Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD 1TB Elements Portable External Hard Drive - USB 3.0 - WDBUZG0010BBK-NESN

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Waste of money
Pros: None
Cons: Lasted one year, then it died out on me. Clearly it's cheap quality.
Reviewed By:Anthony E.,8/26/2016 1:09:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD 1TB Blue My Passport Ultra Portable External Hard Drive - USB 3.0 - WDBGPU0010BBL-NESN

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great price on a great product
Pros: Works perfectly, like everything else I have purchased through Newegg.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Harold S.,8/25/2016 12:54:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD 500GB My Passport Ultra Portable Hard Drive USB 3.0 Model WDBPGC5000ABK-NESN Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Back Up Hard Drive
Pros: The Passport Ultra Portable Hard Drive USB 3.0 makes it easy to back up my home and business laptop!
Cons: There are no cons - it was easy to install the software and perform the back ups.
Other Thoughts: I would highly recommend this product to other home and business laptop owners!
Reviewed By:Patricia L.,8/25/2016 8:01:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD 1TB My Passport External Hard Drive USB 3.0 Model WDBBEP0010BRD-NESN Red

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 External storage.
Pros: External drives are just for backups where you would like to get junk off the PC, file transfers, and temporary storage. The general public needs to understand that this is not an archiving device for permanent storage. All you folks crying about lost data, shame on you. Important data needs to be backed up to the cloud, cd/DVD/blue ray disks, or tape. For the most part, manufacturers use their cheapest quality drives for these, notice they have very little or NO warranty. So, buyer beware, if you don't read the fine print, you will get burned. It's not if, it's a matter of when it happens, do YOU have an archive.
Cons: Keep your drives protected, I can only imagine how some of you treat these delicate devices with moving parts, and spinning platters. I've had one 500GB hard disk for 9 years now. How? I treated it exceptionally well. Learn what that means folks.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/23/2016 2:02:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD 4TB Black My Passport Ultra Portable External Hard Drive - USB 3.0 - WDBBKD0040BBK-NESN

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Another great WD product
Pros: 1: No external power supply
2: Small enough to fit in a pocket
3: Works with any laptop or computer (except Apple but that is NOT worthy of being called a PC)
4: "So far" every TV I plug it into recognizes it and plays the content I've placed on it
Cons: Could be slightly cheaper, but not really complaining about it at the 130.00 I paid.
Other Thoughts: I wish hard drive companies in general could fix the lost space issue when formatting drives because the larger the drive the more space you lose to the format, but I guess one could dream.
Reviewed By:David D.,8/22/2016 1:11:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate 4TB Expansion Portable External Hard Drive USB 3.0 Model STEA4000400 Black

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Generally Excellent
Pros: Excellent price, quick delivery.
Cons: Not recognized by all my devices.
Other Thoughts: I reformatted this drive to NTFS and have used it successfully with Linux and Windows devices. However it is not recognized by a media player and a router with a USB port. I have successfully used 1T and 2T drives on these devices and failure may be due to a size limit.
Reviewed By:Bob D.,8/21/2016 3:46:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Toshiba > TOSHIBA 1TB Canvio Basics Portable Hard Drive USB 3.0 Model HDTB310XK3AA Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good Work Horse
Pros: Slim, lightweight, and reliable. It's quickly seen by all my systems from win 2k to win7 64bit. It goes into standby quickly which keeps power consumption down (important for laptops, a pain for desktop use). Wakes up relatively fast. I've used a 500gb version for several years, and find this 1tb unit to be much the same. usb2 speeds are fine, and usb3 are better (obviously) but all xfer speeds are within expectations. The cable is plenty long enough for backup & transfer purposes. If you want it hooked up continuously and set out of the way, it might be a bit short, but for my use (data xfter & backup)... it's fine.
Cons: All portable drives are a bit pricey compared to a replacement drive. Getting the drive in a nice case with a warranty commands a bit of a price differential, but it should be a bit less.
Other Thoughts: There may be faster out there, but my experience with Toshiba has been good and I stick with brands that I know... will likely buy a 2tb when the price point drops. Good units! Always the chance of a defect, but buying thru Newegg protects for short term, having a warranty provides a year's protection... put a few thousand hours on the drive in the first year and if it hasn't started to fail, then it will likely last 10's of thousands of hours, just as any internal hard drive will.
Reviewed By:Mr. C.,8/20/2016 5:36:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD 2TB Elements Protable Hard Drive USB 3.0 Model WDBU6Y0020BBK-EESN Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Hard Drive
Pros: This is a great hard drive, which I am using for my xbox one, working flawlessly. This is a must buy.
Cons: No cons
Reviewed By:N/A,8/20/2016 5:18:48 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus 4TB Portable External Hard Drive with 200GB of Cloud Storage & Mobile Device Backup USB 3.0 Model STDR4000902 (Red)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 So far, so good.
Pros: I've had this drive for about a month. Excellent capacity at a very good price. Using it as a Time Machine drive for a new Mac. Have not subjected it to extensive use, otherwise. I'll update this review should any conditions change.
Cons: A minor detail: the activity light is subtle, but perhaps too much so. It could be more indicative of reads/writes and differentiate better between mounted/unmounted states.
Reviewed By:Maurice K.,8/14/2016 2:57:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD 1TB Elements Portable External Hard Drive - USB 3.0 - WDBUZG0010BBK (Certified Refurbished)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great Product!
Pros: Affordable price for a 1TB portable hard drive
Extremely thin for a 1TB hard drive
My job was made extremely easier because of this product
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Jason T.,8/13/2016 6:20:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.