Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate 1.5TB Backup Plus Slim Hard Drives - Portable External Model STDR1500101 Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Convenient and handy product
Pros: USB v3.0 - allows for high speed data transfer as well as backward compatible to USB v2.0
Descent capacity.
No external power needed - draws power from USB port
Small size makes it easy to pack around
Cons: I haven't had any issues, so far no Cons discovered.
Other Thoughts: This is a great little device for backing up data or storing data, tools, software etc. It is handy because of it's small size, descent capacity, quick USB v3.0 transfer speeds and no need for external power.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/25/2016 4:59:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate 1TB Backup Plus Ultra Slim Portable External Hard Drive with 200GB of Cloud Storage & Mobile Device Backup USB 3.0 Model STEH1000101 Gold

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 One of the best backup solutions you will find right now
Pros: This drive is awesome and it is definitely my new portable drive solution. It is very slim and non-obtrusive. Very modern, elegant in design and I've gotten great comments on this drive. The speed is great and I have been averaging 110 MB/s using USB 3.0. No issues with a month of use using it to transfer video, music, photo and large amount of other personal data. Very happy and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a small portable drive with a huge amount of space. 1 T is an still an enormous amount of space especially for a portable solution.

An added bonus is the 200 GB of cloud storage for 2 years. I'm not even sure why they had to add this but how cool is that? 50 GB would have been awesome, but 200 GB is outstanding and simply amazes me. I no longer search through pictures to try to save the best ones to save on space and just keep everything and this cloud storage has just made that easier because my other cloud storage only gives me 50 GB of storage.
Cons: It's still a mechanical drive and I would hate to drop this onto a hard surface. Accidents do happen when you least expect them and I plan on having an additional backup of the important data on this drive onto another drive but this is common sense with any drive so always keep that in mind.

Speed transfer is another concern. It would take over 2 hrs to fill this drive and probably more closer to 3+ if you were writing at full speed. An SSD would be a much better choice if speed and huge amounts of data are of most importance.
Other Thoughts: This is a great solution to anyone needing a portable drive with a large amount of space, ultimate portability and very elegant design. I know I will be getting a lot of use out of this drive and the cloud storage that Seagate has included for free is pretty awesome and almost unheard of with any other drive you will find.
Reviewed By:Mr. K.,7/25/2016 11:39:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus Slim 1TB Portable External Hard Drive with 200GB of Cloud Storage & Mobile Device Backup USB 3.0 - STDR1000100 (Black)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DOA, I am not impressed.
Pros: It is thin. Came highly recommended by a major comparative review so I thought I should try it.
Cons: DOA. The USB connection was found and the un-allocated drive was found but Windows 10 could not initialize it on two separate systems. Makes a whining noise on start up. Followed the companies trouble shooting recommendations with no success.
Other Thoughts: This was highly recommended in a major comparative review. Bought this from another vendor. I had not tried Seagate for years and use Samsung for SSDs and Western Digital for platters. I returned it for refund rather than exchange. It is possible that it was damaged or jarred in shipping. I will get an external SSD or an enclosure and put an SSD in it since they are less susceptible to physical damage due to jarring.
Reviewed By:Stephen B.,7/24/2016 8:09:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD 3TB Berry My Passport Ultra Portable External Hard Drive - USB 3.0 - WDBBKD0030BBY-NESN

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works great, Portable, take anywhere I go, use it primarily for storage of RAW and JPG photographs.
Pros: Quiet makes no noise.
Small compact fits in any pocket.
Lots of storage for the money.
Used to store photographs when out on the road shooting.
Cons: None at this time.
Other Thoughts: N/A
Reviewed By:Duane L.,7/23/2016 12:12:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate 4TB Expansion Portable External Hard Drive USB 3.0 Model STEA4000400 Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Hard to Believe.
Pros: It is hard to believe that Seagate has packed 4TB of space into such a small package. The drive is formatted with a GPT partition so that you have access to all of the space on the drive. Should you choose to reformat it as a MBR partition then you will only be able to access 2TB. The drive works very well and I am completely satisfied with this purchase.
Cons: The USB 3.0 cable is a bit on the short side. <update 7-20-2016> There seems to be a compatibility issue between the Gigabyte GA-Z97-HD3P motherboard and this drive when a Logitech wireless keyboard and mouse are plugged in to one USB 3.0 port and the 4TB drive in the other. If you unplug the Logitech unified receiver then the drive works fine or if you plug the 4TB drive into a different USB 3.0 port the drive works fine. The two ports are connected to the 20 pin USB 3./2.0 connector on the motherboard. I have not been able to pinpoint what is causing the incompatibility issue, but I wanted to mention it since some are reporting errors and other problems using this drive.
Other Thoughts: You can store a tremendous video and/or music library on this drive and still have space left over for a bunch of backups. I am not real fond of the diamond pattern of the case, but I can live with it. I don't think that you would regret purchasing this drive if you are looking for a large drive.
Reviewed By:Virgil B.,7/21/2016 5:56:08 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate 4TB Game Drive for Xbox One USB 3.0 Model STEA4000402 - Green

