Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Passport Ultra 2TB USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive WDBMWV0020BBL-NESN Blue

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Junk (x2)
Pros: None. Fails at what's it supposed to do.
Cons: Can't list any pros when the drives fail and their sole purpose is to backup and store data. We started buying these at my tech company for work. One drive full of sensitive data failed within 6 months (HDD failure, clicking) and a 2nd drive failed in just about a year (logic board died.) WD is making garbage products now. Encryption prevents you from just swapping in another board to recover your data. Board interface is USB 3.0 only, so you can't remove the drive and plug into a SATA dock / port either if you're having issues.
Other Thoughts: Don't waste your time. Buy a good, reputable bare drive and put it in it's own external enclosure. If I could, I'd leave multiple negative eggs for this product.
Reviewed By:SoCal,1/28/2015 1:06:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Elements 500GB USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: everything
Cons: 500gb only goes so far, but you know what size you're getting.
Other Thoughts: I was forced to use an old computer when mine broke, and I bought this because the hard drive on it was way too small. Now I built my own new computer and instead of buying a hard drive I just bought an SSD for the OS and still use this for everything else.

Never had any problems with it.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/28/2015 8:20:28 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Passport Ultra 2TB USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive WDBMWV0020BBK-NESN Black

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Yet another solid WD Passport Drive.
Pros: I personally have a lot of brand loyalty here. I've never had a WD passport drive go bad on me, and this one is no different.
Cons: My personal pet peeve: Hard Drive companies always rounding the numbers up. There was only about 1.65 TB of usable space on my 2 TB harddrive. :-( But the whole industry does it, so whatever.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/26/2015 12:57:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Seven mm 500GB USB 3.0 Portable External Hard Drive STDZ500400 Silver

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Light, fair and debonair
Pros: Top notch fit and finish, reasonably speedy for 5400 RPM device, striking design, robust construction, handy bundled software
Cons: Price per GB
Other Thoughts: It's too bad that Apple in its wisdom doesn't support usb on its iOS devices because the Seagate 7 would be the perfect solution for expanding an iPhone or iPad's meager fixed storage. As it is, Android users can plop this uniquely designed drive on the conference room table next to their Nexus 6 or Note 4 and let their colleagues envy them for a mass storage device hardly bigger or heavier than their phone. Actually, make that *smaller* and lighter than their phone: the Seagate 7 is smaller in every dimension than the Note 4 and half the weight. Its industrial design, superb fit and finish and robust construction place it among the very best portable peripherals available.

Inside is the 500GB Seagate ST500LT032, running at 5400 RPM with a 16MB cache and SATA 6.0 interface. Newegg currently sells this thinnest of internal laptop drives for $65 so you are paying an additional $35 for the elegant enclosure. Western Digital is now offering the My Passport Ultra Metal Edition in a 2TB capacity for just a few dollars more but the Passport is significantly larger and heavier.

Performance between the two drives is roughly comparable. My results for the Seagate 7 using the Intel USB 3.0 interface on my desktop motherboard:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------
CrystalDiskMark 3.0.1 x64 (C) 2007-2010 hiyohiyo
Crystal Dew World : http://crystalmark.info/
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
* MB/s = 1,000,000 byte/s [SATA/300 = 300,000,000 byte/s]

Sequential Read : 112.920 MB/s
Sequential Write : 108.751 MB/s
Random Read 512KB : 40.291 MB/s
Random Write 512KB : 46.456 MB/s


Both drives include the manufacturer's proprietary back up software. Seagate's has been updated to allow back up of Android devices upon installation of an app from the Play Store. While an effective way of backing up photos, contacts, music, call logs, and text messages Seagate's dashboard is not designed to back up a complete image of the portable device so that in the worst case the phone or tablet can be restored quickly and the same can be said for backing up a laptop hard drive to the 7. While I prefer to use free software that creates a complete image, Seagate's dashboard is a convenient way to back up the data most users care most about.

So whether the Seagate 7 is right for you depends on your budget, how much ultra-portable storage you really need and how highly you value cutting edge design. I found the drive to work flawlessly for its intended purpose and you won't find a more uniquely stylish solution for the foreseeable future.
Reviewed By:channeledbymodem,1/26/2015 8:58:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Passport Ultra 500GB USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive WDBPGC5000ABK-NESN Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent hard drive.
Pros: I've owned this hard drive for at least two years now and it hasn't given me any problems. It's been plugged in most of that time and it's pretty fast. This drive is reliable so I bought another with larger storage... no regrets.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: I haven't used the software that came with it so I can't comment on that.
Reviewed By:Shannon,1/24/2015 1:42:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 1TB USB 3.0 2.5" Portable External Hard Drive STBX1000101 Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Came in super fast and is great
Pros: 1. Portable
2. 1TB
3. USB 3.0/2.0 compatible
4. Does not get hot when under heavy load unlike my WD portable HDD
Cons: None really, but see"other thoughts"
Other Thoughts: I kind of wish Seagate made their product registration more concise and their website easier to navigate. I registered the product, but I have no idea what it actually does because I don't know how to view my registered products at their website
Reviewed By:N/A,1/23/2015 5:03:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus Slim 1TB USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive STDR1000101 Silver

