Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 1.5TB USB 3.0 / WIFI Wireless Mobile Media Streaming Device STSHX-MTD15EU (HX-MTD15EU/G2)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Has its issues, but overall works for my needs...
Pros: - 1.5tb of space
- Decent Android support
- Price
- Portable charger for your device
Cons: - Since it is connected to your device through Wi-fi (the hard drive issues a "samsung" wifi for you to connect to), it can be inconvenient because if you're connected to the samsung wifi aka your hard drive then you are not connected to an actual wifi where you have internet access unless you disconnect from the samsung one and connect to a regular wifi
- Would prefer an option to connect the hard drive to your tablet/phone using an OTG cable
Other Thoughts: The technology itself is an amazing idea. Who wouldn't want to be able to stream tv shows, movies, music, pictures etc because we all know that tablets and phones run out of space so fast. I like that you have the option to charge your device using this hard drive, however, I wish you could plug the hard drive into your tablet/phone using an OTG cable and read the files. Most of us know the problem with external hard drives is most of them require an external power source, which our tablets/phones are not strong enough to power on their own like a laptop or computer can. 1.5tb of space is very nice. I think the biggest issue with this device is the actual app. I am using it on my Samsung Galaxy Tab S and it works well except I wish it supported more video formats and had greater codecs. I noticed it does not support VOB file format and with some video files, you can play the file and see the video but there isn't any audio. I've had to use Handbrake to convert some files so that they can play in the Samsung Hard Drive app itself. I reached out to Seagate support and it doesn't seem like they were non-committal about upgrading the firmware or app itself in the future. I tried using the hard drive on my LG G2 but the app will not start and just keeps restarting. Overall, I am happy with my purchase because Newegg was selling it for dirt cheap at the time ($89.99).
Reviewed By:Alexander V.,4/25/2016 7:24:21 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > Seagate > Seagate Lyve Home 2TB Wireless Home External Hard Drive LH100NAM White

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Recommend Against This Device
Pros: Large Amount of Storage At A Good Price
Cons: The software has an antiquated feel. Doesn't auto launch as expected.
Other Thoughts: I bought this on sale with the intent of centralizing yet another copy of my pictures and videos. They are my most important data period. Software doesn't seem to automatically run in the background on our Android phones. I would not recommend this device solely based on the client software.
Reviewed By:Anthony R.,4/18/2016 7:39:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > Seagate > Seagate Lyve Home 2TB Wireless Home External Hard Drive LH100NAM White

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Awful-Totally misleading on this device they claim to be a "NAS"
Pros: Powers on
Cons: Can chose what movies, pics or anything you want to manually put on it. It constantly backs up all your docs, downloads, pics, text and everything. Also, it displays them randomly on the 4in LCD screen. So you better not have any secrets from your wife or significant other cause this thing WILL ruin you.
Other Thoughts: I Would never recommend this to a friend, a person who I do not know and could get a commission, shoot yes!
Reviewed By:Timothy p.,4/16/2016 2:04:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > Seagate > Seagate Lyve Home 2TB Wireless Home External Hard Drive LH100NAM White

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 One of the worst products I have ordered and got highly disappointed
Pros: Wirelessly backup photos from different devices
Cons: 1 - when you connect multiple accounts, we can see the photos in the screen only from the primary user
2 - Lyve syncs up only when the Lyve app is active in your mobile / ipad. If the app is closed, the sync stops
3 - There is no option of selective deleting unncessary photos that got backed up
4 - mylyve.com stinks with no features available in web browser. There is no option of selecting deleting photos in the browser, at the minimal viewing the photos in the web browser
Other Thoughts: overall I am totally dissatisfied with the purchase. I will never recommend this to any one.
Reviewed By:Sriram A.,4/13/2016 11:32:34 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 1.5TB USB 3.0 / WIFI Wireless Mobile Media Streaming Device STSHX-MTD15EU (HX-MTD15EU/G2)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Abysmally Incompetent and totally nonexistent service
Pros: Works as advertised once I contacted Seagate Tech Support
Cons: Called Samsung Tech Support 3.21.16 for assistance in connecting this unit to my PC via wireless (included instructions were NOT intuitive). Was on phone for +3.5 HOURS - two dropped calls and talked to NINE DIFFERENT (9) individuals, NONE of which knew anything at all about this unit, could not assist me, and insisted they would transfer me to "the department" which handles it. I demanded to speak with Management; got a Manager named G***. She also said could not help me. I demanded phone number for Corporate management to lodge formal complaint. She advised she had no numbers for any Corporate entity. Not a single one of these heavily accented persons knew anything at all about this wireless unit, fell back to finger-pointing and continuously transferred me to others with the same nonsense FOR THE BETTER PART OF FOUR (4) HOURS!! In anger, I went to Google and got a phone number for Samsung Corporate, called it and got their Customer Service (AGAIN!) who gave me the same line. I gave up, looked up and called Seagate. The Representative there (B***) - was an American with no accent. He quickly walked me through the processes (which I documented) and got me up and running. HEY, SAMSUNG - YOUR SO-CALLED TOTALLY CLUELESS CUSTOMER SERVICE / TECH SUPPORT IS A PROFESSIONAL EMBARRASSMENT, PROVIDING THE HIGHEST LEVEL OF ABYSMAL INCOMPETENCE AND NONEXISTENT INTERACTION IT HAS BEEN MY DISPLEASURE TO EXPERIENCE OR EVER ENCOUNTER IN MY 70 YEARS OF WALKING THIS PLANET. YOU HAVE NO RIGHT TO LAY CLAIM TO THE TITLEs "CUSTOMER SERVICE or TECH SUPPORT". I will NEVER again so long as I live EVER purchase another Samsung product.
Other Thoughts: ABSOLUTELY NOT!! There is NO customer service or tech support in place for this product at Samsung.
Reviewed By:John H.,3/22/2016 8:23:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > Seagate > Seagate Lyve Home 2TB Wireless Home External Hard Drive LH100NAM White

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Amazing product - great for all my photos filling up my phone
Pros: - Easy setup out of the box
- Using the free Lyve Ap makes it easy to upload and access content from my iphone, ipad, android phone, digital camera, pc
- Easy to scroll through content on screensaver function
- Great screen resolution
-HDMI port for TV connection/viewing with sound too for videos!
- PC/MAC/iOS/Andriod all compatible
Cons: Haven't found any to worry about
Other Thoughts: I really love this product. Before I had this, my iphone would always run out of space with all of my pictures and I would be stuck trying to get them stored somewhere less convenient at the worst possible times. 5 kids - not enough hours in the day!!!! Now I have the free Lyve app on my iphone and all of our tablets around the house. I always use it to transfer all of those pictures to the Lyve Home device so I never run out of space (2TBs hold's a lot of photos and videos). I can enjoy them in our living room on the high resolution screen. Could not be easier. It's like a super digital picture frame. I have one in my family room and already bought grandma one for Mother's day.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,3/15/2016 3:25:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > Seagate > Seagate Lyve Home 2TB Wireless Home External Hard Drive LH100NAM White

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 bad experience
Pros: it looks nice.
nice screen, though kind of useless for its purpose.
Cons: - no easy way to transfer pics/vids from a computer (you have to do it over the network. You can only plug in a USB drive/device if you want to transfer directly).
- when you plug in a USB drive/device, you DO NOT have your choice of what pic/vid/folder to transfer, it will discover everything and transfer everything, watch out for those questionable contents that you have hidden in a folder somewhere :)
-no easy way to organize the pics/vids once transfered to the Lyve, it will show all the pics/vids in small icons. Makes it very hard to delete things if you have thousands and thousands of files (again, good luck searching for those question contents to delete once transfered, unless you just select all and zap them, start over).
-when playing a vid on your laptop/phone/device via the Lyve app, it does not stream the video, the app downloads the entire video over your network, then plays it. Bad!
Other Thoughts: I was hoping for something like a NAS drive, but this thing is nothing of the sort. Don't waste your money like I did.
Reviewed By:Mario M.,3/12/2016 9:19:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > Seagate > Seagate Lyve Home 2TB Wireless Home External Hard Drive LH100NAM White

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Dumb Device, Want to give minus five start Other five star reviews are fake! Save your money!
Pros: What this device does best is to import your photos no matter how many and just display on its tiny screen in date orderly fashion! Imagine you have last 3-to-4 year of photos, or more than 4000 photos, you have to stare this device maybe for a month for latest photos to come on the screen!
Cons: This is a useless device. Does NOT do what it suppose to do! It is totally dumb!

Hers is Why?

1. The main purpose of this device is to backup photos, that what company claims, Guess what? You import photos to the Lyve to take a backup from old HDD. You disconnect the old HDD from PC. Try to export photos from Lyve that you have just imported. It says the device is disconnected. You can not export; Lyve device does display those photos, but you can not export. What a dumb! Imagine your old HDD crashed! You will think you do have back up in Lyve, Guess what! You are wrong! Even though you see photos running on this little screen but you can not export!

2. Lyve does not allow you to categorize your photos, nor it allows you to store your photos in separate directories in the Lyve device. When Lyve imports, it imports and store it by dates, Dumb again and Useless concept! Guess what in past you have taken lots of photos on several vacations and you have already sorted those photos in your PC. You lose all that sorting when you import! It messes up everything and imports into this device. Your DLNA device does a better job than this Lyve device!

3. When you connect your TV to this device via HDMI, you do not have any control, on what Lyve can display on the TV screen. No selection menu to display on TV.
Guess what you had three vacations and want to show photos from 2nd vacation, NO way you can select those photos to display on TV. Just stare at photos that coming from Lyve. Their website claims. Settings -> Screen Saver can help, but this does not work! Even Cheap Digital Photo Frame does a better job than this Lyve device!

4. Imagine you have imported more than 4000 photos to Lyve. Only Sort options are -> (Favorites/ Moments Past/ Tags), That to one by one thru Lyve Apps! Dumb again! Funny thing is “Moment in Past” has no sub option everything before today are “Moment in Past”. You select that and it will start displaying oldest photo

5. When you open Lyve application on any device (iPhone, PC, etc.), you must Login to Lyve account, if you have no Internet or do not want this device to Login to the internet there is no way you can start any of Lyve application. This makes this device useless.

6. Lyve iPhone APP is totally useless; it forces you to take a backup of your iPhone when you open this Lyve iPhone App. There is no way you can proceed without this step! On top of this, guess what if you start a backup by pressing START button, there is no way to stop, no CANCEL or STOP button. Lyve iPhone App crashed several times! Imagine you have more than 1000 photos on iPhone, It is so slow to import photos.

7. Have not figured out how to play Videos on Lyve or on TV from this Lyve. NO easy method! Lyve Web site is not clear on this! So your Videos are useless! Also when you import not sure sure what format it will exporyt if you need to back Lyve!

8. It has audio out! Useless port, you do not have control what audio to play or video to play, neither volume either software or hardware control!

9. On the more technical front, NO DLNA support, you can not access this device directly. You can not connect this device directly to your PC via USB port and import or transfer photos directly for fast performance! The only option is to via Network, even though it claims gigabyte speed network port, it is very slow to import! It also converts your photos to its proprietary format when it imports.

10. No mp3 or any other audio support! Imagine you are displaying photos that are coming from Lyve, there is no music. You can not add music to the slideshow; there is no option in Lyve. Again digital photo frame does a better job!

11. At last, Lyve claims, it has a touch screen, useless touch screen, other than SETTINGS there is nothing you can select from the screen. For everything, you have to go to Lyve App on another device to select or delete photos. No direct delete using the touch screen, neither you can sort or tag. Imagine you can not select, no select option on the screen.

12. On the screen, there is no way you can select speed nor other features of the slideshow. Constant speed, the user does not have any control!

