Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > GPS Navigation > Garmin > GARMIN nuvi 2597LMT 5.0" GPS Navigation w/ Lifetime Map & Traffic Update

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Garmin G{S
Pros: Easy to use. Bluetooth access. 5" screen. Voice activated navigation. Smartphone Link.
Cons: None really,
Reviewed By:Ron,7/11/2014 10:20:53 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > GPS Navigation > MAGELLAN > MAGELLAN RoadMate 5120-LMTX 5.0" GPS Navigation w/ Lifetime Traffic & Map Update

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Poor performance
Pros: Good Updates for maps
Cons: Poor traffic alerts, POI is very slow and crashes unit every time search is started. Cannot get customer service from Magellan.
Other Thoughts: It would be nice to be able to speak to someone when problems arise
Reviewed By:klevco,7/10/2014 6:54:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > GPS Navigation > Garmin > GARMIN nuvi 2557LMT 5.0" GPS Navigation w/ Lifetime Map & Traffic Update

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very fast
Pros: This is a very fast GPS unit based on how fast it updates its map view(4+ times per second) and how little it lags behind my real-world position. The touch screen is very responsive and easy to use. The GUI works very nicely. The traffic information also works very nicely.
Cons: There are no clear cons. This device was highly recommended by customers on an online forum. This model of Garmin was recommended above the rest. No disappointments.
Other Thoughts: This is my second Garmin. The older one is still usable, but slow screen updates and position lag make for a different experience. Its touch screen is also not so responsive, requiring extra pressure (sometimes I have to pinch the device to produce the touch pressure). None of this is an issue on the new model.
Reviewed By:Gavin C,7/8/2014 10:03:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > GPS Navigation > Garmin > GARMIN nuvi 3490LMT 4.3" GPS Navigation w/ Lifetime Traffic & Map Updates

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Call it a best buy!
Pros: Couldn't be more simple to operate. The basic functions of entering a destination have been semi-automated to an amazing degree. The improvement in graphics was a knock-out; as was the improved keyboard.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: My old (very old) Garmin finally plotted its last course and went to GPS heaven. I did my homework and found the 3490 was highly recommended, saw the lifetime updates included in the purchase price, and bought it.
When it was delivered, I plugged it into a USB port on my computer and the automated update process kicked in, ran for about three hours, and was finished without errors of any kind.
Within a couple of days I had to drive my grandson to a friend's house several miles away. It took about 60 seconds to enter the data, plot the course, and hit the road.
I also went through the process of entering all of the destinations we visit on a regular basis (all over the Eastern U.S.) and it was the same experience. About one minute to enter the data, plot the course, save for future use.
If you're looking for a solid GPS unit, just buy it.
Reviewed By:OldGyrene,7/7/2014 10:53:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > GPS Navigation > Garmin > GARMIN nuvi 44 4.3" GPS Navigation

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great when on sale
Pros: Easy, familiar interface
Clear voice
No frills
Covers Canada
Cons: Pricier than a free app
Other Thoughts: Purchased on a ridiculous Newegg sale for sixty smackers, does a good job without unnecessary frills. I had no interest in real-time traffic (it seems to be a disaster on these free standing GPS units), but I did want a map of Canada included -- this fits the bill. I admit to using it less and less these days, alas, as there is a certain free app starting with "W" and ending with "ZE" on the phone that does an incredible job. Still, this serves as a reliable backup, particularly if I want to avoid using data or I am traveling at a time when traffic routing isn't a big deal.
Reviewed By:Eggster,7/7/2014 7:46:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > GPS Navigation > TomTom > TomTom VIA 1535TM 5.0" GPS Navigation with Lifetime Traffic & Map Updates

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 skip it
Pros: it navigates
Cons: so very many times it shows ' unknown street'
it does not know some streets that are already 3 years old ( yes I have all the updates)
I should have returned it in the first week but too busy
Reviewed By:Charley,6/30/2014 3:58:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > GPS Navigation > Garmin > Garmin nuvi 50LM 5-Inch Portable GPS With Lifetime US Maps

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Garmin NUVI 52LM
Pros: Bought refurbished it worked fine out of the box. Replaced a much older, smaller Garmin unit (that still works, by the way).
Cons: After an initial trip with the unit, I updated it using Garmin's website, and the only problem with THAT was the update wiped out the voice directions feature. Contacted Garmin tech support and they promptly fixed the problem on line with updated software. So, the "con" is really kudos!
Other Thoughts: Great tech support. They even used windows remote assistance to make sure the fix was done right. I was very favorably impressed! Way to go guys!
Reviewed By:Frank,6/26/2014 7:53:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > GPS Navigation > Garmin > GARMIN nuvi 2597LMT 5.0" GPS Navigation w/ Lifetime Map & Traffic Update

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Unit
Pros: Worked great out of the box. Tells you what lanes in the freeway you need to be on during highway transitions. After my trip to Boston, I can say this can resolve a lot of headaches. This unit has been accurate so far with the posted speed limit. It is easy to use.
Cons: Non that I would subtract eggs for. Too many buttons to get to previous destinations in my opinion.
Other Thoughts: This unit rated well in my online research and I can see why. My Magellan took too much time to find satellites, this one is much faster. There are bad reviews that this is a refurbished unit. Although it could be, it does come in a Garmin box, just not a pretty one. Regardless, I am pleased with it.
Reviewed By:MikeTV,6/25/2014 1:27:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > GPS Navigation > Garmin > GARMIN nuvi 50LM 5.0" GPS Navigation w/ Lifetime Map Updates

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Father's Day Gift
Pros: Easy to use and set up. The windshield suction cup mount works really well and the device is pretty adjustable. I mounted this thing both near the bottom of my windshield (resting above the dash in the center of the car) and on the upper left corner of my windshield (next to the sun visor) and the device was comfortable to use in both positions. I customized this baby with the Srgt Hartman voice from FMJ and now I get directions from the drill seargant himself... pretty awesome! Also my car symbol was changed to the X-Wing Fighter from Star Wars - the customization is pretty cool.
Cons: The only cons, and they are small, include the amount of registration that comes with the package - I'm not a fan of creating accounts for things. The cord plugs into the cigarette lighter and wires to the device which can get in the way but this is pretty standard and nothing a twist-tie can't fix.
Other Thoughts: My father is 50 years old and quite the redneck gun toting cowboy. He can operate a cell phone but the internet is beyond his comfort zone. I was worried that this device would be beyond him as well but after playing with it I felt that it was simple and intuitive enough. He was extremely excited to receive this GPS after moving to a new city and getting lost once or twice. Now he has the freedom to explore and can find stores without using google. Apparently its easy enough for a redneck to figure out and he can't be happier with the gift. I would suggest this device whether you are tech savvy or not - the interface is large and helpful, practically holding your hand which is nice.
Reviewed By:Jeean,6/24/2014 12:19:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > GPS Navigation > Garmin > GARMIN nuvi 50LM 5.0" GPS Navigation w/ Lifetime Map Updates

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 "Look elsewhere"
Pros: There is a map, and it moves. It does work. Free map upgrades? I like the feature where it shows a visual representation of complicated highway interchanges and shows you the lane in which you should travel. The device also shows the speed limit and your speed. Which is helpful when accurate... and it is the majority of the time.
Cons: Downloading the map updates when it arrived was a failure. Apparently, there isn't enough storage space on the device to download the upgrades. I wasn't trying to download the entire world, just the area I will drive in. It seems that I have to purchase an expansion memory card to get the latest info. That ain't cool.

Whatever, the maps are probably up to date... right? I was using the GPS to travel from NYC to southern Florida. A few times the GPS didn't know which road I was on and sort of freaked out and gave me some bogus directions. Especially when I would exit to get gas and have to do a U-turn or something to get to a gas station. It would actually tell me to go *miles* out of the way to get back - I started to do it, but when I was in a shady backwater neighborhood in the deep south at 1 am, I decided to use my judgement and just turn around. I thought it was taking me on a shortcut, when in reality it was a derp-cut.

My old Garmin 330c was MUCH MUCH better at this. I am sad I "upgraded".

Driving though the small town streets of central FL, one needs to be aware of the speed limits. They go from 60 to 35 in a short distance. The cops would like nothing better than to write a ticket for speeding out-of-towners. I can't blame them. I *want* to adhere to posted speeds. Thank fully the Garmin nuvi 50LM displays the posted speeds. There was some slight deviation, if I was only relying on the GPS, I might have gotten a ticket. Although to be fair, it was usually correct and helpful.

I've even been using the GPS locally even though I know where I am going, just to test it out. I, for the life of me can't figure out how to get it to search for a place by name. I can get to the screen where I enter the name of the location "W**-M***" and it can't find it by name. It is in the "searching" screen forever and never returns any results. The 330c, though 5+ years old, would find things instantaneously.

Ok, well, there are menu items for locating types of locations, I'll try that. After stumbling around trying to find the one that might be holding "W**-M***", I find it. And Huzzah, there is a W**-M*** just a few miles away, closer than the one I knew about. I'll go there! Sigh, After driving there - I find it is an empty lot. WHAT?!?! :facepalm:

It also seems like the calibration is off on the voice and the map. The voice says turn here, and the map shows that I am far from the turn. With the old 330c, I was never confused about where the turn was. This is just uncomfortable
Other Thoughts: In closing, I'm sad I bought this device. I wish I purchased something else or kept with my old Garmin 330c.
Reviewed By:4EverLost,6/23/2014 7:52:57 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau