Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Limited Time Only! Newegg Premier is now only $29.99/year. Sign up now.
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Universal Remotes > Rosewill > Rosewill RHRC-11002 Windows 7 Certified MCE IR Remote Controller/Windows 8 MCE + Small USB Dongle Type, with Netflix CD

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 XMBC IR reciever
Pros: works right of the box. xmbc had an easy add on to use with it. the logitech harmony ultimate easily found the remote setup.
Cons: wish i could have gotten the IR reciever only
Reviewed By:KOD,7/16/2014 11:29:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Universal Remotes > Cables To Go > C2G IR Remote Control Repeater Kit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works like you need it to
Pros: Allows you to make your bulky components disappear off of your cabinet top and allows you to put them behind the cabinet doors. This kit has long thin wires to do the job.
Cons: only comes with 2 sets that will repeat to 4 devices. The control module holds more than 2 sets.
Other Thoughts: Don't forget that you will need a hole saw kit to cut your holes in the back of your cabinet for the wires to travel(to the power, receiver eye ball, and to the speakers). The receiver eye ball should be stuck on the rim of the Monitor. If that is impossible, stick it to the side on the cabinet face in line sight of the couch.....make sure that you can run the cable to it, then hide it.
Reviewed By:Rebel,7/16/2014 10:31:17 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Universal Remotes > Rosewill > Rosewill RRC-126 Windows Vista/Window7 MCE/Windows 8 MCE Infrared Remote Control with Netflix Function

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 it's alright
Pros: works like it should.
Cons: buttons are small. arrow buttons are small and close together, no spacing between them. makes it a chore to press the button and not hit another button.
Other Thoughts: i have an older model rrc-127 that is basically this remote with a few differences. 1) spacing between the arrow keys 2) slightly wider, but not much 3) it lacks the red,green, yellow, blue buttons. (i wish it had those) 4) circular play/pause/etc button layout (which i prefer)

i still prefer my old rrc-127 over this newer model. it's slightly bigger but still not huge. it's easier to do the most common tasks on media center with it, which is use the arrow keys, click enter, and use the play/pause buttons.
Reviewed By:wolderiii,7/16/2014 8:30:03 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Universal Remotes > RCA > New Rca Rcrst02gr 2-Device Universal Streaming Remote

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Handy, simple remote; no extra junk
Pros: The device has no extra number buttons, and so you can deal only with the buttons you actually want.

The remote sits nicely in one's hand. It has a nice shape on bottom.

The buttons are nice and big and the layout is sane/simple enough that you can navigate by feel.

It works.
Cons: Programming is kind of annoying, and this device doesn't use the usual RCA remote codes, so if you don't find the codes you want on the list (in a tiny font), you're out of luck.

You cannot program volume for devices which have separate volume mixers. Volume +/- and mute buttons always affect the TV.
Other Thoughts: I bought this device for use with a FLIRC receiver on an HTPC I'm building. (For those of you who don't know, FLIRC is a little programmable USB dongle that maps IR signals from ordinary remotes into keystrokes. I highly recommend it.)

One irritation I had in setting this up was ‘programming’ the remote with a configuration that uses ALL of the buttons. If the remote thinks you won't need a button for the device you've selected, it simply sends no signal at all with that button. This is no good for FLIRC, which can make use of all buttons. With some futzing around, you can check which buttons are activated by a given selection for this remote: go down the list, setting up a ‘streaming device’ with each code. Press every button and make sure they all light up. The option I found which works to this end is exactly halfway down the list, for ‘Patriot’ devices, and the code is 34262.

Another point I found confusing initially is that with my TV, the arrow buttons and menu button seemed to SOMETIMES work. It turns out that like many remotes, this one (to my frustration, see cons) considers which button your pressing as well as which ‘mode’ (TV or Streaming) you're on. The arrow keys go, by default, to your streaming device, as does the menu key and possibly others. Similarly, the power key sends signals to both the TV and the streaming device by default. You are given a not-too-awkward way of specifying otherwise, however: if you press the button for a specific device and then _within 4 seconds_ press another key, it will force that keypress to signal the specified device.

Example: if you want to turn off ONLY your TV, press the TV button, and then quickly press the power button right afterward.

That feature is not configurable.
Reviewed By:Patrick C.,7/12/2014 12:32:24 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Universal Remotes > Rosewill > Rosewill WMC Remote control/Rcvr RRC-127 for Win 7

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 perfect
Pros: Works as described
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,7/9/2014 3:37:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Universal Remotes > Logitech > Logitech Harmony 650 (915-000159) Universal Remote

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Bad USB Port
Pros: Not a touch screen so my wife can use it.
Handles all 4 of my devices with full function on all devices.
Battery life is good, about 3 months
Easy to setup with download software
Cons: Program on line does not have all the functionality as the download software.
USB port failed on my first one, so I could not reprogram the remote. The remote worked fine with my original settings, just could not add to it. This one works fine.
Other Thoughts: I bought this to replace an e 250 that finally gave up the ghost after 4 years.
This is my second one of this type. The USB port failed on the first one, no way to program it. I had it all setup and tried to add some more function when I found the USB cable would not stay in and it could not communicate with the remote. All the original settings still worked.
Reviewed By:CompUNut,7/9/2014 3:23:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Universal Remotes > Rosewill > Rosewill RHRC-11002 Windows 7 Certified MCE IR Remote Controller/Windows 8 MCE + Small USB Dongle Type, with Netflix CD

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 One out of two
Pros: First of all, the remotes came well packaged. A USB extension cable was provided. The receiver is quite small and unobtrusive. Newegg shipped it fast.
Cons: Unfortunately for me, one of the remotes has "broken" buttons, in that on the directional pad, the down and right buttons do not work. It costs too much to send the remote back, so I am stuck with a semi-working device...
Other Thoughts: The purchased was based on the reviews (positive) on newegg's website, so I am just letting the other users know that there may be lemons among them. If a Rosewill CSR reads this, he/she may contact me if there is something that can be done to fix this.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/7/2014 10:23:35 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Universal Remotes > Logitech > Logitech Harmony 650 (915-000159) Universal Remote

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 First harmony remote I used and I'm positively impressed
Pros: Set up was a breeze: just downloaded the software on my Mac and hooked to remote via the standard USB cable. It seemed to know all my devices and I configured activities like watch TV, watch Apple TV, listen to music on Apple TV in no time.
Then I was impressed how it knows to switch to the proper HDMI input on my TV, turn on or off the Verizon STB, toggle power on my Yamaha soundbar, switch input, all with the press of a button.
I'm happy to need only this remote now (most of the time), down from 4 remotes.
Cons: Unfortunately because of the infra red technology you do have to keep the remote pointed towards your devices quite a bit of time. More than once some of the devices where either not turned on or not switched to the proper setting (input). It's usually an easy fix using the help button and on screen prompts but just a bit annoying.
Also no PS3 control unless you buy a separate bluetooth transmitter. I already have a universal remote from SONY for the PS3 and that one is junk, it's always unpaired and unusable.
Other Thoughts: I'm not sure if the infra red transmission time can be improved upon. I'm quite content with this remote, although if I'd be filthy rich I would probably try the ultimate remote ($350 MSRP). For 90% of homes this remote will do. You'll still need your game remote to control your playstation, but I would use that one anyway, as once in a while I want to play games too.
Reviewed By:Sebastian Z,7/6/2014 9:12:24 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Universal Remotes > Rosewill > Rosewill RRC-126 Windows Vista/Window7 MCE/Windows 8 MCE Infrared Remote Control with Netflix Function

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Aweomse controller for Windows Media and XBMC
Pros: Quality build with plastic
Buttons are solid
Design is simple but works
Small foot print controller which fits in one hand and one hand operation
Plug and play..no need for 3rd party drivers
All buttons are mapped very well for use
I love the Windows button placement
Mini dongle but works very well and far too - I'm about 20 feet away and the USB dongle is tucked inside a glass case about 4 feet from the ground. I still receives the signals solid!
It even comes with two AAA batteries to get you started
Cons: I know it's just a cheap remote for Windows Media and/or XBMC but I would of loved some customize able buttons and maybe a little touch screen?
Other Thoughts: I got this on sale for just ten bucks! I would not recommend paying anything over twenty bucks on this controller.

With that being said..it is definitely worth its price. No...it's not an expensive Logitech remote with customizable buttons or touch screen but for Windows Media and XBMC, it gets the job done and very well as a matter of fact.

I'd highly recommend for any XBMC home setup.
Reviewed By:AlphaSludge,6/25/2014 2:59:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Universal Remotes > Logitech > Logitech 915-000194 Harmony Smart Control with Smartphone App and Simple Remote

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Reveiw Requested
Pros: It works well haven't use all features yet. There is a lot .
Cons: It will only control tv hub is hooked up with.
Other Thoughts: Remote works well phone app easy to work overall nice.
Reviewed By:djpdjp123,6/22/2014 3:45:24 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau