Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > App Enabled Products > Square Inc. > Square A-PKG-0157 Credit Card Reader

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 PITA
Pros: You can run credit cards if your screw around with it long enough.
Cons: Slide the card through 30 or 40 times real fast and it will eventually read it probably.
Other Thoughts: Lots of messing around while your customer stands there and gets irritated.
The EMV reader is just as bad. Loses blue tooth connectivity or just mysteriously won't talk to the EMV reader.
Overall you have to keep your tablet charged, keep the EMV reader charged, keep your wifi talking to the tablet. I've got two wifis withing 20 feet or so and if I dsck around with it long enough it will eventually talk to one of them maybe.
If "sometimes it works" "sometimes it doesn't " is good enough for you the this might be ok.
Way more frustration than it is worth.
Reviewed By:andrew g.,8/6/2016 12:19:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > App Enabled Products > Pronto > Pronto Peel Black Smart Remote for iOS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 SIMPLICITY - PERFECTION - EASY
Pros: Without looking at any directions I clicked the "Setup/Settings" option. The app on my iPad asked if my TV was Off with a Big Green Button underneath that said "YES" I figured that at that point I needed to turn Off my TV then I selected the button "Yes My TV IS Off" then the App asked me to push the button to turn On my TV and I did. The TV turned on and then the App said your TV is set and it was. S I M P L I C I T Y :-)
Cons: I do not know of any issues but if I do have any I will report them by adding to this review. My objective was simple but I would guess that a few will have issues but I doubt many will. The great thing is that Newegg makes it super simple to return an item. I recommend the Pronto TV Universal Remote. Thanks!
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/1/2016 8:11:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > App Enabled Products > Pronto > Pronto Peel Black Smart Remote for iOS

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Good device, malfunctions often has terrible customer service
Pros: - Easy to use and setup
- Convenient operations through iPhone
Cons: - Malfunctions quite often
- Customer service is terrible
- Read below for entire info
Other Thoughts: It's unfortunate I have to give at least 1 star in order to write a review. I bought this product awhile ago, and it worked fine in the first few months, as described in the feature details. After the 4 month, the device would no longer turn on my home theatre. Naturally, I contacted customer service, and that's when things got bad. Their customer service replies every 6 days, so you won't hear from them until 6 days after your reply. To top it off, the replies I received from them contained basic questions such as "have you reset your device?" "have you tried manually setting the IR code?". As you can imagine, about 1-2 months easily went by and I still had the issue. Finally I gave up and continued to use the product on my TV, Apple TV and cable box while using the actual remote for my home theatre. Finally, in February of 2016 it stopped working completely. I contacted them, and now, June (yes, 4 months) they're still sending me the same questions and are taking even longer to respond. I'm an engineer, so it's safe to say I'm ok with electronics. The customer experience has been so terrible I am now going out of my way to make sure everyone knows that, if you ever need help with your device, you will have the worst experience while managing to not get your problem solved. The device is a great idea, but if a company makes a product without the customer service to back it up, the product becomes worthless in my opinion. Now it's up to you. Get it if you want, but you've been warned.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/21/2016 2:05:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > App Enabled Products > Orbotix > Sphero BB-8 App-Enabled Droid

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Yep, this is Definitely the Droid You're Looking For for Valentine's Day
Pros: Super well built, intriguing even. Bluetooth controlling app is fully Star Wars'ed-out in the best possible way with lots of BB-8 noise talk, character images and the like. When roaming about on patrol mode, BB-8 will keep rolling for about 3 hours on its lithium batteries. Inside the unit, 3 bright LEDs of white, blue and red allow you to both manually control the robot (blue), chat with him (white) or be told when it's time for recharging (red). The charger takes a standard micro USB cable (cable included, supply your own adapter). The charger also doubles as a display stand so you can hang with BB-8 on a desk with out him rolling into a trap. The head actually "floats" on the rolling body, kinda like in the film and articulates all over the place as BB-8 wanders about.
Cons: Not really cons per se, but you should know:

- Other than telling you the legals, where to get the software to run it and how to set up the charger, there is no manual detailing how to work this thing. Your tech savvy kids and adults will be OK with this as you cannot not harm the droid via its software interface (it's properly idiot proof, so discovery by experimentation is the way to go, likely by design)

-Head is attached via a magnet and rollers. If BB-8 gets himself into a small space his head will pop off. Aside from aesthetics, there is nothing actually in the head that is consequential to the operation of the robot.

-Following the above, the droid itself makes no noise as it related to communication. All of the sound comes from the smartphone app itself. All of the fun but limited interfacing you can do with BB-8 is done with the app.

-Despite the literature, BB-8's sensor capabilities are rather limited. It has a rudimentary bread crumb wayfinder, meaning that it roughly knows where it has been on a straight line and where obstacles are on that straight line (marked with a Storm Trooper helmet), but it never really memorizes a common course. It more or less collides into walls and obstacles like a drunken kitten until it either finds a new area in you home to explore or it gets stuck. That said, BB-8's plastic shell it up to the job of crashing into stuff, but DO NOT drop him from heights or run him outdoors!

-Rollers in the head attract dust and lint and the like, have cotton swabs on hand to clean often

Other Thoughts: I bought this droid for my girlfriend for Valentine's Day and she has adored it since unboxing it yesterday. It is cool to live in a day and age where this kind of toy can exist. Of all the myriad Star Wars-branded money grabs that Disney put out for The Force Awakens, this little droid is by far the most interesting. And likely the most collectible. Long after the app is no longer compatible with anything and the lithium battery in BB-8's belly gives up the ghost, this thinks will still look cool in its display case. And that's awesome to me. I caught a weekend sale on the Egg for this one, and I'll likely buy another and put it away in a storage container unopened, packed with an old smartphone so that the app will always run.

This thing is a blast for both kids and the kid in the adults, and I cannot begin to tell you how much fun this little droid is! Buy one before the are retired!
Reviewed By:Antoine J.,2/5/2016 11:23:16 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > App Enabled Products > Square Inc. > Square A-PKG-0157 Credit Card Reader

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great For Mobile Processing
Pros: It's totally free...and actually in this case, they give you a dollar.
Deposits are made daily.
For generic processing, the price is really good. I know people getting 5% processing fees. 2.75% is great.
Cons: I've lost more than I care to admit only to find them again months later. It's quite small, but I haven't broken one yet. They just get easily buried and don't come with a pouch or case, at least not a good one.
Other Thoughts: Had the above reviewer read the actual description, he would have seen that this square reader is $9 but Square still gives you $10 back. YAY! Five plus two stars to make up for the other guy
Reviewed By:N/A,9/19/2015 11:01:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > App Enabled Products > Pronto > Pronto Peel Black Smart Remote for iOS

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great but limited
Pros: Works as promised. Got it for my mom since she has a tough time using the TV setup. She learned it quickly and it controlled all of our devices without much work.
Cons: The only con is that it can connect to one device. You can't connect it two iphones. This is frustrating because when I come over I have to find her phone and use it. I can't use my phone. Also the an iPad app would be nice.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/7/2015 1:31:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > App Enabled Products > Pronto > Pronto Peel Black Smart Remote for iOS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent product
Pros: This device allows me to control all of the devices in my living room with my phone. Response is immediate, just as fast as a normal remote (no bluetooth lag). The device is very small and unobtrusive, and its range is amazing. Even though it is in a cabinet without direct line of sight to my tv or sound bar, it can control both flawlessly. A great solution for any iPhone user(4s or up, per the bluetooth requirements). The few initial issues I had were taken care of quickly and efficiently by their support team.
Cons: None to speak of.
Reviewed By:Michael,5/7/2015 11:28:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > App Enabled Products > Pronto > Pronto Peel Black Smart Remote for iOS

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Very disappointed
Pros: The hardware seems to work well.
Cons: The app is almost useless. With it, I can turn things on and off, mute the sound, and change channels. Volume control doesn't work (which is strange, because the mute function does), none of the DVR controls do anything - in short, I've wasted 50 bucks on an useless black box.
Other Thoughts: Still looking for a good solution to the multiple remote problem.
Reviewed By:gradyr1953,4/23/2015 7:45:37 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > App Enabled Products > Orbotix > Sphero Robotic Ball - iOS and Android Controlled Gaming System

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 My son loves it
Pros: Great and durable.
Cons: none yet
Other Thoughts: this is a great toy for my kid who like his eletornics a lot
Reviewed By:noni,12/26/2014 4:10:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > App Enabled Products > Dream Cheeky > Dream Cheeky iLaunch Thunder Missile Launcher for iPods/iPhones/iPads

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Darts Missing
Pros: Not tested
Cons: Missing Darts
Reviewed By:IZtech,11/26/2014 11:58:08 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.