Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Pro Video Capturing > STARTECH > StarTech - USB2HDCAPS - StarTech.com Standalone Video Capture and Streaming - HDMI or Component - 1080p - USB 2.0 Video

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Doesn't work for youtube live streaming
Pros: We only bought it to stream to youtube and it can't do it.
Cons: We bought it to stream live to youTube but it can't stream live to youtube. The sound is so choppy that it is unusable. We contacted startech customer support and they said live streaming to YouTube is in "beta" and does not work.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,8/25/2016 3:38:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Pro Video Capturing > Blackmagic Design Pty. Ltd. > Blackmagic Design DeckLink Mini Recorder BDLKMINREC

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 worked as expected
Pros: worked right away with black magic micro cinema camera
unfortunately no 60hz mode but hey its a budget input
Cons: no issues
Other Thoughts: good for the price
Reviewed By:Anonymous,8/24/2016 10:57:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Pro Video Capturing > STARTECH > StarTech - USB2HDCAPS - StarTech.com Standalone Video Capture and Streaming - HDMI or Component - 1080p - USB 2.0 Video

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Very handy product, but with limitations
Pros: Can record to a memory card, with no dependence on a PC.
Component video input or HDMI input (higher priority) get recorded, as well as routed to the HDMI output.
Cons: For memory card recording:
480i recording quality is dreadful, with grossly visible artifacts even in non-moving parts of the image.
480p recording quality is poor.
720p recording quality is decent.
1080i recording quality is good.
Why did they arbitrarily set such different recording qualities for the different resolutions?
Other Thoughts: Cannot be used for composite video. If composite is fed in to the "Y" input (green RCA jack), it records in black & white only, with stripes in the image. This is to be expected, as this unit does not claim to be for composite video.
This unit can be used as a Component to HDMI converter, including the two-channel audio track. If the scene is mostly a white background, then there will appear a pair of horizontal black lines across the top of the image, in the passed-through image. Fortunately, these stripes do not appear in the recorded video.
With typical TV programs, the space used per minute is:
480i 12 MB/min.
480p 31 MB/min.
720p 53 MB/min.
1080i 110 MB/min.
Reviewed By:HOOMAN B.,8/9/2016 12:40:09 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Pro Video Capturing > Blackmagic Design Pty. Ltd. > Blackmagic Design Intensity Pro 4K Capture and play back Cards BINTSPRO4K

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 It works
Pros: Small, lightweight, simple to install, supports a series of video formats, and inexpensive
Cons: Some trivia see blelow
Other Thoughts: I use it to capture the hdmi signals from the same pc. The setup: I connect a displayport cable from my main graphics card to my main monitor; an hdmi cable connects the main graphics card to the capture card; a second displayport cable connects my secondary graphics card to my secondary monitor; in Windows, enable all three screens, but set the capture card screen and the secondary screen in duplicate mode, resolution is 1920x1080@60Hz. To simply test the setup, I use VLC and the following command line code:
"C:\Program Files (x86)\VideoLAN\VLC\vlc.exe" dshow:// :dshow-vdev="Decklink Video Capture" :dshow-size=1920x1080 :dshow-aspect-ratio=16\:9 :decklink-caching=200 :dshow-caching=1000 :dshow-chroma=UYVY :dshow-fps=60
There should be no problem for non-fullscreen applications. For some video games, I try to set their resolution and refresh rate to match 1080p@60. If the refresh rate setting is unavailable, I need to change the command line parameters to match. Use the provided utility tool to acquire correct video format information.
For capture, I use nvme m.2 ssd raid0. There is no frame drop observed. The ssd raid setup is able to pass all speed tests provided with the accompany software.
I noticed that the driver/software needed to be installed after Adobe Premiere. Otherwise, there is no Blackmagic capture option under capture.
I actually bought this card because I saw many negative reviews and would like see for myself. I didn't really find any cons about this product. It might be that I'm using the latest driver/software with previous issues fixed. It might need some work/tweak to get it to capture video signals from pc graphics cards, as there are so many formats. For cameras that I also tested, it worked straight out of the box. I'm not sure if the hard drive speed is essential to its applications, as I'm using the fastest possible right now. If disk usage is a concern for its less compressed stream, software encoding might be a solution, but I haven't tested. It might need a powerful multicore CPU or multiCPUs, especially for gaming. There should also be GPU based encoding solutions for multiGPU environments.
I actually downloaded the APIs from their website, in case I wasn't able to get it work. Since it worked, I didn't really look their APIs in much detail. I believe most of the issued could be resolved by using their APIs. One may also try to develop a dedicated application for whatever the use case.
I removed one egg just because it seems to be a much simplified version of their higher-end products. The capture device is even called decklink in software. There also doesn't seem to be a dedicated manual for this device, as all capture devices share one manual.
Reviewed By:YONG W.,7/15/2016 10:41:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Pro Video Capturing > STARTECH > StarTech - USB2HDCAPS - StarTech.com Standalone Video Capture and Streaming - HDMI or Component - 1080p - USB 2.0 Video

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great product.....
Pros: great video, and it records to sd cards
Cons: Very cheap software
Reviewed By:Anthony B.,4/17/2016 9:32:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Pro Video Capturing > Hauppauge > Hauppauge Colossus 2 PCI Express High Definition Video Recorder

