Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > Western Digital > WD My Passport Wireless 1TB USB 3.0 / WIFI 2.5" External Hard Drive WDBK8Z0010BBK-NESN Black/Silver

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good Product
Pros: Very small form factor. Very light for a wireless Hard Drive solution

2-Year Warranty

USB 3.0 compatible

Includes SD Slot, if you have a high res camera this makes backing up the SD to storage very easy.

Easy to understand power light system
Blue = Full, Green = 75%
Amber = 50% Red = 15% or less.

Android & iOS apps. Easy to install and use on wide array of devices.

Drive comes with ExFAT file system.This allows interchangeably with both Windows and Mac OS.

Fast speeds over USB 3.0 for a removable drive.

Drive remains cool even under long term load.
Cons: No car charger included. (The corsair Voyager came with a lot more cables/adapters).

Battery Life not as good as compared 1TB Corsair Voyager. After 10 charges and streaming from driving I was averaging roughly 5 HRs 30 Min. The voyager is still getting 6+ after a 6+ months of use. Keep in mind when I do battery tests I keep the drive busy streaming 2 movies to 2 different PCs and keep playing different movies till the drive dies from low power.

Too be fair the Voyager Model is thicker and weights more. So it could have a larger capacity battery.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a solid drive. When compared to the corsair voyager it does have slightly higher R/W speeds. On average is was 5MB faster on the read and 3 MB faster on the write over USB 3.0
The fastest sequential reads were 120+ MB/s.....on average I was looking at 113-116 for sequential reads. Which is faster then the Corsair Voyager which lately been averaging 108-
Over USB 2.0 this drive gets 30-35 MB/s.

The SD card feature is great and easy to use. Simply stick in a SD card and as long as the drive has power it automatically backs it up. For serious photographers, or video takers this can be a great feature. By backing it up imminently you have a secure backup in case you lose an SD card , or simply you say filled a few SD cards you now have it all backed up in one place making file accessing and editting easier. Instead of getting at home and backing up the data then.

Wireless range was pretty good. Even at 90ft+ away signal was strong and reliable.
This drives wireless works well it allows for maximum of 8 connections to the drive. It says you can have 4 clients streaming HD off the drive. But how far the devices are and what files are being accessed come into account. Realistically you can have 3 people streaming different HD Movie files at the same times without ever experiencing lag. Once you get to 4 Different HD movie accessed at the same time sometimes it can bog down the drive.....but to be fair all the mechanical USB drives I used suffer from this (too much random accessing for a non SSD drive to sometimes keep up with demand). If all 4 people are watching the same movies then there is no such problem or if 2 are watching one movie and 2 are watching the other.

Overall a great product, I only wish it came with a car charger out of the box.
Reviewed By:John,1/14/2015 7:04:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG Wireless Mobile Media Streaming Device STSHX-MTD15EQ (HX-MTD15EQ/G2)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Overpriced Junk
Pros: None

I did pry it apart, like every other HDD enclosure its just plastic snapped together.

And to my assumption, you could put a SSD in it which would be really awesome if the rest of the product worked as advertised... but since it doesnt you would actually be degrading the SSD and probably anger some techno deity in the process.
Cons: TL;DR
"Dont Buy it, wait for the competitors Wireless Enclosures to start supporting DLNA"


Companion app for android has worked all of one time. Now it wont load any thumbnails or let me do anything but look at whats on the drive as a list.... which wouldnt be that big of a deal if i only had 8GB of music, but i have 200GB and other 600GB is video and every time time you back out it takes you to the Root Directory.

Its not DLNA compatible... its now 2015, are you telling me nobody though that might be a good thing to include?

The HDD thats inside the enclosure is a:
Samsung M9T Spinpoint 1.5 GB (5400 RPM)
Which is worth around 70-80 dollars at the most. But its overstock that they were not able to sell fast enough. The drive in this enclosure is almost year old... which means somebodies not selling as many HDDs as they thought they were going to.

The most expensive piece in the manufacturing of this product is probably the battery. :/

Again, dont buy it.
Other Thoughts: Did i mention that buying this product is bad? Dont believe the reviews on the blogs. There is a reason none of them have an accompanying video.... because they couldnt get theirs to work right either.

But hey, at least you can remove the HDD and expand your desktop/laptop storage... so its not completely useless.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/14/2015 5:55:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > Corsair > Corsair Voyager Air 2 1TB USB 3.0 / WIFI Wireless Drive CMFAIR-VA2-1000-NA

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Honestly - Piece of junk
Pros: Nice for a travelers media demands, when it works.
Cons: Poor Apple app design, poor programming, cheaply built.
Other Thoughts: First device programming failed after 2-3 weeks, The manufacturer replaced the drive which the internal USB connector broke after plugging and unplugging the USB cord about 5 times.
2 bad/broken drives in 1 month, really?! These are very cheap devices. Do some research and find a "Better" solution.
Reviewed By:Doc,1/2/2015 8:02:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > Western Digital > WD My Passport Wireless 1TB USB 3.0 / WIFI 2.5" External Hard Drive WDBK8Z0010BBK-NESN Black/Silver

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works Better Than Expected
Pros: I can take this drive on a week long vacation of shooting GoPro videos and dump (15) completely full 64GB SD cards into it without a laptop.
Transfer rate from Sandisk Extreme Pro 64GB = 1 hour 15 minutes. That's not bad at all. I have been able to copy every kind of file that you would transfer to a standard HDD.
You can even rename files with the app while in the field.
Cons: It doesn't update the firmware through the app properly. It keep telling me I didn't need an update and I knew it did.
Connected through a Wi-Fi connection and was able to update with the browser.
Other Thoughts: Updating to the latest firmware Version 1.03.13 is a MUST.
Reviewed By:ski-bum,12/29/2014 3:16:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > Western Digital > WD My Passport Wireless 1TB USB 3.0 / WIFI 2.5" External Hard Drive WDBK8Z0010BBK-NESN Black/Silver

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Nice, but could be improved
Pros: This drive appears to be pretty handy, it's USB 3.0, has an internal battery, can perform backup / copy functions with SD cards, and has wireless capabilities. The overall performance with a PC and using the SD card function was decent and more than acceptable. You can manage the functions via a smart phone and the built in wireless. It's fairly small and light weight, could easily fit in a camera bag for backing up photos / videos or it could fit in a laptop bag or even a large pocket if you so desire. They have included user manuals and reference material on the drive, which is nice to have backups of. Came with everything you would need to use it.
Cons: Status indicators should me more intuitive, maybe a small LCD or OLED display would have suited this unit better, for instance it cannot tell you how much time is left on a SD card move / copy operations. Without use of a smart phone / management software you do not know how much battery life is left in the unit until it is getting low. It does not appear to work with Windows XP at all, at least in my testing I could not get it to function, which is a bit of a downer if you use it like I wanted to use it. The initial few attempts to make the drive work properly with my Apple iPhone failed at points, it would let me set settings on the drive but would not tell me the status of the file system, which was rather annoying. The wireless speeds were under-whelming and could probably be improved. The USB cable that it came with was also a bit short.
Other Thoughts: This drive is nice, but I feel like the next generation of this unit could be improved upon 10 fold. The smart phone app for my iPhone was finicky to get working at first, but after a few tries it worked as described. I also noticed that ever time I plugged this drive into a Windows 7 Box it would tell me the drive needed checked and created a folder of found file parts of unknown origin. This drive also when using it on battery / wifi mode has to boot up before your device can see it, so expect a short delay, it's not instant on, instant off. I did enjoy the feature of being able to backup an SD card, but I feel the drive needs some kind of display, even a low powered LCD or OLED, to give you more verbose status on SD card operations and battery life, without having to use a smart phone. Benchmarks are posted at the bottom of this section, testing with my Core i7 box using the front panel USB 3.0 ports.

