Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > 3D Printers > XYZprinting > XYZprinting da Vinci 1.0 FFF (Fused Filament Fabrication) 0.1mm-0.4mm 150 mm/s Single Jet 3D Printer 7.8" X 7.8" X 7.8" Build Size

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Proprietary consumables
Pros: Cons explain the low price.
Cons: See the specs. See the line that says "Propietary Catridges" (sic). That means $$$$$
Reviewed By:N/A,8/18/2014 6:34:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
0 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > 3D Printers > XYZprinting > XYZprinting da Vinci 1.0 FFF (Fused Filament Fabrication) 0.1mm-0.4mm 150 mm/s Single Jet 3D Printer 7.8" X 7.8" X 7.8" Build Size

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Nice build, ok prints
Pros: Enclosed, easy to set up, comes with everything you need to start printing.
Cons: Software is bad, very bad. Many prints would fail to slice on the XYZ software. Tested the same files in Makerware and no problems at all.
Other Thoughts: I will say the manufacture tried to fix the problems I was having multiple times. Ended up returning the item.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/14/2014 7:19:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > 3D Printers > MakerBot > Makerbot Replicator 2 Black Fused Filament Fabrication 100 microns 3D Printer 11.2" x 6.0" x 6.1" Build Size

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Does as intended
Pros: -Dual injector nozzles
-Completely enclosed
-Easy to use software
Cons: -The heated build plate

Every time we use the Makerbot we have to make sure to build in a small section in the center of the build plate. The rafts and supports begin to curl as you use more of the build plate. We speculate there is a problem with conduction inside of the plate.
Other Thoughts: I am an engineering student who uses this product at my college.
Reviewed By:Justaddfillets,3/24/2014 3:55:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
5 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > 3D Printers > MakerBot > Makerbot Replicator 2 Black Fused Filament Fabrication 100 microns 3D Printer 11.2" x 6.0" x 6.1" Build Size

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 MakerBot
Pros: - Does what you want it to do.
- Can buy different colored plastic to use for printing
Cons: - Nothing that would steer you away from buying except maybe the price tag
Other Thoughts: - This does exactly what you need it to do, but you need to have some common sense on structure and engineering while modeling something for the printer to print. (Long archways and beams will sag if no support braces are there to hold it.)
- Make sure you clean the nozzle after every use to keep it functioning right.
- Make sure to use something like painters tape or a non-stick tape on the table so the printed parts don't stick to the table
- Our science club has one of these and it's pretty dang nice.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/25/2013 2:11:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > 3D Printers > MakerBot > Makerbot Replicator 2 Black Fused Filament Fabrication 100 microns 3D Printer 11.2" x 6.0" x 6.1" Build Size

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Seriously.
Pros: - Aesthetics
- It sorta prints 3D sucessfully
Cons: - Shipped to us an outdated version, we used this to 3D print parts for the printer to help make it work better
- We literally have to clean the nozzle out every print or else it gets clogged up.
- Support is terrible, refused to help us, guess they dont want a return of a $2200 product
- No paneling around windows, we had to make our own
- No heating pad
Other Thoughts: I dont personally own this but our school bought one and i have access to using it.
Reviewed By:Gizmotist,12/4/2013 8:44:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
8 out of 24 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > 3D Printers > MakeMendel > RapidBot3.0 Kit comes with all the parts required to make the machine work.

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 What A Project
Pros: "Cheap". If you want a project to build this is it!
Cons: Terrible directions that you had to find online. Random extra parts. The plastic frame did not have the screw holes cut out at all. Wiring coloring does not match some of the instructions. I did have to do some modification to get parts to fit.
Tools supplied only work on some of the hardware so you MUST have your own stuff such as 5.5 mm hex and #1 Phillips screwdriver. You will have to skip around and look at pictures to see the assembly of parts and guess how it goes together.
Other Thoughts: Have not had it up and running yet. Directions say 5 hours to assemble, I think I am on 10.
Reviewed By:Brian,11/26/2013 1:28:09 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > 3D Printers > 3D Systems Inc. > 3D Systems 381000 Silver Plastic Jet 200 microns Single Jet 3D Printers 5.5" x 5.5" x 5.5" Build Size

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Sounds odd
Pros: Small, looks good, and prints things in 3d, glue you put on the glass is water soluble.
Cons: Noisy: First thing is it will be moved to the basement based on how much noise it generates. It makes me worry because something that costs this much shouldn't make sounds like it's getting ready to strip out plastic gears. I know it's a stepper motors in all and they sound s little harsh, but this is beyond what I expected. Initial frame print sometimes jumps the feed, resulting in no material being printed. Goes clunk clunk clunk and you can see the material back feeding slightly some gear in there is jumping. Happily it only does this on the grid print (uses more material at a time).

Interface: Please note that the interface that is shown in the pictures is blue, mine is just a dull white. Does not connect Via USB for printing only for updates, kinda a bummer to use the flash driver to move things.

???: I printed a bezel for an LCD Screen of which stated 4 hours 11 minutes, it actually took 6 hours + and the time down clock stated 0:00 for two hours.

Setup: WiFi system does not allow for connection to networks that don't broadcast an SSID or a Hidden network. Which is why I have to use the USB Flash Drive to print things.

Software: The software is a little clunky and doesn't load every time. I have had several designs where you import more than one model to print at a time on the same plate and it crashes when you tell it to build.

Compile Error, Twice I have had an error generated in the build file where it will either leave something out or even add an object that was "unloaded" requiring me to cancel the print. In one case it shows everything in the Cube software as solid and existent, however when I print it doesn't print as show. More specifically, A letter was left out in some 3d text, example : 3d systems prints, 3d s stems. Which was a huge bummer because I didn't notice until it was 75% printed.
Other Thoughts: I'm very saddened to write this review, if this thing cost $300 I wouldn't have just because, well you get what you pay for. However for over $1k, this seems like a beta test. That's a lot of money for me to risk on this product.

Please note that this DOES NOT INCLUDE DEVELOPMENT SOFTWARE!!! You will need to get Sketchup 2013 (free) and download through the Extension Warehouse the "Export STL" extension.
Reviewed By:Indy,11/24/2013 5:35:03 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > 3D Printers > NWRepRap > RepRap Prusa i2 3D Printer Kit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 All quality parts
Pros: High quality parts selection. Excellent support.
Cons: Entry level ability and printing techniques (the actual extruder assembly...)
Other Thoughts: When I built my first printer about two years ago, I researched everything for a week and ended up with almost exactly the parts listed with this printer. (I got the Sanguinololu board because it was cheaper.) My total cost was about $550 with 6lb of ABS plastic. This kit is a little more pricy, but you're really paying that extra bit for the support and no question warranty.

If it's you're first time and you don't want to mess with the research, this is a sure fire bet. Once you gain a little experience, you'll realize that this is a very basic printer. The next DIY model up is the Prusa 3 and it's design is much simpler and can provide superior quality and reliability but it requires a few custom pieces which make it slightly more difficult to source parts. Specific it's bowden tube + 1.7mm filament, and extruder assembly is the biggest upgrade.

I didn't actually get this kit, I recommended it to someone and they were able to do it all on their own with no help from me. In fact I didn't even know they had bought and built it until I saw it...
Reviewed By:N/A,10/6/2013 12:55:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > 3D Printers > NWRepRap > RepRap Prusa i2 3D Printer Kit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Kit
Pros: I'm very happy with this purchase. I wanted a bare bones 3D Printer that I could assemble myself from scratch and this really fit the bill.

After looking at other builds and instructions online, it seem that this kit incorporates many of the best practices out there.

I had several extra PC power supplies with 2 12 volt rails laying around and asked if I could order a kit without a PSU. The vendor happily customized my order and delivered quickly. The kit arrived nicely packaged and well organized.

The build was really fun, and I learned a lot. It really works, and the parts it prints have sub millimeter accuracy.
Cons: Like it says in the description, this is the opposite of a "works-straight-out-of-the box" product. It requires a lot of patience and tinkering to get it calibrated and configured. (But not too much so that it spoils the fun). It's also very important to keep in mind that this printer is all open source, including the design, the electronics, the firmware, and the software. Having used several kinds of industrial-grade 3D Printer hardware and software systems, the home-brew nature of this took some getting used to, but it's still pretty fantastic for what it is.
Other Thoughts: Be sure to watch the assembly videos to get a sense of the whole process and what tools and extras you'll need. (calipers, kapton tape, silicone, etc. ) The videos are pretty good. Unfortunately, there are several places where the camera can't see what's going on very well, and a close-up view would have been helpful, but that's the only minor negative feedback I can think of.

Would definitely buy again.
Reviewed By:yazmataz,8/30/2013 10:46:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > 3D Printers > NWRepRap > RepRap Prusa i2 3D Printer Kit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 From a fellow reprapper
Pros: This is a first class kit. These are the right parts and no shortcuts were taken.
Cons: You still have to do your homework, have patience, be precise.
Other Thoughts: I do not know the seller at all. Gathering up these part is especially difficult for someone with no experience building 3d printers, and it's very easy to make incorrect purchasing decisions along the way. If I were building another printer, this kit pretty much duplicates what I would be looking for. Well done.
Reviewed By:cognoscente,8/11/2013 4:19:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau