Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Pro Video Capturing > DJI-Innovations > DJI Phantom 2 Vision Battery Charger

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Poor Description
Pros: I have this and it is a great RTF quadcopter. Easily upgraded
Cons: Horrible description by "thenerds" that sell it. They are trying to gain sales by making it sound like a spy craft when it is not. Negative news reports and horrible marketing like this are pushing the FAA to ban these crafts.
Other Thoughts: Horrible description by "thenerds" that sell it. They are trying to gain sales by making it sound like a spy craft when it is not. Negative news reports and horrible marketing like this are pushing the FAA to ban these crafts.
Reviewed By:dragonash,6/29/2014 11:07:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Pro Video Capturing > Blackmagic Design Pty. Ltd. > Blackmagicdesign UltraStudio BDLKULSASDI

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Doesn't Play Well with Others
Pros: SDI pass through, HDMI out. Rubberized base so doesn't slide.
Cons: Unit is only certified to work with a handful of desktops about double in laptops. Any other machine support says they can't guarrantee it will work.

Big problem with Intel based USB 3.0 Host Adapters. Per their support, "It's hit and miss if it will work."

I bought this unit to do streaming on ACER computer but wasn't aware of limited list of computers this unit works with. Kept crashing the computer after 10-20 minutes of streaming.
Other Thoughts: Never have I had to research whether or not a hardware component is compatible with a particular computer. If you want to buy this to capture and/or stream better check to see if computer is on the list or look at buying another computer.
Reviewed By:Disappointed,5/25/2014 6:04:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Low and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Pro Video Capturing > Blackmagic Design Pty. Ltd. > Blackmagicdesign UltraStudio BDLKULSASDI

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Does Not Play Well With Others
Pros: Connections in and out. Pass through SDI. HDMI out.
Cons: This device is very limited on what computers it will work with. When I pulled out the Disc there is an immediate warning about NEC USB 3.0 Host based plugs. Then according to their support it does not work well with Intel Based USB 3 Host plugs. In their support's words, "It's hit and miss." Their website has a small list of computers it is certified to work with.
Reviewed By:Disappointed,5/24/2014 4:32:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Pro Video Capturing > Blackmagic Design Pty. Ltd. > Blackmagicdesign Intensity Pro HDMI and Analog Editing Card - Retail

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Extremely Disappointed
Pros: Does what it claims to, when it works..
Cons: Card causes BSOD on multiple machines that are different chipsets.

Blackmagic Designs refused to do a cross-ship / advanced RMA and insisted they inspect my card to see that something is wrong with it prior to shipping me a new card. (For those that don't know, this means they put a hold on your credit card until they receive the defective item). This wouldn't had been a problem if the card was completely broken, but it wasn't and I use it daily. I also sent them memory dumps from the BSOD caused by the card. (It would happen when the card would stop capturing video, as soon as I close the capturing program the PC would BSOD in xsplit, OBS, and blackmagic designs media express)

Another issue I've come across besides the BSOD (which happens every other day or so) is sometimes the card will completely just stop working and I have to uninstall and reinstall the drivers.

Cons relating to this device even if it actually worked properly:

4:2:2 video sampling, 720p limitations..in this day and age there is technology that has advanced past this device, and costs less.

Also, I wasn't ever able to get analog devices to capture at any resolution, only HDMI capturing works.
Other Thoughts: Extremely dissatisfied with the product, and the support behind it. Recently ordered a competitors capture card as a replacement.

I saw another reviewer who had similar issues to me, and said that Blackmagic Designs claimed nothing was wrong with the card after they had sent it in-I'm not going to waste my time (and my own money for shipping) to risk them to jerking me around with their defective product.
Reviewed By:Jeremy,5/9/2014 10:10:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Pro Video Capturing > Blackmagic Design Pty. Ltd. > Blackmagicdesign Intensity Pro HDMI and Analog Editing Card - Retail

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Company does not work with customers,
Pros: None that I could find - does not work on any of my 64 bit Win 7 machines.
Cons: Contacted company a few days after I purchased. There is a No Refund - No Return - policy - if you buy it and it doesn't work for you - too bad - you're out of luck.
Reviewed By:Rasaraja,4/22/2014 3:55:30 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Pro Video Capturing > Blackmagic Design Pty. Ltd. > Blackmagicdesign Intensity Shuttle BINTSSHU/THBOLT

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Very disappointing...
Pros: The device has the Pass Through feature
Cons: The device cannot record in 1080p @ 60 fps, which 30 fps is ok and what I'm looking for, BUT the software needs to be set at the exact signal that it is recording, and will not pass the signal through unless the setting matches what the device will be outputting. So this would mean I would have to use 720p, which I'm not ok with.
Other Thoughts: Cannot be used with Xbox One if you want to play on 1080p, has to be 720p.

Ill be getting the elgato Game Capture HD instead! This was a waste of my time and effort. Ill never be buying Blackmagic products again in the future as they make everything EXTREMELY difficult to use.
Reviewed By:BCH,3/15/2014 10:49:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Pro Video Capturing > Blackmagic Design Pty. Ltd. > Blackmagicdesign DeckLink Studio 2 SD/HD Video Card with SDI, HDMI & Analog Connections BDLKSTUDIO2

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 It Works
Pros: Works as described keeps CPU usage fairly low
Cons: Audio does not work unless video is present
Card only works as an video in or video out, not both at the same time
Other Thoughts: Using it in an HP Workstation to capture HD-SDI from a camera and stream via wirecast, works well.
Reviewed By:N/A,2/23/2014 4:04:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Pro Video Capturing > Blackmagic Design Pty. Ltd. > Blackmagicdesign Intensity Pro HDMI and Analog Editing Card - Retail

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 couldn't get it to work with analog inputs
Pros: Nothing for me. Triple checked and researched for hours to make sure I hooked it up right.
Cons: I bought this instead of the Avermedia Live Gamer HD because it has analog support. Right now I have old video equipment, IE a 640x480 camera and using S video for the input. I eventually want to get new equipment, but I had to build the new PC first and be able to capture video for now.
I could never get this to work with the composite input, so I simply cannot comment on it's digital capabilities. Once I get all my equipment updated I will likely switch back to this card and see what it can really do. I want to eventually be doing full 1080p, which is why I bought this card in the first place.
Other Thoughts: I picked up the Avermedia C027 in the mean time, I had it completely set up and recording within 20 minutes. Highly recommend that card for analog inputs, SUPER easy to work with.
Reviewed By:N/A,2/21/2014 6:13:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Pro Video Capturing > Blackmagic Design Pty. Ltd. > Blackmagicdesign Intensity Shuttle BINTSSHU

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Do Not Buy
Pros: None. Great idea if it worked, (I had the outdated hardware in an old system) & still no guarantee to work as on the "compatibility" section of the product page. I also bought a NEC PCIe USB card for this. The required hardware is outdated, the x58 chipset is from gen1 of Intel's I7 Cpu, like a 920 or 950 using a 1366 socket. That is only a Sata2 board btw, 3 gig not 6 gig for data transfer. But even SVHS compressed was a problem to record.
Polite support people that already knew of the problems with this device
Cons: I'm a computer company and was in video production for years. Not a novice.
But You know you are in trouble when BlackMagicDesign's own tech support tells you they have a Intensity shuttle USB3 in their shop and can't get it to work either. They blame it on the USB3 spec. 3 days later I asked for a replacement on a defective product, no luck. They said their PCIe or Thunderbolt version is better, but I'm not so sure.
Trying it with their software or Adobe Premiere, setup is a nightmare. Go to control panel, then make the settings, next go to the recording program and make sure those settings match. But instructions, troubleshooting, FAQ's are worthless. Try uncompressed recording on a drive that passed their speedtest, and you still drop frames within 3 seconds.
Got the same black rolling bars as another reviewer recording in compressed, NTSC mode. Search the web, you'll see what I mean.
Other Thoughts: Great newegg support got this returned since I documented all the issues.
Reviewed By:Joe,2/12/2014 9:04:58 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Pro Video Capturing > Blackmagic Design Pty. Ltd. > Blackmagicdesign Intensity Pro HDMI and Analog Editing Card - Retail

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: I've used this card on my main rig (Core i7-860, ASUS P7P55D), mostly for capturing from my 360 and other platforms I own (even did some recording from a PAL vcr). Using the MJPEG codec (because the others will make a very large file), i got fantastic quality that I could edit real easily for various projects. File formats work well with Sony Vegas Pro, Adobe CS6, even WMM.

I've done a little streaming as well, and it works just fine.

The HDMI Passthru is very convenient, and so is the breakout cable if capturing analog.

All in all, one of my favorite pieces of tech.
Cons: On the occasion it sometimes gives me a black screen, but rebooting my comp fixes that (this is rare for me). Otherwise, I really like using it.

It is an internal card, so if you are recording from a console or a media player, make sure its within a close range (unless you've got long cables)

Slight bummer that the 1080p is restricted to 1080p30 (30 fps ish) and wont capture full hd from consoles, but that's alright. (I generally captured at 720p60, good ratio of filesize to quality)
Other Thoughts: Some helpful tips for people who are looking into this:

Make sure you definitely check that you have an available PCI Express x1 slot, and that your Mobo/CPU is powerful (don't want to drop frames or be incompatible, generally speaking P, H, and Z series intel mobos should be good to go unless explicitly mentioned on the blackmagic website)

Also be sure you've got a good amount of HDD space. I do use the MJPEG codec provided by BM, and for a 12 min, 720p, 60fps file for example is about 9 gigs in size. Having a descent sized scratch drive (i used a 1TB WD Black, though raid configs, ssds, or other high speed solutions will also work) is strongly recommended. The uncompressed ones can yield FAR larger file sizes so be careful with what mode you capture with (this will vary on your projects)
Reviewed By:}SoC{BrownSound,1/22/2014 9:42:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau