Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > D-Link > D-Link DCS-820L Night Vision, Motion & Sound Detection, 2 Way Audio Wi-Fi Baby Camera

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Baby Cam/Decent Camera
Pros: Ease of use
Two Way Audio
Notifications (sound and movement)
Seamless integration
NightVision
MicroSD recording
Cons: Audio/Video Lag/Not realtime
Other Thoughts: I thought the setup was great on this device. There were some minor issues, but overall setup was less than 3 minutes total. To me, while it may not be 5 seconds, it's definitely acceptable to setup a remote camera/baby monitor.

The audio lag was anywhere from 10-30 seconds of lag, which is difficult for carrying a conversation (attempted w/ my older children), but not impossible for watching a child or giving some consolation for a midnight checkup.

The notifications where very cool, I was able to setup the camera while we went on vacation and have reassurance that we did not have any issues in the house while gone. My existing camera will record video when movement is sensed, however, I have to wait until I get home to see it. With this camera I received notifications of any audio or video anomaly while away from home.

The video quality was not HD by far, but was sufficient to know who I was looking at in my family, also was sufficient to see perfect quality in nightvision from across a 25 ft span.

When it was said & done I was able to see everything I needed...but it was not realtime 1:1 for video or audio. The audio and video delay made for a difficult conversation piece (me talking to the family while at work...another plus, as I dont need to access my VPN to see my server shares, I just use the DLINK app...)

Overall, if you are looking for a baby monitoring system, this device worked flawlessly. If you are expecting more, it's a great device, if not perfect.
Reviewed By:str8moben,8/18/2014 8:01:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > D-Link > D-Link DCS-820L Night Vision, Motion & Sound Detection, 2 Way Audio Wi-Fi Baby Camera

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Camera works well, setup was a pain
Pros: - Camera quality is great for non-hd
- Audio was decent enough
- Construction was sturdy
- Night vision was very clear
Cons: - Setup was terrible. Seriously, more below.
- The manual focus was difficult to move. Also, manual focus on a camera of this price is kind of odd.
- It's really, really big. Like the size of a softball.
- Non HD, so while it is great at its native resolution, you lose quality extremely fast.
Other Thoughts: Setup on this seemed to be the culmination of terrible ideas. I was pigeonholed into using the app, which I immediately knew was going to be a terrible idea. While setting up the camera you have to drop wifi, join an adhoc network with the camera, configure everything, then hope the app doesn't crash or any number of other issues and rejoin both the camera and the phone to your regular wifi. This is after you have to hold a reset button on the camera.

I had a dlink previously and it had a wps button I tapped and the whole thing was set up in under 5 seconds. Why is something that is more than 5 times the price far more complicated?

Once I got the camera actually running it was a bit better, but I had to fight with the app every step of the way, it's slow and feels dated.

Apart from the setup woes everything was satisfactory. I wasn't blown away like I was by offerings from companies such as dropcam, which is surprising considering how close they are in price.

I still gave the product 4 eggs. My reason being that if you purchase this, it will perform its advertised functions. You are oging to have to put some effort into getting those functions to work, but after you do I feel it fills its role quite well. The quality was good, the audio was decent, the night vision was fine, and the construction was pretty solid.
Reviewed By:BSprite,8/18/2014 8:29:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > Zmodo > Zmodo ZP-IBH13-W RJ45 HD 720P Day/Night Outdoor Wireless IP Camera with QR Code Smartphone Setup

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Disappointing product
Pros: Good quality image.
Night vision image quality is good.
Camera casing seems robust.
Cons: No ftp support for this device.
Requires Internet Explorer (ActiveX) to configure or install ZViewer (Windows), no OS X support.
Built-in motion detection is not consistent, however, most of the time it works.
Documentation is scarce and out of date on the website, there is no software or firmware updates for this device. Support information mainly comes from Zmodo forums. There is almost no knowledge base article on their support site; ZP-IBH13-W doesn't even exist.
Device runs a little hot.
Has trouble connecting with certain Wifi routers, while other routers work perfectly.
Other Thoughts: Would not recommend product. Disappointed with product.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you for your feedback and support of Zmodo products and service. Our support team is currently working on expanding the knowledgebase to cover all of our newer items. Currently on our knowledgebase, http://kb.zmodo.com/index.php?action=show&cat=22, we have this article that closely relates to this product that can be useful for the time being.

Connecting to the router depends on if UPnP is enabled, so the camera can port forward itself or not. If it doesn't do it automatically, it would need to be done manually.

For further assistance we would like to work with you directly. Our support hours are Monday through Friday 8am to 8pm CST, at 866-551-6881 or by email at newegg-support@zmodo.com.

Best Regards,
Zmodo Sales and Support

Reviewed By:N/A,8/17/2014 9:14:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > D-Link > 2-PACK D-Link Wireless-N Network Surveillance Camera W/ iPhone Viewing DCS-930L

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Cameras
Pros: Just a fore note, I purchased these about a month ago but I purchased another model about a year ago.

Great cameras, they have decent quality, work well over wifi, and can remotely access them. Lots of features:

FTP upload
Motion Capture
Remote Management
Using the D-ViewCam software you can add more cameras and view at once.
Cons: Not really any cons for the product at this price range, however the D-Viewcam software is WAY outdated and says you need IE6 to use the web interface. (Use IE 11 and force compatibility mode on it.) If they were to update the software and make the Admin UI look better I honestly would have no cons.
Reviewed By:HAL,8/15/2014 9:23:28 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > D-Link > D-Link DCS-930L Cloud Wireless IP Camera, 640x480 Resolution, mydlink enabled

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works Now
Pros: This is the updated review. I did what the D-Link rep told me to do and now it is working. Picture is good. I set it up using the user manual.
Cons: I had to wait a month to get a decent response on what to do to fix my problem. It takes the D-Link rep email over a week to get back to me. I had already tried resetting it but it didn't work before.
Manufacturer Response:We want to thank you for the review and are glad to hear that we were able to resolve your issues. For future reference we suggest that you contact our technical support team for assistance by calling 1-877-453-5465. Thank you for being a D-Link customer.

Reviewed By:ShoppingMom,8/14/2014 2:16:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > Foscam > Foscam FI9821WBV2 CCTV/Analog Cameras

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works well, easy setup - annoying firmware
Pros: - Easy setup if you understand home networking
--- I did not try setting it up with the Wizard, I configured it manually
- Good resolution
- Wide variety of viewing options (Android/iPhone, web browser)
- Good performance
- Fairly responsive even under less than ideal connectivity
Cons: - Firmware is extremely annoying to set-up. Requires you to step through each firmware version to get to the next. Almost all versions of firmware have two separate files that must be loaded in the proper order. This is unacceptable. In these days of firmware upgrades, I've not run into one this complicated or annoying in probably 15 years. I removed one egg for this, although I considered removing two, it is that annoying.
- Limited password length
- IR LED defaults on - be sure to turn it off
Other Thoughts: Overall I've been fairly happy with this device. I know some of my initial concerns with it were cleared up with firmware upgrades, however getting the firmware upgraded properly was far more confusing than it should be. Having multiple files to upgrade firmware that must be run consecutively is not acceptable. In addition, requiring each firmware upgrade to require the previous firmware version is definitely short-sighted. The newer firmware should be upgradeable over all previous versions. Finally, getting the firmware requires registration on the site. I'd be far happier with this camera if the firmware acquisition and upgrade process was less annoying.
Reviewed By:Terio,8/14/2014 8:17:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TV-IP310PI (v1.0R) 10/100 Mbps PoE Rort Outdoor 3 MP HD Bullet Day/Night IP Camera

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Difficult to set up but reward is great
Pros: When I figured out how these worked, setting up several was a breeze, I have yet to try their recording software but so far the video is uninterrupted and clear. It also covered a lot more than I expected. An employee also dropped a camera and it didn't break. iPhone app works great!
Cons: Their CD does not work. Their manuals weren't so helpful either. The Computer Software still has me scratching my head.
Other Thoughts: How I made mine work:
1. Plug in Camera
2. Find the Camera's IP though router's DHCP table
3. Type Camera IP with port in web browser.
4. Look through Manual for login info
5. Change settings to my liking
Reviewed By:Frank,8/13/2014 12:41:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > D-Link > D-Link DCS-930L Cloud Wireless IP Camera, 640x480 Resolution, mydlink enabled

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Only Certain Features Work
Pros: Looks nice, you can actually view it through the DLink app on a mobile phone whenever you want.
Cons: The motion detection is bugged. At first i was getting tons of emails but no pics. Then it stopped working. It keeps saying the PW is wrong but it isn't. I am working with Support but still no results. I will probably send it back.
Manufacturer Response:We want to thank you for the feedback as we greatly appreciate the input and we are sorry to hear you are experiencing issues with the product. D-Link suggests that you factory reset the camera (by pressing the reset button with a paper clip for 10 seconds) and make sure you have downloaded and installed the latest firmware from www.support.dlink.com. If that does not resolve your problem feel free to contact our technical support team for assistance by calling 1-877-453-5465. Thank you for choosing D-Link.

Reviewed By:ShoppingMom,8/12/2014 1:41:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG SNH-P6410BN Full HD 1080P Day & Night WDR 2 Way Audio Wireless IP Camera

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Not what I expected.
Pros: Easy to set up. Love having the app.
Cons: The if the wifi signal isn't strong, it doesn't pick it up. Not good. Defeats the purpose of having a wirless IP camera.
Other Thoughts: I was going to look at a drop cam next. I will leave this cam in my man cave since the wifi signal is stronger there.
Reviewed By:edeeeeee,8/12/2014 1:11:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > D-Link > D-Link DCS-942L Cloud Wireless IP Camera, 640x480 Resolution, Night Vision, Video Storage with microSD slot, mydlink enabled

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Good Value, Average Camera
Pros: Small profile, built in Wireless N, 30 fps recording, decent software bundle, somewhat easy setup (when it works), option to wire the camera with ethernet, very low power consumption, wall mounting kit included, pretty long power cable, very low price (at least he sale price), average night vision (useful to 10 feet, no more, indoor only, very low FPS)
Cons: Included software doesn't do enough, IR vision is weak (at best), field of view is extremely narrow, sensor is extremely susceptible to light changes (triggers motion with most software), camera occasionally shuts itself down or stops transmitting, IR is useless behind glass, built in microphone is extremely low end, WPS setup does not work, default web interface is clunky (at best), defaults IP to 192.168.0.* regardless of what DHCP sets the camera to (can force resets if setting static IP's)
Other Thoughts: I had very high hopes for this little camera, but I found the bundled software to be extremely lacking. I ended up pairing the camera with iSpy (great open-source, free software that's fully compatible with this camera, and thousands of others) and found that the sensor on this camera is extremely flaky and often picks up subtle light level changes as full scene changes and that triggers alerts and motion detection within the iSpy. The WPS function didn't work at all with my top of the line NetGear router. The "wizard" config is nice, but there's no way to set a static IP without logging into the device and then it defaults to a subnet very few people are on which can cause all sorts of problems. I've found the camera will stop transmitting or shut down when it goes from night to day mode (even with IR disabled). I find myself having the restart it multiple times per week. This camera is not good for outdoor use, at all - even from inside. The field of view is extremely narrow and the sensor is really made for indoor use. Sticking a couple of these around the house to watch things indoors is great, but beyond that this is an extremely limited use camera and the software provided by DLink is extremely lacking.
Reviewed By:Lance W.,8/12/2014 8:49:41 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau