Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Receivers > Onkyo > ONKYO TX-NR626 7.2-Channel Network A/V Receiver

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 In response to Cheri W's review
Pros: Great customer service
Cons: NONE
Other Thoughts: I thought Cheri's review was a bit harsh! Anyone who's been "in the know" with Onkyo receivers over the last four years knows it's common knowledge about the HDMI board issue.

Not every Onkyo receiver suffers the HDMI plague but it's common enough that Onkyo will do what it takes to clear up the problem.

My TX-NR807 ran great past it's 2 yr warranty, in the third year of ownership, the HDMI board went south. Did Onkyo blow me off?? NO! I received an "out of warranty" fix. At no cost to me, other than shipping one way, I got my HDMI board replaced, with a firmware upgrade to boot.

After over 4 years of ownership, the 807 is still going strong. At the end of this year, I'll upgrade to the TX-NR3010 to expand my set up to an 11.4.......and the 'ol 807??? It gets relieved of it's Home Theater duties and gets to move into the bedroom to power a 3.0 in-wall set up.

And the 626 here, this looks like a fine receiver, like other Onkyo receivers, it's feature packed and has Audyssey MultEQ. That's what my 807 has and it works great, it gives you a fantastic basic layout of your speaker set up, which you could leave as is, or you have the ability to tweak each setting it you want. Great flexibility and a great feature, it's all about sound, who wouldn't want that??

Highly recommended!
Reviewed By:Cornbread,11/19/2014 10:14:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Receivers > Onkyo > ONKYO TX-NR626 7.2-Channel Network A/V Receiver

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Onkyo was once a great product
Pros: It works great till it fails. Typically the hdmi board stops working within the first year of use.
Cons: Onkyo used to be my go to brand. In the last 10 years there product quality has gone down to the point that I would never purchase another onkyo product again. Please do some research before you buy.
Other Thoughts: Take the time to call onkyo's customer support before you purchase. See how well they take care of there customers after The Point of Sale. Each time I have called it was over an hour wait. (I have called 6 times total) 3 times for my unit. 2 times for friends unit and 1 time for are churches unit. (all of which I recommended Onkyo to them).
Reviewed By:N/A,11/19/2014 7:59:30 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Receivers > Pioneer > Pioneer VSX-1024-K 7.2 Channel 4K Ready AV Receiver

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great receiver for under $300 bucks
Pros: HDMI 2.0, and 7.2 with Bi-Amp and dual Sub-woofers. I can't complain too much at this price point. It even has HDMI pass-through on standby which my current Marantz SR8002 lacks. I just hope this will last long enough.
Cons: nothing for the price I paid
Reviewed By:sourdate,11/18/2014 12:30:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Receivers > Pioneer > Pioneer VSX-522-K 5.1-Channel 3D Ready A/V Receiver

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Works with difficulty
Pros: It gets the job done and is cheap
Cons: The interface is very difficult to use. VGA cable if you want on screen menu system?! Settings are hard to find and change, such as audio source. Had a few hiccups with it not detecting a video that was fixed after changing source or restarting the system.
Other Thoughts: Once you get it configured it works well, just don't change anything!
Reviewed By:N/A,11/17/2014 1:28:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Receivers > Pioneer > Pioneer VSX-821-K 5.1-Channel 3D Ready A/V Receiver

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DON'T BUY PIONEER ELECTRONICS
Pros: When it worked, it provided good sound
Cons: Same problem as everyone else. UNIT JUST STOPPED POWERING ON. I took immaculate care of this unit and only lightly used this as the center of my home theater system. One of the HDMI input channels stopped working a few months in so I had to switch my inputs to another channel.. no biggie. Then one day I turned the unit off as normal, and the next day tried to turn it on and it was completely unresponsive.
Other Thoughts: Opened it up to look for a blown fuse and could not find an obvious fix. Searched online and it seems like it's going to cost way more than it's worth. Now looking for another receiver, and I'M GOING TO STAY AWAY FROM PIONEER THIS TIME. I WISH I NEVER GAVE THEM A CHANCE.
Reviewed By:Bogus Logus,11/16/2014 6:28:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Receivers > Pioneer > Pioneer VSX-1024-K 7.2 Channel 4K Ready AV Receiver

