Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate 1TB Expansion Portable External Hard Drive USB 3.0 Model STEA1000400 Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent External HHD
Pros: Easy installation. No issues.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: Using it in my Xbox One and it works flawlessly.
Reviewed By:Cristian M.,6/27/2016 10:02:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD 1TB Black My Passport Ultra Portable External Hard Drive - USB 3.0 - WDBGPU0010BBK-NESN

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Had to update the USB 3.0 drivers
Pros: 1TB
Good price
Great warranty
Has comprehensive manual and software stored on the drive
Nifty "Quick View" utility in the system tray after installing the Utilities software
Didn't use the backup software so I can't comment on that.
Cons: Had to update the USB 3. 0 port drivers in order to make it play nicely.
Other Thoughts: My computer is 6 years old with the design of the motherboard probably being a few years older than that. With that being said, when I plugged the Passport into the USB 3.0 port it immediately wanted to install the SES driver, but it didn't. I was able to access the Passport anyway without it. But, after I manually installed the SES driver and rebooted, Windows 7 wanted to format the Passport. I did not think the Passport needed to be reformatted. So instead I visited the USB 3 maker's website, downloaded the latest driver and installed it. After another reboot, the Passport was accessed with no problem. However, the response was more like it was plugged into a USB 2 port. A 40GB copy process took 12 minutes. The copy started at 100MB/sec. then dropped to 60MB/sec. after just a couple minutes. I don't blame the Passport for this performance. I believe it is old technology trying to
communicate with new technology. Also, a mechanical hard drive cannot perform write operations at the speed of an USB 3 ort. So I cannot believe I will ever get the 5GB/sec promissed by USB 3. But, I am planning on upgrading my computer hardware and OS to Wndows 10. Will see how it performs after that. Overall, I am pleased with this purchase. I like Western Digital's products and would buy again.
Reviewed By:Carl B.,6/26/2016 8:55:29 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > G-Technology > G-Technology 1TB G-DRIVE mobile Portable Hard Drive USB 3.0 / Thunderbolt Model 0G03040 Silver

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Perfect for Time Machine & my New iMac
Pros: Easy set-up and works flawlessly!
Cons: Nothing.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/26/2016 7:12:16 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 1TB P3 Portable External Hard Drive USB 3.0 Model STSHX-MTD10EF

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Samsung
Pros: Small Size, Compact, Included Software.
Cons: NONE
Other Thoughts: Included software was great. Fast Speeds for a HDD
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/24/2016 3:16:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate 4TB Game Drive for Xbox One USB 3.0 Model STEA4000402 - Green

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: - 128mb cache helps it write nearly as fast as a 7200rpm 16-32mb cache drive (it is 5400rpm).
- USB 3
- It's green.
Cons: Price? It itself in windows literally says it's a seagate expansion portable 4tb drive and hardware when plugged in, is an xbox label really worth marking up its retail price 50$ higher??

Seatools (seagates diagnostic software) doesn't really support full testing of their or any USB hard drives. Seatools almost always reports errors when there is none which is even noted by seagate themselves. But its still weird that their site suggests using seatools for this if there is an issue yet it cant actually test if there is.. one? It helps with checking warranty information but you'd need to know if there's an issues first right?
Other Thoughts: The seatools con isn't even about the drive but does feel relevant, after all it's virtually impossible to have any realistic cons or pros about a hard drive unless its DOA or fails, anyways seagates diagnostic reports this:
----------------------------------------------------------------
Model: Expansion
Firmware: 9300
Model Number: ST4000LM016-1N2170
Firmware Revision: 0003
Drive Capacity: 4.00 TB / 3.64 TiB
Drive Temperature (C/F): 24 / 75
Sector size (Logical/Physical/Allignment): 512 / 4096 / 0
Rotation rate: 5400 RPM
Form factor: 2.5 inch
Specification Supported: ACS-2
Encryption Support: Not Supported
Security Mode: Supported
SMART: Enabled
Host Protected Area features: Enabled
Advanced Power Management: Enabled
Download Microcode: Segmented
----------------------------------------------------------------
I only tried seatools because it was writing insanely slow, i forgot but then remembered some versions of windows by default don't allow cache on portable drives so it had to be enabled in device management, after which it worked very well.

If your drive seems excessively slow when/if using it on windows, goto my computer, right click the drive, click properties, goto hardware tab, click on seagate expansion usb device, click properties, then click the change settings button on bottom left, under policies tab make sure 'better performance' and 'write caching' are enabled.

Overall it works great games run well on it haven't had any xbox issues so far, and is still a good price (since most sites mark it down from that retail increase) for 4tb portable drive although its still odd about the retail pricing.
Reviewed By:Michael D.,6/23/2016 3:03:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus Slim 2TB Portable External Hard Drive with 200GB of Cloud Storage & Mobile Device Backup USB 3.0 - STDR2000103 (Red)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 No problems
Pros: works as designed
Cons: none
Reviewed By:Michael H.,6/23/2016 9:27:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD 3TB Black My Passport Ultra Portable External Hard Drive - USB 3.0 - WDBBKD0030BBK-NESN

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Dead on Arrival
Pros: None
Cons: Not recognized by the computer and making loud clicking noise right out of the box.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/22/2016 6:47:25 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate 4TB Game Drive for Xbox One USB 3.0 Model STEA4000402 - Green

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works as advertised, but you can do better for less.
Pros: XBOX branding?
Cons: Price is $30 more than comparable Seagate HDDs

Performance is sub par for the price
Other Thoughts: This drive expands your XBOX ONEs storage by 4TB (3.63TB after formating). This is done with minimal effort on the end user. I wouldn't call it "Plug and play" but it does not require A degree in IT either.

The games seem to load a noticeable amount faster than with the Stock Internal HDD but we are not talking about night and day. maybe 20% faster at best. This is because the HDD used inside this enclosure is not very fast. After discovering this I tried to find out the actual specs from Seagate's site, but all thats listed there is generic "info". Nothing as far as spindle speed, cache, etc.

Taking the drive apart I found the following Model inside: ST4000LM016-1N2170. A bit of Googling found it to be a 5400RPM HDD with 128MB Cache (oddly only 16MB Cache was detected by Defragler?)


Running Crystal mark gave the following results with an empty drive:

SEQ - Read 140.9MB/s --- Write 139.2MB/s
512K - Read 44.72MB/s --- Write 90.70MB/s
4K - Read 0.365MB/s --- Write 5.952MB/s
4K QD32 - Read 0.445MB/s --- Write 6.643MB/s

After adding 1.28TB of Data the results changed a bit:

SEQ - Read 118.3MB/s --- Write 116.2MB/s
512K - Read 38.16MB/s --- Write 96.64MB/s
4K - Read 0.308MB/s --- Write 5.986MB/s
4K QD32 - Read 0.376MB/s --- Write 6.753MB/s

For what its worth the Data transfer of 1.28TB took over 6 hours.

I can say this drive does exactly What is advertised, but it does so at a higher price and I cant really say that there is a valid reason for that other than branded XBOX logo on top. Other Seagate 4TB external HDDs Start around $110, Im guessing most of them will have the same HDD inside the enclosure. So take that for what you will. If you want a speedy drive look elsewhere. However If you just want more storage for your XBOX and you like the green top cover, this Drive is for you!
Reviewed By:Rob B.,6/22/2016 1:42:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO 2TB MiniStation Extreme NFC Portable Hard Drive USB 3.0 Micro-B Model HD-PZN2.0U3B

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Avoid at all costs.
Pros: None.
Cons: I plugged it in, had files on it, I made sure it was set to windows, loaded photos on it, unplugged it and plugged it back in because the card provided wasn't working. When I plugged it back in the light was orange and it was reading the drive but it wasn't showing up at all. I swiped the card a dozen times, nothing. I phoned Buffalo and I was told that it's not possible to access the drive without that card. So then my next question was, what if I lost the card, is there no way to type a password to gain access? The guy on the phone said no. Avoid at all costs.
Other Thoughts: Why wouldn't they put a backup way to get access to the drive, like a password or something is beyond my grasp. Relying SOLELY on a card was a terrible idea, period. I literally have had this drive for 30 minutes. I sure as hell don't want another one, not from Buffalo anyways.
Reviewed By:Neal C.,6/21/2016 10:27:18 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate 1TB Expansion Portable External Hard Drive USB 3.0 Model STEA1000400 Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Reliable, Cost-effective Backup Drives
Pros: - Low-cost
- Reliable
- 1TB is plenty of room
- USB 3.0 interface
Cons: - None
Other Thoughts: I've been loaning these drives to clients for use as backup drives for their home computers for the last year. I purchase a few at a time set them up as local backup drives. At $50 each, they are much cheaper than the cloud for backing up 500+ gigs of data. I can also store an image of their hard drive alongside the backup files because, at 1TB, there is usually room to spare. For those clients that *want* to pay extra, they get cloud backup, but for the vast majority of folks, they just want to make sure if their computer dies, their data doesn't also; and for that this Seagate 1TB external is perfect. It's USB 3.0 interface means I don't have to wait all day to transfer files and even large backup operations can be done in a single evening or over night.
Reviewed By:Dale B.,6/21/2016 8:36:14 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.