Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Home Theater in a Box > LG Electronics > LG BH6730S 3D Smart Home Theater System

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not happy with product, will likely avoid LG in the future
Pros: Umm... It works... sometimes?
Cons: Very limited and not updated net apps. Isn't working very consistently. We have to cut the power occasionally due to lock ups.
Other Thoughts: I wouldn't recommend this for anyone. Will definitely do more research next time instead of just jumping on a random Black Friday deal.
Reviewed By:Chris C.,4/11/2016 4:16:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Home Theater in a Box > Pioneer > Pioneer HTP-072 5.1 Channel Home Theater Package with 3D AV Receiver, Subwoofer and Satellite Speakers

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Piece of junk
Pros: none
Cons: 2 channels went out after a few months of use.
Reviewed By:Stanley T.,4/6/2016 2:31:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Home Theater in a Box > SAMSUNG > Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great sound system for the price
Pros: Solid bass, clean highs, easy to use remote. Samsung speaker connections use same connectors as older units so speaker replacement and rerunning of wiring is unnecessary when replacing an older unit.
Cons: Dvd player uses rubber drive belts and is prone to failure after a couple of years.
Other Thoughts: This purchase was to replace an older unit that failed. Older unit was servicing an coastal outdoor Tiki bar which provided good protection from the weather for the unit, but still exposed it to high levels of humidity and very light salt mist (imperceptible) which required a mile cleaning weekly. Product still lasted over 8 years. I also just purchased another unit to use in a new indoor theater in a new man cave.
Reviewed By:Harold D.,3/27/2016 6:19:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Home Theater in a Box > SAMSUNG > 5.1 Ch Bluray Home Theatre System

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 My First Home Theatre System
Pros: System came complete, everything was easy to hook up and assembly. Did have to splice in speaker wire extensions to mount the speakers but as I have all the tools and speaker wire easy to find no problem. I went with wall mounts which I picked up from another source, speakers were very light so no weight issues.
Once hooked up played several Blu-ray movies and found the picture and sound quality excellent.
Cons: As my home has a shallow roof pitch was not able to run the speaker wires down from the ceiling. So had additional cost procuring wire conduit and mounting clamps and speaker mounts.
So next time I will look into buying another or replacement home theatre system will look at wireless type for the speakers.
Other Thoughts: I am running a Samsung 50 inch smart TV with this 5.1 Samsung Home Theatre System, very pleased with picture quality and now sound quality. As this is my first Home Theatre Sound system very pleased with the improved sound, did not realize what I had been missing.
So no complaints about the extra effort to install the system it was worth it.
Reviewed By:James C.,3/15/2016 3:00:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Home Theater in a Box > Yamaha > Yamaha YHT-4920BL Home Theater in a Box System, Bluetooth

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great product
Pros: Have it all in one
Cons: Low bass
Reviewed By:Anonymous,3/14/2016 12:39:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Home Theater in a Box > Onkyo > ONKYO HT-S3500 5.1-Channel Home Theater System

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Seemed fine but suddenly stopped working after warranty expired
Pros: -sound is great. great features. Works well when its not defective
Cons: Common issue with all similar Onkyo units (due to shoddy HDMI chip apparently) is that sound will suddenly stop working after 6 months to 4 years. Randomly Mine took 4 years (happened intermittently before then) so now its out of warranty.
Other Thoughts: Great as long as you get it for $300 or less and realize that you will be replacing the entire unit within 2 to 4 years,
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/26/2016 8:48:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Home Theater in a Box > PYLE AUDIO > PylePro - 400 Watts 5.1 Channel HDMI Home Theater System With Bluetooth Audio Playback, AM/FM Tuner

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Disappointed
Pros: Unit arrived quickly
Easy set up
Cons: Particular unit we received did not work properly, RMA in process for replacement
Very limited product documentation--full page on putting batteries in the remote, but only a diagram to explain wiring
Insufficient speaker wire included


Other Thoughts: I'm hoping the replacement we receive is fully functional and I'm able to update this review with a 4 egg rating.
Reviewed By:Christina C.,2/21/2016 8:45:21 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Home Theater in a Box > Onkyo > ONKYO HT-S7700 Network A/V Receiver/Speaker Package

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 We'll see
Pros: Beautiful sound. Easy to set up. I am old school electronics and this system has the weight and look of quality that I grew up with. Sound is great and relatively easy to set up. Plenty of HDMI hookups, all with shortcut buttons on the remote so you needn't scroll through a menu to change devices. All in all well worth the money.
Cons: Yep...had to be one. The sub woofer was DOA. I plugged it in, did the auto calibration and nothing. Sub was silent. The blue light was on indicating that it was receiving low frequency signals from the receiver, but could get no sound from it. After fooling with the settings and such for a day I finally remembered that I had an old Sony sub from my original home theater system which was powered as well and had an RCA jack hookup. I plugged that baby in and voila...wonderful, beautiful sub. LOL,

After checking the internet, what little I could find about Onkyo was as follows: No sound from sub, sub blown, sub smoking, sub doa, some even after being replaced by Onkyo were DOA multiple times. I think Onkyo has a sub problem which is sad considering the obvious quality of the rest of the system. I guess, like just about everything else built overseas nowdays, it is cheaper to replace than to correct the manufacturing. That is too bad for we consumers though. Then again, when I was young a system like this would have cost +$5,000.
Other Thoughts: I haven't contacted Onkyo or Newegg about the problem as it is the weekend, but with the 3 year warranty I purchased from New Egg I don't foresee a problem getting the sub replaced. Since I have one to use temporarily it doesn't sting so badly, but it may be an issue you may want to consider before buying this or any other Onkyo system with a sub. Would I purchase this system again knowing what I do now? Absolutely. I mean, with a major component DOA I DID still give it a 4 star...
Reviewed By:Jeffrey W.,2/20/2016 12:26:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Home Theater in a Box > Sony > Sony BDV-E3100 3D Blu-ray Home Theater with Wi-Fi

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 It works good, interfaces with my Sony TV
Pros: Works as advertised (more or less).
Cons: kicks out at high volumes or with some movies with HEAVY low base sound.
A kick out requires a full shut down and re-boot TWICE.
One would think the engineers at Sony would have had a simple auto reset
like all older amplifiers. This is a STUPID error especially since most new movies
have a massive low frequency sound overlay (even Sony movies).
Other Thoughts: Works good as long as you don't push it.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/18/2016 3:41:12 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Home Theater in a Box > Onkyo > Onkyo HT-S3700 5.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver System

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1
Pros: Sound is good, many hdmi ports, quick set-up
Cons: Items missing from box, remote that works sometimes (replaced batteries), one hdmi port inop (used a known working hdmi to test each port), non-existent onkyo customer support. Has not returned calls or emails once, has trouble connecting via bluetooth (need to make multiple attempts with android and ios devces). Not sure what happened to onkyo, used to be a quality brand.

Update: 4 months of use and the center channel quit. Changed out speaker wires and used different speakers, still nothing. Will have to take in for repair.

Zero Stars
Other Thoughts: I agree with previous post about the remote, it really doesn't need to have so many buttons, lights would be good, as the print on the remote is tiny. Advanced manual is not available online.
Reviewed By:John V.,1/23/2016 4:42:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.