Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • | Wish List
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Set-Top Boxes > Roku > Roku HD 2500R Digital WiFi Media Streaming Player

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Roku 2500R
Pros: Works Great , Easy Setup Very Low price no problems so far for refurbished unit
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,4/15/2014 2:37:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Set-Top Boxes > Roku > Roku HD 2500R Digital WiFi Media Streaming Player

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DOA
Pros: If it worked it would be nice. Looking forward to netflix on my old bedroom TV.
Cons: The colors Red, and Purple(assuming blue as well) worked fine, but everything else was a static mess. I did finish the setup so that I could update the unit- hoping that would solve the video issue, but to no avail. I tried on 2 different tvs using the provided rca cables, as well as a different set thinking it may only be a cable issue. I also tried resetting the unit.
Other Thoughts: Since this was bought through the newegg marketplace, I now get to deal directly through roku instead of the seller (dealfisher)... not really looking forward to it but thats what I get for having faith in a refurbished streaming unit.
Reviewed By:Mike,4/2/2014 4:03:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Set-Top Boxes > Roku > Roku HD 2500R Digital WiFi Media Streaming Player

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Refurbish Roku
Pros: No surprises for the product. This is my first streaming TV/video device and didn't want to throw a lot of $$ into it. It was worth the discounted price for me to connect it to my router and my TV. Both easily & successfully done. Product came with RCA cables but also accepts and HDMI cable (sold separately). Picture is actually pretty good.
Cons: No cons at the end of one session.
Other Thoughts: Unhappy with Roku.

~~ I was required to create a Roku account to use the device. Next, I was required to give up a credit card number to create my account. This was "just in case" I wanted to purchase something.

My concerns: [1] I might accidentally click on something that starts the purchase process Most of the channels appear to have a paid option. [2] my Roku account may get hacked - but I don't know what damage the hacker could do with access to my account [3] Roku itself might get hacked and my credit card data will get spilled to the Internet (think Target) even though I have made NO purchases thru Roku.. ~~~ I was really Really REALLY unhappy about this. ~~~~~
Reviewed By:N/A,3/25/2014 4:24:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Set-Top Boxes > Roku > Roku 3 HD 1080p Streaming Digital Media Player

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Product, cheaper elsewhere
Pros: Wonderful product, love the Plex app.
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: Why would you pay $106 here when you can go to a physical store and get it for $99 if you need it now, or even cheaper through other online sources
Reviewed By:N/A,2/12/2014 6:20:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Set-Top Boxes > Roku > Roku 3 HD 1080p Streaming Digital Media Player

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Best Thing We Ever Did
Pros: *Consolidates all streaming apps in one place.
*Allows you to arrange the apps in order of most importance
*Uses Shutterfly to display pictures as a screen saver
*Cool Remote with headphone availability to watch your shows without disturbing others
*Small inconspicuous design
*Streams with hardly any issues
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: My husband and I decided to ditch the satellite bill for channels and shows we never watched. We used to stream using our computers or the PS3. That was always cumbersome in hooking up HDMI cables and sometimes the streaming was iffy. With the Roku, everything has been perfectly easy and smooth. We love it!
Reviewed By:Neener,1/31/2014 3:27:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Set-Top Boxes > Roku > Roku 3 HD 1080p Streaming Digital Media Player

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 better than i was hoping
Pros: bought this to stream content from my pc to a tv about 20 feet away using plex. im really pleased. plex is awesome, all my movies and tv can be streamed in 720p. the remote is nice. huge selection of roku channels. and the box is pretty quick and responive.
Cons: 720p only. ive tried 1080p, and it looks worse. and i have a pretty sweet pc, it could definitely handle on-the-fly transcoding. and its a wired gigabit connection to the router. not too big of a deal, 95% of my vid library is 720p anyway. also plex+roku is 2-channel stereo. also not a big deal for my setup right now. all of these cons may disappear with firmware updates(?).
Other Thoughts: one thing to note, with plex+roku, you have to remux, rename, and re-organize your library, so it all sycs up right, none of which ive found difficult or too tedious to be worth it. with xmedia recode(free,amazing), i can remux a .mkv movie in about 1-2min(using 'copy' instead of 'convert' in the video tab). and a season of 26 hr.-long episodes of 720p tv takes about 40-60min. dont expect the ultimate home theater experience, but if you just want to stream your vids to a seperate tv, im finding this works very well.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/23/2014 8:24:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Set-Top Boxes > MAGNAVOX > Magnavox Wi-Fi HD Media Player, Netflix, Vudu & More - TB600MG2F

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Good deal for the asking price.
Pros: Easy setup. Simple operation, for the most part (see Cons).
Cons: Sluggish remote response. Pressing the return (i.e., Back) button in some apps (e.g., Netflix) will dump you out to the main app menu, rather than the previous menu.
Other Thoughts: Can't really complain for the price. It does what it says on the tin and cost me a heck of a lot less than other options for streaming Netflix or Hulu Plus.
Reviewed By:jdrakeh,1/11/2014 11:37:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Set-Top Boxes > Roku > Roku 3 HD 1080p Streaming Digital Media Player

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 pretty cool
Pros: streams all my video from computer to other tvs via plex app. lots of sweet free channels, plus all your favorites
Cons: 720p only, rgb color range. some slight recoding for some files to stream well.
Other Thoughts: it says 1080p is possible, not with my setup. and i have tried. i mainly bought this to stream vid files from my pc to other tvs. most of my files are 720p anyway, so no big deal. however, i have found , for best playback, remuxing files in Xmedia Recode down to aac stereo is best. it only takes about a minute to recode any mkv file, i can do a batch of ten 720ptv episodes in about 10-12 minutes(make sure you hit the 'copy' button instead of the 'encode' button in the video tab). you also might want to re-name the files, the plex site explains it all, but ive found you dont need to rename alot of stuff. 720p looks pretty great considering its a good source file, some might find the color range a little weak, i do. most people wont even notice, good results can be had by readjusting your tvs color settings. hopefully this will be updated in a firmware fix. the remote is sweet.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/5/2014 10:33:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Set-Top Boxes > Roku > Roku 3 HD 1080p Streaming Digital Media Player

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 A Must for Cord Cutters
Pros: Easy to set up and use. Ever increasing selection of channels. Displays very nice high def stream using only 3 to 4 Mbps. Supports 1080p. Very responsive when menu surfing. Allows both wired and wireless network connections.
Cons: This is not a knock on Roku, but getting live sports can be difficult if not impossible for certain sports and leagues (like EPL soccer for example). Some channels and content cannot be purchased directly and are still only available on the upper tiers of a cable subscription.
Other Thoughts: I believe that once the market is saturated with streaming devices like Roku, content creators will be able to bypass cable companies and sell directly to their customers. For now, cable companies still control a lot of the best live content, especially sports. If you don't care about sports, cutting the cable cord is much easier if you have Netflix, Hulu plus, etc. MLB, MLS, and NHL subscriptions are available on Roku, and WatchESPN is available as a free bonus from most ISPs. ESPN makes most of their broadcasts available on WatchESPN on a delayed basis (next day), and I get it free with my Cox Internet subscription.
Don't expect to get everything free with ROKU. Paying for a few services, like live sports or Netflix will give you access to a ton of great content. We still have the lowest cable package (Economy from Cox), so haven't been able to completely cut the cord, but with Roku, and with the HDHomeRun prime (allowed us to get rid of cable boxes and DVRs), we have cut our cable bill down from about $120/month to $30!
Reviewed By:C_G_K,1/5/2014 8:04:51 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Set-Top Boxes > Apple > Apple TV 3rd Generation (MD199LL/A)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works great
Pros: Very easy to setup, streaming wireless is flawless, am able to watch my movie collections and photos with no issues. Has good variety of content. Wife loves that she is able to queue what to play when kids are using it. She loves it so much we purchased another one for kids playroom.
Cons: None at the moment
Other Thoughts: Hopefully in time i can replace my cable boxes and cut down on cable bill once family gets accustomed to using and watching media through the Apple Tvs
Reviewed By:N/A,12/21/2013 10:11:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau