Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Audio / Video Accessories > Rosewill > Rosewill RHSP-15001 6 Feet 8 Outlets 2300 Joules Fireproof Power Surge Protector with 2-Port 3.1 A USB Charger

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Worth the price after rebate and after reading the "Cons" note below...
Pros: A BIG plus is the input-output for a COAX cable (meaning it provides some extra surge protection for the coax cable going into your TV or cable modem--meaning: "extra" beyond what most cable-TV or cable-ISPs or OTA [OverTheAir] anntenna set-ups should already have within their systems...Also, the 2 port USB charging is nice.
Cons: Hopefully Rosewill includes a note about this for each unit, BUT both of the units I received had a misprint on their cardboard boxes that Rosewill later corrected for me in reply to my email: the light marked SURGE that goes on (and stays on) when surge protection is active is RED, not green as incorrectly printed on the box. --Also note: the light marked GROUND that stays on when grounding is active is GREEN as correctly shown on the box (at least of of this date).
--EXTRA NOTE: virtually all home-consumer surge protectors wear down & out over time...I've read that, in terms of surge protectors, total "Joules" represent a sort of resistance level to power surges, including unnoticed mini-surges, and that this total reduces eventually to zero with each surge (even mini-surges) at which time you need a new unit...periodically check your unit's surge and ground lights to confirm that the unit's protection is still active...I've also read that the protection lights can lose reliability over time as well and that the rule of thumb is to replace units after 2 - 3 years (especially in areas where large or many subtle mini-surges are the norm).
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/22/2016 9:49:59 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Audio / Video Accessories > Rosewill > Rosewill RHSP-13006 Premium 4320 Joules Rotating outlet Power Surge Protector with RJ11 and Coax Protection (Black)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Product!
Pros: Very easy to set up and reset when overloaded.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this to others and purchase another when needed.
Reviewed By:lisa d.,9/21/2016 6:56:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Audio / Video Accessories > Rosewill > Rosewill RHSP-13001 - 360-Joule Surge Protection Electricity Load Meter and Energy Monitor with Controllable On/Off Outlet and Protected LED Indicator

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 For accessories, I always purchase Rosewill Products...
Pros: For a short while, like a gumdrop, provides the satisfaction of power awareness for a brief 24 hours and less than 1KW of electricity logged on the unit. Purchased two, glad I have a backup. I have 6 Rosewill Gold Power Supplies and each has served me well over the years. Also, many external USB drive enclosures that are rock-hard workhorses.
Cons: What a drag... Less than 24 hours later with a 50 watt load, the AFCI circuit breaker tripped the first time in 5 years. Removed the unit, let it "cool down", and the unit still works! The other unit, 12 feet away on a different circuit still pumping away at 190 watts. Maybe it needs more power to stay alive?
Other Thoughts: I would not recommend this Rosewill product to anyone reading these reviews. A throw away after initial readings. I have had gum drops last as long as this "hard-goods product". Sorry, Rosewill, time to change suppliers. If I could give less than one egg, my evaluation would have been lower.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/17/2016 1:20:38 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Audio / Video Accessories > Rosewill > Rosewill RHSP-13001 - 360-Joule Surge Protection Electricity Load Meter and Energy Monitor with Controllable On/Off Outlet and Protected LED Indicator

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Nice Concept but Can't Display Both Energy and Power
Pros: Display can be separated from plug. Very nice.
Cons: If you're accumulating kWh, you can't read instantaneous watts. If you switch to instantaneous watts, it zeros out accumulated kWh. These are the two measurements users will most want to know, and it can only do one at a time. Really dumb design.
Other Thoughts: Display is not great contrast, but it has a fairly good angle of visibility, so it can be wall mounted even though it tilts upward. But the back is not flat so mounting it is tricky. I used double sided foam tape at the bottom of the display and it hasn't fallen off so far.

If there's a power failure, it loses any accumulated kWh.
Reviewed By:Walter B.,9/9/2016 3:32:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Audio / Video Accessories > Cables To Go > C2G 40019 Optical to Coaxial Digital Audio Converter

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Did Not Work
Pros: Simple design.
Cons: Did not work as it was supposed to. It's described as taking an optical input and outputting digital coaxial, but it does nothing. The device is labeled as such, but the instruction booklet included was for the reverse (coaxial to optical). EIther way, seems like shoddy quality control.
Other Thoughts: Cheap enough that it wasn't worth returning it.
Manufacturer Response:Hi Robert,
We are sorry that this item is not what you expected. It should:
• Convert optical digital audio signals to coaxial digital audio signal
• Supports Dolby® Digital® and DTS® audio
Again, I do apologize for any inconvenience this may be causing you and I want to make sure you are taken care of in the most timely manner. That being said, so we as C2G can find out if there was an issue with the manufacturing process and would be happy to trouble shoot if needed. Our tech support can be reached at 800.506.9607
Thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Lisa, C2G

Reviewed By:ROBERT B.,9/5/2016 2:37:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Audio / Video Accessories > Rosewill > Rosewill RHSP-13004 Power Surge Protector - Slim, 12-Outlet, Surge Block, Fireproof, 4320 Joules / 58dB Protection - 2-Port, 2.1A USB Charger, LED Protection Status Indicator

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awsome!
Pros: Love it, many complain about light or too big. This thing is rock solid awsome cable length awsome power button location and just super versatile! Bought 5 wish it comes back in stock. The USB ports are just a sweet bonus.
Cons: Can't think of any
Reviewed By:Anonymous,8/27/2016 9:53:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Audio / Video Accessories > Rosewill > Rosewill RHSP-13001 - 360-Joule Surge Protection Electricity Load Meter and Energy Monitor with Controllable On/Off Outlet and Protected LED Indicator

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good, simple to use product
Pros: Plug and play, shows the watts drawn by electrical devices.
I use it to measure how much power my PC draws.
My PC, Monitor and 5 external hard drives draw 130 watts at peak.

I like how the display is separate from the outlet unit,
Cons: Not much to dislike here, although I only use it to measure power consumption.
I don't use the other features of the product.
Other Thoughts: If I could change something in this product, I would make the green LED's less bright.

Recommended
Reviewed By:Gregory H.,8/25/2016 3:08:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Audio / Video Accessories > Sangean > Sangean ANT-60 Retractable & Rewindable External Antenna

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easy Peasy
Pros: Rewinds easily. Clamp works well to attach to radio antennae
Cons: no problems whatsoever
Other Thoughts: easy to recommend
Reviewed By:Calvin R.,8/21/2016 5:48:42 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Audio / Video Accessories > Rosewill > Rosewill RHSP-13001 - 360-Joule Surge Protection Electricity Load Meter and Energy Monitor with Controllable On/Off Outlet and Protected LED Indicator

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Does what it says
Pros: -Easy to use
-Plug and play
-nice way to verify costs
Cons: -pretty bulky
-light has no on/off switch so the light remains on and is quite bright.
Other Thoughts: -I have not tested this products accuracy with a calibrated meter yet to verify the integrity of it's information it displays.
Reviewed By:Joseph C.,7/28/2016 11:03:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Audio / Video Accessories > Rosewill > Rosewill RHSP-13001 - 360-Joule Surge Protection Electricity Load Meter and Energy Monitor with Controllable On/Off Outlet and Protected LED Indicator

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 It blew up the moment I plugged it in
Pros: - It was cheap
- Had good reviews
Cons: - I didn't like it blowing up in my face
- I didn't like the damage to my APC Smart-UPS 5000 (SUA5000RMT5U)
- I didn't like my power cord being partially welded to the device
Other Thoughts: I purchased this device to see how much power my newly built plex media server was pulling. I'm a Systems Engineer for an MSP, and my home setup is a little more advance than most. This device was to sit between my APC Smart-UPS 5000 and my Plex Media Server (PMS). I powered down my PMS, and unplugged the power cord from the pigtail running to the UPS. I plugged the Rosewill RHSP-13001 into the pigtail. So far, so good. I plugged the powercord from my PMS into the Rosewill RHSP-13001, and get a nice flash of light accompanied by a deafening pop. The surge was so great that it not only tripped the UPS it was plugged into, but the 30A breaker the UPS is connected to as well, bringing down my entire network, servers and all.

All said and done, the power cord for my PMS is toast, as it was partially welded to the Rosewill RHSP-13001, and I lost 1 of 8 power ports on the back of my UPS. So far my PMS seems to be ok, but it's unknown if any damage was done to the PSU of that server.

Here's a picture of the product after this incident - http://i.imgur.com/6KTc7S0.jpg

Although I certainly will not recommend this product to anyone I know, it does have many more positive reviews than negative reviews. This incident has made me question whether the discounted price of Rosewill products is worth the risk in quality. I intend to contact Rosewill in regards to this incident. At this time, I would say that the way they handle the situation will determine whether I will purchase their products again in the future. I will provide an update in regards to their support.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Valued Customer,

We greatly appreciate your purchase. We apologize for any problems this product has caused and for your dissatisfaction with our product.

We strive to provide the best quality and service to you. Please contact our support team for your warranty options. Thank you.

Phone: 1- 800-575-9885
Email: rma@rosewill.com
Email2: techsupport@rosewill.com
Thanks,
Rosewill Customer Care

Reviewed By:James P.,7/19/2016 11:59:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.