Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Pro A/V Extender & Repeater > STARTECH > StarTech HDMI Over CAT5/CAT6 Extender with Power Over Cable - 165 ft (50m) ST121SHD50

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works where others fail
Pros: - It just works
- Comes with some handy extras. (mounting bracket & fine adjustment tool)
Cons: - Price
Other Thoughts: First of all I would like to say that anyone thinking about using these HDMI over Ethernet extenders should probably look at alternatives. We didn't actually need one for our situation (about a 40 ft run) but decided to use one anyway because of size constraints in our conduit. In retrospect we should have just squeezed in a long HDMI cable as these extenders seem to be more work than they're worth.

The first cheap one we got was complete garbage which isn't surprising as our electrician probably got it for $40. Didn't even work on 6ft CAT6 cables. Tried multiple different cables both CAT5 and CAT6 and although the image was okay at times via native HDMI connection using an adapter like miniDP to HDMI would render it useless (either no image at all or random blinking that was enough to give you a headache). We also ran into weird audio issues using basically anything over the connection.

At this point I had a do a bunch of research and found that basically 3 out of every 4 people using these things have had some type of issue with them. After over an hour of looking through different products I found someone who said this product worked for them where a bunch of others didn't so I figured it would be worth the extra cost.

If you absolutely have to use one of these things don't skimp on price, you get what you pay for and the good ones are over $100 CDN.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/23/2016 9:35:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Pro A/V Extender & Repeater > Tripp Lite > Tripp Lite HDMI over Cat5 Extender/Splitter, 4-Port Local Transmitter Unit B126-004

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Beware of lightning strikes
Pros: This is a great unit if you don't live in Florida or other lightning-prone area.
Cons: I have gone through 2 of these units in the last year. It does not take a direct lightning strike to affect this unit. Not only did a nearby lightning strike fry two of these units, but it also fried the HDMI connection of any TV connected to the CAT ports on this unit. I do not recommend buying one of these if you live in Florida. No other electronics were affected in my home during the two nearby lightning strikes - only this unit and the TVs that were plugged in.
Manufacturer Response:We apologize for the experience you have had with the B126-004. We will need more information to determine what caused these issues. Please reach out to our Chicago-based Tech Support Team at 773-869-1234 (M-F 7AM-6PM Central) so we can assist you.

Reviewed By:Anonymous,8/7/2016 8:26:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Pro A/V Extender & Repeater > Tripp Lite > Tripp Lite HDMI over Cat5 Extender B125-150

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Product!
Pros: Works exactly as advertised, bought several of these for multiple restaurant HD displays, have been installed and running flawlessly for a year now. None of the displays has ever even flickered at 1080 resolution, as long as you're within 100ft you should be fine, tested one at 120ft and it flickers every now and then, just as advertised stay under the limit and it should work flawlessly, I'm also using Cat6 wiring for the runs. Works well on monitors too, currently extending a touchscreen monitor with one of these..
Cons: There seems to be no difference in performance with or without the power adapter, not really a Con, I still use the adapters anyways.
Other Thoughts: Would totally recommend this to anyone needing to extend 1080p signal up to 100ft away..
Reviewed By:Felix B.,4/19/2016 10:30:16 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Pro A/V Extender & Repeater > Tripp Lite > Tripp Lite HDMI over Cat5 Extender/Splitter, 4-Port Local Transmitter Unit B126-004

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 I should have listened and bought this first. Great device.
Pros: Great, solid product.
Great idea on the power-supply, it uses a screw in connector instead of relying on friction to hold it in place.
Full 1080p 60 Hz at 75 feet.
I am running three monitors, one out of the local port and two out of the cat5 ports. Image looks great, sound is great on all 3.
Cons: None of which I am aware. Please note that I have only had the device installed for less than 24 hours.
This device must be used in tandem with one B126-1A0, B126-1A0-WP-1 for each monitor. Please don't think that you have the full solution by purchasing this device. Other manufacturers include both the send an receive units, this one does not.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this product to others. It ended a month long search of products from two other manufacturers. This was the only device (rather pair of devices) that got the job done.
Reviewed By:Robert J.,3/11/2016 12:56:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Pro A/V Extender & Repeater > Tripp Lite > Tripp Lite HDMI Over Cat5 Active Extender Remote Unit B126-1A0

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great product, simple setup. Works well at 75 feet. I ordered mine with a B126-004.
Pros: This product worked right out of the box.
No complicated set-up or troubles.
Seems like a robust product.
Full 1080p 6Hz at 75 feet. Sorry everyone, I did not test it at longer cable lengths.
Great power supply, it has a screw-in lock to hold it in place instead of relying on friction. Great idea.
Cons: I have encountered no problems yet (please note, it's been installed less than 24 hours at the time of this review).
You must use it in conjunction with another device . Thankfully, I noticed this at the time of purchase. Other similar products ship with both the send and receive unit. This is a receive unit only! Please don't think you've got the full solution here.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this product. It did what other similar products from other manufacturers could not do. It ended a month long series of frustrating attempts to find a working HDMI over cat5 product. This one delivered.
I am running a local monitor, a 55" TV 75 feet away(as the cable runs) and a 30" TV 25 feet away. I plan on adding an additional 80+ inch monitor and/or a projector to the mix and thanks to the B126-004 I've got room to grow.
Reviewed By:Robert J.,3/11/2016 12:24:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Pro A/V Extender & Repeater > STARTECH > StarTech VGA Video Extender over Cat5 ST121UTPEP

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Dead on Arrival
Pros: if they had worked, they were small, simple, only had to power one side
Cons: dead on arrival
Reviewed By:Joshua S.,3/7/2016 9:02:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Pro A/V Extender & Repeater > E-Data Tech > Core Wireless Mini Keyboard with Mouse Touchpad EDAKEY-01

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 perfect kangaroo partner
Pros: easy setup
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: bought this with the kangaroo pc,works great! i wouldn't want to write a book with this ,but great for general typing and the mouse point is accurate
Reviewed By:James R.,3/6/2016 7:06:05 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Pro A/V Extender & Repeater > IOGEAR > IOGEAR Wireless 1080p Computer to HD Display KitGUWAVKIT4B - Retail

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Cool
Pros: As advertized
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/6/2016 10:07:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Pro A/V Extender & Repeater > STARTECH > StarTech HDMI over Single Cat 5e/6 Extender with Power over Cable Ethernet and IR - 330 ft ST121HDT4P

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Love this device
Pros: great that i can run 1 cat6 cable to the TV from the network closet. Makes longer runs a breeze.
has IR receiver so the remote works
Cons: product was DOA - no problem, it happens sometimes
Other Thoughts: Product was DOA but RMA with startech was a breeze. I missed the 30day RMA window with the newegg seller, so had to go right to StarTech. They cross-shipped the new one for me... so no real loss in time. Startech products have always been loyal to me - I would buy again.
Reviewed By:Irene V.,1/6/2016 7:52:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Pro A/V Extender & Repeater > STARTECH > Startech ST121WHD Wireless HDMI Extender WHDI - 1080p Wireless High Definition 100 ft/ 30m Extender

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 A few months later
Pros: Startech Customer service is polite and was quick at returning the units the first and the second times. They made me wait 2 weeks for the 3rd replacement. They won't refund and will spend a lot of money in returns instead. I suggest to wait one or two more years in order to get better technology. Use a HDMI cable instead.
Cons: I had to return the units 3 more times to StarTech. The device just ceased to work after a few weeks. At last return, they sent me their latest version, a smaller box that seem to be able to get a stable link. However, it's obvious that quality was sacrificed in order to maintain that fluid link. I don't get 1080, colors are pale. Ocassionnally, the IR stops and then you must reset the whole thing. The distance between the two units is not as per advertized, I have installed the boxes about 15m apart, still 2 regular walls to go through. The instruction sheet does not mention how to operate the device nor explains the button and its functions, you have to figure it out by yourself, so I did.
Other Thoughts: At the asked price, you shoudl expect better image quality. And keep in mind to not write a review too fast :)
Reviewed By:Konnekted,12/13/2015 4:20:30 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.