Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Home Theater Projectors > Acer America > Acer H5380BD 720p HD Ready, 3000 Lumens, HDMI/MHL Port, 2W Speaker, 3D Ready, DLP Home Theater Projector

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Bang for the buck.
Pros: Picture.
Price..
MHL HDMI is pretty cool
Cons: Fan noise *may* be a distraction for some. The projector can struggle on some dark scenes. More inputs would be appreciated.
Other Thoughts: I got the okay to buy this in the Spring from my wife to have outdoor movie nights for the neighborhood. Worked great. I thought while I have it I may as well mount if in the play room where the kids used an old 42" panny plasma.

Now they have 104" of gaming and movie goodness. As I mentioned in the cons, it struggles with darker scenes and the fan may bother some. It doesn't me, with half decent speakers it's going to drown that out.

I am not going to dock any eggs for the cons I suggested because this is an entry level home theater projector. To have improvements in these areas there are more expensive units that are available.

The MHL input is a nice touch. I can hook my Galaxy s4 up to it and have it mirror my phone. Very cool.

Wish it had an optical out so I could send the sound back to the receiver.

Great projector for the price, which for me was $399
Reviewed By:Aaron W.,9/27/2016 2:24:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Home Theater Projectors > BenQ > BenQ MH530 Full HD 1920 x 1080 3D Home Entertainment 3200 Colorific Lumens Projector HDMI 1.4a Built In Speaker

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Good Product with some a couple of flaws...
Pros: - its light and small enough
- quite Bright (but only when using Brilliant Color ON)
- When it is used on native resolution or even on lower resolution like 900p looks really nice
- Good Black.
- 3D stereoscopic is ok, Sharpness would improve it.......but it is not available the Sharpness slider
Cons: There is two major things that I consider big flaws for me:
- It take me a lot of work to calibrate the color properly, When the Brilliant Color is Off, the colors are very accurate but the image lost a lot of brightness,it doesnt looks good. Once the Brilliant COlor is turned ON you can get a very bright image, but the colors are quite inaccurate by default, specially yellow and green, anyway after working 4 nights I found a way to get colors more balanced. My old LG Dlp proyector when I bought it 5 years ago it arrived with the colors calibrated out of the box.
- The worst dissapointment is the fact that this Projector has LOCKED the option in the menu for adjust SHARPNESS if you are using HDMI or VGA conection, I really dont understand why Benq decide to Lock this option (only available if you are using a component conection), all the MH series (MH530, MH680,Mh 740,etc) has the same "problem". SHARPNESS is very useful for increase the detail and depth of the picture quality . I know this due my old LG projector has Sharpness avaialble and it delivers a "crispier" and more detailed image comparing with my new Benq MH530 at 1080p. I contact Benq costumer service asking for a way to activate sharpness slider in the menu, they were very kind but the answer was "It is not possible".
Im sure that if Sharpness would be avaialble (HDMI) in the MH530 the picture quality would become really amazing, right now the picture quality is good........ maybe a firmware update can fix this in the future, lets see if Benq can realize the need to have this option available.
Other Thoughts: - newegg as always delivered very quick, it has a great service
- Benq have a quick and good customer service
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/14/2016 10:44:29 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Home Theater Projectors > Acer America > Acer H6510BD Full HD 1920x1080, 3000 Lumens, 2x HDMI Ports, 2W Speaker, 3D Ready, DLP Home Theater Projector

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Stay away from ACER
Pros: Cheap, worked fine for a little while.. then BAM. I bought this a little over a year ago, just barely made it past the 1 year warranty -- of course.

Do yourself a favor and buy from a reputable company. ACER is junk.
Cons: So the projector worked, but the bulb blew out at around 3k hours while on the 'eco' mode... Interesting because it should have lasted up to 7k hours. So whatever, I decided to buy another bulb... except NOBODY sells them. I went to the ACER website, where they list the bulbs, but do not sell them anymore. So I called customer service and asked where to buy a new OEM bulb, they gave me a few numbers to call, I did. The companies I called did not have an online database, and I was told they would call me back in a day or so... they never called back. In fact I called them back the next day and they were essentially mad at me, like super angry that I had called back. So I called ACER back, and was recommended to buy a cheap knock off bulb from elsewhere on the internet... Interesting because on ACER's website and other projector websites they literally say to only buy OEM bulbs or you might risk a projector failure or even a fire.

So ACER is still selling these projectors brand new, same with Newegg here, but nobody is selling the bulbs anymore. That's what you are getting into if you buy this projector. That and ACER has inexperienced workers from the Dominican Republic managing their customer service, they have -no idea- what they're talking about or what is written on their own website.
Other Thoughts: Hmm - HECK NO
Reviewed By:Derek N.,9/9/2016 1:05:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Home Theater Projectors > BenQ > BenQ MH530 Full HD 1920 x 1080 3D Home Entertainment 3200 Colorific Lumens Projector HDMI 1.4a Built In Speaker

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent multiuse projector
Pros: Love it. Easy set-up. I use it mostly for movies in the living room. Looks pretty good even with "too much" ambient room light. Dim the room a bit and it looks very good. Certainly not the best home movie projector out there, but outstanding bang for the bucks.
Cons: Not an issue for me, but my video card software reports that the MH530 is not HDCP compliant. I didn't see that in the specs and I don't use any HDCP source material, but others might want to know this.
Reviewed By:Richard B.,8/31/2016 10:03:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Home Theater Projectors > BenQ > BenQ HT2050 Full HD 1920 x 1080, 2200 ANSI Lumens, Dual HDMI / MHL inputs, Lens Shift, 6x RGBRGB Color wheel, Optional Wireless HDMI Connectivity, 10W Speakers, 3D Ready, Whisper Quiet operation, DLP

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Some Flaws of the W1070 fixed
Pros: Nice projector/fast shipping
Cons: Last model died before the first bulb was used up.
Other Thoughts: I had to get a new projector mount also. -2 stars because of prior unit! Will update about this model later if permitted.
Reviewed By:Doyle S.,8/15/2016 6:43:29 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Home Theater Projectors > BenQ > BenQ W1070 1920x1080 FHD 2000 ANSI Lumens, 16:9 Aspect Ratio, Dual HDMI Input, Smart Eco Tech, Built In 10W Speakers, Home Entertainment 3D Ready DLP Projector

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Company Stood behind it 1 year later!
Pros: Great image- 1080p- looks great in my home theater.
Developed "snowflaking" issue (pixels stuck white) one year after use, called BenQ expecting to get out of warranty speech. To my surprise they told me the DLP chip had a 5 year warranty, and would ship and repair it on their dime. About a week later it was back in my hands- good as new.
Cons: Minor fan noise-
Reviewed By:Nathan Z.,8/14/2016 5:09:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Home Theater Projectors > BenQ > BenQ MH530 Full HD 1920 x 1080 3D Home Entertainment 3200 Colorific Lumens Projector HDMI 1.4a Built In Speaker

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 good quality product
Pros: 3200 lumens
Full 1080p (1920 x 1080 native resolution)
HDMI, VGA, S-Video, Composite inputs
Mini USB-B input (for remote control mouse functionality)
3D functionality
Eco friendly (SmartEco Mode, LampSave Mode and screen "sleep" mode)

Setup was as easy as plug in and turn on. The projector provides a nice, bright and vivid picture. It has all the typical features such as keystone, mounting positions, as well as high altitude mode, 3D functionality, and Teaching Template. The Teaching template displays 3 different templates on the screen: Letter Formatting (like grade school writing paper), Worksheet (evenly spaced horizontal lines), or Coordinate Chart (4 quadrants for drawing coordinates). You can use the templates in either Whiteboard or Blackboard mode. There are 4 different Lamp Modes: normal, Economic, SmartEco, and LampSave. SmartEco automatically adjusts the brightness and contrast to minimize the amount of light needed, while LampSave automatically adjusts the brightness to save lamp life. In LampSave mode, it is noticeably darker than SmartEco mode. The Eco Blank feature allows you to turn the screen off temporarily without having to turn the projector off. Eco Blank automatically turns on after 3 minutes when there is no source detected. It has composite (RCA connector) and S-Video inputs. Not too many projectors have either anymore, which is very useful when you have older equipment. There's a mini USB jack that allows you to connect a remote control mouse for easy navigation on a powerpoint presentation, for instance. When the projector is done cooling down, it beeps twice to let you know that it's ready to be unplugged.
Cons: The back legs are not adjustable. There is also no side keystone, which lets you keystone sideways.
Other Thoughts: At 10 feet away, the screen size was about 6 feet wide. As with many projectors, speakers aren't always the best quality. If you're using it for home theatre use, you can connect it to a receiver. If using it on the go, you can use a pair of good quality portable speakers that uses a 3.5mm (or Mini) jack. If there's only one source, you can plug the speakers into the source directly. Alternatively, you can plug the speakers into the projector (especially if you have more than one source). This 3200 lumen projector is great for home, business, and even school use. I have been using BenQ products for decades, and they never cease to impress. This is definitely being installed as my home theatre projector.
Reviewed By:Carol C.,7/30/2016 7:48:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Home Theater Projectors > ViewSonic > ViewSonic PRO7827HD 1080p RGBRGB Home Entertainment DLP Projector 3D 2200 Lumens,16:9 HD 1080P

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Blew up on the 38th day. Maybe why Newegg only gave a 30 day return policy?
Pros: -Looks great when it works
Cons: -Blew up just past the 30 day return period
Manufacturer Response:Hi Darrin,

We’re sorry to hear that you’re experiencing issues with your projector. What you’ve described is untypical, and our technical team would like to further examine this problem with you. Please note that our projectors are warranted for three (3) years from the date of first consumer purchase for parts and labor and one (1) year limited lamp warranty. Please call us at 800-688-6688, Monday to Friday, 6am – 8pm, PST so we can further assist you.

Thanks,

ViewSonic Customer Service Team

Reviewed By:Darrin S.,7/28/2016 9:17:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Home Theater Projectors > Acer America > Acer H6510BD Full HD 1920x1080, 3000 Lumens, 2x HDMI Ports, 2W Speaker, 3D Ready, DLP Home Theater Projector

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 It's "okay"
Pros: Crystal clear picture, doesn't take up much space.
Cons: Thought everything was great, set it up, loaded up a video game ...... had no problems, then watched a movie and my eyes began to hurt like someone punched me in the face - felt naucious.

Rainbows and sharp images gave me a headache after watching for longer than an hour.
Even after dimming the image, reducing brightness, and setting a smaller screen.

I am selling it on a commonly known website - only having used it for 4 hours - since this item is non-refundable on newegg (I am willing to take a loss for it)
I should have stuck with LCD

The boxing was filthy and smudged as well.
Other Thoughts: Word of advice, if you have sensitive eyes......avoid this projector. I was able to get rid of the rainbows somewhat by the tricks listed above in the cons....however when the room was pitch black, and an image was pure white next to pure black (like agent smith's suit in the matrix) - it would rainbow like crazy.
Reviewed By:Nicholas W.,7/23/2016 1:35:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Home Theater Projectors > BenQ > BenQ HT2050 Full HD 1920 x 1080, 2200 ANSI Lumens, Dual HDMI / MHL inputs, Lens Shift, 6x RGBRGB Color wheel, Optional Wireless HDMI Connectivity, 10W Speakers, 3D Ready, Whisper Quiet operation, DLP

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Best AV investment I ever made...
Pros: Huge picture with great brightness and color and detail. I built my own screen with blackout curtain lining.
Cons: None so far. Only had it for about a week.
Reviewed By:William I.,6/27/2016 6:54:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.