Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > DVD Recorders > Toshiba > TOSHIBA DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo with 1080p Upconversion

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good, but I'd prefer better input options
Pros: The DVD/VHS recorder was easy to install, appears to work well and the manual provided with it offers voluminous information about its operation and programming. Although I haven't explored the functionality of the piece of equipment fully yet, the remote control provided does work well with it. Going by the variety of functions controlled by the remote, the unit also appears to offer a great deal of choice and capability in terms of selecting programming options, dubbing from VHS to DVD (I mainly bought it for this capability) and from DVD to VHS, and its general functionality.
Cons: The manual is so exhaustive that it's actually a little difficult to work out where the information is on connecting to other pieces of equipment (particularly those from which one wants to provide inputs), and some of the information isn't written as clearly as it could be. More importantly, although there are three different types of line-in inputs (one on the back and two on the front, though I didn't find the latter inputs for hours: I didn't initially realize there's a little area on the bottom front of the unit which folds down to reveal them!), I'd have preferred at least one of the lines in to have been an HDMI or a component video input. All that is offered is a DVI input, an S-video input, and two standard three-connector, yellow-red-white inputs. The unit offers component video, S-video and HDMI outputs, as well as a yellow-white-red output, so I don't see why the lines in couldn't have included Component video and HDMI inputs in what is a recent-production (May 2014, in the case of the unit I purchased) piece of equipment.
Reviewed By:Wee Jock McJaws,11/24/2014 7:58:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > DVD Recorders > MAGNAVOX > Magnavox/ZV427FX4 - Black FUNAI DVD Recorder/VCR Combo,HDMI,1080p,Up-Comversion,No Tuner

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Hard to hook up
Pros: It came in a box
Cons: The cords with wasn't compatiable to my TV so I had to switch TV's and the supplied cords worked the my Panasonic TV. The other TV needed a cord with different colors. I haven't been able to record with the Mag only because I haven't had time to try it.
Reviewed By:Mel,10/20/2014 11:37:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > DVD Recorders > Toshiba > TOSHIBA DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo with 1080p Upconversion

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Love It!
Pros: Great VCR
Great for dubbing
HDMI Output
Cons: Slow rewind on VHS
Cumbersome to name scenes on DVD with no keyboard
Other Thoughts: I bought this to copy my collection of VHS tapes to DVDs. It works great and plays back VHS tapes better than my other 3 VHS players from the 90's. Works great and very simple to use. It is a very powerful machine and I don't use 75% of its features but love it.
Reviewed By:Nannini,8/11/2014 11:15:08 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > DVD Recorders > MAGNAVOX > Magnavox Home Theater DVD Recorder With 500GB Hard Drive - MDR535H Record up to 626 hours to HDD

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Magnavox 500GB Recorder
Pros: Very easy to use. Good tuner reception. Thick, very detailed user manual. Excellent recording quality at all recording quality settings. Doesn't seem to be a refurbished item at all.
Cons: Not a con, exactly...but I don't yet appreciate why it is always recording the channel you have tuned in even BEFORE you hit the Record Button. I haven't read the entire manual yet.
Other Thoughts: I have 4 other DVD +/- R and RAM disc recorders (Panasonic, Samsung, Toshiba) which I use regularly. Only the Panasonic has the newer DTV tuner. This is my first recorder with a hard drive, and so far it is at least equal to my other four. I only hope it lasts as long as the others, 3 of which are 6 - 10 years old.
Reviewed By:dMr,8/11/2014 10:57:42 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > DVD Recorders > MAGNAVOX > Magnavox Home Theater DVD Recorder With 500GB Hard Drive - MDR535H Record up to 626 hours to HDD

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Price is great for the features. The ability to set the record quility is a plus where some units only record in the broadcast quality which may take more storage space than you may have available. The ability to dub to DVD can be done in high speed if the recording quality doesn't need more space than the DVD has available. The unit can convert the quality down in order to fit on a DVD but the dub speed will take as long as the recording is.
Cons: The unit doesn't have a guide and is totally dependant on you having the clock set as acurately as possible to record the desired program or give it early start time and a long end time.
Other Thoughts: I now have 3 Magnavox DVRs which the oldest one was purchased in 2009. It has been working without any failures to date.
Reviewed By:MC_384,8/10/2014 2:33:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > DVD Recorders > Toshiba > TOSHIBA DR430 DVD Recorder

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Toshiba DR430
Pros: This is an upscale version of the good ole fashioned vcr. It has plenty of basic features to transfer media files from other sources. It's primary function is to act as the DVR your cable/satellite company wants to charge you extra for. Like a VCR, you need to do some coordinating between devices to make the most of it.
Cons: The "One Touch Recording" has some limitations inthat you get to chose recording times in 30 minute increments. So if your program you are "hot recording" goes 1 hour and ten minutes, you get to chose if you want to chop off the last 10 minutes or allow it to record for an hour and 30 minutes.
The manual is both a "pro" and a "con." It tells you every possible way of using the device in EXCRUCIATING detail: it's 103 pages long. Download it as a pdf and just look up the things you need help with.
Other Thoughts: I'm using this to back up previously recorded shows on my satellite dvr (before age and obsolescence make the shows irretrievable). Also, it allows me to watch previously recorded shows in another room without having to pay for "whole house" dvr service. For what it does (and the cost), it's an acceptable solution for my needs.
Reviewed By:vernec,7/12/2014 11:03:57 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > DVD Recorders > MAGNAVOX > Magnavox Home Theater DVD Recorder With 1TB Hard Drive - MDR537H

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: - Programable like a DVD-VCR; numerious entries for daily, weekly, and future dates/times.
- Can view a previous recording and copy at the same time.
- Can edit pre-recording program whie unit is recording.
Cons: Has so many functons and it take time to learn what you need.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/4/2014 3:24:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > DVD Recorders > Toshiba > TOSHIBA DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo with 1080p Upconversion

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good DVD/VCR combo
Pros: Looked like new. Easy to setup and ran right out of the box. The upconversion gives a sharper video on a big screen TV from a DVD or an external tuner than my previous DVD/VCR combo. Setup and Timer screens are similar to most units.
Cons: Doesn't have coaxial antenna connectors in back. Forces the use of RCA connectors from the external tuner which could have been used to connect to another device. Remote has an odd layout. Record button is a small button one up and one over from the lower right corner. The RCA cables included are thin gauge with the yellow video cable separate from the red and white combined audio cable. Minor issues overall.
Other Thoughts: A good bargain recorder. New units are too expensive for such well established technology.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/2/2014 2:46:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > DVD Recorders > Toshiba > TOSHIBA DR430 DVD Recorder

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Toshiba DR430
Pros: It works! Recorder and remote are clean, manual was included.
Cons: Newegg site says 90 day warranty but sheet from refurbisher with unit says 30 days!
Reviewed By:machless,6/26/2014 5:57:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > DVD Recorders > Toshiba > TOSHIBA DR430 DVD Recorder

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works great
Pros: Converting vhs to this dvd burner, and works as advertised.
Cons: No problems at all, exactly what I expected.
Other Thoughts: Another site gave this it's top rating for burners due to cost and simplicity. If that is what you need, can't beat it.
Reviewed By:Saint,5/30/2014 5:19:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.