Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Flatbed Scanners > Epson America > EPSON Perfection V500 Photo B11B189011 Film & Photo Flatbed Color Scanner

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Perfect for my needs
Pros: I have owned this scanner for a long time, it still functions great, and I mainly use this for my photos scan and negatives for archival purposes. I use this to scan negatives mostly now, which works great, but have since gotten a lower end scanner for quick jobs. It works exactly as you expect it to. I have not had problems with the Windows XP/Vista/7. All the resolutions work, sometimes resolution too high (files are sometimes too enormous to work with). Great for the purpose that I need it, causal photographer.
Cons: It just takes a lot of work to manual do all the scans; however, there is no other way around it unless you hire somebody to do it.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/8/2014 11:02:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Flatbed Scanners > Epson America > EPSON Perfection Series V37 4800 dpi with EPSON MatrixCCD 48bit USB Interface Flatbed Scanner

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 NOT CCD
Pros: Good color reproduction; lid opens 180 degrees; fairly fast; good quality low-end product.
Cons: Low-end product; software not intimately coordinated.
Other Thoughts: Despite NewEgg's description, this is an LED scanner, not CCD. Whether that's an advantage or a disadvantage depends on your needs and point of view.
Reviewed By:joelopines,7/8/2014 8:40:37 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Flatbed Scanners > Canon USA > Canon CanoScan LiDE210 4800 x 4800dpi 48bit USB Interface Flatbed Scanner

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 4800 dpi awesomeness.
Pros: USB - Power/Data in one cable.
Excellent scans @ 4800 dpi for what I need it for.
Cons: Maybe... Just maybe, it would be awesome not to only be able to achieve above 1200 dpi scans without needing to use the proprietary software that it comes with. Not because it sucks but because I don't like the interface.
Other Thoughts: Buy it.
Reviewed By:suchislife801,7/7/2014 9:32:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Flatbed Scanners > Canon USA > Canon CanoScan LiDE110 2400 x 4800dpi 48bit USB Interface Flatbed Scanner

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good Stuff
Pros: Scans fast once it does its warm up. Lightning fast compared to most all in one machines. No need for power cord (see other thoughts on power). The buttons on the front work just fine.
Cons: You need somewhere to keep it. Not really a con, but just realize it has to go somewhere where as all in ones take up 1 spot. You can't just copy to paper, you must scan 1st and the print how ever many copies. Not really a con, but!
Other Thoughts: So I bought this cause I'm sick of losing perfectly good equipment when 1 part of a printer dies. This way, if my next printer dies, I can still scan and print elsewhere. Now to power issue, I would not use this with a USB hub unless the hub gets its own power from a wall outlet. Its fine directly plugged into PC, but afraid it would burn out a port with a hub drawing power for more than just the scanner.
Reviewed By:Stevo,6/26/2014 4:50:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Flatbed Scanners > Mustek > Mustek A3 2400S 2400 x 2400dpi 48bit USB Interface Flatbed Scanner

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Died after 2 months
Pros: Cheapish
Lightweight
Cons: It started scanning everything in as solid purple after 2 months.
I contacted Mustek for an RMA, and have not heard back from them after a week.
When it does scan, everything looks washed out.
Other Thoughts: There are several large format all-in-ones that are infinitely better values than this thing. I got one of those and am happy with it. I wish I could get my money back on this piece of not-good-office-equipment.
Reviewed By:Johnny,6/1/2014 2:26:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Flatbed Scanners > Epson America > EPSON Perfection V500 Photo B11B189011 Film & Photo Flatbed Color Scanner

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Scanner
Pros: High image quality
Good software controls
Cons: Power and data cables can easily become disconnected
Other Thoughts: Owned this unit for almost a year and it still runs like a champ.
Over 1500 scans have been done with no mechanical breakdown of the system.
Again the image quality is just fantastic.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/22/2014 4:59:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Flatbed Scanners > Canon USA > Canon CanoScan LiDE110 2400 x 4800dpi 48bit USB Interface Flatbed Scanner

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 possible 7.0 and 8.1 compatibility issues
Pros: It's an inexpensive way to get a scanner in your house for light duty scanning. I've had two, one died after four or five years, during which it got dropped once or twice but kept going.

