Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > D-Link > D-Link DCS-2136L 1.3MP 720P HD White LED W/ Color Night Vision Wireless Cloud IP Camera

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easy setup with great features to compliment hardware
Pros: - Easily setup with provided base & hardware
- Web interface as well as iOS app with remote and local access
- MicroSD slot for recording or pictures
- Motion detection / Passive IR
- 2 way mic / speaker setup
- Fade-able LED light and I/O headers for integration into security systems
- Event planning and automated reset amongst other good admin features (see below)
Cons: - Swivel on mine was a tad loose so used some butyl to retain the position I liked
- Motion detection is quite touchy and the sensitivity needs tweaking via an update, Passive IR works great for my use though
- You will record yourself looking and or saying something dumb and realize how you look
- No night vision but passive IR works in the dark so ill give it a pass
Other Thoughts: This camera is a great piece of hardware and its software coming together to create the best home or office IP camera that doesn't require a PhD to setup, but has the subtle little features that you can tweak, making it an excellent little camera in my opinion.
I set the camera up in the entryway to my house, with a 16gb SD card. Set it to continuously record during daylight hours and then switch to passive IR for triggering of the LED flash light and recording for night-time use.
It has been recording for roughly 5 days now and the software splits them into 5min chunks for access via the iOS or web app which is great when on-the-go and wanting to see the day broken down to the hour and then 5 minute chunks after that. SD card use is roughly 50% use as of the review, but there is an option to record and overwrite the oldest recording or to stop, I chose the former of the two and it should continue to work as great.
The only thing that could use some tweaking is the monition detection software, I initially tried to set this up instead of continuous recording but my results were only acceptable in the 1%-4% sensitivity range and even though this could be my houses paint color messing with the by-pixel comparison for the motion tracking I was unable to get it to work to my liking, so I use the continuous for the day with passive IR triggering for night time. There is no night vision IR which is the only other draw-back, but the nifty LED light works well along with the passive IR for night use so I am satisfied with it for now.
Also, there are two I/O headers for integration of motion or door sensors for people more into security than I, but having the option is great for those that use them.
I am greatly impressed by the features included at this price point and would suggest this IP camera to anyone in the market for a full featured piece of hardware at a great value look no further.
Reviewed By:Robert K.,7/28/2016 1:10:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TV-IP321PI 1280 x 960 MAX Resolution Cable Outdoor 1.3 MP HD PoE Dome IR Network Camera

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Not a consumer-focus Network Camera
Pros: The build quality is good and the included template/tools are helpful for mounting and drilling holes.
Cons: I was unable to get this camera connected to my system even after contacting customer support.
A consumer-level device like this should come with a PoE injector or power supply in the box. No one has PoE with their standard WiFi router. I happen to have an injector and the unit would power ON but not connect/boot. I tried putting the power in to the included power connector and buy using the inline injector. The instructions I got from Trendnet once I opened a customer support ticket were very basic and then entirely too advanced for the common customer to be able to complete (adjust computer IP address, search for camera IP, switch computer IP address back to original). lol
Other Thoughts: I would not recommend this product as it ships today due to the lack of an injector (which can cost you up to $30 after the purchase) and the poor configuration or ability of the SW to detect the device. There is no reason to make Network security camera for the consumer this difficult and full of pitfalls.
Reviewed By:Christoph S.,7/26/2016 5:03:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TV-IP762IC (v1.0R) 720P HD Wireless Day/Night Micro SD card, 2 Way Audio Cloud IP Camera

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Decent wireless IP camera for non-cloud use, low-light images could be sharper
Pros: The camera ships with a CD containing a Windows setup wizard program, although you don't have to use it. By default, it powers up with an IP address of 192.168.10.30 and the usual “admin / admin” username and password. I used the Windows setup wizard and found it to be simple and straightforward. I connected the camera to a network switch with the included cat5e patch cable and the wizard walked me through changing the password, assigning the camera's name and IP address, and joining a wireless network. At the end, the software printed “Congratulations! You can click the following URL to connect to your camera from any computer with Internet access: http://########.cam.trendnetcloud.com” (this is the same URL as printed on the camera itself).

The compact power adapter is rated at 5V / 1A so the camera is expected to draw 5 watts or less. The camera does get a little warm, but I didn't have any trouble operating it in temperatures up to 97 degrees F. In that environment it's been completely reliable for over a week.

There is a very solid mounting bracket with a ball joint, and both wood screws and drywall hangers are provided.

Picture quality is very good in bright light at 1-2 meters and just a little fuzzy beyond that. When the ambient light dims, the camera switches to IR mode (and a black-and-white display) with an audible click; the picture is less clear in that mode. This isn't the sharpest wireless camera I have used, but it's far from the worst (sad to say, that prize goes to the TV-IP745SIC, which I bought for the wide field of view and ended up returning due to blur). I have a few other cameras in this price range from TRENDnet, Edimax, and TP-Link that have focus rings around the lens, and that's a feature I miss on this camera.

The manual claims up to 5 meters (16 feet) IR illumination at night. I found objects at that distance to be dim but resolvable. Near objects will reflect more brightly than far objects of course, and in my case I had to crank the brightness level WAY up because a near object on one side (about 1 foot square, 4 feet away) reflected brightly and this reduced everything else to blackness.

There is a microSD slot on the camera, so I inserted an 8 GB card I had leftover from a phone upgrade and used the camera's web interface to format it. The camera can record to a microSD or fileserver all the time, on a schedule, or when either motion or sound are detected (not both). I set up the camera to record video containing 5 seconds before and 60 seconds after motion was detected -- these are the maximums -- and found the default sensitivity of 90 to be way too sensitive. A sensitivity of 50 worked much better, although the motion sensor was still triggered by the camera's own change from day to night mode and vice-versa. A nice feature is that you can specify a minimum amount of free space on the card, and the camera will overwrite the oldest recordings in a round-robin rotation. The last time I set up a camera with built-in storage, it would write until the card was filled and then stop.

I also set up the camera to send a snapshot to a local server via FTP every 30 seconds, and this worked reliably.

It uses the same MAC address for wired or wireless, and chooses wired when the port is connected, or wireless when wired is unavailable. The wifi range is comparable to other small IP cameras with internal antennas. I had no connectivity issues with the camera thirty feet and four walls from the router, which reported -77 dBm from the camera at that distance.

Although I don't normally use software bundled with cameras, I installed TRENDnetVIEW Pro 2.5.6 as part of this evaluation. I was surprised at how comprehensive this software is. There's even a watchdog program to make sure the camera monitor stays running, which can restart the program or even the computer when specified thresholds are met. With support for multiple cameras, time lapse recording, and software motion sensors, you could feasibly build an entire DVR system using this free software. The only problem I had is that the software's auto-finder didn't pick up any of my cameras, but I was able to manually add the TRENDnet cameras without issue.
Cons: I'll state up front that I'm not a fan of trusting a remote “cloud” server with images and audio from my home, and in particular, not when the remote server feeds those images in plain-text (note above, the URL begins with http, not https). For review purposes, I tried out the TRENDnet cloud server before I disabled it, but when I connected to the URL it showed only a “browser compatibility notice” stating “Firefox 47 is not supported by the TRENDnet Cloud service.” Attempting with Chrome 51 showed a similar message. Supported browsers are listed as Safari 5.1.7, IE 9.0 to 11.0, Firefox 22.0 to 37.0, and Chrome 28.0 to 40.0. That's a near-total fail in my book.

I'd also prefer that the cloud server was not enabled by default during the camera's setup. Since this affects the user's privacy, this should be opt-in rather than opt-out.

The viewing angle is advertised as 68 degrees diagonal, or 60 degrees wide by 40 degrees high. I found myself wishing for more vertical range. My other cameras are 1280x1024 (5:4) or 640x480 (4:3), so this camera's 1280x720 (16:9) feels narrow by comparison.

The power cable is a little short. A competitor's camera shipped with a DC power extension cable to allow placement further from the outlet, which I ended up using here.

The mounting hardware components are a seemingly haphazard mix of white, black, and silver parts. It would look nicer if the components were one color.

