Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Personal Cloud > Seagate > Seagate STCT100 Diskless System 2-Bay Network Storage

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 i was hopeful but not so much now
Pros: 2 bay RAID enclosure
Cons: crashes window 10 frequently if i try to copy over 150 images at a time
boot up is very slow
Other Thoughts: i keep getting BSOD if i copy 150 raw images at a time. running 16gb RAM, i7 on a 450gb ssd. not sure if it's my Win 10 or seagate but faults include among others, memory management, IRQL not less or equal. not sure if i should return or not
Manufacturer Response:Hello Charles,

We would want to obtain additional details on when the crashing behavior occurs, such as, does this occur inside or outside of your local network? Is this associated with SDrive or with transfers via Explore? Please contact us using the following link so we may troubleshoot this in more details to determine the root cause and available resolution. A support case (#05715743) has been created that will reference your review and our response. Please contact us directly using the following link:

http://support2.seagate.com/

Best Regards,
Seagate Support

Reviewed By:Charles S.,5/19/2016 5:36:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Personal Cloud > Seagate > Seagate Lyve Home 2TB Home External Hard Drive LH100NAM White

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent Photos & Videos Storing Device
Pros: I've used Lyve app on my iPhone & iPad for over a year now. It has given me very good experience in using it. I particularly like the old pictures fetched across on top of the screen reminding me all those good time without mentioning the timeline laying out all pictures by date. Recently, I've decided to buy the Lyve box at sale price via Newegg. It's so easy to transfer all those old photos & videos from my desktop using the USB port. It also transfer all my pictures & video from my Apple devices effortless using Wifi. If I want to transfer any other photos stored on an external hard drive, I just copied them to a USB drive & then plug it into the USB port at the back of the Lyve box. Voila! They'll be copied to the Lyve box automatically. Yesterday, I took a video clip & some pictures using my iPhone in Philadelphia. As soon as I got back to the hotel where there was Wifi, I opened the Lyve app & those video & photos already started backing up to the Lyve box at my home in Vancouver. Amazing!
Cons: The Lyve box is excellent for storing photos & videos, but not good for storing documents. It's also good for viewing pictures in a slide show using tags, but not good for scrolling through over 20,000 of them.
Reviewed By:Peter,5/14/2016 9:29:57 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Personal Cloud > Seagate > Seagate Lyve Home 2TB Home External Hard Drive LH100NAM White

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 ITEM ONLY SAVES PICTURES, NOT ANY THING ELSE, WONT SAVE BACK UP OF COMPUTER
Pros: SAVES PICS FROM ANY DEVICE
Cons: WHO NEEDS 2TB FOR PHOTOS! NOT ME, I EXPECTED TO SAVE DOCUMENTS AND BACK UP OF CURRENT COMPUTER.
Other Thoughts: I DO NOT RECOMEND THIS AS AN EXTERNAL HARD DRIVE, ITS A GLORIFIED PICTURE SAVER.
Reviewed By:kevin w.,5/12/2016 5:07:09 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Personal Cloud > Western Digital > WD 4TB My Cloud Personal Cloud Storage - Retail

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great experiance again !
Pros: Well, i decide to purchase another NAS made by WD based on my personal experience with My Book Live that I bought about 2,5 years ago. By the way, My book live works flawlessly since day one I got it . Period. For those that think they bought Google server are greatly mistaken. This little server works perfectly in the home environment. There is enough of horsepower to stream simultaneously decent HD quality movies to 2-3 devices without any hiccups. Period. All you have to do is get decent AC router and use provided network cable to connect it. I do not use any extra WD software on my PC , because simply there is no need. Just go to my network settings In Win 7 ( in my case) and create shortcut to the drive on the desktop. In my case, it always works 100% to get to the files I need. This includes both NAS drives I have at home. When it comes to remote access to the drives ( outside my home network ) It seems to me that service provided by WD is definitely sufficient for the money that I invested into the home storage. Once again if you need greater DL/UL speeds pay $$$ for pro cloud service. Period. There is also a way to tweak these drives with getting alternative firmware. However I have no intention to improve the performance simply just because I do not think there is need to do that. Keep good work WD !
Cons: I put about 2 TB of data on the new NAS . It took about 16 hrs to do that ( not bed at all ) My concern is that thanks to relatively slow CPU and 256 megs of RAM it takes a long time for that little baby to index all the data stored on the new drive which means the drive stays on for most of the time. However I noticed that the drive tends to go to sleep mode more often then in the first few days after the purchase. My guess is it will take additional couple of weeks for the HDD to go to sleep mode on a daily basis. Anyway that was the case with My Book Live that I have.
Other Thoughts: Do not be fooled by many negative reviews. Buy it !
Reviewed By:Michal C.,4/28/2016 7:12:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Personal Cloud > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 1.5TB Wireless Mobile Media Streaming Device STSHX-MTD15EU (HX-MTD15EU/G2)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Has its issues, but overall works for my needs...
Pros: - 1.5tb of space
- Decent Android support
- Price
- Portable charger for your device
Cons: - Since it is connected to your device through Wi-fi (the hard drive issues a "samsung" wifi for you to connect to), it can be inconvenient because if you're connected to the samsung wifi aka your hard drive then you are not connected to an actual wifi where you have internet access unless you disconnect from the samsung one and connect to a regular wifi
- Would prefer an option to connect the hard drive to your tablet/phone using an OTG cable
Other Thoughts: The technology itself is an amazing idea. Who wouldn't want to be able to stream tv shows, movies, music, pictures etc because we all know that tablets and phones run out of space so fast. I like that you have the option to charge your device using this hard drive, however, I wish you could plug the hard drive into your tablet/phone using an OTG cable and read the files. Most of us know the problem with external hard drives is most of them require an external power source, which our tablets/phones are not strong enough to power on their own like a laptop or computer can. 1.5tb of space is very nice. I think the biggest issue with this device is the actual app. I am using it on my Samsung Galaxy Tab S and it works well except I wish it supported more video formats and had greater codecs. I noticed it does not support VOB file format and with some video files, you can play the file and see the video but there isn't any audio. I've had to use Handbrake to convert some files so that they can play in the Samsung Hard Drive app itself. I reached out to Seagate support and it doesn't seem like they were non-committal about upgrading the firmware or app itself in the future. I tried using the hard drive on my LG G2 but the app will not start and just keeps restarting. Overall, I am happy with my purchase because Newegg was selling it for dirt cheap at the time ($89.99).
Reviewed By:Alexander V.,4/25/2016 7:24:21 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Personal Cloud > Seagate > Seagate Lyve Home 2TB Home External Hard Drive LH100NAM White

