Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Bars > JBL > JBL Cinema Base 2.2 All-in-one Bluetooth Soundbase

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Not bad
Pros: Good clear sound, very loud too. I have a 50" Sharp Aquous sitting on top of it and it looks very stylish. Easy to hook up. Extra output for a bass speaker. Bluetooth sound good too.
Cons: Not enough bass, and the surround is not very good. The remote feels and looks cheap. In a hunt for a bass speaker to go with it ;)
Other Thoughts: When arrived, the remote was not working, sent it back to newegg (easy no hassle and free). Took 7-8 days until received the replacement.
Reviewed By:Georgi G.,9/29/2016 1:38:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Bars > SAMSUNG > Samsung HW-HM45C 2.1 Channel 290-Watt Soundbar & Wireless Subwoofer Speaker System w/ Bluetooth and HDMI Cable

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Love it! Great bargain!
Pros: -Loud (if you need it to be)
-High quality sound
-No distortion at medium to medium high levels
-Great remote
-DSP
-Wireless sub that sounds great
-Great mounting accessories (very easy to do)
-Outstanding Bluetooth range.
Cons: -Audio gets out of sync with video because of DSP delay (it can be disabled and wasn't observed with all of my equipment, just my AppleTV)
Other Thoughts: I bought this soundbar for my garage so I can listen to music while I work on projects. I'm 99% happy with my purchase and would recommend to others looking for an inexpensive, high quality soundbar.
Reviewed By:Jesse S.,9/28/2016 9:56:12 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Bars > VIZIO > VIZIO 5.1 Sound Bar Speaker - Table Mountable, Wall Mountable - Wireless Speaker(s), Used like NEW

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Terrible
Pros: Clear sound.
Cons: Experienced some delay with A/V sync. Also stopped working after 2 months.
Other Thoughts: Bought this on 7/21 and stopped turning on on 9/24. Enough said.
Reviewed By:Andrea M.,9/26/2016 4:24:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Bars > VIZIO > VIZIO - 38" 3.0-Channel Soundbar W/ Bluetooth

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very Hapy
Pros: - Arrived quickly.
- Very nice sound from my Vizio TV and iPhone (bluetooth). The includes decent bass (surprising)
- Wall mounting brackets included.
- Vizio TV remote works nicely with this sound bar. Its easy to mute TV speakers and just use the bar with same remote.
- The only "out" connector is for subwoofer (purple jack).
- The "in" connectors are:
* optical line.
* digital (orange colored).
* Aux (headphone jack type).
* Aux (white and red analog).

- There is also a USB port.
Cons: - Need to read instructions to figure out input options.
Other Thoughts: - I mounted this sounder below my Vizio TV (which is mounted on the Wall). Sound is surprisingly good. I first played songs off my iPhone via bluetooth. I then used optical connection (cable is included) to play sound off tv. It took bit of research how to change input sources.
- The Vizio TV has an option to turn off the sound. The TV remote then controls sound bar while sound tv is off. Convenient.
- I am planning to use brackets that came with this sounder to mount the sounder on the wall.
- For the price, this is an awesome sound bar, especially if you also own newer Vizio TV
Reviewed By:Pawel K.,9/25/2016 3:40:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Bars > Philips > Philips HTL4115B/F7B Sound Bars

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great deal
Pros: Low price
Decent quality
Nice sound
Super easy set up.
Cons: At such a low price for a refurb that works I have no complaints.
Other Thoughts: I do cringe from time to time taking a chance on a refurb but this product setup quickly and works like a charm. Nice options and decent sound. Very happy with this setup in my bedroom with an older TV and my trusty PS3.
Reviewed By:Daniel M.,9/22/2016 5:50:16 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Bars > VIZIO > Vizio SB4051- C0 40-inch 5.1 Channel Sound Bar with Bluetooth

