Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Receivers > Onkyo > ONKYO TX-SR603X 7.1-Channel Black Home Theater Receiver

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Amazing Upgrade Find
Pros: Optical ports galore, amazing ease of use, sound quality/power to the speakers. Through optical the unit automatically detects the type of signal and switches to what it believes is the best format. You can sound calibrate via microphone as well. The remote can also control most other items making it a one remote deal for your whole room. Doesn't get much easier.
Cons: No HDMI, so you must route through svideo, RCA, or optical. I wanted optical because my video signal was a completely independent video card that I did not want to daisy chain to the unit with more cords.
Other Thoughts: Bought this as a replacement for my out of box under powered home theater blu-ray from samsung. I just needed more juice and clarity. Action movies are not the same if you are not getting the full range of speakers due to low power output. Hooked up my speakers from that system to this and I was blown away with the PCM audio (nearly lossless).

What I want to get across is this does not have HDMI, but it is an amazing deal because it does not have HDMI. You do not need any HDMI to run optical PCM, or other digital formats. I prefer direct signals to video output then routing them through a receiver anyway, so this works great for me.

I found mine for 60 dollars, someone thought it was an old unit because people just do not know their technology. Extremely happy and it is the single biggest upgrade to my home theater I could have imagined. Yes there are better units out now, but with the brand known for their stuff and the quality I have gotten out of it I do not see myself upgrading for a very very long time.

Note: Yes you can shut the blue light off via dimmer option.
Reviewed By:gpelite,1/30/2015 7:53:30 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Receivers > Pioneer > Pioneer VSX-1024-K 7.2 Channel 4K Ready AV Receiver

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Headphone jack is almost worthless
Pros: Everything that has to do with physical speakers is fine
Cons: This is my big problem. I wanted a receiver that I could use with headphones at night, or in general to keep the noise level down in my 1 bedroom apartment I share with my girlfriend.

The channel levels you set for the speakers are applied to the headphones when plugged in, and there is nothing you can do about it. For example, my right speaker is quite a bit further away (12ft) from where I set compared to my left speaker (7ft). The level differences I have set to make these sound correctly also apply to the levels played in the headphones.

What a horrible design.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/28/2015 4:03:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Receivers > Onkyo > ONKYO TX-SR508 7.1-Channel Home Theater Receiver

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Stopped working
Pros: Worked for 4 years as advertised
Cons: Rliability
Other Thoughts: Got a 'pop' today and the audio is gone. Heard the Onkyo had an HDMI board issue. I did a reset but I don't have anything. Not even radio. Video still works. Too much to spend for such a short life. I'm looking for another brand.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/27/2015 7:22:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Receivers > Onkyo > ONKYO TX-NR626 7.2-Channel Network A/V Receiver

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Not worthed
Pros: Not many.
Cons: Noisy fan. Dolby Sound started skipping.
Other Thoughts: Not a good buy, regardless of discount price.
Reviewed By:Mr. G,1/24/2015 10:25:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Receivers > Onkyo > ONKYO TX-NR509 5.1-Channel Network A/V Receiver

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Died at 3 ears
Pros: It worked for 3 years.
Cons: Died after 3 years. Seems like a common problem.
Reviewed By:JBergerStuff,1/24/2015 4:26:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Receivers > Onkyo > ONKYO TX-NR626 7.2-Channel Network A/V Receiver

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Good Product - Could Be Great
Pros: - Sound quality; Once I was able to find what I was looking for in the fairly confusing setup/configuration menu it turns out to be very nice sound. It simply took me awhile to get to the speaker level calibration window. It’s simply good and with more than enough power to push my Energy 5.1+Bose 301s to shaking the walls while maintain very well defined frequencies throughout the spectrum.
- Bluetooth; Very simple to connect my android phone. Press the BT button on the front panel, initiate scan on the phone, the Onkyo initially pops up as a new mac address, hit connect on the phone and that was it. Sound was good. Connection was solid even as I traveled around the house. I know my droid has a very good BT range, but some of the headsets/radios I’ve connected to in the past have been pretty pathetic. I was well over 40’ and on the other side of a drywall and the connection never faltered.
- Plenty of HDMI ins for all of your sources. Configuration of each input’s video and audio sources was easy enough. I was surprised that there are two HDMI outs. I doubt that I’ll ever find a use for the 2nd output but you never know. Nice to have.
- ARC; I was glad to see this especially after finding that there is only one optical audio input on this receiver compared to the two on the rear my old Onkyo. See CONs.
- Remote; Ok. This is under PROs but if I’d written this when I first started doing the installation of the receiver, it would be firmly ensconced in the living room wall. It’s busy. Man, is it busy! Lots of buttons and options. And this actually becomes a PRO after coding in the TV, Sat dish and Blu Ray player. One of the things I found lacking in the Harmony 300 was that there were simply a couple of functions that it would not pick up. As far as I can tell so far, the remote transfers all functionality for the other devices onto this remote and so far, so far….it seems to be complete across the board. Now I haven’t had a chance to go over everything and I may edit this review later.
- $299 and free shipping from Newegg. What more needs to be said.
- I ordered it on standard free shipping and it got here in two days. Newegg. Gotta give them their due.
Cons: - Bluetooth: I got you. How can BT be a PRO AND a CON? Easy. While it’s nice to be able to connect the phone to it, it is not a transmitter, only a receiver. This means that I can’t connect my trusty, much loved Sennheiser MM400s so I can listen to my sports or whatever at 2am Saturday morning while the wife is sleeping. And 2, it doesn’t stream video to the receiver, just audio. Caveat….maybe that’s a good thing at this stage of development. The music videos I was streaming lagged by almost 2 full seconds compared to what was on my phone. Does that mean that the audio and video channels would have necessarily been out of synch by the time they reached the receiver and got pumped to speakers and tv respectively? I can’t make that claim because it’s not a feature that exists. Seriously though, Onkyo. Look, I understand it’s a bargain price 7.2 with solid sound and a lot of features, but if you’re going to add BT then add the whole tamale and not just one of at least three possible features. I would sure love to see an update that addresses those issues.
- Optical Audio In: My RC260 had two optical audio ins which was great because I could hook my sat box as well as my Blu Ray player to the A/V using optics. As it now stands I either go out and buy a coaxial audio cord, or I hang with the ARC feature. I just wish I had a place to install the 2nd of my two optics cables.
- At first I thought the remote was damaged because while I could change sources and adjust the volume, I couldn’t get it to go to any menus to include Home and Setup. Seems you have to press “Receiver”, “Setup” “Enter”. Why? I was already in receiver mode. And that’s not the only unintuitive, multi-button combination that they have encoded into the remote. Just think there has to be an easier way (like, I don’t know, push a button and the A/V responds).
- Audessey Auto Calibration was ok, but plugged the volume levels way too low. I had to go in and calibrate the levels myself based on my ears. The menus are hard to navigate, so pulling down the ops manual from the Onkyo site and printing the nav map out was necessary for me to get to where I wanted to go.
- Heat: Finally, this thing is a furnace! It gets very hot very fast. I have a usb powered computer fan en route and may update, but I have read that a good one will keep temps down significantly.
Other Thoughts: Overall, at the very initial stages of ownership, I am satisfied. For the price it’s hard to beat the sound combined with all of the features provided. That said, it definitely has areas where Onkyo probably could have tightened up their build standards just a tad in order to have made this a no kidding great buy.
Reviewed By:Z,1/23/2015 11:06:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Receivers > Pioneer > Pioneer VSX-1024-K 7.2 Channel 4K Ready AV Receiver

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Home Theatre heaven
Pros: I have been utilizing the Pioneer VSX-1024 as the heart of my home theatre set-up. It receives HDMI inputs from my Directv digital HD receiver and a Panasonic DMP-BDT 320 blu-ray player and sends them via a HDMI to the Epson Home Cinema 8350 HD projector flawlessly. I set-up a Logitech remote to handle the 4 remotes. The sound is amazing from the Pioneer VSX-1024 to the Polk Audio 5.1 speakers. This is my third Pioneer receiver and I highly recommend them all.
An owner's manual cd came with my unit, this a vast improvement over the paper/pdf version; with easy navigation on my pc.
Cons: It wasn't free.
Reviewed By:Roy in Md,1/22/2015 4:18:03 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Receivers > Sony > Sony STR-DN850 7.2 Channel 4K Wi-Fi Network AV Receiver with Bluetooth

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 STR-DN850 is AWESOME!
Pros: Easy setup. Auto detects the last input device used (I default to the TV) and turns on with all functions run with my standard cable remote. No new programming or anything!
The setup function was incredibly easy, as the STR-DN850 auto detected each of my components
Also, this was the best deal on the web (forget about retail cost!).
Cons: User manual really needs to be addressed.
Reviewed By:Doc,1/20/2015 5:45:59 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Receivers > Onkyo > ONKYO TX-NR626 7.2-Channel Network A/V Receiver

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 So Far, So Good
Pros: Clean Audio, Easy Setup, Room Acoustic Calibration Easy, Solid binding posts, Plenty of HDMI ins and outs, WiFi setup easy and feedback continuous, When connecting to BlueTooth-receiver automatically switches to BT connection.
Cons: Turning on or off TV while audio is output will cause audio to pause monementarily, Can only pair Bluetooth while in BT mode (minor), When disconnecting BT receiver does not revert to prior input
Other Thoughts: This thing sounds great — my bookshelf S38s (JBLs with 8" drivers) sound are really shining with this amp. I also really like that they have real binding posts — unlike other amps in the category that you have to use bare wire connections. The Onkyo Remote 3 (just came out 2015) is even easier to use on iOS.

I got this at a blowout price, new, and unless it fails within 2 years, I will have gotten a great near Xmas deal.

I have read about Onkyo’s HDMI going out after a year. I have seen 3 different models where this happened and in every case the user put another component on top of the receiver — partially blocking the air vents. The manual specifically shows not to put anything in top of it, and the standoff common to audio components does not allow enough airflow. I think this is probably the reason for the failures because I recommended a 717 to my sister 2 years ago, and made sure to tell her not to put anything on top of it, telling her it is the quickest way to kill the amp because heat is the enemy of electronics. Her 717 is over 2 years old and still working fine. I have had my 626 a few months, so we shall see if it lasts longer than the 18-24 months people are saying these might last.
Reviewed By:Noivad,1/19/2015 4:21:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Receivers > Pioneer > Pioneer VSX-919AH-K 7-Channel A/V Receiver

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great system!
Pros: The quality of this system is fantastic. The sound output after years of service is still great, and the setup feature with the multi-directional mic is awesome.
Cons: HDMI switching is wonky, works most of the time, but sometimes you have to switch between inputs to get it to click to the right one.
Other Thoughts: After 4 years of service, the HDMI Out died, and I haven't been able to find a part number to replace it. The rest of the system works fine, but I can't use it for any sort of video watching anymore.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/17/2015 11:11:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.