Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Limited Time Only! Newegg Premier is now only $29.99/year. Sign up now.
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Network Connectors/Adapters > Nippon Labs > Nippon Labs AD-C501-M2F Adaptor

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1
Pros: Looks nice.
Cons: Doesn't work.
Other Thoughts: Save your $.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/15/2014 3:34:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Network Connectors/Adapters > INSTEN > Insten 675688 RJ45 1x2 Ethernet Connector Splitter, Light Beige

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 It is not rocket science
Pros: Simple, does what it says
Cons: limits speeds. Cat 5 cable has four pairs of wire and each pair is twisted. Cat 6 even twists them at different rates so the wires are not in parallel and this minimizes crosstalk between the wires. The unsused wires are essentially shielding, they add stability as high frequency signals generate radio waves that interfere with each other and these dead lines soak up some of that. Using the four spare wires for more data interferes with this balance and reduces the usable speed of the cable.
Other Thoughts: High tech knowledge would indicate that one would know that Ethernet is a point-to-point protocol. This splitter is not an Ethernet switch. There are 8 wires in a standard Cat5 cable, only 4 are used most of the time. This uses the other four. On the other end those four are not connected to anything either, so you need two of these. To call four wires half-duplex proves that you lack tech knowledge.

This is a good example why we cannot blindly trust in the stupidity of others. A bad rating may be mad reviewers. These details are why professionals can solve problems and the ignorant cannot.
Reviewed By:'nar,6/3/2014 5:18:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Network Connectors/Adapters > Nippon Labs > Nippon Labs IC-C502-WH Coupler

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 coupling
Pros: works
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Skip,4/13/2014 11:25:17 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Network Connectors/Adapters > Nippon Labs > Nippon Labs IC-C50A-SH Coupler

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Economical, but sturdy
Pros: Didn't cost much, yet feels high quality and just plugged in and worked great! Used it to fix a problem with an installed cat5e line where its spring clip broke and kept falling out of the back of the computer.

Taped the broken end into this coupler, w/ some gold kapton tape. Then set it aside and plugged the new 6' cat5e with good clip into the computer. Problem solved!
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: Pins seem to be thick and of high quality build. Outside feels sturdy.
Reviewed By:DavoL,3/16/2014 8:10:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Network Connectors/Adapters > Nippon Labs > Nippon Labs IC-88FF-R Coupler

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good Product, but know: IT REVERSES WIRE ORDER
Pros: - Does what it's supposed to do
- Easy to Open (if you want)
- Decent Quality
- Appears to be 24 AWG wire
Cons: - Not sure what category cable this supports (perhaps it doesn't matter for a coupler)
- labeled "CROSS" on the front - this is NOT a typical crossover, this is total reversal or "Rollover" cable
- I'm dumb and thought this was a patch cable extender, didn't realize it totally reverses all the wires
Other Thoughts: So in my limited understanding of RJ45, I believe this is called a "Rollover Cable" adapter or "Cisco Console Cable" adapter. I believe this is not a typical "crossover"--It totally reverses the order of the pins from Cable A to Cable B. Crossover cables, according to wikipedia, reverse the pairs differently.

Here's the pinout:

Pin 1 -> Pin 8
Pin 2 -> Pin 7
Pin 3 -> Pin 6
Pin 4 -> Pin 5
Pin 5 -> Pin 4
Pin 6 -> Pin 3
Pin 7 -> Pin 2
Pin 8 -> Pin 1

Put another way:

Orange White --> Brown
Orange --> Brown White
Green White --> Green
Blue --> Blue White
Green --> Green White
Brown White --> Orange
Brown --> Orange White

I am not sure what will happen if you attempt to use this coupler with a modern router (as in: after 1998) which will be expecting a "patch" configuration. It may automatically configure itself, it may catch fire and the universe as we know if will end at the speed of light (never cross the streams, Dr Venkman!!)

I'm also not sure which category this is. It may not matter much as it's such a tiny length of wire. This would certainly add at least a tiny bit of noise to any config.

I did NOT end up using and testing this as I was using it for something other than ethernet data transport and had already build the rest of the setup around a "patch" configuration.

Due to the poor description and my having to make a run to Best Buy to purchase a $9 replacement (yes NINE dollars. Thanks Best Buy), I'm subtracting a star. This is probably a perfectly fine and functional adapter for what it's supposed to do.
Reviewed By:Manuel Noriega,3/16/2014 9:21:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Network Connectors/Adapters > Nippon Labs > Nippon Labs IC-C602-SH Coupler

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 It works
Pros: Holds on good to the cables
Cons: Weird color but I don't care
Reviewed By:N/A,2/24/2014 2:39:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Network Connectors/Adapters > STARTECH > StarTech CAT5COUPLER Cat5e RJ45 Modular Inline Coupler

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works just fine
Pros: Simply does what it should.
And does it fine
Cons: None so far.
Other Thoughts: Will buy some more when I need it.
Reviewed By:N/A,2/6/2014 6:45:05 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Network Connectors/Adapters > Nippon Labs > Nippon Labs AD-C501-2MF Adaptor

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works - even with PoE!
Pros: I used product for adding a VoIP phone system to a customer site where adding additional Cat5 Jacks would have been cost prohibitive. I used one at each end of a single Cat5 Jack to split the PC Jack into 2 connections for the PC and phone which are on physically separate networks. At first I thought that I would have to buy Injectors or A/C Adapters for the phones, but the splitters passed the PoE power from the switch to the phone on leg 2. I'm still baffled by that - but it saved time and money, so I'm not complaining!.
Cons: The only Con I have is that the leads are short. If you want to use this for separate networks, The switches have to be stacked close together in order to be able to connect both legs, or you have to use a coupler to extend one leg. On the Client side, you have to use at least one coupler, or possibly put it behind the wall plate and use two pass-through style Cat5 inserts.
Other Thoughts: The fact that this passes PoE leads me to believe that there may be a common signal ground between the legs. I have not tested, but it would be a good idea to check this for yourself if you are using one leg on each of two physical switches. If my suspicion is correct, this might lead to some signal problems.
Reviewed By:tguarriello,1/2/2014 9:12:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Network Connectors/Adapters > INSTEN > Insten 675688 RJ45 1x2 Ethernet Connector Splitter, Light Beige

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Important note
Pros: N/A
Cons: N/A
Other Thoughts: Please note that *ANY* RJ45 splitter cable requires a second RJ45 Splitter cable at the opposite end of the line. You must combine two Ethernet cables with a companion "combiner" at the other end of the line for this to work!

I suspect this is why the other reviews listed here may be negative.
Reviewed By:Zymerdrew,12/2/2013 9:32:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Network Connectors/Adapters > Nippon Labs > Nippon Labs IC-C601-WH Coupler

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome
Pros: Connects two cat6e together. The cable is almost as big in diameter as the connecter itself and still fits.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: Buy it.
Reviewed By:N/A,11/23/2013 7:53:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau