Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > 3D Printers > XYZprinting > XYZprinting daVinci 1.0 3D Printer

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Get what you pay for
Pros: For it's print size, it's the cheapest by about 4 digits. The prints come out relatively clean on the highest settings and I've had few problems printing everything on the fast setting. Even on lowest quality simple objects come out decent.
Cons: The software is limited, very limited, and takes forever to slice a large object even on a high end computer. Unless you have cash to burn, the cartridges are expensive enough to make you really think about what you print, instead of freely testing as something like this requires to get better, you are almost paranoid that your print will fail and cost you.
Other Thoughts: the "factory calibration" is either poor, or my shipper knocked it out of whack. Verify the calibration when you get it, and adjust until it's between 240 and 260. I accidentally calibrated it around 310, but it "succeeded" so I tried it. Then the extruder was pretty much up against the bed and caused a filament jam. I thought it would calculate automatically that it was that high, but better safe than sorry, keep it around 250.
Reviewed By:DC010,1/30/2015 4:08:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > 3D Printers > XYZprinting > XYZprinting daVinci 1.0 3D Printer

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 With Tweaks, an Awesome Printer
Pros: Can provide very good prints at less cost than any other printer.
Cons: Requires tweaks. Hardware and firmware for optimal results.
Other Thoughts: Cinch up the belt cogs against their roll pins.
Cinch up the oilite bearings that have slop.
Install new repetier firmware.
Apply 8" square of Kapton tape to the bed.
Print out a new standard 1kg reel support and get rid of the chipped cartridge.
This is a great printer after doing the foregoing.
Reviewed By:TonyTheToolGuy,1/26/2015 6:01:25 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > 3D Printers > XYZprinting > XYZprinting daVinci 1.0 3D Printer

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 The Good, the Bad and the Ugly
Pros: It works. It does as it is supposed to do. Prints are of average quality.
Cons: XYZPrinting has been crazy about locking down the platform.

You CANNOT use Slic3r on this printer without Mods.

You CANNOT use all the wonderful filaments out there because XYZ locks you into their offings.

You CANNOT mod the machine easily (the early models had easy mods, but XYZ locked them out).
Other Thoughts: DO NOT get this printer if you want to try interesting filaments. Do not get this printer if you like to control print parameters yourself. Do not get this printer if you like to DIY, or tinker - it's worthless.
Reviewed By:NYCOne,1/24/2015 3:09:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > 3D Printers > XYZprinting > XYZprinting daVinci 1.0 3D Printer

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great consumer 3D Printer
Pros: The printer was easy to set up and start a print right out of the box the instructions were clear and simple to follow. Printed several items with no problems. Enclosed print area as well nice size print area. Great Printer for the price.
Cons: You have to use their filament and the software that came with it to print. only took one egg for this as I know that is how they are making the cost of the printer so low. Just like in inkjet printers they get you with the supplies. This is not that bad as they should offer refills with a factory reset chip which might lower the cost some.
Other Thoughts: If you are the following this printer is great for you.
1. Some one starting in 3D Printing as a hobby
2. Want to be able to print small items at a low cost (note the cost to pint is .06 cents a gram

This printer is not for you if you are trying to run a business by selling item that are printed off as you can get the cost of filament down by getting it in bulk.

There are other printers out there that are made for a business environment.

I got the printer as I am a hobbyist and wanted something simple and stable to use and this fit the bill with the cost got the combo deal that came with a lot of filament. (hope it last me a bit 4200g of various colors.)
Reviewed By:wolfinshell,1/24/2015 7:15:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > 3D Printers > XYZprinting > XYZprinting daVinci 1.0 3D Printer

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Basic Printer That Just Works
Pros: This is a great printer for someone who just wants to print without constantly tweaking settings. The bad news is that if you do want to tweak there is no opportunity to. The software bundled with it is very basic.