Viewing the live feed or setting up the motion detector required installing a browser plugin called “NCSPlugin” provided by the camera's firmware. This is an MSI file, so I used a Windows laptop to set up the motion detector. Linux users may be out of luck here.
Other Thoughts: When the camera uploads image snapshots via FTP, it creates two levels of subdirectories using the current time and date, as yyyymmdd/hh/prefix_yyyymmdd_hhmmss[D].jpg. This may be convenient for archiving, but it gets in the way of embedding the most recent image in a static web page. If you administer the FTP server and are somewhat handy, you can intercept the uploads and rename them as you please. For example, using ProFTPD, you can match on a hostname (“RewriteCondition %h cam7”), rename the subdirectories to static names (e.g. “RewriteCondition %m CWD”, “RewriteRule [0-9]{8} date”) and give the file a static name (e.g. “RewriteCondition %m STOR”, “RewriteRule ^prefix_[0-9]{8}_[0-9]{6}D.jpg cam7.jpg”).
Reviewed By:Kevin R.,7/25/2016 8:02:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > Amcrest > Amcrest IP2M-841B ProHD 1080P WiFi Video Monitoring Security Wireless IP Camera with Pan/Tilt, Two-Way Audio, Plug & Play Setup, Optional Cloud Recording, Full HD 1080P (1920TVL)@ 30FPS - Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 does not work with current browsers
Pros: easy setup once I got tech support to show how to use edge browser in "legacy mode".
Cons: will not work with current browsers such as chrome, or edge.
daytime image quality worse than my web cam.
nighttime image quality unusable.
Other Thoughts: wait until they make this work with current browsers and after they source a better quality image sensor.
Reviewed By:bob m.,7/24/2016 10:24:00 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > D-Link > D-Link DCS-5020L Pan & Tilt Wi-Fi Camera

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 No Support - Returning Monitor
Pros: - None
Cons: - No support
Other Thoughts: There is absolutely NO support for this product. The product would not work out of the box. I tried to contact Dlink but there is no telephone number, only a website form to complete. I did that 4 days ago, and didn't receive a response. Yesterday I reached out via Twitter, and again no response. I'm returning this product and won't be buying again from Dlink.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/24/2016 7:07:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TV-IP420P (v1.0R) Indoor / Outdoor 3 MP Motorized PTZ Dome Network Camera

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 I like the Trendnet brand. Had to try this one out..
Pros: I would recommend this if you have the $$$ and need to PTZ around..
Cons: I think the price is to high.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this if you have the $$$ and need to PTZ around..
Reviewed By:Aaron M.,7/23/2016 8:23:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > EZVIZ Inc. > EZVIZ Mini HD 720p WiFi Home Security Camera with Motion Detection, 130 degree View, Night Vision (Special Offer 12 Month Cloud Storage w/ 7 day Playback)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Compact unit and extremely easy to setup
Pros: Nice packaging, compact unit, take less than 5mins to setup.
Download app, scan QR code and enter wifi password is all needed to see live video.
HD video with clear voice. CloudPlay recording is convient
Cons: Would be nice to have battery, need external power source
Other Thoughts: With this price range, it is definitely recommended.
Reviewed By:Product E.,7/23/2016 11:31:57 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > D-Link > D-Link DCS-960L HD 180-Degree Wi-Fi Camera

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Camera!!!
Pros: Great Video and sound quality

Has built in SD slot to allow local recording.

180 Degree view Angle ...great for wide rooms or outdoor recording.
Cons: Unit gets very warm. After the first day of using the unit when I went to move it I noticed the back of the unit was very warm.
I used my thermal gun and measure temperatures in the back of the unit that ranged from 116-133 degree Fahrenheit. Mind you this is not the entire back of the unit that gets this hot just the just about an inch and half area.
This does get me concerned since I don't know what the units thermal limits are. So it was in sunlight or a very hot climate if this could cause unit failure. Without this information I'll assume from now it's operating normally.

Also it would be nice the the power cord was longer. But that's just my wish.
Other Thoughts: I bought this as well as 3 different models of cloud cameras to try out and use to keep an eye on my home.
There was break-ins near my home and I had a random "stranger show up 2 times in 72 hours" giving me one story and my fiancé another. Needless to say I wanted products that would help me keep an eye on my home and keep me aware of any motion or sound alerts.

So far I really love this camera.

It's works well take great quality video, and audio. Setup was very easy (some cheaper cloud camera can be a lil finicky in setup). This camera was the easiest to setup.

The D-link home is easy to use and install with this model.

So I now have phone alerts sent to both me and my fiancé phone. It's pretty neat to adjust the times when the camera is active. I started at first with 24/7 recording for starters. Now I have a more refined schedule that avoids times where the home is 100% occupied.

The SD slot local recoding works well without any extra setup. Pop in an SD card and go.

This product has helped give me piece of mind. After you play around with the settings you can custom Taylor your sensitivity to sound and motion.

I tried a few cheaper and more expensive models and this by far for its price and performance work extremely well.

My only concerns are noted in my cons is the heat detected at the back of the unit. For all I know I'm over reacting and the unit is well within its Thermal envelope. But when you read temps above 130 in small areas I do get worried about long term longevity. But for now I'm extremely happy with this product. If you looking for a easy to setup solution try this you won't be disappointed.
Reviewed By:John,7/21/2016 11:00:59 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TV-IP320PI 1280 x 960 MAX Resolution Outdoor 1.3 MP HD PoE Bullet IR Network Camera

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Solid Security Camera
Pros: - Good image. The resolution may seem low, but is entirely adequate.
- Very easy to setup with ZoneMinder 1.29
Cons: - The software was useless to me; only seemed to work with TRENDnet products, cumbersome.
Other Thoughts: - Buy this if you have some experience with ZoneMinder or are looking for a project.
Reviewed By:Aaron V.,7/20/2016 4:35:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > IP / Network Cameras > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TV-IP310PI (v1.0R) 10/100 Mbps PoE Rort Outdoor 3 MP HD Bullet Day/Night IP Camera

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Built in Browser UI, or PC Software Control, with external App Viewing!
Pros: Nice solid build quality, super clear and sharp picture. Built in UI is easy to configure and setup. No need to install any software if you are only using one of these cameras, as it can be setup to record directly to your PC drive through the browser UI.

Video format options for two streams, Main Stream (Normal) for the best quality, and a Sub Stream setting, each allow control over resolution, bitrate, frame rate etc. Under the Events settings in the UI, under Email Account, you can setup to an SMTP Server to send alerts to three different email addresses. For my testing I configured it to send one to my email with snapshots of motion detected, and a second one to TEXT an alert to my phone, along with snapshots. This works great, and since we all carry phones with us these days, you will be instantly alerted by TEXT along with a picture if you set it up to attach Images!

Motion detection works good, with the option to highlight specific areas within the cameras field of view so only a highlighted area will trigger an alert. Be sure to adjust the sensitivity and test the motion detection! If sensitivity is set to high, shadows from sunlight can trigger a motion alert, including tree branches moving in the wind.

Privacy Mask option allows you to highlight an area in the cameras field of view that will not be visible in recordings or snapshots. Many choices under Network settings tab to cover pretty much any type of network setup that you may come across.

Storage settings allow you to configure for Network Storage, such as a NAS, or a drive connected to your router. FTP Server setup is also a simple setup for a NAS or other network storage device to store your recordings and snapshots in real time.

I also tested this on a Seagate NAS that has built in Apps, specifically the Surveillance Manager, which recognized the camera with no problems, and allowed me to bypass the camera UI for control and recordings directly to my NAS.

Trendnet IPVIEW, and Trendnet View apps both worked fine and can be found on Google Play. The free versions are really all that’s needed for 1 or 2 cameras. With a tablet or phone, you can also setup for viewing within your home network by using your local network address for the camera.
Cons: As others have mentioned, no power supply included! So when ordering do your research if you do not have a POE device/router that can supply the power that’s needed. If you plan on using it as a temp setup, any 12 volt/1 amp power supply will suffice.

The TrendnetVIEW software is a bit cumbersome, and not very user friendly to setup. While it does work if configured properly you will need to read the setup manual! For temporary setups it will be much easier to just use it through the browser UI!

Full digital zoom is not great as everything becomes blocky when zoomed in at max.
Other Thoughts: While many may not have PoE hardware to set this up, Trendnet does have PoE hardware available. The TRENDnet TPE-104GS Gigabit PoE Splitter has a built in adjustable power output for those that already have PoE capabilities within their network.

If you plan on using only one of these cameras, you will need at the very least a splitter, and an injector like the TRENDnet TPE-113GI Gigabit PoE Injector. And if you plan on connecting more than one of these cameras, check out the TRENDnet TPE-TG44G 8-Port Gigabit GREENnet PoE+ Switch which will supply power to 4 devices.

Be sure to check for firmware updates!

Recent Firmware Version 5.3.4 Build 160616 was released on 6/28/2016. Trendnet support page lists what was updated with this newer version. Current TrendnetVIEW Pro software and Mac Plug-in can also be found on the main support page for this model, including all current manuals!
Reviewed By:Robert D.,7/18/2016 11:30:48 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.