Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Camera Lenses > Sony > SONY SEL50F18/B Compact ILC Lenses 50mm F1.8 OSS Lens Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Lens
Pros: The f1.8 lets in a lot of light. That makes the lens very fast to focus in normal light.
Great for portraits and flower shoots with tight depth of field. Very sharp lens.
In manual focus on the a6000 it is unbelievable focus control on Zoom.
Cons: It is prices.
Fixed focal length.
Other Thoughts: This is much better then the kit lens in sharpness and details.
I would buy it again.
Reviewed By:Dan B.,9/27/2016 9:37:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Camera Lenses > Canon > Canon 3554B002 EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro IS USM Lens Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent sharp macro lens
Pros: Sharp macro lens.
Cons: The lens outer shell is plastic.
Other Thoughts: I use this fine macro lens on a Canon 5d to digitize 35mm slides on a converted Kodak carousel rig.
I can see the actual Kodachrome film grain on the digitized images.
I definitely recommend this lens.
Reviewed By:Warren T.,9/2/2016 9:42:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Camera Lenses > Sony > Sony SEL50F14Z Planar T x FE 50mm f/1.4 ZA Lens Black

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 One of the best 50mm's but about 20% too large and expensive
Pros: This new Sony lens in impressively sharp in the center, and really sharp in the corners as its should for its price tag. Interestingly it was released at the same time as Rokinons first autofocusing lens, also a 50mm 1.4 for the E mount that’s less than half the price. I ordered both of them to see how they compare and if this Sony’s price tag is worth it.

Starting off with the exterior the lens is huge compared to other 50mm 1.4’s. This is one of my downsides of this lens. Using it on the A7R2 it does feel a bit too big for the body and if you’re attaching a Manfrotto plate that most use for video, you have to bring it to the very front as the lens is too large to fit with the plate causing a very front heavy setup. The Rokinon is also a large lens but smaller so the plate just barely fit under it. Making up for the size is the 11 blade iris which gives off a very smooth and circular bokeh (most lenses are 7-9 blade) and a manual aperture ring that can also be de-clicked for smooth adjustment.

The autofocus is fairly fast but the Rokinon was faster (but a bit less accurate). The manual focus ring is quite responsive compared to other Sony fly by wire electronic focus rings, and I could get consistent repetitive rack focuses with it.

If you are making a living with your photos and or video and could use a great 50mm in your lineup this lens is definitely worth it. Its one of the best 50mm available and definitely the best one for an E-mount. If you’re a hobbyist or a pro on a tighter budget I’d say the Rokinon is a better bang for the buck and is 90% of the lens for about 45% of the price, with a smaller size/weight advantage. I have a full comparison with sample photos and video on Youtube that you can check out, just search for “50mm 1.4 Rokinon Sony Max Yuryev”. It was hard to choose between a 4 or a 5 star (I wish I could have done a 4.5) but I ended up giving this lens a 4 because of the size being larger than most other 50mm 1.4 which is a bigger deal when the lens is designed for small mirrorless cameras, and because I think the price is a big higher than it should be like many Sony lenses. I’d personally think this lens should be priced about $1200, and it may be in a few years.
Cons: About 20% too large and expensive.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,8/30/2016 3:54:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Camera Lenses > Canon > Canon 4426B002 SLR Lenses EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6L IS USM Lens White

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very useful range, compact, with sharp optics throughout the f-stop range
Pros: Before buying this lens, I rented both this lens 70-300, and the 100-400mm lenses. I found this lens to be a tad sharper at ALL F-stops, and a bit more compact, with less overall weight. This lens has both Image stabilization modes 1 and 2, and a "lock", so that the lens does not extend downward when you are carrying the camera with the lens attached via the neck strap.
Cons: None that I could find, other than the build quality is very good, but with good build quality, comes the added weight, which can be a disadvantage if you are hiking for landscape shots, wildlife, or even extended people shooting.
Other Thoughts: Some photographers don't like the egg-white color, but to me, the exterior color of the lens barrel makes a statement of quality, which I find pleasing.
Reviewed By:David S.,8/11/2016 7:52:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Camera Lenses > Canon > Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 STM Lens

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 This is the "Nifty Fifty" with a twist.
Pros: Excellent portrait lens for both Full Frame and Crop Sensor bodies. Equates to approx. 85mm focal length on Canon 1.6 crop sensor cameras.

New STM (Stepping motor) for silent and fast (although not blazing fast) focusing

Very sharp lens. Do not let the price fool you. This is used by many pros in the industry and is quite a savings from the 1.4 version which is 100's of dollars more.

Best bokeh for the buck. Well for $-/+200/US. Creamy blurred backgrounds as expected, but not comparable to the f1.4 version. Which clearly outperforms this lens in every test.
Cons: Not really a con, but Smaller filter size (smaller than the standard f1.8 50mm Canon without STM. I recommend bying a step up or step down ring for filters anyways to keep your filter arsenal ready for most any lens in your gear bag.

Full frame users might opt for the 85mm prime as opposed to this as this lens requires you to get quite close to your subject.

Works just the opposite for Canon crop sensor owners...this 50mm will give you the optimum focal length (approx. 85mm) for fashion and other portrait photography,

STM stands for stepping motor and is whisper quiet for video production and rather fast when speaking of AF function but not blazing fast(tends to search more noticeably in low light situations.
Most intermediate to advanced photographers will opt to use manual focus for this prime lens anyways.
Other Thoughts: This is a must have lens to have in your gear bag. It's a great lens to throw on your body (either crop or not) and get right out there and do some incredible portrait and street photography. You will not be disappointed.
Reviewed By:Matthew S.,3/27/2016 12:15:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Camera Lenses > Tamron > TAMRON AF005Nll-700 SP 70-300mm F/4-5.6 Di VC USD for Nikon

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Eggselect Service Again
Pros: Easy ordering and fast shipping again. I've been buying stuff from Newegg for years and they are DEPENDABLE !
Huge shout-out to your organization.
Thanks again.
Cons: Only Good things can be said about this company.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,3/24/2016 1:13:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Camera Lenses > Nikon Inc > Nikon 2183 SLR Lenses 35mm f/1.8 AF-S DX G 52mm Lens Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great lens and sharp.
Pros: I like it because it's small and has sharp pictures. However, not like as much as my Nikon 50mm f/1.8G AF-S.
Cons: N/A
Other Thoughts: Yes
Reviewed By:Thach N.,2/17/2016 9:56:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Camera Lenses > Nikon Inc > Nikon 2183 SLR Lenses 35mm f/1.8 AF-S DX G 52mm Lens Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 A fine lens
Pros: A fine lens. Small, light and FAST.
Cons: Avoid Always.Deals. They advertise as having the full five year Nikon warranty but ship grey market imports with ZERO warranty.
Other Thoughts: If it's Bokeh you're after, take a look at the 50mm instead. Better for portraits on an APS-C/DX body too.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/10/2016 12:40:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Camera Lenses > Tamron > TAMRON A011 AFA011N-700 SP 150-600mm F/5-6.3 Di VC USD Lens for Nikon Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 What can I say!!! I really like it!!
Pros: This is a very good quality.lens., It is light weight for a 600mm telephoto, Auto focusing is fast, faster than I expected. This lens is very capable of producing sharp pictures.
Great price for a lens with this kind of capability and quality.
Newegg is an authorized Tamron dealer, So Tamron's 6 yr warranty is valid.
Cons: This lens meets or exceeds my expectations, So I can't complain, No Cons!!
Other Thoughts: I did quite a bit of research on this lens and competitors lenses in this price range, The Tamron 150-600 is very popular, and I can certainly see why.
I consider myself to be an enthusiast level photographer. I know more than your average entry level photographer with a DSLR on auto settings, but I am by no means a pro. I use this lens on a Nikon D7100. You will need to use f/8 to f/11 to get the sharp pictures hand held. The Vibration compensation works very well, but this is still a long focal length. so any movement is magnified. The lens is at it's sharpest between 150mm - 450mm It begins to get a little soft after 450 or so to 600mm it still produces good quality pictures.just a bit on the soft side. Any lens of this type will have similar characteristics, If you want to do wildlife or sports photography without blowing the budget, I highly recommend starting with this lens. There are plenty of photos on line taken with this lens. If you search a bit, you can probably find some taken with this lens on your camera. When I bought this lens, Tamron offered a rebate. I received the rebate check less than three weeks after I sent in the paperwork.. I have never had this kind of good service with any rebate offer with any other company, I will definitely consider Tamron for future lens purchases. Newegg, as usual was also very prompt in shipping my purchase.
Reviewed By:Steven H.,12/30/2015 11:25:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Camera Lenses > Nikon Inc > Nikon 2183 SLR Lenses 35mm f/1.8 AF-S DX G 52mm Lens Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Lens, no 5yr warranty
Pros: Great lens
Cons: Do Not Buy from Always.Deals they are selling grey market, does not have Nikon USA 5 Yr Warranty, refused to pay return shipping even thought they are deceiving customers.
Reviewed By:Kevin S.,12/27/2015 5:46:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.