Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Network Media Players > Linksys > LINKSYS WMB54G Wireless-G Music Bridge

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Incompatible
Pros: Works with WIndows XP
Cons: Incompatible with Windows Vista, 7, and 8
Other Thoughts: Do not waste your time with this purchase.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/29/2014 2:11:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Network Media Players > ViewSonic > ViewSonic NMP-560 1080P Solid-State Network Media Player

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Simple Server
Pros: Small, lots of connectivity, easy software.
Cons: Software asked for updates. Don't do it. Had to reset config. No firmware updates available.
Other Thoughts: Pretty spendy for just serving up powerpoint but it does work well.
Reviewed By:WireKAT,2/11/2012 5:24:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Network Media Players > MASSCOOL > Masscool MP-1372RS 1080P HDMI 2.5"/3.5" SATA HDD/USB/NET HD Media Player with Dolby/DTS/RMVB/MKV/H.264

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 it's does not work well with window 7 x64 + masscool's customer service is the worst
Pros: work with xp
Cons: does not work well with window 7 x64. Since i upgraded my OS to window 7 x64, every time i plug it in, the "scan and fix system" box appear. commonly, we always click/choose "scan and fix" option so the OS and the media player can work well together in the future but that wasn't the case cuz after i chose "scan and fix" for few times, the next time i plug it in the Masscool MP-1372RS, it had became inaccessible to any OS. luckiy for me that the soft "Active File Recovery Enterprise" did able to recovered all lost files for me, it took me 3 days to recovered all files. And after the files recovery, i reformat the media player which contain the 2T Western Digital Hard Drives but the "scan and fix" problem still exist. Eventhough now I chose "do not scan" option every time ( 5 times so far) I still very uncertain how long that will lasta. I had email to masscool's customer service but they ignore my plea for its product's support.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/10/2012 11:12:53 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Network Media Players > MASSCOOL > Masscool MP-1372RS 1080P HDMI 2.5"/3.5" SATA HDD/USB/NET HD Media Player with Dolby/DTS/RMVB/MKV/H.264

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 I bought 5! Great little box
Pros: Very simple media player box that works well with a 2TB hard drive. I Handbrake encoded over a 1000 movies and added 570GB of TV shows and still had enough room for 100GB of music. Extremely simple to create a folder on the installed hard drive and load it up with .mkv or .avi files and run them with 1080P and 5.1 surround sound (or any less if the A/V system does not support all that). To run a movie or show, just select file browser/hard drive/ the folder that the movie is in / select a movie and hit play. Extremely robust set of decoders that play what I throw at it. EXCELLENT PICTURE AND SOUND- GREAT FOR A 1080P TV and a 5.1 Surround sound setup!
Extremely simple to stream to computers.
It is very portable, just two cables to move. Leave an HDMI cable on the TV and then just the power brick to move.
Cons: Dumping 1.75TB of data onto the player takes 3 days (and I have 5 of them!). Fast forwarding is indeed its Achilles heel and takes a while to FF through a TV show or to skip chapters in movies.
Other Thoughts: It plays nice with wrong video setting with individual TVs. There is a HDMI auto which works well but the box will cycle through setting until you get a picture (nothing like having 1080P on a 720P TV not working).
Very basic controls (which is good) but no way to upgrade the underlying Operating system that I could see.
Remote control has a few more buttons that it needs but it works fine. A little lag when pushing a button but nothing annoying.
Reviewed By:JohnP,8/15/2011 7:10:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Network Media Players > ViewSonic > ViewSonic NMP-560 1080P Solid-State Network Media Player

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Stay away
Pros: Worked great, Easy to use software, Easy to install.
Cons: Software constantly asks you to update. Wich has worked fine until the most recent update now I can not push content to my sign becasue the software complains the firmware on the player needs to be a certain version. Viewsonic Support has told me it there is no new firmware version. so now I have a brick. Great!
Other Thoughts: Viewsonic should stick to displays only and there support should call people back when they say they are going to. I may not even purchase Viewsonic monitors for my customers now after all this!
Reviewed By:tickedoff,8/8/2011 10:53:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Network Media Players > MASSCOOL > Masscool MP-1372RS 1080P HDMI 2.5"/3.5" SATA HDD/USB/NET HD Media Player with Dolby/DTS/RMVB/MKV/H.264

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 good for the price
Pros: Cheap
Plays most formats
Cons: Problems with mkv and H.264
No firmware upgrades
Reviewed By:awelo,7/12/2011 12:01:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Network Media Players > MASSCOOL > Masscool MP-1372RS 1080P HDMI 2.5"/3.5" SATA HDD/USB/NET HD Media Player with Dolby/DTS/RMVB/MKV/H.264

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great 1st Media Player
Pros: -Quick setup.
-Easy to use.
-Fast menu switching.
-Simple, intuitive interface.
-Long power cable, like 10' I'd guess.
-Functional and appropriate remote.
-1080p playback via HDMI cable (must have).
-Portable so you can share it with friends.
-Front USB, plays from a USB drive.
-Just this + HDTV is all that's needed for playback. Using additional devices (home theater, DVD player, etc.) is also an option.
-You choose and install the hard drive you want.
-Integrages fine with Windows 7 Ultimate, 64-bit.
-W7 reads it as an additional, native hard drive. Media can be loaded via normal file transfers.

This is a great first media drive. I used a spare 300GB/8mb buffer hard drive and 1080p playback works great.

It took 30 min.s to setup and load while my 5 y.o. son was hovering all over it waiting for Transformers. I am able to play HD movies for the family rather than gathering around my pc monitor. Next up all the HD home movies and pictures are going on it.
Cons: -USB 2.0, not USB 3 interface.
-Requires HDMI cable to get 1080p playback off a 8mb buffered hard drive.
-Accompanying PC software is pretty useless. It could use some PC drivers to do firmware checks, etc. My cellphone does that when connected via USB, why not this?
Other Thoughts: This is a great first media drive. I had a non-HD G@laxy before which had big issues with movies and a glacial menu system. This one does what it's supposed to and quickly. No lockups or hesitation going through the menus (read: good CPU).

Using the red, yellow, white cable connection I had some freezing during 1080p playback. An HDMI cable solved this.

All and all a good device to use before getting a full aka "connected" media HDTV (which may have low storage) or to use with a media HDTV for additional storage.
Reviewed By:Drew,7/1/2011 5:49:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Network Media Players > MASSCOOL > Masscool MP-1372RS 1080P HDMI 2.5"/3.5" SATA HDD/USB/NET HD Media Player with Dolby/DTS/RMVB/MKV/H.264

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Same as Patriot Box Office
Pros: Accepts 3.5 drives
Component video connection
Cons: External power brick

Has the same issue that I have with the Patriot Box Office. Fast forward does not work well. On some encodings it will just stop and jump to next file when you get above 4x. On others, it may say you are 32x, but it is not moving but maybe 4x or 8x. This occurs with high quality encodings I have done and files I have downloaded. Updating firmware did not help. I have also tried tweaking my encoding settings but I have not found a way around it yet. Depending on your files, you may not have this issue at all.
Other Thoughts: I purchased this as a gift and to give me the chance to look at another media device. I have the Patriot Box Office that I have been pretty much happy with.

I wanted to see if the Masscool device worked any better than the Patriot. Turned it on and it looks exactly the same as the Patriot. I did not check firmware, but all the menus are exactly the same. The fast forward issue is exactly the same as on my Patriot. What Masscool adds over Patriot is support for the 3.5 hard drives and component video connections. I much prefer the Patriot power being internal over the Masscool external brick. As a media player the two are interchangeable.
Reviewed By:Kurios,7/1/2011 4:44:45 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Network Media Players > MASSCOOL > Masscool MP-1372RS 1080P HDMI 2.5"/3.5" SATA HDD/USB/NET HD Media Player with Dolby/DTS/RMVB/MKV/H.264

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent value. Great at playing video ISOs
Pros: I have bought a lot of open-box items from NewEgg and the products always look brand new. This is the first time that the product looked like had actually been used. The silver standby button in the front has a little scratch on it and batteries were already installed in the remote. It was also missing the USB cable shown in the photo. Minor stuff.

I am very happy with this purchase. It does an excellent job playing video ISO files, which my WD TV Live HD media player cannot do. It also plays a variety of other formats, like mpeg4 and non-drm wma files. The docmentation is limited, but does the job.

I have installed a WD Green 2T hard drive, which gives it plenty of room for all those 8GB ISO files. The unit has a plastic front panel and a nice brushed black metal housing. It looks great alongside my LG 42 inch TV, and LG Blu Ray player.

Set up was super easy and it took me less than 10 minutes to get up and running. I am surprised that someone actually returned this ite
Cons: On the downside, I am having trouble playing MKV files. Some work and some do not. I have never had this problem with other media players, like the WD TV Live and Patriot Box Office. I have contacted Masscool stupport and hopefully they can help me figure it out.

The other problem is the RJ45 port is only 100mbps. There is a lot of file transfers involved with media players and a gigabyte network port would help speed things up.

There is a built-in BitTorrent program that looks confusing to use. I spent a couple minutes trying to figure it out, but gave up. I am not a big user of BitTorrent so it doesn't bother me. I am sure that most folks are not buying this unit to use Bit Torrent anyway.

There is a place to install a USB WiFi dongle, and yet, there is no information in the documentation or on the website about the type of USB WiFi plug that works.

It also doesn't provide access to online Internet news and entertainment that other media players offer like Netflix and Med
Other Thoughts: This is a great five star product. I have used several media players and this one is one of the best. I would recommend purchase as both a new retail product and open-box item.
Reviewed By:wildscribe,6/11/2011 2:32:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Network Media Players > MASSCOOL > Masscool MP-1372RS 1080P HDMI 2.5"/3.5" SATA HDD/USB/NET HD Media Player with Dolby/DTS/RMVB/MKV/H.264

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Rough Diamond
Pros: 1 - Remote has volume control (that works)
2 - Audio level is variable on digital outputs
3 - 96khz/24bit output without downsampling
4 - Switchable Raw/LPCM/Multichannel digital outputs
5 - It is possible to telnet into it (no root pwd)
6 - Built-in SMB server
7 - Both front and rear USB ports
8 - "Sony" style remote
Cons: 1 - No coaxial spdif
2 - Web interface - pretty much useless
3 - Poor user interface
4 - Oddly laid out remote
5 - "Transcode Server" software - also quite useless
Other Thoughts: I bought the MP-1372RS strictly for lossless audio and it did not disappoint. It's a great little Linux box (2.6.12.6) but the interface was designed by a programmer/time traveler from 1982 (ironically, it's capable of 1080p graphics) and the web interface looks to be the work of a first year comp sci (middle school) student.

Transferring more than one file (or job) at a time will crash it but it has more good qualities than bad.

Despite some software issues, the MP-1372RS plays music and does all the things it's advertised to do... and does them well albeit in a most utilitarian fashion.

If you need something to playback lossless audio, without springing for a megabucks on a media player, this is pretty much the same thing but in a very ugly dress.

For me, the price was right, it plays uncompressed audio and it has a remote with it's own volume control so it's a keeper.

One egg off for the awful interface.
Reviewed By:Corey340,6/8/2011 12:43:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau