Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Onboard Camera Systems > Genius > Genius DVR-FHD590 Full HD Vehicle Video Recorder with 128-Degree Wide Angle and G-Sensor

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Dead in 5 minutes
Pros: Don't know of any pros at this time, the camera died before I could test it.
Cons: Only had enough time to set up the camera's time and date, put stuck it to my window with the power plugged in all the time and it mysteriously died within a minute or two with the red light lit solid and never came back to life. Used the reset button multiple times, the screen flashed but nothing else happened. Left it charging throughout my 9 hour drive from Milwaukee to Nashville, no change in camera's status.
Other Thoughts: Really getting sick of the cheap Chinese made stuff that does not last. However tried getting a comparable speced camera that is not made in China and I did not have much luck finding one at any price range. Yes, I could use my Go-Pro but I would like to have a dash-cam that was specifically designed for that purpose (purpose specific functions).
Reviewed By:Cheesehead,3/18/2015 2:26:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Onboard Camera Systems > Bravo View Technology > Bravo View SL-D3008H – 2.7” LCD Rear-view Mirror with 1080P DVR Recording System

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 I like this.
Pros: Something that goes over top of your rearview mirror. So theres no mounting it to your dash. The quality in sunlight is pretty good, at night, not as good. Easy to setup and use. The audio is pretty good but, unless you want to spy on your friends, its pretty useless.
Automatically starts up and records when the car starts.

In the end I believe its worth the 4 eggs and the price I paid for it.
Cons: Probably the most important con, is the video quality is not quite good enough to catch a license plate number unless the lighting at that moment is just right.
The "pretty good" day quality is at its highest quality setting. So if you bought anything less than a 32gb (max supported) card for it, then forget it. Even then, with 32gb a 5min clip(max clip length) is about 1.5gb. so on a long drive it doesn't take long for it to fill up which then it starts to recycle the old files.
Another big con is battery. Im not sure if the battery even works the thing wont work without being plugged in.
The mirror is only a slight distraction while driving, see Other Thoughts.
Other Thoughts: The mirror is a little bit wider than my 2011 Civic's original. It still slides on perfectly but the thing is its a very slight distraction. The on screen LCD is good and all but it could probably be better on the right side of the mirror so it doesn't catch the eye as much.
Keep in mind there is no way to switch the mirror from Day to tinted night setting like regular mirrors.
When viewing the clips on your PC, the file format is for Quicktime. It wouldnt work with WMP or VLC.
Reviewed By:Weird Science,1/22/2015 1:14:07 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Onboard Camera Systems > Cobra Electronics Corporation > Cobra Select CDR 810 HD Dash Cam with 8GB Card

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Basic at best
Pros: Auto records when you start your car.
Records over and over until you need your video.
Comes packed with 8GB card
Easy to install
Comes with everything you need to get started out of the box
Seems to be easy to use with all options.
Cables are long enough for installation.
Cons: -My unit has multiple dead pixels in the sensor. They are pronounced with white unchanged dots sparkled throughout the picture. They are apparent ESPECIALLY when you play back night videos.
-Night recording is not automatic with turning on the IR. It would be nice if the unit sensed you are recording at night. Instead you have to tap the power button to engage night mode.
-You have to have a class10 card or this thing will not work (semi non-con)
-Construction seems cheap
-Camera will do weird unresponsive things but will still record when you start your car.
-Audio is terrible on playback. You can't have a good conversation without the audio playback being overly modulated. Car stereo audio almost completely ruins a video.
-Video playback is blurry at best with motion under it's highest HD settings.
-Good luck trying to distinguish a license plate as it's near impossible to really see a plate through all the blurryness.
(Although I have not tried to turn off the motion compensation)
Other Thoughts: You get what you pay for. You pay peanuts, you get monkeys.
Reviewed By:Psyko-M1,1/5/2015 12:24:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Onboard Camera Systems > Cobra Electronics Corporation > Cobra Select CDR 810 HD Dash Cam with 8GB Card

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Junk Dashcam
Pros: Would have been really nice if it worked right
Cons: Records to dark, Night recaoring is useless, keeps locking during recording even though I didn't push save button and because of this it won't loop record I have to format a lot to get it to record again
Other Thoughts: Can't believe Cobra put their name on this!!!!!
Reviewed By:N/A,11/16/2014 11:37:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Onboard Camera Systems > Cobra Electronics Corporation > Cobra Select CDR 810 HD Dash Cam with 8GB Card

