Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Black November
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > 3D Printers > MakerBot > MakerBot Replicator Z18 3D Printer

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 I give up... Boat anchor.
Pros: No actual pros, because it just doesn't work.
Cons: This device is just not ready for prime-time. It has been a very costly waste of time and money. I have tried just about everything. I thought I had at least a passible way to get it to print, then it failed me again. I just give up.
Other Thoughts: Boat anchor. Do not purchase under any circumstance.
Reviewed By:CHRISTOPHER B.,11/21/2014 1:08:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > 3D Printers > XYZprinting > XYZprinting da Vinci 1.0 FFF (Fused Filament Fabrication) 3D Printer

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 BAD
Pros: print bed size
thats about it
Cons: -cust. serv. with the maker is "NAH" meaning they will not reply and there phones are always down
-the plug for the heat end is flawed i have had two printers now were that plug is broke in it
-software sucks
-good luck leveling the print bed i spent 12 hours and got it leveled in the menu but still printed off
-just stay away from this thing all and all i wish i never bought it now
Other Thoughts: they need to take this 1.0 off the shelf its very bad and there warranty nothing.... newegg though has went above and beyond with there cust serv. thank you newegg!
Reviewed By:Nate P.,11/20/2014 5:06:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > 3D Printers > MakerBot > MakerBot Replicator Z18 3D Printer

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Update: Some luck getting it working OK
Pros: -Large build size.
-Makerbot filament is relatively low cost.
-Advertised 100 micron resolution is good at this size.
-Firmware updates
Cons: -Smart extruder is buggy. "Dreaded clicking" when printing causes parts to be junk. This is creating a lot of difficulty getting good parts.
-Smart extruder has very short life and is very expensive.
-Don't like the filament setup, knocks the smart extruder off, jams filament. Modified to make the machine even work passibly by re-routing the filament over the top to reduce the guide tube bending and moment on the smart extruder (like the more classic 3D printer designs).
-Short warranty and trial period.
-Customer support cost big $$$
Other Thoughts: Update: I have had some success getting this machine to produce a few parts reliably. After many, many parts, settings, replacement extruders, and etc. The most luck I have had was after I changed the slicer settings to use "outer" extrusion profile on infill and insets. The most problems happened when it was printing those, so after using the "outer" extrusion profile on both of those in addition to the usual outerextrusion profile string, parts seem to work much better. The down side is it prints significantly slow, but much less issues with jamming and "clicking". So I have raised my review to 3 eggs....
Reviewed By:CHRISTOPHER B.,11/17/2014 2:28:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > 3D Printers > XYZprinting > XYZprinting daVinci 2.0 3D Printer

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Disappointed
Pros: The plug&play aspect is a nice feature and the overall package is attractive. The unit seems to be well engineered for quick factory assembly.
Cons: The proprietary filament cartridge is a limitation but there are work arounds available.

The two color option seemed like a neat feature but on most of the things I have tried there is a considerable of filament mixing since the extruder apparently doesn't retract the filament when it is finished and filament dribbles out while printing with the other extruder. These break off and get mixed in with the other color.

The calibration is erratic. It changes every time it is run. The probe is hitting on the edge of the contact plate instead of the top and gives inconsistent readings.

The firmware offset for the head is incorrect and the first few layers are smashed into the bed (needs about 0.15mm correction).

The firmware has been changed to subtract 20c from the bed temperature stored in the cartridge(it now only heats to 70c) and parts don't stick as well, much more warping on larger parts.

The software is fine for simple parts but doesn't do well on more complex items and there are very limited user options for the slicer.

After 6 weeks and 29 print hours my unit has decided to assume that it's finished with the print job after several minutes. Restarts, reloads, and upgrading to the latest S/W has not worked. Files that previously printed no longer finish.

Tech Support responds through there web page but not email. They always ask for a copy of my invoice and want me to check all connections, then ask for movies and pictures as well as files. The results have always been "we had no trouble printing your file" and "the machine is operation within design parameters".
Other Thoughts: If I had it to do over again I would have purchased the DaVinci 1.0, saved $150 and had a great deal more mods and work arounds availabe and a larger print bed.
It's probably a cheap way to get started with 3D printing but don't expect very good results.
Reviewed By:ROBERT D.,11/11/2014 5:35:45 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > 3D Printers > XYZprinting > XYZprinting da Vinci 1.0 FFF (Fused Filament Fabrication) 3D Printer

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works like a dream
Pros: Easy to unbox and start printing with almost no setup or tuning needed. Don't need to master any software - it's very easy to use. But not just for simple stuff, no, I've printed 1 complete AR15 lower which I've fired several times, and I'm currently working on another of my own design. So you can build those with this. The huge 8x8x8 build area is great for things this big, and everything is so easy to work with. Reliability is great - I've had prints take up to 31 hours for a single part, and it did it without problems. I've run it through nearly 5 spools of plastic now, and I feel confident starting a print and letting it run overnight or while I'm at work. We are starting a MakerSpace within a few months, and I strongly believe we will buy several of these to use there. They're just the perfect blend of affordability, good performance, ease of use, and not needing to learn alot about the software for a new user to get started.
Cons: The paperwork quick-start guide seems to make a point "Don't calibrate this, it's already calibrated!" but after noticing the plastic for the starting layer would print okay further out, but would come out in interrupted spurts further back, I looked up the calibration and found it's really easy to do, and that fixed things. So the important part is don't be afraid to calibrate it.
Reviewed By:Schlauncha,11/8/2014 2:40:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > 3D Printers > MakerBot > MakerBot Replicator Z18 3D Printer

