Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > MoCA Adapters > Actiontec > Actiontec MoCA 2.0 Ethernet to Coax Network Adapter- 2-pack

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works out of the box with Comcast Xfinity
Pros: Truly plug and play. The only configuration I had to do was to disable wireless on my laptop. I've been getting at least 75 Mb/s across multiple tests (Speakeasy, DSL Reports) for the last week, with other loads on the network active. Has not interfered with the cable tv or VOIP at all. With MOCA enabled on the gateway, these devices connect directly to it.

We recently switched to Comcast after AT&T jacked up their rates when the contract ended. I had had a switch connected to a network port on the back of AT&T's DVR, and a smart TV, Blue Ray, receiver, and Roku connected to the switch - nothing too fancy, but working fine. Although I spent a lot of time checking to see which cable boxes had network ports, and the DVR that was installed had one, it didn't work, even after I enabled MOCA in the router admin website. Of course, the help desk had no idea what I was talking about, and "2nd-level" told me it was wireless or nothing.

In my house, wireless (~15 Mb/s in the living room) is ok for streaming music but problematic for video, and eats up bandwidth needed for PCs. I needed a better answer. These MOCA 2.0 devices are it.
Cons: - my wife complained that the LEDs were too bright. Electrical tape.
- expensive at $60+ each, but worth it to know I won't have to depend on any "service" provider to support their own equipment for this purpose ever again,
Other Thoughts: Info on whether this would work in my situation was difficult to find, so I'll post about it here in case it helps someone. Comcast installed a filter at the entry point, and then a coax amplifier ( Commscope CSAPD U5VP). 3 coax cables run unbroken to the back bedrooms, the master bedroom, and the living room. For the back bedrooms, a 3-way splitter (from Newegg) feeds 2 cable boxes (Xi3) and one of the Actiontecs, connected to my laptop in the office. In the master, a 2-way splitter (Comcast) feeds another Xi3 and the gateway/wireless router. In the living room, another 2-way splitter (Actiontec) feeds the DVR and the other Actiontec device, connected to the switch. All devices and functions (streaming movies, on demand, Spotify, Pandora, etc) are working. Great device!
Reviewed By:Ronald M.,8/21/2016 9:24:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > MoCA Adapters > Actiontec > Actiontec Bonded MoCA 2.0 Ethernet to Coax Network Adapter - 2-pack

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Next best thing to having your house wired for ethernet
Pros: -Able to run blu-rays throughout the house using wired network instead of relying on wireless.
-Easy to setup
Cons: -None
Other Thoughts: Make sure you aren't using old MoCA v1.0 adapters (Motorola NIM100). These will not work with them connected. It took me awhile to find out why the Actiontec adapters would not work. Disconnected all NIM100's and they connected. Have been rock solid since.
Reviewed By:David M.,7/17/2016 12:44:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > MoCA Adapters > Actiontec > Actiontec MoCA Ethernet to Coax Network Adapter Kit for Homes with Cable TV Service (ECB2500CK01)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fabulous solution
Pros: These things rock. Worked right out of the box, invisible and plenty fast.
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: I used these in a rental property that only had coax and no structured wiring to feed wired ethernet to three different floors without any additional wiring.
Reviewed By:Scott W.,2/22/2016 8:06:24 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > MoCA Adapters > Actiontec > Actiontec MoCA Ethernet to Coax Network Adapter Kit for Homes with Cable TV Service (ECB2500CK01)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 A handy alternative to HomePlug or WiFi
Pros: Brain-dead easy to set up, basically maintenance-free, doesn't trip cheap-junk (read: everything other than Square-D or Cutler Hammer) AFCI breakers like HomePlug does
Cons: Sssslllloooowwww. Sure, it's not 10Base-T slow, but it's barely better than 100Base-TX slow. Gigabit has been standard on everything for at least 10 years, and this just isn't up to par with that. Don't expect fast LAN speeds. It probably won't cut into your WAN-bound throughput, though.
Other Thoughts: MoCA is basically 140-ish Mbps, and it's not duplexed. Maybe that will change in the future, but for now, it's not as good as HomePlug's 500Mbps (also not duplexed) or WiFi's N or AC specs (and both of these WiFi specs can be multiplexed with MIMO).

But it works well enough for a single PC and a VOIP phone in a bedroom/office with coax to the splitter in the basement.
Reviewed By:Matt H.,1/19/2016 8:14:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > MoCA Adapters > Actiontec > Actiontec ECB2500C Ethernet to Coax Adapter for Homes with Cable TV Service

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Plug n' Play not Plug n' Pray
Pros: I've owned two of these great devices for 3 years with no problems at all. This is basically a media adapter that allows you to use your existing home coaxial cabling as a backbone network. Unlike power line adapters, MoCA adapters actually work. Best part of owning theses devices are they allow you to have multiple wireless routers in your home that use your home's coax as a dependable high-speed connection. My primary router handles my 2nd floor wireless and DHCP and routes to be cable provider. The secondary router just handles first floor wireless and wired connections for my living ,room. No problems streaming Netflix, Hulu, YouTube and Google Music with all three of my Chromecasts in my home. BluRay and media streaming from my computer to the living room works great as well. The device works as advertised. No problems with my cable TV side as well.
Cons: None. Only 270Mbps throughput, but it hasn't really made a difference that I can see. Newer version has a 1Gbps throughput, is smaller and cost more.
Other Thoughts: No need to do wireless bridging is the main reason for loving this device. The only thing better is to run Cat5e cabling and that can be expensive.
Reviewed By:Tampa Pirate,12/20/2015 3:01:38 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > MoCA Adapters > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TPA-311 Mid-Band Coaxial Network Adapter Up to 256Mbps (PHY Rate) Up to 193Mbps (Throughput)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good solution when you don't wish to run ethernet cable
Pros: Like many, I picked these devices up in a pair while they were on sale. The connection these devices create is solid and reliable. While the description advertises speeds above 100Mbps, this measurement is likely strictly between the two devices. You will not achieve more than 100Mbps at the Ethernet ports, and in real world scenarios, expect to receive less than this.

My tests indicated a solid 80 to 85Mbps throughput from my computer to another computer on my LAN. This was with the devices connected directly to each other without the use of splitters, and the coax was not attached to the TV service in my environment. I then connected these devices to a splitter into the TV network in my environment, and as expected, connection speeds dropped. In my particular environment, I achieved 20 to 25Mbps sending to another computer on the network, and between 20Mbps to 44Mbps receiving from the other computer. This is probably more than adequate for the average home user, but if you're a die-hard for the fastest speeds possible, this is absolutely no replacement for Gigabit Ethernet cable. My environment has RG-6 coax, and decent quality splitters. Due to the nature of coax and other installations, you can expect your throughput to vary.
Cons: Trendnet only offers this device with 100Mbps Ethernet ports. This product would be more desirable if given the option to purchase another model with Gigabit ports.
Other Thoughts: A search on the internet reveals the Trendnet TPA-311 devices cannot be used if you wish to extend a DOCSIS cable modem. Actiontec offers MoCA adapters that are suitable for such a configuration. Additionally, Actiontec also offers a Gigabit version similar to Trendnet's device. However, it is more costly, and worse, not sold by Newegg. I would be curious to know how well the Actiontec Gigabit MoCA adapters perform in a real world scenario.

Overall, the Trendnet TPA-311 is a decent device that will allow anyone to establish a network connection to other devices & machines where running Ethernet cable is difficult, not an option, or whatever the case may be. I will be using these devices to connect my entertainment system devices (Blu-ray player, etc.) to my network as it is next to impossible to install Ethernet cable in the wall where my system is located (I live in a semi-detached house, and this is the "shared" wall that has all sorts of obstacles). I'd purchase this again, and would use them in situations where Ethernet cabling is a pain to run and coax already exists. I would also only connect these to devices that don't require extremely high speeds.
Reviewed By:Brad,12/16/2015 2:13:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > MoCA Adapters > Actiontec > Actiontec MoCA Ethernet to Coax Network Adapter Kit for Homes with Cable TV Service (ECB2500CK01)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Plug n' Play not Plug n' Pray
Pros: Takes about 5 minutes to install the units in your home. Devices do what they promise to do - They work! Unlike power line adapters there is no guess work or uncertainty. I have a 2 story townhouse and the Actiontec. Devices allows me to have my main router on the second floor near the cable modem. The first floor I have a WiFi AP/Router that handles my BluRay, Media Streamer, Chromecast and all 1st floor wireless requests. DHCP, DNS & routing are handled by the 2nd floor router. The Actiontec creates the perfect network backbone for your home network.
Cons: None in almost 3 years. Just make sure if you have any work done by local ISP that they reconnect the cable securely.
Other Thoughts: Some people will say that you can accomplish the same network using all wireless, but the reality is streaming media requires reliable and predictable bandwidth. Having the Chromecast 3 feet from my 1st floor AP makes streaming YouTube, Netflix, Google Play Movie & Music work like a charm. You can expand your network coverage by just adding additional MoCA devices and drop a cheap router or switch in the room depending your capacity needs.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,11/20/2015 11:06:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > MoCA Adapters > Actiontec > Actiontec ECB2500C Ethernet to Coax Adapter for Homes with Cable TV Service

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Worth Every Penny
Pros: Worth every penny I paid for it. Was able to completely remove all Verizon equipment from my network, but still provide internet to their set-top boxes.
Cons: None. Works great.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,10/20/2015 10:09:24 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > MoCA Adapters > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TPA-311 Mid-Band Coaxial Network Adapter Up to 256Mbps (PHY Rate) Up to 193Mbps (Throughput)

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 No broadcast packets
Pros: Works for some applications.
Cons: Doesn't forward broadcast or multicast packets, only unicast ones. This makes protocols like "arp" not work, and makes the device pretty much useless for a business network.
Other Thoughts: Lack of broadcast packet support is a disappointing fatal flaw in what would have otherwise been a great product. I hope Trendnet fixes it in the next version.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,8/6/2015 2:03:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > MoCA Adapters > Actiontec > Actiontec MoCA Ethernet to Coax Network Adapter Kit for Homes with Cable TV Service (ECB2500CK01)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Product for the Price
Pros: - Plug and play with my MoCA enabled modem
- Easy set up
- Cuts down on running long Ethernet and weak wireless signal in my large house.
- You get 2 in the box. Its a steal.
- Has everything you need to get started.
Cons: - None
Other Thoughts: I have Cox as my ISP and it works flawlessly.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/10/2015 7:46:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.