Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Receivers > Sony > SONY STRDH540 5.2-Channel 4K AV Receiver

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 bang for buck
Pros: inexpensive
enough hdmi ports(for my purpose)
Cons: No bluetooth
Other Thoughts: I wanted to upgrade to a proper receiver and speakers from my soundbar and i didnt want spend a lot of money . When this refurb deal came i took a gamble and i am glad i did. overall a much better experience than a soundbar could only dream of providing.
Reviewed By:Jiss J.,5/2/2016 11:45:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Receivers > Onkyo > Onkyo TX NR555 7.2 Channel AV Network Receiver, Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 High expectations.Completely let down disgusted and disappointed.
Pros: None.
Cons: Unable to use ARC. Setup says error with connecting to tv. I have a Sony xbr-65x850c.
No on screen display when adjusting volume.
USB power does not shut off when unit is turned off even when off is selected in set up.
No audio through HDMI using Directv receiver. Must use digital out to have sound. All other devices, Sony playstation3 and my blu ray player sound through HDMI okay. Set up menu is lame. To basic simple yes or no answers that's it no deep menu items for custom anything.
This receiver will only upscale to 4k if it receives a 1080p signal only! any other signal no upscaling. Why?
Other Thoughts: I was really looking forward to this receiver having read the specs from Onkyo. I was going to replace my TX-NR717 with this receiver simply because of the HDCP 2.2. I bought my 717 refurbished from Onkyo and have only one minor issue of the HDMI signal dropping periodically for a second or two. No big deal and it didn't happen that often. Sadly I must go through the process of returning this receiver soon. I will attempt to contact Onkyo tech support but we have all been through that ringer before. Did you connect everything correctly,did you try a reset? did you power down the unit and unplug it? did you try a factory reset. Yes! to all thats why Im calling tech support. Maybe in a few years and a couple of firmware updates all issues will be resolved but why put something out there that does not work? I don't have time to wait for a fix. Its brand new it should work.
End of Line.
Reviewed By:Joseph S.,5/2/2016 5:21:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Receivers > Onkyo > Onkyo TX-NR646 7.2 Network Ch A/V Receiver with Wi-Fi & Bluetooth

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Onkyo's Rock!
Pros: The sound and power from Onkyo is crystal clear and raw. This is the third A/V receiver I have had. The first was purchased in Circuit City's infancy and gave me many, many hours, but had no HDMI ports. I have a TX-NR709 that developed a sound problem. Onkyo, with no questions asked, is repairing it, warranty expired, paying the shipping, sent me a box, molded foam, plastic bag, and tape. I love Onkyo and the products they put out. The TX-NR646 I had to buy because my 709 went out just as NCAA tourney was starting. I bought it even before they agreed to fix the 709. I've had the rest over the years, Onkyo's the best.
Cons: N/A
Other Thoughts: Onkyo has been building electronics since the early 40's, and nobody puts power supplies, transformers or heat-sinks like they do.
Reviewed By:Kevin T.,5/2/2016 12:33:25 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Receivers > Onkyo > ONKYO TX-8050 Stereo Network Receiver

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 PERFECT!
Pros: -Easy Setup
-Connected to my network without issue
-Love the idea of streaming Pandora from my iPhone
-Onkyo REmote3 App finds the device every time.
-Sound is what I expected from a sub $400 receiver
--Speaker choice here will improve the sound--remember, garbage speakers equals garbage sound.
Cons: -None
Other Thoughts: No HDMI, but I knew that before hand...just read the specifications people!!
Reviewed By:Jason R.,4/30/2016 8:43:53 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Receivers > Pioneer > Pioneer VSX-1021-K 7.1-Channel A/V Receiver

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3
Pros: Excellent home audio receiver
AirPlay feature is awesome
Cons: Bluetooth & wireless option (should be included)
Not worth getting on the side
Other Thoughts: Update
2016
The receiver is dying...
Surround Sound options are only whispering through the speakers
Stereo option still works though...
Reviewed By:Tu T.,4/28/2016 11:41:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Receivers > Onkyo > Onkyo TX-NR747 7.2 Ch THX Certified A/V Receiver with Wi-fi & Bluetooth

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: I was searching for a receiver/amp to replace a THX certified amplifier that went south after many years of fine service. The Onkyo TX-N747 fit the bill. Really appreciate that the amp will run a check of your speakers and set the proper level from a supplied microphone. I went from a 5.1 setup at first to 7.2 and the analysis of my room environment was very helpful in adjusting the new system. Having moved up to this receiver/amp from an older one, I like the network and Bluetooth functions. A lot of functions and advantages over my previous system. THX certification is a real plus in my mind and Onkyo is only one of two brands meeting THX certification available in North America. It also connects to my TV to give a readout of the connection, network, song, composer, performer.
Cons: I took great care to make sure my speaker wires were connected properly. If shorted, it will damage the finals in the amp. Other reviewers have really knocked the amp for this fact. Clearly stated in the manual to be careful not to short your speaker circuits plus isn't this just common sense? Most systems would be damage under a short final load too.
Other Thoughts: Would highly recommend if you like to duplicate the theatre experience (THX certification ensures this).
Reviewed By:Donald A.,4/28/2016 3:35:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Receivers > HARMAN KARDON > Harman Kardon AVR 2700 7.1 channel home theater receiver with Apple AirPlay

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Don't even think about it
Pros: None
Cons: Piece of junk
Other Thoughts: Dead on arrival. HDMI board not functioning. Picture flickering and some hdmi ports not even displaying. Also some pop sounds coming from frt speakers. Piece of junk, can't believe newegg is selling this junk
Reviewed By:Sri B.,4/27/2016 7:05:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Receivers > Yamaha > Yamaha RX-V379 5.1-Channel Network AV receiver with Bluetooth

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works and Sounds Great so far !!!!!!!!!!!
Pros: Great power and easy to hookup. Sleek looking at a good price point as well.
Cons: None so far
Reviewed By:Jimmy J.,4/21/2016 4:09:54 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Receivers > Onkyo > Onkyo HT-R593 5.2-channel home theater receiver with Wi-Fi and Bluetooth

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 HDMI Output Failed
Pros: Ok till.....
Cons: HDMI Output started cutting off till finally not working at all
Reviewed By:Stephen H.,4/18/2016 4:56:48 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Receivers > Sony > Sony STR-DH750 7.2-Channel AV Receiver

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Receiver
Pros: I bought this for $299.00 in 02/2015 from Newegg. It is a wonderful receiver. I have my media center computer connected to it as well as my turntable. The sound is superb whether watching a movie on my big projections screen or watching and listening from the hot tub a few feet away. I have one sub woofer connected to the sub woofer and the other to Aural shakers mounted in the sofa. These give very good low bass effects to enhance the sound, movie or music: I am very pleased with this unit. It was very easy to set up and I have had no problems with it. Using this and a HDMI splitter I have HDMI signal sent to every room of my house. EGGcellent!
Cons: I would like to to play a little louder to cover the noise from the hot tub, But I can hear it with no trouble.
Other Thoughts: I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a good 7.2 receiver.
Reviewed By:Arthur G.,4/17/2016 11:48:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.