Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > MoCA Adapters > Actiontec > Actiontec MoCA Ethernet to Coax Network Adapter Kit for Homes with Cable TV Service (ECB2500CK01)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fabulous solution
Pros: These things rock. Worked right out of the box, invisible and plenty fast.
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: I used these in a rental property that only had coax and no structured wiring to feed wired ethernet to three different floors without any additional wiring.
Reviewed By:Scott W.,2/22/2016 8:06:24 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > MoCA Adapters > Actiontec > Actiontec MoCA Ethernet to Coax Network Adapter Kit for Homes with Cable TV Service (ECB2500CK01)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 A handy alternative to HomePlug or WiFi
Pros: Brain-dead easy to set up, basically maintenance-free, doesn't trip cheap-junk (read: everything other than Square-D or Cutler Hammer) AFCI breakers like HomePlug does
Cons: Sssslllloooowwww. Sure, it's not 10Base-T slow, but it's barely better than 100Base-TX slow. Gigabit has been standard on everything for at least 10 years, and this just isn't up to par with that. Don't expect fast LAN speeds. It probably won't cut into your WAN-bound throughput, though.
Other Thoughts: MoCA is basically 140-ish Mbps, and it's not duplexed. Maybe that will change in the future, but for now, it's not as good as HomePlug's 500Mbps (also not duplexed) or WiFi's N or AC specs (and both of these WiFi specs can be multiplexed with MIMO).

But it works well enough for a single PC and a VOIP phone in a bedroom/office with coax to the splitter in the basement.
Reviewed By:Matt H.,1/19/2016 8:14:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > MoCA Adapters > Actiontec > Actiontec ECB2500C Ethernet to Coax Adapter for Homes with Cable TV Service

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Plug n' Play not Plug n' Pray
Pros: I've owned two of these great devices for 3 years with no problems at all. This is basically a media adapter that allows you to use your existing home coaxial cabling as a backbone network. Unlike power line adapters, MoCA adapters actually work. Best part of owning theses devices are they allow you to have multiple wireless routers in your home that use your home's coax as a dependable high-speed connection. My primary router handles my 2nd floor wireless and DHCP and routes to be cable provider. The secondary router just handles first floor wireless and wired connections for my living ,room. No problems streaming Netflix, Hulu, YouTube and Google Music with all three of my Chromecasts in my home. BluRay and media streaming from my computer to the living room works great as well. The device works as advertised. No problems with my cable TV side as well.
Cons: None. Only 270Mbps throughput, but it hasn't really made a difference that I can see. Newer version has a 1Gbps throughput, is smaller and cost more.
Other Thoughts: No need to do wireless bridging is the main reason for loving this device. The only thing better is to run Cat5e cabling and that can be expensive.
Reviewed By:Tampa Pirate,12/20/2015 3:01:38 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > MoCA Adapters > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TPA-311 Mid-Band Coaxial Network Adapter Up to 256Mbps (PHY Rate) Up to 193Mbps (Throughput)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good solution when you don't wish to run ethernet cable
Pros: Like many, I picked these devices up in a pair while they were on sale. The connection these devices create is solid and reliable. While the description advertises speeds above 100Mbps, this measurement is likely strictly between the two devices. You will not achieve more than 100Mbps at the Ethernet ports, and in real world scenarios, expect to receive less than this.

My tests indicated a solid 80 to 85Mbps throughput from my computer to another computer on my LAN. This was with the devices connected directly to each other without the use of splitters, and the coax was not attached to the TV service in my environment. I then connected these devices to a splitter into the TV network in my environment, and as expected, connection speeds dropped. In my particular environment, I achieved 20 to 25Mbps sending to another computer on the network, and between 20Mbps to 44Mbps receiving from the other computer. This is probably more than adequate for the average home user, but if you're a die-hard for the fastest speeds possible, this is absolutely no replacement for Gigabit Ethernet cable. My environment has RG-6 coax, and decent quality splitters. Due to the nature of coax and other installations, you can expect your throughput to vary.
Cons: Trendnet only offers this device with 100Mbps Ethernet ports. This product would be more desirable if given the option to purchase another model with Gigabit ports.
Other Thoughts: A search on the internet reveals the Trendnet TPA-311 devices cannot be used if you wish to extend a DOCSIS cable modem. Actiontec offers MoCA adapters that are suitable for such a configuration. Additionally, Actiontec also offers a Gigabit version similar to Trendnet's device. However, it is more costly, and worse, not sold by Newegg. I would be curious to know how well the Actiontec Gigabit MoCA adapters perform in a real world scenario.

Overall, the Trendnet TPA-311 is a decent device that will allow anyone to establish a network connection to other devices & machines where running Ethernet cable is difficult, not an option, or whatever the case may be. I will be using these devices to connect my entertainment system devices (Blu-ray player, etc.) to my network as it is next to impossible to install Ethernet cable in the wall where my system is located (I live in a semi-detached house, and this is the "shared" wall that has all sorts of obstacles). I'd purchase this again, and would use them in situations where Ethernet cabling is a pain to run and coax already exists. I would also only connect these to devices that don't require extremely high speeds.
Reviewed By:Brad,12/16/2015 2:13:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > MoCA Adapters > Actiontec > Actiontec MoCA Ethernet to Coax Network Adapter Kit for Homes with Cable TV Service (ECB2500CK01)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Plug n' Play not Plug n' Pray
Pros: Takes about 5 minutes to install the units in your home. Devices do what they promise to do - They work! Unlike power line adapters there is no guess work or uncertainty. I have a 2 story townhouse and the Actiontec. Devices allows me to have my main router on the second floor near the cable modem. The first floor I have a WiFi AP/Router that handles my BluRay, Media Streamer, Chromecast and all 1st floor wireless requests. DHCP, DNS & routing are handled by the 2nd floor router. The Actiontec creates the perfect network backbone for your home network.
Cons: None in almost 3 years. Just make sure if you have any work done by local ISP that they reconnect the cable securely.
Other Thoughts: Some people will say that you can accomplish the same network using all wireless, but the reality is streaming media requires reliable and predictable bandwidth. Having the Chromecast 3 feet from my 1st floor AP makes streaming YouTube, Netflix, Google Play Movie & Music work like a charm. You can expand your network coverage by just adding additional MoCA devices and drop a cheap router or switch in the room depending your capacity needs.
Reviewed By:N/A,11/20/2015 11:06:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > MoCA Adapters > Actiontec > Actiontec ECB2500C Ethernet to Coax Adapter for Homes with Cable TV Service

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Worth Every Penny
Pros: Worth every penny I paid for it. Was able to completely remove all Verizon equipment from my network, but still provide internet to their set-top boxes.
Cons: None. Works great.
Reviewed By:N/A,10/20/2015 10:09:24 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > MoCA Adapters > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TPA-311 Mid-Band Coaxial Network Adapter Up to 256Mbps (PHY Rate) Up to 193Mbps (Throughput)

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 No broadcast packets
Pros: Works for some applications.
Cons: Doesn't forward broadcast or multicast packets, only unicast ones. This makes protocols like "arp" not work, and makes the device pretty much useless for a business network.
Other Thoughts: Lack of broadcast packet support is a disappointing fatal flaw in what would have otherwise been a great product. I hope Trendnet fixes it in the next version.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/6/2015 2:03:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > MoCA Adapters > Actiontec > Actiontec MoCA Ethernet to Coax Network Adapter Kit for Homes with Cable TV Service (ECB2500CK01)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Product for the Price
Pros: - Plug and play with my MoCA enabled modem
- Easy set up
- Cuts down on running long Ethernet and weak wireless signal in my large house.
- You get 2 in the box. Its a steal.
- Has everything you need to get started.
Cons: - None
Other Thoughts: I have Cox as my ISP and it works flawlessly.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/10/2015 7:46:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > MoCA Adapters > Actiontec > Actiontec MoCA Ethernet to Coax Network Adapter Kit for Homes with Cable TV Service (ECB2500CK01)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easy and efficient
Pros: Easy to set up. Speed is much better than wifi or powerline.
Cons: It would be nice if this came with a POE filter as it really is a requirement.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/30/2015 12:56:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > MoCA Adapters > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TPA-311 Mid-Band Coaxial Network Adapter Up to 256Mbps (PHY Rate) Up to 193Mbps (Throughput)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works nicely with TiVo Mini
Pros: Small, light, and works to extend a 100 mbit network connection over my existing coax.

Syncing up between the two units was instantaneous, and the lights on the front clearly show when you have proper connections.

See 'other thoughts'.
Cons: None significant that I can see right now, system has only been deployed for a day.

Oh, yeah, there was absolutely NO documentation of ANY sort in the boxes (I bought a pair), but the hookup was very obvious. The Trendnet site does have a brief PDF if you need it.
Other Thoughts: I'm using this to extend a LAN connection from one part of my house to another over coax. There is nothing else on the coax (no cable, satellite, etc.). It just happened to be there from an old installation, and I was in no mood to pull CAT5E/6.

The coax is about 100 feet of at least 35 year old low grade RG-59 most of which has been outside for all that time, and somewhere in the middle there is a 35 year old low end splitter that's been outside in the weather all this time as well. Additionally, there are at least two coax barrels/couplers somewhere in line as well, so really the worst possible scenario for getting a decent signal.

Nonetheless, I hooked one of these to one end and one to the other, and my TiVo Mini, which is VERY fussy about a clean LAN connection because it's streaming full HD video from another TiVo, works perfectly. I was pleasantly surprised.

Note that I have NO idea how well this would work if there were other signals like cable or satellite on the coax as well.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/10/2015 4:59:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.