Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Back2School
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Home Theater in a Box > Pioneer > Pioneer HTP-072 5.1 Channel Home Theater Package with 3D AV Receiver, Subwoofer and Satellite Speakers

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 I liked it while it lasted...
Pros: Got this on sale for $200, can still use the satellite speakers (which are nice speakers by the way...)
Cons: Lasted less than a year before it started periodically flickering the HDMI output to the TV, did not matter what I had plugged into it, my laptop, Xbox 360, PS3, Xbox One, or PS4 the same thing happens... the audio stays good but the video goes out and might stay out for anywhere from 5 seconds to a full minute. I tried switching the input ports I was using, new HDMI cables, restarting the system, etc... Also having to do all the system settings through the AV was kind of dumb IMO.
Other Thoughts: My new Yamaha RX-V577 7.2 system will use these satellite speakers nicely with some larger shelf speakers for the front two, and the sub will be useless to me as my new receiver (like most) require an active sub so I will have to purchase one or two active subs for the system. Overall almost a year of flawless use and a few extra months of occasional frustration with a set of speakers that should last a long time I am not too upset about it since I only payed $200, I would be extremely upset if I payed full price for this thing.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/27/2015 3:39:08 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Theater in a Box > SAMSUNG > Samsung HT-E6500W 5.1-Channel Wireless 3D Smart Blu-ray Home Theater System w/ Vacuum Tube Amplifier Technology

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great Sound. Good Software. 1 issue
Pros: This system has really good sound quality. I don't think you'll find anything better unless you drop a lot more money on a system. The Software is good too. Some of the controls sound controls could be laid out more clearly, but the BR player controls are just fine. I haven't attempted to connect it to the internet.
Cons: It's been developing an issue where the audio levels will drop all on there own. It seems to be an issue with the control directly on the unit (not the remote). I'm not sure what is causing it but it's annoying.

Also, my unit was damaged when I received it. The damage seemed minor enough except that the ups plug-in in the front isn't usable. I'm wondering if the damage is causing the sound level issue. I probably could have returned it but I've had a string of bad luck and have had to return a few hardware items in the past 2 months and didn't feel like going through the process again (the other items were not from newegg.. that's what I get I guess)
Other Thoughts: The Rear speakers have a wireless unit which they plug into making it easier to run the speaker cables, but you'll need an additional power outlet behind your seating area; which I can't imagine would be an issue for most people.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/20/2015 5:41:53 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Theater in a Box > Pioneer > Pioneer HTP-072 5.1 Channel Home Theater Package with 3D AV Receiver, Subwoofer and Satellite Speakers

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 It's now a brick
Pros: Worked great for 13 months.
Cons: HDMI output went out, rendering unit completely useless.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/2/2015 7:10:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Theater in a Box > RCA > RCA 5.1 CH Home Theater System with Blu-ray Player and Netflix And Vudu- RTB10223

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Refurbished: RCA 5.1 CH Home Theater System with Blu-ray Player and Netflix And Vudu- RTB10223
Pros: Cheap and works as its intended
Cons: Other than not having wireless capabilities I see none. It said wireless in the description, but you need additional equipment in order to do wireless.
Other Thoughts: Wish it had wireless capabilities without having to get additional equipment. If a internet line is not an issue then no worries in this unit. Has worked well for me so far and the sound from it is perfectly fine for a small living room or family room. Didn't expect anything super sounding of course especially with the price.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/28/2015 1:06:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Theater in a Box > Onkyo > Onkyo HT-S3700 5.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver System

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great for the price
Pros: Yes, I gave it a five. Great sound and lots of features packed into a budget price. I especially like the Bluetooth connectivity (up to 10 devices!). Ample inputs for a tech junkies gadgets, as well. Keep in mind that I've only had it for about a month, but so far it's been a great investment. Even has a second zone.
Cons: So far, none.
Other Thoughts: It comes with speaker wires, but they're probably better used for hanging pictures :-)
I never gave it any cons because, this is a budget system, it's probably not going to shatter windows or vibrate things off the shelves, if that's what you're looking for.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/14/2015 12:20:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Theater in a Box > RCA > RCA RT2390 500W Home Theater System

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 worked for ten years
Pros: Was cheap, worked very well.
Cons: eventually died
Other Thoughts: Bought from another location ten years ago now and only recently died, like today (6/15). I've never had a problem with the system until today. Doesn't boot right and crashes after sound tries to pass through i,. probably overheated with all the dust after all these years. Was a very dependable system. If you can find one for sale that works and your short on cash, you will not be disappointed.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/1/2015 9:01:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Theater in a Box > Bose > Bose® ACOUSTIMASS 6 V BLK 120V US (720960-1100) Acoustimass 6 speaker system

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great setup
Pros: Very Big Bang for the size! I made the mistake of cranking a seen from Star Wars right after listening to some music. At 60/100 sound on my receiver it was almost too much. Even though it was too loud the sound quality was still amazing. My wife was worried I was going to fill the room with obnoxious sized speakers. After seeing the size and hearing the sound she was very happy. Very pleased with this set!!
Cons: Not really a big deal but you need to give the sub a few days to fully "warm up". Being set loud on the first day there was a little buzzing and a under whelming bass level. On the third day the sub was dropping lows and vibrating my chest.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/1/2015 8:43:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Theater in a Box > Onkyo > Onkyo HT-S3700 5.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver System

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: It has enough connectors for most things you need and the sound quality is amazing.
Cons: If you plan to have everything thru component and composite to HDMI prepare to be disappointed. It will require a TV with actual component and composite video connectors. Pretty useless since you will need double the amount of connectors.
Reviewed By:VCGGBPS2,5/20/2015 10:11:07 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Theater in a Box > Sony > SONY BDVE2100 Home Theater System 3D Blu-ray

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great product.
Pros: Very loud.
Crisp sound.
Can stream from your home network via Plex on your PC (and the streaming quality is excellent, full 1080p) plus a plethora of other online services. Nflix, Amzn, Ytube, etc...
Looks great on a black glass entertainment center.
Cons: Front face plate is cracked on the upper left hand corner.
Other Thoughts: Great system. Exactly what I thought it would be, the crack doesn't bother me because I bought it refurbished and you can't tell unless you get close to it.
Reviewed By:nn04,5/17/2015 8:17:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Theater in a Box > Onkyo > ONKYO HT-S7700 Network A/V Receiver/Speaker Package

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Performance for the budget conscious
Pros: There are options out there like soundbars, soundbars with subwoofers, home theater in a box (which this is technically) and high end surround systems where the choices are endless and the sky is the limit for price. This system gives you surround sound that sounds pretty good and a receiver to connect all your things for a fraction of trying to get everything separately.

the sound is good, and the front channel speakers also have a vertical reflective speaker to give you a discreet audio channel for Dolby Atmos enabled movies. when something isn't mixed in Atmos it replicates it as well as it can, albeit not quite as well.

The setup was pretty easy and the subwoofer has a volume control, like most do, right on its back so you can control it. It's pretty deep and give those action movies a good punch.

it has Bluetooth so you can listen to your music from any Bluetooth device.
Cons: The speakers are a bit limited and really can't compete with brands like Polk audio or Klipsch, but at this price point you can't expect them to.

Each speaker is also limited to the length they provide, one end is permanently attached to the speaker, so you can't mount the rears to the back wall of your room unless that room is on the smaller side. Then you have the wires that are running from behind the couch somewhere to the front and you'll need a rug to cover those so you don't trip and break something, and also just to clean up the look.

The reflective front speakers work best with a normal ceiling, if your ceiling is vaulted or higher than ten feet this system may not give you the best results.
Reviewed By:Shinobi Jim,4/16/2015 9:00:48 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.