Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > All Tablets > ASUS > Asus Transformer Book T100 10.1" 2-in-1 Tablet with Dock, Quad Core Intel Atom Bay Trail Z3735F 1.33Ghz (1.83Ghz Burst), 1GB Memory, 32GB Storage, Windows 8.1

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works Great
Pros: Works great with Windows 10, very impressed with value of refurbished goods
Cons: Just wish the screen was a little larger
Reviewed By:N/A,8/31/2015 9:01:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Tablets > ASUS > ASUS ZenPad Z580CA-C1-BK Intel Atom 4GB DDR3 Memory 64GB eMMC 8.0" Touchscreen Tablet Android 5.0 (Lollipop)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Amazing value tablet
Pros: IPS display
2048x1536 resolution
Gorilla Glass
Intel 64bit quad core cpu
4gb DDR3 ram
64Gb storage
Micro SD Card
Thin and light
Asus Visual Master software
Asus Zen Ui
100Gb Free Google Drive storage 2 years
Optional Asus Stylus
Android 5.0
Stereo front speakers
Cons: Underwhelming camera
Too much unnecessary software installed
Issues with AC network connectivity (one star removed)
1 year warranty only
All plastic construction
Average battery life.
Other Thoughts: Even though there are a few cons, I really like this tablet. In order to get the best out of it understanding what it does well is important.

It is an all plastic design and I was initially disappointed, however after spending just over a week with it, it has not been much of an issue. The tablet is light and easy to hold and the Gorilla Glass is pretty much bomb proof, no scratches or damage so far.

The Zenpad feels snappy and responsive due to the quad core 64bit Intel cpu and 4gb of DDR3 ram. 64gb of memory is extremely generous at this price point and it is ideal for the larger applications that are being released. My old tablet has 16gb and I am forever uninstalling applications to make room for new ones!

The gpu is a G6430, nice and fast, however this tablet has a 2K screen so playing games is possible but it is not quite as smooth an experience as it would be with a smaller resolution screen.

I went on a road trip this weekend and the tablet came with. Watching movies was great once the screen was adjusted to my liking. The front speakers were loud and did not vibrate or buzz. Asus provides a few applications to tweak the default screen color and in my opinion it is necessary, as out of the box display settings are not great. With a 2048x1536 resolution screen surfing the net and reading books on Kindle is perfect.

Battery life was not bad, I managed to chew through 85% of a full charge on my 6 hour road trip listening to music, watching movies and surfing the net.

The camera is nothing special, but it works. I'd rather take photos with a dedicated camera or my Samsung smartphone.

1 egg off for wifi implementation; Try as I might I was unable to successfully connect to my AC router at 5.0ghz. 2.4ghz was fine though. This is touted as an AC compliant tablet, so perhaps there is a software bug! Let’s hope for a software update to resolve the issue soon.

I would not buy this tablet to game with, even though it comes with a decent gpu. The screen resolution is too high to provide playable framerates in 3d games (2d platform style games are fine though). It is ideal for watching movies, listening to music and surfing the net. Once tweaked using the Asus Splendid software, the screen is bright enough to look at in sunlight and the color reproduction is actually pretty good.

A speedy cpu, 4gb of ram and 64gb of storage seals the deal.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/31/2015 4:12:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Tablets > ASUS > ASUS ZenPad S 8.0 Z580C-B1-BK Intel Atom 2GB DDR3 Memory 32GB eMMC 8.0" Touchscreen Tablet Android 5.0 (Lollipop)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 thumbs up for this tablet
Pros: fast, great battery, large memory, light weight, great screen resolution, good price.
Cons: None so far
Other Thoughts: Had this for a little over a week and so far it's exceeded expectations. I replaced my Nexus 7 which was a disaster after the upgrade to Lollipop. Hung up all the time, VERY slow. The ZenPad S 8 is very fast and smooth.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/31/2015 2:23:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Tablets > HISENSE > Hisense Sero 7 PRO M470BSA 7.0" Touchscreen Android Tablet NVIDIA Tegra 3 Quad Core CPU 1.30Ghz, 1GB Memory, 8GB Internal Storage, Micro SD card slot, Mini HDMI Out, NFC, Android 4.2 (Jelly Bean)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Lasted less the 45 Days
Pros: Nice Video
Cons: Lasted 45 days and now I am stuck with a hunk of junk. I called the MFG and they will not even look at it.
Other Thoughts: Very Very Bad Buy. DON'T DO IT!
Reviewed By:N/A,8/31/2015 7:10:10 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Tablets > ASUS > ASUS ZenPad Z580CA-C1-BK Intel Atom 4GB DDR3 Memory 64GB eMMC 8.0" Touchscreen Tablet Android 5.0 (Lollipop)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Absolutely Amazing!
Pros: Newegg sent me this ASUS ZenPad S8.0 to review. Turns out that this thing is very fast. It's the fastest notepad that I have ever used. It puts many laptops to shame. The Wi-Fi is the fastest I've ever had the pleasure of using. The screen is absolutely amazing. Switching to this from my iPhone makes using facebook a pleasure again. The screens are updated almost instantly when on Facebook. Downloading updates is fast and easy , most of the programs needed updating since this is a new device. Installing apps from Google Play store is also super fast , it's like it reads my mind. Tap on the button and the app is installed almost instantly. The unit has an SD slot that can take up to 128gigabyte I installed a 64 gigabyte SD card. Since I'm a mechanic I was really looking forward to using it with my obd2 doggles. I could never get them to work very well with my iPad. Is as able to pair with the Bluetooth and connect with the Wi-Fi dongle with no troubles. I downloaded some obd2 apps and they worked. I was so happy! Development is on going as many of the ASUS apps were updated the first day and a system update a few days later. The sound is also great with speakers on both ends. Watching movies on this is nice when a tv is not an option.
Unlike ios the voice recognition works very well for me on this device.
Cons: Although this is a great tablet it could be improved. The touchscreen is worthless right after you wash your hands. I think it uses the oil in your skin and it just don't like clean hands. Also I found the need to reboot in order to get the touchscreen to work correctly as spots would stop working. I think these problems will be improved with future updates as it only happened on the main screens and not with apps.
ASUS packs this with a lot of software that I think many people will never use.
The camera's have no flash? Come on ASUS, why not add a flash?
On the keypad the space bar is to close to the home button and it is very easy to end up on the home screen. I found it easier to type on my iphone 4 then this. This is probably an Android common problem. Then the power button is way too sensitive and is easy to turn off unit by mistake. I think moving the power and volume buttons higher would be great.
Reviewed By:GaryBe,8/30/2015 2:47:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Tablets > ASUS > ASUS ZenPad Z580CA-C1-BK Intel Atom 4GB DDR3 Memory 64GB eMMC 8.0" Touchscreen Tablet Android 5.0 (Lollipop)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Wow, premium tablet at non-premium price.
Pros: I am amazed at the value proposition of this ASUS flagship tablet. It has all the premium features at an incredible price point. I’m guessing it will sell out quickly. In this case, price does not equal quality.

For the record, I have three ipads in the family, two iphones, and three current-gen androids: a big tablet, a small tablet, and a phone.

Yes, I know you can read the specs but I made a few comments:

Size and Shape: 8 inches - seems to be the tablet sweet spot these days. Quite thin at 6.6 mm - one of the reasons it has to have USB-C. 4:3 display aspect ratio. It feels very light (.66 lb).

Overall Looks: Very high quality feel. Brushed metallic-look back, shiny edge, soft rubbery border with a leathery material along the landscape bottom edge.

Buttons, Ports, and Peripherals: In portrait position with leathery material on the left: power button is Below the volume rocker on the right - bit unusual; the headphone jack on top right can double as a mic-in; micro SD card left top under a flap - supports up to 128 Gb. 2 front-facing speakers are on either side of the display when landscaped. The sound is the best I have ever heard in a tablet and is enhanced with DTS HD Premium. USB-C (see other thoughts) port is on the bottom but offset to the right in a way that makes charging while in use easier (in landscape it ends up top right). The GPS can also use Russian GLONASS sats. There is a G-sensor, E-compass, light sensor and Hall effect sensor for a magnetic cover. Rear cam is 8 MP and front cam is 5 MP. Photo quality is average and worse than either my current gen iphone or Galaxy phone. Dual band wireless includes AC mode for 5 GHz. Miracast (HDMI over Wifi) is supported. Bluetooth is there in two forms.

Front & Display: Corning ‘Gorilla Glass 3” covers a 1536 x 2048 IPS panel at a pixel density of 320 ppi. This is Quad HD in a 3:4 aspect ratio and is technically QXGA or 2K. Still images are fantastic and better than my Samsung. Part of this is “Tru2Live+” enhancement which is supposed to have 200% better contrast ratios. Another part is a two-layer panel design called “TruVivid” which is supposed to eliminate air gap. The software tricks used to display lower res video on a high res display (interpolation) can cause some video artifacts that depend on how you adjust the “Blur Motion Free” setting. It has Active Pen support (optional pen not included - see other thoughts).

Engine/OS: whopping 4 GB RAM, quad core Atom Z3580 @ 2.3 GHZ & PowerVR G5430 GPU. Built-in storage is 64 GB. AnTuTu benchmarks are great -see other thoughts. Android 5.0 Lollipop with Zen UI on top. 2 years of 100 GB Google Drive space and LifeTime Asus Webstorage is included. Behaves as fast as the specs.

Battery: pretty good for an android. I got 6-8 hours. Power efficiency must be good for something this light to last that long (15.2 watt hour non-removable bat). One bar to full using the included adapter with tablet off took me 3 hrs.
Cons: No SIM slot option available yet to take advantage of mobile data. It is coming however. There is a fair amount of bloatware but it doesn’t seem to affect performance at all. USB-C means you have to start changing out your cables but it will probably be worth it in the long-run and is better than the iphone Lightning mess. Eventually, apple will change over too.
Other Thoughts: This is probably the nicest wifi tablet I own -- at half the price of my latest iOS tablet.

I’ve found myself moving away from iOS and more toward android in the search for a tablet to be able to replace more of my laptop functions. It also is nice when you can get a lot more for less money but some things are never going to come to iOS even if you jailbreak your system. Easy file access across applications, customization, removable storage for unlimited cheap memory, ability to hook-up USB devices, security features, and networking features made it all worth it even when heavily invested in iOS apps. (The one exception is aviation applications). I’ve found that investing a little time into customizing my android device pays back big time in not having to take out the laptop.

Stats seem to show that most folks use their tablets to consume media. This particular device is quite good at doing that too. If that is what you primarily do, then android is the most bang for your buck. And within android, this tablet gets you the most value for those tablets considered to be of premium build quality from big-name manufacturers.

The USB-C thing is what permits the design of a tablet that is really thin. In the long-term, this will be great because USB-C is potentially better than regular USB. There is no up/down orientation (similar to Apple’s Lightning). Unlike Lightning, it is going to be the new industry standard. Cables are eventually supposed to have the same connector on both ends but this came with regular USB on the charger side which makes it more compatible. It is potentially twice as fast as USB 3.0, it will potentially support DisplayPort, HDMI, power (up to 100 watts), USB, and VGA. It will be used on new MacBooks as well as Windows machines. The down-side is you’re gonna have to buy new adapters and cables (hopefully for cheaper than what Lightning cables go for).

There are supposed to be some cool accessories but I have not been able to buy them for testing due to lack of availability at the time of this writing. The ASUS Z Stylus is the pen that is supposed to work with this tablet and is supposed to last about 150 hours on an AAA battery. This is said to give you 1024 levels of pressure and a 1.2 mm tip. There is also supposed to be an ASUS Power Case which should extend battery life to 15 hours.

AnTuTu didn’t have benchmarks so I ran them: 46685 score. It was only slightly below galaxy note 4 and meizu mx4 which were at the top of the list.

For memory expansion get only brand-name 128 Gb cards that are marked SDXC. There are a lot of cheaper non-branded cards with hacked controllers that show 128Gb but are really not. These are often labeled SDHC and will corrupt data above whatever they really have inside. The SDHC standard is only used up to 32Gb.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/29/2015 11:59:07 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Tablets > TabletExpress > Dragon Touch M8 Quad Core Processor 1GB Memory 16GB 8.0" Tablet Android 4.4 (KitKat)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Screen!!!!!
Pros: Works.
Cons: SCREEN. Comes with protective film which scratches easily. when protector is removed screen scraches when u touch it.
Camera. very dark.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/29/2015 11:01:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Tablets > ASUS > ASUS ZenPad 10 Z300C-A1-BK Intel Atom 1GB LPDDR3 Memory 16GB eMMC 10.1" Touchscreen Tablet Android 5.0 (Lollipop)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice tablet
Pros: Nice design and feels very quality. The 2GB of DDR3 help speed things up.
Cons: .3MP front camera and 2.0MP. Super long boot time. Still not sure that Intel knows how to make a mobile CPU but it's way faster than my old Arm A7. Screen can seem a bit dim even when maxed out.
Other Thoughts: Nice for the price...got it for $169 after promo code
Reviewed By:N/A,8/29/2015 5:28:30 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Tablets > Acer America > Acer Iconia Tab W Series W700P-6821 Intel Core i5 3317U (1.70GHz) 11.6" 4GB DDR3 Memory 128GB SSD Tablet - Windows 8 Pro

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Free Windows 10 upgrade capable
Pros: Nice screen, Bluetooth keyboard, docking station with 3 USB 3.0 ports and a nice little holder folder, After installing somewhere around 200 updates, you're rewarded with the Windows 10 upgrade app.
Cons: Holder folder blocks high def camera. no pen, no user guide. You have to install way too many updates to get the free Windows 10 upgrade.
Other Thoughts: Needs an 800X450 screen resolution for those of us with tired old eyes.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/28/2015 10:32:12 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Tablets > ASUS > ASUS Transformer Book T100TA 10.1” MultiTouch 2-in-1 Notebook / Tablet with Intel Bay Trail-T Quad Core Z3740 1.33Ghz (1.86Ghz Burst), 2GB Memory, 32GB eMMC Drive, Detachable Keyboard, Windows 8.1

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 DONT EVER BUY EXTENDED WARRANTY
Pros: it does turn on; however, the screen is super sensitive, it is a very thin glass. Iphones and Androids have better screens.
Cons: Do NOT purchase the extended warranty, my screen broke after barely touching the device.

I am unable to contact anyone for assistance and this product is not eligible for replacement even though you purchase the extended warranty.

There is no ONE that you can reach or that return your calls.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/28/2015 9:46:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.