Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Receivers > Sony > Sony STR-DH130 2-Channel Hi-Fi Receiver

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 sony
Pros: this unit is awesome love it thank you for the safe delivery to my home.
Cons: work great great sound.
Reviewed By:Paul B.,8/25/2016 1:27:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Receivers > Onkyo > Onkyo TX SR353 5.1 Channel AV Receiver, Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Onkyo TX SR353 5.1 Channel AV Receiver, Black
Pros: Easy Setup
Cons: Does not drive my Klipsch KM6 Series speakers. No Bass as all even at level 10. Highly doubt this is 140wt per channel.
Other Thoughts: I would not recommend this product
Reviewed By:Justin C.,8/22/2016 10:57:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Receivers > Pioneer > Pioneer VSX-531 5.1-Channel Receiver

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Pioneer VSX-531 5.1-Channel Receiver
Pros: Plenty of HDMI connections that are straight forward.
Cons: None really.
Other Thoughts: I use this for a bedroom system. But it would be easy and nice for a living-room setup. I prefer more power and functionality in my living-room. As far as value is concerned, It's got everything you'll NEED without all the complicated junk that comes on my high end systems.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,8/22/2016 5:43:30 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Receivers > Yamaha > YAMAHA HTR-3067 AV receiver 5.1ch / 4K Ultra HD corresponding black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Does what I want at a great price
Pros: Price
Free 4-9 day shipping (arrived in four days)
Rebate (It's a Newegg rebate, so it'll show)
There are no scratches or marks of any type on my refurb HTR-3067
Yamaha...long to the game.
Cons: It is really, really BIG
No phono inputs (I knew that)
Darn thing CLICKS when powered on or off...goofy
Other Thoughts: It has been 10 years since I sold all my gear at the auction site. Times had changed and I was no longer listening to
the radio (really vanilla stations), music ( I was not going to keep spending money for overpriced CD's ) and though I had my TV
hooked up to my gear there was no remote (pretty lazy, eh?)

Since that time I have been looking to replace everything with an AV receiver but never did for two reasons. The change in my listening habits and I didn't want to spend the money just for the limited use the receiver would get.

Then in e-mail a couple weeks back the HTR-3067 showed up at a price I did not want pass on. My only question was could I listen to TV without turning the unit on. I asked here at Newegg, was told yes, so I flashed the plastic. If you read the questions and answers here on the HTR-3067 you will find how I did that.

Yamaha has been a very helpful vendor for me. I called and they answered my question. I e-mailed and heard back within 24. The manual is thorough and understandable. The quick setup guide is in only two languages. They even have an HTR-3067 specific app that does an excellent job of taking the user through setup, step by step. All companies say they want the user to succeed, Yamaha goes to lengths to ensure they do.

If you are an audiophile ( I call them audiowrenches...ha ha ha) I am sure you could find plenty to disrespect with the HTR-3067.
If you want great sound, a gazillion settings to play with and YPAO then I recommend the HTR-3067 which BTW is identical to the RX-V377.

Rebate arrived 8-16-16
Reviewed By:jan p.,8/17/2016 6:10:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Receivers > Onkyo > ONKYO TX-NR515 7.2-Channel Network 3D Ready A/V Receiver

