Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Microphones > Syba > SYBA CL-ME-606 3.5mm Connector Desktop Microphone

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Waste of money
Pros: None
Cons: The microphone never worked and never produced any sound on 2 different computers with Windows XP. I verified the connections. The push button is not documented. So I do not know if it is on or off. Also, there is no control light. Trying on Linux did not provide either any luck.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/16/2014 4:08:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Microphones > Cyber Acoustics > Cyber Acoustics ACM-51B Black 3.5mm Connector Desktop Microphone

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1
Pros: Cheap
Cons: Worst Mic I have ever owned. Will not pick up your voice from 6 inches away. You literally need to yell or eat this thing in order to use it.
Other Thoughts: Don't buy.

Wish I could get a refund but the shipping would cost as much as the product.
Reviewed By:Laz,12/16/2014 2:12:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Microphones > Nady Systems > Nady SPF-1 Microphone Pop Filter with Boom & Stand Clamp

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Pretty good product
Pros: Does what its suppose to do.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: Currently have this clamped onto my Blue Yeti. I don't recommend trying to clamp it onto the base of the yeti
Reviewed By:Chad A,12/15/2014 8:37:25 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Microphones > Blue Microphones > Blue Microphones NESSIE USB Connector USB Microphone - Cardioid

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great Desktop Mic
Pros: Great Design
Heavy / Sturdy
Adjustable Mic
Cons: When it first arrived the metal mesh on the back of mic was not attached correctly and fell off before it was used. I popped it back in and has not came off since. I thought that was kind of weird.
Other Thoughts: I use it for skype and gaming, everybody always says the voice quality is really good.
Reviewed By:Juice,12/13/2014 9:53:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Microphones > Blue Microphones > Blue Microphones - Snowball

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 OK for some things.
Pros: - Inexpensive
- Good for use as a speaking mic
- Decent for pop vocals
Cons: - Stand is iffy and will not lock, very hard to get the mic to screw on to it properly as well
- Incredibly large
- Included USB cable is much too short to get away from computer noise
- Absolutely cannot handle soprano vocals
Other Thoughts: So, the first thing is, I have a less than ideal recording area. I have a fan in my computer that refuses to run less than 1200rpms and no controller to tell it to shut up, so there is constant fan noise.

This would be less of an issue if my room layout and the length of the cable allowed me to move it to a position where my computer were behind it and it could be picked up less. Unfortunately, this isn't the case. It's too big, and the cable is too short, and there just simply isn't anywhere to put it.

So, to cut down on this, because it is very noticeable, I have it on the middle setting that does a -10dB reduction so the remaining noise pickup can be(mostly) dealt with in Audacity. This works OK, but causes a further issue - There isn't enough gain left afterwards, and I have to boost it and risk quality loss.

So, OK, this is already awkward, but there's ways around it, like borrowing a laptop that isn't as noisy as a computer I built for gaming from a family member and going in the bathroom for slightly less terrible acoustics than my room. Pain in the rear but hey.

However, there is one thing that simply cannot be worked around. To be fair, I didn't really expect this to handle what it doesn't, but I was hoping it wouldn't handle it so badly.

Are you a soprano? A real one, because sure, I can belt into this mostly OK and if I do that thin floaty pop fluffiness it's OK.

But the INSTANT you put any support behind it, hit any forte passage, never mind fortissimo, you will blow this thing out from ten feet away facing the other direction and your recording will be useless. I'm not even trying to do proper opera, it was just a recording of a Sarah Brightman song(Her version of Il Cuore Mio Va, if you want to know), and I was blowing this thing out during the early quieter passages before you hit full force on the last chorus.

The recording of operatic sopranos is, of course, a well-known pain in the rear that generally requires professional gear to do well, but I was hoping to be able to get at least 'slapping this on youtube for fun as a karaoke cover' quality, but there is no fixing mic blowout. If it's in your track, delete that track, it is dead.

I think, perhaps, if I went into another room I might be able to hit my high notes without blowing it out, but at that point...

These are, of course, mostly #SopranoWorldProblems, and if you aren't singing in a classical style you should be fine. Sadly I am, and I do have some vocal training, and I can in fact sing over an orchestra without a mic, so when I hit those passages, oof.

Don't let any of this scare you away for spoken word work, or softer styles. (I've also had some success with higher belting; but I would not use me as a yardstick for it, I am not trained for belting, dislike it and probably do not do it correctly.) For those it's great.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/13/2014 3:11:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Microphones > Syba > SYBA CL-ME-606 3.5mm Connector Desktop Microphone

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Desktop Microphone SYBA
Pros: It's cheap and has a flexible neck for different height positions.
Cons: Does not pick up sound as well as I thought it should. You have to almost speak directly into it, but you get what you pay for in the end.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/12/2014 10:13:26 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Microphones > Syba > SYBA CL-ME-606 3.5mm Connector Desktop Microphone

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Disappointed
Pros: Looks cool.
Cons: This microphone picks up more background noise than primary. I talked into it from 4 inches and the constant stream of noise was louder than my voice. I just needed something cheap for audio in some videos, and I thought $15 would be enough to spend. I will now be spending my next weeks finding out a way to return this.
Reviewed By:ethwillz,12/6/2014 2:15:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Microphones > Blue Microphones > Blue Microphones - Snowball

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fantastic quality, high volume, great price
Pros: I got this mic based on a number of streamers' recommendations. First thing I did was pop into my buddies' vent server, and ask, "Can everyone hear me okay? Just got a new mic." A few different people keyed up with "whoa" and "wow" and then my guild leader said, "Yeah, we can hear you really good. Makes me want to buy a new mic."

It's a very good mic. Extremely good quality. I like the style too. Highly recommended for a mic in this range. Great for podcasting or streaming, or if you just want to have a particularly nice mic to skype with.
Cons: None that I have found yet. Will update if anything goes amiss.
Reviewed By:TelFiRE,12/4/2014 3:59:42 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Microphones > Samson > Samson MTR

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Solid
Pros: Great build quality, nice stand. Pretty high quality sound in Fraps and such. Price point is pretty great.
Cons: None really.
Other Thoughts: I like it a lot, sturdy, reliable, and quality microphone.
Reviewed By:Mikeynpb,11/29/2014 8:16:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Microphones > Blue Microphones > Blue Microphones - Yeti

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Everything about this unit is quality. The sound captured is crisp and clean. This is just what I wanted.
Cons: None with my experience.
Reviewed By:N/A,11/29/2014 3:29:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.