I was going to give this drive 3 stars, but I settled on 4 because after I got past the few issues I had with it, it did what it was supposed to. However lack of a verbose display, issues with the smart phone app, sluggish wifi, and silly windows files system checks really knocked the drive down a good bit. It's not a bad product, but I feel Western Digital could do better on the next version of this item.

Crystal Disk Benchmarks
Set on 5 x 100MB
Seq Read: 98.67 MB/s Seq Write: 93.03 MB/s
512K Read: 41.87 MB/s 512k Write: 23.41 MB/s
4k Read: 0.594 MB/s 4k Write: 0.353 MB/s
QD32 Read: 0.672 MB/s QD32 Write: 0.352 MB/s
Reviewed By:NightWolfx03,12/29/2014 12:51:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > Western Digital > WD My Passport Wireless 1TB USB 3.0 / WIFI 2.5" External Hard Drive WDBK8Z0010BBK-NESN Black/Silver

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Can't recommend
Pros: I ended up deciding to not use this devices wireless functions at all, see cons.

USB 3.0. The drive comes pre-equipped with very helpful videos of setup and use; plug it into a computer to view them. Default formatting is exFAT which allows for files larger than 4GB (useful for HD videos). Also with a built-in standard sized SD card slot which can be used to easily backup files through their proprietary app.

Comes pre-equipped with DLNA (Digital Living Network Alliance) functionality to be used as a streaming media server, complete with an easy-to-use manual for setting it up as such. Can stream media to wirelessly connected computers to your home network and to mobile devices which you’ve set up the WD My Passport app.

Comes pre-equipped with Drive Diagnostic Tests.

Power efficient – It’s a 7200 RPM external drive and only needs 1 USB port to power it.
Cons: I chose to not use the Wi-Fi Phone connectivity; the terms of service for the App was too intrusive for my taste:
1) Identity - The App uses one or more of: accounts on the device, profile data. Alright, I can understand the need for this; we’d need to set up some sort of account for the app to be able to wirelessly connect/upload files to the Passport. However, it’s that “or more of” that concerns me; there’s no way for me to know if this app will only use a WD account for the purposes of file backup, or if it will also gain access to any/all other accounts I have synced with my phone.
2) Photos/Media/Files – Uses one or more of: files on the device such as images, videos, audio, the device’s external storage. Again, understandable; if I’m going to be backing up files, the app needs access to said files.
3) Wi-Fi connection information – Allows the app to view information about the Wi-Fi networking, such as whether Wi-Fi is enabled and names of connected Wi-Fi devices. Understandable, see #2.
4) Device ID & call information – Allows the app to determine the phone number and device IDs, whether a call is active, and the remote number connected by the call. This is the one that broke it for me – I can’t think of a good reason why the app would need to know what number I’m in a call with. This just seems like data mining. A lot of people are okay with that, and more power to you; but I’m not.

I also chose not to use the desktop client connectivity, as I found the License Agreement to be too intrusive. It had the standard clauses in there (waiving right to use judicial processes, software is licensed and not sold, etc). The Agreement also stated that 3rd parties are allowed to automatically install software bundled into updates, which sounds suspiciously like bloatware to me.

From the videos, it’s clear that you can “sync” your WD profile and Passport with other cloud-based backup services you already have (googledrive, dropbox, etc); this concerns me greatly, as the WD EULA seems to be worded such that they could use files already stored on other services per their privacy statement.

If WD also published their intended use for these permissions I may have a different opinion of their app/software, but I haven’t been able to find anything pertaining to that kind of information, so I choose not to use it.
Other Thoughts: Generally speaking, I honestly don’t see the point of this product; it’s duplicating functionality of several other cloud-based backup options which most people probably already use (google drive, dropbox, evernote, social media insta-photo/video-upload, phone’s default backup via your service provider, etc). The Wi-Fi functionality of this device seems gimmicky to me and as a means for WD to try to gain access to “personal, non-identifiable information” for advertising purposes. I honestly can’t recommend this product as anything other than just a plug-n-play external hard drive.
Manufacturer Response:Hi Geoffrey,
We would like the opportunity to follow-up with you on this review and work to improve your overall experience while addressing your technical concerns with the device. Please contact our support team by phone or email below and mention your Newegg review as a point of reference so we are able to connect you with the appropriate team member.

