Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Network Antennas > Rosewill > Rosewill RNX-AD10D - High Power / Gain True 10 dBi Dual Band Network Directional Antenna - Most Powerful DualBand Antenna on Earth

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Easy to install - does not make much difference
Pros: - it fits most standard routers with removable antenas
Took it apart and it does have reflector and traces on board you would expect from a wireless antenna.
Cons: Tired on my wireless router and on a receiving PC in comparison with a number of other antennas. It was no better than the cheap short antennas that come with most wifi cards or cheap routers. A longer high gain antenna was significantly better in testing.
Cant tell without taking apart which direction it is supposed to face. Antennas that come with Asus 1900 AC router were better.
Other Thoughts: - Keep looking unfortunately if you want to improve your wifi
Reviewed By:Scott C.,1/10/2016 5:20:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Network Antennas > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-ANT2408C 2.4GHz 8dBi Indoor Desktop Omni-directional Antenna

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good purchase
Pros: Increased my range drastically. It's well designed with very strong magnets on the bottom for slapping it on the top or side of your PC case.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: This will fix your range problem just be careful with the magnets around your computer gear.
Reviewed By:Corey M.,1/4/2016 8:35:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Network Antennas > Rosewill > Rosewill RNX-AD5 - High Power / Gain True 5 dBi Dual Band Network Omni Directional Antenna - Basic Improvement of Your Routers

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Worked Great!
Pros: I broke the antennae off my old Buffalo Air Station about a two years ago. I went without that whole time, which mean my coverage was limited to a single room. Finally got this replacement and it worked perfectly. Range now covers the entire house.
Cons: None.
Reviewed By:N/A,11/24/2015 6:35:34 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Network Antennas > Linksys > Linksys WRT004ANT High-Gain Antenna 4-Pack

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good But Not Home Run
Pros: These antennas definitely boosted the range of my router. While in the Other Thoughts I put a table of signal strength do not show much of a difference until far away, I can say that anecdotally there was a noticeable difference.

In location 4 connection would be spotty and sometime webpages would take a while to load. In location 5, connection would be dropped occasionally. However with these antennas I had a solid connections and enough bandwidth to stream video smoothly.

They are an easy setup compared to other methods of extending a network. Just unscrew the original antennas and screw these in.
Cons: First, these antennas are not cheap for a small boost. A range entender would do a better job and cost about the same. It can also me place more strategically.
Other Thoughts: Location 2.4GHz 5GHz
HighGain Normal HighGain Normal
1 -25db -29db -24db -28db
2 -35db -36db -35db -35db
3 -40db -40db -52db -52db
4 -50db -47db -56db -58db
5 -58db -60db -60db no signal

1) Next to Router, 2) Across Room, 3) one room away with then wall 4) one room away around cordern with thick wall in between, 5) Past the thick wall, down a hallway
Reviewed By:N/A,11/10/2015 10:19:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Network Antennas > Linksys > Linksys WRT004ANT High-Gain Antenna 4-Pack

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 They Work - Know What You Are Buying
Pros: +Noticeable improvement to my routers' range - My house sits in the middle of a 3/4 acre lot and when I mow the lawn and listen to streaming media from my phone I sometimes lose signal in the areas that are farthest from the house. (just a minor 'first-world problem' type of annoyance) With these range extender antennas I am able to mow the whole lawn without any interruption from my wireless network. I specifically spent an inordinate amount of time in some of the areas that have given me trouble in the past and have been unable to break free of the network. This applies to both 2.4 and 5Ghz networks, although 2.4Ghz still has a noticeably stronger signal at range.

+Aesthetically, these match my Lynksys WRT1900AC. They are HUGE and look like parts from a Japanese robot, but so does the router so at least they match.

+Simple - Much simpler than setting up a repeater. Just plug them in, point them straight up, and your range will be extended.
Cons: -HUGE - Measuring 10" in length, I had to change the placement of my router to accommodate the longer antennas.

-Weaker signal at short range - These antennas basically sacrifice some short range bandwidth in order to extend range. My main PC, in the next room over from the router, typically connects at around 877Mbps. With the new antennas the new norm is around 706Mbps. Both are fast enough for my needs, but it is worth noting.

-More expensive than some powered repeaters - In many situations, such as multi-story homes, a repeater will be a better answer to wireless range/bandwidth issues.
Other Thoughts: These antennas are directional, as most antennas are, so it is beneficial to know how to best position the antennas for ideal signal. For these, and most antennas that look like these, you can imagine the signal expanding outward from around the antenna in the shape of a doughnut. This should tell you that if the antenna is pointed straight up you will have blind spots directly above and directly below the antenna. The best signal is in the areas that are perpendicular to the antenna. My home is a single story 'ranch-style' so it works best for me to have all of the antennas pointed straight up. If your home is multi-story it might make sense to use a different configuration, but knowing where the blind spots are with relation to the antennas themselves should help you figure that out. Ranch-style is certainly the ideal for these antennas.

I recorded detailed signal measurements in each room of my house, on the front and back porch, in the side-attached garage, and in the four corners of the yard around the parameter of the property. The overall pattern that emerged is that signal is certainly improved at long range, while being slightly degraded or unchanged at short range. Here are some of the detailed results, averaged from 2 minutes of readings for each frequency from a handheld detector at each location:


@12feet, through 1 wall

Stock
2.4Ghz '-46.63dBm'
5Ghz '-48.27dBm'

WRT004ANT
2.4Ghz '-47.63dBm', Worse by 1dBm
5Ghz '-50.27dBm', Worse by 2dBm



@Garage, roughly 50ft, through 3 walls

Stock
2.4Ghz '-57.5dBm'
5Ghz '-58.9dBm'

WRT004ANT
2.4Ghz '-48.81dBm', Better by 8.69dBm
5Ghz '-56.18dBm', Better by 2.72dBm



@Corner of the yard, roughly 100ft, through 1 wall

Stock
2.4Ghz '-68dBm'
5Ghz '-78.8dBm'

WRT004ANT
2.4Ghz '-60.6dBm', Better by 7.4dBm
5Ghz '-69.8dBm', Better by 9dBm

So, in summary, these antennas successfully accomplish what they claim, which is boosting the range of your router. However, what the packaging and product descriptions neglect to mention is that this extension of range comes at the cost of short range bandwidth. That probably isn't going to be a big deal for most, and it isn't for me, but it is worth mentioning. If you require extra range and don't mind a slightly degraded signal at close range then these should fulfill your needs. If you are in a multi-story home, or don't want to sacrifice bandwidth at close range, then powered range extenders might be your best option.
Reviewed By:N/A,11/10/2015 7:33:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Network Antennas > Linksys > Linksys WRT004ANT High-Gain Antenna 4-Pack

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Carry a big stick?
Pros: + Well constructed antennas, compatible with most any router.
+ Dual-band, enhanced horizontal signal.
+ Will work well with a beam-formng AC router.
Cons: - Unusually large -- ~11 inches long.
- Quite expensive (though currently on sale).
- There's only so much an antenna can do.
- Remember that an antenna is a passive device and cannot actually boost total signal strength. It can make it directional, however. It's up to you to figure out if the sacrifice in some directions is worth the gain in the (horizontal) direction you want it to go.
Other Thoughts: These antennas have a standard connector and should work with most routers, but they are quite large. I have a Linksys WRT1900 AC router, which comes with four antennas ~4.5 inches long. These high-gain antennas are more than twice as long, at ~11 inches. They appear almost identical at the base, with a stiff rotational collar and elbow joint, so that they remain stable. On the WRT1900, they slightly improved the signal range. I was more interested in whether they would improve my Archer C-7, which I use dedicated to the 5GHz band. The C-7 router comes with 3 antennas ~8 inches long, and I could not see any improvement when switching them out.

I considered using the Linksys antennas on an AC adapter card that is installed on a desktop computer, but the antennas are just to large to use in that application. So I tried one more thing: I put the Linksys antennas on the C-7 router, and the router's antennas on the desktop wi-fi adapter. That actually gave me a noticable improvement.

I live in an old farmhouse that presents challenges to wifi: long distances outside, and lots of interference (like 12" thick walls) inside. 2.4GHZ works pretty well, but the 5GHz band is always a challenge. These antennas make a marginal difference, for a pretty steep price. I think they are most helpful if both the router and the receiving adapter have external antennas and AC beamforming capability -- so that you get the benefit not only of the high-gain antenna, but also the additional gain that comes from a directional "phased array" signal.
Reviewed By:N/A,11/3/2015 10:12:37 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Network Antennas > Linksys > Linksys WRT004ANT High-Gain Antenna 4-Pack

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great for rural application
Pros: Increased range and throughput on the 5ghz band
Increased range on the 2.4ghz band – although not especially noticeable for most use cases
They work with most wireless routers with external antennas.
They work even better in rural locations where there is less interference.
Cons: The antennas themselves are quite large – this may become an issue depending on where your router is located. My router is located near the ceiling and I needed to relocate it when testing it at home (I also tested it at a friend’s house – see other thoughts)
Most people won’t notice any improvement for larger multi-story living spaces as the gains made are horizontal and not vertical and these can reduce the signal and throughput for vertical coverage.
Price. These are expensive. (Although just before I wrote this review I received an email from Linksys stating they are discounting these antennas by 40% 11/2 and 11/3 directly from Linksys so it’s possible that these will get reduced pricing from time to time so I won't remove an egg for pricing.)
Other Thoughts: I first tested these antennas at home with my WRT1900AC router and a few other routers from other companies (Buffalo & TP Link). Definite improvement on the 5ghz band as speeds were very respectable going from ~20MBps to ~40MBps from my WRT1900AC router to my office (20 feet away). Reception was also improved – going from about -80dbm to about -70dbm. I didn’t really notice any improvement on the 2.4ghz band at my home (a split-level home).
I then decided to test these antennas at a buddy’s home (who lives out of town/in a rural area). There was a much more noticeable effect from these antennas at his home. His router in his home would reach his shop (~100 feet away), but only just barely, and the connection was unreliable. These antennas made it possible to have a reliable connection in his shop, and even the 5ghz band was now visible (although just barely, and not usable).

Overall I would recommend these (especially if they have a price reduction) for the increased 5ghz signal and throughput for most use cases, and in rural use cases I would definitely recommend them if you need your signal to reach another structure on your property (if it is within 100’).
Reviewed By:N/A,11/2/2015 8:52:30 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Network Antennas > Linksys > Linksys WRT004ANT High-Gain Antenna 4-Pack

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: - Tests gave a great increase in range on router and even my wireless card.
- Extremely simple installation.
- Semi-Planar design (focuses on horizontal range improvement over vertical.)
Cons: Just the price.

Mine didn't come with any sort of manual or notes or any sort of instructions just 4 antennas in a plastic tray in a box, it is important to note that the antennas need to be straight up.
So i figure there should have been something since some people may not know that, this may be because of this being a review item but I'm unsure.
Other Thoughts: Its hard to say if this may save much $ over bridging multiple routers in larger homes but it certainly improves range greatly.

For best performance the antennas should be straight up, its important to understand these are meant for horizontal improvement not vertical.
If you have a second router not directly above you may need to point the antenna at it BUT keep in mind that may cause horizontal connection issues.
Since these have a focused vertical range, you would likely need to bridge a router directly above it in upper floor if its in a large home.
Reviewed By:N/A,11/1/2015 12:43:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Network Antennas > Linksys > Linksys WRT004ANT High-Gain Antenna 4-Pack

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice performance and range increase
Pros: I was excited to get the 4-pack of Linksys high-gain antennas, because I live in a 2-story house with some gaps in coverage and I've never been able to get any kind of usable signal in my garage. I'm happy to say that the antennas deliver on their promise of improved signal strength and range.

I installed these antennas on a non-Linksys brand 802.11ac router. Although the color scheme clashes badly, the antennas plugged right in. So even if you don't have a Linksys router, these antennas may still work. Just make sure the attachment type is compatible and you'll need a solid 5/8" or so diameter around the plug if the plug is recessed due to the nice ribbed collar around the connector.

Speaking of that connector, its nice to see that the connectors seemed to be well constructed. I expect these antennas to be very durable and should probably last long enough that I can use them on future new wifi routers whenever I upgrade what I'm currently using.

For testing, due to a lot of competing signals from neighbor's wifi, my download speeds usually vary quite a bit based on neighbor activity. So I didn't do speed testing. Instead, I monitored signal strength in a few locations in the house and tested signal usability in areas that were unusable with the original antennas. I was very happy to see that in the area where I usually use my laptop, signal strength went from 82% to 100%. In my wife's office, signal strength went from 50% to 75%. In the garage where the wifi signal was present but unusable, strength went up to about 40% and I could actually connect to the internet and browse web pages.

So I consider this antenna upgrade an unqualified success - It boosted signal strength (and probably transfer speeds) everywhere I checked, and it gave me a useable signal in my garage where previously I couldn't get any sort of useable network access.

I should note here that because my wifi router only has 3 antennas, I only used 3 of the 4 included antennas. So I have a spare in case one of them breaks and if my next router has 4 antennas then I'm set up for success without having to buy additional antennas.
Cons: The only con I have is that there wasn't any sort of instruction or information booklet included in the packaging. Some simple details on recommended antenna angles or technical specifications on the antenna gain was what I expected, but nothing was included. I suppose you can find this information online but it wasn't even printed on blank spots on the box. The only useful bit of information was a notice that these antennas are omnidirectional, which means that beyond basic rules like don't point the tip of the antenna directly at where you want the signal to go, there shouldn't be any real restrictions on how the antennas are oriented to get good signal strength. There are some reviews that state that these antennas are directional, and I believe that to be incorrect based on the antenna design and what it says right on the box. Again, just don't point the tip right at the receiver and it should be ok.
Other Thoughts: Overall I recommend these antennas as a really nice and easy upgrade for any compatible wifi router. The antennas are compatible with 802.11a/b/n/g/ac, meaning pretty much every router on the market that has removable antennas. Of course if you don't have a Linksys branded router then the color scheme won't match, but that's a pretty small concession to make for the improved performance. Also some people might be turned off by the large size of the antennas since these things are about a foot long each, but that's what gives them the improved performance so anyone who needs/wants the performance probably won't care about the size.

I'm keeping these in use on my main router, and I expect they'll be transferred to my next router too. It's a tech investment that'll last a while.
Reviewed By:N/A,10/31/2015 10:26:07 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Network Antennas > Linksys > Linksys WRT004ANT High-Gain Antenna 4-Pack

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Linksys High Gain Antenna
Pros: + Easy installation
+ Enormous thick blades vs. stock blades. Approx. 10"
+ Compatible with all routers using RP-SMA connections
+ Package provides 4 - enough to cover all routers
Cons: - Price
- Gain is advertised as effective on a horizontal plane
Other Thoughts: First let me say I was provided these to test and review. My environment is a 3 story (if including the basement) modern home. I currently am using an Archer C7 router located in the basement where the cable enters the home. I have a Linksys RE4100W-4A range extender on the first floor above. At first glance I thought these would enable me to eliminate the range extender. I checked out my current setup using a WiFi Analyzer app on my cell phone. I went to the limits on each floor and noted the readings on both 2.4 Ghz and 5 Ghz bands. I then unplugged the range extender and repeated the experiment. For the next step I installed the Linksys high gain antenna kit on my Archer C7. For the final step I went around the house using the WiFi Analyzer app on my cell phone. I did see an improvement on the signal in the basement and on the first floor with the 5 Ghz band. I did not see any noticeable difference with the 2.4 Ghz. Later after reading one review I learned the Archer C7 uses internal antenna for the 2.4 Ghz band. That is a good point and one you too should check with your router before investing in this item. As for the top floor, I could not see any appreciable difference. The signal strength was less than with the range extender plugged in. The difference in the basement and first floor was close to the advertised gain. I realize my testing was not high tech and surely not what they use in a lab, however I believe the average consumer would be looking for a noticeable improvement when putting out their cash. In the end, I left the antenna installed and plugged my range extender back in.

Conclusion: While I did see some signal gain, I did not see the amount of gain I expected given the price point. These did not eliminate my range extender, which really boosts the strength to the third floor. You will need to consider your home layout, home construction and LAN setup before buying these. At the suggested retail price, I believe it would be up to the individual's usage to determine the cost effectiveness. If you live in a ranch home, then by all means give them a try. If you live in a bi or tri-level home, then you may want to consider a range extender or repeater if you are having signal issues. Thanks!
Reviewed By:N/A,10/29/2015 7:32:36 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.