Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Back2School
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Flashlights & Lanterns > Rosewill > Rosewill RLFL-14002 - Cree XP-G R2 250 Lumen LED Adjustable Focus Zoom Flashlight - (2-Piece Combo Pack)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Review update
Pros: After I wrote my review I decided to pull the flashlight completely apart and see if I could determine why it did not adjust as it stated in the specs. I noticed a slight movement inside the flashlight head so I put back together. I got a cloth and a pair of pliers, wrapped the cloth around the head and grabbed it with the pliers. I pulled and tugged and then just went for. I figured if it broke it just broke but low and behold it broke free and started working fine. I will say t took quite a bit of force to get it to move but it finally did. I don't know why they're stuck like they are but they focus. Performed the same procedure on the other light and it too now works.
Cons: stuck focus. After it's freed the light does focus
Other Thoughts: Thanks to all the guys that took the time to answer my question.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/29/2015 3:43:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Flashlights & Lanterns > Rosewill > Rosewill RLFL-14002 - Cree XP-G R2 250 Lumen LED Adjustable Focus Zoom Flashlight - (2-Piece Combo Pack)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Where's the truth in advertising?
Pros: it turns on
Cons: The specs say this light has adjustable focus but the lights I received do NOT. The head will turn but it has NO effect on the light beam. If you continue to turn what should be the focus the head will come completely off. Not very satisfied since that was one of the main reasons I purchased the light. I even checked the Rosewill website and their specs also say it adjust. Don't know if I got two (2) duds but for the price it's not worth the hassle and time to return them. It's a pity that you sometimes don't get what's advertised.
Other Thoughts: If you'r looking for a light that has an adjustable beam look somewhere else. If that's a non issue them for the money it's an OK flashlight.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/28/2015 5:50:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Flashlights & Lanterns > Rosewill > Rosewill RLFL-14002 - Cree XP-G R2 250 Lumen LED Adjustable Focus Zoom Flashlight - (2-Piece Combo Pack)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 What happened to truth in advertising?
Pros: Nice little light, it turns on.
Cons: NOT adjustable zoom. If it's is I wish someone would tell me how. I've owned more flashlights than I can count from cheap to Streamlight and this little light isn't bad for the price but It does not zoom. You can twist the flashlight head and it does rotate but it has ZERO effect on the light other than to be completely removable if you continue to twist. I'm disappointed in the product for that reason. If it had been advertised as NON zoomable I'd have chosen a different light. What happened to truth in advertising?
Other Thoughts: I thought about returning but for the price it isn't worth the headache and aggravation. I will how ever remember the brand and the FALSE ADVERTISING both on Newegg and the Rosewill website.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/28/2015 8:21:28 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Flashlights & Lanterns > Rosewill > Rosewill RLFL-14003 - Cree XP-G R5 Heavy-Duty LED Aluminum Flashlight - 550 Lumen

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 OK but.
Pros: Tight long throw beam
Cons: small hot spot, could use focus
Other Thoughts: This is a thrower, not a flood light. It throws a small ball of light way the heck out there, but that is all it is really good for. Inside a room all you have is that small ball that is very bright with very little else. I have put it up on the shelf with my other almost worthless lights. No use for something this heavy that has only one use. My old Mags are just as clunky but i can see what is around me better. I have several $5 to $10 "fakefire" eauction lights with old cells from computer batteries that are Way more usable.

I gave it a 4 star rating because it does throw that little ball of light Way out-there! I have several high end lights that don't get any where near that distance. But it is a small hotspot!
Reviewed By:N/A,7/26/2015 5:54:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Flashlights & Lanterns > Rosewill > Rosewill RLFL-13005 - Adjustable Focus Cree XML-U2 LED Magnetic Base 1000 Lumen Flashlight Set With Zoom & Samsung 18650 Li-ion Rechargeable Battery

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Good Broad View
Pros: In wide angle mode I can light up a very large area at night with what seems like daylight. Checked garden for slug, etc. I expect this to be good for searching Attic recesses and such, as well.
Cons: The narrow beam is nothing to write home about - a square patch not particularly brighter then I'd get if I just used wide-beam.
Other Thoughts: A bit disappointed with the narrow beams lack of performance - I'd wait for a good price drop before I'd buy it.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/21/2015 4:39:28 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Flashlights & Lanterns > Rosewill > Rosewill RLFL-13005 - Adjustable Focus Cree XML-U2 LED Magnetic Base 1000 Lumen Flashlight Set With Zoom & Samsung 18650 Li-ion Rechargeable Battery

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Bright LED, multiple brightness levels, strobe light, focusable, magnetic base, replaceable and rechargeable battery, water resistant.
Cons: None that I can think of.
Other Thoughts: The bicycle mount that comes with some versions of this light works pretty well.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/19/2015 7:34:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Flashlights & Lanterns > Rosewill > Rosewill RLFL-14003 - Cree XP-G R5 Heavy-Duty LED Aluminum Flashlight - 550 Lumen

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 There's definitely better out there for less money
Pros: - Nicely weighted / balanced. Almost an even 50/50 weight distribution
- Comes with an adjustable wriststrap
- 5 modes of operation. Half-press the button to cycle through modes.
- Comfortable grip. The grip pattern is not overly aggressive, so it doesn't leave an imprint in your hand if you hold it too tight or for long periods of time
- Notched ends to prevent it from rolling after setting it down
- Flat bottom cap if you want to stand it on its end and have it act as uplighting
Cons: - The "Waterproof" claim is misleading. If you look up the IP65 spec, you'll understand that this isn't something where you'll drop it in a pool and forget about it. It's more like "water resistant", so if you need to be out in the rain with it for a little bit, you should be OK, but expect that you're going to need to remove the battery cap and dry off everything.
I did my own test by removing the batteries and filling the battery chamber with paper towels. I then made sure the cap was tight and submerged the bottom of the flashlight in a mason jar of water. The water reached halfway up the body of the flashlight. 8 hours later I took it out, dried off the outside and then checked the battery compartment. There was wetness in there, but nothing that would really pour out. Maybe the total of a teaspoon based on the absorption of the papertowel. That being said, if the light was actually powered on and that same water ran to the head of the camera and dripped on the LED circuitry, the reliability of the flashlight may definitely be compromised. I suspect that either some teflon tape or a better rubber o-ring could alleviate this issue.
- The beam is absolutely NOT able to be focused. It is fixed. Or the assembly people torqued it so tight that it would require vicegrips to break it free.
- LED flashlights / torches have come way down in price in the past few years. That is not reflected in this unit. It's current price as of this writing ($30) can get you into a very nice tactical-based light with an adjustable focus and better light output.
Other Thoughts: I tested this against another Rosewill light, the RLFL-11003 (N82E16882021225) which is effectively the 3W, 220 Lumen model of this flashlight. I bought that light in June 2013 for $18. It's now listing at $30, the same as the current price on this 14003 model.
Most people don't have the gear to actually test lumen output, including myself. So unless you are reading a review from a lab, just about every review/reviewer will be subjective as to 'brightness'. What also makes subjective brightness difficult to compare between LEDs is the shape of the reflector and the color temp of the LED.
The 3-watt 11003 model seems just as bright in a completely darkened room. But I can only subjectively say that because 1) the color temp of the LED favors a bit warmer (more yellow), whereas the 5-watt 14003 is a bit cooler (more bluish). 2) The reflector on the 3W model is shaped different which causes you to have multiple circles of decreasing brightness, whereas this 5W model basically has an inner pinspot, a small mild halo around it, then the rest of the beam evenly diffused. So for illuminating a larger central area, the 3W reflector is the better choice. For illuminating a centered pinspot area, the 5W seems the better choice.
If the medium power setting on this 5W light steps it down to 220L, it's still difficult to tell the difference between the 3W@220L and this one. As such, a lumen-rating is not linear. This 550L light is not more than twice as bright as the 220L light.

They claim a distance of 550 yards visibility. Really, how is your average consumer going to check the claim about a range of 550 yards? Maybe shooting at a street sign in total darkness and seeing if you can catch a glimmer of a reflection? I don't think they mean "when viewed from 550 yards away" because almost any flashlight of moderate brightness you could see with an unobstructed view at more than 550 yards.

I put this light on a digital scale. With batteries, it weighed in at 1.98 lbs. That certainly doesn't put this into the realm of a light to be used for self-defense. For that matter, anyone needing a light to double for self-defense will be looking at more tactical-based lights, not consumer models like these.

All in all, this really isn't that impressive of a flashlight or "torch". It's definitely priced higher than other flashlights that offer much better light output. There's not a whole lot "wrong" with this light, it's just that there's not enough real selling points / features to justify it's price. It's really just a basic flashlight that favors fashion over function.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Valued Customer
Thank you for your patience and understanding.
 
This item is IP65 Water Resistant.
Sounds like your product may be defective; please contact our support team to assist you with warranty options.


If you have any questions or concerns please feel free to contact us.
Thank you,

Rosewill Support
Call Center 1-800-575-9885
Monday - Friday 8AM - 5PM PST
 
Confidentiality Notice: This message contains information that may be privileged or confidential and is the property of Rosewill Technologies, Inc. It is intended only for the person to whom it is addressed. If you are not the intended recipient, you are not authorized to read, print, retain copy, disseminate, distribute, or use this message or any part thereof. If you receive this message in error, please notify the sender immediately and delete all copies of this message.

Reviewed By:N/A,7/17/2015 9:04:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Flashlights & Lanterns > Rosewill > Rosewill RLFL-13007 - Cree XML-U2 1000 Lumen LED Search Flashlight - Titanium, Bronze Color

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Just The Best Flashlight
Pros: Great Thrower
Great Spread
Long Battery Life
Multiple power settings
Cons: Uses 18650 Batteries, which some people have problems managing
Other Thoughts: Get this flashlight, Get a GOOD 18650 Battery or two, and a good Lithium Battery charger and you will not look back. I have given several of these to familiy/friends and they all are astounded at the quality and beam of this flashlight.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/13/2015 5:36:09 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Flashlights & Lanterns > Rosewill > Rosewill RLFL-14003 - Cree XP-G R5 Heavy-Duty LED Aluminum Flashlight - 550 Lumen

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice flashlight for the price, especially at a shellshocker deal of $18
Pros: Pretty bright

Seems to be well constructed and durable

Decent ranged beam

3 levels of brightness and 2 blinking modes (strobe and SOS)
Cons: Only con I could think of with this particular light is that the beam focus cannot be adjusted which isn't a huge deal for me and not worth taking an egg off for.
Reviewed By:Stephen T,7/6/2015 1:34:07 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Flashlights & Lanterns > Weiita > Weiita F8455 Sparker series flashlight

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great flashlight.
Pros: Great light, it's rechargeable and you can focus the light to exactly where you need it.
Cons: I guess it could always be brighter.
Other Thoughts: At $15 it's hard to beat.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/4/2015 8:39:57 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.