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Don't lose the cable!!!
Pros: Great price, sleek design, ultra portable, no power supply needed, cool bright white light, construction is OK (though fantastic for the price point). Time will tell as far as reliability but so far so good.
Cons: Inability to use common USB cables, though infinitely better than having to lug around a power supply.
Reviewed By:PEB,1/23/2015 4:12:19 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Passport Ultra 2TB USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive WDBMWV0020BBK-NESN Black

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Large Capacity but Slow and Stalls
Pros: Small, Colorful, Large Capacity
Cons: I use it for MP4 movies on my Smart TV. I have mini external hard drives attached to all my TVs in the house. All of my Drives are Toshiba Canvios with the exception of this one. This WD drive hangs up constantly. i have to power it down and reboot it all the time. I am Seriously less than impressed. I never have a Problem with my other Hard Drives.
Other Thoughts: So disappointed in this purchase!
Reviewed By:ChannelUp,1/23/2015 7:07:18 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus Slim 2TB USB 3.0 Portable External Hard Drive STDR2000100 Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Back Up
Pros: The software that comes with this helps to do more that just backup your computer. You can back up your cell. It is easy and quick to install.
Cons: You can only back up one computer. I will have to get another for my laptop.
Other Thoughts: It is a good for an all around backup.
Reviewed By:Rick,1/22/2015 8:41:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Portable External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Seven mm 500GB USB 3.0 Portable External Hard Drive STDZ500400 Silver

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Disappointing for the price
Pros: Reasonably fast. Sleek look. Robust backup utility.
Cons: Comparing this $100 hard drive to the $63 Seagate Backup Plus Slim 500GB USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive STCD500102 Black, which I reviewed almost 2 years ago, the results are very unfavorable for the Seven.

Both drives ship with a paltry 18" USB 3.0 cable, although the Seven's cable is braided.

Both drives are very small, although, while the seven is thinner, it is also bigger than the Slim:

Seven Slim
Height 4.836" (122.84mm) 4.476" (113.70mm)
Width 3.241" (82.33mm) 2.989" (75.92mm)
Depth 0.275" (6.99mm) 0.381" (9.66mm)


The performance of the Seven also falls considerably short of the Slim, as measured by every Crystal Disk Mark benchmark:

Test : 100 MB [F: 0.1% (0.3/465.7 GB)] (x3)
Date : 2015/01/22 9:14:45
OS : Windows 7 Professional SP1 [6.1 Build 7601] (x64)

Seven Slim
Sequential Read : 102.751 MB/s 122.730 MB/s
Sequential Write : 100.007 MB/s 120.943 MB/s
Random Read 512KB : 41.148 MB/s 43.923 MB/s
Random Write 512KB : 43.433 MB/s 62.210 MB/s
Random Read 4KB (QD=1) : 0.503 MB/s 0.558 MB/s
[ 122.8 IOPS] [ 136.2 IOPS]
Random Write 4KB (QD=1) : 0.617 MB/s 0.937 MB/s
[ 150.8 IOPS] [ 228.8 IOPS]
Random Read 4KB (QD=32) : 0.540 MB/s 0.579 MB/s
[ 131.8 IOPS] [ 141.3 IOPS]
Random Write 4KB (QD=32) : 0.588 MB/s 0.991 MB/s
[ 143.6 IOPS] [ 241.9 IOPS]
Other Thoughts: As stated in my previous review:

The included software (Seagate Dashboard) is quite simple to use, and is a pretty robust backup utility. You can specify what kinds of files to backup (all files, personal, documents, etc...) or manually select individual files. You then decide whether it will be a 1 time backup, a periodic (every hour, day, week, or month) or a "continuous" backup where it tracks when files are modified and performs real-time backups. Backed up data can then be directed to this drive or to a cloud storage account. Included with this purchase is a 1 year cloud storage subscription with 4 GB of storage.

Once you log into Facebook or Flickr from within the dashboard, you can easily upload or download content from your account. You can also log into YouTube from the dashboard and upload movies, however you can't download them.


In summary, unless you really like the look of the new drive, it's not worth the performance hit and the significantly higher price tag.
Reviewed By:Steve Felker,1/22/2015 10:06:18 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.