Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Network Print Servers > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GPSU21 1-Port Print Server RJ45 USB 2.0

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 So far, so good
Pros: Easy, fast Setup on Windows7
Nice illustrated Accompanying Manual for SetupWizard
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Running an HP F4400 printer off of a wireless bridge with no issues.
Reviewed By:Rich,3/5/2015 8:40:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Network Print Servers > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GPSU21 1-Port Print Server RJ45 USB 2.0

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good Product - Bad installer / drivers
Pros: Works great once you get the software / drivers installed.
Cons: The drivers supplied do not work with Win 8.1 Enterprise x64. I downloaded the latest drivers but they did not work either. When you auto run setup.exe a menu will show up. From that menu you select setup but nothing ever happens. I found that running it in compatibility mode was the answer.
Other Thoughts: Once I ran it in compatibility mode I watched the old windows 95/98 installer pop up and install the files. Must be why you need compatibility mode.

Once they ran the setup was easy as pie as it should have been from the beginning. Really could have gotten 5 eggs if I didnt have to spend so much time troubleshooting.
Reviewed By:akrytus,3/3/2015 4:47:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Network Print Servers > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GPSU21 1-Port Print Server RJ45 USB 2.0

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Cant run the Setup.exe
Pros: Small.
Cons: Can not run setup on Win 8.1 Enterprise. I tried to run all the setup files form the CD and downloaded the latest drivers from their website http://www.iogear.com/support/driver/GPSU21%20Drivers%20Win8.1%20V3.7.1.zip which is almost 1 year old.

I attempted to look up the IP through DHCP and it is not pulling an IP at all. From what I read it looks like DHCP is the default. I cant find any documentation on default static IP.
Other Thoughts: I based this purchase on the reviews. This isnt a difficult task. Perhaps the software wont run on Enterprise? I know this version is limited to public use since I am a Microsoft Partner.

I am sure at some point I will figure something out, but until then 1 egg.
Manufacturer Response:Thank you for choosing IOGEAR and we apologize for the inconvenience. The CD is a software wizard not a driver. There is an updated version of the wizard located at IOGEAR.com. The wizard is not even needed for configuration once the GPSU21 pulls a DHCP address and you make note of the IP address assigned. You can then log directly into the print server. There is no static IP. To better service you and understand your set up, please feel to contact our customer support at 1-866-946-4327 or email us: support@iogear.com. Once again, thank you for choosing IOGEAR.

Reviewed By:akryus,3/1/2015 8:17:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Network Print Servers > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GPSU21W6 1-Port USB 2.0 Print Server - Multi-Language Version RJ45 USB 2.0

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Needs M$ for initial setup, unless...
Pros: See Cons - once past this stage, setting up the printers was a breeze using the IP address. I set the print server for static IP so it will always be the same.

I gave a 5 because it works great & sets up easy once you get past the M$ lockin.
Cons: Needs M$ for initial setup, unless your router (or something) will tell you the IP address the DHCP server assigned to the print server. Also, there is no docs on how to do the WEB access to set it up. But there again (from what I gathered), you need to know the IP address. To access, you use the address followed by :631. as an example... 192.168.0.100:631 as URL.
Other Thoughts: All in all, it seems to work great with all my devices that I have print capability with. W7 & Linux (fedora)
Reviewed By:Big Tux,2/22/2015 5:55:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Network Print Servers > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-WPS510U Pocket-Sized Wireless Print Server 802.11b / g USB 2.0

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Bad transmitter
Pros: Small, compact.
Easy to return when it doesn't work.
Cons: Defective transmitter.
No way to attach to your printer in a way that would keep the antenna up.
Power cable not long enough for certain situations.
No way to configure through a wired PC on your network.
Other Thoughts: This device came defective. It started transmitting, and almost finished the setup process, but then dropped its signal. I was attempting to configure using an Alienware laptop that literally pulls in 15 to 20 signals from all around my neighborhood, but this device would not show. I reset it a dozen times, every once in awhile it would show up while setting up, then it would disappear. Sent it back to Newegg after a chat with customer service. Tip: do not get your own RMA through the website, it doesn't provide the ability to get the free UPS return label. The UPS button asked for cash. I texted them, they sent a free UPS label via email link (with no struggle, text service with Newegg is great!) Because of the price I decided to get a refund. paying $60 for a $89 five year old personal laser printer to be wireless is not worth the bother. Will be shopping for an All in one solution that does everything wirelessly. Any ideas? Has to be a color Laser though....
Reviewed By:IT GURU,2/22/2015 6:05:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Network Print Servers > STARTECH > StarTech PM1115U Print Server RJ45 USB 2.0

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Stuck in the '90s
Pros: Tiny. Boots insanely fast.
Cons: This product doesn't seem work with newer Macs. I tried the following protocols from a 10.9 machine:

IPP: No response.

LPD: Printed one job, then froze.

SMB: Unable to connect.

AppleTalk: Unable to test. It looks like OS X dropped support for AppleTalk about 5 years ago. Anything running Snow Leopard (10.6) and later requires Bonjour.

Bonjour: Not supported by the print server.

I've had good luck with StarTech gear in the past. This was a big disappointment unfortunately.
Other Thoughts: Given the IPX, NetBEUI, SNMP, and AppleTalk support this would have been an awesome device to have in 1995.
Reviewed By:N/A,2/21/2015 9:35:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Network Print Servers > DYMO > DYMO 1750630 LabelWriter Print Server RJ45 USB 2.0

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Suddenly died.
Pros: Worked fine while they were running.
Cons: Died after routine network maintenance.
Other Thoughts: I had two of these for over 5 years and they worked great, but after working on my network, unplugging old and replugging new switches, these somehow died. Nothing else on my network had any issues. So I just ordered 2 IOGEAR GPSU21 1-Port Print Servers. They were cheaper and did exactly what these overpriced print servers did.
Reviewed By:N/A,2/12/2015 1:57:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Network Print Servers > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GPSU21 1-Port Print Server RJ45 USB 2.0

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Print server
Pros: Easily configurable via DHCP.
Simple interface and setup.
Cons: None so far.
Other Thoughts: Bought two of these to replace dead Dymo Print Servers. I won't buy those over priced rip offs again. Took 10 minutes to get them up and printing. DHCP is the default network setting so it was easy to loacte them and configure the address I wanted.
Reviewed By:N/A,2/12/2015 1:50:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Network Print Servers > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-PS110U Fast Ethernet Print Server RJ45 USB 2.0

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 EASY SET UP!
Pros: Not sure why some people have trouble setting this little guy up. My network IP schema does not match the default IP on the product, but that was not a problem. I connected network and power, popped in the CD, the Wizard found the unit on the network, I set a static IP that matched the IP port the printer was set up on, powered up the printer, and all is well.
Cons: Time will tell. As long as it keeps passing on print jobs, I'm happy.
Other Thoughts: This replaced an old HP 10MB Jet Direct that was beginning to fail.
Reviewed By:N/A,2/12/2015 12:45:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Network Print Servers > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GPSU21 1-Port Print Server RJ45 USB 2.0

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works fine but troublesome setup
Pros: Does the job
Cons: I had multiple network interfaces on my machine, took me awhile to figure out their wizard was looking for the device on the wrong one. Disable all NICs that don't connect to your local network before starting the wizard.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/24/2015 10:22:03 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.