Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Point & Shoot Cameras > Canon USA > Canon PowerShot ELPH 340 HS 9344B001 Black 16 MP 12X Optical Zoom 25mm Wide Angle Digital Camera HDTV Output

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Aargh! Opened in my pocket!
Pros: Large LCD screen, 12x optical zoom, stabilization, close macro
Cons: Can turn on and project lens in pocket, no stitch assist, platform-dependent Wi-Fi, misleading specs
Other Thoughts: First reviewed this the day I got it (see my review 10/18/2014), said I'd follow up.

I can cope without stitch-assist, partly because I've had lots of practice and partly because panorama-stitching software is so much smarter these days (I use hugin).

I still love the 12x zoom but note that it doesn't focus as close as I'd like, yet still displays the little autofocus frame, so I can't tell the photo is out of focus until I see it on a large screen.

The battery monitor is still useless, indicating a full battery right up to the moment when the camera shuts down in the middle of a shot and demands a fresh battery. Seriously, Canon? After all these years?

Alas, a more serious defect: the convenient Playback button has moved, replaced by the (to me) useless Wi-Fi button. It's now so crowded in that area that it's difficult to hold the camera steady and operate anything (like zooming or selecting macro mode) without accidentally triggering something else. Worse, unlike the slightly concave Playback button in the 110, these buttons are convex and very sensitive, easily activated when I reach into my pocket to take the camera from its case or put it back. No wonder other reviewers say the battery life is short.

But that's not the worst of it--unlike the power button, which is deliberately small and recessed so it's almost impossible to press inadvertently, the shutter release is very sensitive. And once the Playback or Wi-Fi button turns the camera on, the slightest touch of the shutter release will project the lens! Yikes! In the case, in my pocket!

Had I known that, I wouldn't have bought this camera. Even so, it takes great pictures and does what I need until I meet the next snake.
Reviewed By:N/A,11/14/2014 1:06:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Point & Shoot Cameras > Canon USA > Canon PowerShot ELPH 135 9153B001 Silver 16 MP 8X Optical Zoom 28mm Wide Angle Digital Camera

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: great photos
Cons: wish I had gotten the wifi capable, but easy to down load to my computer
Other Thoughts: replaced my digital camera which was very similiar
Reviewed By:N/A,11/9/2014 8:47:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Point & Shoot Cameras > Canon USA > Canon PowerShot S5 IS Black 8.0 MP 2.5" 207K LCD 12X Optical Zoom Digital Camera

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 sensor died after 5 and a half years
Pros: Countless features.
Cons: Inconsistent quality, small sensor (limited quality image outcome), sensor died after 5.5 years, meaning no more ability to use this as a still image camera. Oddly enough, video still works.
Reviewed By:swingdjted,11/4/2014 11:13:39 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Point & Shoot Cameras > Panasonic > Panasonic LUMIX DMC-ZS25S Silver 16.1 MP 20X Optical Zoom Digital Camera HDTV Output

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Failed 2 weeks after warranty
Pros: Took great photos while it worked.
Cons: Failed two weeks after warranty expired. Appears that the sensor failed. Starting getting blurry round spot in center of photos. Took a two week trip in September of 2014 to the Rocky Mountains. Noticed on looking at the 3,000 photos I took that progressively the photos were blurry (center area) until my final shots were ALL blurry.
Other Thoughts: I've had to resort to using my Kodak bridge camera (Kodak Z990 Max) again. I had purchased the Lumix DMC-ZS25S to replace the Kodak as the Lumix is smaller. Now, I am leaning towards just using my cellphone camera. Very disappointed with Panasonic cameras!
Reviewed By:TallDee,10/30/2014 11:53:23 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Point & Shoot Cameras > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG WB1100F Red 16.2 Megapixel 35X Optical Zoom Smart Digital Camera

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Electronic Deals
Pros: My comments are directed at the seller. I was apprehensive when I read some of the reviews. My experience with this seller on this item was excellent. I had questions concerning shipping and called the seller; they were very helpful. The product arrived on time and in the stated selling condition. I would buy from this seller again.
Cons: My cons are with the USPS on this delivery not with the seller.
Reviewed By:N/A,10/28/2014 11:15:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Point & Shoot Cameras > Sony > SONY DSC-RX100/B Black 20.2 MP 3.6X Optical Zoom Digital Camera HDTV Output

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great camera
Pros: This camera is well worth the money. Easily the best point and shoot on the market although the RX100 versions 2 and 3 may be better yet. In my opinion, at $500 usd, the original RX100 is the best value. Easily small enough to put in pocket so it's not a hassle to bring along (the best camera is the one you have with you!). The pictures this thing takes are awesome, even just using the auto modes. If you have the money and need a point and shoot, get this. If you want to spend more money, get version 2 or 3. Video quality is superb too. Built solidly as well.
Cons: Nothing worth mentioning.
Reviewed By:Pointnshooter,10/28/2014 8:29:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Point & Shoot Cameras > Canon USA > Canon PowerShot ELPH 340 HS 9350B001 Purple 16 MP 12X Optical Zoom 25mm Wide Angle Digital Camera HDTV Output

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great pocket camera
Pros: Small, compact, easy to carry in pocket; easy to use; good telephoto for such a small camera, good macro when it focuses on what you want, very good images
Cons: Can't figure out how to take macro photos when I choose the focal length. Seems you have to move camera back and forth until maybe what you want is in focus. Doesn't focus well on tiny objects close-up. Tried the different modes like P and still couldn't really choose my focal length.
Reviewed By:Orchidlady,10/26/2014 2:18:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Point & Shoot Cameras > Sony > SONY DSC-RX100/B Black 20.2 MP 3.6X Optical Zoom Digital Camera HDTV Output

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 it is good to be pleased
Pros: size, image sensor, f1.8 lens
Cons: flash recharge, brief owner's manual
Other Thoughts: First point is that for me Newegg is by far the best retailer on the internet, bar none. They always deliver above expectation. Seems I have been doing business with them since about 1999 or so.

This Sony Cybershop DSC rx100 is my best camera, having owned a 3.3 mega pixel Olympus that cost $950 (before digital SLRs), then a small Canon and after that a Panasonic DZ4.

The body of the rx100 is quite small, almost delicate, and does not seem to be suitable to a clumsy person. Hence you see that type of complaint around. Also, because of its size, sold feel and build quality, some assume you can “throw it in your pocket” and just go. It remains a fairly complex mechanical device. Although is not a cell phone, apparently it is being treated like one, tossed on the beach blanket when not in use and left there for the day. I recommend treating this camera delicately, with care, perhaps extra care and that you be the only person to touch it. Yahoos might think they have a smart phone in hand. After all, I think the original price was about $750. But if it is just another toy to you, please do not cry when it fails to operate.

The secret to photography is first and foremost to have the camera with you. If you have an eye and the camera with you, there is no end to what you will come up with. Unless you were hired to do a wedding (what a horrid career), you will neither tote around nor even be seen carrying the bucket of sand known as a DSLR, you will just never have it with you. It is too much care and bother. And certainly no one wants to see you with it in your arms. And so, this little one fits the bill quite nicely.

The rx-100’s primary attributes, besides its size, are the one inch sensor and the f1.8 lens. Shooting in daylight is almost as fast as you can press the shutter button, allowing you to get the best candid shots after the posing. It is necessary to take one hundred shots to get a nearly decent one, the world is so unpredictable. There is a very powerful flash, but you do not need it, almost. In full manual setting mode, there are few situations whereupon you cannot apply the right combination of aperture, lens speed and ISO setting not to give you acceptable results, sometimes stunning. It seems that the flash is so powerful that there is a long lag between full charges, so beware of that and use it like you would your last protection, since you will only get one shot. The other advantage of not using a flash is that people do not know you are taking photos. The flash has become so ubiquitous, that without that sparkle, no one know what you are about. And with the speedy lens, fast shutter and high ISO, you disappear into all the other things going on.

Of course, no digital camera is complete without editing software; so you need Photoshop to complete your work and spare the world the tedium of looking at one’s gibberish.
Reviewed By:James451,10/26/2014 11:44:14 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Low and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Point & Shoot Cameras > Sony > SONY Cyber-shot W800 DSC-W800 Silver 20.1 MP 5X Optical Zoom Digital Camera

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 dsc-w800
Pros: looks nice , compact.
Cons: do not like the software for down loading pics. don't use it.
Other Thoughts: bought another dsc-w290, much better camera. just saying.
Reviewed By:dave,10/19/2014 7:04:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Point & Shoot Cameras > Sony > SONY Cyber-shot H400 DSC-H400/B Black 20.1 MP 63X Optical Zoom Digital Camera

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: takes a good picture, easy to use
Cons: still learning my camery
Reviewed By:jttttttttttttttttt,10/19/2014 5:32:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.