Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Pro Converter & Scaler > Grass Valley > Grass Valley Real-Time HDMI-to-HDV Conversion ADVC-HD50

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very precise piece of equipment
Pros: The unit is very easy to use, basically just plug it in. It will convert very many resolutions to hdv. You want to get a hdcp remover though as sometimes it may interfere with picture.
Cons: Expensive. Took me a while to realize that some resolutions can't be converted.
Reviewed By:ali,5/18/2015 10:46:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Pro Converter & Scaler > Atlona > ATLONA HDMI UP/Down Scaler/Converter AT-HD550

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 OK Device
Pros: Does a good job with laptops that have resolutions lower than FHD and upscaling them to FHD.
Cons: Does not work with my droid which has resolution 1280x800. eekkk
Reviewed By:Tech Junkie,4/26/2015 7:40:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Pro Converter & Scaler > KanexPro > KanexPro HDMI to Component with Audio Converter HDRGBRL

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 KanexPro HDMI to Component with Audio Converter HDRGBRL
Pros: none
Cons: did not work. Older TV with no HDMI but two component video. None worked. Waste of $50.
Reviewed By:Network Dude,4/20/2015 3:59:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Pro Converter & Scaler > Atlona > ATLONA HDMI UP/Down Scaler/Converter AT-HD550

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good device
Pros: Works just as stated. Input of one resolution it changed to another resolution. Toggled by the one button on top.
Cons: No on/off button.
Other Thoughts: It takes a while for this device to change from one mode to another. Although once set, you don't need to change it. Make sure you allow yourself time before a meeting to set this correctly.
Reviewed By:Tech Junkie,4/1/2015 6:24:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Pro Converter & Scaler > KanexPro > KanexPro HDMI to Component with Audio Converter HDRGBRL

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good way to delay upgrading your AV Amp
Pros: I have an older Plasma TV and a Denon AV amp that does not support HDMI. So to delay buying a new amp and TV, I thought I'd try the KanexPro converter. I plugged in the cables and the power, the picture came in great, but no audio. I found the PC did not automatically send the audio down the HDMI cable. I powered off/on the KanexProUnder and PC recognized the audio. If not under MS Windows, you can go under the Control Panel -> Sound -> Playback and changed the playback setting for the KanexPro.
Cons: Small nit - the red power light is very bright, you'll want to cover it or face it to the wall.
Other Thoughts: If you're hooking up a PC, I'd recommend changing your settings on your PC to make your TV an Extended display, and set the Resolution to the max. It makes the picture much better in my case with a laptop, who display does not support the higher resolution.
Control Panel -> Display
Reviewed By:Artie-1,1/7/2015 12:22:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Pro Converter & Scaler > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GHDSSW4 Combination of 4 Port HDMI® Switcher, Video Enhancer, HD Upscaler and High-end 2D to 3D converter for 3D TV w/ Remote

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Good Switcher
Pros: Does a good job of switching. I have a Satellite DVR, HTPC, BlueRay Player, Desktop PC. All switch without any issues. Oh yeah. The remote does work with the unit.
Cons: OK. The "enhanced" video did nothing as far as I could see. Sometimes making the video even worse. The 3D did do something, but not sure if it is a "3D Standard."
Other Thoughts: Well it is just a switcher to me. My 3D TV also does 2D to 3D conversion and does it better than this switcher. I was hopeful the up-conversion would have worked well, because most of what I watch on TV is 480i format. Well like I said it's a good switcher.
Reviewed By:Joseph L.,12/7/2014 7:51:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Pro Converter & Scaler > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GHDSSW4 Combination of 4 Port HDMI® Switcher, Video Enhancer, HD Upscaler and High-end 2D to 3D converter for 3D TV w/ Remote

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Died after less than 3 months
Pros: Was good while it last
Cons: Died after 3 months. None of the devices send signal to the TV anymore. Checked with another HDMI switch so problem is not with the TV.
Other Thoughts: would expect a high quality device for that price
Manufacturer Response:First, thank you for choosing IOGEAR and we apologize for your experience. The product should not behave as you described. Since the unit is backed by IOGEAR's 1 year warranty feel free to contact our customer support at 1-866-946-4327 or email us: support@iogear.com. Again, thank you for choosing IOGEAR.

Reviewed By:YOS,10/17/2014 3:52:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Pro Converter & Scaler > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GHDSSW4 Combination of 4 Port HDMI® Switcher, Video Enhancer, HD Upscaler and High-end 2D to 3D converter for 3D TV w/ Remote

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Works - But you need to be careful
Pros: Does what it says.
Cons: Flimsy HDMI Plugs
PC usage is limited. When selecting different sources, your PC out will lose it's configuration and "refresh". This means a dual monitor setup cannot be smoothly used, as every time you change sources, your PC will lose that second monitor.

When plugging into running device it has crashes the device. - See other thoughts
Other Thoughts: Resets Device - This has happened several times on my PC and on my Ouya (android gaming system). Used a different set of HDMI cables, problem persists. No problems after the device is rebooted. Turn off your device before adding/removing the HDMI to box.
Manufacturer Response:Thank you for choosing IOGEAR and we apologize for your experience. When switching ports using this kind of switch the GHDSSW4 would have to lock back onto the signal. This device is not made for that type of setup and use with dual monitors. You comments will be forwarded to the product manager for review. Again, thank you for choosing IOGEAR.

Reviewed By:N/A,10/9/2014 5:29:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Pro Converter & Scaler > TP-LINK > TP-LINK Gigabit SFP Media Converter MC220L

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works well
Pros: Its simple, effective, small, and works with Mikrotik optics.
Cons: None that we have found while using it for the last 6 months
Other Thoughts: It just works, which is exactly what you want from this type of device. I'd recommend it.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/12/2014 5:18:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Pro Converter & Scaler > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GHDSSW4 Combination of 4 Port HDMI® Switcher, Video Enhancer, HD Upscaler and High-end 2D to 3D converter for 3D TV w/ Remote

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Don't pay full price for this.
Pros: Came with an HDMI cable. Small.
Cons: Sound sometimes does not pass through when switching channels. 3D Conversion did not work with my Mitsubishi 3D ready TV.
Other Thoughts: First off I bought this for about $17 dollars. My main purpose was to see if it would do 3d from an Xbox360 and PS3 with an older Mitsubishi 3D ready tv. Since it is supposed to work with 3d ready projectors I thought it might have a chance of doing that. Unfortunately it would only go into split screen and not go into checkerboard mode even when I had the TV in 3D mode, so may main goal was not met. However for $17 it is usable as a spare switch in case I need it and came with an HDMI cable.

As far as the upconversion goes I did not see much difference when it upconverted 720p pictures. It did make them brighter but not much clearer and seemed washed out when I ran it through my cable box. The sound also did not always pass through when switching channels. I could get it to work again by switching back and forth between channels.

From looking at other reviews about the 2D-3D I would not pay much more than what you would pay for a normal 4 port HDMI switch. Perhaps it will come in handy later as a switch or if I get a new 3D-TV. It is no where near worth the $200 dollars I have seen it go for on other sites.
Manufacturer Response:Thank you for choosing IOGEAR and we apologize for the inconvenience. The problem you described with the projector means your projector does not support sequential formatting. Your comments will be forwarded to the product manager for his review. Once again, thank you for choosing IOGEAR.

Reviewed By:Joe S,8/1/2014 2:11:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.