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Dead after buying 12/7/12, PLEASE just DO NOT BUY
Pros: -Awesome Sound after using the Audyssey sound setup and turning on Dynamic EQ. It was truly impressive.
-Good menu, even on the Onkyo Display, easy to navigate and use in my opinion.
-Simple Bass/Treble adjusting buttons
-SO many inputs, so many HDMI if only they were usable
- Front USB to plug iPods in to get true audio quality from your iPod files
-Front HDMI input (Haven't actually used it, I do not know if it fails like the others do actually......But this can be an incredibly useful feature if it works)
- Android/Apple apps for this thing if you put the receiver on the network with an Ethernet cable, you can connect to it with Wi-Fi and control the receiver with REALLY NICE buttons and sliders. It even has a direct slider for subwoofer volume, I could never find this on the actual remote or in the Onkyo options, I am convinced this option does not exist outside of this app.
Cons: -Small con was almost said as a pro above, but the receiver doesn't seem to have a straight volume adjustment option for the subwoofer. If there is they made it impossible to find. The app had a slider for subwoofer volume, and after not long I was not able to have my receiver on a wired network, so I could never use this option again, and had to resort to the subwoofer nobs themselves to adjust volume.
*THE TERRIBLE*
- From Day 1 it needed to be reset constantly to get video through the HDMI again. Not just reset, but unplugged from the wall.
-After a year of doing that every day I used it, I got fed up and the receiver wasn't even an HDMI hub anymore, it just for audio input. I only really used my PC anyways, I didn't absolutely need the multiple inputs for tons of HDMI, but it sure was nice.
-Around March 2016, the Digital inputs acted the same as HDMI, needed an unplug to give sound. Became daily occurence by late July.
-Today on August 14th 2016, I went to go play some music, and I had no sound. No problem right? Unplug from the wall and we are good. Well not this time. It never came back. Factory reset with pressing "CBL/SAT" + "ON/STANDBY" and it will reset it. Now there is still no sound, and when I run with setup mic, it just gets stuck. The receiver itself just says "Wait" and never moves on.
-Skipped setup and went straight to its normal state, I have tried EVERYTHING. I have tried the Front USB, which used to charge things and now it doesn't. Tried even plugging in headphones, and turning on FM, still no sound. Tried every combination of Optical and Analog inputs on TV/CD, CBL/SAT, and PC.

Other Thoughts: This was my first ever receiver, but I am almost certain any of my next 10 options would have been a better purchase. I bought this open box but am reviewing on the non-open box, because I know the person just returned it as soon as the HDMI didn't work right, I am basically reviewing for them...

It seems to be a lost cause, almost from the first time I had to unplug it from the wall. But I just learned to deal with it because it was my first one, I loved it so much in so many ways. What is funny is I LOVE the sound of this receiver so much, I might get another Onkyo receiver, just one that doesn't have so many known problems. If you actually read all the way down to this and have the option to buy this receiver somewhere, just do not take the gamble, this is easily the most issue-heavy piece of hardware I have dealt with in my life even after building many PCs.
Reviewed By:Brandon D.,8/14/2016 11:05:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Receivers > Yamaha > YAMAHA 5.1-Channel Digital Home Theater Receiver RX-V367

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 FAILED AFTER 4.5 YEARS
Pros: Decent performance while it lasted. Price was reasonable.
Cons: Would have liked it to last a little longer before failing.
Other Thoughts: Neither good or bad experience...stuff just isn't built to last like it used to...why there are so many "refurbished" sales on year old products.
Reviewed By:Robert D.,8/3/2016 11:54:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Receivers > Onkyo > Onkyo TX-NR646 7.2 Network Ch A/V Receiver with Wi-Fi & Bluetooth

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great product and value - Led Zeppelin has never sounded better
Pros: I will always recommend Onkyo because of the Great sound and reasonable prices. I bought the full theater system (115 watts) from New Egg 7 years ago. Now replacing the receiver with the new 160 watt unit - sounds great. And the HD uplift feature for old DVDs is excellent.
Cons: The setup is always complicated and time consuming - this one even more so cause of all the features - takes weeks to get it all working. Telephone call center used to be horrendous (long waits), but has gotten better (still not good). The reason I bought a new receiver vs fixing the old one is the poor repair service. All but one HDMI ports went bad, and mine was the one model they Onkyo wouldn't fix for free. And the service centers are few and far between. The service center nearest me, in Pompano Beach Florida, acted like they were doing me a favor just talking to me. The next closest would require mailing. So if you get a problem free unit they are the best.
Reviewed By:Donald S.,8/2/2016 8:34:03 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Receivers > PYLE AUDIO > New Pyle Pt588ab 5.1 Ch Home Theater Am Fm Receiver & Amplifier W/ Bluetooth

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Big Disappointment
Pros: Unit has inputs for three microphone (two front - 1 rear) and they seem to work well.
Cons: The main problem was a lack of power to all of the speakers. When used with Pioneer 22 series speakers (tower fronts, book shelf rear and center channel) this receiver would never supply much volume. When used with Yamaha or Pioneer receivers these same speakers deliver a large amount of sound on very modest 5.1 models. No matter what source was used the unit just never produced much sound.

The Bluetooth connection was cranky when connecting and didn't have great range. It's to be expected that Bluetooth isn't a long distance device but even 20 feet away with direct line of sight cause a signal drop. That's with android cell phones, tablets and a laptop with built in BT.

The remote is pretty basic and not especially powerful. Line of sight helped but even then the range gets iffy at about 15 feet.

The adjustment for speaker volume is limited and there are no sound field selection options. The volume for microphones was actually a more convenient adjustment than for other sources.

The unit had a very dim display, visible under low light conditions only. Hopefully it was this specific unit that was defective and not typical of the model in general.
Other Thoughts: No. This unit failed in ever department except for the microphone connections and controls. Under-powered is the kindest thing I can say about it.

Newegg is amazing. Truly wonderful response for RMA and getting return taken care of. Every experience should be so simple and easy. I'm a long timer with Newegg and this was the first time I needed to return a product so it was great to see that they're every bit as good as I'd hoped.
Reviewed By:robert s.,7/26/2016 11:59:48 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Receivers > Onkyo > Onkyo TX-NR646 7.2 Network Ch A/V Receiver with Wi-Fi & Bluetooth

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Onkyo TX-NR646
Pros: Great price for all the features, if only they all worked.
Cons: The first minor problem: the component inputs only accept up to 480i inputs. So if you have any old but high quality equipment with component video, don't hook it up through this receiver.
The second major problem I had with this was (I'm guessing) some kind of firmware bug in the audio decoding. What would happen is I would pause (or skip forward or backward) a DVD or my DVR, and sometimes the audio would not resume. Most of the time (maybe %90) the audio would start back up when you un-paused (or after the skip forward or back) but sometimes it just wouldn't. After a firmware update (in June of 2016) I couldn't reproduce the problem on my Blu-ray player, but it was still easy to see (too easy) on my Dish DVR (a VIP 622 if that matters.) This was using the first two HDMI inputs.
Other Thoughts: I really wanted to like this receiver. I could overlook the component input limitation, as I didn't buy it for that. But losing the audio was just ridiculous! (The Onkyo support forums have other complaints about this same problem, so it wasn't just my receiver.) If they ever fix this problem, this will be a great receiver for the price. Newegg and Onecall were very good about handling the return.
Reviewed By:James K.,7/26/2016 9:31:23 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Receivers > Yamaha > Yamaha RX-V579 7.2-Channel Network AV receiver with Built-in Wi-Fi and Bluetooth

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Pretty Good
Pros: Sounds great, pretty easy to set up, lots of inputs (each input can be named whatever you want). Wifi works great, access to hundreds, if not thousands, of internet radio stations worldwide plus Pandora for free. Can stream from your server too. Remote easy to figure out.
Cons: No line out, so you can't record to a cassette deck. I have so far been unsuccessful in getting the Android app to recognize my unit, even after I manually input my IP address. I would like to play with the app, but I'm pretty sure the remote can do anything the app can do, just not as flashy, so I'm not really upset if I can't get the app to work. I guess nobody puts a phono jack on their receivers anymore, but you can get a phono preamp and play vinyl if you'd like. No electric plugs on the back to plug in dvd player, etc. My biggest gripe (almost forgot to mention it)...NO paper manual...it's on a cd. Some cost cutter at Yamaha should get tarred and feathered for that.
Other Thoughts: I've had this working for a few days now and, so far, like it a lot despite the "cons" above. This replaced a very old Sony STR-DE895 that I loved. It finally died...I'm happy I replaced it with this. My few complaints about this receiver would probably be equally true when applied to any other receiver priced below $1000 by any manufacturer. My wife is absolutely crazy about the internet radio stuff and is making me buy another of these for the bedroom. I looked around a lot before I bought this. At the current price, this receiver is unbeatable in terms of features and sound. Nothing else comes close. They're at least $100 more anywhere else, including *bay. Good luck...get one while they're available here at NewEgg cheap...
Reviewed By:Mike S.,7/23/2016 5:11:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.