Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > MoCA Adapters > Actiontec > Actiontec MoCA Wireless Dual-Band Gigabit Network Extender and MoCA Ethernet Over Coax Adapter Kit (WCB3000NK01)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works as advertised
Pros: Very fast setup
Wireless router performance is solid
Network speed at router is fast
Cons: Wireless Router GUI has a few quirks
Other Thoughts: Had it up and running within an hour. Had some minor problems customizing the Wireless Router - the GUI is not fully intuitive. (Didn't realize I had to select both 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz radio buttons to turn off WPS for each band.) So far, I'm very pleased with the performance.
Reviewed By:BobPalTX,7/27/2014 10:52:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > MoCA Adapters > Motorola > MOTOROLA SBM1000 SURFboard MoCA SMART Video Coax Adapter 10/100 Base-T Ethernet (RJ-45)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 it works
Pros: Better than Wifi. Im in a neighborhood which is flooded in Wifi signals and with my wireless router 3 rooms away, my connection gets a lot of interference. Its good to finally get internet connection via hardline. Also, I don't have to route a cat45 Ethernet cable.
Cons: Moca can be a little confusing. There are prerequisite installations you need before this kit works. Moca needs a POE "Point of Entry" Moca Filter, Moca Splitters and Moca Amps. However, I have Time Warner Cable and their 5-1000MHz splitters and amps work with Moca. All I needed was the POE Filter.

Having another Coax split and device next to my Modem and router makes it a little messy. I was looking into a Cable modem that has MOCA but this kit was super cheap.
Other Thoughts: I have no idea what the current actual throughput is in my setup but I'm not complaining. This kit is "up to 175Mbps" and is more than enough for me. Considering I don't have any 1000T Ethernet connections, I really don't stream or xfer files outside of my room and my Internet connection is 15Mbps dl. My main concern was extending the internet via hardline from my brother's room to mine for a more reliable connection. Wifi sucks.

Oh and I got this kit super cheap. $70. Works great.
Reviewed By:Aaron,7/8/2014 8:36:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > MoCA Adapters > Motorola > MOTOROLA SBM1000 SURFboard MoCA SMART Video Coax Adapter 10/100 Base-T Ethernet (RJ-45)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Finally a solution
Pros: Works over existing cable
One unit has a 4 port hub
Does not require cable internet
Cons: Expensive if not on sale.
Other Thoughts: I have a two story house that was not wired for Ethernet. I've been using WMC for years, but always had issues getting Ethernet (TV) to our bedroom. WiFi and Ethernet over electrical did not work well, but this works great! I was initially concerned because I have cable internet, but it is NOT required.
Reviewed By:WMC Cord Cutter,7/5/2014 9:10:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > MoCA Adapters > Actiontec > Actiontec MoCA Ethernet to Coax Network Adapter Kit for Homes with Cable TV Service (ECB2500CK01)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Moca A la loca
Pros: Does everything it promises. Hook-up is a snap, Roku and laptop have never been this fast or this stable. Gone are the spinners and progress lines that used to take so long to get things going.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:JesusChrysler,6/30/2014 3:08:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > MoCA Adapters > Actiontec > Actiontec MoCA Ethernet to Coax Network Adapter Kit for Homes with Cable TV Service (ECB2500CK01)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Way Better Than Powerline
Pros: Very easy to setup.
Basically you plug one end into you the cable outlet and then run the other output from the Actiontec to your TV.
It gives you wired ethernet with very consistent ping times. 3-5ms in my case
Very Quick
Cons: So far none. Its been rock solid.
Other Thoughts: To install this inline with a cable modem, you need to use a splitter out of the wall. I believe it came with one. Then one side goes to the actiontec moca adapter and the other directly to the cable modem.

I then just plugged the ethernet into my switch and it was connected to the rest of my network.

I then plugged the other actiontec to my cable outlet and plugged the other coax into my TV and the ethernet to my TV.

Its been very stable. Works great.
Reviewed By:DebuDebu,5/15/2014 12:22:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > MoCA Adapters > Motorola > MOTOROLA SBM1000 SURFboard MoCA SMART Video Coax Adapter 10/100 Base-T Ethernet (RJ-45)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great for media center or data
Pros: These units are the most flexable available and will work with most cable systems, FIOS, and Directv. The 4 port unit is ideal for most media center applications. Speed is superior to wifi in most cases and stable. Can also be used to link home or office networks when running ethernet is difficult, it's good for anything that uses ethernet. If you have a large home wired with coax and have any trouble with wifi coverage consider these MOCA devices. I get 60 to 75 Mbps throughput. Highly recommend for anyone with wifi issues.
Cons: Price, unless they are on sale. Can be throughput issues on systems with poor quality coax, old narrow bandwith splitters, or systems dependent on older non-MoCA compatible amplifiers. Most problems can be resolved with satelite 2MGz splitters / diplexers, a MoCA POE or Whole House DVR filter, or MoCA bypass amplifiers. An auction site has these readily available for a reasonable price.
Other Thoughts: It's too bad the public doesn't really understand MoCA. Basically you piggyback ethernet frequencies on the same coax that carries your TV signals but at a higher or lower frequency than the video signals. Cable systems shift the frequency higher > 1MGz, Directv shifts them lower < 1 MGz and uses their version of MoCa called DECA. These motorola units will work with both systems.
Reviewed By:Friendly,5/3/2014 10:22:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > MoCA Adapters > Motorola > MOTOROLA SBM1000 SURFboard MoCA SMART Video Coax Adapter 10/100 Base-T Ethernet (RJ-45)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great networking device
Pros: Better than wireless in most cases.
Can be used to share internet / network with most all cable systems and Directv. Possibly DISH, but not certain.
Easy if you know what you are doing or do your homework on MOCA.
Cons: May require you to upgrade splitters and can sometimes cause interference with older cable modems but the fix is to use an additional MoCA POE filter before the router.
Not cheap.
Other Thoughts: These things are usually easy but there can be issues with old splitters and cable modems. The newer Motorola modems have Moca filters built in, but if you need more, check the auction site. Best to use satelite rated splitter or diplexer if you need to upgrade your older stuff. All moca adapters are interoperable between manufacturers. If you are on DIRECTV, it's far cheaper to get some DECA BROADBAND adapters(with power supply) as your devices, they are available from $10 to $12 on the auction site. Enjoy
Reviewed By:Friendly,4/20/2014 6:00:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > MoCA Adapters > Actiontec > Actiontec MoCA Ethernet to Coax Network Adapter Kit for Homes with Cable TV Service (ECB2500CK01)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Product
Pros: Easy Install. No setup required. Contains all necessary cables. Works great.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: I bought this kit because I was having poor picture quality and a lot of buffering with the wireless connection to my TiVo when streaming Netflix. Thirty minutes after the package was delivered it was up and running. Problem solved. Very easy installation. The package contained two sets of coax cables, two Ethernet cables – everything needed for the install. I did not need to go looking for anything.
Reviewed By:N/A,2/26/2014 6:54:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > MoCA Adapters > Motorola > MOTOROLA SBM1000 SURFboard MoCA SMART Video Coax Adapter 10/100 Base-T Ethernet (RJ-45)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Misleading Info / Good Product Nonetheless
Pros: + Works well pretty much out of the box (I got 50Mbs on the other end of this).

+ You can use both units for devices if you pair with SBG6782 (the new wireless AC router and cable DOCSIS 3.0 cable modem) which has MoCa incorporated.

+ Installation was simple (support call was required, but easy once I knew what to do).
Cons: - Poor Documentation (needed to call support)
- Confusing kit (not sure why I need some of those items)
- Misleading information on NewEgg (the only picture you really needed was the back of the item, and what you get in the box is not what you will expect from the description; One of the units only has 1 port, which I guess is fine for my Roku afterall)
Other Thoughts: Overall this kit was good, but I would have definitely bought the competitive product instead if I had known that one of the units would only be a one port. I paid more for Motorola, which in this case is just a re-branded ARRIS (maybe Motorola bought them out?). I will say I did get the help I needed from their support line and I talked to a support person almost immediately, so my impression of Arris is improved now. Everything worked, so overall fairly pleased with the purchase and I'm keeping the product.
Reviewed By:fastboxster,1/11/2014 10:50:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau