Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TV-IP651W Pan/Tilt, 640 x 480 Max Resolution RJ45 Wireless IP Camera

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 good so far, but som gotchas
Pros: Picture better than I expected. I have them facing to outdoors thru a window. Street light front shows good. Back of house with flood light is good as well. No it's not night vision, but I can see pretty well.
Software: just okay. Would be better if I could use my old camera with it that I moved to a different non key area, but only shows Trendnet models as available. (Software with other camera didn't work with Trendnet either. I think there's a conspiracy.) Software only allows for 180 degrees flip, which makes bracket a fail.
Bracket. Up or down, can't mount on side because software won't flip that way. Plus software not smart enough to modify pan/tilt controls if image is flipped.
Bracket also really only allows camera to be mounted one way.
So minus 1 for software
Minus 1 for bracket.
Cons: software okay, but needs more work
Brackets, no options, mount on bracket one way and mount on wall/celing
Other Thoughts: I'd buy another for the sale price, and already put an alert for that price.
Reviewed By:JK,11/24/2014 9:21:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TV-IP551WI 640 x 480 MAX Resolution RJ45 Wireless N Day/Night Internet Camera

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Camera failed after 5 months
Pros: -relatively inexpensive
Cons: -failed after only 5 months
Reviewed By:rfgenerator,11/24/2014 11:54:37 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > LaView USA > LaView Panda LV-PC902F2-W HD 1080P 2MP Day/Night w/PIR Detection, Motion, Built-in Micro SD Slot Wireless/PoE IP Camera

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: I have it connected to my home office which has a sliding door overlooking my backyard.
So far, It works really well for me to watch my pool guy and gardening while I am away.

I guess the camera is designed for indoor but nothing stop me from point it outdoor especially with such nice night vision.
From my research, most competitors have 20 ft night vision max and to my surprise, this one has over 30 according to their website.
I was expecting some kind of hidden monthly fee like other products but to my surprise, there isn't any.
In my opinion, 2MP is far more than enough for this camera is designed for.

I am planning to hook this up to my NAS during the holiday.
Cons: None so far
Reviewed By:Carlito,11/24/2014 10:40:22 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > D-Link > D-Link DCS-5029L HD 720P Pan/Tilt Night Vision Motion Detection 2 Way Audio Wireless mydlink enabled Surveillance Cloud IP Camera

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice Camera Day/Night
Pros: AR004301 - Excellent tech. support by Christopher. Nice Camera to own.
Cons: I wish it was a N speed rated.
Reviewed By:JP,11/23/2014 1:44:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TV-IP310PI (v1.0R) 10/100 Mbps PoE Rort Outdoor 3 MP HD Bullet Day/Night IP Camera

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 TrendNet TV-IP310PI Camera
Pros: Good picture resolution/quality for the $$. Needed a good outdoor IP PoE cam for mounting on the tower for a weather cam. Have it mounted at the 60' level on my 80' Rohn 55G Amateur Radio tower. Sending images to Weather Underground. Works thru rain, wind, etc with 0 issues. All I could ask for.
Cons: None so far.
Reviewed By:N/A,11/22/2014 9:37:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > D-Link > D-Link DCS-5029L HD 720P Pan/Tilt Night Vision Motion Detection 2 Way Audio Wireless mydlink enabled Surveillance Cloud IP Camera

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 DCS-5029L Support
Pros: I was having problems with the set up due to the wireless modem that I am using. I called D Link and a young lady names Aiko (PR004201) was the greatest. She was patient and extremely knowledgeable about the product. She spent a couple of hours with me which I am very grateful for. Great Job D-Link Support.
Cons: At this point I can't see any cons.
Other Thoughts: This appears to be a vg product with very good support if needed!
Reviewed By:One Kick,11/20/2014 10:40:45 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > D-Link > D-Link DCS-5029L HD 720P Pan/Tilt Night Vision Motion Detection 2 Way Audio Wireless mydlink enabled Surveillance Cloud IP Camera

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Firmware Update Resolved Some Issues
Pros: I have installed the 1.01.04 firmware update, which appears to address many of the issues noted in my original review.

In particular, the remote smartphone app now works correctly and you can pan and tilt the camera from the smartphone app--this is a significant improvement, as this ability to control the camera from a smartphone is a major selling point for this product.
Cons: Setup of the camera could still prove challenging to a non-technical purchaser, but with the latest firmware upgrade installed, I feel this is now a solid 4-star product.
Other Thoughts: I do like this product and it is good to see a company listening to their customers and addressing the issues that have been noted.
Manufacturer Response:We appreciate the feedback greatly and we are glad to hear that we were able to resolve the issues you were experiencing. As always, if you ever run into any issues, feel free to contact us for assistance by calling 1-877-453-5465. Thank you for being a D-Link customer.

Reviewed By:James P.,11/20/2014 6:14:18 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > Foscam > Foscam FI9821WBV2 CCTV/Analog Cameras

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Does not work
Pros: none
Cons: First camera I received recorded corrupt video files. I had bought this to catch neighbors vandalizing my car. When this happened again, I find out the recording of them doing this is useless. I file an RMA with Foscam and spend $30 to ship it back. They send me another camera that does not work at all. This $90 camera is now a $150 waste of money.
Reviewed By:N/A,11/19/2014 12:03:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > Toshiba > TOSHIBA IK-WB16A RJ45 Network Camera

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Junk by any other name
Pros: None?
Cons: As a certified Video Pro, I can assure you this camera is OLD technology. It may look like a good possibility but its not. the 2MP claim is deceptive, it's a 4:3 output. Color detection in even a minor light is lost, and it flips to B/W. Zoom was extremely poor and either the unit I got was bad or... The firmware is from 2010. Toshiba basically mass produced this and has so much left over they are still around.
There are too many 1080p 2MP cameras out there that are newer. Get one which declares ONVIF 2.04 or ONVIF S compatibility if you want to make it work with your Sec. VMS.
Reviewed By:Shumo,11/17/2014 4:50:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > D-Link > D-Link DCS-7010L 1280 x 800 MAX Resolution RJ45 Outdoor HD Cloud Camera 7100

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 EggXpert Review - D-Link DCS 7010
Pros: The mobile app (Android) worked wonderfully to view while away from the computer. You're limited to the screen size of your phone, however, but you still have the option to take a screenshot. Otherwise, since it's a cloud camera, you can access it from any internet-connected device. The mobile app supports two-way audio functions as well.

Great HD resolution is clear and precise.

Solid construction; This camera feels very, very sturdy. Even the metal mounting bracket is pretty thick. It's not just cheap plastic filled with electronics.

All mounting hardware is included, even drywall anchors if they are needed.

Motion detection with ability to take snapshots and send email alerts.

Night mode works well, and the 30ft estimate is about right; That's it though. Even at 30ft you can't tell a whole lot, but you can see movement.
Cons: There is an audio delay when using two-way communication, both to and from the unit. However, it is only a second or two, so it's not a terrible delay.

The night mode seems a little too sensitive, as it will activate even when there's plenty of light, taking it from the color day-mode to black and white night-mode. This can be seen as positive though, as you will always be able to see, even if it is in black and white.

Advanced options ONLY works properly in Internet Explorer. I tested using Firefox, Chrome, and Internet Explorer, and IE is the only one that is really usable.

I can't find the MicroSD card slot. No, seriously: WHERE IS IT? There's nothing in the instructions relating to SD card, and no visible slot on the camera itself OR on any of it's connections.

The included CAT 5 cable is laughably short, but at least the connections from the back of the camera are kind of long.
Other Thoughts: One thing is for sure, you will need a proffessional to install this for you if you lack the skills and knowledge to do so yourself, especially if you plan on using it outside and there isn't an existing camera location. The camera is weatherproof, but it still needs power and a network connection, which need to be in a dry location.

You can designate motion-detection areas as well as schedule times for it to monitor those areas for movement, from there it can take a snapshot automatically and send you an email alert so you can monitor the situation, if you so choose.

There are two methods for viewing online from PC; One is the basic, easy to use cloud stream that the mobile app shares the functionality of, including taking snapshots and using 2-way communication. Then there's the advanced options, which requires you to log in as an admin with the password you set up. This allows many fine-tuning options and scheduling for motion detection and events such as email alerts.

I can't verify if this camera stops working in very cold conditions, as where I live it never gets too cold, maybe a few days below freezing in the heart of winter, but that's usually it.

This is still a great outdoor surveillance camera that offers outstanding picture quality, but I suppose you should be wary if you live in an area that gets very cold during the winter and plan on using it outdoors.
Reviewed By:Chessie T.,11/15/2014 8:02:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.