Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Passport Ultra 1TB USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive WDBZFP0010BBK-NESN Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 75GB of videos in 12 minutes
Pros: USB 3.0
No additional power sources
large amount of storage
Cons: non yet
Reviewed By:Phill,3/27/2015 12:38:25 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate 2TB USB 3.0 Portable External Hard Drive STBX2000401 Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works with PS4
Pros: Nice case, easy to pull apart, a lot of space for the price.
Cons: The USB cable is really short. No big deal.
Other Thoughts: I removed it from the case and upgraded my PS4 HDD with it, no problems so far. My 500GB HDD fit nicely on the case so I can still use it as external hard drive.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/25/2015 6:11:17 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat Low and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus Fast 4TB USB 3.0 High-Performance Portable Hard Drive STDA4000100 Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Interesting issues
Pros: 4 TB, decent price, smallish usb drive for 4 TB.
Cons: I have had several issues getting computers to recognize this drive at times. It feels like the drives controller or something gets hung up at times. Occasionally explorer.exe will hang when I plug it in, and then I move it to a usb 3.0 port and it's fine. I was finally able to figure that out and work around it. Although it's not 100%, and I copied ~2 TB of personal data on it and there is a lot of corrupt files? Seems like a similar issue to Christopher c. The files copy over to the drive perfectly fine, and they even have the correct file sizes, I can pull them up in winhex and there is data there, but no metadata for movies for example. So it won't play, VLC basically throws the file up. Without looking too much more, it's like the headers are messed, or something similar.

I've formatted the drive a couple times, and started copying over 2TB a couple times... that takes a while, even over gig ethernet from a NAS box. And it doesn't seem to matter where I copy from, or which computer. The worst part is that HDD scan and seatools for windows both show S.M.A.R.T. as good, and passes short self tests and short generic tests. I started read and verify tests from hdd scan, which were good until I cancelled them (~5%). I'm running a long generic test from seatools now overnight, but it looks like it will pass... Very frustrated with this. Would like to RMA, but can't without a valid failure. No firmware updates either for it.

If you use this drive, please verify the files. As always, test your backups.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/24/2015 9:18:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Passport Ultra 2TB USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive WDBMWV0020BBL-NESN Blue

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 WD MyPassport Ultra 2TB
Pros: Inexpensive
Simple
Cons: Unreliable
proprietary connection cable
short connection cable
Other Thoughts: I own a bunch of these drives, this is the only one that has given me trouble. I got them cause they don't need an external power source and they are pretty cheap. Had intermittent I/O errors for a couple months, it finally died on me today. I already ordered the same drive, so you know I'm generally satisfied with them. I just wish the cord was longer really... and that it didn't die within one year from purchase date :)
Reviewed By:Miles,3/23/2015 7:28:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 1TB USB 3.0 2.5" Portable External Hard Drive STBX1000101 Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Still works
Pros: Still works ever since i bought it years ago. Nothing ever gave out
Cons: None so far
Reviewed By:N/A,3/21/2015 9:06:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO MiniStation Extreme 2TB USB 3.0 Portable Storage with MIL-SPEC Shock Protection HD-PZ2.0U3B Black

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 great drive
Pros: great drive
Cons: do not buy from newegg, other sellers are a bit more expensive but newegg will have to ship it twice to ever get it to you
Reviewed By:jasonc,3/21/2015 9:38:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > ADATA > ADATA 2TB HD710 DashDrive Series USB 3.0 Durable Water & Shock Proof Portable Hard Driver Black Model AHD710-2TU3-CBK

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great unit, with one flaw
Pros: The speed performing a backup is excellent; even compared to the USB 3.0 drive I used previously. The construction and design are good and the unit is sturdy,
Cons: On big downside is that unit often can't be ejected even after I've closed all of the programs accessing it. (And yes, I confirmed that the cache write and power settings are correct).
Other Thoughts: I like the unit's performance and design but the problems ejecting it make it less convenient than the Seagate drive it replaced.
Reviewed By:Roo-ster,3/19/2015 5:53:17 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG P3 Portable 2TB USB 3.0 2.5" External Hard Drive STSHX-MTD20EF (HX-MTD20EF/G2)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Very strong legit hard drive. i have had this up and running as back up ever since i got it and love it.
Cons: none so far
Reviewed By:N/A,3/18/2015 6:59:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus Slim 2TB USB 3.0 Portable External Hard Drive STDR2000100 Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Dead after first few days copying data
Pros: don't want to say much here since if it's not reliable, all other factors are useless.
Cons: NOT RELIABLE. Just started copying data (over 1TB) to this brand-new drive, after spending a few days copying for a trip to use, it suddenly died: the drive has clicking sound when seeking specific directory and the laptop pops up the message of letting format the drive.
Other Thoughts: with such defect product, even getting a replacement, I don't know if I could have a peace of mind to use it any more. I think it should support free return instead of just replacement. Anyway, I decided this would be my last seagate drive.
Reviewed By:Rui,3/18/2015 11:23:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Passport Ultra Metal Edition 2TB USB 3.0 2.5" Portable External Hard Drive WDBEZW0020BSL-NESN Silver

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good portable HDD
Pros: Fast transfer speeds. HDD has a good feel to it. True, it has a black-plastic backing to it, but the top and sides are reflective metal/aluminum as you see in the pictures. You have the Western Digital, which is always high-quality and performance, so you shouldn't mind paying a couple bucks more here and there for premium names such as theirs.
Cons: My friend has an older version of this 2TB portable drive, except his came with a really handy and nice folding leather pouch where you can protect both the HDD, AND the necessary USB 3.0 cable, so I was really hoping there would be something like that with this HDD, especially with the reflective metal coating it has. Still, not enough to take an egg off, as the HDD itself is what I'm reviewing, not add-ins.
Other Thoughts: You're getting a Western Digital-made quality portable HDD for the money. If you need 2TB, grab this and don't be disappointed.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/18/2015 7:26:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.