Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Back2School
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > D-Link > D-Link DCS-930L Cloud Wireless IP Camera, 640x480 Resolution, mydlink enabled

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 camera review
Pros: Seams to be a good camera. Had some trouble setting up sending pictures to my E-mail. Called tech support & Badge No. AR004214 was great and helped me with all setup questions. Wish all companies had this good of Tech Support.
Cons: None so far.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/26/2015 11:55:12 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > D-Link > D-Link DCS-850L Pan/Tilt Wi-Fi Baby Camera

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Not too bad of concept
Pros: It works very well. Wireless N is a must for it. It requires a passcode on the camera itself and your network must be locked.
The idea of using a smart phone as a monitor is great. Considering this day and age a person really shouldn't need a ton of gadgets around when the phone can do practically everything.
Cons: Very difficult to sync to the Wireless-N network. Your network may or may not see the camera, but the camera may see your network. I had to take the camera and sit it in the room with my router in order to get it to set up.
The D-link app is pretty vague. You cannot be viewing the camera and receive alert sounds. This was a bug I had to figure out. The alert notification sounds only work when you are on the main screen of the app and the sounds are enabled.
Other Thoughts: It works. I have 2 phones set up to view it. It can be controlled and viewed by both at the same time. I'm sure the app will have updates in the future to fix the few small bugs. Overall this was a good buy for our nursery. The ability to use something we have with ourselves all the time and not burden ourselves with another viewing monitor is great.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/26/2015 6:56:54 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > SHIELDeye > SHIELDeye RSCM-13701 - 720P Day & Night Wireless IP Camera with 2-Way Audio, Pan & Tilt, and Easy Installation

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 WiFi Wont Connect
Pros: Great camera if connected via wired; however, wireless will not connect no matter how i try. Router is setup to accept IP Camera, but still no wireless. I also have a Tenvis camera that connects no problem. I would advise if you want this camera, that you use for wired only as it has high quality images.
Cons: Wireless will not connect
Manufacturer Response:Dear Steven,
Thank you very much for purchasing this unit.
We strive to provide the most reliable and highest quality products to our customers.

We are sorry to hear that, please contact our support team to assist you with troubleshoot and/or warranty options.

Phone: 1- 800-575-9885
Monday - Friday 8AM - 5PM PST

Email: rma@rosewill.com
Email2: techsupport@rosewill.com


We look forward to hearing from you.

Thanks,
Rosewill Customer Care

Reviewed By:N/A,7/16/2015 7:55:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > D-Link > D-Link DCS-932L Cloud Wireless IP Camera, 640x480 Resolution, Night Vision, mydlink enabled

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 DCS932L
Pros: Great camera for the price an functions.
Had a firewall issue in setting up. Call tech great service, very knowledgeable.
Case # C6706359. Henry was the tech. Excellent.
Cons: none
Reviewed By:N/A,7/14/2015 6:18:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > EDIMAX > EDIMAX IC-3140W HD 720P Built-in 2 Way Audio Wireless Day/Night IP Surveillance Camera

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Ok for the price when they work
Pros: Cheap
Nightvision
SD card
Able to email alert snapshots
Cons: Unreliable
Poor quality control
Image quality is somewhat poor
Other Thoughts: I recently purchased three of this cameras. Two had issues right away. One could not send email alerts or detect motion, the other camera keep rebooting every hour or 2 and was unstable on the wireless network. The third camera works as advertised and is send alerts and not crashing. Very poor quality control on this model and I am disappointed in Edimax. The earlier camera I had from them was quite solid and is still running.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Charles,

We are very sorry you have issues with our IC-3140W.

We provide two years product warranty to this item.

Please feel free to contact our tech support at (408)988-6092 or write an email to " support@edimax.us ". Our tech support team will assist you with any issues. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you.

Best regards,
Edimax Tech Support Team

Reviewed By:N/A,7/11/2015 12:00:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > VIVOTEK Inc. > Vivotek IP8332-C 1280X800 Resolution, Day & Night, Weather-proof IP Camera

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent
Pros: First of all the Newegg shipping is fantastic!
I ordered on Thursday at 3:30pm and received it next dayt Friday at 9:30am. It was delivered faster than notifications :)
Newegg totally exceeded my expectations.
Camera: I have been using the IP8332 cameras for the past 4-5 years. The cameras are outstanding. Rock Solid! Image quality is excellent. Setup is fairly simple (at least to me). At this price point this is an excellent option for a POE camera with weather proofing. I have 2 of these cameras outdoors for the past 4-5 years in these harsh winters. No issues. They always work and IP66 works really well in any temperatures. Works perfect in -40 and +40 temperatures.
Cons: FPS needs a little improvement.
Not much to improve otherwise.
I am running over my monthly data usage because of high data transfers :)
Other Thoughts: Advise: for technical people, these cameras can be installed without the cable management cords if all you need is POE. open the cap and remove the 2 little screws. The assembly slides off. You can disconnect all cables. Just run an ethernet cable and use the RJ45 connector to connect. Use some silicone or caulking to weather proof the smaller ethernet cable. Easy!
Reviewed By:Corry,7/8/2015 8:44:37 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > TENVIS Technology Co., Ltd. > TENVIS JPT3815W-HD P2P HD 720P Pan/Tilt Day/Night w/ IR Cut 2-Way Audio Wireless IP Camera

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not satisfied
Pros: Cheap, good night-vision
Cons: Poor motion sensor, bad customer service, out-dated software, incomplete software, bad instructions.
Other Thoughts: I bought this camera because the ratings were decent the price-point was low but that is what you get - low quality. The biggest issue is the motion sensor, you need to know when something is moving and this camera did not do well in this area. The motion sensor sent me hundreds of emails a day regardless of the settings and even when it was extra-sensitive the camera still somehow did not see me dancing in front of it. I reached out to the customer service by calling the number on their website, all I got was some sketchy voicemail from California. I would not trust this company or product with the security of my assets.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/6/2015 3:33:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > TENVIS Technology Co., Ltd. > TENVIS JPT3815W-HD P2P HD 720P Pan/Tilt Day/Night w/ IR Cut 2-Way Audio Wireless IP Camera

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Easy setup software makes it simple to install and configure the camera. Connect the camera to the wired network and install the software, the software locates and connections to the camera. It has three (3) video streams. Frame rate up to 30. Resolutions: 1280x720, 640x352 and 320x176. I tested 1280x720 in bright room light and IR off. The video was clear, but not sharp due to noise. Audio format: G711 and G726. The timing capture emailed time snap images to your email account. Beware that your inbox fills up quickly. It has motion detection (see con) and sound detection (see con). Changing light conditions (turn room light on/off) is fast, approximately 1/2 second. Changing light condition (light off) IR on takes approximately 1.5 seconds. You can turn IR light off, but don't expect any discernable image. You need IR for total darkness. Admin web interface supports English, Chinese and Korean menu; 50HZ/60HZ, screen resolutions 1280x720 and 640x352. It support inverted (for mounting upside down) and mirror images. Alarm supports emailing images and uploading to an FTP server. It supports DHCP, HTTP, RTSP, ONVIF, UPnP, P2P, 3rd party (ie. Dyn DNS) and built-in DDNS (Tenvis.org).
Cons: No continuous (automatic) panning. Manual panning has 5 laps maximum then stop. It supports
WiFi: It does not allow you to input SSID manually for non-broadcast SSID. You must unhide your network SSID in order to setup your WiFi connection.

Sound detection didn't work for me. First, I enabled sound detection with the default sensitivity
50/100. I sat next to the camera and clapped my hands loudly. The, I configured sound detection sensitivity to 0 and it didn't work.

Motion detection is limited by four small square zones. Each has its own sensitivity setting (0-100). Motion detection is *NOT* based on the entire viewing area. Unlike the sound detection, motion detection works sometimes. The limitation is 3 snap shots per alarm incident. I didn't know why but on multiple tests, when I walked out of the room the motion detection worked and captured my back. When I walked back into the room, the motion detection didn't work. It fell in the category of, motion detection works part of the time.

Active-X (M$-ie Plugin) installation requires a system reboot. The color was off intermittently.

When it switches IR on/off, it clicks loud enough to alert intruder of its presence.

Remote viewing mobile app requires a Tenvis account. You must login to Tenvis to access your camera. My HooToo camera is directly accessible.
Other Thoughts: I don’t know if I received a bad unit (see cons). But it's going back for two reasons: (a) defective or did not work as advertised (see con above) and (b) the spec said the model number was IPROBOT3. I researched the model and ordered based on “IPROBOT3” model. The IPROBOT3 has an SD slot.

It’s a bad experience. I should have paid attention to the reviews. To NewEgg’s credit, it’s easy return.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/1/2015 9:18:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > TENVIS Technology Co., Ltd. > TENVIS JPT3815W-HD P2P HD 720P Pan/Tilt Day/Night w/ IR Cut 2-Way Audio Wireless IP Camera

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great IP Cam so far...
Pros: I read the reviews and expected some issues. For the price I wanted to try it out. I install security video systems and wanted something new to play with at home since what I install is business class (way more money).

I've been using Firefox and have had NO issues at all with the web interface or functionality. The camera has been very easy to work with and control for the past 7 days.

I've had the camera for a week and I check my dogs from time to time for testing this out. Now I know my dogs don't have a secrete agenda when I'm gone.

It's worked great so far and super fast when moving the camera around using the phone app.

I think I've gotten a newer revision of this camera from other people in the reviews. My camera came with the latest firmware and I didn't have any issues others have had. The instructions were written well and in actual English language.

Make sure you Hard Wire the camera and not use Wireless unless you understand the limitations with wireless itself.
Cons: I installed their "NEW TENVIS" app and signed up for an account, but it wouldn't find camera.
I setup a LAN static IP on the camera and port forward 554 and 80 to the camera and then the Android app was able to find it. The instructions were nice, but did not mention having to port forward first. Maybe it was coincidence when it started working. Makes technical sense to open up ports first unless this camera is talking back home to them which would make me not want the camera. So this is a pro I guess, but technical if you don't like touching your home router.

I've used other Android camera apps like "tinyCAM Monitor" and it works with the camera too. I've read just about any ONVIF client should work. Onvif is your keyword and standard you should care about when getting any IP Cam.
Other Thoughts: Do not use wireless on this camera or any other IP camera. Wireless is high latency and not a guarantee. Anyone with I.T. experience should know this. Video and VoIP over wireless is a no no unless using some other proprietary technology and not 802.11g/n. Camera does not do 802.11ac.

If you are a consumer, then never trust wireless if you need security. Wire the camera with CAT5e/CAT6 and you'll have no issues.

I've tried the camera on wireless. It did work , but slow and not as responsive as wired of course. Works, but painful like any other wireless camera.

When the camera is hardwired to the network, it's fast and flawless. Even using the phone app over 3g cell service outside my house I can move the camera fast and picture is very smooth.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/1/2015 8:58:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > D-Link > D-Link DCS-5029L HD 720P Pan/Tilt Night Vision Motion Detection 2 Way Audio Wireless mydlink enabled Surveillance Cloud IP Camera

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Great on paper, junk in reality
Pros: The PTZ function works pretty well for a camera in this price range.
Cons: Very unstable network connection, drops frequently. The D-Link setup software is awful and rarely detects the camera. Ethernet is REQUIRED for setup, as well as D-Link software. Maybe it works okay if using the D-Link Cloud system, but if you don't plan on that then definitely look elsewhere for a more versatile, stable camera.

Rather flimsy construction, cheap plastic. I definitely see the PTZ breaking quickly, don't let a child touch this thing!
Other Thoughts: I once had it work for about 10 minutes, and the video was pretty bad - easily outperformed by even less expensive 720 cams.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/30/2015 12:13:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.