Need Help? Please click below for further assistance or contact us at 1(800) 275-4932.
https://wdsupport.wdc.com/sfdc/case.aspx

Reviewed By:Flynn,12/12/2014 2:08:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
2 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG Wireless Mobile Media Streaming Device STSHX-MTD15EQ (HX-MTD15EQ/G2)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Great Storage Horrible WiFi Not worth it if you have a large Network
Pros: - Great price for amount of media storage
- Options are good for the price if it would work properly
- Only good way to access data is through USB
- When working integrates great with Android devices
Cons: - WiFi broke easily within 2 days
- WiFi works on a separate network, bridges onto your personal network via WiFi,which drastically slows down communications of all my other devices.
- I have about 9 devices that are continually connected via WiFi and then my main devices are connected via RJ45 to avoid any interception and get the max speed. In order to use this device I have to convert all my main devices to WiFi which, in order to utilize the Internet and the media on the device, they need to use this device as a bridge. This drastically slows down my other devices and my other media streaming.
- It was impossible to bridge the device into my local WiFi network, that handles bridging different SSID's so I wouldn't need to have two different network, which ended up breaking the device.
- Regardless of how many times I try to reset it, the reset button doesn't work.
- Even to power it down I would have to hit the reset button and power button.
Other Thoughts: Doesn't not support DLNA, which it should and the fact I have to relay traffic through it on an 802.11n network when I have an 802.11a network avail is dumb. The fact it cannot connect directly into my own network which is wireless and wired doesn't make sense.

Good only as a local media storage device which I already have. I would rather spend more money on something better that will accomplish what I need.
Reviewed By:atav01,12/7/2014 12:59:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > Buffalo Technology > Buffalo Technology Wireless Attached Storage HDW-PD1.0U3

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Neither the first or the replacement will charge
Pros: None, they don't work. After charging for two days, the wifi light never comes on and the charge light goes back to red.
Cons: These drives seem like such a great idea, if they only worked. They will not hold a charge and the wifi light never comes on and the drive's network is not visible . (No, the drive is not connected to my computer when checking for wifi)

There is either a battery or a charging problem with these drives. I charged the battery overnight with the included charger ans the drive powered off, the charge light goes from red to green indicating the drive is charged. When powered up the WiFi light never comes on. When I connect via USB, the charge light goes back to red. I have charged this one overnight and all twice as well as all day. I have tried a known good charger.

I'm thinking the firmware update might help, but you have to use the app on your device, and the wifi doesn't work.
Other Thoughts: No tech support, Buffalo agents know nothing and just take your info. A tech is supposed to call you back and never does.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/7/2014 9:21:39 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG Wireless Mobile Media Streaming Device STSHX-MTD15EQ (HX-MTD15EQ/G2)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Great as a portable hard drive, but not as a media streamer
Pros: +Very fast sustained transfer rates: 121MB/sec reading, 117MB/sec writing (this is on an Intel X99 chipset).

+Could work as a wireless streaming hard drive once the bugs are worked out.
Cons: The reason to buy this hard drive over a conventional 1.5TB drive is the wireless streaming capabilities to your phone. Using the latest firmware software as of this review date, I could not get streaming to work, and I am using a Samsung phone!

- The software takes a long time (60+ seconds) to connect and asks for the password more than once per connection.

- Once the Samsung Wireless software connects, it tells you the battery charge level. Submenus you can also find available disk space, renamed the device, etc..

- Actually listing files seems to be out of reach. 20 minutes now and the software still hasn't listed a single thing. (I had previously copied a bunch of MKV movies and JPG images to the drive).

- Even when using the Samsung Wireless software, the phone kept switching to a different wireless network than the hard drive, which forced me to login (entering the password several times) again.

- Loses its wireless capabilities when plugged into a USB port.

