Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > VoIP > ooma > Ooma OOMATELO2 Free VoIP Home Service (Telo 2)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Horrible customer service
Pros: Cutting the cost if changing service from phone companies.
Cons: Horrible customer service which does not care to resolve the issue and themselves causing more problem. Use Google Voice instead and don't pay monthly charges and avoid horrible customer service which is a waste of time.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/17/2015 9:38:14 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > VoIP > netTALK > netTALK DUO VOIP Telephone free USA and Canada Calling

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Worked for a few days
Pros: worked for a few days
Cons: stopped working after a few days
Other Thoughts: Got this for a friend, He's got cable internet, but he's next to an airport so cell phones are generally useless there. For a few days the service worked, but then it just stopped. thing fried. Tech support was unhelpful. maybe someone else might have better luck, but it was generally unimpressive.
Reviewed By:NateKnowsIT,4/16/2015 7:14:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > VoIP > Obihai Technology, Inc. > Obihai OBi200 VoIP Telephone Adapter with Google Voice & SIP

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Amazing!
Pros: If you want to save $$$ every month by dropping your home phone line, this is a perfect solution. Google voice is rock solid and it's FREE!!! I couldn't be happier with the service and the adapter. The line is crystal clear - it's as if you are on a lan line. No joke!
Cons: Setup with Obihai is simple and flawless, but the setup on Google's end can be a bit of a pain. It took me about an hour to get it to receive calls - I had to do some research on the web to figure it out, but once you do, you're good-to-go.
Other Thoughts: You have to have Google chat enabled on your account & actually make an outbound call from your computer using hangouts (or you can download the hangouts app for your phone and make a call that way) in order to receive calls on your phone. Like I said, it was a pain in the behind to figure all that out before I could receive calls.
Reviewed By:SC,4/14/2015 8:33:28 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > VoIP > Obihai Technology, Inc. > Obihai OBi200 VoIP Telephone Adapter with Google Voice & SIP

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 This thing is awesome.
Pros: VOIP that is indistinguishable from a traditional land line for free.
Cons: Unable to make 911 calls.
Other Thoughts: I used to own an Ooma, but it would occasionally produce choppy sound that someone on the other end of line would describe as a "computer voice". The Obihai call clarity is flawless.
Reviewed By:Rob,4/13/2015 9:24:14 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > VoIP > Obihai Technology, Inc. > Obihai OBi200 VoIP Telephone Adapter with Google Voice & SIP

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Obihai OBi200
Pros: Simple to configure. Clear calling. Transparent to the end user.
Cons: Advanced user interface a little difficult to navigate.
Other Thoughts: I have a 120Mps connection so bandwidth use I can't comment on. Using the quick start booklet that came with the device, I had my regular home phone using a Google voice number I got a little while back in about 5 minutes. Adding to that, the Obihai worked with the international dialing feature of Google voice without a hitch allowing me to call Germany and the UK for only 0.01 cent a minute to a land-line. Free calls to the US and super cheap calls to Europe? What is there not to like.
Reviewed By:Deitus,4/11/2015 8:57:28 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > VoIP > Obihai Technology, Inc. > Obihai OBI100 VoIP Telephone Adapter with Google Voice & SIP

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great Device - But needs tweaking
Pros: I really like this device. Works well, phone quality is very good, free outgoing calls anywhere in North America with google voice, incoming calls require another service + phone number for Canadian Residents.
Some companies offer free services if you carry/port your current number over to them and use their services. I use it all the time and was well worth every penny. Got it for $50 on sale.
Cons: This device works out of the box, but needs tweaking. A lot of info on the web for minor issues and on the Obihai website. I had to disable SIP ALG on the router, setup QOS on the router and also enable full Duplex 10MB on the deivce which made the biggest difference. All this info was easy to find.
Other Thoughts: Would certainly buy another one.
Reviewed By:mrtalonmn,4/9/2015 11:52:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > VoIP > ooma > Ooma OOMATELO2 Free VoIP Home Service (Telo 2)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 An improvement over the Telo1
Pros: Simple to use, no delays during calls, better processor, reasonably priced.
Cons: No dimmer for the lights!! The Telo1 had a feature to dim the display so it doesn't light up the whole room at night... why not the Telo2?
The registration process can be a pain if you already have an Ooma account, the easiest way to do this without changing any of your settings is to use their support chat feature.
Other Thoughts: We had a Telo1 for 2 years & loved it, but experienced constant delays during calls - when you talked, the other person on the phone did not hear what you just said until a few seconds later. The Telo2's stronger processor seems to fix this problem. Even when I talk to my son in Alaska, conversations come across in "real time'.
Reviewed By:ActonPLP,4/8/2015 1:39:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > VoIP > Obihai Technology, Inc. > Obihai OBi200 VoIP Telephone Adapter with Google Voice & SIP

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works great!
Pros: Does what I need it to do. I have this unit in my kitchen connected through the Wi-Fi dongle. I don't have any echoing, no delay, and the people i talk to say I sound fine.
Cons: Can be a little tricky to set up, especially with the Wi-Fi dongle. (See my Wi-Fi dongle review for more on that)
Other Thoughts: Pays for itself over time when used with Google Voice.
Reviewed By:Jason M.,4/7/2015 3:31:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > VoIP > Obihai Technology, Inc. > Obihai OBi200 VoIP Telephone Adapter with Google Voice & SIP

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works great. Setup not entirely seamless
Pros: Excellent sound quality.

Free calls!
Cons: Troubleshooting a bit lacking.
Other Thoughts: Works great. Setup was simple but it didn't work. Relies on google chat which wasn't enabled on my account. I think it had something to do with porting my number BEFORE requesting a google supplied number. Fix was to go into gmail and make a chat call. That magically added chat as a forward option in my voice setup.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/3/2015 5:01:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > VoIP > Obihai Technology, Inc. > Obihai OBi200 VoIP Telephone Adapter with Google Voice & SIP

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent replacement for my LandLine.
Pros: 1. Easy set up.
2. Crystal clarity sound and no lags
3. Free
4. Highely customizable for advanced users.
5. Works with Google Voice

I am ex-Vonage cutomer for more than 4 years and I bought this as replacement for Vonage and I am delighted that I got rid of Vonage and saving hundred of dollors per year. For sure these VOIP companies do not want to us know these products :-)

Excellent tutorails and vidoes are avaiable to help even novoices. Step by step instruction will giude to to set up, port your number or customize additional services.

I switched to Google Voice (Ported my number from Vonage to Google VOice) and using Google Voice for international calling as well. My was used to calling other countries like 011+ Country code + phone number and she hell bent on a phone service to dial international number in the same way she was doing with Vonage. For me Google Voice is the best bet and when switched, my wife did not even notice the change ( I did the number porting when I am away from home for 3 days). Surpraisingly she started praising the call quality after switching for both local as well international call.
Cons: 1. Need high speed internet connection

I watch online contents ( Netflix, YOutube and other internet based international content) along with high voulme of downloads and running a personal web site from home. At times (mainly when I am having high traffic or having too many downloads) noticed that the voice get sqeeky and this voice handled by increasing the speed of the connection.
Other Thoughts: I should have made the switch at least a year back but as the saying goes "Better Late than NEVER".
Reviewed By:Mahidhar,4/3/2015 8:38:21 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.