Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Onboard Camera Systems > Falcon Zero > Falcon Zero F170HD+ Full-HD 1080p Dashcam

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great Dash Cam for the price!
Pros: - Outstanding picture clarity (You will never miss a plate number except at night in the rain).
- View angle captures everything you could see out your windshield if you mount the camera properly and adjust the zoom so you are not staring at your hood.
- Included USB adapter has 3 ports at 2.4A each for a total of 36Watts and it is made of metal (Very high quality).
- Includes suction cup, sticky cable supports to help with cable runs, and GPS add on device.
- 32GB Micro SD card has a read speed of 19MBps, and write of 14MBps at 512K blocks.
- Feels very sturdy with a partial metal body (The same feeling you get when you hold an IPAD)
- Has 3X optical zoom adjustable in .1 increments.
Cons: - States that it will start when you start your car as long as you have it plugged into an ACC or key controlled lighter plug. This is true...sometimes. I frequently have to power it on myself due to it just sitting there. I can see the red charging light come on when I start my car but camera stays off. I thought this might just be that it is recording with the screen off but no, it was not recording until I pressed and held the power button. It has a separate red light to indicate it is recording If it is not on it is not recording. The next time I started my car it worked just fine, but it is intermittent as to when it will record on its own.
- Very tight on its support clip which makes it difficult to remove without changing the position of the support so you have to adjust the view every time you remove the camera.
- MicroSD card is difficult to insert and remove without a tool such as a pen or jewelers screwdriver. The card sits flush with the camera and has to be pushed in for the springs to push it out. No indentations to make this easier like on many other devices.
Other Thoughts: I have been recording at 720P to save space and at 702P the camera burns through 283MB per 5 minute clip. This means that the card will completely fill up in 9.5 hours of driving but will start to erase over old files. However there is a catch The camera makes two folders one save folder where it puts video clips not to be written over and a movie folder for clips of little importance. When I checked my camera after 2 days I had 8 clips in the save folder with no discernable reason as to why they were there. The card will hold 113 clips in total but if it for some reason is saving 4 clips a day than in a month the card will be full and have to be manually erased, and I'm not even recording at max resolution.

Night vision is good and can capture plates without issue but add rain to the mix and from what I've seen in the videos your chances of a clear plate number are drastically reduced.

Anyway even with the little hassles it is a great camera especially for the price, but if they want 5 stars than they need to fix the bugs (Maybe with a firmware update). Hope this helps.
Reviewed By:James G.,2/4/2016 6:47:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Onboard Camera Systems > Falcon Zero > Falcon Zero F170HD+ Full-HD 1080p Dashcam

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easy Breezy
Pros: All Good
Cons: For the price. None
Reviewed By:Anthony C.,1/25/2016 7:42:39 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Onboard Camera Systems > Genius > Genius DVR-FHD590 Full HD Vehicle Video Recorder with 128-Degree Wide Angle and G-Sensor

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Mine works fine
Pros: Great wide angle picture. Has been very reliable for many months.
I am very happy with its performance.
Cons: See other
Other Thoughts: Occasionally, I have to reset the date. But, every time I have reviewed the videos they were very smooth. I am using a quality micro SDHC card class 10 = UHS-1
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/20/2016 1:53:27 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Onboard Camera Systems > Genius > Genius DVR-FHD590 Full HD Vehicle Video Recorder with 128-Degree Wide Angle and G-Sensor

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great video quality.
Pros: Very easy to install and use. Works very well. No freezing at all.
Cons: No cons so far.
Other Thoughts: Before using it I downloaded and installed a new firmware from
http://www.geniusnet.com/Genius/wSite/ct?xItem=56564&ctNode=3321
Read carefully instructions how to install a new firmware.
Reviewed By:Aleksey I.,1/18/2016 10:23:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Onboard Camera Systems > Falcon Zero > Falcon Zero F170HD+ Full-HD 1080p Dashcam

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Buggy Product
Pros: The video works
Cons: I've had it for several months now. The video works, but that's about it. The GPS receiver never picked up a signal. The motion sensor turns the display on all the time, which runs the battery down. I can set the time, but after a while it goes back to Jan 1 2000. The controls are hard to see, especially in a moving car.
Other Thoughts: Not Recommended.
Reviewed By:Robert C.,1/18/2016 5:48:29 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Onboard Camera Systems > Falcon Zero > Falcon Zero F170HD+ Full-HD 1080p Dashcam

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good camera with bad accessories
Pros: Video quality is excellent at daylight but hardly acceptable at night.
Camera case is sturdy and solid
Supports 64 GB card
Cons: * A separate GPS receiver with a cable is bulky and cumbersome
* Included software is of demo version. Must pay extra $15 to register that.
* There is a up to 100-150 yards lag between actual car position displayed on video and that on the map.
* Cable clips on adhesive mounting tape don't work even on smooth surface. They all fall down at 80° F temperature.
* Sometimes audio and video are not synchronized.
Other Thoughts: * I have a similar not branded 1920x1080, 30 fps product with built-in GPS antenna with same quality but 50% cheaper
* A separate GPS receiver finds satellites a bit faster than with embedded antenna.
*Night vision with IR LEDs works at very short distance only, actually as far as you car bumper.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/13/2016 3:50:41 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Onboard Camera Systems > PAPAGO > PAPAGO GS260 Black 2.7" TFT panel Onboard Camera Systems

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works reasonably well but has a couple of minor issues
Pros: Large mirror gives you a slightly wider angle of view.
Creates multiple small files and overwrites oldest as storage gets full.
Easy to save protected video for recording you want to keep
Clear, good quality videos (be sure to take the protective plastic off the lens before you use it)
Firmware upgrade available to fix some minor bugs.
Extra long power cord was easy to hide
Cons: Poorly written and vague manual (a PDF version is available online making it easier to read but still the same information).
Mirror is quite dark and making it tough to see anything.
Lots of functionality for taking pictures (can't think of a single thing I might use it for)
May cover or block functions on your stock mirror.
Other Thoughts: This is a reasonably good value if it's under $100. I would be disappointed and would have sent it back if I had paid more.
It would be nice if options could be set with an interactive GUI from a PC using USB port or an app using blue tooth.
Reviewed By:Ed D.,1/8/2016 12:09:22 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Onboard Camera Systems > Transcend > Transcend DrivePro 100 Dash Camera

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Decent Dashcam
Pros: Seems to be well-built
Easy to use interface
Memory card included
Cons: not the most discreet form factor, but it's not huge either.
Other Thoughts: For the price, it's a good dash cam. Not a lot of bells and whistles, but has all the essentials. Daytime video quality is pretty good, while night time is okay. The silver ring around the lens makes the cam more noticeable, but you cover it up with a permanent marker. No problems so far, but will have to see how this unit fares during the heat.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,12/30/2015 5:28:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Onboard Camera Systems > Genius > Genius DVR-FHD590 Full HD Vehicle Video Recorder with 128-Degree Wide Angle and G-Sensor

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Good image quality, Can't get Sound
Pros: Seems to work fine other than the sound as noted in cons. Luckily, I haven't had the battery issues or freezing issues that others have mentioned. The menus are very easy to navigate and understand compared to other vehicle recorders I've used. Video quality is OK. It's not amazing but will work in the event of an incident being recorded.
Cons: I can't get the thing to record sound. I've checked all the settings. Sound isn't a huge thing to me but it would be nice to have.
Other Thoughts: Unfortunately the port I plug it into is on all the time and it doesn't power down when I shut the car off. Because of this, I need to remember to manually plug and unplug the recorder. This is not an issue with the unit but because of this, I've had the thing going for hours on end when I've forgotten to unplug it. I've never had the thing freeze up on me despite being run for 9 -10 hours at a time. I might just be lucky though.

Build quality seems good. The unit is a bit on the large side. The mount is a bit odd and large compared to other units I've used. I wish DVR makers could figure out a way to make the mounts and cameras less intrusive.
Reviewed By:Robert R.,12/28/2015 8:16:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Onboard Camera Systems > Falcon Zero > Falcon Zero F170HD+ Full-HD 1080p Dashcam

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great product
Pros: great visibility angle, solid, easy to use.
Cons: Need to update firmware for the unit - wasn't in the manual - in my case - my license plate did not hold in settings.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend to buy this product
Reviewed By:Alexander P.,12/23/2015 12:16:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.