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Hopefully this product improves....
Pros: -Large build size.
-Makerbot filament is relatively low cost.
-Advertised 100 micron resolution is good at this size.
-Firmware updates
Cons: -Smart extruder is buggy. "Dreaded clicking" when printing causes parts to be junk. This is creating a lot of difficulty getting good parts.
-Smart extruder has very short life and is very expensive.
-Don't like the filament setup, knocks the smart extruder off, jams filament. Modified to make the machine even work passibly by re-routing the filament over the top to reduce the guide tube bending and moment on the smart extruder (like the more classic 3D printer designs).
-Short warranty and trial period.
-Customer support cost big $$$
Other Thoughts: Until I get through the smart extruder bugs, either with better settings, improved firmware, or improved smart extruder I would not recommend this product at this time. Sad because the potential is there for this to be a great product. But right now it isn't working well enough. I will update my review if things improve.
2 eggs for now, if I can get the clicking fixed then it would be 4 to 5 eggs.
Reviewed By:CHRISTOPHER B.,11/6/2014 10:28:03 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > 3D Printers > XYZprinting > XYZprinting daVinci 2.0 3D Printer

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great!!!!
Pros: Works great! For the price you cannot beat HAve used high dollar ones before and dont see why you wouldnt just go with the lower priced printer cuz they produce the same product!
Cons: You have to calibrate it every once in a while but once it has been done once it gets really easy.
Other Thoughts: If i had to buy another one and would go for the single extruder model just cuz i have not found any reason to use both extruders in one print!
Reviewed By:Rich,11/3/2014 8:46:16 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > 3D Printers > XYZprinting > XYZprinting da Vinci 1.0 FFF (Fused Filament Fabrication) 3D Printer

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very pleased
Pros: Affordable printer for beginners
Cons: None so far
Other Thoughts: I am a beginner and just wanted to learn about 3D printing and expose my kids to this new technology, and the possibilities it provides.

Purchased this printer with the 8-part bundle that includes printer (which comes with a white filament cartridge 120m) and 7 other filament cartridges (240m) for $569, which was a great deal given that each cartridge is $28.

Printer was delivered with free shipping (and white filament)within two days, and cartridges were delivered separately and arrived a few days later. Printer is delivered in a huge box, and size itself is larger than expected.

Following the bare bones manual and xyzprinting.com online video tutorials, set up of the printer was a breeze, and started printing within an hour. Downloaded some stl files from the xyzprinting.com gallery, and used xyzware to print. No instructions on how to use xyzware, but was able to figure it out fairly easily.

Did not and have not had to calibrate, and have printed several items in the last week since getting the printer. For each item I printed, I've tried to change one of the various print settings to discover the differences each setting will provide, such as layer thickness, shell thickness, density, etc. Generally, I've chosen 0.1mm layer because I want the resolution of my items to be fine, especially with curved surfaces. Another thing I learned is if you want a structurally stronger item, to print in higher density, which is seemingly obvious, but I am always conscious of not wasting filament by choosing too high a density. Have found that 30% is fairly good, and 15% will result in weak pieces. You will see the fine layer lines in your printed item, and it you want a totally smooth item, then post-sanding or filling will be necessary.

Have not figured out how to use rafts and supports yet; it depends on the item you are printing.

Have been using the free Autodesk 123D Design software to start creating my own designs, and modifying other premade designs, and exporting to stl, which is the only format xyzware will take. Have even realized that I don't even need to spread gluestick material on the glass printing bed, which results in a nice closing plastic finish on the bottom face of the printed item.

Thus far have been totally pleased, and have had no problems with this printer at all. Would absolutely recommend purchasing this printer.
Reviewed By:Jeff,11/1/2014 8:36:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > 3D Printers > XYZprinting > XYZprinting daVinci 2.0 3D Printer

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 bad printer
Pros: none
Cons: defective printer. couldn't even print a built in test object
Reviewed By:larryn,10/30/2014 7:24:07 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > 3D Printers > XYZprinting > XYZprinting da Vinci 1.0 FFF (Fused Filament Fabrication) 3D Printer

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 OK.
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Cartridges are proprietary and expensive.
Will not EVER print PLA, do not believe the Q4 2014 statement on the specs. It is NOT true. I talked to XYZ and the 1.0 will never print PLA unless you mod it, because they have no plans to support it.
Other Thoughts: It does print out of the box, and having purchased 2 from NewEgg, both came with the shipping tell-tale tripped. Neither were damaged, so my guess is that they are inaccurate. I am disappointed that PLA will not be supported as I purchased these units JUST for that purpose. That does not make be very happy....
Reviewed By:FLTRider,10/29/2014 2:10:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.