If you're buying one to hack and run third party software and firmware, be aware that the newer versions of the printer no longer support the hacks. Not easily, at least

About two weeks in I accidentally broke the extruder. It was my fault and I was up front with XYZprinting about it. They replaced the part free anyway.
Cons: Proprietary filament. Software calls home to check the filament cartridge and will disable your printer if they sense tampering.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/22/2015 6:19:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > 3D Printers > XYZprinting > XYZprinting daVinci 1.0 3D Printer

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 DaVinci 1.0a
Pros: Cheap, and built well, enclosed.. Was delivered quickly. I get pretty good prints after learning some tweaks.
Cons: Dealing with proprietary filament and software, but there are many ways around them. Expect to do a lot of reading on the forums. Wish it was a duo printer..
Other Thoughts: I snagged this on a shellshocker combo for $449 with 5 rolls of additional filament carts.. I couldn't pass it up, and I see it showing up at times for $399. Decent machine for the money..
Reviewed By:RVMike,1/15/2015 5:36:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > 3D Printers > XYZprinting > XYZprinting daVinci 1.0 3D Printer

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works as promised!
Pros: -Works right out of the box. 20 minutes from the delivery guy showing up to starting first print!
-VERY good quality prints
-Filament cartridges work well
-Easy to use software for a beginner
-HUGE print volume for the price
Cons: -Printer bed alignment can be a bit of a nightmare. You can print out of the box but I just had to calibrate my bed. To it's credit the printer is working extremely well but it took 2 frustrating hours to calibrate.
-Must be patient if you want a large high resolution print to complete. Though to be fair, they are all slow!
-Proprietary cartridge system. So far the cartridge is working well but proprietary prices suck!
Other Thoughts: I didn't know what to expect with this printer but as it turns out, I'm extremely happy with it! The detail at the highest setting is extremely impressive. So long as you are willing to deal with the proprietary cartridges or hacking your box, it's a SOLID deal for the money!
Reviewed By:N/A,1/14/2015 4:11:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > 3D Printers > XYZprinting > XYZprinting daVinci 1.0 AiO 3D Printer/Scanner

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Wish I had bought elsewhere
Pros: Inexpensive, cool when it works
Cons: An exercise in patience; mine came with the x-axis shift problem, which took a long time for me and xyz to figure out; after 30+ calibration attempts, screw A became threaded and the nut came loose. I tried to get a refund like you can at other sites, but newegg won't do exchanges or refunds on this printer.
Other Thoughts: This is very cool technology and there is a lot of things to like about this printer, but I definitely wish I had bought elsewhere or splurged and bought a nicer printer with this effort needed
Reviewed By:N/A,1/12/2015 4:59:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > 3D Printers > XYZprinting > XYZprinting daVinci 1.0 3D Printer

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Best Bang for your buck
Pros: -Only $500, and not lacking in build quality. They likely sell the printers at a low profit and make most of their money from the filament.
-Heated Bed
-Fully enclosed
-ABS and PLA (when pla releases in a few weeks)
-Nice, clean, professional design
-Huge user base with many experienced users helping new owners
-IT'S A FREAKIN 3D PRINTER!!
Cons: -Learning curve as with all 3D printers, it takes a bit to mess around with the fill/layer height/rafting/etc. to be able to get consistently good prints
-Calibration, really really hard to get passing values. There is an android app that makes it super easy though, if you don't have an android just download bluestacks onto your pc.
Other Thoughts: Proprietary filaments. Here's the thing, yes you have to buy their filament, and yes it's more expensive than generic filaments, but I think most of you guys are overestimating your useage and underestimating premium filament costs. A person that opts for a $500 printer over a $3,000 printer is likely a hobbyist or just likes messing with stuff. A $30 cartridge has 240m of filament. An normal iPhone 5 case will take 5-9m of filament. A gear heart will take 10-20m (depending on size, fill, etc.). The point is 240m lasts a long time, you could print 30-40 iPhone cases. The manufacturer sells a high quality printer for such a low price and makes a bit of profit from the filament, I'm really not sure what the big deal is about them charging 10% more than normal high-end filament, but that's just me.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/12/2015 3:13:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > 3D Printers > XYZprinting > XYZprinting daVinci 1.0 3D Printer

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works great for me
Pros: I found this product to be easy to setup and use. I followed the manufactures instructions to the letter and had no issues. Updated the software and firmware to the latest and again no issues.
Cons: User cannot control the temperature of the nozzle and bed. As a work around I will print my smaller 3D objects toward the corners where I found the bed to be cooler. If I need to cool the extruding filament, I have a small fan that is directed at the nozzle.
Other Thoughts: There is a learning curve to using this product and I'm sure that is the same for any 3D printer. I compare the experience of using this 3D printer to that of using a color photo printer, sometimes you have to try different settings to get the output you want.
Reviewed By:Chris,1/9/2015 7:53:07 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.