- Samsung Wireless software reports a full battery at first, then changes its mind. After 20 minutes of charging, it is at 34%. After another 4 hours of charging, it is at ... 34%.

- You need to hold the power button for an awkwardly long amount of time to start the unit, and just tapping the power button briefly illuminates a blue light, implying the drive is on when it is not.

- The manual is very basic and poorly translated. Examples:
"Standardized data cable
This may increase the wrong operation and may cause a malfunction"

"Samsung Wireless has a network password from factory to restrict access. The initial password is 10 times '0'
(0000000000)"

(ten times zero is just zero...)
Other Thoughts: Good idea, but the product was released long before it was ready.
Reviewed By:CharlesBurns,11/18/2014 6:27:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Attached Storage > Western Digital > WD My Passport Wireless 1TB USB 3.0 / WIFI 2.5" External Hard Drive WDBK8Z0010BBK-NESN Black/Silver

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Decent wired portable drive with extras you may or may not use...
Pros: - Fast wired USB 3.0 transfer speeds (as one could expect):
- Using a workstation to test the wired (USB 3.0) transfers this time…
- Transfer from My Passport to workstation - 1 sec / 73.3 MB/s avg. (100MB file)
- Transfer from workstation to My Passport - 1 sec / 88 MB/s avg. (100MB file)
- Transfer from My Passport to workstation - 9 sec / 102 MB/s avg. (1GB file)
- Transfer from workstation to My Passport - 9 sec / 103.6 MB/s avg. (1GB file)

- relatively painless setup (somewhat user friendly)

- SD Card backup:
- 166MB copied from card to My Passport
- 18.5 sec from inserting card to start of transfer
- 46 sec to transfer
- creates folder on My Passport called “SD Card Imports” with sub-folders called “SDCard_xxxxx”
- Wifi LED flashes while card is transferring

- My Cloud app.:
- about 14 MB from Google Play Store
- join My Passport network on mobile device
- app automatically found the device
- Upon testing video streaming, I received this message: “Enjoy videos with any compatible media player: MX Player, B:S Player, V Player, Video Player”
- Video stream buffers for about 5-15 sec, then streams perfectly using stock Video Player (Samsung Galaxy S5, Android 4.4.4)
- Music streams instantly using stock Music player (Samsung Galaxy S5, Android 4.4.4)
- Pictures (depending on resolution and file size) can take anywhere from a few seconds all the way up to 30-45 seconds to load
Cons: - painfully slow wireless transfer speeds:
- Using a laptop to test Wifi transfers…
- Transfer from My Passport to laptop - 39.3 sec / 2.46 MB/s (100MB file)
- Transfer from laptop to My Passport - 21.3 sec / 4.4 MB/s (100MB file)
- Transfer from My Passport to laptop - 4 min 27.3 sec / 3.56 MB/s (1GB file)
- Transfer from laptop to My Passport - 4 min 8 sec / 5.06 MB/s (1GB file)

I can’t actually see myself using this drive to transfer data to and from via the Wifi (painfully slow) when I could just plug the drive into a workstation or laptop via USB 3.0.

- UPLOAD from My Cloud app:
- 50 /50 (hit or miss)
- tried transferring a few pictures from my phone’s camera… only 14 MB. Using the instructions in the User Manual, the transfers hung forever: items appeared “cued” in the Activity section, but don’t actually transfer to My Passport drive.
- Successfully transferred a ringtone to My Passport drive…
- No clue why the pictures wouldn’t transfer… maybe weird filenames?

Here are the limitations of the file formats:
"DLNA File Formats:
- Audio: MP3, WMA, WAV, LPCM, OGG vorbis, FLAC, M4A, M4B, 3GP, AAC, MP2, AC3, MPA, MP1, AIF
- Video: 3GP, 3GP/H.263,3GP/H.264,3GP/MPEg-4, ASF, ASF/WMV, AVI, AVI/DivX, AVI/Full Frame, AVI/MPEG-1, AVI/MPEG-2, AVI/MPEG-4, AVI/WMV, AVI/XviD, DivX, DV, DVR-MS, DVR-MS/AC-3 Audio, DVR-MS/MP1 Audio, FLV, M1V, M2TS, M4P, M4V, MKV, MKV/DivX, MKV/Full Frame, MKV/MPEG-1, MKV/MPEG-2, MKV/
MPEG-4, MKV/XviD, MOV, MP4, MPE, MPEG1, MPEG2, MPEG4, MPG, MTS, QT, RM, TS, TS/TP/M2T, VDR, VOB, WMV, Xvid
- Image JPEG, PNG, TIF, BMP
Note: Some devices may not support playback of all these files. Please refer to your device’s user manual to see which formats are supported.


Formats Compatible with WD My Cloud App:
iOS
- Photo jpg, png, gif, tiff, bmp
- Video mov, mp4, m4v
- Music mp3, m4a, aiff, wav

Android
- Photo jpg, png, gif, tiff, bmp
- Video Depends on the third party app used to play video on the mobile device
- Music mp3 (support for m4a, wma, wav and aiff added in release 3.1 requires Android 4.0 or later)

Note: You can go to the Help/FAQ section on each platform to find the
supported types.
Other Thoughts: - Packaging and Un-boxing:
- Included items:
- My Passport hard drive
- USB 3.0 cable (sort of on the short-ish side)
- USB power adapter
- Quick Install Guide
- Technical Support and Limited Warranty Guide

- First impressions (before powering up and setting up):
- Slightly larger than your a regular WD My Passport (but not by much)

- Powering up and setting up:
- out of the packaging… came "fully" charged. Pressed the battery check button and the battery reported "BLUE", which means fully charged. With a little over an hour of use, the battery showed "RED" which means very close to dead. Plugged in for approx. 2 hrs... went from blinking red to blinking green. Left charging overnight… woke up and power LED was solid blue. CHARGE IT UP FULLY BEFORE YOU SET TO USING IT!

- easy setup via laptop
- easy to setup My Passport to connect to existing wireless network

- Firmware update!
Old firmware: 1.01.09 (original firmware)
New firmware: 1.02.17 (latest; 2nd update to date)

- Originally threw an error: “Device does not have enough space to install update.”
- Ran update again… it’s downloading and installing. Round trip, firmware update takes around 10 minutes. See the release notes for firmware update specifics.

- My findings, in terms of battery life (with the battery performance on “Battery Life”) were roughly 30 minutes per 10% of battery discharge (so 1hr per 20%). So with that, I have calculated the battery run-time from fully charged to completely dead with constant file uploads and downloads = about 5 hours. The WD webzone says “Get up to 6 hours of continuous video streaming and up to 20 hours of standby time.” Perhaps if the drive were JUST streaming… you might get closer to 6 hours.

- What I can imagine is loading the drive up with music and videos, travel a long distance without any data connection (3G or 4G), and stream content from the drive to my phone or a tablet.

- Wrap-Up:
- Works as a wired drive. Works for SD card backups. Works as a wifi drive (albeit painfully slow). Transferring data from mobile devices to My Passport works half of the time. It's about $100 more expensive than a regular USB 3.0 My Passport 1TB drive... so you've really got ask yourself if you would utilize the extra features. If it were me, I would get the regular My Passport drive... just don't see a need to have the wifi streaming and SD card backups.
Manufacturer Response:Hey Sean,
The feedback you have provided to us in your review of the Passport Wireless is appreciated.
There is the possibility that your device may have a newer firmware update, and we advise checking for a new version by visiting the link below.
“Product update for My Passport Wireless”: http://www.wdc.com/wdproducts/updates/?family=wdfmp_wireless

We are interested in assisting you directly with any concerns you may have with the drive or your experience. You may contact our support directly via email or phone below, and when you speak with our staff be sure to reference your Newegg review so we can connect you with the appropriate team member for further assistance.

Need Help? Please click below for further assistance or contact us at 1(800) 275-4932.
https://wdsupport.wdc.com/sfdc/case.aspx

Reviewed By:bobbinator5736,11/18/2014 8:36:05 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.