Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Set-Top Boxes > Roku > Roku 3 HD 1080p Streaming Digital Media Player

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 This is my email to Roku, they never responded
Pros: I bought a Roku 3. Two weeks after I received the unit it stopped responding to the remote, I figured it just needed to be setup again. I work two jobs and haven’t had the time to watch any TV recently, and by the time I really had a chance to sit down with the unit and discover that it wasn’t working at all it was 2 days after the 30 that the retailer allows for returns. I called Roku support and talked to a girl who was very nice, but wasn’t well suited to support. On top of this, she had received no training from Roku. The call took an hour and 45 minutes, she left the call 8 times to talk to her supervisor. This was an hour and 45 minutes of her fumbling around blind, with her superiors unwilling to believe that the unit was broken, an hour and 45 minutes of my time that I’ll never get back, endlessly rebooting a Roku unit. I think some people might say that it’s a great product, but the support sucks, but that’s not really true. The support is the product. It’s all the product. I think consumers think that corporations are somehow misinformed about how bad their support is, but does that really make sense? That a company could build a great little TV box, with new technology, have QA/QI departments, have whole departments to manage their image, but be uninformed that their support sucks? It seems far more likely that choosing to have bad support is a conscious decision. And if it is, isn’t the purpose of that decision to force customers to get tired of waiting on the phone, repeating idiotic tasks, and simply go away. Or (homerun!) buy another brand new unit? If you had to choose one, does what I experienced sound more like support, or theft?
Cons: Your support team decided that my unit was broken and told me where to send it to be fixed. I asked for a mailing label, and was told that only customers that bought their units directly from Roku were “real enough” customers (not her words) to get mailing labels. Because I bought my Roku from a retailer, I simply didn’t measure up. So I returned my unit during a lunch break and waited. And waited. And I called Roku and they told me they had lost the unit. At first they didn’t know who I was because the email address they had for me, the one I repeated over and over, was wrong. Then they said they hadn’t received my unit, and to check my tracking number. After telling your support person that I didn’t have a tracking number, she told me to find the tracking number. I spoke to her superior, after telling him that I didn’t have a tracking number, he told me to look for the tracking number. I told him (and this is becoming a social experiment for me at this point) three times that I did not have a tracking number, and each time he advised me to look at the tracking number. So I ask you – who do you think lost this package? The mailman or your “support”? My feeling is that working for a company that makes you say things so silly is dehumanizing. Initially I felt angry, but as the conversation progressed I felt sorry for him. Your support supervisor was acting insane to keep his job.
I feel like I’ve been through enough now, I’d like you to be decent. I sent you a Roku 3 that broke only weeks (maybe during the first days – I didn’t have time to turn it on) after I bought it. It doesn’t matter where I bought it, I’m your customer, I bought a couple of Rokus, and if you check your records you’ll see that’s true. If you check your records you’ll see that I’ve spent 2 and a half hours with your support team. I would like you to send me a replacement unit. I’m your customer, I’d like you to treat me like it matters to have customers, and like I matter enough to replace a unit that has so thoroughly been tested as being bad. Will you do the right thing?
Other Thoughts: Don't buy things from companies that don't respect you. Not offering support for a product that is less than 5 weeks old is theft.
Reviewed By:David,9/7/2014 8:37:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Set-Top Boxes > Matricom > Matricom G-Box Midnight MX2 Android 4.2 Jelly Bean Dual Core XBMC Streaming Mini HTPC TV Box Player

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3
Pros: Pretty slick streaming gadget. Remote works nicely. XBMC was easy to set up to work just as it does on a PC. navigating with the remote works nicely and responsively.
Cons: Output quality was not up to my expectations. Looked pretty decent on a 24" monitor, but once I hooked it up to my plasma, the writing was on the wall. It was connected to ethernet so it was not a connection problem.
Other Thoughts: I still find there's no substitute for a real HTPC.
My kids now have this on their smaller TV. I really wanted it to work well.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/3/2014 5:10:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Set-Top Boxes > Matricom > Matricom G-Box Midnight MX2 Android 4.2 Jelly Bean Dual Core XBMC Streaming Mini HTPC TV Box Player

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Excellent for my purposes
Pros: - Versatile platform
- Easy to use
- Pre-loaded software
- Excellent/efficient customer service
- Generous warranty/support
Cons: - Easy to overwork processor during programming
- XBMC software shouldn't be updated for stability purposes
Reviewed By:N/A,9/2/2014 8:47:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Set-Top Boxes > Matricom > Matricom G-Box Midnight MX2 Android 4.2 Jelly Bean Dual Core XBMC Streaming Mini HTPC TV Box Player

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great value for money
Pros: Runs almost all android phone apps (hardware excepting) plus XBMC
Cons: Little on board storage but easily handled by adding an SD card or external drive.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/2/2014 6:57:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Set-Top Boxes > Matricom > Matricom G-Box Midnight MX2 Android 4.2 Jelly Bean Dual Core XBMC Streaming Mini HTPC TV Box Player

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great box
Pros: Does what it says and more. Remote works well without pointing it directly at the box
Cons: a little complicated to use for people who are not electronicly inclined
Other Thoughts: Would recomend it is much better than other andriod boxes I have used
Reviewed By:rich,8/26/2014 6:03:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Set-Top Boxes > Matricom > Matricom G-Box Midnight MX2 Android 4.2 Jelly Bean Dual Core XBMC Streaming Mini HTPC TV Box Player

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Did not live up to basic expectations
Pros: Inexpensive. Will stream standard DVD movies from NAS using XBMC without a problem.
Cons: From the data provided in the marketing information I was led to believe this unit would stream HD video without problem. In fact I found that the unit could not stream 1080P HD without constant freezing and buffering about every 15-20 sec. After much tinkering and exasperation I did a basic internet speed test and found that the maximum speed on a wired network was 10mps which is not enough to stream a 1080P video. My conclusion is that the processor and lan interface is not up to the task. Since my basic requirement could not be met by this unit I returned it to Matricom for refung.
Other Thoughts: I was also not pleased that to use it satisfactorily with NETFLIX or XBMC I would have to purchase another remote to the tune of $30-$50.
Reviewed By:Fifth Green,8/21/2014 12:23:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Set-Top Boxes > Matricom > Matricom G-Box Midnight MX2 Android 4.2 Jelly Bean Dual Core XBMC Streaming Mini HTPC TV Box Player

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Things like this come by every few years
Pros: This is a TV Box that does everything. Surf the net, not just specific sites the manufacturer wants you to visit. This box has the best features of a smartphone and a TV box. It has a learning code but its worth the time to figure it out. I have used another well known brand until now. This one leaves it in the dust. My old one is sitting in the local consignment store as I write this
Cons: The XBMC app is a bit clumsy but its an app that comes with the box. its not the box itself. The documentation is incomplete but extensive documentation is available at matricom.net/wiki. Read the documentation before doing anything rash!
Other Thoughts: Best hot new item I have seen since the smartphone.
Reviewed By:Stretch,8/13/2014 3:18:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Set-Top Boxes > Matricom > Matricom G-Box Midnight MX2 Android 4.2 Jelly Bean Dual Core XBMC Streaming Mini HTPC TV Box Player

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great when you get it up and running
Pros: Price was good for what it can do
Once set up it is very versatile and aesthetically pleasing
Can handle HD 720p fine and some 1080p?
quiet, small, low power consuption
remote is well made considering everything
comes with everything you need
multiple usb ports are great and make it even better
Apps Apps Apps
Runs emulators fairly well!!
Runs with HDhomerun prime very well!
Handled 1080p 10GB MKV file over wifi very well (I think only has 2.4Ghz antenna)
Cons: Wow how annoying to set up (I kept getting) error when trying to run OTA updates
compatibility changes each time you change firmware
remote wouldn't work right until updated
There are faster boxes out there for similar price
sent emails to matricom support a few days ago and haven't heard back yet...though this issue is fixed
Other Thoughts: Purchased this on sale a week ago, shipped very fast from matricom, like literally received in 2 days from Orlando (I live in north east). The firmware was 1.6 and trying to auto update would not work as I got error after error. I tried youtube videos, going to their website and manually trying to update following instructions and NOTHING would work. Finally I tried upgrading to 1.9 (next to latest) and that worked. I auto updated to 1.2 and all is well now. The remote now works great, everything looks fantastic gui wise. I set up a few emulators, retroarch was the first and it works very well. I tried cps2 games like msh and mvssf2 and they ran very well minus the sound crackling (which is common i hear on most boxes). I tried some nes snes and they ran very well, 3d mame game like sfex didn't run well as would be expected. I tried this with an xbox 360 wired controller which worked very well and I could even control xbmc and other apps with it. I tried a cheap $5 ps3 knock off controller and it didn't work at all :( I also tried 32x and genesis which ran GREAT. I tried netflix and that ran well in 480p and some in 720p (Though I think this was bandwidth issue). I tried a few 10GB mkv movies and not one hiccup over wifi upstairs in another room with 3/4 bars. Through powerline ethernet zyxel this had zero problems. I tried this with hdhomerun prime and had no issues other than the initial lag when turning to an hd premium channel (this take about 15 secs). This works well with qnap nas streaming through twonky media. This also works well when streaming from mac running ps3 media server (I ran a few 12GB mkv). Google play store also ran everything admirably. The remote has good range and you only have to aim in the general area to get a signal. I have an apple TV and this is far more versatile, I wanted to get something that can be an all in one box for upstairs to replace a cable box (HDHOMERUN) and to play some games on here and there that would also watch netflix. This does it all once you get it going and it performs very well in video applications through XBMC, I think it does very well in the emulation department also considering everything. In summary this is a very versatile little box after some heartache, and once you get it going this can be a retrogamers mobile dream, a replacement cable box, or a webbrowsing netflix command center. Good work matricom, keep making hats for the people who want choices.
Reviewed By:lordchristiano,8/11/2014 6:44:23 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Set-Top Boxes > Matricom > Matricom G-Box Midnight MX2 Android 4.2 Jelly Bean Dual Core XBMC Streaming Mini HTPC TV Box Player

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 G-Box
Pros: Compact, easy setup, brilliant colors with 1080p. XBMC is nice. Price for a full function Android device is nice.
Cons: So far, I have been unable to load Fusion. I'd like to be able to run Navi-X and 1 Channel. Matricon's forum does not have any reliable instructions and is at best sketchy.
Other Thoughts: Still a good, inexpensive, way to make an older Samsung flat panel a "smart tv".
Reviewed By:imrobbo,8/10/2014 5:05:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Set-Top Boxes > Matricom > Matricom G-Box Midnight MX2 Android 4.2 Jelly Bean Dual Core XBMC Streaming Mini HTPC TV Box Player

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 no 1080p xbmc support
Pros: runs xbmc
google play
Cons: no 1080p xbmc support, has been promised for a long time now but not released
cheap looking case
flimsy connector ports (usb, hdmi, etc)
dual core cpu, quad cores are out now
1 GB of ram (a lot of new ones have 2 GB)
Other Thoughts: if you want something that is cheap and runs xbmc there are better options
Reviewed By:Kaladin,8/10/2014 12:30:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau