Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > ADATA > ADATA DashDrive Durable HD710 2TB USB 3.0 Waterproof/Shock-Resistant External Hard Drive AHD710-2TU3-CYL Yellow

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent
Pros: Fast, Rugged and hopefully durable. I bought this one because of the vibration my subs put out. Had a few other hard drives fail with in a week or two, this one is still going. If this fails then i will have to buy a Solid State drive but they are currently overpriced for the amount of space. With what I've spent on drives I probably should have gone that route anyway.
Cons: None yet
Reviewed By:N/A,3/2/2015 2:16:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Passport Ultra 2TB USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive WDBMWV0020BBK-NESN Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Would not buy again
Pros: It's a cheap 2TB hard drive by Western Digital, a name you can usually trust.
Cons: After four years of very light use (occassional backups once or twice a year and very light file surfing) the drive stopped being available to access on any computer, but would heat up to very high almost scalding temperatures when plugged in. It would light up. Will not buy again.
Other Thoughts: I am going to pay a higher price for my hard drives or just get lower capacity in the future. You do get what you pay for. Most people will want this for backups and it failed on me, lost some stuff.
Reviewed By:Izi Ningishzidda,3/2/2015 11:00:10 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Seven mm 500GB USB 3.0 Portable External Hard Drive STDZ500400 Silver

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: What a beauty! The packaging, design, finish...this is such a nice looking drive. If you have a sleek ultrabook/macbook and want a drive that matches the look of your machine, this is it. It is unbelievably thin and the anodized aluminum finish is nice to look at though a bit hard to keep from getting covered with fingerprints.

The USB 3.0 is nice and fast with a good, sturdy connection and its package offers great protection and is nice enough to not just toss out.
Cons: The biggest con is price/GB.
Other Thoughts: I've never been one to use the included utilities on drives. My first step is to just format them for a blank drive. For this, I decided to try it out just to see. It is a very simple, intuitive interface perfect for full computer backups that will actually monitor file changes and keep your backup current. There are other mobile/cloud options as well so the software side is very well rounded.

As I stated in the Pros though, the main reason to get this drive over other externals is its design.
Reviewed By:94xj,3/1/2015 8:38:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG P3 Portable 2TB USB 3.0 2.5" External Hard Drive STSHX-MTD20EF(HX-MTD20EF/G2)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Amazing
Pros: 2TB is a lot of space that I just happen to fill up. Amazing space for the amount. Speed of file transfer is very nice, as well.
Cons: Not many
Reviewed By:N/A,3/1/2015 1:25:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 1TB USB 3.0 2.5" Portable External Hard Drive STBX1000101 Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 wonderful 1tb portable hdd
Pros: 1tb storage, portable, usb3. works like it should, not much preinstalled software that slows down the drive
Cons: none.
Other Thoughts: I now own both the wd and seagate portable drives and I can say that both drives perform equally as good because they both use usb3.0
The only difference is that each brand goes on sale at different times during the year.
Reviewed By:Dexterity,2/28/2015 9:12:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Passport Ultra 2TB USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive WDBMWV0020BRD-NESN Red

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 WD 2tb
Pros: Fast transfer and slick.
Cons: none
Reviewed By:N/A,2/27/2015 7:37:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Passport Ultra 1TB USB 3.0 Hard Drives - Desktop External WDBZFP0010BTT-NESN Titanium

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 WD 1tb
Pros: fast transfert slick and light.
Cons: none.
Reviewed By:N/A,2/27/2015 7:35:41 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > HGST > HGST Touro Mobile 1TB USB 3.0 2.5" Portable Hard Drive 0S03801 Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Love it i got two of them for Christmas in 2014 in they were quiet a bargain for a 1 tb portable when i was looking around they averaged $79-119 AUSD then i though well ill give the Touro a shot and never regretted buying them
Cons: none so far
Reviewed By:Toddza_88,2/26/2015 8:18:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD 2TB WD Elements Portable USB 3.0 Hard Drive Storage (WDBU6Y0020BBK-NESN)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 So far so good
Pros: I bought this to store files that I need to use on more than one computer. It is small, has only a single data/power connector, fast (USB 3.0) and holds everything I need it to. I move between three different computers on a regular basis and this has been a great storage tool to do just that.
Cons: There is a noticeable hesitation before accessing the drive when I am using a software program - but this does not occur when I just use Windows file explorer. It is probably connected to the fact the drive will go to sleep after a bit if not in use. It's annoying, but not enough to outweigh the advantages of having a small package for 2Tb of data.
Other Thoughts: I use the Windows partition tool to assign the drive a specific drive letter - and then I make sure to plug it into the same USB port each time. This means I can set up shortcuts and links from software that will always work as they should. It makes switching between computers very easy. I also back up the data to another drive every day since I worry about the longevity of a drive that is so often on the move.
Reviewed By:Happy Camper,2/25/2015 12:04:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus Slim 1TB USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive STDR1000101 Silver

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Seagate Backup Plus Slim 1TB USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive STDR1000101 Silver
Pros: Slim, fast
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: I brought this item about 3 months ago, using it everyday and so far I have now had any issues what so ever. Ultra portable and fast.
Reviewed By:ext338,2/25/2015 8:58:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.