Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > USB Converters > STARTECH > StarTech USB3S2SAT3CB USB 3.0 to 2.5" SATA III Hard Drive Adapter Cable w/ UASP

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice!
Pros: Works like a charm.Plug is secure which is a real surprise.
Cons: None(so far)
Other Thoughts: Using this for sweetie's laptop as a 500GB flash HDD cable.Works
Reviewed By:Michael B.,5/4/2016 5:14:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > USB Converters > Syba > SYBA SD-CM-UAUD USB Stereo Audio Adapter

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Product works like it should
Pros: This product is simply plug and play on my windows 8.1 computer.
Cons: I tried it on my laptop once , it didn't automatically change the default audio output to it. A couple clicks and it worked perfectly.
Other Thoughts: Only thing , is you have to wait a couple minutes for the driver to install (the windows driver when a usb device is connected).
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/3/2016 8:50:57 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > USB Converters > Sabrent > SABRENT USB-DSC7 USB 3.0 to SATA 2.5"/3.5"/5.25" Hard Drive Converter with Power Supply & LED Activity Lights

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Died after two years
Pros: Was great until it failed
Cons: Thought my HDD would go a lot sooner than a simple adapter
Reviewed By:Mark L.,5/2/2016 3:06:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > USB Converters > Apricorn > APRICORN ADW-USB-KIT IDE/PATA/SATA to USB HDD Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 *EDITED* Bad Power Connector Port
Pros: Great for cloning, extracting data and etc.
Simple and very easy to use.
Connects to all kinds of HDDs.
Even includes a bootable CD to clone drives. Extra awesome.
Overall great product.
Cons: This might just pertain to just me but it seems after about a couple months of using this product, the male side of the AC adapter connector on the DriveWire itself is not connecting properly.

Unfortunately I discovered this issue when I was in the process of taking a look at a customer's hard drive and the slightest movement in the wire would lose contact with the adapter and therefore suddenly lose power to the hard drive connected. Of course, this could easily cause hard drive problems with sudden disconnections especially while data is being accessed or extracted.

Unfortunately for me, I had to cut out the serial number on the bottom in order to utilize the $10 money back coupon. According to Apricorn's warranty policy, any item without a serial number will be voided of any warranty. Seems saving a mere ten dollars wasn't worth it...

I inquired for a replacement due to the issues mentioned above and they sent me a new replacement. Great product but keep in mind of the issues.
Reviewed By:Wei L.,5/1/2016 9:47:28 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > USB Converters > Vantec > Vantec 2.5" / 3.5" / 5.25" SATA / IDE to USB 2.0 Adapter - Model CB-ISATAU2

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 So nice to use, and works with drives with no problems
Pros: Has nice speed and connection with drives, and I've tried over 6 with it. Works with SATA, both IDE types, and has little to no problems working through USB.
Cons: The speed might be a little slow at times, but it never was that much of an issue. I only used it to recover files from old drives though.
Reviewed By:Kelly P.,4/30/2016 2:34:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > USB Converters > OKGEAR > OKGEAR OK108 2.5 inch SATA to USB 2.0 Adapter Cable w/2.5" HDD Protection Case

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Quick and Simple and Right On Price
Pros: This is a great little connector for 2.5" sata drives. I use this both at home and work to connect drives I am recovering data from. It is just as simple as plug into drive then connect to usb and go! If you need to connect a 2.5" sata drive externally for any reason this is the product for you. Especially at this price.
Cons: No real cons, but that said I will mention the included rubber case isn't really anything exciting and doesn't grip the drive as tightly as I would like but really if you are swapping drives as much as I do then you won't even bother putting it on.
Other Thoughts: I work in IT and having used a number of different hard drive external adapters that this one is among the best. It doesn't require a separate power source and is small enough to easily pack with any toolkit you might keep handy.
Reviewed By:Alexander A.,4/28/2016 3:40:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > USB Converters > Coboc > Coboc U3-2.5SATA2-UASP USB 3.0 to 2.5" SATA II 3Gbps Hard Drive Adapter Cable w/UASP - with Reserved USB Power Cable

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Hook it up in the ritght order and be patient - it may finally work
Pros: It makes my disk spin but my system did not detect the disk. However, I have not had time to return it and the shipping cost to return it would not have left me with much money back. A few days ago, I tried it one more time, connecting the disk first, then the power (USB 2.0) connector, and finally the USB 3.0 data connector. Still nothing - but then, a few minutes later, it started working and my laptop drive finally showed up in Explorer and Disk Manager! So, I updated my review.
Cons: Disk manager could not see the disk until it had been connected for a few minutes, I tried on two different systems with four (4) different 2.5" SATA disks, 5200 and 7200 RPM. None could be seen by the system during my first several attempts. After despairing to return it, I tried one last time and achieved success, but it should not be this touchy and delayed.
Other Thoughts: I thought this would be very handy to have in place of my old setup with the power supply separate from the data connector.
Reviewed By:James M.,4/27/2016 4:33:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > USB Converters > STARTECH > StarTech USB3S2SAT3CB USB 3.0 to 2.5" SATA III Hard Drive Adapter Cable w/ UASP

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Extremely useful to have!
Pros: -Powers and runs data from any USB to any SATA HDD or SSD.
-cheap yet effective
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: This little cable has saved my rear end more then once. If your like me, and you've ever had a corrupted OS, a mis formatted partition, or even a partially damaged drive, this guy is a great way to pick up the pieces of whats left. I simply plug the drive into my laptop and use this cable to pull off all surviving files and data. Further, for a couple months I used this as a connection from my laptop to an old 1TB HDD as a backup drive. Simply set both on my desk and left them alone. Worked like a charm.
Reviewed By:Conner J.,4/25/2016 8:35:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > USB Converters > IOGEAR > IOGEAR G2LU3CAF10-SG Charge & Sync USB-C to USB Type-A Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 It works
Pros: - Looks nice
- Quality construction
- It does what it should
Cons: - The end of the USB-A is painted silver, not metal, so if you store the wire folded so both ends touch, the USB-C end may scratch off some of the paint on the side of the USB-A end, exposing what looks like gray plastic. (obviously not a serious problem)
Reviewed By:Michael F.,4/24/2016 7:15:46 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > USB Converters > BYTECC INC > BYTECC BT-300 USB 2.0 to IDE / SATA Adapter

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Worked Earlier But Now Burns Drives Up
Pros: Worked great for the first couple of years, no problems. Portable, reliable, fast: everything I was looking for in a data transfer kit.
Cons: Two weeks ago it literally fried a 500GB WD. Got so hot my finger blistered when I touched it! Recycled an old computer for a customer today, pulled the old 250GB HDD out of it, plugged it up to the BYTECC BT-300 and seconds later it was fried. Haven't contacted BYTECC 'cuz it's way past warranty but man, am I disappointed in this device!
Other Thoughts: Won't be purchasing this again, probably won't purchase a BYTECC to replace it, either. Definitely cannot recommend it.
Reviewed By:Sidney P.,4/20/2016 3:07:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.