Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Personal Cloud > Western Digital > WD Diskless My Cloud EX4100 Expert Series Network Attached Storage - NAS WDBWZE0000NBK-NESN

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 excellent product, easy to setup and use.
Pros: fast and easy to setup , love the hot-swap ability and a few tweaks to the setup and the transfer rate is insainly fast.
Cons: I upgraded from an earlier edition, from Western digital that had built in media streaming, wish this one did as well, not a big deal just mapped the media folder to my computer and can share from there.

Other Thoughts: love the flexibility to put what ever size Hard drive i want in it.
Reviewed By:Gary S.,8/21/2016 2:02:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Personal Cloud > Western Digital > WD 8TB My Cloud Personal Network Attached Storage - NAS - WDBCTL0080HWT-NESN

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great device
Pros: Works fairly well in Ultimate Edition Linux (writing software to auto detect it) I am by hobby an Operating System Architect & Leading Programmer. I see at peak 110 MB/s via avg 90 MB/s, 80 at the low. Make sure you have Gigabit. Cables mean a ton, do not bottleneck yourself. I had cat5e and was a horrible product. I have a Netgear Nighthalk 8000 router, pay attention to the color of the lights. Ordered Cat 7 cable. Cat 6 right now. I have been writing custom firmware for this bad lad. Turn off all features you do not need. I do have Iphones in house and flicked off Itunes serving. I have Winders devices in house and can not find it in Win 10, ironic is it not; even hard wired.
Cons: I have a Quad Core Atom running Win 10 (Voyo V2) used as a media center in the bedroom and can not find the NAS even with Western Digitals software & hard wired. It has a USB Netgear AC 6200 wireless adapter, I am currently fighting with, because the integrated is something to be desired. The built in wireless works, but causes it to cut out in HD & 4K, not the fault of the product until I get connectivity.
Other Thoughts: I have attached a 6TB USB3 Hard disk to it and functions perfectly. The My cloud portion of it works well, unless you want to access your control panel. It is limited on ram, when you strip services it is a rock solid performer. I am robbing it of an Egg because it does not play well with Windows, it's intended environment. Probably should have robbed it of 4 eggs. 90% of my house uses Linux.
Reviewed By:Glenn C.,8/19/2016 11:57:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Personal Cloud > Toshiba > TOSHIBA Canvio AeroCast 1TB Wireless Portable Hard Drive HDTU110XKWC1 Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Auto backup SD card alone
Pros: Convenient
Cons: .
Other Thoughts: If you fail to backup SD card automatically by the wireless hard drive alone, try this:

On your first SD card backup, open the app, turn on the drive, connect wirelessly, then insert the card into the card slot. On the app main interface, click the Backup button.
On the Backup SD Card window, select the Auto Copy box. After the selection, the app starts backup immediately when the app is opened and connected. ( No click on the Start Backup button.)
After the backup, close the app with the Auto Copy box is selected.

Now you can backup SD Card by the wireless hard drive alone without connecting to a device. Next time, just turn on the drive, after all indicator lights stop blinking, then insert the card. The drive will Auto Copy alone.

If this procedure does not work, rename the SD card first, then repeat the procedure.
Reviewed By:wi,8/18/2016 4:16:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Personal Cloud > Western Digital > WD 4TB My Cloud Personal Network Attached Storage - NAS - WDBCTL0040HWT-NESN

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Worked Great for about 2.5 Years
Pros: -Setup was easy, I connected it to PCs, Macs, and Ipads on my home network.
- Storage was enormous, more than enough for my needs.
Cons: - Unit failed without any warning after two and a half years. I am now looking at a couple of hundred dollars to recover the data from the drive.
Other Thoughts: Based on this i am not sure if I could reccomend to someone. If I was sure there was nothing on the drive that I would ever need again I would just bin it. But I put a lot of stuff on it and I am afraid that some valuable data might be on there.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Michael,
It is unfortunate to hear about the untimely malfunction of your My Cloud; we understand how trying it can be to potentially loose data.
We would like to follow-up with you on this review to investigate and troubleshoot the drive to determine if the data can be accessed again and retrieved, while resolving this experience with a positive resolution. Please contact us by email or phone and ne sure to mention your Newegg details with the first agent you speak to so we can connect you with a product specialist.

Need Help? Please visit the link below for further assistance or contact us at 1(800) 275-4932
https://wdsupport.wdc.com/sfdc/case.aspx

Reviewed By:Michael F.,8/3/2016 2:09:38 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Personal Cloud > Western Digital > WD My Cloud EX2 Ultra 4TB Private Cloud Storage - NAS Storage WDBVBZ0040JCH-NESN Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Unreliable, and slow.
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Mycloud server goes down every 10 days, and you can not remotely access data, it also impacts the internal usage of the server as well at times. Very unreliable. I will never ever buy another NAS device from WD. Also very slow read/write, nothing like they have advertised.
Other Thoughts: Stay away from this NAS device, very unreliable, Synology offers much better and reliable NAS devices. The reviews for this NAS device seemed okay originally when I ordered it, but in the past month their server has gone down three times, and when you call them, they start talking about how you should modify the DNS on the NAS device, and re setup your device again. This is very annoying, if you're looking to get a dependable NAS server, you should definitely stay away from WD NAS devices.
Manufacturer Response:Hi mehdi,
Your feedback provided to us is appreciated.
Below you will find some helpful Knowledge Base articles from our support site to assist with checking for a firmware update and assigning a Static IP. Please also try disabling the Power Save feature and mapping to the My Cloud to rule out that from causing the described behavior with connectivity in your environment.
“How to update the firmware on a My Cloud device”: http://support.wdc.com/KnowledgeBase/answer.aspx?ID=10440
“How to configure a My Cloud or My Cloud EX4 drive with a Static IP”: http://support.wdc.com/KnowledgeBase/answer.aspx?ID=11384
“How to map a My Cloud or NAS device”: http://support.wdc.com/KnowledgeBase/answer.aspx?ID=2676
http://support.wdc.com/KnowledgeBase/answer.aspx?ID=2686

We advise connecting the My Cloud and your computer directly to the back of the router via Ethernet for troubleshooting purposes to improve performance and connectivity locally, and also checking that port forwarding is setup correctly in the event the router and drive are not aligned for remote access.
“When transferring large files to or from a WD NAS device, performance may be slower than expected”: http://support.wdc.com/KnowledgeBase/answer.aspx?ID=5736
“How to configure port forwarding on a My Cloud, My Book Live, or My Book Live Duo”: http://support.wdc.com/KnowledgeBase/answer.aspx?ID=8526

Please allow us the opportunity to help you on this by getting in touch with our staff and referencing this Newegg review.

Need Help? Please visit the link below for further assistance or contact us at 1(800) 275-4932
https://wdsupport.wdc.com/sfdc/case.aspx

Reviewed By:mehdi a.,8/3/2016 12:40:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Personal Cloud > Western Digital > WD 4TB My Cloud Personal Network Attached Storage - NAS - WDBCTL0040HWT-NESN

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Disappointed and frustrated, do not buy until they work the bugs out
Pros: I can't think of anything. Slow. Bought two 4TB My Clouds and can only say hard drives inside seem to be OK despite the fact these things run hot, never sleep and no instructions on how to remove a backup and start over.
Cons: - No way to remove a backup once the drive gets full. WD instructions for WD Smartware is useless and WD knowledge base only suggests a way for Dual (Mirror) drives, not single drives.... and warn you shouldn't try to reformat the drives.
- No problem with formatting/erasing Seagate Cloud’s, or there USB externals backups, only Smartware backups... what’s WDs problem?
- I’ve had issues with both WD My Cloud and My Book versions removing old backups, but at least the MY knowledge base says it’s OK reformat My Books using WD Tools, not My Cloud though.
- No way to make them sleep, like Seagate’s, My Books why do My Clouds never sleep?? These My Clouds run in the high 45C all the time at idle, 60C when backing up (probably hotter since you can only measure the temperature leaving the case.
- Every time I use them (once a week to backup) their static IP disappeared, maybe it’s the weekly firmware update, What the hell is that about!!

Other Thoughts: - Need to make a decision to rip the HDs out of their enclosures and invalidate the warranty and reformat and use then in an external docking station.
- Expensive for fill-once archive solution without instructions to resolve deleting backups and sleep, slow. Backups are 1/4 the speed of USB 3 externals (WD and Seagate), 24 hours + for what should take 6 hours.
Manufacturer Response:Greetings Ron,
Within the WD SmartWare there is an option to modify the backup settings to only include one version of each file; by defaults this setting is 5, which could cause a backup to be larger than expected. If you prefer to have a live copy that reflects what files are actively on your computer, we recommend using the provided WD Sync software. This will remove, modify, and add files as you perform these actions on your computer, while not keeping multiple versions of the files on the drive.
“How to use WD Sync to sync data with a My Cloud storage device”: http://support.wdc.com/KnowledgeBase/answer.aspx?ID=11395

You do have the ability to erase the data and settings stored on the My Cloud by performing a Full System Restore and including the option to remove the data.
“How to restore a My Cloud device to factory default settings”: http://support.wdc.com/KnowledgeBase/answer.aspx?ID=14141

It is strange to have a Static IP be removed from the My Cloud’s Dashboard settings applied by the Admin, or if your router somehow does the same from a DHCP reservation, unless you perform some form of a reset. If you have not assigned a Static IP to the My Cloud through the Dashboard, we have provided a link to help you achieve this.
“How to configure a My Cloud or My Cloud EX4 drive with a Static IP”: http://support.wdc.com/KnowledgeBase/answer.aspx?ID=11384

We would appreciate the opportunity to look into this further with you. You can reach us below and mention your Newegg review.

Need Help? Please visit the link below for further assistance or contact us at 1(800) 275-4932
https://wdsupport.wdc.com/sfdc/case.aspx

Reviewed By:Ron K.,8/1/2016 8:36:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Personal Cloud > Western Digital > WD 0TB My Cloud PR4100 Pro Series Diskless Media Server with Transcoding, NAS - Network Attached Storage Model WDBNFA0000NBK-NESN

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great NAS. Easy setup.
Pros: I owned the EX 4 and DL4100, both worked great. Just wanted the upgrade and the PR 4100 is outstanding. Was able to put my 4 Reds 3tb hard drives from the DL4100 to the PR4100 without losing any data at Raid 5. Simple to upgrade the RAM to 16gb. I did not need but wanted it.
Cons: Nothing at this time.
Reviewed By:Richard D.,8/1/2016 3:57:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Personal Cloud > Toshiba > TOSHIBA Canvio AeroCast 1TB Wireless Portable Hard Drive HDTU110XKWC1 Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Not intuitive, but Excellent capability with Toshiba quality
Pros: Download a users manual and read it. This device's wifi capability can easily serve as a bridge to your existing wifi. By doing so, you can connect to this device ... it will bridge to your normal wifi .. and you have full access to the Internet. The benefit is that you now also have the ability to map a network drive letter to your PC and easily use this device as a NAS unit. I manage all of this devices features with an Android app from my Galaxy S5. Look for Toshiba Wireless HDD on Google. So, I can access all my music, photos, etc. on my Phone in this manner. With my phone's Bluetooth, I can therefore connect to bluetooth speakers (or adapter to my home sound system) and play all of the music easily . Aside from all that, this is a pretty fair 1TB drive that you can connect to your computer via USB that is also used to keep it charged.
Cons: They have not done themselves any favors in portraying the capability of of this unit. Probably have lost sales due to the unclear and incomplete documentation that they provide. You've got to find the user's manual and download it .. then read it. It's pretty clear.
Reviewed By:David L.,7/31/2016 7:30:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Personal Cloud > Toshiba > TOSHIBA Canvio AeroCast 1TB Wireless Portable Hard Drive HDTU110XKWC1 Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: great product with reasonable price.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Yes, I will recommend this product to others and buy it again.
Reviewed By:Dung V.,7/31/2016 6:16:59 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Personal Cloud > Western Digital > WD 3TB My Cloud Personal Network Attached Storage - NAS - WDBCTL0030HWT-NESN

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Personal Opinion
Pros: -Very intuitive user interface; setup users, folders, and configs. If you can't figure this out? Back away from the keyboard my friend.
-Love the added backup USB port to backup this device encase of a major crash, not all is lost.
-DLNA Streaming to SmartTV and wireless devices
Cons: -Single Drive system
Other Thoughts: I read a few reviews and most of them hammered away on the transfers being interrupted or stopping. In my case, I transferred 75 GB of photos' and video of my children. It took about 6 1/2-7 hours to complete. Never dropped or failed throughout that transfer. I do occasionally notice the Web Interface fall flat on it's face but it does not interrupt anything being transferred or viewed. I'm getting about 8MB transfer rate which could be the result of transferring from an older Smartphone. For the price and simplicity, I definitely recommend this NAS.
Reviewed By:Rosalio G.,7/13/2016 3:12:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.