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Recommend Against This Device
Pros: Large Amount of Storage At A Good Price
Cons: The software has an antiquated feel. Doesn't auto launch as expected.
Other Thoughts: I bought this on sale with the intent of centralizing yet another copy of my pictures and videos. They are my most important data period. Software doesn't seem to automatically run in the background on our Android phones. I would not recommend this device solely based on the client software.
Reviewed By:Anthony R.,4/18/2016 7:39:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Personal Cloud > Seagate > Seagate Lyve Home 2TB Home External Hard Drive LH100NAM White

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Awful-Totally misleading on this device they claim to be a "NAS"
Pros: Powers on
Cons: Can chose what movies, pics or anything you want to manually put on it. It constantly backs up all your docs, downloads, pics, text and everything. Also, it displays them randomly on the 4in LCD screen. So you better not have any secrets from your wife or significant other cause this thing WILL ruin you.
Other Thoughts: I Would never recommend this to a friend, a person who I do not know and could get a commission, shoot yes!
Reviewed By:Timothy p.,4/16/2016 2:04:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Personal Cloud > Seagate > Seagate Lyve Home 2TB Home External Hard Drive LH100NAM White

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 One of the worst products I have ordered and got highly disappointed
Pros: Wirelessly backup photos from different devices
Cons: 1 - when you connect multiple accounts, we can see the photos in the screen only from the primary user
2 - Lyve syncs up only when the Lyve app is active in your mobile / ipad. If the app is closed, the sync stops
3 - There is no option of selective deleting unncessary photos that got backed up
4 - mylyve.com stinks with no features available in web browser. There is no option of selecting deleting photos in the browser, at the minimal viewing the photos in the web browser
Other Thoughts: overall I am totally dissatisfied with the purchase. I will never recommend this to any one.
Reviewed By:Sriram A.,4/13/2016 11:32:34 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Personal Cloud > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 1.5TB Wireless Mobile Media Streaming Device STSHX-MTD15EU (HX-MTD15EU/G2)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Abysmally Incompetent and totally nonexistent service
Pros: Works as advertised once I contacted Seagate Tech Support
Cons: Called Samsung Tech Support 3.21.16 for assistance in connecting this unit to my PC via wireless (included instructions were NOT intuitive). Was on phone for +3.5 HOURS - two dropped calls and talked to NINE DIFFERENT (9) individuals, NONE of which knew anything at all about this unit, could not assist me, and insisted they would transfer me to "the department" which handles it. I demanded to speak with Management; got a Manager named G***. She also said could not help me. I demanded phone number for Corporate management to lodge formal complaint. She advised she had no numbers for any Corporate entity. Not a single one of these heavily accented persons knew anything at all about this wireless unit, fell back to finger-pointing and continuously transferred me to others with the same nonsense FOR THE BETTER PART OF FOUR (4) HOURS!! In anger, I went to Google and got a phone number for Samsung Corporate, called it and got their Customer Service (AGAIN!) who gave me the same line. I gave up, looked up and called Seagate. The Representative there (B***) - was an American with no accent. He quickly walked me through the processes (which I documented) and got me up and running. HEY, SAMSUNG - YOUR SO-CALLED TOTALLY CLUELESS CUSTOMER SERVICE / TECH SUPPORT IS A PROFESSIONAL EMBARRASSMENT, PROVIDING THE HIGHEST LEVEL OF ABYSMAL INCOMPETENCE AND NONEXISTENT INTERACTION IT HAS BEEN MY DISPLEASURE TO EXPERIENCE OR EVER ENCOUNTER IN MY 70 YEARS OF WALKING THIS PLANET. YOU HAVE NO RIGHT TO LAY CLAIM TO THE TITLEs "CUSTOMER SERVICE or TECH SUPPORT". I will NEVER again so long as I live EVER purchase another Samsung product.
Other Thoughts: ABSOLUTELY NOT!! There is NO customer service or tech support in place for this product at Samsung.
Reviewed By:John H.,3/22/2016 8:23:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Personal Cloud > Seagate > Seagate STCS6000100 6TB (2 x 3TB) Personal Cloud 2-bay NAS server

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great NSA with Potential
Pros: What is cloud storage? A question I often ask myself as the term seems so generic. The cloud reaches everywhere from million dollar data centers to this very device. So to be broad with my definition, Cloud Storage is a digital location either being local or public that allows users to upload/download their personal files, aka cat pictures and the hottest memes. And the Seagate 2-bay 6TB NAS is a great example of how Cloud Storage is making a big splash in the consumer market place.
For this review I will be focusing on local/remote media storage and sharing
What’s in the box?
Quick start guide, Ethernet cable, Power Supply, and 2-year limited warranty
First Thoughts:
The Seagate NAS is very aesthetically pleasing. It has a glossy black top with flat black sides and some vent holes in the back and a modest Seagate logo on the front. I really like the low profile design and black finish as this device just blends in anywhere I put it. The LED on top is not too bright and the noise profile with this is almost nothing.
I ran this device in line with a power monitor and it would roughly cost around 15-20$ a year to run this device even at full usage, which is wonderful.
Diving in:
Settings up and accessing the NAS was as simple as it could get. It instantly appeared as a shared drive on my network when I opened it there was a shortcut to the NAS’s web interface.
Setting the NAS up via the web was simple and very straight forward. A standard terms and conditions window and a few software updates and I was ready to start defining my storage options.
The Seagate NAS gives you two options. RAID 1 (Redundency-3TB usable) or RAID 0 (Non-redundent-6TB usable.) After that you can setup your user account and any others that you want to as well. Then you can define some simple settings such as how you will be accessing your NAS and on what type of devices and a few more options. Once you are done with these initial steps you are redirect to the NAS’s dashboard. Nice job on the dashboard Seagate, simple easy to use and very straight forward.
Apps:
The Seagate comes with the ability to install a wide array of apps for all different kinds needs. A short list would be;
Plex, OwnCloud, Wordpress, BitTorrent and many more.
Cons: Does not have the ability to create new network shares in the root directory. I have to browse into the public or home folders of user to create new folders. Plus it does not allow me to define folder specific access so it’s more an all or none type security model.
OS and app updates worry me a little. This is an arm7 processer and it looks like most of the apps are ported into a ruby on windows format. Now what does this mean? Well let’s focus on OwnCloud right now, OwnCloud is a great web file sharing service, though when it is installed on the NAS it is running a very old version 6.
Now if I wanted to update to the latest version 9.0.0 I should be able to grab the .tar.gz file from OwnCloud and go to the advanced tab and manually update OwnCloud. But I can’t since this is an arm7 processor which is not the same as today’s x86 processors and OwnCloud does not make a version that is ported for Ruby on Windows. Meaning Seagate is the one who ultimately will have to update the applications for this NAS.
On a side note I would really, really, really, love to see Seagate update their OwnCloud app to a newer version as I would use the heck out of it. But since it is version 6 which I know from experience there are a ton of public exploits, speed and security issues I won’t be using it.
Now how long will that go on for? 1-year?, 2-years. How long before Seagate just stops suppling customized updates for the applications on this NAS?
Just and FYI this is equally a con and something to think about. Sure this applications works great now but I like devices that can withstand 5+ years of service before I even need to think about replacing it for the latest and greatest. I don’t want a device that will be unsupported 1-2 years after it was released.
Also Ruby on Windows. Ruby requires very fast hardware to run good, not great just good.
Other Thoughts: Please keep in mind that this device is not meant to be a power house. It is running an arm7 processor with 550+/-mb of RAM. Running a Plex server that is analyzing video files while streaming movies plus hosting a WordPress site and transfer files to and from this device has this devices resources maxed out.
Some things I would like to see Seagate supply in the next update would be to allow for a JBOD configuration so that I can safely use all 6TB of storage. The ability to remove icons/customizes the dashboard. The ability to rename from person cloud to anything else. Lastly I would like to see updates to their apps especially OwnCloud and Plex since those in my opinion can really make this device a really sweet piece of equipment to have.
Overall I do really like this NAS. It’s simple to use and very easy to setup. I have been running PLEX and WordPress non-stop for close to 30days now and I have little to no issues with it. Yes it can be slow at times but that is to be expected from this device.
Would I recommend this device to others? For a home user yes I would, though for someone who is a power user or IT professional I would not as it’s to underpowered and program specific for their liking.
SeaGate good job with this device though please supply updates to your applications
Reviewed By:David S.,3/19/2016 1:16:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.