What this device does best is to import your photos no matter how many and just display on its tiny screen in date orderly fashion! Imagine you have last 3-to-4 year of photos, or more than 4000 photos, you have to stare this device maybe for a month for latest photos to come on the screen! Do not just go for this 2TB HDD it is really useless! Unless You somehow hack this device to do what you want to do! If you are not a real techie then this Lyve it is useless device! If you are non-techi then just buy Cheap digital photo frame, it does better job and displays better than this Lyve device! Will return this device soon!
Other Thoughts: Cheap digital photo frame does better job and displays better
Reviewed By:Anonymous,3/7/2016 11:58:05 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

12 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > Seagate > Seagate Lyve Home 2TB Wireless Home External Hard Drive LH100NAM White

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Amazing Device!
Pros: *Choose between Wifi or Wired 1Gbit Ethernet Port connection
*Imports photos/videos from USB or SD cards (convenient for digital cameras that use SD cards)
*Screensaver function that scrolls through your content, also displays time
*Sharp & bright screen resolution, loooks great, also very responsive touchscreen
*Connects to internet to get latest software updates and installs them
*Screen can be used to view photos and videos and if speakers are plugged in can be heard also
*Solid build quality, sturdy, has a bit of weight to it, grips wherever it is placed
*Scrolling touchscreen brings up status display that gives free space, total photos, total videos
*3 Users can independently upload content on 3 different user accounts, content is private to individual user
*Very convenient way to dump pictures from your camera and phones using the Lyve App
*Lyve App available for PC, MAC, Android, and iOS
*Also has an HDMI port, to port content to a monitor or TV including sound for video
Cons: *Wish it was available in Black
*Included power cord was very rigid and took awhile to get out the kinks
Other Thoughts: I was skeptical to buy this thinking it wasn't needed, and reviews say it's just a harddrive with a screen. This could not be any farther from the truth. This is much more than a harddrive with a screen. I have 2 PC's, 3 phones (1 iPhone 6S, 2 Android's), and a Kindle Fire HDX connected. All connected devices can view and play content, and share content to the device. If everyone logs into the same account, all users can share and view each others content while on the go anywhere. Phone users have the option to send/share data via wifi or cellular (4G/GSM etc). On my Gigabit internet wifi I was able to view content including videos on two different devices simultaneously.

There is so much wow and cool and fun to this device. The original Lyve device that debuted at CES a few years ago is not the same unit. This one appears to have a few revisions and upgrades to added function.

I plan on buying a 2nd one to open it up and see what makes it tick and what kind of storage is inside and if it is user upgradeable. I know I will be voiding the warranty. :-)
Reviewed By:Anonymous,3/4/2016 4:44:34 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > Seagate > Seagate Lyve Home 2TB Wireless Home External Hard Drive LH100NAM White

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Has Potential
Pros: The Lyve drive with its viewing screen is the tip of the iceberg, so to speak. The Lyve app which you install on your computer, phone or tablet has a number of useful features with the drive as well as elsewhere.
The drive can find and copy photos and videos from iOS, Windows, Android and Kindle Fire.
Does it by using the Wi-fi in your home.
Organizes all items in a simple timeline, and lets you swipe/scroll through the photos and view them on a built-in screen..
Lets you "zoom" to a particular date, month, year, etc. if desired.
Add more photos and videos by using the USB port, SD card slot or ethernet network cable.
The biggest asset might be the free app you install which allows your computer, phone, tablet, etc. to link up with this drive.
Cons: When viewing photos on the drive's built-in screen it's by timeline only, although the Live app offers various ways to select and view including tagging, names, etc.
Only has a 1-year warranty. Why so little confidence in their product? A previous product called Seagate Central (a USB-connected home network drive without a viewing screen) proved to have a rather high failure rate due to poorly designed software and overheating / failure of its small built-in control board. Is Seagate concerned they may have another half-baked product here, i wonder?
Other Thoughts: Go to the product website. Use the link in the "Warranty and returns" tab here on the Newegg page to visit the appropriate Seagate "Lyve" page. This will show you more about how the Lyve app works on your phone or computer to help you organoze your photos and view them. It actually looks very easy to tag or name or group photos together as well as basic editing like crop, red eye removal, and so on. There's another interesting feature called "MIX". If your friends also download the Lyve app (free) then when you attend an event together everyone can instantly see and share photos and videos that others in the group are taking. And, you can send an invite or link to other friends who are not present which lets them click and view everything, too. And, everything can be automatically and wirelessly transferred onto your Lyve drive when you're back at home. Lots of potential here, really, and the Seagate Lyve hard drive anchors it all by collecting and saving everything for you.
Reviewed By:Andrew M.,2/29/2016 11:19:46 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
7 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.