Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Pro Converter & Scaler > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GHDSSW4 Combination of 4 Port HDMI® Switcher, Video Enhancer, HD Upscaler and High-end 2D to 3D converter for 3D TV w/ Remote

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Died after less than 3 months
Pros: Was good while it last
Cons: Died after 3 months. None of the devices send signal to the TV anymore. Checked with another HDMI switch so problem is not with the TV.
Other Thoughts: would expect a high quality device for that price
Manufacturer Response:First, thank you for choosing IOGEAR and we apologize for your experience. The product should not behave as you described. Since the unit is backed by IOGEAR's 1 year warranty feel free to contact our customer support at 1-866-946-4327 or email us: support@iogear.com. Again, thank you for choosing IOGEAR.

Reviewed By:YOS,10/17/2014 3:52:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Pro Converter & Scaler > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GHDSSW4 Combination of 4 Port HDMI® Switcher, Video Enhancer, HD Upscaler and High-end 2D to 3D converter for 3D TV w/ Remote

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Works - But you need to be careful
Pros: Does what it says.
Cons: Flimsy HDMI Plugs
PC usage is limited. When selecting different sources, your PC out will lose it's configuration and "refresh". This means a dual monitor setup cannot be smoothly used, as every time you change sources, your PC will lose that second monitor.

When plugging into running device it has crashes the device. - See other thoughts
Other Thoughts: Resets Device - This has happened several times on my PC and on my Ouya (android gaming system). Used a different set of HDMI cables, problem persists. No problems after the device is rebooted. Turn off your device before adding/removing the HDMI to box.
Manufacturer Response:Thank you for choosing IOGEAR and we apologize for your experience. When switching ports using this kind of switch the GHDSSW4 would have to lock back onto the signal. This device is not made for that type of setup and use with dual monitors. You comments will be forwarded to the product manager for review. Again, thank you for choosing IOGEAR.

Reviewed By:N/A,10/9/2014 5:29:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Pro Converter & Scaler > STARTECH > StarTech Compact HDMI to VGA Adapter Converter - 1920x1200/1080p HD2VGAMICRO - Retail

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Did not work.
Pros: Its light and won't be expensive to ship back.
Cons: Absolutely useless piece of junk. Worth less than the plastic its made from.
Reviewed By:Parridus,10/1/2014 7:23:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Pro Converter & Scaler > STARTECH > StarTech Compact HDMI to VGA Adapter Converter - 1920x1200/1080p HD2VGAMICRO - Retail

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Solved a problem nicely
Pros: Connects mt wife's Lenovo docking station to her big (VGA) monitor at work.
Just plain does the job
Cons: It could be cheaper...
Reviewed By:doug,9/15/2014 7:32:14 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Pro Converter & Scaler > TP-LINK > TP-LINK Gigabit SFP Media Converter MC220L

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works well
Pros: Its simple, effective, small, and works with Mikrotik optics.
Cons: None that we have found while using it for the last 6 months
Other Thoughts: It just works, which is exactly what you want from this type of device. I'd recommend it.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/12/2014 5:18:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Pro Converter & Scaler > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GHDSSW4 Combination of 4 Port HDMI® Switcher, Video Enhancer, HD Upscaler and High-end 2D to 3D converter for 3D TV w/ Remote

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Don't pay full price for this.
Pros: Came with an HDMI cable. Small.
Cons: Sound sometimes does not pass through when switching channels. 3D Conversion did not work with my Mitsubishi 3D ready TV.
Other Thoughts: First off I bought this for about $17 dollars. My main purpose was to see if it would do 3d from an Xbox360 and PS3 with an older Mitsubishi 3D ready tv. Since it is supposed to work with 3d ready projectors I thought it might have a chance of doing that. Unfortunately it would only go into split screen and not go into checkerboard mode even when I had the TV in 3D mode, so may main goal was not met. However for $17 it is usable as a spare switch in case I need it and came with an HDMI cable.

As far as the upconversion goes I did not see much difference when it upconverted 720p pictures. It did make them brighter but not much clearer and seemed washed out when I ran it through my cable box. The sound also did not always pass through when switching channels. I could get it to work again by switching back and forth between channels.

From looking at other reviews about the 2D-3D I would not pay much more than what you would pay for a normal 4 port HDMI switch. Perhaps it will come in handy later as a switch or if I get a new 3D-TV. It is no where near worth the $200 dollars I have seen it go for on other sites.
Manufacturer Response:Thank you for choosing IOGEAR and we apologize for the inconvenience. The problem you described with the projector means your projector does not support sequential formatting. Your comments will be forwarded to the product manager for his review. Once again, thank you for choosing IOGEAR.

Reviewed By:Joe S,8/1/2014 2:11:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Pro Converter & Scaler > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GHDSSW4 Combination of 4 Port HDMI® Switcher, Video Enhancer, HD Upscaler and High-end 2D to 3D converter for 3D TV w/ Remote

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3
Pros: It does what it says.
Cons: The audio on the 2D TV is not transmitted at the same rate as the video and runs a second behind. I have to listen to the audio through my home entertainment system to match the video. The remote is a bit finicky and has to be pointed directly at the device.
Manufacturer Response:Your comments will be forwarded to the product manager for his review. Once again, thank you for choosing IOGEAR

Reviewed By:Michael A.,7/31/2014 2:31:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Pro Converter & Scaler > Grass Valley > Canopus / Grass Valley Bidirectional Analog/Digital Video Conversion ADVC110

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Disappointed - No Power Pack
Pros: None
Cons: This product requires a separate power pack that is not provided. I waited in keen anticipation for the arrival so that I could get started. Now, I wait in keen anticipation for a power pack, so that I can get started.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/14/2014 5:46:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Pro Converter & Scaler > TP-LINK > TP-LINK Gigabit SFP Media Converter MC220L

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great for Gigabit Fiber
Pros: Very affordable, and works with cheap ($30) SFP transceivers I picked up. I use two of these to bridge two copper gigabit networks on opposite sides of my building. Simply plugged them in and they've been working solid for a few months now.
Cons: None that I have found.
Other Thoughts: If you're new to fiber networks, make sure to do all your homework before buying equipment, as it is much more involved than a typical CAT5e copper network (very dependent on fiber types, run lengths, SFP modules, connector types, etc.).
Reviewed By:Luke,7/6/2014 3:26:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Pro Converter & Scaler > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GHDSSW4 Combination of 4 Port HDMI® Switcher, Video Enhancer, HD Upscaler and High-end 2D to 3D converter for 3D TV w/ Remote

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Switcher died after 6 months
Pros: Used as switcher for 6 month, Jan 2014 - June 2014.
Could operate without remote.
Cons: Died June 2014. Remote finicky, Changed manually.
Other Thoughts: I bought an duplicate second box as a backup in April, Just tried power supply from second box and 1st box did not power up. So now using second box. Looking for a different backup.
Manufacturer Response:Thank you for choosing IOGEAR and we apologize for your experience. Please email us with a phone number to contact you at support@iogear.com. We will be more than happy to contact you with quality service and process an RMA. Once again, thank you for choosing IOGEAR.

Reviewed By:Smileyhacker,7/3/2014 12:54:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.