Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD 2TB Elements Portable External Hard Drive - USB 3.0 - WDBU6Y0020BBK (CERTIFIED REFURBISHED)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 great storage
Pros: no power cord needed. no software needed.
easily connects to smart tv.
Cons: none so far.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/2/2016 9:50:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Toshiba > TOSHIBA 3TB Canvio Connect II Portable Hard Drive USB 3.0 Model HDTC830XK3C1 Black

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 one good one dead
Pros: na
Cons: na
Other Thoughts: I ordered 2 in febuary 2016 and one just died.....wont stay connected for more than a few minutes. I only use it for time machine backs ups, so it mostly just sits on my desk.... Its DEAD no idea why. The other one is working great... so one good one dead...thats why you always need 2 or more backups, just incase.
Reviewed By:Giorgio S.,5/1/2016 9:49:38 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > LaCie > LaCie 2TB Rugged Thunderbolt Portable External Hard Drive USB 3.0 / Thunderbolt Model LAC9000489

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 slightly disappointed on speed of retrieval
Pros: works well, is very portable
Cons: i cannot get the thunderbolt connection up in speed
Other Thoughts: no not really too slow
Reviewed By:richard l.,5/1/2016 6:12:42 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus Slim 4TB Portable External Hard Drive with 200GB of Cloud Storage & Mobile Device Backup USB 3.0 Model STDR4000900 (Silver)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Product. Great price. Fasy Shipping.
Pros: Easy to set up and use. Very Fast transfer speed. Great Capacity. Cool product design
Cons: None.
Reviewed By:Ronald R.,4/29/2016 7:37:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Silicon Power > Silicon Power 1TB Armor A60 Shockproof and Water-Resistant Portable Hard Drive USB 3.0 Model SP010TBPHDA60S3K Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 It's not great
Pros: It looks sturdy and could probably take a beating.
Cons: It worked reasonably well for about 6 months (though I have my doubts about this being USB 3) and then transfer speeds declined until it finally stopped transferring any files larger than a few megs. Any significant size files (like my vms) fail with the error "the semaphore timeout period has expired".

I thought it was Windows, so I reimaged my laptop. Still does it. Thought it was the USB port, so ran the same batch backup with an external RDX drive. No problems and that device actually is USB 3 - backup finished in less than 15 minutes. Tried this unit on a completely different computer with the same files, had the semaphore issue again.

Right now I've been running my 200gb backup process since noon and it's now almost 4. That's absolutely unacceptable for USB 3 device. I have no idea what is taking this thing so long to copy barely any notable amount of files.
Other Thoughts: It's just not worth the hassle. The thing transfers so slowly you are better off spending the extra money on a decent rdx setup. I'm going to try to return it for a replacement under the extended warranty but I'm not going to hold my breath on it.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/29/2016 12:50:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD 1TB Elements Portable External Hard Drive - USB 3.0 - WDBUZG0010BBK-NESN

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Good idea... just needs improvements
Pros: Great when u need to save photo's , videos, and documents as back ups
very portable
Cons: Not very good at dissipating heat
When transferring huge files from one drive to another, this thing gets really hot
Other Thoughts: It starting dying after I backed up all my photos , videos, and important documents (u know, the clicking noise)
Might of been too much, plus the heating up issue
They should make some vents in the case to help dissipate heat

And this was supposed to be the back up...

Never gonna do this again... back it up the old way.
Use the bigger 3.5 hdd, They are more durable and reliable
Reviewed By:Tu T.,4/29/2016 12:05:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD 3TB Black My Passport Ultra Portable External Hard Drive - USB 3.0 - WDBBKD0030BBK-NESN

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great backup at a Great Price
Pros: It's WD it works right out of the box. No vibration, no noise.
Cons: none
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/28/2016 9:31:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD 2TB Berry My Passport Ultra Portable External Hard Drive - USB 3.0 - WDBBKD0020BBY-NESN

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great external storage for my Xbox One
Pros: -Bought this to replace the 4TB Seagate Drive that was mostly incompatible with my Xbox One and was tired of the headache.
-Great Price for a good brand (on sale for $80)
-USB Powered 3.0 SS (no external power needed)
-Compact drive (portable)
Cons: -Not too trilled with the color (It was the cheapest out of the color choices) but its mostly out of sight anyways so it doesn't matter.
Other Thoughts: If anyone is looking for a drive that is sturdy and compact for your Xbox One, then this is the drive to get. (The rep. from Microsoft said at the current time anything above 2TB causes problems for the Xbox One.) I am currently using 15% of the drive and I am not noticing any slow downs or performance issues when comparing to the internal storage. If this is on sale, get it.
Reviewed By:Richard S.,4/25/2016 12:24:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD 1TB Black My Passport Ultra Portable External Hard Drive - USB 3.0 - WDBGPU0010BBK-NESN

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 So far So good, shipping was fast
Pros: Just what I wanted to back up my 14 years of pics and music
Cons: none yet
Reviewed By:Carl S.,4/25/2016 5:42:57 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus 4TB Portable External  Hard Drive with 200GB of Cloud Storage & Mobile Device Backup USB 3.0 - STDR4000100

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Economical, HUGE, and fast
Pros: I was shipped this unit some time back for testing, but a terrible car crash (danged drunk drivers!) nearly killed me shortly after the holidays and caused me to get backlogged on my Eggxpert reviews. It's a miracle I haven't been blackballed from the program.

This hard drive is extremely similar to a 1TB model that I was sent a few years ago, with some pretty big improvements. The case feels much more sturdy and rugged, the included cable is longer, the capacity is (obviously) four times as large, and it is considerably faster.

Because of my personal delays, I actually put it to more use than I usually do a test item before writing the review. This drive can perform all expected tasks of an external drive easily and with aplomb. I have used it to shuttle large amounts of data between my office and customer sites, used it with Backup Exec as well as Windows Server's integrated backup, imaged to and from it in Ghost32 from a DOS environment, all in various OS's including live ones like the WinPE builds on my Hiren's USB as well as a few Linux distros, and as I type this a backup of my domain controller is being written to it for use to run a bare metal restore to dissimilar hardware (we're upgrading, yay!). It never misses a beat no matter what I throw at it.

I haven't checked with a thermometer, but as far as I can tell there is no significant heat produced by the case, so it is dispersing the heat of the drive very well, but then again it's only a 5400RPM.

Being powered by the USB is a big plus, as I can just throw it in a briefcase and carry it around without having to fumble with a power cord. I can imagine some cheap hardware not having enough power capacity available on a USB port to reliably power it, but this hasn't happened to me yet in literally hundreds of computers I have connected it to. Even the USB3 port on a Linksys WRT1900ACS router had no problem with it (but that is a beefy router, YMMV with cheaper routers).

It also runs essentially silent, even when spinning up or under heavy load.
Cons: It's my job to find fault with the hardware I'm sent, but this is one of those cases where it was very hard to do. Considering the severe enterprise-level demands I have placed on this drive without a single problem, how can I complain?

The best I can offer is that the warranty is disappointing. Doesn't Seagate have more faith in their product than one year?
Other Thoughts: The price is good, the performance is excellent, and the capacity is as big as one can hope for these days without needing external power. I can't recommend this drive enough for practically any application that calls for easily removable external storage.
Reviewed By:Jason H.,4/24/2016 7:01:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.