Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Thin Client Systems > NComputing. Inc. > NComputing L300 Virtual Thin Client System for Windows and Linux VDI Solution

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent simplification of my maintenance
Pros: Provides good user interface that I only have to maintain 1 machine for 15 users.
Replace the underlying machine everybody gets a speed upgrade.
Cons: It will not interface with all USB peripherals.
Other Thoughts: You need to understand what this machine is. It is a desktop replacement for office or school environment. It is not a computer and will not do everything a computer can do. I am running a stable office environment including 3 users via a VPN. I only have to maintain software once and everybody gets the same experience. The box consumes 5W of power instead of the typical 200+ of a desktop. The support website is actually very good and the problems experienced by other reviewers shows me they invested 0hrs of time testing or making this work. I have been using Ncomputing boxes for over 10 yrs. The best advantages are that I upgrade the "server" and everybody gets the speed upgrade and maintenance is so much easier.
Reviewed By:Howard K.,8/15/2016 12:15:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Thin Client Systems > Hewlett-Packard > HP Thin Client Server System Intel Atom N280 1.66GHz 1C/2T 1GB RAM / 2GB Flash Windows Embedded Standard 2009 VU899AA#ABA

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Inauspicious beginnings
Pros: * it was a bit cheaper than a new Rasberry Pi 3 * shipping was free and fairly speedy * that's it for now
Cons: * computer was wrapped in bubble wrap and mailed in a padded envelope: when's the last time you saw a letter carrier handle a padded envelope as if a computer were in it? me neither. Photo shows unit with a desk stand and the expansion chassis, neither were included * no power supply: it takes a laptop-like 19v brick supply with a small 4.8mm OD coax power plug. I don't have anything like that in my extensive inventory and while ggling for "HP t5740 power supply" produces lots of hits, few of them mention having a plug that small, so I currently can't even turn it on to see if it survived shipping * No evidence of refurbishing or even testing: side cover was partially popped off, which might have happened in transit or by careless handling * no desk stand is an issue because this unit relies on convection (passive) cooling which means you risk overheating it if you don't operate it in a vertical position or provide lots of room for air to circulate around the unit * plan on either improvising some kind of stand or mount for it and keeping it out in the open.
Other Thoughts: for as cheap as it was, I'm not going to go through the ordeal of returning it. it might turn out to be an interesting project, but it'll take more time and money to figure that out, and I really hadn't planned on having to do that. for my purposes, I would have been better off with something else.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,8/13/2016 10:03:17 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Thin Client Systems > DELL > DELL CRD56 PREC 3420 SFF I7/3.4 8GB 1TB 3YR NBD W7

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 BEWARE
Pros: Don't know
Cons: I received my Dell 3420 and it has a male VGA connector on the back. It does not come with a cable to connect a monitor to it. I was informed by technical support that I would have to "purchase that separately."
Reviewed By:Ronald A.,7/5/2016 6:00:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Thin Client Systems > Wyse Technology > Wyse Thin Client AMD Quad-core (4 Core) 4GB Windows Embedded Standard 7 909760-01L (D90Q7)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Product easy to set up and use
Pros: Very Fast
Easy to set up and use
Works well for businesses
Cons: I have no complains about this product, works well for my business.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this product.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/8/2016 10:29:03 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Thin Client Systems > NComputing. Inc. > NComputing L300 Virtual Thin Client System for Windows and Linux VDI Solution

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not so easy to setup!
Pros: Small form factor
Cons: Doesn't work. Might be a software compatibility glitch with the Dell Inspiron we bought but on both machines as soon as we log in to the client the main machine locks up and will lockup 5 minutes into every boot up until the software is removed.
Other Thoughts: They still need to work on their coding apparently. Had the L100s in the past and had no issues.
Reviewed By:DAVID M.,1/10/2016 8:27:45 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Thin Client Systems > Wyse Technology > Wyse Thin Client Server System Marvell ARMADA PXA 510 v7 1.0 GHz system-on-chip (SoC) 1GB RAM / 1GB Flash No Hard Drive Linux 909563-01L (T50)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Wyse Thin Client
Pros: Model is priced right
Cons: Model is extremely difficult to setup to work in our Citrix environment.
Other Thoughts: More documentation on the initial setup for different Citrix environments would be extremely helpful.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,10/20/2015 5:55:58 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Thin Client Systems > Hewlett-Packard > HP t410 Smart Zero Client Server System TI TMS320DM8148 ARM Cortex-A8 1GHz 1G RAM / 2G Flash No Hard Drive HP Smart Zero Core H2W23AT#ABA