My second unit, also a low end cheapie, was working fine. When XP was discontinued I built a new computer and put 8.1 on it. The old software could not be installed in 8.1, and the new software did not run my old LIDE 110. You can find a driver to get the older unit to run on the net, from Canon, but it didn't work. SO, I bought my 3rd LIDE scanner figuring it would have good software.
Cons: Well, the new software did not make my old LIDE 100 work, and it *also* failed to make my NEW LIDE 100 work. I kept getting a "release the lock" message even though it was unlocked. There are nearly 200,000 google hits associated with this error message for the LIDE. I got an RMA and am hoping the replacement will work, in which case it is a hardware error. But it might be a software error, and if Canon can't keep up with Win 7 and Win 8.1 that would be a significant shortcoming.
Other Thoughts: If it does not pan out will probably try tye Canoscan that goes for $30 more.

This scanner is basically not for big scanning projects. Think of it as a light duty tool that will photocopy and scan various household docs on an as-needed basis. Don't expect to do thousands of photos or scan an entire book. It's really not designed for that kind of usage. I was happy with it until I got the one that did not work.....
Reviewed By:Greg N,5/6/2014 11:50:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Flatbed Scanners > Hewlett-Packard > HP Scanjet G4050 L1957A 4800 dpi 96bit USB 2.0 Interface Flatbed Scanner

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Put your helmet on and run away fast
Pros: Produces 6-color images. Two lamps, one infrared (or ultraviolet?) for removing scratches. 4800x9600 resolution. Does lots of 35mm film and slides at once, so says the advertisement.
Cons: Violet-blue-grey vertical streaks washes white documents. Even with nothing on the scanner glass, the white paper press does not scan in white. Easy to fix in GIMP, increase contrast to +60%; not willing to experiment with color photos.
No Linux support: The hotfix for the violet-blue-grey streaks on white background is for Windows and Macintosh. Unable to use more than 2400 resolution in XSane. No way to access advanced features, proprietary drivers for Windoes & Max.
Other Thoughts: Purchased this when a cheap plastic gear in my Scanjet 5370C wore out with no way to purchase replacement. I have no 3D printer, which could easily make a replacement gear. There is an image of a giant lollypop labeled "Sucker" floating over my head next to the image of a giant wood screw.
Waiting for local charity to pick it up and get it out my house. Looking for a high-resolution scanner from a manufacturer that returns calls from Linux Kernel Developers.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/29/2014 10:44:22 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Flatbed Scanners > Hewlett-Packard > HP Scanjet G4050 L1957A 4800 dpi 96bit USB 2.0 Interface Flatbed Scanner

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Decent hardware, but not easy to use
Pros: When you actually get it to work, it makes decent scans
Works with Windows 8.1
Nice assortment of holders for slides and negatives
Pretty quiet compared to my Nikon Coolscan 5000
Cons: HP software VERY poor
Scanning at high resolution is painfully slow
Strange issues with the IR dust removal (see below)
Other Thoughts: Don't waste your time with the buggy and poor quality HP software. Get VueScan Pro and you will be happy. After much tinkering, I am able to scan negatives and get good results, although it takes a lot of time at a decent resolution. Also, I am observing what appears to be a shadow effect caused by the IR dust removal. You see the dust spec, then you see its shadow. Saw this at 4800 dpi, but not 2400. Strange, but then again, almost any settings I used seemed to provide different results and behaviors such as this. I settled on a format of scanning 120 format negatives at 2400 dpi as Images (not negatives!) in VueScan with only light IR dust removal. These are saved as DNG raw files and then reprocessed in a second very quick step by VueScan into positive DNG Raw files using the film profiles built into VueScan. Then I go to Lightroom 5 with the reprocessed DNG files. This works very well with only minor tweaks required by Lightroom to give stunning results. You would not believe the sharpness from my 120 negatives shot on Kodak Ektar 25 Pro!
Reviewed By:Garycal,4/28/2014 5:04:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Flatbed Scanners > Mustek > Mustek A3 2400S 2400 x 2400dpi 48bit USB Interface Flatbed Scanner

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Do not purchase
Pros: Has a large scanning area for a small price
Cons: Terrible quality, the light source is extremely dim, and the lens is also cheap and struggles to capture a photorealistic image. Not worth it!
Reviewed By:N/A,4/20/2014 10:39:14 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau