Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > Netgear Inc. > Netgear Arlo Q - 1080p HD Wi-Fi Security Camera with 2 Way Audio & 7 Days of FREE Cloud Recordings - VMC3040-100NAS

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Great for Casuals, however, it is not a security camera ...
Pros: Extremely easy to setup if you do not have an existing netgear account. Arlo only changed the name of “netgear” to “arlo”. Thus the need for a netgear account.

The motion detector works great.

The picture is very sharp.

Night vision isn’t the best, but it’ll do in a pinch.
Cons: If you have a netgear account, you must reset the password in order to register the camera. This is not in any instruction manual.

10 second delay, but that’s to be expected, even on a gig network.

I don’t think there’s a recent microphone in the camera. It really doesn’t pick up anything …

No API at all. Meaning, this is a closed ecosystem.

No option to view camera locally or even store locally directly from camera.

There are no 2-way communication with Arlo Q.

TOS / Privacy Policy has no place in the modern world. Your data is your data, Netgear has no right to sell or give it away to anyone. If you Agree to the policy, you don’t own your data.

This is extremely over priced for a casual web cam. Let’s face it, that is all it is.
Other Thoughts: This is an indoors only camera, it is not meant to be outdoors in any way, shape, or form. This is not a con, it is only something to be aware of.

The target audience of the camera are for those who are curious as to what goes on inside the house. I cannot think of a reason how it can be used for security as it is a closed system.

When you register, you are required to pick a plan, Ranging from free to $15 a month. This makes sense when storing data on Arlo’s servers… but, you should be able to store locally.

After you pick the above plan, you are presented with a secondary plan. Yes, they want you to pay twice. CVR, a brand new (netgear-only) acronym in the security camera world that stands for “continuous recording”. … … … Yeah .. $20 per month, per camera. Thankfully you can skip this cash grab plan option.
Reviewed By:Mr S.,5/27/2016 10:10:36 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > Amcrest > Amcrest IP2M-841B ProHD 1080P WiFi Video Monitoring Security Wireless IP Camera with Pan/Tilt, Two-Way Audio, Plug & Play Setup, Optional Cloud Recording, Full HD 1080P (1920TVL) @ 30FPS - Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Surprisingly easy setup
Pros: I was a little concerned when I went to set this up today...when I went to download the app the reviews were not good. I am happy to say that in less than 15 minutes I was able to get this up and running. Believe me when I say that I can get by but I am far from "Tech Savvy".
This will be my extra set of eyes to check on a baby I care for when he is in the bedroom napping and also can very simply unplug it and move it into the Great Room and I will be able while I am away to remotely move it to keep an eye on my cats, now 17 & 19 years old. I think I will really enjoy having this.
The picture that comes thru on my phone is very clear and something that I just found out is that even though the bedroom that it is in right now is completely dark I have a crystal clear picture coming thru in black & white so it is also equipped with night vision,
The remote pan/tilt/zoom in & out features works well also.
I am so looking forward to having fun with this and spying on my cats.
When reviewing products it doesn't matter if I received it free, at a discounted price or if I paid full price, I give it an honest review, if I don't like something I post it, good or bad, so I hope this helps anyone who is sitting on the fence wondering if they should try something.
Thanks for reading
Cons: I have no negative comments about this Amcrest Wireless Security Camera
Other Thoughts: I have showed many friends and family members how amazing this is and not only can this be fun to use it is also a way to keep an eye on your home when you are away.
Reviewed By:mary c.,5/26/2016 11:40:48 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > Netgear Inc. > Netgear Arlo Q - 1080p HD Wi-Fi Security Camera with 2 Way Audio & 7 Days of FREE Cloud Recordings - VMC3040-100NAS

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Needs a companion local storage device to be a real winner
Pros: 2.4 and 5GHz WiFi support
Motion detection
Sound detection
2-way communication (see cons)
Good night vision
IFTTT compatible
Cons: Requires Internet connection
Inconsistent motion detection
App crashes randomly
App crashes when trying to speak through camera from app
Limited to 1 gig online storage with free subscription
No constant recording with free subscription
2-way communication difficult due to latency
No local storage option
Other Thoughts: Initial setup was a pain. It has you enter wireless credentials and then generates a QR code that you must place in front of the camera. I could not get it to read the code from my Samsung Galaxy S4 after a dozen attempts. I switched to my desktop PC and went to arlo.netgear.com and it read the code fine.

You must also agree to a ToS and Privacy Policy during setup where you feel like you're signing your life away to use a piece of technology that you own. If you could handle video storage locally, I doubt this would be necessary. In the Privacy Policy I read "We may share information with third parties." in bold. Yikes.

After setting the camera up on my PC, I signed into the mobile app and my PC was automatically logged out.

It takes a good 10 to 15 seconds to start a live view. The app crashed seconds into my first viewing session when I tried speaking through the camera. I have yet to get this to work correctly. After playing around some more, it crashed again when I tapped on what turned out to be an icon for the timeline feature, which requires adding a CVR plan.

I was able to easily add a second user and grant administrative permissions to the camera.

In the camera settings, I noticed that it was set to 720p by default. I was able to change it to 1080p.

Videos seem to be easily managed in the Library tab of the app.

At 1080p, I've observed the camera using up to almost 12 Mbps in a fixed location in my garage as measured by my DD-WRT enabled router. A still image with background noise is between 1 and 2.5 Mbps, still image with more noise is closer to 5 Mbps, and opening the garage door spikes it to the highest reading I've seen yet. I'm sure it would use more bandwidth still with more motion than just the door opening and closing. It uses almost no bandwidth when there is no recording or live view happening. The figures I recorded are vastly different from Netgear's claimed max bandwidth of 1500 kbps. Maybe soemone forgot a 0.

I'm personally getting a little tired of companies peddling expensive products like this and then nickel and diming customers with monthly fees. The plans seem way overpriced for what's offered. I would much prefer local storage and control with optional cloud backup, but I can see the value some people may place on letting someone else handle the storage despite the tradeoffs.

Motion detection seems to work well for me in testing in the kitchen, but not in my garage. I was able to catch cats jumping onto the counters and found optimal placement for deterrents. I mounted it in the garage next and linked it through IFTTT to my Wink hub to turn on the lights when motion is detected. There is a delay of about 10 - 40 seconds. Sometimes it won't fire at all and I can't yet determine if it's an Arlo or IFTTT issue. I'd like to see Netgear partner this with Wink directly so that I can take IFTTT out of the mix.

The motion detection seems to suffer a bit in the garage as I have to walk to within about 10 feet of the camera for it to trigger a motion alert even on the highest sensitivity setting.

The default "Armed" mode was sending me notifications and emails every time it detected motion. Once you've placed your camera, I would recommend creating a new mode to suit its purpose as you can then easily modify motion sensitivity, motion zones, audio sensitivity, actions, recording length and notifications.

Overall, I wouldn't recommend basing your home's security on this camera, but it would be good for monitoring kids or pets or supplementing other security measures. I really want to like this product more, but I feel too restricted by the cloud storage and the caveats that come with it. I feel that this really deserves 3.5 eggs, but I can't round it up to 4.
Reviewed By:Shane A.,5/26/2016 4:20:55 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > Netgear Inc. > Netgear Arlo Q - 1080p HD Wi-Fi Security Camera with 2 Way Audio & 7 Days of FREE Cloud Recordings - VMC3040-100NAS

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Picture This!
Pros: Easy setup.

Pretty good quality on video.

Give a free Basic Plan with 7 days recording, can add up to 4 cameras for a total or five, allowed 1GB of Cloud storage and limited to 3 Months support from NetGear.

This camera is recommended for indoors use only.
Cons: This will make a great surveillance camera, but not a good security camera.

Outside the house you will have add electrical outlets or place near already installed floodlights with a waterproof outlet for power. You will also have to encase the plug and cord in something to prevent tampering with the power source. Even though it is wireless it still needs a power source which lends to it being vulnerable to anyone that can unplug a plug from a socket.

The price of one camera is equivalent to some wired security systems with 4 cameras.

You will have to input your SSID and Password on the Arlo website. Later you will then set up an account with an email address and another password. When you read the agreement, you are held responsible for anything that comes under your Username and Password. Nothing is said about Arlo and your SSID and Password.

There is a momentary delay in recordings and you are only given a choice of saving Favorites, Sharing, Downloading, and Deleting videos. You can opt for a non-stop video recording Cloud Video Recording (CVR) service. You cannot record directly to your hard drive or phone...1 egg deduction.

All add on cameras say that you will require Arlo Camera Kit, or Nighthawk R7000 nothing is mentioned about the Arlo Q. They may or may not connect to the Arlo Q. When you go to the website they sell the Arlo Q with the wireless cameras for outdoors, but you will be required to purchase a base station.
Other Thoughts: This camera is recommended for use indoors. You cannot connect the Arlo Q-1080P HD to the Netgear Home Security system, it acts as a camera and base and stands alone.

They offer two other plans:

Premier with 30 Days of Cloud Recordings
(Up to 10GB Cloud storage)
Up to 10 cameras
Unlimited Support
MONTHLY $9.99
ANNUAL $99
($20 SAVINGS)

Elite
60 Days of Cloud Recordings
(Up to 100GB Cloud storage)
Up to 15 cameras
Unlimited Support
MONTHLY AT $14.99
ANNUAL AT $149
($30 SAVINGS)

Optional 24/7 CVR

Basic, Premier, and Elite plans allow Arlo cameras to record only when motion or activity is detected. However, if you have an Arlo Q camera, you can now record 24/7 non-stop to the cloud by selecting a CVR plan to the camera.

14 Days of 24/7 CVR
Monthly $9.99 per Camera
Or Annual $99 per Camera

30 Days of 24/7 CVR
Monthly $19.99 per Camera
Or Annual $199 per Camera

Get 50% OFF on purchase of additional CVR plans
(If you purchase more than 1 plan per account)

Overall I cannot recommend Arlo Q unless you just want a camera for indoors to monitor your house while you are away or a child's room when you are at home or away. It is not recommended as stated for outdoor use, inside it works appropriately.
Reviewed By:ISAIAH J.,5/26/2016 12:25:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-NC220 N300 Wi-Fi Network Day / Night Cloud Camera (White)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Amazing EASY TO USE Camera for the Price!!!
Pros: Price. A decent quality SUPER easy to use cloud camera with AUDIO for under fifty bones!? I'll TAKE IT! I had this thing up and running in 2 minutes. I'm not even kidding! I registered an account and then loaded the app on my tablet and BANG! I was up and running! This camera has worked FLAWLESSLY for weeks now. No issues what so ever. I have it pointed out my bed room window so that I can see the back of my property and it works great! I also really like that it has audio! I can log into it, anywhere with a connection via LTE or interwebs and see my kids playing outside with the dog and grandma! Really nice for the price, honestly, I don't think you could find a cheaper, better camera. I really want to get more of them, but there are a few cons (see below). The picture quality is outstanding for what it is and it is REALLY easy to take a snap shot of video or a static image. I also have it set to dump data to my FTP server (a Synology) and it works FLAWLESSLY! So, more advanced users like myself have fun with it and even first timers can get going with this camera. It is SUPER SIMPLE. I can't stress this enough, get the app, get the camera hooked up and the app will find it and you're done. It's super easy, you don't have to be a network guru to do any port forwarding or anything, it just WORKS and that is what I REALLY like about it! I don't have time to play Mr. Trouble shooter, I do that enough already at my normal job.
Cons: Honestly, there are not many. But.... Wireless range isn't that great. You'll want to be pretty close to your access point or wireless router to get a good link. This is VERY important. I think the people that have issues with this camera are ones that don't have a good link with it. I've noticed that if I put the camera by any large metal objects it had ill effects. So keep that in mind, close to the AP or WiFi router and away from weird large metal stuff. While the design of the camera isn't bad, per se, I don't care for it too much. I guess I like the look of bullet style cams better. This one isn't bad, but the options to install it on a wall are limited. TP-Link provides a self adhesive pad, but I went ahead and drilled a hole in the mount and used a screw to keep things secure. No issues at all. For the money, this camera simply can't be beat. It's very good and stable.
Other Thoughts: IF you want to get your feet wet with a wireless drop cam, this is it! The price is great, it has Ethernet and wireless, it is SUPER easy to use and most of all, reliable. I have not had one single issue with up time! I also like how TP-Link provides a long extension cable! GREAT idea and all MFGs should do something like that! This camera isn't perfect, but for the price, you would be silly to pass it up. I'm sure that I will get another one down the road. Now... If you are looking for a more professional system or device (think Dahua or HikVision), this isn't it, but what did you expect for the price!? I really like this camera and if you can deal with the very few shortcomings, I think you will enjoy this camera too!
Reviewed By:Max F.,5/25/2016 8:00:14 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-NC230 720p HD Wi-Fi Day / Night Cloud Camera

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 TP-LINK TL-NC230 720p HD Wi-Fi Day / Night Cloud Camera
Pros: easy to set up
easy user interface.
Easy to contact support and they send you a link to right where you need to go for this camera.
Easy to hook to computer or ipad I had mine hooked to both.
Also able to use as a wifi extender.
Cons: way to much trouble and it never gets right.
Way to many false reports.
Spent to much time each day to get it to save color settings.
Other Thoughts: On auto you get good color but when it goes to night it is pitch black till you log into the user interface then set it day n night then save then back to auto. same thing happens in the morning. you have to log into setting the change it to day and night then save and back to auto.
If you leave it on day and night it is black and white and you really cant tell who it setting it off when it does get set off. Sends notifications to your email after setting sound and motion right out of 50 triggers only once did it get my dog in front yard. I ran many test and had friends and neighbors walk right up to it and around front yard.
Took way to many log ins to set it up right each day to get color then it didn't pick up all but one time. If you want something you can set and forget then check email once a day or two then this isn't a product I would buy.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Phillip,

Thank you for providing your detailed feedback regarding our product.

We apologize for any frustration that may have been caused while you were installing .

We intend to share your constructive comments with our internal development team in hope of possibly implementing some of the suggestions provided with future product releases.

If you have any questions or concerns regarding our products in the future, please feel free to contact our support team at the number and/or email provided for you below and an available technician will be happy to assist you.


Best Regards!
TP-LINK Support Team
866) 225-8139
ussupportteam@tp-link.com

Reviewed By:Phillip W.,5/24/2016 5:42:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > Netgear Inc. > Netgear Arlo Q - 1080p HD Wi-Fi Security Camera with 2 Way Audio & 7 Days of FREE Cloud Recordings - VMC3040-100NAS

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Work OK, An Average Security Camera
Pros: The setup of the Arlo Q camera was easy and aesthetically it looks nice. For power, it takes a standard micro USB input so replacing the cable would be very easy if needed. The base of the camera is magnetic so it can easily be mounted on a metal surface. I have other security cameras and the Arlo Q video quality is on par with the rest. The motion and sound triggers are adjustable through the Arlo smart phone application and seem to work as promised.
Cons: The delay is significant. In my situation, it's about 10 seconds. This makes the 2-way audio capability pretty much useless. There is no way you could converse through the camera like, for example, if you were telling a delivery driver on camera what to do with a package. Granted, I don't have the fastest internet but it's an advertised feature that doesn't really work so I'm docking an egg. I suspect the lag is due to the feed being uploaded to the cloud first, then streaming from the cloud to your phone. It's unfortunate that the camera won't stream to a phone directly if you are on the same wireless network at home.

I'm not sure what the issue was, but upon initial set up I was getting horrible buffering stops when viewing the live feed. I had to dial down the video resolution to 240p to get an uninterruptible feed. For some reason, the next day it was working fine set at the max 1080p resolution and has since. Either the cloud servers were being slow that day or I had an unusual problem with my own internet that didn't seem to affect anything else on my network.

Another problem I encountered was the camera became unresponsive without explanation about one week after setup. The camera could be seen as connected by my router with a valid IP address but the app reported no devices present. When I checked the camera, it felt warm to the touch. I power cycled the camera and functionality was restored, but I couldn't help think about what a pain it would be to power cycle a security camera if it was installed up high out of reach like most cameras. Minus one more egg for this, although the problem has not happened a second time.
Other Thoughts: Without paying out of pocket, you get 1GB of cloud storage and video is held in the cloud up to 7 days. One minute of 1080p video on my setup is about 3.24 MB. So if you do the math, you can get about 5 hours’ worth of free 1080p video storage in the cloud. Since the cloud only stores your video for 7 days you must manually download video files if you want to keep them. There are pay plans that add functionality and extra cloud storage if that's what you need. If one truly wants to use this camera for security, it's probably a good idea to pony up for one of the premium plans offered. For example, constant video recording (CVR) functionality is not available using the free base plan.
Manufacturer Response:Hi Robert,

While it sounds like overall you are happy with your Arlo Q, I'd like to address some of the connectivity/speed issues you've mentioned. Could you tell us more about how you're accessing your Arlo (device/OS version/browser version if applicable) as well as the speed you get from your ISP?

You can reach us at netgearteam@netgear.com and our Arlo team will work with you on this to get things working as they should, if you're still experiencing these issues. It will also be helpful if you can include a copy/paste of the review, as you included several helpful details here that may help track down the problems.

Regards,

NETGEAR Team

Reviewed By:Robert P.,5/24/2016 4:33:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-NC220 N300 Wi-Fi Network Day / Night Cloud Camera (White)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Not Ready for Prime Time
Pros: Low-priced day/night camera with decent image quality and frame rate. Most everything functions, more or less – sound and motion sensors, email alerts, night vision, cloud viewing. (Having read multiple complaints about its wireless performance, I didn't even attempt to use it wireless). The sensors, along with email alerting, are highly configurable, and could be very useful, if they could perform reliably.
Cons: If you're not well versed in camera and network technology, you will probably spend hours getting this to work properly. For that reason alone, I can't recommend this camera to anyone else. Time is money, so despite the low price of entry, you'll end up “paying” a lot for this camera. I wish TP-Link could understand that the highest quality hardware in the world is of no use if coupled with a buggy, hard-to-use interface. To whit:

There are three (!) separate logins for this camera, each with its own username and password. One for the cloud, one for the physical device, and one for the Camera Control software. Hey TP-Link, how about one unified login? To make matters worse, TP-Link consistently writes their software in such a way that Firefox is unable to save usernames and passwords (this is true of all their routers as well), so you get to manually enter this stuff every time. Chrome is able to save passwords, but this camera is otherwise incompatible with Chrome – it won't display video at all.

I'm currently unable to access the camera at all -- again. I originally thought this was due to some problem with my network, but after reading other reviews see that the problem is common. Reliability is sketchy, glitchy, or quirky – take your pick. This is not a quality you seek in a security camera – not for any use imaginable. ...Camera Control can't see camera, camera isn't assigned an IP address, Camera Control crashes, and so on. Log onto cloud in order to discover camera IP address, enter that address in another window to log onto the physical camera control panel, only to see that the camera is listed as "disconnected." And so on.
Other Thoughts: If you're an IT or security specialist, you're probably going to want better hardware than this to begin with (though the price is right...). If you're a non-technical user, you could probably find better use of your time then trying to navigate through the convoluted and buggy controls that come with this camera.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Newegg Customer,

Thank you for providing your detailed feedback in regard to our product.

We are greatly appreciative of your constructive comments and personal feedback as this helps us improve upon our products and future releases.

Please note, if you have any additional questions or comments regarding your TP-Link device, please feel free to contact us at the number and/or email provided below and we’ll be happy to address your concerns.

Once again, we thank you for your review and certainly hope you will continue using our products again in the near future.


Best Regards!
TP-LINK Support Team
866) 225-8139
ussupportteam@tp-link.com

Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/23/2016 5:22:19 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-NC220 N300 Wi-Fi Network Day / Night Cloud Camera (White)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good camera, great price, some issues
Pros: Nicely designed camera, small, easily placed, with a long optional power cord extender. Very clear color imagery and night vision image is also clean and clear. The image quality is very good for the price.

Issues with very bad wifi performance and extremely limited range were largely addressed by the latest firmware update to v1.1.12, although an issue with frequent disconnects does remain.
Cons: While the latest firmware is a drastic improvement over its previous version, when connected by wifi the camera still has several spontaneous disconnects a day, and though it now spends more time online and available rather than offline, the unpredictability of when it will be accessible means I can't recommend it for anyone who is using it for security or any other serious reason.
Other Thoughts: Hopefully continued work on the firmware will resolve the remaining frequent disconnect issues. If they can ever get stable, dependable wifi performance, this camera would be a tremendous value at its price.
Reviewed By:James P.,5/23/2016 1:57:27 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-NC230 720p HD Wi-Fi Day / Night Cloud Camera

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Good hardware but confusing software
Pros: The camera comes with a white 4 foot Ethernet cable, a small wall wart with TP-Link embossed on it and a power cable extension cord. Also included is a tiny Technical Support pamphlet, a much more extensive GNU General Public License Notice in a number of languages and a Quick Start Guide. That’s it for the accessories.
I look at software for these reviews from the perspective of someone not expert at computer hardware. I’ve been doing this for a number of years so I can usually figure out obtuse software and misleading or missing instructions. If a newbie can do it then it’s good software. If it frustrates me then it’s not. This most definitely falls into the frustrating category. See Cons below.
Cons: OK, you hook up the camera and realize you need to download… something. Of course no software disk is included. The quick start guide really doesn’t give you a lot of guidance but I went to the website and it instructed me to register. Registering is easy: e-mail address and password. When you log in it tells you you need to configure your camera using the tpCamera app. Your natural inclination is to go to the ‘download’ tab which dumps you on a page that shows 3 cameras, none of which are yours and which tells you they are no longer providing the ‘Setup Wizard’ any longer and tells you to download the UG for your camera, which isn’t shown. Hmmm? There is one of those ubiquitous smart phone bar codes so I suppose they’re telling you unless you have a smart phone you’re out of luck because there’s nowhere else to go.
I did find the computer setup software by going to the TP-Link Cloud camera site then going to support and then ‘Download Center’ and then finding the NC230 under ‘Smart Home’ and then downloading the ‘Management Utility’.
After you download and install the program it asks you for an account. It doesn’t say whether this is the account you registered before so I typed in my e-mail address and password and was dumped on a cryptic page showing the camera name and Mac address. No hint as to what you’re supposed to do so I highlighted the ‘Live’ tab and was asked for the camera’s account and password. The account name was ‘admin’ and not able to be changed so I immediately suspected there was a separate name and password for the camera. Now bear in mind this information is not included anywhere on the camera or the included documentation. Hmmm again? I finally simply Googled ‘camera password’ for the NC230 and found the password was ‘admin’. Finally after an hour of futzing around I was rewarded with a picture from the camera. This is where I go take a long break so as not to toss this camera in the trash.
OK after the debacle of installing the software comes the actual operation of the camera. I configured it with the computer and couldn’t figure out how to get the wireless working. Finally I realized you have to use the smartphone app to do that. I will say the wireless works well and downloading it and installing it were easy.
Now we get back to bad software again. Maybe I’m just missing something but it seems like TP-Link is making this as difficult as possible. The camera works and it works fine. The picture in full screen on the computer monitor is soft and fuzzy but on my cell phone it’s fine. I can log in to their Cloud site and view the live picture. It’s not really even as good as a high end webcam but then this is a different kind of device so I can forgive that. But the point of this thing is to watch over your house and notify you if it senses something. Good idea but then you try and figure out how to turn that feature on and… Hmmm a third time.
So I looked. The User’s Guide I downloaded wasn’t helpful. I was pretty sure it had to be in the local ‘Camera Control’ program but to be honest that program was a little obtuse. But finally through clicking on everything I could think of I found a new tab under ‘Devices’ called ‘Open Web Page’ that took me to a login screen asking for a username and password. It didn’t want my information from the Cloud login but the admin information from the camera. Finally this took me to a webpage that contained all the information and setup options I’d been looking for. It allowed me to change the camera settings including FPS and backlight and had an “Advanced’ tab that allowed me to set the motion or sound detection and a rather formidable setup option for how you want to be notified that miscreants are in your house. It’s a little intimidating but I got through it and amazingly it worked. I started getting e-mail alerts whenever I walked through the camera’s field of vision.
Other Thoughts: The bottom line is that the TP-Link NC230 camera works. The ability to use it wirelessly means no Ethernet cables so you can put it almost anywhere. It’s a reasonably priced piece of kit that is only let down by the software. If I was someone not familiar with computers and software I would have been lost. I’m no novice but I spent a good part of a Saturday getting everything to work. TP-Link needs to collect everything on one webpage and point the user there and explain what they need to do and how to do it. Until then this camera is for people who don’t mind wading hip deep into bad software. A thumbs up for the hardware and a big thumbs down to the software.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Patrick,

Thank you for providing your detailed feedback regarding our product.

We apologize for the lack of documentation provided with our NC230 which would have made installation that much easier, considerably.

We will certainly consider implementing some of the suggestions provided with future product releases.

If you have any questions or concerns regarding our products in the future, please feel free to contact our support team at the number and/or email provided for you below and an available support agent will be happy to assist you.

Best Regards!
TP-LINK Support Team
866) 225-8139
ussupportteam@tp-link.com

Reviewed By:Patrick H.,5/22/2016 3:48:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.