Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > 3D Printers > XYZprinting > XYZprinting da Vinci 2.0 Duo FFF 3D Printer

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Headaches. Be prepared for some issues.
Pros: Price is definitely a pro. I was going to buy this for $499 but my computer messed up and ended up buying this after midnight and got this for $449 and the next day it went back up.
No settings to mess up, cartridges control temperatures and software is limiting in options.
Customer support is willing to help. Other reviews state they jerk you around until 60 days so they don't have to pay shipping to return. The person I spoke to was helpful but unable to recommend non-scripted tricks i.e. warping and sticking failures to the bed solutions.
Cons: Expensive cartridge proprietary filament therefore limited colors
Limited settings.
I've had this for 2 weeks and had several problems; 1st: software wouldn't send print to printer, 2nd: could not keep prints on the print bed using "approved" techniques therefore warping or the opposite extruder pulling the print off the bed (solution-kapton tape and dissolve failed prints in acetone and apply to tape), 3rd: one extruder has a filament "jam" to apart cleaned several times and cleaned and loading the filament fine, go to print and starts print and "jam" yet its not jamming, 4th: the connectors to extruders loss contact and fail to heat leading to a extruder failure, 5th: print splits about 1 inch away from bed, separation of layers.
Other Thoughts: Regretting my purchase.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/28/2016 10:14:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > 3D Printers > XYZprinting > XYZprinting da Vinci 2.0 Duo FFF 3D Printer

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great Printer, Lousy Software
Pros: Cheap 3D printer with enclosed space. large printer area, dual extruders, decent construction.
Cons: Software is junk, firmware is very limted, support almost non-existence.
Other Thoughts: i purchased this printer because it was cheap, it had good reviews, and I wanted something already built that was enclosed. When I first started using it I had trouble getting my prints to come out. Everything was moving around the bed causing a big mess. The glue they give you is garbage, better off using elmers brand instead. I tried to contact support about my issue but they was no help.

After lots of research online I realized my problem was the software, and / or the firmware. So I decided to update the firmware with repetier 0.92, and boy what a difference. I could finally change temperatures on the bed and extruders which made a world of difference, infact I don't even use the glue sticks anymore. With the new firmware you can use the repetier host software, but it takes a bit to configure things. Instead I decided to purchase Simplify3d. Everyone was raving about it, but the cost was $150... Ouch!

I have to say, now that i'm using a new firmware and software, this printer works fantastic! It's almost as good as one costing a few thousand dollars.

Oh and by the way, if you do update the firmware with repetier, you can buy aftermarket abs or pla. no need to pay the high cost of their filaments.
Reviewed By:brian r.,1/22/2016 6:20:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > 3D Printers > XYZprinting > XYZprinting da Vinci 1.0 AIO da Vinci FFF (Fused Filament Fabrication) 3D Printer

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Purchased to learn about 3D printing.
Pros: Inexpensive, lots of support videos on YouTube, worked great right out of the box. The software and firmware it comes with suck which I knew before I bought it. I bought it with the intention of hacking it over to open source Repetier. I printed a few objects with the frustrating stock software then got some help and hacked it over.

It suits my purpose to learn about 3D Printing perfectly. I wanted to control all aspects of the printer and learning everything I could about 3D printing. This project worked perfectly for me in that goal. Expect to have to upgrade the extruder. Remember, the printer does not cost $1000-2000. When you buy the cheapest printer available then cry about having to upgrade some items, we'll, we know your not very realistic. I purchased mine for the purpose of learning and am doing exactly that. After 12+ days of printing time (over the last few months) I am now ready to upgrade the extruder to the E3D V6 hot end. I've made lots of things and the prints are beautiful. I went to a makers fair Pittsburg and only saw one booth printing things that looked nicer than my hacked XYZ. That let me know I was doing well. Having it running on Repetier means you can really tune the printer. It's really fun to make small changes to temperature or extrusion multiplier or many other things then print the object again and see the effects.

Check out my Crafted channel on YouTube to check out some of my projects. Search Crafted 3D Printing and it should come up. I'm using mine to make practical mechanical parts. I have made parts that are being used on my drill press and 1950 Atlas lathe. I've printed for myself parts that would otherwise have cost a great deal.

Remember, 3D printing requires you to be willing to work on and make adjustments to your machine whatever machine you buy. This technology isn't as refined as your typical toaster. If your a glossy box opener and expect the world to be as simple as a can opener, perhaps 3D printing is not for you. I'd rather be making things than sitting in front of the TV. To me, it's been a bargain and it's allowed me to catch up with technology I was behind on. I view the experience like a college class. I'm learning and that makes me happy. Yes, I'd buy another one and am looking for a deal at this moment. It's frustrating reading the reviews on this printer realizing that these people bought the cheapest thing available and then cried they didn't get a Cadillac or had to work through a problem. 3D Printing is full of adjustments and problem solving.
Cons: Factory software and firmware. Buy this for the purpose of putting open source software in it. Think about upgrading the extruder. It's a good printer if you want to wade in at low cost. Bad printer if you expect a Ferrari for a Chevy price.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this product to a friend. It's not realistic to think of 3D printing as an open shiny box and be printing like a pro on 5 minutes. It's a learning process. Marketers want to convince you that you can. Realistically, any printer is going to need periodic adjustment and service. Regardless of what you buy, you will be learning these things.
Reviewed By:David T.,1/20/2016 7:46:53 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > 3D Printers > XYZprinting > XYZprinting da Vinci 2.0 Duo FFF 3D Printer

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works Very Very Well!
Pros: Easy to set up
Prints look great
Software is easy to use
Printer is easy to maintain
Cons: The software is limited
Prints could look better with better software
Other Thoughts: If you're looking for a great printer than just works with no fuss and can do 2 colors for less than $1000, this is perfect. I have had no failed prints at all (can't say the same for the 1.0 model of this printer) and it worked perfectly right out of the box.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,12/29/2015 4:11:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > 3D Printers > XYZprinting > XYZprinting da Vinci 2.0 Duo FFF 3D Printer

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Hardware - GREAT! Software- Terrible!
Pros: Good hardware platform. Works well once it's been hacked with Repetier firmware.
Cons: DaVinci writes terrible software. The firmware built into the printer is featureless and impossible to use. It's impossible to level the bed without buying a utility, but then it's still almost impossible. The computer based slicer program is junk. I was unable to get the latest version to work at all.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this if the friend is sophisticated enough to hack the printer, replacing the firmware with Repetier and replacing the software with Repetier host. To find the instructions for doing this, just search YouTube for davinci repetier hack.
Reviewed By:Benjamin C.,12/20/2015 12:39:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > 3D Printers > MakerBot > Makerbot Replicator Mini Compact 3D Printer

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 First printer had to be RMA'ed. No Quality Control
Pros: - Anyone can set it up and start printing in 30 minutes or less.
- Makerbot's Thingiverse.com website is a fantastic community resource
Cons: First printer killed it's smart extruder after less than a week and technical support determined it was not homing correctly and must be RMA'ed. HOWEVER - you can not return/exchange the printer unless it is in the ORIGINAL PACKAGING which I had thrown away after the first few days when everything seemed to be working as expected. The whole RMA process takes weeks and really shouldn't need to be done in the first place if the machines were properly tested and packaged before shipping to the customer.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend buying a Makerbot over most other 3D printers however I warn you that it might be awhile until you can really start printing if you have to RMA.
Reviewed By:Nathan B.,12/20/2015 11:39:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > 3D Printers > XYZprinting > XYZprinting daVinci 1.0 3D Printer

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Printer broke in the first week
Pros: well it's inexpensive, the prints were good when they did not fail. Software is easy enough to understand.
Cons: The glass bed shattered after 4 prints in the first week I got the printer, can't get a refund from new egg because the printer is now broken. Probably can't get a RMA on the bed from the company because they only ship US and im in Canada.

The printer is very noisy when used, half the time when you want to send a print to the printer it fails and you need to reboot the printer to get it to talk with the computer.

Had more fail prints then success but that me learning how to 3d print, still it's not just plug and play if you want to print at the highest resolution it's quite hard to make abs stick to the bed and when it does stick to the bed well the bed cracks.

The heat is not the same every where on the bed the middle gets very hot and the edges stay cold, it shattered in the middle making it unusable.

Also the support material generated by xyzware (the software to use the printer) won't work unless you make it on the thickest settings wasting material. On the medium settings it doesn't stick to the bed and on the small settings it just spew plastic all over your prints.
Other Thoughts: Now let's see how xyzware deals with this kind of stuff, not looking forward to it.
Reviewed By:Alex,12/14/2015 11:29:12 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > 3D Printers > XYZprinting > XYZprinting daVinci 1.0 3D Printer

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 2 week review
Pros: Cheep machine software is easy enough to understand. the print quality surprised me on the highest settings making very smooth object but the base of the object all had some default (only had real prints out of it before it broke)
Cons: Noisy, Slow, smelly (abs), it's very tricky to get the prints to stick to the bed i used a lot of the glue supplied with the printer (uhu), i had lots of fail prints also support break mid print if not used on the thickest settings.

The worst part the bed BROKE after 4 "real" prints, prints that were not just tests that comes preloaded on the machine or from a test print from thingiverse. The glass stayed stuck on the arduino case I printed and chipped a 3" disk off the bed near the middle making the whole machine pretty much unusable.

Also you can't use any other slicer then what is supplied, it's a bit sad.

The bed wobble a bit because of the way it's design with the spings for adjustments it could use a design overall for that part.
Other Thoughts: I will change my review depending how it goes with XYZ support for the bed replacement.

I am still good on time to get a refund honestly I am thinking about it if this is the kind of quality I can expect from the product. Other review says their support team is amazing,

I doubt it since I live in canada and I don't think they will be willing to send me a bed in cross shipping no way Im shipping my bed and miss the refund date because the bed is lost in the mail if I decide to go that route.
Reviewed By:Alex,12/13/2015 3:35:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > 3D Printers > XYZprinting > XYZprinting daVinci 1.0 3D Printer

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 What happened to all of the negative reviews?
Pros: None
Cons: This printer was reviewed with numerous terrible reviews about bad customer service by the manufacturer in addition to a flawed product that required multiple interactions with said bad customer service department. Where did all of the reviews go?
Other Thoughts: I did not buy this printer when it was a much lower price due to the bad reviews. I hope people do a lot of research on this product before buying it.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/11/2015 7:22:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product less than 1 day.
1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > 3D Printers > MakerBot > Makerbot Replicator Mini Compact 3D Printer

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Choose another Vendor
Pros: Small.
Cons: Constant filament jams. No heated bed. Terrible quality output.
Other Thoughts: I urge you to consider a different 3D printer.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/2/2015 3:37:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.