Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Extenders & Repeaters > INSTEN > Insten 1846909 HDMI to Cat 5/6 UTP AV Extender

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Does not Work at advertised distance
Pros: Works at 30 feet
Cons: Does not work at 60+ feet. Say it is rated at 100 ft.
Other Thoughts: If it only works at 30 ft. you might as well get a 30 ft HDMI cable. I will be returning this to newegg.
Reviewed By:Rocky G.,5/5/2016 1:42:09 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Extenders & Repeaters > INSTEN > Insten 1668030 1 x HDMI F/F Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 connect 2 short cables to make 1 long cable
Pros: I have many HDMI cables laying around and all just a little short of making it to the receiver/ TV so using this coupling I was able to use existing cables to do job.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:John M.,3/21/2016 6:25:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Extenders & Repeaters > ATEN > ATEN VE066 Mini Cat 5 DVI Extender

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works as advertised
Pros: Works as advertised. Cat6 cable length is 25' and the image on screen is solid.
Cons: None so far.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/21/2015 7:59:55 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Extenders & Repeaters > INSTEN > Insten 675686 2-pack VGA Extender to RJ45 Adapter

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Some tips for use
Pros: I am sorry to say that I have not bought this product, yet!
I built something similar and only recently discovered these, but they are certainly going on my list now.
Cons: there are some limitations to this, namely the higher the resolution the shorter the distance.
Other Thoughts: it would really be nice if the included this schematic of the wiring.
many years ago I created something almost identical and I still use them to this day.
it makes setting up a projector quick and easy.

using unshielded cable my acceptable distance was 50 feet with a good quality cable.
using a shielded cable that I purchased here, I was able to achieve 100 feet with really good results.
now keep in mind that this is at 1024x768.
it will definitely not do HD.

to get around the fact that the tabs get in the way, I cut mine off and hot glued the connections in. every so often I might have to re-glue them but that works for me.
an easier thing would be to find a HD-15 port saver, it has a mail connection on one end and a female connection on the other end.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/20/2015 2:43:41 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Extenders & Repeaters > INSTEN > Insten 675686 2-pack VGA Extender to RJ45 Adapter

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works!
Pros: Manageable cable and decent distance for displays
Cons: the tabs on the back can prevent connections to some displays or computers. We just filed them off.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/9/2015 12:11:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Extenders & Repeaters > Tripp Lite > Tripp Lite B202-150 USB over Cat5 Transmitter Receiver Extender Kit, USB 1.1 Extension

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Worked for me
Pros: Small and worked for me...My run was about 120ft for this job
Cons: none
Reviewed By:illone,9/4/2014 11:15:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Extenders & Repeaters > GWC Technology Inc. > GWC AR2510 USB 2.0 Active Repeater Cable

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works great
Pros: I even have a hub on the end of it and it still works great. We use it in a shop where we need to keep the peripherals out where the guys can get use them, but still keep the actual computer tower somewhere clean. This repeater saved the day when a wireless keyboard and mouse just kept losing signal.
Cons: it's not USB 3.0 but that would be a different product!
Reviewed By:N/A,8/25/2014 4:30:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Extenders & Repeaters > STARTECH > StarTech VSEDIDDVI DVI DDC EDID Ghosting Emulator with EDID Copy

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Spectacular !!!!
Pros: When you have 3 or more monitors with Win7, booting up with the monitors off or switching them off then on with a booted system, is a nightmare. Windows doesn't properly restore your desktop. It seems Microsoft couldn't care less about it.
There are a handful of programs designed to help but none can solve all the problems.
The only complete solution is an EDID Emulator. The concept is to introduce a device in line with each monitor to convince the graphics card & the OS that the monitors are on when they are off. However, all EDID emulators are not created equal. I tried the Pi Manufacturing brand which looks EXACTLY like the Connect Pro unit (probably re-branded ) and the unit was a horror show. It requires SO much power to operate that many "wall warts" fail to work with them. As a result they behaved erratically.
If you have 3 or more monitors you will need 3 EDID units. Ouch ! Kinda expensive !! But, if you prefer NOT to waste your time, get solid performers, these StarTech units are absolutely the way to go ! Flawless operation (so far :) and they are NOT power hogs !
Cons: NONE !!
Other Thoughts: When you spend hundreds on a graphic card, it would be nice if these MFRs added this feature to them rather then ignore the problem.
ALSO:
EVERY graphics card has DVI outputs. Who in their right mind buys actual monitors when LED/LCD TVs look SPECTACULAR and are cheap.
However, Graphics card MFRs do not have real HDMI outputs. As a rule the HDMI output(s) will not work with a 3rd monitor. You need ANOTHER dongle! A mini display port to HDMI adapter, but MANY of them are unreliable !

WAKE UP GRAPHICS CARD MFRs !
Get with the program !

Undoubtedly, some will argue that Monitors have better image quality. To that I submit, I am using three 50" LCD monitors right now. I do 3D CAD design and graphics work. They are razor sharp and look fantastic. All 3 cost $1,200. Try that with monitors $$$.
Reviewed By:Frank Russo EE,8/24/2014 4:37:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Extenders & Repeaters > Sabrent > SABRENT HDMI Extension cable over Cat5e RJ45 Extender adapter (Up to 200-Foot) HDMI-EXTC

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Perfect Device
Pros: I've had this device for over a month now. I haven't had any problems at all. I have a 1080P signal running at 60Hhz over 150 FT with perfect quality.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Totally worth the money. I've tried cheaper extenders where the signal would cut out. I haven't had a single problem with this one.
Reviewed By:Lance.,4/22/2014 11:28:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Extenders & Repeaters > INSTEN > Insten 675686 2-pack VGA Extender to RJ45 Adapter

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 barely usable
Pros: Does what it says and it is one of the only devices that does it on a budget
Cons: Barely usable on a 4 port USB KVM switch over 100 ft of Cate 5e cable.
Reviewed By:Cyber2lz,1/27/2014 3:23:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.