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Failed to Perform
Pros: Small size
comes with everything needed
Cons: Failed to operate properly
Other Thoughts: I ordered the CDR810 at a great price (under $60). However, Cobra was out of stock and I agreed to a substitute of the CDR820. I liked it's compact size and that it fit quite nicely behind the rear view mirror. However, on the first extended trip I made with the 820 dash cam it kept shutting down and giving me random error indicating an issue with the SD card that came with the dash cam. I did contact Cobra for an RMA and they responded quickly to providing the RMA. The device should be received by them on Monday so we'll see how quick they are at providing the refund I requested.
Reviewed By:Ghastly Tech,10/25/2014 8:02:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Onboard Camera Systems > Cobra Electronics Corporation > Cobra Select CDR 810 HD Dash Cam with 8GB Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Dashcam
Pros: Price
Size
Quality
Quality of Suction Cup
Cons: Very infrequent shut downs
Other Thoughts: I bought this based off the positive review from @m@z0n. I was not disappointed. I have seen it shut down on its own however I think it was because the USB was not seated all the way. The Night vision was not bad. Note that in order to use 1080p recording you will have to limit your recording down to 30fps. I have opted for 720p recording at 60fps. I like it. If you want to make out a license plate ahead of you then you will have to be close. This is not a go pro however it does have a small li-ion battery which is nice. Some nicer dashcams dont have this. The feature to automatically turn on when you car is on is awesome. The audio recording is not really needed however it does pick up audio.
Reviewed By:Tony,10/18/2014 12:00:53 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Onboard Camera Systems > Cobra Electronics Corporation > Cobra Select CDR 810 HD Dash Cam with 8GB Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great little dash cam
Pros: Compact unit easy to mount and makes very clear pictures. Like the way it takes a stream of video for about 45 seconds and then start another stream automatically. Shipped and received within 4 days.
Cons: None so far
Reviewed By:N/A,10/8/2014 11:53:29 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Onboard Camera Systems > Rear View Safety > Ford Transit Connect Vehicle Back Up Camera

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Nothing to write home to mom about
Pros: Large color display, extra flexibility to hook up other AV components.
Cons: 56 of these were purchased for my fleet, out of that 56, only twenty are still working. They have only been on the vehicles a little over 1 year. When hooking up other AV components, I am unable to hear sound from them, only the beep from making selections and navigating through the menu.
Reviewed By:robtoledo23,5/6/2014 3:17:39 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Onboard Camera Systems > Inavi > Full HD Thinkware Inavi FXD700 Mach Car Black Box Recorder, Full HD (1080p@30fps), G Sensor, GPS Tracking, 16GB SD Card Included, English Firmware and Manual. #1 selling Car Blackbox in Korea.

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great unit, a few annoyaces
Pros: - Excellent video quality, day and night.
- Camera has very wide viewing angle.
- Nice mounting system.
Cons: - Annoying voice greeting when unit powers on that you cannot disable.
- Takes a long 30 seconds to boot up and start recording, so you wither wait for it or miss the first 20-25 seconds of your journey.
- No display... more of a gripe I guess. Even a tiny 1.5 inch display would be helpful for aiming and to know for sure it is recording.
Other Thoughts: I roginally bought this from another Newegg Marketplace seller. The camera worked great for a few months and then it just died. I contacted the seller and arranged an RMA. They replaced it and the new one is working fine.

I am considering buying another one of these units if this one lasts. I really like the mounting system, I can put it in front of my rear view mirror and not even see it so it doesn't obstruct my view of the road.

I've been very happy with this recorder, I just wish I could turn off the annoying greeting at power up, and it would be nice if it had a small display. Otherwise, as long as this replacement lasts, it will have been an excellent investment.

I would rate this 5 eggs, but the voice greeting is so annoying that is worth an egg alone. Not to mention the fact the unit died after a few months... hopefully that was just a fluke and this replacement will last a long time.
Reviewed By:Michael G.,4/24/2014 8:00:48 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Onboard Camera Systems > PYLE AUDIO > PYLE 3.5" Wireless Monitor & Night Vision Camera System

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 avoid at all costs!
Pros: Absolutely no Pros
Cons: No install instructions. Product is not as represented.
Go for another MFG, NOT Pyle!
Would rate it a zero!
Reviewed By:N/A,4/2/2014 6:05:25 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.