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Pioneer VSX-1024-K 7.2 Channel 4K Ready AV Receiver
Pros: Purchased this when on sale, and I have to say so far so good (no buyer remorse for the price that I paid). Can confirm that it will handle 4K video (pass through) @ 30 frames/sec (do not yet have the equipment to test @ 60 frames/sec so cannot comment on that). Setup real easy, the user interface is a bit basic but I didn't really care about that as once it has been setup I rarely use it.
Cons: Does not remember the last view setting. Let me explain: I tend to use HDMI 90% of the time, but every time I turn the unit on it defaults to TV input?
Other Thoughts: Overall quite satisfied however I think on hindsight I would have gone for the next modle up with the better audio DAC's
Reviewed By:godzilla,11/16/2014 6:24:53 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Receivers > Yamaha > YAMAHA RX-V373BL 5.1-Channel AV Receiver

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 I've been happy with it
Pros: It's been great so far. I bought it back in 2012 and haven't had any problems. It's a breeze to setup and use.
Cons: The auto configure mic thingy doesn't support subwoofers.
Reviewed By:N/A,11/15/2014 6:13:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Receivers > Onkyo > ONKYO TX-SR707 7.2-Channel Home Theater Receiver

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Faulty
Pros: Worked right out of the box for about a 2 years
Cons: After 2 years, having continual sound output issues using HDMI only and after 3 1/2 years reset no longer works No Sound, Found lots of forums stating same issues with this same model TX-SR707
Other Thoughts: Had a Pioneer receiver for 7yrs up to getting the Onkyo due to new players and cable box's and tv's with hdmi connections switched, Pioneer still works Onkyo TX-SR707 doesn't 3 1/2 yrs milked it for as long as I could have to buy new now
Reviewed By:N/A,11/14/2014 1:22:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Receivers > Denon > Denon AVR-E200 5.1 Channel A/V Receiver with 3D Video Pass-Through

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Denon Quality has gone down hill
Pros: NONE!
Cons: Died right after the two year mark!
Other Thoughts: I bought the DENON AVR 1312 here and was very happy with it, well until it stopped working just over the two year mark.
I used for no more then two hours a day and it couldn't hold up soooo disappointing as I have never had a receiver die and have several of other brands that I gave away and are still working 15 years later!
Called customer service who was nice, but unresponsive to this complete failure of a product that should have lasted at least 5-8 years.
Demon quality has gone waaaay down hill!
Reviewed By:NotGetFooledAgain,11/14/2014 6:19:46 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Receivers > Yamaha > Yamaha RX-V475 5.1 Channel Network AV Receiver

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Yamaha RX-V495
Pros: Setup was easy ... 3.1 in a small living room. HDMI from ROKU, Dish Hopper, and Blu-Ray to receiver, HDMI out from receiver to 55" Samsung TV. I used the included mic to auto adjust the speakers, including the 10" Polk PSW10 sub which was included free with the receiver. I added a refurbished Netgear WNCE3001 for wireless ($30)...it plugged into the Ethernet port and USB port (for power) on the back of the receiver. Shipping was free and it arrived the next day after ordering (from Memphis to NW Arkansas). As always, a great purchasing experience with Newegg!
Cons: When a headphone is in use, the speakers can't be used. Seems common among the newer receivers. Digital (input) sound is not converted to analog (output) on the receiver. My husband is somewhat deaf and he needs to use headphones, but I like listening via speakers. So in addition to the HDMI from the Dish to the Yamaha, we had to run a red/white RCA audio cable from the Dish to a little bookshelf stereo, then out to his headphones. Our old pre-HDMI receivers allowed the use of headphones and speakers at the same time, if so desired. Why has that feature been removed from newer equipment?!?!?
Other Thoughts: The sound is great for the budget minded. $300 for the receive and sub, with free shipping.

Newegg is tough to beat !
Reviewed By:CD,11/13/2014 3:30:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.