Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > G-Technology > G-Technology G-Connect 500GB 2.5" Wireless Storage for iPad iPhone 0G02148 (White)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Mistake
Pros: Sounded good
Cons: Does not work like stated!
Reviewed By:Slick,7/17/2014 3:51:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat Low and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO MiniStation Air 1TB USB 3.0 / WIFI Wireless Mobile Storage HDW-PD1.0U3

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Wireless Media Storage Solution
Pros: This device provides 1TB of wireless storage for your wireless devices (tablets, smart phones), as well as working as a media server for DNLA devices.

Buffalo provides a companion app that you can get on your device that allows you to connect to the Air and browse and play the content stored on the drive.

To connect to the Air, you have to connect to its WiFi signal. Through the app, you can also connect to another WiFi signal (your standard home WiFi, for example) to allow for Internet access even while connected to the Air.

You can also upload photos from your device to the Air, which is a nice feature. I don’t have to connect my phone to my PC anymore to get my pictures off of there!

You can charge your phone using this device too, which is cool if you need an extra bit of power to finish watching a long movie or whatever.

The compact design makes it easy to take with in a backpack or laptop bag. I can take this thing to work and have access to all of my music, excellent.

The 3-year warranty is pretty cool considering this is essentially an ultra-mobile HDD.
Cons: Where’s the documentation or instructions? I feel that Buffalo could have included more in the box in regards to documentation with this device. Instructions on how to use this device as a media server, how to use the companion app, or just anything more than what was provided. I had a lot of trouble getting this set up initially, which I feel would be resolved with additional documentation in the packaging.

Seems to me like the claim about this device being a “wireless hotspot” is a bit of a stretch. To make it a hotspot, it MUST be connected to an already existing wireless network. So yeah, you can connect a bunch of devices to it and get Internet access, but only if you already have a wireless network set up.
Other Thoughts: Take a look at the supported file types to make sure that your device is compatible with what you want to play. You may have to convert your media files into a more standard type if you’re using something different.

The Air is very useful if you know you’re going to need a large amount of media away from home or on the go. 1TB is more than most everyone is going to need.

With recent changes to the Android firmware, access to files/media on microSD cards has been limited. For example, some of my music player apps can no longer access music via microSD. This makes the Air even more useful as my phone’s capacity isn’t as big anymore.

I’m giving this product 4/5 Eggs. The device itself is worth 5 Eggs, but the difficulty of setting it up and the lack of documentation bring it down 1 Egg, IMO.
Reviewed By:Robert D.,7/13/2014 10:29:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO MiniStation Air 1TB USB 3.0 / WIFI Wireless Mobile Storage HDW-PD1.0U3

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Fills a need you did not know you needed
Pros: I got this as a review product, I really would not buy something like this, but looked interesting to test.

Simple to connect to using the App (make sure to get the right one, MiniStation Air2, or just scan QR code provided in setup instructions).
Lots of options and configuration options in the app menu. Power saving options, network settings and such are all there.

Easy to access when plugged into USB (just go to 192.168.14.1 to get into the devices software) or use as a regular drive and drag and drop.

This will charge my iPad 2, but not completly. It charged it from 50% to around 90%. Should give most phones a nearly full charge.

I am not sure on exact battery life, but streaming music to my phone and movies to my iPad for 6 hours was not an issue at all.

Has an auto uploading feature you can enable that every time your mobile device connects it will copy pics/vids to the device so you have an extra copy of them.
Cons: First unit I received would not charge. I could use it plugged in, but something was wrong with the battery/charging system.

You can not charge a device and use the hard drive at the same time. I guess it would just kill the battery to do both at the same time, but be aware of this.

No way to keep your phone connected to both the hard drive and wireless data service at the same time. Voice and SMS text still work, but no data connection, so no way to check e-mails and such when using the device.

You also can not use it as both a wireless drive and plugged into a computer. This kind of sticks since I would love to keep it plugged into my server so I could share with wired devices at faster speeds but be able to use the wireless whenever I wanted also.

As stated by others, I saw a pretty drastic drop in speeds when connecting to the internet through the device.

Tested on my iPad 2:

Wireless n connection to home network: 29.49 Mbps down/5.84 up

through device to home network: 11.69 Mbps down/4.34 Mbps up buffalo

so speeds are more than 1/2 as slow using the drive, so I am guessing wireless g?
Just FYI my home Wired speeds are 44 Mbps down / 6 Mbps up

No battery percent indicator. Would be nice to know if it is about to die, Just green = charged, red = dead. There is a section in the software for battery life, but it would not pull up for me when I click on it?

I had the white bars with video playback also. Hope they fix this in a firmware update. Needs to be black bars.
Other Thoughts: Although I initially received a bad unit, Buffalo sent me a replacement quickly. Hopefully they treat retail customers the same way. I contacted Monday evening via e-mail, replacement at my house Wednesday afternoon.

I do wish it was a little more rugged. While I don't expect it to survive drops and falls, the case seems a little weak for a portable device like this.

Maybe a rubberized coating or something on it? Not a con, just something that would make me more comfortable carrying it around in a backpack.

Power light has 3 options, Green is powered on for use (blue WiFi led turns on when WiFi is ready), Orange means you can plug in a portable device to charge it. No light is power off. You have to push the power button and hold it for it to switch between power options.

I plan on using this when we travel to let the kids stream movies/music to their portable devices so they don't fight over my phone with unlimited data.

This device is one that I am not really sure who will buy. It has lots of features, but still lacks a few for what I think it is. A lot of the issues could be fixed with a firmware update I believe.
If your one that finds you need a lot more storage when your on the go and want a simple interface, then this is it. It is a bit costly IMO, but some may find the storage and convenience worth it.

My overall score would be 3.5 eggs, but since I can't give 1/2 and egg, it only gets 3 from me.
Reviewed By:Blu,7/9/2014 7:54:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > G-Technology > G-Technology G-Connect 500GB 2.5" Wireless Storage for iPad iPhone 0G02148 (White)

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 not great but does what it advertises
Pros: does technically act as a portable wireless access point for internet if you have a wired connection available.

does allow you to stream media via the mobile app

can function as a usb drive

only got it because it came free with purchase of the router; probably would never buy it on my own--too many other little issues to overcome first. would say that it is a good early iteration for what they are trying to accomplish.
Cons: limited mobility because you need a hard line internet connection.

USB 2 only
as a HD is kinda small these days

would like a user interface when access data more like a dropbox situation.

can only work as a powered device. need external battery or plug.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/8/2014 12:21:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO MiniStation Air 1TB USB 3.0 / WIFI Wireless Mobile Storage HDW-PD1.0U3

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Wonderful Device
Pros: This device is great! The setup process is very easy (Plug and Play on PC) and connecting to a mobile device is painless. Truthfully, I was expecting to have a harder time, but Buffalo did a great job and preventing headaches. 1. Charge the device, 2. Transfer files from PC, 3. Install mobile app for iPhone or Android, 4. connect to the device, 5. There is no step five, you're done!

The overall design of the device is visually appealing and it feels quite rugged (see cons note 1.)

The app is surprisingly good (only tested android). The built in file explorer is nice so you can view everything that is on the drive and on your phone for easy file transfer. The controls are intuitive so you don't have to do much guessing as to how to do something. Video streaming is flawless so if you have a movie on the drive there is no problem. There is no native support for .MKV, .M4V and a few other file types. There is however a way to stream to another app (not intuitive control on this one, it looks like a file folder) so you can play them with your preferred video app.

This drive will charge via the AC plug or the usb port when plugged in (see note 2 in cons) and can be charged while WiFi is on, but cannot be plugged into a computer.

The app allows you to change settings on the hard drive, like power modes and has the option to put the drive into standby mode when nothing is being transferred. Great way to save battery! You can also power off your drive from your phone, and change the wifi ssid and password. You can also search for firmware right from the app and update the drive. Super painless!

The last feature that I really love is the ability to charge another device with the airstation. You can just plug your phone right into it and leech some extra power off it! (see cons note 3)
Cons: Note 1 - While the overall feel of the case is rugged it is made out of plastic and looks as though it would scratch fairly easily over time. At $199 I would prefer to see the use of metals which would offer additional protection and scratch resistance.

Note 2 - WiFi will NOT stay connected when plugged into USB port on the PC. If you want to charge and stream then it must be connected with the AC adapter.

Note 3 - Can't charge a Note II because it requires 2.1A @ 5v which is apparently outside what this device can provide.

USB Transfer speeds are around 29Mbps.. which is not terrible, but is not what I was expecting from USB 3.0. Speeds should be at least twice that.

Minus one egg for the above listed issues and because the price point on this device is very high. $169 seems like a bit of a stretch for this.

The device get's very warm when in use!
Other Thoughts: I think this is a great little device. The price is kind of steep when you consider a 1TB 2.5" drive is around $60-$70.

If you were looking for a way to stream videos to your phone (and not use your data connection) I would definitely recommend this device (if you have an extra $169 to burn)
Reviewed By:Volpe,7/3/2014 6:15:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO MiniStation Air 1TB USB 3.0 / WIFI Wireless Mobile Storage HDW-PD1.0U3

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Not the best.
Pros: - 25MB/s write speed on USB2.0, 108MB/s write speed on USB 3.0, 3MB/s write speed over wifi. 5MB/s. read speed…this is horribly slow.
- 1TB capacity. Tons of storage if, like me, you'll be streaming to tablets and small devices. Then you can re-encode your videos to smaller mp4 files that are fully supported by the device and fit more on the 1TB of space.
- uPNP, Samba, and web interface. Pretty much everything you need for any application.
- On Android, ES File Explorer detects SMB shares and MX Player plays everything from avi files to ogv (Ogg Video) files. This is superior to any proprietary DLNA/uPNP app, including Buffalo’s own.
- The interface runs on lighttpd for the web UI and the twonky configuration files are accessible through SMB and when the disk is mounted. (For you tinkerers, it appears you can edit the configuration files, if you’d like, there is not ssh access or anything developer-friendly, unfortunately.)
- “Disclose to network” Security implementation. When accessing the Buffalo from a different network I get the error “This device is currently connected to the MiniStation through an access point. To switch to another access point, connect to the MiniStation directly.” This lets me know that if someone were to break through the WAN (or another client on a public wifi network) then it wouldn’t be wide open to meddling.
- If you enable “Disclose to network,” however, then you can access the Buffalo (web, DLNA, SMB) from other clients on the host network the Buffalo is connected to.
- Power saving settings: “Don’t sleep”, “Balanced”, and “eco”. By default it is set to “Don’t sleep.” Balanced seems more reasonable.
- Extensive help information right on the web interface for those who may not be so savvy. Included instructions were very informative as well.
- It can act as a repeater for up to 5 clients. (You can also set it up with AOSS/WPS [PIN and PBC] though I always strongly advocate against WPS altogether.)
- 3-Year warranty!
- Additional USB charging port to charge other devices form that beastly 12-hour battery (I think…see cons.)
- Solid, sturdy build.

Ministation Air2 Android app:
- Surprisingly smooth though it did force close often when running in the background on my Nook. I’ve converted most of my files to mp4 format to save on space so the device works well for it.
- Says “Designed for phones.” But looks fine on tablets.
- Is a full remote to the device meaning you change all the MiniStation settings, see drive free space, battery %, and even power off the device from the app.
- “Auto upload” feature can be enabled. If you pair your smartphone with the MiniStation often then it can act as a backup device for your pictures and images.
- Can navigate away while it’s playing music and it continues to play. The app crashed once when I did this and uploaded simultaneously but when I opened it again it continued uploading where it left off. I later realized it just crashes in the background regar
Cons: I was worried about that 5MB/s read and write speed over wifi because it seems a little slow if you’re streaming multiple devices. Sure enough, my daughter was watching a hefty 720p mp4 (Frozen for the 500000th time) and as soon as I did anything on another device, be it stream an SD movie, copy a file, or anything, her movie glitched and stuttered. Definitely -1 egg for that. If you say a device can support up to 8 clients I hardly think it’s possible with such an incapable network.

I charged the device to 100%, left it on my couch powered off for about 20 hours, and when I powered it back on to use it, it kept dying within 30 seconds. Does the battery drain even not when in use? I’m going to have to do more testing with this. Even so, the battery light was green and not red so it was as confused as I was about whether it was charged. On that note, having a green = charged and red = dead scheme is not really helpful. Even an orange battery light in between would have been useful. (After testing it throughout the weekend it has not happened again. I’m guessing it has to do with the next con.)

It has been finicky sometimes. I've had to restart the device many times before wifi showed up again on my tablet on three separate occasions. I troubleshot it anyway I could. Toggling wifi off and on, on both devices and power cycling both devices. It is just buggy sometimes. Maybe future firmware updates will stabilize it (for a $170 device there will be future firmware updates, right?) But when it works, it works and It's not like it's always giving problems. 89% of the time it works without a hitch (with one wireless client streaming.)

Not really a con, but I’m only assuming the USB charging port works on good faith. When I've plugged my phone or tablet in there’s no sign that they’re charging. Even when I plugged my old iPod Mini in there was still no indication. I never really planned to use the feature anyway but it’s notable.
Other Thoughts: When Newegg offered this assignment I started right away researching the tech. I’m experienced with wifi, NAS, and HDD tech but not really an AIO device combining them all. There are many options out there if you do your research but I can say this is not a horrible drive if you have the money to spend. It is capable, sturdy, a 3 year warranty, and the battery life is superb. Overall this is a decent device but I can’t say it’s a 5-star product. There are some kinks to work out with the firmware it seems and the wireless speeds are seriously lacking. I haven’t tested it against similar products to measure it but I know my home wireless network has never had problems streaming to even three and four devices. Granted this is a mobile product and not a $100 router,

For a $170 price tag I would expect a reliable, smoothly operating 5-egg device. Instead there were a few random reboots, dropped connections, and it struggled to stream to even two devices when it's supposed to support up to eight. When it worked, it remained stable mostly. The only times there were issues were connecting and powering on.

This is definitely a 3-egg product for $170.
It would easily be a 4 to 5-egg product if it cost around $100 to $120. Or if future firmware updates fix some of the bugs then could redeem itself (I will update this review if that ever happens.)


Some things to note:

-If this device is too expensive or you want more customization then I recommend checking out wireless enclosures by Macally. You can pick one up for ~$30 to ~$40 (some even have ethernet ports and SD card slots) and a 500GB hard drive for $50-$60 or so and have the same device for close to half the price. (You could also consider SSD or smaller drives if you wanted.)

-The internal disk to this is a $70 “Travelstar 5K1000” (See Newegg Item#: N82E16822145584 for reviews on that.) It’s a 5400RPM 8MB cache drive with a decent reputation.

-It CAN be used while charging but wifi turns off when USB is plugged in. Also it’s more susceptible to the finicky problems I mentioned in cons.

-The wifi reaches throughout my small, one story house. The signal will drop to one or two bars when in the front yard or across the house but it still streams [to one device] with no problems.
Reviewed By:Theo,7/1/2014 8:03:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO MiniStation Air 1TB USB 3.0 / WIFI Wireless Mobile Storage HDW-PD1.0U3

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works, with limited video support
Pros: Very easy setup, and wireless connection to mobile devices, via the included quick start guide. I had the hard drive charged, powered up, and connected to my PC for file transfer in no time. After installing the ministation2 app on my iPhone and Nexus 7, I was able to connect to the hard drive's wireless network quickly.

The wireless range on this little guy is pretty good! I was able to detect the connection all the way in my basement, even though I left the hard drive in my bedroom on the upper floor of my house. Granted, the connection was pretty poor, but I was able to stream music to my devices.

The Buffalo case seems pretty rugged, so I am confident the unit will not get damaged in my laptop bag when I am on the road traveling.

The included USB 3.0 cable works well for transferring data to and from the unit via my PC, and also connects to the included AC adapter for wall charging.

Music streamed from the hard drive to my mobile devices sounds great! I did not detect and sound compression of .mp3 playback (bit rates of 192KB/sec and 256KB/sec).