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Sounds great after setup!
Pros: -small and sleek, I replaced my early 90's Onkyo entertainment system and saved a TON of room.
-wireless from the bar to the woofer, where the rear speakers plug into so there aren't wires from the front to the back.
-decent range of manipulating levels for bass, treble, woofer, rear speakers, center speaker, night mode, level normalizing...
-many options for input from other devices
-plug and play! Took maybe 30 minutes to unpackage, plug in, do basic set up.
-comes with all the audio cables you could want to use.
-comes with mounting brackets for rear speakers and front bar.
-The sound has nice crisp highs to impressive lows from the front speakers alone. The woofer can output a low support up to an overwhelming throb depending on how you like it.
-Overall very small footprint
Cons: -rear speakers aren't wireless... why can't there be more systems with completely wireless sound? Most of my in depth set up time was in hiding wires.
-took a lot of time getting the setup JUST right - but I would have done this with ANY system.
-It would be nice to have a couple programmable presets for movies/tv/games/music/music types?
-full band equalizer would be awesome - but that's just cause I'm a sound fanatic.
Other Thoughts: I am very happy with this sound system. It sounds fantastic for movies, music, and games - I've watched Age of Ultron, Played Halo, and listened to some random songs while setting it up.

I recommend these to anyone wanting to get a smaller footprint in their entertainment room, but I suggest searching for the better price. I see there are some pretty wild differences in prices online right now.

-UPDATE, almost a year later, these still sound great. I have noticed if you use cheap cables to connect system output to the speaker input, you can get some gain static. This was resolved for me by using higher quality cables.
Reviewed By:Reuben P.,9/8/2016 8:20:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Bars > Yamaha > Yamaha SRT-1000 TV Surround Sound System

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Decent
Pros: Got it on sale
Nice size and weight to it.
Yamaha quality and reliability.
Super easy setup
Wife likes it.
Sturdy.
Cons: for 150 bucks I really cant complain but the sound quality just isn't good enough for 5 eggs as I have tons of Yamaha audio in my home over the years that always super impressed me but this Item I went meh its good enough I guess.
More ports in the back for add on's maybe?
Other Thoughts: For what I paid for it I would say it is a deal but I would never shell out more then 200 for this item. As I stated above I am not unhappy with the item but for 5 eggs I expected the usual Yamaha wow feeling and this just did not impress me all that much.
Reviewed By:Daniel M.,9/7/2016 10:52:48 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Bars > JBL > JBL Cinema Base 2.2 All-in-one Bluetooth Soundbase

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Lost in translation...
Pros: Sounded pretty darn good for the whole 2 days it worked! I was fairly impressed with the sound that came from this sound base. It has blue tooth that I never got to use.
Cons: Oh where do I begin... After the unit refused to make any sound what-so-ever and trying every combination I could find on the internet I decided to call JBL. I knew that Newegg would take it back but I would have to pay shipping and the darn thing weighed 10lb.s so that wasn't going to happen. So let the nightmare begin. I first call JBL customer support state side only
to be told this number is only for JBL Pro, no consumer based products. Called the correct number and surprise, surprise they are in Puerto Rico. I'm not going to go into every interaction I had with these dolts but a few highlights might suffice. Of course they want you to go through everything you have already tried, first. Second, they had no units to send me a new one and was told to wait a week or two and they might have some which they did not, they kept threatening to close the case for lack of communication even though I answered every email they sent, evidently there is more than one dolt paddling this canoe. They finally agree to let me choose from one of there other home theatre products, but wait they need more info from me... by the way you will need a magnifying glass to read the serial number on the back of the unit. They insisted they would get a new unit out to me ASAP as soon as they had a copy of my receipt, etc. Sent information, no return message stating they had received. After receiving another message that they were going to close the case because of no communication I sent them another to tell them I had in fact sent them the requested information. So at this point I choose another unit then they drop the bomb shell that they will need my old unit before they can do anything. After many other exchanges with various non-English speaking comrades I get my UPS label from them and repack unit exactly as received. Drop it off, week goes by and I get another email saying that because they haven't heard from me they are closing the case! So I write them back sending them the tracking number and enclose a screen shot from UPS showing it was received and who signed for it the week before. Several days later I get a message from them saying they had in fact received said unit and my new one was "ready" to ship and that if I wanted a tracking number to write them back in a few days and they would send it. Wow, isn't that true customer service. Today is Sept. 6 and my original purchase was back in May! The other unit arrived today in a plain brown cardboard box. Bet it is a reconditioned one. Oh boy.
Other Thoughts: I wanted to enjoy a quality product with a name like JBL. I was badly mistaken. I actually own some pro JBL live sound reinforcement speakers that have been flawless. But I will never buy another JBL consumer product after this fiasco. Sad, sad sad. They should be ashamed of how their name is being smeared by folks that don't hold the same traditions as their pro products. And BTW the pro-product reps are here state side and are completely different. The only reason I gave it two stars is that "if" the unit had continued to work as it started out I probably would have been very happy with the price I paid on sale. Word to the wise check out the complaints on JBL consumer home theater products, they are far less than stellar. I sure hope the one they sent me works, it weighs 30lbs!
Reviewed By:James R.,9/6/2016 7:05:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Bars > VIZIO > VIZIO S4251-W-B4E 5.1 CH 42" Home Theater Sound Bar with Subwoofer and Satellite Speakers, Used like NEW

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Sonds good, but incompatible with TV remote and won't upgrade firmware
Pros: Sounds good, subwoofer is boomy but ok for movies.
Cons: Sound bar programs successfully to my Philips TV remote, but then ignores TV remote volume commands.
There is a firmware update on the Vizio web site, follow all update procedures exactly, sound bar doesn't update.
Other Thoughts: Hard to say - will the sound bar work with your TV remote commands?
Reviewed By:Keith A.,9/2/2016 11:53:48 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Bars > VIZIO > VIZIO S3851-W-D4B 5.1 CH 38" Sound Bar with Wireless Subwoofer & Rear Satellite Speakers, Used like NEW

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Lots of issues
Pros: So far no pros other than my kids liked sitting near the satellites when they were working.
Cons: The remote did not work. There has been no response from the sound bar via the remote that shipped with the unitI found plenty of discussion about the possible problem in various AVR forums and at Vizio's site. I found six different solutions, including up and downloading new firmware via USB hub. I treid them all. The remote does not work. I should add one or another solution has worked for many in those discussions. So I did some more reading. Vizio claims all their remotes work for all their soundbars. My refurb included remote model xrs500 but a little digging suggests xrs321 was the correct remote. For less than $10 and two day shipping I hoped I solved the problem. It arrived on a busy day. All I did was go through the pairing ritual I'd memorized trying to get the first one working and sure enough, the soundbar responded. I went to bed figuring I'd have this system going strong the next day. Unfortunately no. The new remote turns the system on and off and that's about it. No volume control. The bass and treble buttons do nothing. The mute does nothing. And it doesn't have the small screen the first model had to access many of the system's advertised features. Bah.

The sound isn't anything special through RCA cables. The very limited ducumentation lists RCA and 35mm jacks as "good" with optical and digital coax "better". Through RCA cables the system sounds like a louder version of my television. Not impressive. Through optical the soundbar sounded wonderful but the subwoofer and satellites went silent. Oof. The process of pairing the sub to the bar is very simple but all efforts are currently failing.

The included cables for the satellites are only 1 meter, not long enough for proper surround placement even for small rooms. My area is 15x12. Unless you can place your sub dead center in the rear of the room you can't get much distance between satellites. My sub is in a back corner. The satellites have less than 4 feet between them. Obvious solution: Get longer cables, which I would do if I can resolve these other issues.
Other Thoughts: I really want to like this system. So far it's been a headache, but reading my way through forums on topic and other extensive reviews, I'm not giving up as long as I have the option to return them. If I could get them working the way satisfied owners have them working, then I too would be happy with this set. The potential is superb surround bang for 140 bucks. Caveat emptor.
Reviewed By:Sandra W.,8/31/2016 1:22:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.