
Cons: None to date.
Other Thoughts: Worked just as intended. Plugged in a hard drive and a hard drive showed up on the desktop. I've successfully used on OSX Yosemite, Windows 7, and Windows 8.1 with no issues.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/2/2015 9:15:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > USB Converters > STARTECH > StarTech USB3S2SAT3CB USB 3.0 to 2.5” SATA III Hard Drive Adapter Cable w/ UASP

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 This thing is great
Pros: I've owned several ide/sata to usb converters and this is by far the best sata adapter I have seen.
Cons: None whatsoever.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/2/2015 3:42:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > USB Converters > Kingwin Inc. > KINGWIN ADP-07U3 USB 3.0 to SSD & SATA Adapter

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Junk
Pros: SATA to USB3 cable powers SSD and 2.5" drive
Cons: Flaky until it totally broke
Reviewed By:N/A,5/1/2015 7:53:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > USB Converters > Addonics Technologies > Addonics NASU2 NAS Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Just What I Needed
Pros: Connection was fast, shows up on every PC on my network, and hasn't dropped off for any reason. I couldn't ask for it to work better. Powers an external 2.5" hard drive enclosure/hard drive through the USB port with no problems.
Cons: The Manual. It reads like it was from this product 2 generations ago. If you are shopping for this item, you are probably the kind of person that can figure it out. It was not a big deal; you have to get the spirit of the task from the "manual" and then kind of feel your way through it. Definitely also look at the manufacturer's website. The info there is more current. This isn't a big con, since once you get it set up it seems to work great.
Other Thoughts: I am using this with a Transcend TS0GSJ25S3 2.5" USB 3.0 hard drive enclosure, which holds a spare SATA laptop hard drive I had leftover. Both items were through Newegg. Basically I made my own cheap NAS. It's NASty! Ha ha! Sorry.
Reviewed By:Lunchbox,4/30/2015 12:25:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > USB Converters > STARTECH > StarTech USB3S2SAT3CB USB 3.0 to 2.5” SATA III Hard Drive Adapter Cable w/ UASP

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Worked flawlessly
Pros: Worked as specified, I was able to transfer my Dell Latitude note's system and data to a larger driver quickly without any problems
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Merv W,4/30/2015 12:16:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > USB Converters > STARTECH > StarTech USB3S2SAT3CB USB 3.0 to 2.5” SATA III Hard Drive Adapter Cable w/ UASP

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Didn't work for me.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Didn't work for what I need/expect.
Other Thoughts: Had an used HD WD BLUE 640Gb with some files on. My idea was access the files wipe some and then back up new stuff on. I can see the drive but it is "greyed out" and I can't access it.
I feel like there is not enough power to spin or perhaps I am doing something wrong.
I might refund once there is no use for me.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Anderson,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the USB3S2SAT3CB cable. We appreciate you taking the time to provide this feedback, and we would like to offer some assistance.

An online search reveals that there are both 3.5” and a 2.5” WD Blue 640 GB drive variants. If your hard drive is 3.5” that may explain the issue; this product is only designed for 2.5” drives due to USB power limitations.

You also mentioned that the drive is “greyed out” and that you are unable to access it. Can you let us know if your computer is running Windows or Mac OS? Are you able to try another 2.5” drive to see if the same issue occurs?

Furthermore, are you utilizing this cable with a USB 3.0 port? USB 3.0 provides nearly twice the power of USB 2.0, so if you are connecting your hard drive to a USB 2.0 port that may explain any power issues.

If you have the time, please get in touch with us and reference case # 303-225329. We would be happy to troubleshoot the problem with you further.

Thank you,

Customer Support
StarTech.com
http://www.startech.com/techsupport

Reviewed By:N/A,4/29/2015 3:10:09 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > USB Converters > Vantec > Vantec 2.5"/3.5"/5.25" SATA/IDE to USB 2.0 Adapter - Model CB-ISATAU2

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Amazing and Cheap
Pros: Has worked perfectly for over 5 years
Cons: None. it does what it says it does
Other Thoughts: Worth every single penny. Buy it now. I bought another company's product while I was on-site 2 years after I bought this one. That one has already died, this one still lives on.

I would recommend Purchasing a Sata Data + Power cable as well.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/24/2015 2:44:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > USB Converters > GWC Technology Inc. > Fast Ethernet Network Adapter(10/100) for Windows, Mac OS X, MacBook, Linux, ChromeBook, Surface Pro, Wii, Wii U, and Android Tablets (ASIX AX88772) - USB to RJ45

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works perfectly
Pros: Easy to use
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: I have a Dell Inspiron 15 laptop running Windows 8.1 that does not have an ethernet port which is why I purchased this product. It came with a CD for installation of drivers but my laptop doesn't have an internal CD drive either. So I simply plugged this device into the USB on my laptop and attached the ethernet cable and tried it out. Worked perfectly without issue.
Reviewed By:Eddie,4/24/2015 9:33:36 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.