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works As Advertised
Pros: Works perfectly in both Win7 and Win10 (upgraded from 7). Lots of settables including turning OFF what was bothering another reviewer about SSDs being killed by this device. Very nice GUI. Will record from HDMI (preferred), Component and Composite (read the docs) sources with ease.
Cons: Not really a con, just the way it works: Quite a bit of lag time over real-time recording, but it records faithfully from HD sources on down. I think when you install WinTV8 it installs a lot of WinTV stuff you don't need, since this doesn't have TV channel selection that I could find, so the start menu displays two Hauppauge choices.
Other Thoughts: If I needed another I'd buy one without hesitation.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,3/27/2016 7:52:21 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Pro Video Capturing > Blackmagic Design Pty. Ltd. > Blackmagic Design Intensity Shuttle BINTSSHU

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works great if you know how to use it
Pros: 1080i 60 looks great
tested working with my lenovo flex 3 1480 using usb 3 ssd
Cons: Its not really a con but you should know that it will take alot of very fast storage usb3 ssd works but im using 3 of them because they fill up fast.
Other Thoughts: Buy it .. better than the avermedia stuff
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/5/2016 6:41:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Pro Video Capturing > Hauppauge > Hauppauge Colossus 2 PCI Express High Definition Video Recorder

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 1080p Cature but will destroy SSDs
Pros: - 1080p capture
Cons: Where to begin.

- Software is buggy
- Cannot passthrough 5.1 unless the source is 5.1 when app is started, otherwise it crashes.
- The DEAL killer though is the skipback 'feature', better labelled an "SSD" killer. The constant writing to disk cannot be stopped no matter what you do, anytime the app is running it will constantly write a TEMP-1-X or TEMP-2-X file up to almost a gig then start a new one with the X = 1, 2, 3, etc... after about 5 temp files it will delete the oldest one but it will run like this constantly writing to disk. Even if start the capture, it will then be writing 2 files at the same time to the same directory. TOTAL WASTE. Your expensive limited write lifetime SSD will scream bloody murder at you. AVOID THIS PRODUCT at all costs until they provide a user a way to disable this worthless 'skip back' feature and stop this unnecessary writes to disk.
Other Thoughts: AVOID AVOID AVOID
Reviewed By:Jeffrey A.,1/30/2016 2:44:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Pro Video Capturing > Blackmagic Design Pty. Ltd. > Blackmagic Design Intensity Pro 4K Capture and play back Cards BINTSPRO4K

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Probably no better than Intensity Pro HD
Pros: I do not own this board but I do own the previous Intensity Pro 1080P and it never worked. I even sent it back to have the F/W reflashed and when it came back I captured one 10sec video and 3 images before it became a brick. I tested in both Linux and Windows 7 (Windows 7 caused BSOD's). All these Black Magic low end products are absolutely worthless. Just read some of the comments around the Web.
Cons: Everything from the Pro.
Other Thoughts: I do not own this board but I do own the previous Intensity Pro 1080P and it never worked. I even sent it back to have the F/W reflashed and when it came back I captured one 10sec video and 3 images before it became a brick. I tested in both Linux and Windows 7 (Windows 7 caused BSOD's). All these Black Magic low end products are absolutely worthless. Just read some of the comments around the Web.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/11/2015 5:24:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Low and has owned this product more than 1 year.
1 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Pro Video Capturing > Parrot > Parrot GPSED Sand AR.Drone 2.0 'GPS Edition'

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Do. Not. Buy.
Pros: None
Cons: I can not stress this enough...do not buy this product. I have spent over $120 returning defective quadricopters to Parrot. The level of craftsmanship is actually lower than some of the sub-$100 toys on the market. Overall, this is an expensive, low quality item with serious flaws.

The camera-I don't know how they say it's 720p. It consistently (if you can get the usb to record) looks terrible. Looks great on your phone as you fly, but looking at it on any thing bigger is terrible quality. Shame.

Image Quality-the single snapshots are just as bad, but worse is the lack of stabilization in the video. The camera is built in to the body, so every move you make is recorded. You'll feel sea sick after a while. Choppy, choppy, choppy.

App-I spent the 4 dollars to get the 'Directors Mode' of the app, which is only on IOS. It promises better control, smoother flight, blah blah blah...all things that should have been part of the basic app if you ask me. I tried, but could never get it to work with my iPad. The basic Android app is slow and unresponsive, which is not qualities I look for when something is spinning around my head. Despite repeated flat trimming and re-caibration, the copter doesn't follow commands, leading to high-anxiety situations.It's not just the controls; on both app platforms, you have to repeatedly hit the settings buttons to get into them. To lose a several hundred dollar toy becasue of a mistake, I can accept; to lose it beacsue it's not responding and going into a dangerous situation, I can not. It is difficult to fly this drone responsibly. I 'll say it again: IT IS DIFFICULT TO FLY THIS DRONE RESPONSIBLY.

Quality-I feel like if i look at it wrong it will break a rotor or gear. Very fragile, hard landings are not uncommon. Hard enough, you'll be shipping it back at your expense for repair. Start that shipping fund now if you still decide to purchase this.

Control-as i said in App, very little. It does not do well in ANY wind. Beware of shadows, as it gets lost and loses control. There's no magic 'home' button (that works on either of my devices anyway) that will bring the drone back of it gets out of control. There is an emergency mode which immediately cuts power to the drone, and it will fall from whatever height it is at. Be careful.

Safety-for whatever reason-even Parrot could not explain-two rotors turned on while the app was off after a flight. It just happened to be as i was removing the outdoor shell to remove battery. Even though the rotor is plastic, it spins at thousands of rpms. It's enough to cut, which it did to my hand. Not happy. That and the control issues, you need a lot of luck to not injure someone or cause property damage, including the drone or yourself.

Support-you will get to know many of Parrots support team. Nice people, their hands are tied with an inferior product.

That's that. I don't know what my next drone will be, but it will NOT come from Parrot. I recommend you make that d
Reviewed By:N/A,11/19/2015 9:54:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.