Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Business Projectors > LG Electronics > LG PH550 Minibean LED Projector with Built-in Battery and Screen Share 1280 x 720 up to 550 lumen DLP 100,000:1 Bluetooth (with Speaker) MHL

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fantastic Little Projector
Pros: I’ve reviewed another similar projector in terms of form factor and features and the LG one blows the other one out of the water. It is far superior on all fronts.
The projector is bright, I played around with the projector in a 200 person capacity room adjusting the lighting to suit the environment.
In a full light environment with the projector plugged in a 7 foot diagonal screen was easily visible for a powerpoint presentation. It was impressive given the size of the projector and that it is only 550 lumens.
For viewing a movie I needed to turn off the lights directly over the projector screen and at that point it was no longer washed out looking. With all the lights off the color and picture was truly vibrant.
It is full of features, the digital tv tuner is easy to set up and it works fine. It would be a little challenging to do all of this without the remote but it is possible. The remote is a key feature of the projector. The remote makes moving through the inputs and making setting changes easy.
I also used the projector to play a few games of Wii bowling and it worked wonderfully for that. Throughout all the testing I was using a tripod for the projector stand.
It is quiet. The fan is no louder than your average laptop fan and even with that being said it’s still impressively quiet. It was silent relative to the other mini projector that I reviewed which sounded like a mini jet engine when running.
Cons: The little integrated speaker is rather weak, in a pinch it would be usable for something like a presentation in an office environment or sounds to accompany a game like Wii bowling. Otherwise you can use the ability to broadcast sound over Bluetooth or the headphone out jack.
It is not possible to get the same level of brightness while unplugged. I assume it’s for battery conservation but the end user should really be able to keep the brightness at whatever level they would like and not be locked out software wise.
No zoom, the screen size is directly proportional to how far away you are. It would be nice to have a little adjustment in terms of a zoom.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is an impressive projector. I can’t see taking off any eggs for the above mentioned cons. It would probably add another hundred or so dollars and increase the size of the unit significantly to implement any of those things. For what you’re paying for this device you are getting a substantial projector which would be useful for moderate home or office use. I could see it being useful for essentially anybody that needs to use a projector.

It is a great projector and if I run into any issues down the line with it I’ll update the review.
Reviewed By:Ryan B.,5/10/2016 10:07:23 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Business Projectors > BenQ > BenQ MH630 1920x1080 FHD 3000 ANSI Lumens, HDMI / Dual VGA Inputs, Built-in Speakers, Audio in/out jack, 3D Ready DLP Projector

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very nice projector for the price
Pros: - Very bright.
- Nice assortment of ports.
- Easy to hang from our ceiling.
- Starts up pretty quickly and shuts down very quick.
Cons: - None that I can think of!
Other Thoughts: This replaced an older Sharp model that had been through several bulb replacements. I was very happy right off with the whole setup, ports, settings and everything just worked right from the start. I only wish it had two HDMI ports so I could run both HDMI devices without changing cables.
The mounting holes on the bottom worked perfectly with our Atdec mount. Keystone and other adjustments are easy to find in the onscreen pages.
Very happy with this model and with BenQ brand projectors overall. Have had a few problems with older ones getting "stars" all over, but only a few of the low-end ones and it was after a few years of daily use. I feel that we have gotten our money's worth every time we have bought them.
Reviewed By:Andrew P.,5/5/2016 9:43:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Business Projectors > LG Electronics > LG PH550 Minibean LED Projector with Built-in Battery and Screen Share 1280 x 720 up to 550 lumen DLP 100,000:1 Bluetooth (with Speaker) MHL

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Powerful Mini Projector!
Pros: Very impressed with this LG Minibean Projector! It has a decent User Interface for files, and the TV tuner works great! Loaded with input options like HDMI, RGB, and Audio/Video in with RCA, even has screen share and mirroring options! Utilizing LED’s allows for whisper quiet fan cooling, I hardly noticed it! Projecting a 1 foot wide screen to 9 foot wide screen the picture was excellent at 720P!

TV tuner setup was a breeze with Auto Scan, also has a manual option for channels if need be. Has a built in clock, with snooze and auto off timer features. Parental controls with PIN code setup. Built in 3D video output options!

The 1 watt speakers can be heard with no problems over the fan, ideal for taking on a camping trip if no Bluetooth speaker is available. I watched videos on a memory stick using the internal speakers for 2.5 hours and still had battery power to spare!

Tested with numerous memory sticks, and portable drives and this unit had no problems recognizing any size I threw at it! From 2GB to 1TB, ExFat, FAT32, and NTFS, were all recognized with this projector!

As for media files, I tested many and can confirm the following all played with no problems; .AVI, .DIVX, .M2TS, .MKV, .MOV, .MP4, .MPG, .TS, .VOB, .WMV, AND .XVID.

Audio formats; .AAC, .OGG, .M4A, .MP3, AND .WMA were all recognized and played fine.

Built in Digital Keystone Correction; Auto Keystone (vertical). This allows the projector to use internal image scalers to digitally correct the image signal before it even reaches the lens, so you can project at greater angles than manual keystone correction can provide. This ensures that the projected image will be a proper rectangular shape, which allows for greater flexibility in deciding where to position the projector.

Auto PJT mode will flip the projected picture according to how it is mounted horizontally. If you have to mount it in an upside down position, it will automatically flip the projected picture so that it is right side up. This is a nice feature which allows you more mounting options than the standard mounting of right side up only.

When fast forwarding through larger video files, when you resume play the lip sync may be off a bit, simply pause and restart and it will sync back up. This is an issue that tends to happen on many devices when playing very large video files when resuming playback after fast forwarding.
Cons: Not really a con to me, but worth mentioning, there is no way to label the digital channels that it receives from your cable provider. Work around would be to just make yourself a cheat sheet to have on hand for finding channels quickly.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend to this to anyone who wants to go with a very large viewing screen on a wall. This projector would work great in a man-cave, or even for gamers who want to immersive themselves into a larger viewing environment! Also great for backyard parties, just grab a 4x8 sheet of plywood, paint it flat white and you have a simple inexpensive screen!

When you consider the cost of a large screen TV, purchasing this with a decent networked DVD player, and Bluetooth speaker system the overall cost would be less and more bang for the buck. A networked DVD player these days usually comes with all the App's for Netflix and other streaming services.

With all the input plugs built into this projector, you have tons of options, such as a PlayStation, XBOX, Roku, a DVD Blu-Ray Player, etc.!
Reviewed By:Robert D.,4/29/2016 11:24:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Business Projectors > LG Electronics > LG PH550 Minibean LED Projector with Built-in Battery and Screen Share 1280 x 720 up to 550 lumen DLP 100,000:1 Bluetooth (with Speaker) MHL

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fantastic Portable Projector!
Pros: + Superb color reproduction with numerous preset picture modes & expert calibration menus, similar to ones found on higher end LG HDTVs

+ 720p resolution is adequate for most tasks the projector will be used for

+ In a dark room, the 550 lumen brightness is more than plenty to project a 90”+ picture, even though the 720p resolution limitation would be more prevalent at that size

+ Automatic keystone correction to skew the projected image to achieve a rectangular picture. In order to achieve the best picture quality, it is recommended to turn the keystone auto-correction off and manually position the projector to achieve the rectangular projected image

+ Small size, marginally larger than the palm of the hand

+ Connectivity ranges from older composite cables, HDMI input, VGA input, HDTV antenna connector, and USB storage device

+ Ability to use Android devices which support screen sharing

+ Options of using a tripod mount or sitting on a table top with an adjustable front leveling peg

+ Three brightness settings can be toggled via the Energy Saving button on the remote

+ Relatively quiet for the size & brightness. Noise varies with brightness settings. Based on the heat coming out from the vents, the overall noise could theoretically be further reduced by LG

+ Ability to view 3D movies with an addition of compatible active shutter glasses

+ Headphone/external speaker output, as well as Bluetooth speaker connectivity

+ Due to the issue with Bluetooth audio not syncing with video on most devices, there’s a feature to sync the picture/audio within the projector; which is absolutely fantastic for those who have come across trying to view video on a device meanwhile streaming the audio through a Bluetooth speaker
Cons: - Overall sound could be better; therefore use of an external speaker is highly recommended

- Maximum brightness when running on battery is lower than when connected to the outlet

- In a brightly lit room, the screen size should be limited as it may appear dim at larger sizes

- Included USB port is only able to provide low 500 mA current to the attached devices, therefore not being to keep attached devices charged when doing presentations while the devices are also in use. Also due to the low current, external hard drives that solely rely on USB for power may not work.

- No way to charge USB devices with the projector turned off, since no power is supplied through the USB port

- Lack of WIFI internet connectivity and any ‘Smart TV’ features, even though a lot of features already on the projector seem to have come from LG line of TVs

- No way to zoom the image, so the projected screen size is directly proportional to the distance away from the screen
Other Thoughts: For owners of LG televisions, the overall use of this projector will be right inline with the TV counterparts. Menus & settings are laid out in the same style found on TVs. For those who calibrate their TVs to achieve the best possible picture, will be pleasantly surprised with the plethora of expert calibration options available.

Overall the LG PH550 is a fantastic projector which will even find use outside of on-the-go environments. Don’t let the listed cons steer you away from this particular projector as you’d be hard pressed to find ones with similar feature set in this price range.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/29/2016 10:17:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Business Projectors > AAXA Technologies Inc > AAXA LED Pico Projector with 80 Minute Battery Life, mini-HDMI, 15,000 hour LED life, and media player

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Light wieght long battery life.
Pros: Works great carrying around video on Micro SD card. Projected screen menus easy to get through. Included stand can tilt and position projector where needed. After full charge, I'm getting over 1 1/2 hour battery life, but it is new. Front and rear projector modes easy to change.
But why I love it is light weight and portability, I carried it in a large shirt pocket. Carried stand, and set up and projected in 30 seconds after focusing, added an audio cable to small amplified speaker for sound.
Cons: Mine came with no labels on buttons, but easy to figure out after a few uses. I didn't expect fan noise, but it is at a very low level. USB stick is limited to FAT file system. Native resolution is 1/4 1920x1080, small text is a little hard to read. Sound is quality of cell phone.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend the product. I suggest buying Micro SD 32 gig (max size the project can handle in FAT 32 format), instead of using USB thumb drives. Also Micro SD is stored entirely in unit, just press in a little more to eject. I also purchased an HDMI to mini HDMI cable.
Reviewed By:Bruce L.,4/6/2016 11:49:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Business Projectors > DELL > Dell M115HD WXGA 1280x800 HDMI USB Inputs w/ 1GB Internal Memory 450 ANSI Lumens Mobile LED Projector

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Nice little projector
Pros: Starting to phase out our old large projectors. Produces excellent images even with some ambient lighting.
Cons: Being small and light make it a bit tough to keep steady sometimes but nothing major.
Other Thoughts: So much better having small projectors .. people who transport them love it because they come in a tiny case.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/30/2016 7:03:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Business Projectors > ASUS > Asus P3B Ultra-Short-Throw Battery-Powered LED Portable Projector 800 Lumens WXGA 1280 x 800

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Warning to Mac users
Pros: Works as described, except for bug for Mac users (see below).
Cons: Bug for Mac users (see below).
Other Thoughts: Heads-up to Mac users: when using the built-in Media Center (i.e. when playing files directly from a microSD card, USB key or its 3GB of onboard memory), you have an extra step involved for the projector to work properly. You'll be out of luck if you don't do this. I've reported this bug to ASUS, but who knows if they'll fix it.

Macs write very small hidden files (like 4 kB) to drives as soon as they're inserted. These hidden files totally mess up the P3B's ability to see the files on the drive. The offending hidden files are ._.Trashes, the folder called .Trashes, and names of files that may have been deleted from the disk, with the filename preceded by ._

When these hidden files are on a USB key, microSD card or the projector's internal memory (even though, again, most Mac users would not know they're there, for as hidden files, they won't show up on your file display in Finder), the P3B will *not* read most of the files on the drive. The projector's Media Center won't even display them. The projector doesn't know they're there. The file list in the Media Center will, however, display some of the hidden files (which of course it cannot play), and will only display a small number of the actual files on the drive. This applies to all file types on the drive – videos, Word docs, PowerPoint files, PDFs, etc. If you plugged the USB key or microSD card into a Mac, the P3B won't be able to see most of the files on the drive.

The solution is to delete the hidden files and folders. One way to do this is to plug the drive into a Windows computer, view hidden files, select all of the hidden files and folders and permanently delete them all (shift+del). Then the drives work as they should in the P3B: the Media Center displays and plays all of the files on the drive.

A fix for Mac users who don't have access to a Windows computer is a free Mac program called Hidden Cleaner. There are other solutions to deleting hidden files/folders, but this is the one that I've found that works fine. This small, free program cleans the hidden files off the external flash drive immediately prior to ejecting it. Of course Mac users will need to do this each and every time they insert their USB key or microSD drive into their Mac, or whenever they plug the projector into the Mac via USB cable and select Data Transfer from the projector menu to access its on-board memory, for each time they do so, the Mac will once again write these hidden files to the drive, thus messing it up for proper functioning on the P3B. If that sounds like a pain, a simple internet search turns up other ways to keep Macs from writing hidden files/folders to flash drives permanently, but Hidden Cleaner works fine for me, so I've never explored other solutions.

Beyond this bug, this projector works well, as described.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Valued Customer,

Hello, thank you for taking your time in writing this review. We certainly value your feedback. It is unfortuante that you are having difficulty with your projector while using a MAC. We are aware of this issue and have found a fix. Sorry for the inconvenience. Please contact me at cl-justin@asus.com, so we can fix your issue. I'm here to assist our customers with our products and dedicated in bringing a resolution to all issues that they may come across. Your case for reference is N160531077

Thanks for choosing ASUS

Regards,
Justin
ASUS Customer Loyalty

Reviewed By:Anonymous,3/28/2016 10:34:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Business Projectors > InFocus > InFocus IN116x 1280 x 800 WXGA 3200 Lumens, Contrast Ratio 15000:1, HDMI Connections, 2W Speaker, Instant on/off, DLP 3D Ready Projector

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Projector for the Money
Pros: Exactly as Advertised
Bright
Easy to set up
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: This is a very good projector for simple and straight forward applications.
Reviewed By:Ryan B.,3/28/2016 7:30:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Business Projectors > Acer America > Acer P1173 800 x 600 SVGA 3000 ANSI Lumens HDMI & USB Input, w/ Carrying Bag, Business / Education / Gaming DLP Projector

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easy simple clear and bright.
Pros: Easy to use. Plug laptop or other device and select input and done. Have to say projectors have come along way over the years. I use this in a classroom environment to home theater in side and outside my home. Bright picture even in well lite rooms. You can not beet the price for what you are getting. It has been a year now and still going strong.
Cons: Non.
Reviewed By:Thomas M.,3/27/2016 7:57:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Business Projectors > ViewSonic > ViewSonic PJD7835HD 1920 x 1080 3500 lumens DLP Projector 22,000:1

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Beautiful Machine!
Pros: 1. Very Bright. Newegg currently describes incorrectly as 3200 lumens but, per my data sheet it is 3500 lumens.
On my 120" screen from 10 feet away I can run eco mode even in the day... looks great!
2. Eco Mode rates lamp for 8000 hours.
3. 2 HDMI Ports. 1 for cable and one for Roku Stick.
4. KEYSTONE features are awesome. Horizontal and Vertical. Gives good options for different placements.
5. Zoom 1.36X very useful for filling out the big screen.
6. Speaker actually sounds good when it works. (See Cons)
7. A fair amount of bells and whistles for a sub $1000 1080p Machine
8. Machine looks great!. Sitting on a side table for now, it looks awesome.
9. Great vibrant colors.
Cons: 1. Speaker comes on for about 10 minutes after a cold start then cuts out. This includes the audio out jack. With this I assume its on its sound board. Might be a heat issue as the projector is able to kick out the heat.
2. Not really a con but in full bright mode she really kicks out the heat. In eco mode its a lot better.
3. Have not found much from viewsonic on tutorials for tweeking all the possible settings. But if anyone knows where I may have overlooked please let me know. Would love to see an info card with a web address for online tutorials teaching how to use the pattern set up feature.
Other Thoughts: For now, I'm very impressed. Unfortunately, I'll be sending the unit back because of the sound issue. Depending on how things get resolved between Newegg, ViewSonic and myself will determine my comfortability in being able to recommend to friends and family.
I will update my review at the conclusion of this situation.

3-23-16. Sent back my third projector. The second and third the audio would cut out Then back on. Obviously the sound card has an issue. I'm now trying the new BenQ MH741. I will rate it after I have a week to test it out.
Reviewed By:Mark H.,3/23/2016 8:52:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.