Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Receivers > Yamaha > Yamaha RX-V677 7.2 Channel Wi-Fi Network AV Receiver

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great tuner for the money
Pros: sounds great easy set up .
Cons: menus can be confusing
Reviewed By:bigdogs,5/21/2015 1:08:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Receivers > Yamaha > Yamaha RX-V777BT 7.2 Channel Wi-Fi Network AV Receiver with Bluetooth adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Love Times Two!
Pros: Too many pros to mention for one sweetheart deal. The power and sound quality, for music, movies and games through my 5.1 Infinity Premus speakers combined with tons of smart home info-tainment features rock my low rent world. I was tickled at the sale price when I first ordered it. But the next day, Newegg dropped the price by $100 - and guess what? I called and asked them to keep me from being disappointed in my new purchase before it even arrived due to narrowly missing the sale - and they totally took care of my problem. Now, for a poor boy, I admit that I dropped a lot of coin with them over more than decade before this. But their customer service made me more thrilled than ever to un-box my new prize and put it to work! And did I say I love the remote? It has a button for each HDMI and AV inputs and also pre-labeled "scene" buttons. The ARC and the CEC work fantastic. Some folks don't like all that HDMI control or getting sound input through the HDMI output but I'm digging it! I like it when I click the power button on my TV remote and it turns off this AV receiver as well as my Yamaha Blue Ray player too if it's on. I could continue on for another 1500 words and then some about how I like seeing my custom input name for the HDMI connections displaying on the front panel with titles like "Win-PC" and "Mac-Mini" in addition to the standard "Blu-ray" and "TV" and how creative it makes me feel and how perfect this unit of technology is as a stepping stone toward a higher end non-integrated amp/brain-box solution due to its 7.2 channel pre-outs that will give me incentive to first save for a nice separate amp and after that to save some more for this unit's replacement with standalone control unit some time down the road. Yes this baby is a pleasure to use and so sweet and kind that it will help one plan for its retirement while it is just beginning to shine! I love my new toy and I love Newegg! Long live both!
Cons: Yamaha copy-protects their PDF manuals, making copy-and-paste Google-researching and manual-to-manual tech/feature comparisons require way more typing than I like - believe it or not. Still, that is the only con I can think of. Really!
Reviewed By:Old-School,5/19/2015 12:06:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Receivers > Onkyo > Onkyo TX-NR535 5.2 Channel 4K Ready AV Receiver

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Audio pro here. Best receiver I ever owned
Pros: - Great way to centralize all your entertainment
- More outputs than I need to allow expansion later
- Crisp sound
- Awesome frequency range
- Lots of ways to connect
- No proprietary audio or video connections - uses standard wires and cables
Cons: - Less than intuitive on screen setup menu, but still useful
- No built in "Custom equalizer settings" to set to your own liking
Other Thoughts: I consider myself to be an audio / visual professional and a gear snob. I DJ in night clubs and worked as an A/V Tech at 5-star resort hotels. That being said, I definitely got more than what I paid for on this unit.

I have an obnoxious 18-inch Pyle home theater subwoofer that drops the bass to 15Hz. This unit outputs the deep bass with no distortion. You want to communicate with whales or shake your house? Go ahead.

The surround sound works great. It doesn't matter what angle the sound is coming from.

The surprise features I am very pleased with are the WiFi connections to Spotify and my internet music accounts AND the ALL-ON connection. When I turn on my XBox One, the HDMI signal routed through the Onkyo receiver turns on the surround sound AND my TV at the same time.

Are there bigger and more expensive receivers available? Yes. But with all the inputs and outputs this has, the Onkyo TX-NR535 has more than what I need to run my man cave at a fraction of the cost.
Reviewed By:BLucas42,5/17/2015 8:11:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Receivers > Yamaha > Yamaha RX-V377 5.1 Channel AV Receiver

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 no FLAC
Pros: See other reviews - great low cost option.
Cons: I forgot to write in my earlier review: the USB interface won't play FLAC. Not a huge deal, but worth giving people a heads up. If your entire collection is in FLAC and you wanted to play music off a thumb drive, you will be dissapointed. Seems like a strange omission.
Reviewed By:andy m,5/16/2015 7:35:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Receivers > Pioneer > Pioneer VSX-522-K 5.1-Channel 3D Ready A/V Receiver

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Oversized Paperweight
Pros: -Nice design
-That's it..
Cons: -The menu only comes up through the RCA
-HDMI never worked
-Dolby is weird - only sends chimes to the rear channel
-Send lower frequencies only to the sub, therefor if you have tower speakers hooked up in the front channels all you get is tweeter and med
-Died after six months of occasional use (Once a week for a movie night or so)
Other Thoughts: The customer support of Pioneer is weird - first of all navigation on their page is absolute mystery to me, no links to warranty service, returns or repairs, all there is are FAQs and that's about it. I had to send them an email, as I felt like that is the only way to get in touch with somebody, a week later still no answer. I am very disappointed as I have multiple Pioneer speakers and all of them are top notch so I expected the receiver to be a good pair up for them, I was wrong, seems like I blew money out the window.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/15/2015 10:32:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Receivers > MC Power Electronic > Music Bluetooth USB Drive DMZmusic MZ-301 USB Bluetooth Music Receiver Driver Audio Adapter for Speaker Phone PC

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Terrible clicking. unusable.
Pros: None
Cons: Connecting to it is difficult and once you get it connected, the amount of 'clicking' is insane. Using it in my car with no other Bluetooth devices nearby. Pretty miserable, loud, high pitched digital 'noise'.
Reviewed By:jjc8,5/13/2015 9:10:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Receivers > PYLE AUDIO > PYLE PD1000A 1000 Watt AM-FM Receiver w/ Built-in DVD/MP3/USB

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Problems
Pros: This receiver does everything I need it to do. The ability to us a microphone is nice.
Cons: This is the second one I have bought. The first one I lost the ability to do anything except use the microphone. I bought a replacement because I liked all the features. I figure It may have been hit by a surge. I was disappointed when after 1 month the second one had the screen go out on it making it impossible to do anything with it. You are basically blind with out the screen.
Other Thoughts: I have bought pyle devices in the past and have not had any problems. However this item may be a lemon.
Reviewed By:desgun,5/13/2015 7:05:42 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Receivers > Yamaha > Yamaha Aventage RX-A2030 9.2-Channel Network AV Receiver

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Yamaha RX-A2030 AVR
Pros: This Yamaha RX-A2030 AVR has almost everything you could ask for in terms of features (less wifi and bluetooth). I really do not need Dolby Atmos standard (additional speakers in the ceiling) – 5.1 to 7.2 is good enough for me. This way I saved $800 by buying RX-A2030 instead RX-A2040.

So I was looking for AVR which has:

- good quality amp (low 0.06 % THD, over 100 W to all channels)
- good quality DACs
- HDMI I/O
- Ethernet port (wifi would be nice , but is not a deal breaker – I use powerline Ethernet module)
- extensive audio codec and format support (many Dolby and DTS formats, FLAC)
- HDMI with 3D ARC
- AV controller app for android
- front port inputs (USB, HDMI, composite)
- additional zone controller
- room acoustics multi point measurements

This AVR has excellent reviews on many AVR forums (like many other Yamaha and Denon AVRs).
I guess I was the fist who bought RX-A2030 from World Wide Stereo (via Newegg is a reseller) so I decided to write short review. The competition between Yamaha and Denon AVRs was close but overall when it came to quality, features, and pricing Yamaha won!
Cons: lack of wifi and blusetooth - this can by fixed by buying these two adapters or using powerline Ethernet module.
Reviewed By:Andrew P.,5/12/2015 12:21:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Receivers > TEAC > TEAC AG-790 AM/FM Stereo Receiver

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Teac Stereo Receiver
Pros: It worked look good.
Cons: didn't sound like the days of old...
Other Thoughts: It really sounded good out of the box but something was missing. No in ur face sound, but then again I thought that should of sounded like my old Teac Receiver & thought well maybe it's me. Had to turn it up 26 to 39 vol. to really get the sound. Unhooked it & put my old TEAC in it's place gezzzz yes what a difference...but then again my old unit is analog not 1/2 & 1/2... Hey the only pro is that I did pay to much for compared my old Teac ($350 in "92") Just thought I share. Oh & the other thing my old Teac runs great w/ chomecast off my laptop, listening to music from Iheart or taking in a movie.
Reviewed By:Hooch,5/12/2015 10:18:34 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Receivers > Yamaha > Yamaha RX-V677 7.2 Channel Wi-Fi Network AV Receiver

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great Receiver
Pros: Most of the bells/whistles you'd want in a receiver
Built-in bookmarks for internet radio stations
Built-in WiFi
2.1A front USB outlet
Video upscaling, including from analog sources
Cons: Only one audio out
No HDCP 2.2
No digital radio
No Dolby Atmos
Remote only controls receiver
Other Thoughts: The RX-V673 / RX-A720 were the last receivers to receive two audio out plugs. Since the RX-V677 only has one, this means you can only connect one analog recording device to this receiver. For example, you could connect a VCR, but could not also connect a tape deck. A splitter might work, but that's so ghetto.

Even on sale, it was tough to shell-out the $$$ for a receiver without HDCP 2.2. But, my 20+ year old Technics receiver died, so I needed a replacement quick.

For some stupid reason, the RX-V673 made you go to a 3rd party internet site to hold internet radio bookmarks. This RX-V677 has its own local internet radio bookmarks.

@ MSRP, other brand receivers include Dolby Atmos

I think only the RX-V6xx line from Yamaha includes video upscaling. The lower models don't.

RX-V673's remote controlled the receiver AND TV. The RX-V677's remote only controls the receiver.

Now, if there was some way to connect a Wii to this receiver...
Reviewed By:N/A,5/9/2015 12:30:16 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.