I really like how there is a file explorer built into the app, so I can access all types of files, including PDFs, Word docs, spreadsheets, etc.

I also appreciate the ability to copy/paste and delete files that exist on the hard drive via the app installed on my mobile devices.
Cons: Won't play video files encoded to .M4V, .MKV, .VOB, or .ISO, which are common file formats. This means that most of the portable movies in my collection will not stream from the AirStation to my Nexus 7 FHD tablet. The only file format I could get to play was .MPEG4 (h264 codec). This is a big limitation that needs to be fixed in a software update.

Another annoyance with the video player is that it does not remember where I last left off in a video file if I had to stop playback and leave the file. I watched a few minutes of a movie, then backed out to the main menu of the software. I went back to the movie to resume, and it started from the beginning.

The white bars on the top and bottom of the screen while playing video files are pretty atrocious. They should be black.

When streaming music through the Music Player within the app, songs can only be sorted by file name (title), NOT the actual track (ID tagged) numbers. This makes it impossible to play an album correctly from start to finish, in actual track order.

The only way to play the music tracks in order, as you've tagged them, is by accessing them through the app's File Explorer. For some reason, the File Explorer properly reads the .mp3's ID tags and loads them in proper track order within the app's Music Player.

The ability to pass-through another wireless signal (to connect to the internet while also being connected wirelessly to the hard drive) does not work well. I connected to the AirStation on my Nexus from a distance of about two feet, and then used the mobile app to also connect to my wireless router, which was about four feet away. Normally, my wireless speeds at this distance are 40Mb/sec. When connected through the app, the wireless download speeds were 0.6 Mb/sec.
Other Thoughts: This is an interesting device. Essential? Probably not. I do plan to use it when I travel, as I can load it up with MPEG4 (h264 encoded) video files that normally wouldn't fit on my Nexus 7 or iPhone. Likewise for music. It may also come in handy as a central file sharing device between groups of people, or teammates, working on projects that need access to a common pool of files. The ability is run this hard drive for up to 12 hours off of the internal battery is a huge plus in that regard.
Reviewed By:Captain Picard,6/27/2014 1:40:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO MiniStation Air 1TB USB 3.0 / WIFI Wireless Mobile Storage HDW-PD1.0U3

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Impressed
Pros: This little device is one of those things you don't know that you need...until you own one. I can bring my entire movie collection with me and stream it to any device I have on me. Amazing.

To access files on a mobile device, it's this simple:
Step 1: Copy files from Windows 7. Plug and play – it was immediately recognized as an external drive.
Step 2: Download app from Buffalo named MiniStation2 (Android or Apple). The manual is really intuitive. There are QR codes you can scan for the apps so you don't have to search for them.*
Step 3: Power on the MiniStation.*
Step 4: Connect to the wireless network produced by the MiniStation (name and access code on the bottom of the device).
Step 5: Open the app and access all your files!

More information:
She can be set up as a wireless access point, so you're connected to the internet while you're connected to the MiniStation. Set this up in the app settings.

When the MiniStation is off, you can charge mobile devices with its USB port from the MiniStation's battery.

On the app, the “Send To Another Application” feature works great for watching movies.* I use a special Android/Apple app to play .mkv movies; with two clicks, I'm watching my favorite movie on my favorite app.

The manual is super user-friendly. Probably the best quick start guide I've ever seen.

*see Cons
Cons: Without the QR codes, the correct app is confusing to find, because there are two that look right. If you read the description, the app labeled “MiniStation2” lists this one's model number; “MiniStation” is for another product.

You have to hold down the power button for about three seconds to power on the unit. Green is on, orange is standby, no light is off. This isn't a con, except that it's not mentioned anywhere in the documentation.

The video player included in the app puts white bars on the side when you're watching a movie. Pretty distracting.

I had to reinstall the Android app after about 10 minutes of use, because it froze up. After reinstalling it, it worked perfectly.
Other Thoughts: In my experience, USB 3.0 copies my large video files at 51 MB/s. It does get a little warm when it's running, as expected. It also produces a little noise, since it's a spin-up drive, but again, nothing unusual.

