Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > GPS Navigation > Garmin > GARMIN nüvi 2597LMT 5.0" GPS Navigation w/ Lifetime Map & Traffic Update

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Remarkably horrible junk that randomly stops working
Pros: The grammar is more accurate than most navigation systems.
The screen is large enough.
USB connectivity.
Cons: I've had two of these now, and both of them simply stopped working after about a year. That's not a lot of motivation to upgrade, or it's an offensive/bully-ish strategy for persuading to upgrade. I took good care of them, too. Always had it connected, updated the maps, kept it in the glovebox when not in use.

When it notifies you to turn is not based on distance v. speed (for some silly reason), so it tells you to turn in 100 feet (or whatever) when you're doing 65+ on the highway, or when you're doing 10 down a back road. So you have an instant to turn, or you'll turn in 45 seconds (or so). Genius.
Other Thoughts: The worst part, obviously, is the 'flock you! Now I don't work!' aspect of these things. I dearly wish there was a navigation system with accurate grammar (e.g. "turn at" is not the same as "turn onto") that functioned well for more than a year. Preferably for 20+ years (why should I need to replace it if I keep updating it?).
Reviewed By:C. C.,9/3/2016 2:32:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > GPS Navigation > Garmin > GARMIN 3.5" GPS with FM Live traffic

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Why?
Pros: If you are using one of these over your cell phone, I simply don't know what name to call you.
Cons: Garmin, when these things made sense, was much worse than Tom Tom's usability.
Reviewed By:Michael B.,9/2/2016 8:11:29 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > GPS Navigation > TomTom > TomTom 5.0" VIA 1515M GPS Navigation

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easy to use
Pros: You sign on to TOM TOM on your computer and plan your trip. Then simply send it to your new Tom Tom!
Cons: Able to connect to FORD SYNC basic would have been nice.
Other Thoughts: Yep sur would. This is my second Tomtom.
Reviewed By:William B.,8/29/2016 6:23:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > GPS Navigation > Garmin > Refurb nuvi 2589LMT

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very good GPS with Stellar Features
Pros: Much improved over previous versions I've used. Graphics are much clearer - especially the inset for exits, turns etc
Cons: none
Reviewed By:Martin P.,8/12/2016 9:25:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > GPS Navigation > Garmin > GARMIN 5.0" 010-n1198-03 Nuvi 56LM

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: it works in locations that cell phones can not.
Cons: does not do traffic
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/29/2016 12:50:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > GPS Navigation > Garmin > GARMIN 5.0" Essential Series Navigation for Your Car, includes lifetime map updates and traffic avoidance

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great sale interaction
Pros: Nice product
Cons: Still trying to get it to sync with my computer to download updated maps.... Hopefully it will start to cooperate soon
Reviewed By:Michael R.,5/31/2016 1:41:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > GPS Navigation > Garmin > GARMIN 6.1" Essential Series Navigation for Your Car, includes lifetime map updates

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 This one failed
Pros: It had a bigger screen
It said the street names - one of the reasons we upgrade
Cons: After testing in the US for a few days it failed when we needed it most on an international trip.
I have had good luck with a Garmin GPS in the past so I won't be throwing them under the bus for a failure as inopportune as it was.
I don't find the screens as responsive as a iPad screen touch
Other Thoughts: We tried charging the device in the car as well as from a wall charger.
Reviewed By:Christopher D.,5/2/2016 1:22:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > GPS Navigation > Trackimo > Trackimo GPS Tracker - 1 Year GSM Service

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Not worth the money
Pros: ? It has 1 yr service included, even tho you paid for it in its price. You don't have to buy a SIM.
Cons: The SOS didn't send txt to cellphone. The detect movement didn't work properly. I got the movement to work ONLY when I shook it very abruptly and then only 1 time. The car never would activate it. The email sends worked ok other than this. To me, this device is plain cheap and GSM/GPS has to take alot of time to narrow down your location, plus, the support system leaves alot to be desired, considering the wait times (several days and very short replies). If I did it over again, I definitely would of passed on this one and looked elsewhere. Too much for too little.
Other Thoughts: I don't recommend in the slightest...
Reviewed By:Philip B.,3/29/2016 11:28:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > GPS Navigation > Garmin > GARMIN Nüvi 3597LMTHD 5.0" GPS Navigation w/ Lifetime Map & Traffic Update

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Easy to use, not the best routes
Pros: Lifetime map updates (free), real time traffic and delays (free), large display, customized icons (the Black Pearl sails the streets for me), advanced lane guidance, and the voice does a pretty good job at pronouncing street names and destinations.
Cons: The routes it picks are not the best. I frequently have to compare what the Garmin says and what Google says on my phone. It usually doesn't tell me a delay in traffic fast enough for me to avoid it, but at least I know how long I'll sit on the freeway. It does not avoid tolls out of the box, I had to change the setting manually. I've also never seen a weather alert as advertised. The Smartphone Link did not work for some reason with my Galaxy S5, but I have not tried on my S6 yet.
Other Thoughts: Despite the cons it is not a bad unit. I still use it and I bought it in May of 2015. I once compared this unit, my old TomTom, and Google navigation on my Galaxy S6. The TomTom and Google were pretty much the same while the Garmin gave a different route all together. This unit is not bad if you've never had a GPS before and don't know anything about them, but I honestly plan on switching back to TomTom soon. This unit will at least get you to where you want to go.
Reviewed By:Andrew O.,3/21/2016 8:08:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > GPS Navigation > Garmin > GARMIN 6.1" Essential Series Navigation for Your Car, includes lifetime map updates

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fantastic view and it's alway accurate
Pros: Really nice and big, you'll definitely guide yourself better with a bigger screen, my previous one was only 4" and while it was good, I can tell that this one is a better quality.

Software updates are free and so far I've been to some places that I'm surprised the GPS is correct and never got lost. Although I wish there was a feature where it'd say guide through city or back woods, because some of the back woods have been rough roads.
Cons: NONE
Other Thoughts: This is big unit, it'd be great idea to get a carrying case for it, I bought one and now I know I won't be scratching the screen like I did with my previous unit.
Reviewed By:Roberto C.,2/28/2016 5:39:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.