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Ugly, but fast and tons of storage.
Pros: A HUGE amount of storage for installing games. I quickly installed my games on to this drive and loading games installed this drive felt just as fast as they were on the internal hard drive. Set up was easy, just plugged it in and it was ready to go. This also works well on my Windows 10 computer and showed up as a regular 4TB hard drive.

I've had a bunch of Seagate External drives and they have been running very well and have stood the test of time. This is similar to my old externals, just a bit thicker and green.
Cons: On a technical level, this drive is very good.However, it is an ugly shade of green that would have been appropriate 14 years ago for the Original Xbox, today the tacky green is just out of place. The current XBOne is primarily available in black, and the XBOne-S will be white, this doesn't match either machine and is kind of an eyesore next to my machine.

It would be nice if it was a bit easier to hide, but the USB 3.0 cable is pretty short, which makes hiding it if your using the side USB port a bit of a pain.
Other Thoughts: The ugly color and short cable are minor issues considering how much storage and quick this external hard drive is. Would be nice if Seagate differentiated this drive more from their standard PC external drives, outside of the Xbox logo on the top. Maybe removable plates for the top and bottom so we can change the color of the drive to best match the owners XBox would be a nice addition.

As it stands, it's a solid drive that performs well, but a standard Desktop USB 3.0 4TB drive would do the same thing, and they tend to cost less and have a less polarizing color.
Reviewed By:Rauel C.,7/19/2016 11:45:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate 1.5TB Portable External Hard Drive USB 3.0 Model STBX1500401 Black

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Was good while it lasted...
Pros: Fast transfer speed, massive storage in small package, Aesthetically pleasing...
Cons: Failed in 17 months...
Other Thoughts: Started displaying I/O errors after about 16 actual months of little to moderate use... I have over 12 external/portable HDDs so this did not receive excessive use...
Reviewed By:William F.,7/19/2016 7:39:51 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate 1TB Backup Plus Ultra Slim Portable External Hard Drive with 200GB of Cloud Storage & Mobile Device Backup USB 3.0 Model STEH1000101 Gold

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Small, distintive looking product with the speed to back it up
Pros: It is a very thin but attractive case.
The White LED is very unobtrusive, yet easy to see from most any angle.
The gold color is not glossy at all, a very satin finish to it.
The dimples break up what would otherwise be a plain surface.
After transferring 20 gigs of data (110-115MB/s read and write) the case was right at 104°F, barely warm at all.
Very portable. It is more inconvenient carrying the cable than the drive itself.
200 GB online storage for free (for 2 years) through OneDrive, setup is simple if you already have it setup.
Cons: No built in security. Yes it is easy to find online, but should be included IMO.
Price is too high. You can get double the capacity for just ten dollars more with the 2 tb model. This is the reason for 1 egg off.
Other Thoughts: I am now using this plugged in to my router as a central storage location. It is thin enough to fit under the router, so it takes up no extra space. Kind of a shame to hide it though since it looks so nice.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/17/2016 8:58:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD 1TB My Passport Portable Hard Drive USB 3.0 Model WDBBEP0010BBK Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great price and all three I bought work.
Pros: -cheep and received in good condition.
-portable
-USB 3.0 works with not wire finesse.
Cons: -The drives inside are really USB and not SATA so you can not pop them out and into a computer. The IO controller is made to be USB and nothing else.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/17/2016 5:34:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD 1TB Black My Passport Ultra Portable External Hard Drive - USB 3.0 - WDBGPU0010BBK-NESN

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Dangerous to USB 3.0 Bus
Pros: none
Cons: failed after three uses. returned, and replacement also failed.
Other Thoughts: I used this HDD with Gigabyte GA X99 SLI mobo. This HDD burned out the USB 3.0 Bus by drawing over 900ma. I replaced the mobo, and the replacement WD 1TB MyPassport burned out the 2nd GA X99 SLI mobo in exactly the same way. This was a very expensive and time consuming experience.
Reviewed By:David F.,7/17/2016 4:38:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.