Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Network Antennas > Linksys > Linksys WRT004ANT High-Gain Antenna 4-Pack

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Easy to Install - Your Results May Vary
Pros: I reviewed the Linksys WRT004ANT High-Gain Antenna 4-Pack. This kit is also offered in a 2-Pack version.

See below the advantages sited by the manufacturer Linksys below:

+ High-Gain antennas expand your WiFi network's coverage.
+ Omni-directional design increases coverage across the horizontal plane.
+ 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz dual-band support provides faster connections.
+ Quick, easy setup with threaded RP-SMA connection ports.
+ 2x Gain: Offers up to double the antenna gain of standard antennas.
+ Dual-Band: Delivers up to 4 dBi in the 2.4 GHz band and up to 7 dBi in the 5 GHz band.

Item number two above is a very important point to consider. Note that these antennas offer increased gain in the horizontal plain, but at the expense of gain in the vertical realm. The short antennas supplied with most routers are designed for omni-directional use, in that they radiate and receive signals in a spherical pattern similar to a lollipop shape. When you install these high-gain antennas you are essentially compressing that omni-sphere into a flatter pancake-like antenna pattern and gaining more coverage in the horizontal plain. So you are trading vertical coverage for better horizontal coverage.

For example: If your home is a ranch style, or your business is located all on one level, then these high-gain antennas could help to extend your WIFI coverage, to either end of your home or business. If on the other hand you own a smaller quad-level home like I do, then these antennas are less likely to help. With a multi-level home or business you may be better off to stick with the shorter omni-directional antennas, and install a second router, or additional booster(s), or repeater(s), on the other floor levels. If you have a large back yard, or live on a farm and wish to improve the coverage further out into your yard, then these antennas might help. I say might, because there are so many variables involved in every WIFI installation. The location of your router in relation to your portable devices. The type of materials your home or business are constructed out of, the number of floors or partitions the WIFI signals have to pass through. Metal air ducts, steel doors and beams can all deflect WIFI signals in weird ways. The list of possible WIFI interference problems is nearly endless.

These antennas are well-constructed in that they have stiff rotating joints that prevent them from falling over and help to keep them in the recommended upright position.
Cons: The package contained four antennas and no instructions or suggestions on how to best use them. No antenna braces were included as with similar past kits from Linksys. A check of the vendors web site also did not turn-up any additional documentation.

After I connected the four extended antennas in place of the four standard antennas on my Linksys E8350 AC router, the signal levels indicated on my laptops in my kitchen area actually dropped from four bars down to three and the data rate dropped accordingly as well. The signal in my back yard and garage did improve. So I gained signal at a distance of 50 feet or more, but lost signal strength in the near-zone.

These antennas seem rather pricey considering their mostly plastic construction. For that reason I would carefully weigh the Pros and Cons before making your purchase. Please make sure you can return them if they do not help your particular WIFI situation.

If you look at other reviews on the Internet and based on my own experience in testing these, you can expect mixed results. They either helped people’s WIFI issues, or they did not. There seemed to be little middle ground. If your intended use matches my distant horizontal coverage recommendations above, then give these a try. On the other hand if you also need vertical signal coverage, then I would look to other solutions. Given the retail price of this kit, you could use that money to buy a nice second router, repeater, or a signal booster. If you are considering adding a second router, be sure to include the cost of having your ISP install another cable to feed the Internet WAN signal to that second router. Also ask if you will be charged for the second WAN feed. Typically ISP’s don’t charge if they can use a an Ethernet switch to supply the Internet WAN signal to the second router.
Other Thoughts: Other solutions I have used successfully in my PC consulting business to solve weak WIFI issues include: Adding signal booster amplifiers, installing repeaters, or additional access points, and or installing directional WIFI antennas.

While these extended length antennas can offer a viable solution when their limitations are taken into proper consideration, there are also other cost effective solutions available as noted above that might serve you better. If these Linksys antennas were less costly then I would not hesitate to recommend them. At the current price point, I would only recommend this kit when the limitations listed above have first been carefully considered.
Reviewed By:William W.,7/24/2016 8:55:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Network Antennas > Rosewill > Rosewill RNX-AD10D - High Power / Gain True 10 dBi Dual Band Network Directional Antenna - Most Powerful DualBand Antenna on Earth

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great antenna
Pros: Really boosts the signal when aimed properly. My router is several rooms away from my PC, and the antenna can boost the signal from weak to good.
Cons: It's not a con of this particular product, but aiming directional wifi antennas can be tricky.
Reviewed By:Kyle P.,7/7/2016 10:14:24 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Network Antennas > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-ANT2405C 2.4GHz 5dBi Indoor/Desktop Omni-directional Antenna

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 TP-LINK TL-ANT2405C
Pros: Improves reception tremendously. Good construction. Corrected poor reception in a dead spot area. No issues after installation. Great product.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: Recommed for improved wireless reception over original antenna.
Reviewed By:Edmund G.,5/25/2016 9:55:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Network Antennas > Rosewill > Rosewill RNX-AD10D - High Power / Gain True 10 dBi Dual Band Network Directional Antenna - Most Powerful DualBand Antenna on Earth

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Easy setup but minimal improvment
Pros: It's very easy to install. I may would for other people but it doesn't work for me. :-(
Cons: I got a pair of this antennas. My router and AP only gain about 2%. I also need to tweak it to get 2%. At first, I lost a few % with this installed
Other Thoughts: I never tested 2.4GHZ. It may be better. I am using AC, the 5GHZ is not good for anything more than 50ft. It's the way it is. I have ASUS- RT-AC68W. I borrow an Linksys wrt1900ac. Both don't get good result after 50ft. I think if I really need good result. I have to get into the semi-professional gear such as Ingenius or Ubiquiti network stuff.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Christopher,

We apologize for the inconvenience you are experiencing with our product.
Since this is not an omni-directional antenna, it can only amplify the signal in the direction the antenna is pointing to.
We would suggest you point the antenna towards the direction that you would like amplified most.

If you have any further questions or concerns, please let us know.
Thank you for choosing Rosewill.

Sincerely,

Rosewill Support

Email: rma@rosewill.com
Email2:techsupport@rosewill.com
Call Center 1-800-575-9885

Monday - Friday 8AM - 5PM PST

Reviewed By:Christopher T.,5/18/2016 3:38:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Network Antennas > Rosewill > Rosewill RNX-AD10D - High Power / Gain True 10 dBi Dual Band Network Directional Antenna - Most Powerful DualBand Antenna on Earth

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very Great product
Pros: The installation was easy, this was to rempalce my broken AC Antenna from my ASRocK motherboard, and they are even better than thoese that came withmy motherboard. usually id get 2 bars in my room, but with these, i get a full bar and it never drops. i bought two of these, and they are simply great.
Cons: They are big, but if you got a mid ATX tower like me, easy to hide them behind the casing, and attack them with rubber bands
Other Thoughts: If anything were to go wrong with them it just buy them again, they are simply the best bang for your buck.
Reviewed By:Francisco D.,4/28/2016 6:26:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Network Antennas > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-ANT2408C 2.4GHz 8dBi Indoor Desktop Omni-directional Antenna

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great
Pros: It works great. Went from 1 bar to 4 with no drops. Can now use the internet with out problems.
Cons: tried to place it on the side of filing cabinet buy iy slowly slid down. Found a place that had not been waxed by the cleaning crew as much and all is great
Reviewed By:Robert H.,4/28/2016 3:25:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Network Antennas > Jobar > Ideaworks USB Powered Long Distance WiFi Antenna

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works Great - Description a bit misleading
Pros: Much higher gain than my lid antenna. Enables connecting to Wi-Fi links that would normally be unusable with my Dells (or other notebook).
Cons: Description misleading, it is a USB antenna - does not have any SMA connector on it (despite description). Requires loading a driver file. There is no easy way to switch back to lid antenna - other than removing driver file - hence, you have to carry the external antenna all the time. Make a copy of the driver CD, because if you misplace it - there's no easy way to get a copy of the driver file - should you need to reload it.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend it, and, in fact - i purchased a second one - just in case the primary one failed. I have used it to d/l email and video from adjacent motels and restaurants, when the cybercafe i was using had WiFi that wasn't working.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,3/31/2016 7:28:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Network Antennas > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-ANT2424B 2.4GHz 24dBi Grid Parabolic Antenna

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 High gain directional WIFI outdoor antenna
Pros: Solid construction, very high gain to extend WIFI. Comes with hardware to mount to standard TV antenna mast. It's been outdoors now for several years, and it works!
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: I have used this antenna for over 4 years now (purchased from Newegg) with no problems. Distance of a little over 3000 feet, NOT line of sight, with several metal buildings and trees in the way. (House to shop). Used this antenna on the shop, with an Amped Wireless UA600 (600mw) USB radio, and the DSL-supplied WIFI router at the house with indoor antenna. Used a short R-SMA to N-type pigtail from the WIFI radio to a 20-foot N-to-N M/F cable to the antenna. Signal strength about -45db, transfer rate about 150Mbps. Newegg has all the cables I needed.
TIP: Tighten outdoor connectors using pliers, then tape from the coax to coax, using a good quality black electrical tape (3M), covering the metal connector, to prevent moisture from getting into the connector. Mine has weathered several seasons with no loss of performance.
Highly recommended if you need directional boost.
In an open 'line-of-site' situation (where you can see the antenna) over an extended distance, I believe this antenna could do 30+ miles, with this antenna on each end, and with an amplified WIFI radio on each end. Check out the Silverstone 1000-mw radio on Newegg?
Reviewed By:David S.,3/22/2016 1:51:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Network Antennas > ASUS > ASUS WL-ANT157 5dBi/7dBi High Gain Dual-band Wireless Antenna

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Look else where
Pros: Sort of works.
Cons: It does no better than my stock omnidirectional antennas that my router came with. Also it has a 360 degree rotation, BUT because of the rotation design I could not twist it to the position I needed to point it, I had to turn the router slightly to get the antenna to point in the right direction. I would not recommend this antenna. Look else where for a better directional antenna.
Other Thoughts: I would have given it an egg and a half if I could. It does work just not any better than my oem antennas.
Reviewed By:Dusty W.,2/28/2016 1:35:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Network Antennas > Hawking Technology > HAWKING HAO14SDP Hi-Gain 14dBi Outdoor Directional Antenna Kit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 200 feet
Pros: 200ft. 5 Bars. Through a shingled roof, aluminum Gurage Door ,and 2 walls using it on a wireless repeater as an antenna for receiving the host signal.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: This antenna nailed it. you have to work with the Cable short or go buy a very expensive drop cable. Inches of cable cause signal loss on WiFi no matter the grade.
Reviewed By:TERRY A.,2/18/2016 4:15:59 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.