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 HP t-410 Thin Client
Pros: These are a wonderfully inexpensive solution for remote connections and internet access. Easy to use, limited but perfectly reliable when use correctly. If you're not 100% familiar with the t-410 best to read up on a spec sheet. Take an hour with these and understand it's operation and imaging capably is well worth the time.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/20/2015 5:23:09 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Thin Client Systems > Hewlett-Packard > HP t410 Smart Zero Client Server System TI TMS320DM8148 ARM Cortex-A8 1GHz 1G RAM / 2G Flash No Hard Drive HP Smart Zero Core H2W23AT#ABA

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 obviously an open box item
Pros: it's a thin client as advertised
Cons: the unit was missing the manuals and had been repackaged. The firmware had been altered and would not update from the HP site. a simple factory reset was needed for security . I would have had no problem buying an open box item if it had been advertised that way. also I would have appreciated an open box price. the shipping label from the first person who purchased that was still on the box.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/22/2015 3:13:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Thin Client Systems > Wyse Technology > Wyse Thin Client Server System Marvell ARMADA PXA 510 v7 1.0 GHz system-on-chip (SoC) 1GB No Hard Drive Dell Wyse ThinOS 909566-01L (T10)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Server 2012 RD Session Client
Pros: I setup 5 of these with 1080p monitors connecting to a Windows Server 2012 remote desktop session host. It is working out great. My not-so-tech-savvy users can't even really tell that they are connecting into a remote machine (remote machine is still local to building, on gigabit network).

It is RemoteFX capable. Watching 1080p video is tolerable, but 720p and below is just like watching on a local machine. (I am not sure how much of that is due to server vs client loading, though.)

Running basic knowledge user applications is just like running on a local machine (Web browsing, PDF view/edit, Quickbooks, MS Office)

I am able to connect analog and USB headsets, as well as USB flash drives, to to the remote machine.

Came with basic Dell USB Mouse and USB Keyboard, as well as a DVI->VGA adapter.
Cons: Cannot delete "default" connections.
This is a bit of a hindrance when dealing with a not-so-tech-savvy user base. If there is a button they should never click, it is better to just not to have the button. My way around this is to rename the unused default connection to "Do Not Click This", and actually use the other default connection and name it "Click This".
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/14/2014 6:02:14 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Thin Client Systems > NComputing. Inc. > NComputing L300 Virtual Thin Client System for Windows and Linux VDI Solution

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Budget solution (video issues)
Pros: Cheap as dirt PC station, easy to install, can handle Internet/intranet browsing.
Cons: Flaky connection (regular loss of connection).
Average-poor reliability: every 12 hours, expect 20% of your stations to crash, requiring a hard-reboot of the device. Also, some of the USB and VGA ports will be unreliable too (expect 10% of your batch to require repair/RMA/trashing after 6 months).
Terrible video performance: scrolling 3 lines blurs the entire screen and freeze the station for 0.5 to 1 second.
Other Thoughts: If you really can't afford anything else and your users don't work on these stations for hours (on long and lots of documents), it might be an "okay" choice.

Otherwise, it's going to be a very frustrating experience for the users who try to work on it. In that case, it might be better to only get 2/3 or 1/2 of available stations, but actual computers this time.

Tasks:
- Checking their emails = OK.
- Checking a few information online (Internet/intranet) = OK.
- Writing a few emails, 1-2 pages documents = possible, but cumbersome.
- Working on documents with more than 4 pages, or with more than 3 documents = NOPE.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/5/2014 7:35:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.