Final Opinion:
From my experience, I was expecting this device to be a Jack of All Trades and a Master of None. I was very wrong. Buffalo did a wonderful job on this special product. I streamed videos and pictures to my Android tablet (Prestige Pro) and my Apple iPod Touch (4G) and used it as a Wireless Access Point at the same time. Though the software is not perfect, it is very close. The MiniStation does what it was designed for and it does it well. Put this on your Christmas list!
Reviewed By:BuilderMan,6/26/2014 8:47:38 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG Wireless Mobile Media Streaming Device STSHX-MTD15EQ (HX-MTD15EQ/G2)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Continuous issues from the start.
Pros: None.
Cons: The hard drive has not worked from out of the box. Can plug it into computer to transfer files but once unplugged it will not turn on. It has been charging over night. Hence, because it wont turn on, the wireless wont work and therefore the whole purpose of connecting to Android devices is out the door.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/25/2014 10:42:03 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO MiniStation Air 1TB USB 3.0 / WIFI Wireless Mobile Storage HDW-PD1.0U3

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 One Sweet battery powered portable HDD for WiFi/DLNA streaming + HOTSPOT +BOOSTER
Pros: +Fast 1TB HDD
+USB 3.0 connection to quickly load up your media to this device
+depending on file size, device achieved speeds of up to 111MB/s during file copy (~70MB/s for a bunch of small MP3 files) over USB 3.0
+WiFi access from smartphones/tablets/laptops for media streaming
+built-in battery can power device itself (up to 12hrs of runtime) or charge the mobile device connected to it via USB2.0! (this is awesome! a booster feature)
+can share WiFi Internet access (create HotSpot) from your WiFi router for devices that are connected to MediaStation (over its WiFi) - I know it sounds twisted but it works :)
+had no trouble streaming gigabytes of high quality MP3 or HD videos to my phone over 2.4GHz wifi
+manufacturer claims it can stream to DLNA devices (e.g. LCD TVs) too and that sounds awesome, tho I personally don't own such (except my DLNA capable smartphone) and haven't tested it that way
Cons: -WiFi does not support 5GHz (aka your home router MUST be running in 2.4GHz band or device won't see it, ask me how I know)
-WiFi interface card could be faster (looks like a standard 802.11n even tho never mentioned in any specs, could be 802.11ac?)
-Price could be a bit cheaper for only 1TB of portable storage with battery and a wifi adapter
-Buffalo app video player (streaming) leaves ugly white bars at top and bottom of horizontal screen on my cellphone when playing full HD, why not change the color of those bars to black, I ask? ;)
-it's not obvious that one needs to press & hold the power button for 3 seconds to actually power the device up (so its WiFi activates)
Other Thoughts: Android app (tested with Galaxy S3 android 4.3 smartphone) is not plain straight when setting things up, remember to connect to device's WiFi first (SSID and key are printed on sticker)!
You might have a problem with keeping that connection alive if your phone checks for internet availability over WiFi (it may switch back to your home router WiFi or 4G instead).
This is not the device's fault, it's the over-smart android default functionality resulting in such a convoluted WiFi setup for 4.3+ android portables, e.g. my GS3 (4.3) was refusing to connect to MediaStation Air WiFi because it had no internet available (it kept disabling that connection with message "network disconnected because internet connection is slow"). The solution is to go to Advanced settings on WiFi scan screen and uncheck the option called "Auto network switch" (aka "check for internet service" in some android revisions), then it keeps the connection alive and allows for using the Mediastation Air 2 android app so you can configure the device to your liking (e.g. add Internet access from home/work 2.4GHz wifi router).

Device instantly powered up when connected to my Windows PC via USB 3.0, file transfers were fast and everything in this part was smooth as butter.
Charging time of device's battery can be lengthy, for me it took 3 hours until it was all fully charged (green light instead of red)

All in all I recommend this device, especially if you can get it on promo deal pricing, because it simply rocks! So many features in one small portable HDD, I think I fell in love with mine :)
Reviewed By:feniks,6/23/2014 8:35:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau