Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Audio Video Converters > VisionTek > VisionTek 900340 Active DisplayPort to DVI-D Adapter

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Only purchase if you have an AMD card!!!
Pros: Apparently works wonders with AMD cards.
Cons: This adapter did not work with my GTX 750ti. It produced a "black bar" on the left side of my screen and it appeared to alter the resolution of that monitor even though in Windows the monitor was set to 1920x1080.
Other Thoughts: I called tech support and was told that they do not test their products on nVidia products! THEY ONLY TEST ON AMD! So if I were you, I would stay away from VisionTek unless you have AMD products to go with it.

As a side note, finding out which adapter I needed(passive or active) was an extreme headache. I run 3 monitors and I do not have any interest in 3D Surround or Eyefinity, I just simply want three monitors for more workspace. I ended up buying a passive DVI to DisplayPort cable after this one and it works just fine.

tl;dr You only need an ACTIVE adapter for (a) 3D Surround/Eyefinity or (b) you're running higher resolutions than 1920x1200 (this one is what I believe, not something I've tested).

Minus one star for not working with nVidia products, and minus another for not explicitly stating that these adapters should only be used on AMD technology. It would be nice if they said that you should only purchase this item if you own AMD stuff.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/25/2014 12:33:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Audio Video Converters > Sapphire Tech > SAPPHIRE 100925 Active Mini Display Port (M) to Single-Link DVI (F) Cable

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Worked while it worked
Pros: Worked while it worked.
Cons: It stopped working after 5 months.
Other Thoughts: It worked perfectly while it worked then suddenly just stopped. No warning what so ever. Just wasn't working the next time I turned my computer on. I find this highly unacceptable.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/25/2014 11:58:55 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Audio Video Converters > BYTECC INC > BYTECC HM-VGA005 HDMI-A to VGA Female Adapter/Converter

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Does not work with PS3
Pros: None
Cons: Does not work when trying to convert HDMI from PS3 to HP vga monitor. Item also says it converts the HDMI audio signal but there is no audio output jack
Reviewed By:N/A,7/24/2014 1:51:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Audio Video Converters > STARTECH > StarTech HDDVIMF8IN HDMI to DVI-D Video Cable Adapter - HDMI Male to DVI Female

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Camera Man
Pros: Durability, Reliability and Performance. I have over 50 of these installed for 46” Video Surveillance Monitors. Started using to replace broken or none working connectors from MP. Now I just start out on the right foot using these. Never going back!
Cons: NONE
Reviewed By:Camera Man,7/24/2014 9:51:12 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Audio Video Converters > SIIG, Inc > SIIG CB-DP0072-S1 DisplayPort to DVI Adapter Cable

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 does the job
Pros: Solid connections.
Cons: Slightly large.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/24/2014 7:38:22 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Audio Video Converters > Syba > SYBA SY-ADA31025 VGA to HDMI Converter with Audio Support, up to 1920 x 1080 Output Resolution

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 As advertised.
Pros: No noticeable lag, good cable length.
Cons: None so far.
Other Thoughts: Bought this to connect an older device to a more up-to-date screen, and it works flawlessly.
Reviewed By:Timmeh,7/23/2014 8:32:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Audio Video Converters > Syba > SYBA SD-ADA31040 Plug & Play VGA to HDMI Converter with Audio Support, 1920 x 1080 Resolution Supported

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 VGA to HDMI Adapter
Pros: Plug and play just as advertised. I took away an egg because the audio does not transfer thru to the HDMI cable. I'm having to use a mini phone to RCA stereo adapter to get the audio to the receiver
Cons: The audio cable not working as I explained earlier
Reviewed By:Scott-Rock,7/23/2014 10:09:51 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Audio Video Converters > Comprehensive Cable and Connectivity > Comprehensive DisplayPort Male To DVI Female Active Adapter Cable

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Worked 1 hour
Pros: Worked perfectly when first connected.
Cons: After system was revived from sleep mode, connected monitor displayed incorrect resolution, and the native resolution was no longer available via Windows. Numerous reboots, graphics driver check, etc., did not fix problem. Same issue when connected to a different monitor. Apparently quit passing EDID information.
Other Thoughts: I'd pass on this one. Not worth the time/trouble/shipping to attempt RMA.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/21/2014 11:12:03 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Audio Video Converters > Syba > SYBA SD-ADA31040 Plug & Play VGA to HDMI Converter with Audio Support, 1920 x 1080 Resolution Supported

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Turns a 70" TV into a Monitor
Pros: I wanted to make my new Sony 70" Smart TV into a monitor for a older Lenovo Laptop that only had a VGA out for an additional monitor. It works great to do the job but, I could only give this 4 eggs and not all 5 because the attachment cords barely reaches across the laptop as one (VGA) connection is on one side and the usb connection is on the other side so you have to use the full length of both cords to make the connections. Since the external sound connection is almost centered on the front of the laptop it presented no problem. After making the connection and resizing screen to an appropriate size it works great and I can use a wireless mouse and keyboard while sitting on my couch and do anything, including watching any video of my desire or playing a game or just search the web and enjoy it on a very big 70" monitor.
Cons: Length of connection cords needs to be a bit longer to make it easier to connect to VGA and usb connections.
Other Thoughts: I would have given this a very high rating if it weren't for the short connection cords.
Reviewed By:Master Techie,7/20/2014 11:05:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Audio Video Converters > Links Electronics Co., Limited > LinkS Active HDMI to VGA M/F Adapter w/ 3 FT USB Charging Cable and 3FT 3.5mm Stereo cable in white - Supports Audio—Ship From US

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 It works for video
Pros: Video conversion is flawless
Cons: Audio has a severe 60 cycle hum making it worthless.
I tried different audio devises, no joy.
Other Thoughts: It would be nice to have the audio jack at 180 degrees or optional from either side.
Reviewed By:Boris,7/20/2014 4:26:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau