Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TV-IP751WC 640 x 480 MAX Resolution RJ45 Wireless Cloud Camera

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 No warranty with TrendNet
Pros: camera fails
Cons: camera fails consistently
Other Thoughts: I purchased the above item on April 26 2014. The manufacturer's website has said this device has a warranty for 3 years. The model has been discontinued, and apparently so has the warranty according to the people at Trendnet who I spoke with today.

I have a case number in which I had tech support last night spending over an hour re-setting the device, changing ethernet cables, connecting/disconnecting the device to my PC/router/switch numerous times to no avail.

I will never purchase a Trendnet device again as they don't honor their warranty. Buyer beware!!!
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/5/2016 10:14:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > D-Link > D-Link DCS-5009L Pan / Tilt Day / Night Motion Detection Wireless Cloud IP Camera

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Does not work as advertised - DO NOT BUY!
Pros: - Price & quality of images
- interface for viewing multiple cameras both in-network and remotely
Cons: - neither camera will connect to the wireless network (which oddly requires a wired connection during setup & then disconnecting & a reboot after setup - the camera sees the network during setup but won't connect wirelessly) When I contacted tech support and told them that I had followed the directions in the manual for both automatic and manual configuration and neither worked they sent a reply which was only the same instructions in the manual - useless! The cameras I have from other companies - both Linksys & Airlink - connect easily without requiring a wired connection; as do all other wireless devices I have purchased in the past.
- One camera suddenly stopped sending the snapshots; I hear it click when triggered by motion, but the pictures never arrive; checked settings & they're still correct.
Other Thoughts: Would not recommend purchase & I would never buy this camera again.
Reviewed By:DAVID L.,2/4/2016 11:18:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > TP-LINK > TP-LINK NC200 Motion Detection Built-in Microphone Wireless Cloud IP Camera

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 A Good Place To Start
Pros: The best thing about the camera is the price. It's very inexpensive for what you get. A good entry level piece of home security equipment.
If you've ever wanted a home surveillance system, but can't justify the price, then this is a great place to start.
There are multiple ways to use this camera. There are apps for iOS and Android, which work well and are easy to use. There is a browser viewing mode that works with Safari, Mozilla, Firefox and Internet Explorer. Now there is also software you can download from the TP Link Cloud website.
The browser based viewer is the one that allows you to set up some of the more advanced features. If you can't, or won't, use one of the compatible browsers then you can't use those features. The app and software don't offer access to the advanced features at this time.
Your camera can connect to your network via Ethernet or wirelessly.
The first time you open the TP Link Cloud software or app it will let your create a user account that binds your camera to your account. So you will be able to gain access to the camera away from your home network.
Once your camera is configured you can set up the advanced features. You can connect multiple cameras together simultaneously. In the camera viewer software, you can flip through each cameras feed one by one or select a grid to view them all on a single screen.
You can record video or take still pictures. The app or program will create a folder where you can find your recordings and stills.
This camera and its recordings support stereo sound.
In the TP Link Cloud browser based viewer, you can configure this cameras most interesting features. There is an option where you can set specifically when, according to what days and hours, you want your camera to be on and recording.
While the camera is on, you can setup the motion detection option. Which is pretty nice. If you enable this feature, when the camera senses any significant motion, it will take a still image and automatically email a copy to you or it will send a copy to any other type of FTP (File Transfer Protocol) source or data cloud. At which point you can decide to ignore the possible threat or to access the live feed and investigate further.
This camera also has the ability to act as a range extender for your wi-fi. With a potential maximum bandwidth of 300 Mb/sec.
Mounting this camera is easy. The camera comes with some double sided tape, cut to follow the contour on the bottom of the cameras base. The base lets you to swivel the camera, allowing you to mount it in virtually position.
The way the camera gets power is via a standard DC power adapter. The cord length is average, but they also provide you with a few extra feet extension cable you can connect in line with the original power cable.
Cons: TP Link Clouds browser viewing site is not compatible with Microsoft Edge or Chrome.
Because of this, anyone using these browsers won't be able to use the motion detection feature. That feature isn't supported by the TP Link Cloud app or the Cloud program for Windows either.
Video quality is poor. This camera supports a maximum resolution of 480P or 640x480. Which is the same resolution of the older type of standard tube style TV. Although, you can't really expect high definition for this price.
Due to the poor quality of the recordings, it's difficult to identify people and things that aren't within 10 feet of the camera. It would be even more difficult to ID someone you weren't familiar with.
There is a bit of lag from the camera to the viewer, even on the same network. Not really much of a problem or unexpected.
This camera records at 20 frames per second. At 20 fps, the video stream is a bit laggy. It's not horrible, but far from ideal. Most movies play back at 24 fps. But as most people can tell, scenes in movies where there is a lot of movement can create a blurring effect where it's difficult to clearly see what's on the screen. Which is why most decent TVs will have some kind of anti-blur, motion enhancing feature or a higher refresh rate. The lower the frame rate, the worse the clarity of the image will be when there is movement.
Sound quality from the cameras microphone is mediocre at best. But it's not difficult to determine what people are saying if they're close enough.
Does not support power over Ethernet
This camera isn't meant to be kept outdoors where it will be vulnerable to the weather.
Other Thoughts: At first, I wasn't able to do anything with this camera. The TP Link Cloud websites camera viewer doesn't work with Microsoft Edge or Chrome, the only two browsers I have on my Windows 10 PC. There is compatibility for iOS and Android devices, but for iOS it required iOS 7 or newer. My iPod and iPad are older models and don't support the latest iOS versions. I don't know much about Android. So I borrowed my daughters iPad and downloaded the app, which did work. Then eventually TP Link released software, which you can download from the TP Link Cloud website, that works with this camera.
What was really confusing was the instruction manual that came with the camera showed this software in the instructions before they ever released it for the public. Which really had me irritated, as I was searching for it everywhere and it didn't even exist yet. Clearly other people without access to a smartphone or tablet weren't able to use it either, according to the other reviews I've read.
If you're searching for an inexpensive way to start learning the basics of home surveillance, then this is a good starting point. However, if you have a serious need for security, and you like this option. I recommend getting one of the high end versions of this camera that supports higher resolutions. This line of cameras simplicity and features make it an excellent option for the average person.
This is the base model in this series. It's good for keeping an eye on something while you're away from home or as a start in the field of home security. If someone is creeping around your property, this camera will detect it and send you an email. Which is a really cool feature. But due to the poor image quality, you may not be able to identify the creeper. If that's important to you, buy the better version of this camera. Or at the very least, you can buy this one for a minor investment and get acquainted with the functions and abilities of this type of camera. If you like it, fine, keep it. If not, you can either upgrade or find something that fits your situation better. Either way, you didn't risk much and I'm certain there's someplace you can use this device.
Reviewed By:David K.,2/4/2016 5:49:53 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > TP-LINK > TP-LINK NC200 Motion Detection Built-in Microphone Wireless Cloud IP Camera

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Support for 3rd-party players and Linux is weak
Pros: It's lightweight and can easily be mounted on a wall.
Cons: The Linux support is pretty bad. Motion detection from the camera is a no-go, and you'll have to use a 3rd-party program to handle that (motion is recommended).

There is no combined video and audio stream from the camera, and documentation on how to even access the camera's video/audio streams is lacking (more info in Other).
Other Thoughts: The audio and video stream URLs are separate. This on the one hand could lead to more flexibility, but also offering a combined option would have been nice.

In order to access the camera stream, you need the username and base64-encoded password. Standard username is "admin", and default non-base64-encoded password is "admin". The base64-encode of "admin" is "YWRtaW4=".

The URL format is http://USER:PASS@IP:PORT/stream/getSOURCE with USER being the normal username (admin), PASS being the base64-encoded password (YWRtaW4=), IP being the IP of the camera, PORT being the HTTP port of the camera (8080), and SOURCE being the stream you want (getaudio or getvideo; audio and video respectively).

So with that in-mind, here is the URL to stream MJPEG video from the camera with the default admin user/pass with an IP of 192.168.1.157 on your LAN: http://admin:YWRtaW4=@192.168.1.157:8080/stream/getvideo (change getvideo to getaudio for audio). This URL can be put into a browser capable of MJPEG video playback, and media players too (confirmed with mpv and VLC). Note, you will want to use no cache for media players for best results.

Finding that information was done through internet searching, compiling other user results, and testing of my own. There was no clear indication of any of this from TP-LINK.
Reviewed By:Sean R.,2/2/2016 7:20:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > TP-LINK > TP-LINK NC200 Motion Detection Built-in Microphone Wireless Cloud IP Camera

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Nightmare! No Chrome, No Android, No IE10. Just burn your cash and save the frustration!!!!
Pros: Can't think of one, except it looks good
Cons: Not enough space.

Went thru all the setup, finally got the green light on the camera, the cloud account and black Live View on computer as Android app did not work

Called Tech support, and they said Android app not functioning now, will be eventually fixed but no ETA.

Tried rebooting machine, restarting IE10, and camera did not work in IE10.

Called TS - they suggested Chrome and Firefox. Chrome did not work. Fired up Firefox (older version 42, now 43.1 and restart and camera is working still). On this call the young lady said she would email instructions for Chrome, and she hoped for Android and the Fire (not HD).

I am not holding my breath, and I am red in the face because I bought this piece of trash for $20 and read reviews that looked positive, stated it worked with Android, IE and Firefox. Now I have spent the day with it and it won't work on my pad, WHICH IS THE ENTIRE REASON I BOUGHT IT.

TPLink has not yet lost a customer, but they are right on the edge if this does not work out.

And New Egg customers, please review if the product does not work as advertised for you.
Other Thoughts: Would not Recommend. Apparently can't give a 0 egg or minus 5 eggs.

Will be hitting the scotch, and perhaps the camera with the empty bottle

Followup - Managed to get working on Firefox after about a week of messing around with it. Now another week or two down the road and even Firefox no longer works.

Unfortunately past the return period so I will chalk it's cost up to experience and avoid TP Link in the future.
Reviewed By:Ray S.,2/1/2016 7:31:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > TP-LINK > TP-LINK NC200 Motion Detection Built-in Microphone Wireless Cloud IP Camera

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Mediocre IP Camera. You get what you pay for.
Pros: The ONLY pro I have for this item was that it was fairly easy to setup.
Cons: - Image quality is similar to that of a camera found on a burner flip cell phone. It's night good enough to use for evidence of anything.
- Video quality is also pretty bad. No details are discernible from objects just a few feet away from the camera.
- Audio quality is poor. Any audio it captures is choppy and volume low. For a sound to be audible and understandable, it would have to be made right in front of the camera's microphone.
Other Thoughts: Installation was pretty easy. Plugged it into my router with an ethernet cable, powered it on, installed TP-Link's software (downloaded latest version from their website) and ran through the wizard to connect it to my wifi network. After a connection was established to my wifi network, I unplugged it from my router and placed it where I wanted it (within reach of a power outlet).

That's the only "good" part of this camera though. Everything else was pretty bad. I wouldn't recommend this camera to anyone looking for a lower-priced IP camera.
Reviewed By:MICHAEL T.,1/31/2016 10:55:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > TP-LINK > TP-LINK NC200 Motion Detection Built-in Microphone Wireless Cloud IP Camera

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome budget camera
Pros: The TP-Link NC200 seems to be the perfect budget camera. It does SD (Not HD) or LD (which is a lower form of SD for resolution. Its response time is great over the WIFI considering the low price range of the camera.

Setup was extremely easy, I was able to get it running in about 5 minutes simply because the camera had two firmware updates. If it wasn’t for the updates it would have been up and running within 2 minutes.

Software, (Android version) is extremely easy to use. The interface is very simple with the standard icon for settings next to the picture you are viewing. It supports multiple cameras in the home and lets you record or take pictures instantly.

Website, they do have a TP-Link Cloud website so you can use your camera through that. (Look at Cons)
Cons: Camera only works on 2.4GHz WiFi. This may not necessarily be a bad thing since 2.4GHz goes out further than 5.0Ghz. The problem is this device is supposed to be a WiFi extender so if you support both bands in your home and want to extended your 5.0GHz you will need something else.

When entering the TP-Link Cloud website, using Microsoft Edge, it told me my browser was not compatible and needed to use Internet Explorer. I switched browsers and then it tried to install a program so that I could use the camera through the browser. Unfortunately it would not install under Windows 10 and would continuously crash when starting the installation.
Other Thoughts: For the price range of this camera it is perfect. I have a few things in the “Con” section but honestly it is mainly (Cloud portion) a software issue which I am sure they will fix in the near future.

From previous camera tests WiFi extender is just a sale pitch and I never recommend anyone using their camera device to extend their WiFi network. In fact, I would always recommend you shut that option off. Even though this camera advertises a WiFi extender I honestly think it’s not a big deal that I could not find any settings to control it (weather to turn it off or on).
Reviewed By:David M.,1/31/2016 6:38:35 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > D-Link > D-Link DCS-2332L Outdoor Wireless Cloud IP Camera, 720P HD, Night Vision, Video Storage with microSD slot

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Simple to use; Clear image; Maybe not for Fort Knox
Pros: Let's start with the superficial: it's a nice looking device. Not that it necessarily blends in, but it doesn't draw a lot of attention either.

This device is ready for the outdoors. With an IP65 rated casing it can handle anything but the extremes (and maybe even some of those) of dust, rain, hot and cold temperatures.

It was very easy to setup - you don't have to connect the Ethernet cord. I connected the wireless antennae, plugged in the device, pushed WPS on the camera, then pushed WPS on my router (for security reasons I turn WPS off when I don't need it), and everything just worked. I love it when the things that should be easy actually are easy. From there I download a program from dlink's website, as instructed in the materials that came with the camera. This program found my device and walked me through setting it up. Viewing the camera feed from dlink's website requires a browser plugin. I try not to overload my system with plugins but this seemed reasonable.

At this point new firmware was detected and I allowed the update to be applied bringing me to version 1.07.00. All of this without ever plugging in an ether net cable.

This camera is feature rich. It's got day and night time vision. The day vision is great, showing up to 720p. The night vision isn't stellar but it's acceptable especially up to about 20 feet.

You can setup motion detection and notification, schedule when it's active, choose whether to save notifications to a local SD card (not provided), email images, record video, store on a network drive.

You can setup privacy masks, for if you want to share the camera feed with others but don't want everything to be visible I suppose.

It supports Dynamic DNS, HTTPS, IP access lists, and SNMP.

And Dlink has apps you can use for iPhone, Android, and even Windows Phone. I really appreciate the addition of Windows Phone apps as I typically use one as my primary device. The app may not be as feature rich (I saw a complaint about an iPhone feature not working that is not in the WP app), but the fact that WP is supported and that I can open the app to see what the camera sees is a huge win in my book. I don't need admin features in the app, I can do that from a web site.
Cons: The day after I setup this camera I left town for 5 days. The second day, the connection was lost to the camera and it never came back. I haven't had that problem since, though I have had intermittent outages. So I can't really say if it's the camera's fault, or maybe something that happened at my router or even with my ISP.

I setup the motion notifications and it worked well during the day, but at night it sent me constant motion detection notifications. It has a sensitivity setting and you can select certain areas to be excluded from the monitoring, but I never quite got it to work the way I wanted it to.
Other Thoughts: Given the two cons I had, I might be hesitant to use this device as my primary security device in a remote area (or some place a don't visit on a semi-regular basis). Other than that it's a great little day/night IP camera with an IP65 outdoor raging. What's not to like.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/30/2016 6:40:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > D-Link > D-Link DCS-960L HD 720P 180-Degree Ultra-Wide View Day/Night Wi-Fi IP Security Camera

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Camera!
Pros: Nice wide angle, not distorted.
Clear picture.
Technical support was EXCELLENT when I called them!
Cons: Not realy a Con, but wish the camera was available in White also.
None so far.
Other Thoughts: I've had this camera in use for a couple of days and am very happy with it. The picture is clear and you can zoom in the picture on your iphone (can't speek for android devices). I have this camera and 2 others connected to a D-Link DNR-202L - all work perfectly and I can remote in to view the cameras any time I want to. I like the "notification" feature the camera has. You can set the camera to text and email you when it detects sounds or motion. I did have an issue while installing the camera, the Firmware update failed and I could not get the camera to work - GREAT I thought to myself...now I have to contact Tech Support and that is not normally a pleasant experience. Well, I called and got Misha (Case #C6803515) and she was awesome! Very patient with me as I am not the smartest when it comes to computers. It did take some time, but I didn't mind because in the end, my camera was reset and working like a charm. I am very happy with D-Links products and their Customer/Technical Support!!
Reviewed By:Malcolm G.,1/30/2016 10:38:08 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > D-Link > D-Link DCS-2330L Outdoor HD 720P Wireless Day&Night Cloud IP Camera

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Frustrating, especailly at the price
Pros: Decent picture, sound works with iphone app.
Cons: Set-up was awful. D-link app took many tries each time to find the camera. Almost as if there was no communication between the firmware team and the software team.
When it finally found the camera (just keep hitting scan until it does!) then the program made awful choices including resetting my internet connection. Why? Setup was 90 minutes, where a cheap foscam took 5 minutes. The "security software" which was optional, also decided to shut off UAC and make a registry hack which did NOT reverse itself by uninstalling.
Using the software on the camera itself via http, it a very familiar dlink interface. But nothing like the app and all many terms are called different things. Confusing and irritating.
Finally, the promised smartthings integration did not work. I presume that a firmware update broke it and no one went back and tested it. Who knows? But since that was a selling point for me, I got fed up and boxed it back up.
Other Thoughts: I know it seems obvious, but it is an outdoor camera, but you need to power it. So you need an outlet to use it.
Reviewed By:Raymond E.,1/29/2016 6:11:17 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.