Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • | Wish List
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Blu-Ray Players > SAMSUNG > Samsung BD-F7500/Z 3D Wi-Fi Smart 4K Upscaling Blu-Ray Disc Player w/ 7.1 Analog Out

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Worth the Price
Pros: Features
Performance
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: I chose this over other Samsung models because those had top-mounted controls, impractical for stacked components; the front-mounted controls are on a bezel which allows operating from above anyway.

Another selling point is its 4K capability.

I had a chance to compare this with an entry level, other-brand, BD player that I was testing before it went into my motorhome, and the upscaling performance was noteworthy (the other unit doesn't feature it, and with a 720p TV in the coach, it's not needed).

Ethernet connectivity is a big plus, as I've not yet figured how to make the Samsung UN60F8000BFXZA play well hard-wired (wi-fi is fine), and the BD-F7500/Z bridges the gap.

A much-appreciated feature is the "Tools" menu which I've used on occasion to pull up features in a BD that aren't available from its own menu. Notably, it's pulled up captioning and some other hidden configurations.

While priced substantially higher than other units, I think it's worth the difference.
Reviewed By:Rusty,4/15/2014 4:06:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Players > LG Electronics > LG BP135 Blu-ray Disc Player

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: A simple, straightforward blueray player. Very small footprint, minimal features, but plays bluerays and dvds flawlessly. I bought this one refurbished for $35, which cant be beat for what you are getting!
Cons: No battery included with the remote. I took neweggs free shipping offer, which seemed to take the scenic route across America to get here.
Reviewed By:silicawood,4/13/2014 10:15:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Players > LG Electronics > LG BP135 Blu-ray Disc Player

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Great product, Poor shipping
Pros: 5 stars. Works perfectly. Very basic unit. No display.
Cons: 0 stars. Shipped by Pony Express (now called FedEx Smart Post) and took a week and a half to arrive
Reviewed By:Jerry,4/13/2014 9:26:28 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Players > LG Electronics > LG 3D WiFi Built-in Blu-ray Player BD670

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Was Happy
Pros: Lots of features
Cons: Drive died after 30 movies and 2 years of ownership. Not like it was worn out.
Other Thoughts: Don't really know if it's the brand or model, but it was only used for 3d movies. PS3 for all other blu-ray's. I do give LG a 5 star rating for customer support for fixing this product not under warranty by 2 years free of charge. Took me 5 minutes on the phone and 8 days later. Great company to buy from and will do so in the future.
Reviewed By:Bird,4/12/2014 9:12:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Players > SAMSUNG > Samsung BD-F5100/ZA Blu-Ray Disc Player

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Solid little player
Pros: Great little Blu-Ray player, especially for the price! I only needed a BD player, so I can't speak to the other options (ease of networking, Netflix, YouTube, etc.).

So far, I haven't noticed one issue. Discs load really fast, and there have been zero playback problems.
Cons: Can't really think of any. The footprint is very small, but I can't say that that is really a "con." The touch buttons are on the top of the unit; hard to see if it's in an entertainment center/rack.
Reviewed By:Billy Barule,4/11/2014 9:14:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Players > Toshiba > TOSHIBA Blu-ray Player BDX2150

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Exception To The Rule
Pros: I just want to add my experience with this unit that I have had for more than 2 years. I bought it at Best Buy on a Thanksgiving sale for $37 plus tax back in November of 2011. I couldn't believe how cheap it was considering it was made by Toshiba. I then started reading reviews by owners on several websites about how their players and remotes started malfunctioning and was expecting the worst, but so far it still works.

True, I have had the unit freeze a few times, but I have always been able to solve that by unplugging and plugging it back on from the electrical outlet. Contrary to the comments I have read, my remote still works and I have used it to watch many Blu Ray and regular DVD's(including marathon multi season TV series), mostly without a hitch except for the occasional freeze. Ever since I downloaded the software updates from Toshiba, I haven't had any issues with freezing either.

I was a little bit surprised with the need to buy a Toshiba adapter(costing more than what I have paid for the device) to access the wifi capability of this unit in the very beginning, but I had an extra LAN wired outlet near the unit, so I decided to use that instead and plugged it and was able to use the BD live feature after also connecting an extra flash drive to serve as its memory device.

As for the lagging complaints I have heard about when accessing apps like Netflix, etc., I haven't really used those, as I don't subscribe to those services, except for the Pandora audio service and if I need to I can always use my Xbox 360 or my PC to stream those videos. So I can't really comment on those.

Considering what I paid for this Blu Ray player($37) and how pleased I was by the clarity of the videos I have seen in Blu Ray as well as the upconverted DVD's(including TV series marathons), I am quite satisfied with its(both player and remote) performance since I bought it.

Having said all that, considering how many complaints I have read, given a choice, I probably will buy a more expensive unit(with an integrated Wifi capability) to avoid any hassles in the future. I just hope my unit keeps on going for awhile longer, at least until next Thanksgiving.
Cons: The need for a dedicated Toshiba Wifi adapter which cost more than the unit itself was a nonstarter. Occasional freezing which I was alleviate by unplugging and plugging it back on to the electrical outlet. Single HDMI port which I use to connect it to my HDTV. Lack of non digital ports, which I could have used to connect the device to my somewhat antiquated audiovisual receiver and home theater system.
Other Thoughts: I am not sure why newegg is offering this unit for $119 considering its lack of features compared to other units in that price range, but considering how many negative reviews it had from other owners, even I would consider it buying it again if given the chance. Nevertheless, based just on my personal experience with this one unit, I consider it a worthwhile buy for what I paid for it in 2011($37).
Reviewed By:Satisfied Owner,4/8/2014 8:28:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat Low and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Players > Pioneer > Pioneer BDP-150 Network Enabled Blu-Ray 3D Disc Player

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 JUNK
Pros: Matches my other pioneer equipment.
Cons: BluRay support is terrible on this unit. Most of the latest titles will freeze half way through and will not pick up playback after that. Latest firmware only helps it unfreeze but randomly skip 30 second intervals whenever it has difficulty with the disk. Unit 1yr 3mo old, out of warranty, cost $80 to evaluate it's broken before a repair. Terrible product. Switching to Sony, the makers of BluRay.
Other Thoughts: And so ends my life long commitment to Pioneer. They have terrible warranties and terrible products.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/5/2014 9:40:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Players > LG Electronics > LG WiFi Built-in Blu-ray Player BP300

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 A standard Blu-ray player
Pros: It runs Blu-ray discs well. It doesn't have an update monthly. The size is great (about 4 Blu-ray cases, 2 high by two wide).
Cons: Other features are meh. Loading time on Blu-rays is a bit excessive.
Other Thoughts: It's a good entry level Blu-ray player. The meatiest portion, playing discs, is very serviceable. Other features, including the UI, aren't as friendly as they could be.

All of that said, if you're using a DVD player now, this is an excellent replacement. The biggest selling point has to be the price and size.

If you're looking for a new streaming device/Blu-ray player/internet connected device at this price point you will be disappointed (by any offering I've ever seen). If you want 1080p movies from a Blu-ray, you can't go wrong with this player.
Reviewed By:lilhasselhoffer,4/5/2014 1:39:25 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Players > Sony > Sony BDP-S185 Blu-Ray Disc Player

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 LITTLE DYNAMO!
Pros: small form factor
ease of use
multitude of streaming options
Cons: none
Reviewed By:N/A,4/4/2014 3:45:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Players > Sony > Sony BDP-S590 Network Blu-ray Player w/ Built-in Wi-Fi

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Sony BDP-S950
Pros: Great Blu Ray player. Streams Netflix movies with no lag, very clear image watching House of Cards, etc..
I need to only use the buttons on the unit itself for watching autoplay Blu-Rays I burn with Sony Vegas Pro
Cons: slow to boot up from cold? Slow to play a Blu-Ray when you first insert it.
Other Thoughts: why is this selling for so much when original list price was $uno hundred and fiffty ? I bought mine reconditioned from New Egg for half that price.
Reviewed By:skier,4/3/2014 4:00:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau